The IDB Caribbean Region Quarterly Bulletin: Volume 8, Issue 3: September 2019 was recently released and the review of Barbados is found at page 7 of the report.

The conclusion of the report:

Underpinning growth constraints in Barbados is the need to invest in infrastructure. The worsening quality of infrastructure indicators reflects an aging capital stock and declining infrastructure investments. Given the country’s fiscal stance and economic reform program, new investments will likely remain constrained in the next few years. The calls for the support of other investment modalities, such as PPPs. Further promoting resilience in infrastructure investments will also be of the utmost importance given the country’s vulnerabilities to climate change and natural disasters.

177 responses to “IDB Highlights Barbados’ Crumbling Infrastructure”

1. Glad to see I am not the only one that thinks PPPs are a way forward for us based on our current financial situation and obvious restraints.

2. PURITY BAKERIES says a rodent problem it is experiencing is nothing new, and is blaming it on the sporadic collection of garbage.

This is according to the company in response to two videos making the rounds on social media showing a rat between baking pans in Lower Collymore Rock, St Michael facility.

“Purity Bakeries, like every other food business, has experienced challenges in relation to the rodent population around our facility. The national issues related to garbage collection have compounded these challenges,” said Purity in a statement on its Facebook page yesterday afternoon after the DAILY NATION had earlier contacted general manager Ralph Holder for a comment.(AGB)…

Lord what is going on ?

3. There is the downside to a crumbling infrastructure.

4. 12 And the Lord appeared to Solomon by night, and said unto him, I have heard thy prayer, and have chosen this place to myself for an house of sacrifice.

13 If I shut up heaven that there be no rain, or if I command the locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among my people;

14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

2 Chronicles 7

5. Once we again , we are going to pretend being surprised by a report that is at least twenty five years late. I recall all the pretty talk about 20/20 vision , recently revised to 20/30.
    We have pretended , that the country’s problems are totally of recent vintage. However unless you sing in the choirs at George or Roebuck Streets, you are supposed to deny the damage being done and that was done to our country by visionless leadership.
    We now pretend that we could just march into the IMF office borrow some money and by pure magic “ Barbados is back”. Then we had a spectacularly ignorant question: “ How did we get back here” Nobody told Sandiford that we never left!
    Until a bold new vision is given we are just spinning top in mud.
    Try fixing old boards; remove one and another rotten one drops off tomorrow.
    That’s where we are . In the words of the same Sandiford : “ Like it or lump it”
    The Duopoly Rules

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

A PPP comment managed to appear in EVERY country report. The IDB’s new #1 recommendation.

7. @ Rock 33 December 8, 2019 10:55 PM

If you are reporting facts ascribed to “Purity Bakeries” then the operation should be closed down. It is obvious that the prerequisite conditions for enforcement of the hazard analysis critical control point (HACCP) are lacking. I am referring to what are known as current good manufacturing program and standard sanitary operating procedures (cGMP and SSO). cGMP addresses the cleanliness of the food plant and its surroundings. The bakery is supposed to have an active rodent control program in place. The program can be in-house or can be contracted to external sources. To blame the rodent infestation on the lack of garbage removal is a lame excuse: it attempts to disguise sloppy manufacturing procedures. The premises should be made rodent proof. All entrances and exits ought to made rodent proof. This maybe a case where persons in authority have prevented enforcement of sound public health actions. This happens often in a two-bit country like Barbados.

8. This maybe a case where persons in authority have prevented enforcement of sound public health actions. This happens often in a two-bit country like Barbados.

MUST AGREE FAILINGS EVERYWHERE ON BIM BY THE INCOMPETENT OR BRIBED AUTHORITIES.

A MIND IS A TERRIBLE THING TO WASTE.

