Submitted by Bimjim

January 9, 2020

LIAT announces the appointment of a new Board of Directors and the election of the Right Honourable Professor Owen S. Arthur as the Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Following the Company’s Annual General Meeting held in Antigua on Monday 16th December 2019, a new Board of Directors was elected, and the Right Honourable Professor Owen S. Arthur was nominated and elected as Chairman.

Professor Arthur currently serves as a Professor of Practice at the University of The West Indies. He has served the Caribbean as a learned Statesman including his work presiding over the Regional process to revise the Treaty of Chaguaramas to establish the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME).

The new Board of Directors consists of:

Rt. Hon. Prof. Owen S. Arthur as chairman,
Mr. Michael Holder,
Mr. Mark Maloney,
Mr. Robert Riley,
Mrs. Juanita Thorington-Powlett,
Mr. Isaac Solomon,
Mrs. Carolyn Tonge,
Hon. Lennox Weston and
Hon. Sir Robin Yearwood.

The new Directors bring to the airline and regional transportation sector over 100 years of combined aviation experience. The Directors have demonstrated exceptional records of performance and service to the industry and to the region.

The new Chairman has been tasked by the new Board to undertake a special assignment to meet with regional Prime Ministers to discuss sustainability of the Airline. This assignment will be supported by other directors and the Management Team of the airline.

LIAT’s Shareholders, Management and Staff welcome our Directors to the LIAT and look forward to working together with the new Board to foster and strengthen regional transportation and integration.

Business as usual, folks, don’t go getting your hopes up.

“The new Directors bring to the airline and regional transportation sector over 100 years of combined aviation experience”. Derriere-lickers all, that just about sums up the shit-pot of garbage they are trying to fool us with again. 100 years of experience in their feckin DREAMS.

They had the opportunity to make a difference, and they just rolled on by. AGAIN.

128 responses to “LIAT Appoints New Board Of Directors”

1. I wonder why air transport between these pepper islands in nowhere is so expensive. For the price of a 2-hour flight with LIAT you can already get tickets across the Atlantic.

But as I already said: Our dear MAM proves with the OSA coup once again great strategic skill. As Miller rightly states, OSA will inevitably fail and be demystified.

As old Barrow has also long since been exposed as a loudmouth and Burnham´s brother, only one heroine remains for the history of Barbados since independence: Mia A. Mottley. I predict that one day our Most Honourable Prime Minister will oust Barrow from the 50 dollar note and she will become the new national hero instead of Barrow. Children, squares and streets will be named after her, the mother of the nation.

2. Ummm… The ten people have over 100 years of combined aviation experience.

This should be /very/ entertaining…

3. Arthur is the poster boy for CSME and CARICOM – here is an opportunity for Arthur to retrieve his legacy.

No bull, no politics!

4. @David: “No bull, no politics!

Indeed. Execution is needed. Very interested in seeing how that works out.

And we now get to observe that, in “real-time”.

I sincerely hope he pulls it off. Not really all that difficult, for anyone serious.

5. I love the title “ Right Honourable Professor” Owen S Arthur, what are they going to drop when he is inevitably knighted?

BTW Mark Maloney used to be the now Gov’t favourite whipping boy, how times have changed.

6. “The new Directors bring to the airline and regional transportation sector over 100 years of combined aviation experience”. Derriere-lickers all, that just about sums up the shit-pot of garbage they are trying to fool us with again. 100 years of experience in their feckin DREAMS.
    XxxxxxxxXXXXX_XXX

@ Bimjim

YOU CAN’T BE A BAJAN YOU KEEP IT REAL REAL REAL.

MORE BULLSHITTERS CONTINUING TO PUT ROUND PEGS IN SQUARE HOLES.

IT IS NOT WHAT YOU KNOW IT IS WHO YOU KNOW.

I AM CONVINCED THAT BLACK BAJANS ARE DOOMED, THEY OBVIOUSLY LIKE SWIMMING IN CONTINUING SHIT STIRRED AS COMPETENCE.

7. “BTW Mark Maloney used to be the now Gov’t favourite whipping boy, how times have changed.”

Just goes to show none of them can be trusted near the treasury or pension fund, they play nasty games with the people just to get their greedy hands in both and tell any amount of lies to the people to achieve this. ….and especially with the amount of evidence of criminality against the people and island they have on each other and that others have on them.

