Submitted by Bimjim

January 9, 2020

LIAT announces the appointment of a new Board of Directors and the election of the Right Honourable Professor Owen S. Arthur as the Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Following the Company’s Annual General Meeting held in Antigua on Monday 16th December 2019, a new Board of Directors was elected, and the Right Honourable Professor Owen S. Arthur was nominated and elected as Chairman.

Professor Arthur currently serves as a Professor of Practice at the University of The West Indies. He has served the Caribbean as a learned Statesman including his work presiding over the Regional process to revise the Treaty of Chaguaramas to establish the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME).

The new Board of Directors consists of:

Rt. Hon. Prof. Owen S. Arthur as chairman,
Mr. Michael Holder,
Mr. Mark Maloney,
Mr. Robert Riley,
Mrs. Juanita Thorington-Powlett,
Mr. Isaac Solomon,
Mrs. Carolyn Tonge,
Hon. Lennox Weston and
Hon. Sir Robin Yearwood.

The new Directors bring to the airline and regional transportation sector over 100 years of combined aviation experience. The Directors have demonstrated exceptional records of performance and service to the industry and to the region.

The new Chairman has been tasked by the new Board to undertake a special assignment to meet with regional Prime Ministers to discuss sustainability of the Airline. This assignment will be supported by other directors and the Management Team of the airline.

LIAT’s Shareholders, Management and Staff welcome our Directors to the LIAT and look forward to working together with the new Board to foster and strengthen regional transportation and integration.

Business as usual, folks, don’t go getting your hopes up.

“The new Directors bring to the airline and regional transportation sector over 100 years of combined aviation experience”. Derriere-lickers all, that just about sums up the shit-pot of garbage they are trying to fool us with again. 100 years of experience in their feckin DREAMS.

They had the opportunity to make a difference, and they just rolled on by. AGAIN.

128 responses to “LIAT Appoints New Board Of Directors”

1. @Vincent

Some of the problems with LIAT is the political. Shareholders that see parochial over regional interest. The blogmaster expects Arthur to leverage his experience gained as a longstanding prime minister AND lead for Carioca/CSME. This is where his leadership must add value to a new LIAT.

2. @ william

I agree with you that LIAT is needed in the region. The question I will ask is do we need to be a shareholder in it as it is currently run?

My view is no we don’t. Should we be a shareholder if it is run as a business and all who benefit are forced to chip in? Maybe but not necessarily. My point is if we can not force a serious restructuring based on our shareholding, why then burden our taxpayers with it. We are one of the most profitable routes, so our airlift will not suffer The question is what do we have to lose by not being a shareholder? The answer is absolutely nothing.

So it boils down to this. Can Owen who is no longer seeking a vote, convince the politicians who are from the other islands who still seek a vote, that a business model must be accepted? Can he muscle the non participating islands to pay a subsidy or lose flights weekly? Will he be supported to cut daily flights to one of these islands to say 3 days a week as opposed to 7?

Thing is they all know what has to be done but none want to do it. Then again why should they when we are all willing to open our wallets every time LIAT needs money?

If it wasn’t so sad it would be funny.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

John A at 3:42 PM

I agree 100% . Pay your fair share or get out. Barbados may have in the past absorbed the short fall. We now are all suffering under financial constraints. We cannot now carry other countries’ burden.

And you are right. There are methods of calculating the relative share of benefits.

4. @ Vincent.

If I was Owen I would not make the mistakes others made and try to force the non participating islands to be shareholders. I would first get the financials up to date, look at the net losses, decide how much can be taken back through restructuring and then present the slackers with the following.

I would say to the freeloaders ” folks here are the flights we offer your island weekly and here are the payloads you offer us. Unless you pay the attached subsidy the flights will be cut effected March 1st to 3 days a week from seven.”

See how fast the find the subsidy money when the electorate from their own island start to bark at them! Lol

Forget pushing for more shareholders, wunna need to push for subsidy from the slackers to strengthen cash flow. The last thing you need is more politicians sitting around a mahogany board room table trying to make a decision.