9. These are the types of BOLDFACED LIES…that will continue to harm decades of the majority black population if they do not stop identifying with slimy politicians AND START TAKING THEIR OWN FUTURES AND THOSE OF YOUR FUTURE GENERATIONS INTO YOUR OWN HANDS…

even the damn photo op…SHOWS DECEIT…when you have practiced lies and deceit for decades, it becomes a PERMANENT FIXTURE on your face….she spoke to her excited YARDFOWLS only and never asked the people how they really feel or what they really want..but out their acting like they even knew she was going to Kenya or whereever the hell she is…..note the words…”EXCITED TO SEE WHAT ELSE THE Y CAN TAKE FROM AFRICA.

….not SHARE WITH AFRICA…these bitches are on take missions to share with their scummy, racist bribers, Black Bajans will be left out in the cold AGAIN…but it is not going to be as easy as TIEFING from your own vulnerable people, that we know….i can’t even stand to watch the photo

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/08/pm-mottley-eyes-opportunities-for-artists-and-designers-in-africa-and-the-pacific/

“Mottley explained further: “The fact is that most of our artists don’t have the collateral to go and access funding from the bank in order to be able to expand production. So we have to have showings such as this to ensure that we have other investors come on board, but also create the markets…

“Our own people from Barbados are excited about it and I know we are also excited to see what else we can take from Africa into the Caribbean because there is a strong sense of African awareness — African style, African music, African food, African designs.
    “The truth is, we are now only coming home to each other and discovering each other in ways that matter and we need to be able to give our people choice. I hope that the ACP partnership can create that platform.”

10. Is that the same purity bakeries that threatened a lawyer for exposing their rat infestation asa public health hazard…and now blaming it on governments usual neglect of anything that impacts the majotrity population, so they can’t hire private haulers, you are a business out there for decades, not a private residence….and got the nerve to think they can turn into Sue Happy..

.Barbados failed decades ago from the time your shitey black leaders decided to put the welfare of their BRIBERS FIRST..and that was since in the Barrow/Adames days…..that is an over 50 year old practice that will not break unless you get rid of the current scum.

11. Stop buying bread from Purity if it is a health risk. Are we stupid?

12. If a bakery has a rodent problem should it not be shut down?

13. @Doctor Lucas

As you know we have a rodent problem on the island especially Bridgetown. The inability to efficiently remove garbage from the street is a valid concern. Also believe it that ray bait placed by the Vector Control Unit is removed by two legged rats. There is a downside to everything. Will we see a video of the inside of Purity like we did Liquidation Centre? No because we are hypocritical.

14. @Northern Observer

We have to assume the IDB has a sound basis for recommending PPPs?

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

If the writer of this sensationalist article knew what he/she were doing, they would have written to the IDB for, or done some review of, the commensurate “implementation capacity” required for an effective PPP.

For example, if the writer had any meaningful experience, they woul have known that the first requirement of a PPP is having the skill TO RH CREATE ONE!

NOW, had this document been written by the bonafide practitioner WILY COYOTE then it would have benefited from such expertise INSTEAD OF BEING THE EXPANSIVE WAFFLE THAT IT IS.

We are not even going to introduce implementation capacity into the mix, else a serious commentator would then, AFTER DESCRIBING THE PAUCITY OF IDEAS, AND AN ENDEMIC INCAPACITY TO EVEN CRAFT THE IDEA, then we arrive at the inability to even implement it.

Watch as the Honourable Blogmaster and his cohort attack Piece the Legend as per usual for debunking the premise of the moot!

16. @ David December 9, 2019 4:06 AM

Stop making excuses for a sloppy food manufacturing operation. If garbage disposal is a problem, hire private operators to remove the garbage. If the vicinity of the plant is kept in pristine conditions, rodents wouldn’t collect. To put it mildly, this is slackness of the worst order. The problem is that palms have been greased in the past in effect for those in authority to look the other way. In the UK and USA, the firm would be closed down and the company heavily fined.

17. @ David December 9, 2019 4:06 AM

The theft of rodent bait is no excuse. The manufacturer as I have stated is responsible for the cleanliness of the firm’s environment. One other problem is the resistance that rodents acquire over time to chemical based rodenticides. Rodents do build up resistance so there is a dire need to change formulation.