2020 will be quite interesting.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Sargeant January 10, 2020 11:31 PM
    “BTW Mark Maloney used to be the now Gov’t favourite whipping boy, how times have changed.“

He who pays the piper…………….. Times have not changed at all ,everything remains the same. Only the faces change . The cool aid drinkers remain the same.

The Duopoly Rules

9. Had to laugh out loud when i read the part about board members having 100 years of aviation experience
    However the thought came to mind may be in the context of frequent flyer miles
    Be that as it may OSA face on the board makes up the room for “comfort” and as the old adage say comfort makes fool happy
    Maybe at this point and time most sitting on the board of Liat strapped in seat belts are hoping that OSA now captain would provide a soft landing for Liat

10. Oh lawd not MAM2!! Stupse.

11. Not MAM2
    Yeap by now everybody knows that MAM2 is a trickster and capable of digging up dirt from the underground even as much as digging up the bones of slaves in the dead of night thiefing them and carting them hundreds of miles to foreign territory
    MAM is capable of any thing
    Watch that sinster smile and her signature finger pointing

12. Mari
    You din saying so pre-2018 though. You like you forget he was on the Board prior to 2018. I noticed, apart from Owen Arthur, only Michael Holder and Thorington-Powlett (a very competent woman) are new to the Board. I hope MAM2 is a carry-over for continuity? According to the Nation, Michael Holder one of the new appointees has 36 years experience in the aviation industry, working at many airports across the region and John F. Kennedy. The other members gotta account for the remaining 64%, some may contribute 0%. 🤣🤣🤣

13. POOR MARI

she ging to she grave with MIA stuck in she craw

14. “Had to laugh out loud when i read the part about board members having 100 years of aviation experience
    However the thought came to mind may be in the context of frequent flyer miles”

Funny, but it begs the question… How do you convert miles to years,

Let’s hope this is more than a “rearrangement of deck chairs on the Titanic”

Put LIAT in BU search’s tool and note the number of posts on LIAT over the years.

15. So sad……these types of decisions should leave absolutely no doubt that for the average man and woman in Barbados, it is indeed a FAILED STATE.

Nothing about these board appointments suggests the real problems in LIAT and Caribbean air travel will be solved. It is purely and simply about lining pockets of party hacks and paying back campaign financiers.

Anyone that thinks otherwise is certainly entitled to, but would be dreaming. This is why you would NEVER see Barbados favourably compared to the likes of Singapore etc and why BERT will be followed by HURT for my fellow men and women.

Pride LACKING industry

16. How many Directors Barbados is responsible for selecting? Could it be the shareholders prefer new chairman to be apprised if the current state of affairs before wholesale decisions are taken?

Another perspective.

17. Another perspective David but not convinced…

The previous chairman was a “Caribbean man” and was there long enough to understand the head office internal and country politics as well as had enough executive level experience to deliver the same messages back to key shareholders.

As mentioned, we can dance and spin as we like, but at the end of the day the truth is the truth.

Piles of garbage, broken sewerage systems etc don’t just happen….it’s the result of poor-decision making along the way. Spin is matter of perspective and affiliation. The truth is the truth

18. Jean Holder has to go to make way for Arthur.

19. Bajeabroad all u said is the truth
    Defined by policies of shifting the chairs on the doomed airline
    Using square pegs to fill round holes

20. As many would attest that OSA all but placed barbados under the mushroom cloud of debt with high borrowing which in effect has taken on the features of a nuclear explosion
    Now Mia has started the revolving cycle of more debt as all await the loud bang of the e explosion
    Hard to envision OSA bringing this doomed airline under control
    Where will he find the available financial resources to pay the debt without asking most of the employees to take a hike thus leaving the airline to fly on one engine
    A plot which most likely to happen leaving heads of govt scampering looking for political cover

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!!

This is certainly not a “turn around Board”. I wonder what is its mission.

22. It amazes me that certain individuals here are always in “criticizing mode.” They jump on a particular band-wagon to support each other in criticizing just for the sake of being critical, without being fair, rational and reasonable.