5. Mr. Skinner

Upon hearing Arthur was appointed Chairman of LIAT, the antagonist and conspiracy theorists immediately opined it was a Mottley initiated appointment and found every means necessary to oppose just for the sake of opposing, while the protagonists would obviously support the decision.

My previous contribution was not a list of historical events, it was meant to open a doorway for us to reasonably discuss the issue based on fairness and rationality, rather than being politically confined to the usual shiite of a BLP versus DLP scenario.

If the ratio for shareholder governments appointing individuals to LIAT’s BoD is 4:3:1 and the appointees choose a Chairman from amongst themselves, as was evident in the case of Dr. Holder, unless that policy has changed to 5:3:1, where BGI would now have five (5) representatives as opposed to four (5), considering that:

ANU’s PM Browne’s recent penchant for overstepping the heads of shareholder governments, especially Chairman, Ralph Gonsalves, to place himself at the forefront to ARTICULATE future plans for LIAT……. bear in mind that Browne:

…….. (a) went into negotiations with Virgin Atlantic’s Sir Richard for him to invest in LIAT, unbeknownst to Gonsalves;

…….. (b) sought approval from ANU’s Parliament to secure a US$15.8M (EC$40M) loan from the Venezuela ALBA bank, to purchase additional shares in LIAT.

He said “a CONDITION of this new capital would be that there has to be cuts including a reduction in salary and wages,” anticipated changes to make LIAT more efficient and profitable, as well as a shifting around and possible CHANGE in the directorship of the airline.

…….. (c) indicated negotiations have recommenced relative to the sale of BGI’s shares to ANU;

…….. (d) “prematurely” announced Arthur’s appointment as LIAT’s new Chairman.

….. how can anyone seriously conclude Mottley appointed Arthur?

All I’m “saying” is that, taking these things into consideration, I’m having difficulty in understanding how those across the political divide could conclude Arthur’s appointment was Mottley initiated or politically motivated, especially when one also considers OTHER shareholders are included.

One of BU’s wise men “said” “A good pick open up and a political appointment was made.” What are the political advantages or benefits to be derived by the other shareholder governments, including DOM, GND and SKB, from Arthur’s appointment as LIAT’s Chairman?

Then there is the issue of BGI selling its shares to ANU. Under these circumstances, does Barbados maintain its “clout” as majority shareholder until the sale is finalized? And, although BGI is currently majority shareholder, doesn’t Gaston “call the shots?”

Since Browne is seeking to “promote” ANU as LIAT’s majority shareholder, given his arrogance and historical tendency of REJECTING any policy proposals pertaining to LIAT, unless he makes those proposals or foresees some long-term benefit to ANU…… would he “play dead” and allow Mottley to make a unilateral decision to appoint Arthur?

With this in mind, I have to agree with JTLYK, in asking what a Barbadian decision relative to ASYCUDA and White Oaks has to do with the shareholder governments’ decision to appoint Arthur? Since this seems to be shareholder decision, for that comparison to be valid, one would have to refer to similar bureaucratic failures occurring in ANU and SVG as well.

Wouldn’t have ANU and SVG replaced their appointees, if the respective PMs were not sufficiently satisfied with their experience and tenure?

Unfortunately, when someone brings a different perspective, rather than discuss the issues presented, they are either accused of supporting the BLP or spewing “bs.”

The duopoly rules.

As John A correctly mentioned: “Liat will never run as a business as long as Antigua and St Vincent calling the shots and we paying the bill.”

6. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I sincerely wish the new LIAT board all the success in the world.

BUT should they not elaborate a little more about this 100 years of aviation experience that the new directors have added, how it was gained and the individual proven records they bring.

After all, LIAT has been largely supported and subsidised by the taxpayer for decades and the current largest shareholders interest is mostly funded by our visitors and locals travelling through the second departure tax of US$70 per person (US$35 in CARICOM members).