18. @Dr. Lucas

Not making excuses but if the surrounding premises are overtaken what will be the point?

19. At this point dint give a rats a.ss about barbafis deplorable conditions
    Mottley and her crew promised the sun moon and stars to resolve the garbage problem
    When alternative solutions were offered past govt she brought down heaven and hell
    Doubt very much if Mia and misfits every visit a WTE plant however the sheep followed and said bah
    One day i saw a rat as big as a a racoon strolling across broadstreet
    Couldn’t care less if the rats invade the whole place and barbados becomes known as Rats City

20. Is this the same sloppy operation that workers for years complained they were locked in the building at night and treated as slaves …AND NOTHING WAS EVER DONE BY THE LABOR DEPARTMENT….or the two corrupt governments to help these workers….

So you think they care about a horde of rats or a lepto outbreak…get real.

It’s no secret….taking bribes for minorities to commit crimes against black citizens is a national pass time for scum in leadership positions,, their version of lots of pride and no industry…

21. William Skinner Avatar

Every day in other countries restaurants are closed down even if the droppings of rodents are seen farless the rodent itself. Everyday in other countries where laws are enforced this crap would not be so widespread and people here making excuses. Just like how a business place was allowed to remain a “ public hazard” unsafe for human occupation until it and the government clashed.
    We mekking sport bout hey fuh trute.To Dr. Lucas as the old people would tell yuh on this issue not to get in any argument with biased apologists. They would tell you : Save yuh breath!
    A bakery selling bread to citizens admits it has a rodent problem; a blogmaster agrees with the bakery that it’s the widespread garbage problem; a citizen says it’s the company’s responsibility to have safeguards to keep out rodents; a blogmaster says dat won’t make no difference. And we eating rats may piss pun.
    Nobody in Hollywood could write this script.Meanwhile a stupid know it all from englan telling people to stop buying the bread. He always pushing he mout in people business though. But we doan pay he no attention cause we all know de snow up in englan is Mel dem so mad.
    I now see a big rat run cross my yard but I ain’t gine bother to try and stop up the hole he come through because my garbage ain’t get pick up fuh three weeks now so if I don’t try to keep out the rats and Dey nite my lil grandchild I can be blamed fuh dat. Like a blogmaster day wuh difference it gine mek anyhow. And wuh is the real difference between a rat cutter and a cheese cutter anyhow.

22. Why should the bakery be closed? No one thought it necessary to inspect or close the building on Lower Bay Street until after it was seized. How many hundreds of people made purchases there and no one thought it necessary to report conditions therein? Rodents, fungus, blocked exits, inoperative fire extinguishers and o one noticed any of this? A business that large disconnected from the main water supply for two years did not raise a red flag?

No, leave the bakery alone. We like it so.

23. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

No rats in my home or my yard. How do I do it?

Start by keeping all garbage in tightly covered containers. You would be surprised at how many people/institutions keep their garbage in open containers or in containers with loosely fitted lids. If you do this the rats wil thank you for the delicious free buffet.

For commercial entities, pay a company to remove your garbage every single day.

Clean your garbage storage area every single day.

Use rain proof bait stations, and service them regularly. Use gloves of course.

Essentially deprive the critters of food and they will go someplace else, if the rats are hungry it will also reduce their reproductive capacity.

I mean do any of us feel like doing the nookie when we are very, very hungry???

24. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@FearPlay December 9, 2019 8:36 AM “We like it so.”

No we do NOT like it so.

You mean to tell me that money making businesses expect the government to hold their hands, that they do not understand how to use a broom or mop or bleach, or rat bait? They expect “mummy/daddy government” to peep over their shoulders everyday to ensure that they don’t keep their place nasty?

And then the same businesses complain about government’s intrusiveness; or about consumers not spending?

Gimme a break do.

25. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I had a tenant once, a health professional who would NOT keep the lid on the garbage bin even though I provided a NEW bin with a lid which locked on. What was i supposed to do? Go there everyday to put the lid on the bin?

And I ain’t no well educated health professional, so if i understand why the lid must be locked on why can’t a well educated health professional understand the same, and PRACTICE the same. Well that tenant had to go.

It does not take much effort to cover the bin. The effort required is about 30 seconds once a day after all food for the day has been served, the dishes have been washed and the garbage is put out of the house…because we do not want cockroaches in the house do we? Or rats in our yards?

26. in light of the recent disclosure of rats on the premises, Purity Bakeries released a statement about the state of its site, the statement read that the site was checked by the Ministry of Health on Dec. 7 ( and presumably they were given the all clear). So where is the statement from the Ministry of Health? Cat got deh tongue? (De cat mussee got something but it aint rats) Where is the transparency that the Gov’t likes to boast about? I believe that if a poll was taken it would show that Bajans consume more bread per capita than any other country in the world so the “purity” (pardon the pun) of our bread is very important.

This reminds me of the shutdown of the food court at Sheridan mall where the only statements were issued by the operators of the Mall but the Gov’t was conspicuous in its silence. What are they waiting for?
    We Gathering

27. @John A

Sam Lords is in the news? It has been put on market for tenders to finish it. Have not read the Nation newspaper yet, hopefully others will fill in.

28. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Looka I got some cleaning to do AGAIN. I don’t have any money, but I have PLENTY, PLENTY energy, so I promised Little Johnny some cleaning services for Christmas…

So ah gone!!!

29. Is that the same unfinished… Sam Lords project the fowls cussed me for…..wuh they acted like the Chinese were so pleased….lol

30. @David

Well I am glad a decision has been made to put it up for tender to finish. What we need to hear though is why it was halted and how much have we lost to date in the exercise.

I trust we will also see the tender form published in the local press so that all can say that transparency exist.

31. @TLSN

Stop bringing your first world standards to Barbados. We like our food the way it is. When ras nibble it it shows it is sweet.
    Seriously, have you noticed that the environmental health officers have not said a word or done anything since news broke about the alleged health problems at Purity?
    This is not about greasing hands or any such thing, it is about competence. Officials not knowing their jobs even if they have the titles. It is also about consumers not knowing the extent of their power. STOP BUYING FROM PURITY. Shops and restaurants should cancel orders now. They will get the message.

32. “I trust we will also see the tender form published in the local press so that all can say that transparency exist.”

dream on…wuh they never said why the project was HALTED BY THE CHINESE…they cussed me first…lol

33. @John A

Let us hope so. There has been a different level of transparency compared to previous government. This is one of those issues the media and third movement should be sinking their teeth into.

34. Question to Mottley
    How u gone ahead inviting the diaspora to visit and as of yet can’t find a solution to keep the streets free of garbage
    Yuh think good governance would require the safety and health of citizens first
    Then on top of all that you handing out citizenship to every tom dick and Mary

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    “Assume”? The IDB monies are the public P. Calling for a private P, would seem to have several benefits for them?

36. The idea of Hyatt brand built in a rat infested city makes for great comedy except Hyatt board members would not be laughing

37. Is the DLP still functioning? Is the PdP still functioning? Are our media (not CBC) still working? Here we have a government that is at sea without a paddle and not a single word is said.
    Over 18 months in and this government has already run out of steam. Not a single coherent policy; not a single progressive policy; not even the bogus nonsense about a Vision 2030, which only includes young people speaking a second language and being able to swim. If this was not the future of a nation it would be laughable.
    From teaching cricket to Rwandan to getting in to bed with Moroccans, to playing kneesies with Kenyans and Ghanaians; to passing Ms Ram’s property on to some property developer to We Gatherin’.
    Whatever happened to the two-yearly Diaspora conference?