If one analyses the selection process, it seems as though selecting and appointing LIAT board members fell in the ratio of 4:3:1, with BGI, as majority shareholder, being entitled to appoint 4 people, ANU = 3 and SVG = 1. The board members SELECTED a Chairman from AMONGST themselves, as was done previously in the case of Dr. Jean Holder.

That previous BoD comprised of Dr. Jean Holder, Irvine Best and Martin Cox and Mark Maloney representing BGI; ANU representatives were ALP member and St. Philips North MP Sir Robin Yearwood, (who has been sitting in that island’s Parliament for the past 43 years), Senator Lennox Weston and Carolyn Tonge; and SVG, Issac Solomon.

Under this new dispensation, BGI significant changes by selecting new appointees in Juanita Thorington Powlett, Michael Holder and Robert Riley, while Mark Maloney remained; ANU “kept the faith” with Carolyn Tonge, Lennox Weston and Sir Robin Yearwood and SVG, Isaac Solomon.

ANU and BGI seem to have gone in the direction of maintaining a businessman in their choices, since Sir Robin is a billionaire investor and we all know Maloney.

However, unless the ratio changed to 5:3:1……..if one takes into consideration BGI selected its 4 representatives, then, it seems as though the DECISION to appoint Owen Arthur as Chairman, was made by the heads of shareholder governments…… and NOT Mottley………

……………. which, in MY opinion, sends a signal they (or Gaston Browne), things are about to CHANGE at LIAT (as Browne indicated a few months ago). And, I don’t believe it was coincidental Browne “came out of the box early” to announce Arthur’s appointment.

With that out of the way, then we could rationally and reasonably discuss what attributes Arthur has that convinced Gaston, Mottley and comrade Ralphie (or Gaston), he is the man for the job.

23. David
    You know BU pickanoisettes’ mentality–noise pick. Does being a Director on an airline board count as experience? The opposition to me on this blog will continue because I refuse to join the Salemites. Imagine the people say the Board has a COMBINED 100 years aviation industry experience and it is causing ruction. They are basically saying LIAT telling lies but, apart from Maloney and Owen, more than likely they are clueless about the other members. Maybe the mob should engage in a more granular assessment and rather than focus on the 100 years’ experience statement, demand info on the combined successes (or lack thereof), which is the gist of the topic.

24. This heavy analysis and recall of history is not needed.

Theo’s summary: A good pick open up and a political appointment was made…
    Did experience with AYscrewyah (AYSCUDA) help?
    Did White Hoax’s experience help[?

I don’t kno. I jus askin

Ignore the fancy sounding BS

25. John 2 the answer to your last comment
    Just like Mari stuck in your craw
    Try coughing it might help along with a couple slaps in the back.

26. “The opposition to me on this blog will continue because I refuse to join the Salemites.”

Ah see the neuva, sympatica mascota did not last too long…lol

Don’t care the centuries of fake airline experience…the airline is and will always be shite…

The corrupt being on board will not help either…there is more in that mortar…

27. Hmmmmmm…..

Why work up a sweat when it be much better if they had simply scrolled passed?

28. Just To Let You Know Avatar
    Just To Let You Know

@ TheOGazzerts

I said it before and I going say it again. You are a JACKASS that don’t got nothing else to offer other than telling Barbados to have a great day and dropping nasty remarks like a sl**. For a mature woman, you are disappointing.

Some uh we here don’t know and just asking too. Tell we what ASYCUDA and White Oaks got to do with the shareholders appointing OSA as the chairman of LIAT?

How is OSA a political appointment?

Are you going to answer them questions? I now remember you can’t think for yourself, you have to wait until your favourite people post.

Let we hear about coffee and grits now.

@ Vincent Codrington

The amount a shite you does like on BU, I sure if a keyboard had a like key, it would be worn down all like now.

29. To repeat my previous remark: What a brilliant move by our glorious Prime. The Grand General sends her Captain on a suicide mission. OSA could not refuse the assignment, otherwise he would have admitted to everyone that he cannot manage an economy, but only take on debts and inflate the public sector. In view of LIAT’s desolate situation, however, he must take my favourite path: downsizing staff and salaries and increasing working hours and other duties. He must introduce Asian discipline and rigour to this Caribbean airline.

As Tron, I am totally impartial and I wish OSA the best outcome in this almost impossible mission – in the interests of Barbados and the entire region.