It is also difficult to understand how expertise with pre-cast concrete can help bring the carrier back to viability.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    We must not allow the cool aid drinkers, from either side to deter those who actually put Barbados first. By now they can be all identified. Let them eat themselves and drink their cool aid.
    Occasionally I go back and read what some said three years ago and what they are saying now. It’s a source of great amusement.And I mean from
    both sides.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

We still need to review the costs and benefits. We may discover a cheaper way of achieving these noble objective….. if they are still noble.

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

You put forward a good point among your several good points when you said and I quote

“…(b) sought approval from ANU’s Parliament to secure a US$15.8M (EC$40M) loan from the Venezuela ALBA bank, to purchase additional shares in LIAT.

He said “a CONDITION of this new capital would be that there has to be cuts including a reduction in salary and wages,” anticipated changes to make LIAT more efficient and profitable, as well as a shifting around and possible CHANGE in the directorship of the airline….”

De ole man gine focus on this aspect a little regarding the operational efficiencies of LIAT.

WHEN the financials come back it will be seen that LIAT has alot of steel in its operations.

Both active politicall endorses steel (where certain staff are politically appointed, and not critical to the operations as will as subcontractors to supply parts and services like catering and operational supplies to allo the planes to fly) and administrative steel (where the IT booking systems effect an invisible parasitical leaching of profits AT SOURCE BEFORE A PENY GOES TO SHAREHOLDERS!)

Now as I dun tell wunna dat de ole man, unlike many here, DOES NOT TALK BOUT TINGS I DO NOT KNOW

But here is what I will say for wunna.

Owen Seymour Arther has been flying back and fort pun LIAT for 40 years of his life.

It is his years FLYING PUN LIAT AND THAT OF DE UDDER PEOPLE that has been added together to give them “over 100 years aviation experience”

So you Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver, having gone to school during your primary and secondary school years pun a bus will, if given a job as a director of the Barbados Transport Board, automatically acquire 15 years of experience as a transportation expert!

Now that I have identified the 2 problems that all previous directors DID NOT SEE, I WILL GIVE THE SOLUTIONS!

Owen and his team, must immediately issue tenders for ALL THESE OPERATIONAL SUPPLY SERVICES and hire an airlines integrator whose responsibilities will be to make ALL THESE MOVING PARTS CONGEAL SEAMLESSLY!

So the caterers supply the requisite food for the LIAT FLIGHTS at an affordable cost and with requisite standards WhWhile at the same time cutting out ALL DE STEEL FOR THE ENTRENCHED BACK DRAUGHT

That has to be repeated system wide, including the software that is being used to teif de PROFITS of issued tickets at source.

Do you understand what de ole man is saying?It

is only when this homogenous weaning and purging of LIAT IS ACCOMPLISHED that we can achieve a situation where an interegional airplane ticket becomes affordable.

We need volume sales Artaxerxes based on affordability AND SUCH AFFORDABILITY WILL NOT COME IF I AM SILENTLY BENEFITING FRO SUPPLY CHAIN OVER COSTINGS!

Should any of you want the underlying documents to support de ole man’s statements, feel free to email do ole man for de evidence!

Heheheheheh

I hope I set dis discussion in the direction um should be going INSTEAD OF FLIGHT MILEAGE FOR DAT SHORT ME CRUTCH PAST PM who history will record that, because of his inaction, has engorged Barbados with Mugabe Mottley

I, Piece the Legend, HAVE SPOKEN

10. PIECE
    I WAS TOLD SINCE DECEMBER 1974 THAT THE PROBLEM WITH LIAT IS THAT IT LANDS AND TAKES OFF TOO OFTEN , AND THAT THIS IS WHERE PART OF ITS COSTS LIES IN TERMS OF FUEL
    CHAP WAS SECONDED FROM AIR CANADA TO AIR JAMAICA WHICH THEN SECONDED HIM TO LIAT

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP my fellow myope and apostate

This is not emergebcy brain surgery after death of the patient!