38. @Hal Austin December 9, 2019 9:51 AM
    Whatever happened to the two-yearly Diaspora conference?

I would say any decision taken to keep a bullshitter like you away from Barbados is a good one.
    Ah notice you have a big problems with Africans because some call yuh a slave-baby. How come
    you ain’t got a problem with the Brits who call yuh a madman?….stupse

39. @ Bajan in New York

I was hoping to attend the next one and meet up with you again. Pity. I wanted to introduce you to the kids.

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

For economic growth to take place whose responsibility is it to increase Gross Fixed Capital formation?

An examination of the chart suggests to me that GoB was a significant source of fixed capital formation prior to 2008.

@ JohnA

Why is it necessary for the public funds and assets be used in setting up businesses that are clearly the responsibility of the Private sector?
    PPPs are perpetuating the private sectors dependence on the GoB. It is also forcing the GoB to transfer wealth from the poor to the rich. It is perpetuating and creating Economic and Social inequality.
    How can commentators argue against expenditure on SOEs and justify PPPs?
    Are these policies internally consistent?

41. John A original support for PPPs was to improve efficiency in the SOEs. He even agreed with someone that in may be government pushing to please the IMF.

He jumped on the IDB/ infrastructure bandwagon, with haste but that was not his original argument.

“Run them as a business”- as against – best for us/gov because of the financial situation

42. @Vincent

You are the expert, what happened after 2008?

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@john 2 at 11:48 AM

I concur. It is becoming a mental challenge to participate in these discussions. There is this perpetual drift from the issues to peripheral matters that do not lead to meaningful conclusions.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 11 :48 AM

This topic is about crumbling infrastructures. Matters that are more urgent and important. Why are you attempting to change the topic to Ancient History?

45. @Vincent

You are unable to walk and chew gum?

It was you pointed out capital formation was not an issue up to 2008. Again, what happened?

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Yes.
    At my age I am finding it increasingly difficult to multi- task.

The point I am making is that GoB spending would be more effective if their resources were spent on maintaining the infrastructures on which real economic growth runs.

47. @Vincent

This is a cultural and or systemic problem, it will be corrected if there is transformation in the way we manage our affairs. There has been a drift for years, we have reached the tipping point. Refer to William to expand, again.

48. @ Vincent

I told you. Ignorance has never stopped a Bajan from expressing an opinion. I will give an example: I played a small footnote in a criminal case in the UK that is much celebrated for how it was reported in the press.
    The only thing is that the origins of that case is not how it has is remembered. I pointed this out to a group of Bajans once and this man, a clever maths graduate, told me I was wrong and he went on to repeat the official narrative.
    Since I was the original person involved, I would have thought I knew what happened. But my friend knew best. As I have said before, there is planted in the Bajan mind that public sector management must be bad, while private sector must be good. It is learning by rote and nothing you say can get them to change their minds.
    PPI is god because the private sector is coming in and taking charge. When you tell them look at the history of PPIs in the UK, the birth place of the idea, they tell you that in Barbados we can iron out the flaws and make it work. Can someone plse tell us about Dodds?
    It is like saying to be a lawyer means you are bright, to be anything else means you are not so b right. That is why we have a parliament of lawyers with pigeon-brained ideas.

49. @ Vincent

Look around and which part of our infrastructure is crumbling the worst, not those under the SOE format? 50 buses on a good day, garbage all over the island piled up and water that flows in the rural areas on some days only.

So let’s suppose the TB was put in a PPP where it would be free from political interference and it only made a small profit. You don’t think that would be better than costing us $5 million a month in losses which the tax payer must find?

It’s time to bury the dinosaurs and money pits once and for all, as both governments in the last 25 years have been able to make these entities function under this format.

50. You remember when the verges of the highway were maintained by government how we had 6 foot tall river tamarind growing on them? Now the verges are maintained by a handful of workers under the adopt a km program and the 6 foot river tamarind trees and knee high grass is gone.

What does that tell You?