And do not forget … Some people even become legends after losing a battle, for example General Varus or King Leonidas 😉

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

JTLYK

I appreciate good debates and logic even if I do not share the points of view nor the blogger’s political party. We cannot all think alike. I do my own thinking. My up tick is to give jack his jacket. Sorry. I am not a yard fowl. My training and education do not permit it.

31. TheoGas (hot air)
    Of course you have no interest in analysis, pickanoisettes thrive on illogic, misinformation, conjecture and lies. After all, you recently loudly declared that the 30-0 drubbing of the DLP at the polls was not impressive because only 60% of the electorate voted. If you paid more attention to history i.e. data, you would have realised that 60% is about the average turn out for the last 7/8 elections. But hey, commonsense and truth don’t fit all yuh by any means necessary agenda.

32. Three last submissions worthy of belly laughs
    Too bad OSA not here to share in laughter
    Guess he might even suggest all go to John Moore Bar to have a drink
    Laughing out loud

33. “White Oaks got to do with the shareholders appointing OSA as the chairman of LIAT?”

So when are they planning to STOP PAY whiteHOAX again…this is going into the 2nd year…@$85 THOUSAND…it was US right?

that is the people’s money…NOT YOURS…

34. EnuffJanuary 11, 2020 1:09 PM

TheoGas (hot air)
    Of course you have no interest in analysis, pickanoisettes thrive on illogic, misinformation, conjecture and lies. After all, you recently loudly declared that the 30-0 drubbing of the DLP at the polls was not impressive because only 60% of the electorate voted. If you paid more attention to history i.e. data, you would have realised that 60% is about the average turn out for the last 7/8 elections. But hey, commonsense

But Enuff why u all worked up about theo statement in reference to the voting numbers
    It is not as if he told an untruth similar to those lies which Mia made then converted to promises but as of yet to be delivered
    Btw still awaiting the long over due promise which she made of releasing her ministers portfolio which includes financial
    Between Mia and Theo in this instances Theo is more honest

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

I think we need to get back on track. A new board has been appointed for :LIAT. What do you see as the mission of this Board?

What were your expectations when this new BoD was appointed? Surely it was not the intention to launch an assessment of OSA legacy to the nation of Barbados? Or to test his effectiveness as a leader? OSA has nothing to prove at this stage of his a career or life.

So shall we concentrate on the way forward for LIAT?

36. Watching soccer. Will take time and answer questions later.

But what kind of fool seek answers from a JA.

Oh, I see I can answer two easily. The emphasis/connection was on quoted experience of people involved in AYSCREWYAH and White Hoax.

And if you believe that it is his experience with the airline industry and not his political connections you may be too far down the ladder for me to help.

BTW, just between you and me .. I have this bridge in Brooklyn..

As you see, you can learn something from a JA. You got three lessons in one, interpretation, reading comprehension and advice on political connections.

No need to call me Sir or say Thank you. If you have more questions or require additional help, I am here.

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Nobody needs a degree in anything to be a director of anything. Boards of Directors can be made up of people who bring something to the Board.
    OSA has long established himself as a competent technocrat and his wide interest should serve the LIAT Board well.
    The reason why BU can’t get pass political posturing is simple: the same salemites and picanettes who are complaining now did the same thing on BU for almost a decade. This is how both sides of the Duopoly operate.
    You note how they are questioning the competence of the Architects on the Bridgetown plan. If the shoe were on the other foot they would be calling for the architects position to be taken seriously. They are only welcoming Arthur now because they have spit in their face because Mottley has now embraced Arthur and vice versa.
    Nobody can seriously question Arthur’s intellect. He showed early academic promise from high school. Unfortunately for him he was brought in by Tom Adams and was never fully accepted. At that time after Tom’s death he was the only one with some superior grasp on economics that the party could turn to.
    As the fortunes of the DLP declined he rose in structure and attracted a lot of Arthur Dems. That is where his ultimate strength was. As Thompson emerged that declined somewhat and Arthur knew that he had to practice what he called the politics of inclusion. You would note that as the conflict with Mottley grew most of the elders started to promote Mottley. It’s the internal cannibalism in the Duopoly to which I have often referred. Believe it or not but Thompson also experienced this internal cannibalism in the DLP. The internal cannibalism within the Duopoly has no end. The cool aid drinkers are sent on BU to try cannibalism but they end up eating themselves. That’s how they survive.