I know people who own 2 planes and operate charters/limited firefighting successfully.

LIAT NEEDS A FULL FORENSIC BY PEOPLE WHO HAVE REAL AVIATION EXPERTISE, not wannabe hotel developers and Abijah Holder ‘s murderer!

Any one with have a brain or 1/4 brain LIKE THE PAIR OF RENTED JACKASSES HEE HEE AND HEE HAW could do this review and revamping!

But dese people are brain dead Dr. GP and going spend time tekking pot shots at each other while LIAT DIES!

Square Pegs in Round Holes!!!

12. PIECE

DONT YOU TINK THAT THEY COULDA OR SHOULDA MEK FILLIPS DE CHAIRMAN OF LIAT INSTEAD OF OSA? MURDER

HE COULD TEK OUT HE TRAINING MANUAL , READ JOHN 14 AND TELL THEM THEY HAVE TO JOIN THE FAMILY BUSYNESS

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dr. GP, you gine kill he?

Dis is a decent respectable topic about regional travel, and here we are cussing an mentioning Grenville Phillips name disrespectfully!

The problem with solving these problems is that when one exposes the belly of the beast, NUFF PEOPLE DOES GET VEX AND FLAMED (dat is de Blogmaster ‘s term).

You speak of too frequent flights, I speak of subcutaneous theft that benefits staff and politicians involved in graft that is killing LIAT and suddenly, a conversation that was focused on DUOPOLY, and CARICOM small mindedness, GONE DEAD!

Because their interest was on the superficial AND WE PRESENTED THE REAL TRUTHS THAT ARE STRANGLING THE ENTERPRISE

And gave a clear path to solving the problem HIRE AN ENTITY WITH REAL AVIATION INTEGRATION SKILLS and remove the steel!

But this would make Liat successful and reduce the cost of intra regional travel by 50% AND WE CANT HAVE THAT!!!

14. THEIR IS TOO MUCH INSULARITY THAT GOES ON IN THE CARRIBBEAN IN EVERYTHING
    LIAT MUST ORIGINALLY INTENDED FOR SHORT HAUL TRIPS IN THE LEEWARDS
    PERHAPS THE EXPANSION TO A REGIONAL AIRLINE HAS STILL NOT BEEN PROPERLY WORKED OUT

15. TheoGas (hot air)
    So if the turnout has consistently been around 60% and a party gets all 30 seats it is not an impressive victory because 56% of registered voters did not vote for the BLP? Well boss, using your same methodology, in the 2008 election the 20-10 David Thompson victory that was celebrated here on BU represented 33% of all registered voters and the much heralded 24-3 Errol Barrow-led DLP victory of 1986 was achieved with 44% of all registered voters. The Owen 26-2 tsunami of 1999 was achieved with 41% of all registered voters. You should note that the BLP 2018 44% is numerically more than the numbers recorded in 1986, 1999 and 2018. Secondly, in 2018 there were 3 “third parties” and a few independent candidates that received a combined 3% of all registered voters. Could you kindly demonstrate on what basis such stats would lead you to conclude that a strong 3rd party would flip a result? FYI only Sinckler lost by “a couple hundred votes” –about 500. The others were all at least 1,500 short. You went school in Crumpton St and this is the best you can serve up? #debyanymeansnecessarycrew🤔🤣

16. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THERE IS A NEED TO SET UP HUBS TO PREVENT HAVING SO MANY EMPTY FLIGHTS
    BUT I SUSPECT ST VINCENT ANTIGUA AND BARBADOS MIGHT NOT SEE EYE TO EYE ON THIS

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

Exactly Dr. GP my fellow myope and apostate

“The Hub” is where the steal is!

This is where the hyperinflation is effected for supplies.

And it is where the jobs for political sycophants lie.

Such kickback and graft is zealously guarded LIKE HOW CUSTOMS OFFICERS REFUSE TO ALLOW CAMERAS TO BE INSTALLED AT OUR PORTS!