The Duopoly Rules

38. @ Vincent

I wonder if Owen will be able to get the audited financials up to date for a start. If not he like all the rest will be flying blind.

Owen take my advise tell Mia you had a look at it and she should sell all we shares and then go walk St Peter beach. Liat will never run as a business as long as Antigua and St Vincent calling the shots and we paying the bill.

39. @Enuff
    Let me remind you that they got 74% of that 60%. In reality, that massive 30-0 was done because she got 74*60=44% of all possible voters.

100-44=56

56% of all voters did not put an X in the column headed by Mia.

Constituencies were won by just a few hundred votes.

Can you see, how an active third party could put a great dent in that 30-0 or even flip it completely?

If your group continue as it is currently doing, for the next election you may be saying 7/9. (I used your stats).

HAGD.

40. “The cool aid drinkers are sent on BU to try cannibalism but they end up eating themselves. That’s how they survive.”

lol..

me thinks someone just went…one fell swoop.

41. The way forward for Liat starts with a restructuring from the ground level all the way to the top
    The only way that can be done is by selling the company at a substantial loss
    Any other way forward would be a loss cause to all involved
    The new management /owners can make a deal with the sellers to soften the blow of any losses New management vwould be committed to keep the company a part of the Carribbean basin
    Along with a lesser degree to having to off load many on the lower end of the job spectrum

42. Missing in this conversation is our “London” correspondent – Hal Austin
    Hal, I hope all is well.

43. @Just To Let You Know
    I have figured out how to yank your cord, but we have already done three exchanges.
    The field is yours …
    Have a Great day.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

JohnA at 2:13 PM

I think we need first to revisit the purpose of LIAT. Is that purpose still valid?
    The financials have a foregone conclusion which needs to be evidenced. It is not financially viable. It was subsidized from the beginning. Political and social benefits were thought to be worth the subsidies. Not all beneficiaries of these non-financial benefits are/were prepared to pay their fair share.
    So the fundamental issues are :
    Are these benefits still valid ?
    Are the net beneficiaries of them willing to take up the tab?

45. William Skinner Avatar

Perhaps brother Hal has decided to keep a stiff upper lip (lol)

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I think the PM of Barbados called PM of Antigua’s bluff and he caved in. Unadulterated political games.

47. So Theo…apparently and i saw it myself, it was the Bar Association link advertising this lawyer Wayne Cumberbatch, the link has since been removed from the internet….smart move.

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A

Call me a regional dreamer but I truly believe that we need modern efficient regional air and sea transport , managed and maintained by our governments and joint progressive private sector players.
    Too many of our children are not interacting with each other and learning how to pool limited resources for the future if we are to maintain an economic independence.
    We cannot allow the follies of the current regional leadership to weaken our regional integration resolve. As OSA has pointed out, Barbados benefits tremendously from the operations of LIAT.
    I assure you that all sectors of regional economies stand to benefit if we can get air and sea transportation up to Mark.

49. @TheOGazertsJanuary 11, 2020 2:34 PM

Missing in this conversation is our “London” correspondent – Hal Austin
    Hal, I hope all is well.

I am hoping all is well with Comrade Hal. I call him out when he post bullshit because I know he can do better.
    All the best to you and the family in the New Year Hal.

50. @ Vincent.

I think for LIAT to at least break even, all of the Caribbean islands who Benefit from it need to first share in the financial burden of keeping it going. This can be done as an annual subsidy based on seats provided to the island or some similar method. Once this is done and the financials brought up to date, we can then and only then, see what the net shortfall is yearly.

In the event the noncontributors dont chip in, then LIAT needs to look at load in terms of seats filled and decide what flights weekly will be cancelled to these islands. In other words if you don’t pay your way then you will pay the price. Were this run as a business we both know that would of happened every since.

What is laughable is some of those islands who refuse to pay, are in fact the most dependant on LIAT. If we agree as a region it can’t be business as usual, then the only other option is a viable business model.

Question is will Owen have the support from the others to finally bell the cat? After all dem is all politicians when done, who as we know put their vote and ego first!