What is the fee that the software company that does Liat reservations charge?

Who does the software belong to?

What do upgrades cost?

How many of these has Liat paid for over the years?

Are those upgrade costs compatible with other industry providers in the same sphere?

You see what de ole man is saying?

So when you got 9 people who ent know one badword about any of this, THE RESULTS ARE DISASTER!

I GIVE YOU LIAT IN PERPETUAL MOTION AND SIMULTANEOUS STASIS

18. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the First of the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee

It is very interesting that you topic with Commander Theophillus Gazerts WHICH IS OF SUCH CRITICAL INTEREST is something that you and the Honourable Blogmaster would allow to be hidden here.

This is a meaty discussion Hee Hee and the points the 2 of you are exchanging should be escalated to a blog of it’s own WHERE THE CONCEPTS WOULD BE BETTER VENTILATED!!!

But this DOES NOT SERVE YOUR BOSS’S AGENDA DOES IT?

Here is something extremely critical in your discourse Hee Hee

You brayed AND I QUOTE

“…So if the turnout has consistently been around 60% and a party gets all 30 seats it is not an impressive victory because 56% of registered voters did not vote for the BLP?…”

I’ll be yuh Huckleberry!!!

No it is not an impressive victory BECAUSE THE BLP DID NOT WIN, THE DLP LOST!!!

And you simply DO NOT WANT THAT FACT TO BE SEEN!

But Commander Theophillus understands that nuance.

And this is why the inert PdP is wasting time fooling spiders.

Because 23% of your 46% were disgruntled DLP VOTERS!

and WHEN THE PEOPLE’S PARTY FOR DEMOCRACY AND DEVELOPMENT mobilize 25 % of those 56% that is why Mugabe Mottley is going to be a one term government.

And this is why wunna “fishing” heah pun Barbados Underground to determine strategy THAT IS GOING TO BE USED TO DEFEAT YOU IN 2021!

Hopefully by then The PdP would have woken up!

19. All of that will become null…saw on FB where someone claims they already started asking for her resignation…soft-in-the-head yardfowls will have a conniption…no more crumbs..

20. @ Artax January 11, 2020 10:29 AM
    “With that out of the way, then we could rationally and reasonably discuss what attributes Arthur has that convinced Gaston, Mottley and comrade Ralphie (or Gaston), he is the man for the job.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We shall soon see, hopefully, if OSA is a real boss and as despotic as his former nemesis MAM when he is confronted with the reality of having to implement the massive restructuring of the administration and operational management of that financially bedraggled and operationally ‘handicapped’ airline.

How can a small airline carrying such a heavy manpower burden (over 600) as overheads expect to survive without vast injections of working capital by the regional taxpayers to keep this junkie in the air?

Is the ‘tired’ and worn-out OSA just there for the ‘beer’ and boardroom treats or is he prepared to tell Gaston Browne that his pork barrel at his LIAT HQ has to be trimmed significantly and its operations removed from the clutches of politically-appointed ‘yes’ men and women?

As the godfather of Caricom wouldn’t OSA’s remaining time as the statesman of the sub-region be better spent trying to get his godchildren to come to Christian understanding (according to politicians) regarding the CCJ?

Without a fully functioning regional court supported by all Caricom players integration and cooperation at the commercial level shall remain a mere ‘pie-in-the-sky’ enterprise with the likes of LIAT nothing more than collateral damage.

Why is the other MM so keen to hold on to his pick at this poorly-managed airline unless he sees airplanes as just models of racing cars in the air?

As the heralded highflying business tycoon and electoral financier of the political duopoly wouldn’t his ‘precious’ management time be more productively spent in trying to get the Hyatt controversy behind him and his new beaming Lighthouse of tourist accommodation off the ground and in the air?

Now that would be the superb example of success while fighting against all odds to give real Bajan relevance to the slogan “who dares, wins” which can then be taken to the management of LIAT and say to its ‘fly-by-night’ Board: “Per ardua ad astra” (“Through struggle to the stars”).

21. “Why is the other MM so keen to hold on to his pick at this poorly-managed airline unless he sees airplanes as just models of racing cars in the air?”

You can guarantee something dirty and corrupt has gone on and is still going on there…they have spread their corruption so far and unbelievably WIDE that anything is possible. No wonder Barbados has been so severely mismanaged and neglected over the dedades while billions of dollars were removed from the economy….they were too busy establishing a CORRUPTION EXPANSION….their crime syndicate and filthy tentacles have EXPANDED beyond anyone’s imagination…..so they had no time to take care of the people’s business nor the island’s infrastructure.

Problem with such massive extensions into other people’s jurisdictions……..you lose control.

22. Lol…that is what happens when you embarked on a corruption expansion and got tracked down..

Can’t serve two masters…ah can’t wait for the fireworks….time oh time. Ticktock.

23. @Miller

The fault in your perspective is that BOTH LIAT and the CCJ as regional entities are important to ensuring regional integration. It is not a binary kind of issue.

24. Saw in one of today’s newspapers that Altman and Co and some FRAUD trust is selling land next door to Barclay Park on the East Coast for 13 million dollars, the new amount for corruption.

Am sure soft in the head yardfowls are quite happy, even more sure ya dumb asses will not be allowed anywhere near there.lol

The parasites are finally selling off the island completely.

25. This was in march 2019
    Makes for wonder how much did barbados contribute in a time of austerity

A LIAT aircraft
    Caribbean countries are being asked to contribute a total of US$5.4 million in emergency funding needed to keep the cash strapped Leeward Island Air Transport or LIAT in the sky.

The decision was made during an emergency meeting held in Barbados on Monday.

Countries, including the four major shareholders – Dominica, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines – along with Grenada, have agreed to contribute to the US$5.4 million.

Dominica, is being asked to contribute US$347,938 in light of its 25 weekly flights, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, with 52 departures per week, will contribute US$723,711 while Grenada, which has 35 LIAT departures per week, is being asked to contribute US$487,113.

Barbados, which has the 116 weekly departures, the highest by LIAT, is being asked to contribute US$1.614 million, while Antigua and Barbuda, which has 69 departures, will contribute US$960,310.

These five countries constitute the “A Group” and while no other government has come forward in the face of the crisis, the shareholder governments are targeting a further three, They are Guyana, St. Kitts and Nevis and St. Lucia, for contributions of US$292,280, US$389,691, and US$584,536, respectively.

Several other countries serviced by LIAT — including Trinidad and Tobago — are not included in the request because they have opposed, up front, putting in any emergency funding into the ailing airline

26. @ David January 12, 2020 6:09 AM

If those two regional entities are so important to the CARICOM project then the ‘fault’ has to lie not with the miller’s perspective but in the poor leadership pushing regional integration more in the breach than in the regular ‘crappy’ meetings to talk shop.

The English-speaking Caribbean is overpopulated with lawyers; mainly graduates of another regional institution called the UWI.

What is wrong with the political leaders (many being lawyers themselves) ‘exploiting’ this overabundance of talent in the field of ‘indigenous’ jurisprudence?

Didn’t a former prime minister, a doyen of this legal training school, threaten to remove his country from the ambit of the CCJ because his administration did not get the decision(s) to boost his big ego?

The same way they can make bold decisions like borrowing money from the Chinese and going to the IMF and make the poor smell hell, why can’t they make the more beneficial decision and make the CCJ the No.1 face of integration?

What are they waiting on?

For King Charlie to tell them to buzz off and to grow up and learn to ‘govern’ themselves while leaning to paddle their own legal canoe?

Watch and see how these leaders still under the Constitutional control of the British monarchy will be scrambling when Her Majesty makes her imminent exit and would therefore react like a ‘deaf and dumb’ deer caught in the headlights of an oncoming political train.

Would “sovereign” countries like Barbados go the destination of republicanism via the ‘delaying’ referendum route or would the administration faced with this expected scenario impose its Parliamentary majority Will on the people?

BTW, there nothing mercurially challenging about operating an airline of such a small size and serving a customer base of less than 2 million.

The problem with LIAT is its vulnerability to the machinations of the political players deeply bogged down in a game of one-upmanship trying to show one another whose political pecker is the biggest; with even the few females trying to emulate their male counterparts in their ‘immature and selfish’ quest to maintain absolute control over their individual fiefdoms while incurring the growing cost of the region’s economic and social retardation.

27. @Miller

Cannot find fault with your comment.

28. @ WURA
    We now wait and see if the Duopoly would move with haste and compulsorily acquire these lands and keep them in trust for all future generation of Barbadians never to be sold.

29. @Enuff.
    Let’s just focus on 2013 and 2018.

Year Votes % Total Voting
    2013 74,121 48.2 153778 (BLP lost)
    2018 111,968 74.6 150091 (BLP won)

Three thousand less turning out to vote in 2018, but a massive 37,000 increase in votes for the BLP.

Now you know as well as I do, that the bulk of these 37,000 voted in 2013. Where did they come from?
    Why did they switched?
    Why did they vote BLP?
    Can you count on them in 2023?

Given the current pattern of behavior, you may lose those 37,000 and a few of your own as well.
    That 42% could easily shrink to the low 30’s or high 20’s.

The DLP have more years in the wilderness. The path is open for a third party,

30. William…please do not hold your breath…they are all in bed and on offshore accounts together, their names and the names of their bagmen and fraudulent document producers in the land registry are all intertwined…if you look closely at all those layers and layers of companies they all sit on as this and that…all their names are there for the world to see……lol

people are shocked at what they are looking at, just as shocked as the people on the East Coast this morning who will be PUSHED OUT for these frauds to continue spreading their corruption.

31. @ WURA
    I await the comments of the apologists and cool aid drinkers. At least Justice Carlisle Greaves is not allowing the long gown and wig to silence him.
    He was also in forefront of the Mount Stinkeroo fight a few decades ago when as a resident of St Thomas , the Duopoly was “ stinking out “ the people.
    Like I said we await the comments of the apologists and cool aid drinkers.

32. yeah, let them come out…

one of their imps from the fraternity is desperately trying to get his FAKE registration to the Washington Immigration Bar removed from search engines on the internet.

Their setup in UK is impressive. They touched a lot of places.

They all spread themselves too thin, far and wide and have lost control. It would never have occured to any of thos low crawling things that that level of growth is supposed to stay ONLINE and be contained for the development of the BLACK POPULATION and others, generations of growth could have been achieved but not them…it was all about THEM and “what we culd get fuh weselves”

33. stay ON ISLAND…..

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Theo

Why are you intermingling this discussion of LIAT with an” emergency post mortem” of the 2018 General Election ? Those issues that you are resurrecting have been discussed ad nauseam. What diversionary game are you playing?

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

After over 30 interventions ,I am sure you realize why I thought the decision of OSA to accept this post has the potential to derail his legacy.

36. @Vincent

The consensus is that LIATs problems are mired in the political interference of shareholders over the years that has led to ineffective management decisions which have led to inefficiency. As discussed Arthur’s brings a certain scholarship to the Chair post tenure of prime minister. You have indicated there is the potential to derail his legacy, the opposite is also true. Given what is at stake what is more important?

37. I will say one thing that will confirm why I don’t expect Owen to get anywhere with LIAT.

Barbados is the largest shareholder and also holds one of the most profitable routes for LIAT. Yet they seem to have the least say in the running of the airline, as that appears to be controlled by Antigua and St Vincent. So here is the only thing that can change that.

Does the total shareholding of St Vincent and Antigua exceed the share holding of Barbados and the others? Will the others be willing to vote with Barbados and in so doing have enough of a controlling vote to push through real change? If the answer to this is no, well Owen goose cook before he even start.

38. @John A

Do you see Arthur accepting nonsense from Browne? Ralphie is Arthur’s domino buddy, he better than anybody may find common ground in the interest of all concerned.

39. @ David.

Doesn’t matter it’s about voting power to carry a motion at board level. If Ralphie and Brown combined hold the controlling voting stock, then Arthur can bark all he wants but can’t bite a soul.

40. Do you think it’s by chance that Brown and Comrade Gonsalves always sing from the same hymn book?

41. @VC
    Forgot how I ended up here. But I already completed 3 exchanges, so I am/was done.

42. @John A

The point your are missing is that there s an expectation Arthur with all his experience and stature will be able to influence the process that determines the final vote.

43. @ David – ….“Do you see Arthur accepting nonsense from Browne?”……

What leverage does Arthur have to make Browne accept anything he proposes that would not see the demise of LIAT?

Let’s look at the FACTS. Yes, the Barbados hub is responsible for alot of LIAT’s profitable routes and we are the majority shareholder, but the operations hub is in Antigua. LIAT or any other business entity CANNOT function without its operations hub which resides in Browne’s backyard.

So tell all of us, what leverage does OSA REALLY have? Absolutely none and neither does Ralph. Let’s look at a recent airline prediction from Ralph. Look back at the post on that B747-400 well predicted fiasco that was supposed to fly to Dubai. Ralph was quoted as saying the following

“St. Vincent and the Grenadines would have its own 747 indigenous based airlines in the not too distant future. A group of Vincentian pilots and business people want to start a small locally base 747 service. It would link St Vincent from different airports, to which my government is going to give full support.”

Was correctly called out right here on this blog that it was a pure pipe dream, as if it were that easy, established billion dollar airlines like Emirates or Etihad would have been plying those routes already. Somethings are just plain evident given the long track record of regional airline piss poor management.

But at the end of the day, it’s all a matter of opinion right? Let’s sit back and revisit these conversations in 9-12 months when LIAT will be coming cap-in-hand to governments again. This time Guyana will be in a different position once Guyana Airways gets it’s AOC shortly. Maybe they will buy over LIAT……haha…enough oil dollars to do it

At the end of the day the real truth is ALWAYS evident whether it’s pleasant or not. Hope alone is never an effective strategy for anything

44. The leverage is that Arthur’s selection is supported by Browne.

Another is his access to the ears of the shareholders.

The other leverage or what is more aptly described as Boardroom craft is the scholarship and reputed acumen of the former prime minister, a prime minister with an intimate knowledge of the workings of LIAT.

45. Who selected this board the shareholders as is the standard policy was the members circulated and voted by the shareholders
    What is Robert Riley bringing to add value his background is oil with a company that he had to do little to make money in addition which company was he involved with to turn around towards profitability
    What are the instructions to the Chairman and what time frame indicated to him to change the direction of the company;s financial and operational fortunes
    Can anyone provide the financials for the company as inherited by this new board

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

At least you have an appreciation of what the real problem is.

@ David BU

Restructuring an airline is not a political matter. The role you are assigning to the chaiman of the board of directors is very unusual.

47. @ David.

Gonsalves and Brown will support Arthur as long as none of the suggestions affect them. Look back at the history of LIAT if you doubt me.

The harsh reality is that Arthur will still need their vote to carry a motion. I have not read LIATs articles or bylaws so I don’t know if it take 60% or 70% to carry a vote, but one thing is sure, Arthur can not carry a vote without them or others support.

If you want to understand this clearly, then ask for the current shareholding by island and a copy of the articles and bylaws. Or ask our leader what percentage does it require to carry a vote on a matter tabled.

Same story with a different author when all is said and done.

48. @Vincent

What are the qualifications of the CEO and Chairman of American Airlines?

49. @John A

The variable today is that after many capital/cash calls on shareholders this is not business as usual time.