grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

Like many who were teenagers in the 1970s, the Rastafarian idea, promoted through reggae music, was popular. Their claim to follow the teachings of the Bible convinced me that they were not only brothers in humanity, but brothers in faith.

I researched their claims, and was shocked to see “Jah” written in my Bible. During that period of my life, I talked about changing my name from Grenville to I-ville. However, I could not reconcile the idea of Haile Selassie (Ras Tafari) being Christ. So, we diverged on that one, but critical point of faith.

During that time, I used to walk from Combermere School to the QEH after school. My mother worked as a nurse in the paediatrics department, caring for babies. I would sit among the patients waiting for her to finish her work. She would often tell me about the babies of the Rastafarians, who would needlessly suffer because they were fed nuts.

What distressed her was the Rastas’ insistence on feeding their babies nuts, despite the obvious and apparent harm. I think that they have now wised-up, but their current state of enlightenment was no comfort to the babies who suffered unnecessarily, through their stubborn ignorance.

The Rastafarians have made smoking marijuana part of their religious tradition. My primary concern is the safety of their children.

Our lungs are not designed for smoke. That is why we tend to cough it out when exposed. Our bodies are designed to adapt to different environments, even smoke-filled ones. However, we normally pay a health price that may increase with increased exposure to a harmful environment.

Some like to justify unpopular decisions by claiming that we are going where the science takes us. Well, science has proven, beyond doubt, that smoking is very unhealthy for humans. Further, it is extremely harmful to our children.

To have our children exposed to either first-hand or second-hand smoke, is even more irresponsible than feeding babies nuts. It was previously done through pure ignorance. It is now to be done through the irresponsible encouragement of our politicians, whose main goal is a lucrative lifetime pension at the public’s expense.

The decision it legalise marijuana for religious purposes is not a Rastafarian issue, it is one that affects us all. Rastas get to smoke, but the public is burdened with increased taxes to pay for their children’s health costs, and all of the other social costs associated with the abuse of the marijuana plant.

There are two options for addressing this issue. The first is to prostitute for the Rastafarian vote by forcing through poorly thought-out legislation. That seems to be the preferred option for irresponsible politicians.

The second option is to encourage and participate in an honest discussion on achieving a win-win situation, wherever possible. But that will require both sides to be honest.

Some topics that can be put on the table are: Is it mandatory for the marijuana plant to be smoked as part of the ritual – if so, then why? Can it be made into a tea – if not, then why not? Can it be diluted sufficiently so that everyone can drink it without any harmful health effects – if not, then why not?

If our desire is to know the truth, then we should submit claims of truth to honest research. Truth should be able to withstand rigorous scrutiny. I love the Rastafarian community too much to blindly support badly thought out ideas. That they are promoting this as a Rastafarian-only issue means that neither they, not the Attorney General, have properly thought this through.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

100 responses to “Enlightened Rastafari”

1. One thing we do know, no one is putting you in that parliament to act out all that shite…no one has the time or inclination to educate anyone who has paper knowledge and very little else.

ya made yaself famous on Medical Marijuana Barbados last night, ya should be proud and can now join the ranks of the ignoramuses who now reside in the parliament…who are not getting anywhere either…and ya know why…because yall are dumb as shite, all of you..

2. The issue whether to legalize marijuana is contentious all across the globe. It is a Brexit issue, it will split the country down the middle for several well documented reasons. We should debate the issue in a civilized manner. We should respect the opinions of everyone.

3. Legalize marijuana for medicinal issue has been debated across the globe after much research and medical input
    Legalizing marijuana for ritual or recreational issue gives a concern to how our social enviroment overall would be impacted
    The now debated issue of marijuana for Ritual purpose is a red herring tossed out in barbados society and might also be a political reward given to Rastafarian for their support to govt during the last election
    One day coming soon the whole of barbados socially and economically would pay for this hot and sweaty piece of legislation
    God help us all

4. How many Rastas number in the voting population of Barbados?

May God help you to remove your political scales.

Mia like many in the political class likes to pull in the good stuff, she has the political capital to make it fly.

5. It’s one thing to debate marijuana , it is quite another to be totally CLUELESS about the Rasta Community, totally CLUELESS about marijuana …confusing both issues with socialized biases, discriminatory attitudes, personal black on black prejudices, condescending utterances …and downright…LACK OF KNOWLEDGE…aka…IGNORANCE…which is and will CONTINUE to be displayed by both Grenville and the jokers in parliament…because that is all they have ever known..the slave mind continues to be a VERY DANGEROUS WEAPON..

ignorance IS NO EXCUSE…and has NEVER been a reason to respect those who practice such BACKWARDNESS..

many may not be able to see now, but because of all of the above THERE WILL BE BIGGER PROBLEMS ARISING in these small islands riddled with DELIBRATELY INSTITUED lack of knowledge….a direct spinoff of both governments keeping themselves and the citizens…MISINFORMED and MISEDUCATED…but that’s on them….am only here to point it out..

Can’t compare this and what is unfolding in UK etc because DESPITE their own level of idiocy..they will be operating from …a knowledegable, FULLY INFORMED BASE….and make sure that they and ALL THEIR CITIZENS are the ones benefitting from the plant…in direct contrast…one has to be very careful STILL…and i mean the vulnerable black populi…with these public nuisances called politicians, lawyers, pretend professionals etc..

6. Patricia Jackman Avatar
    Patricia Jackman

Well said.

7. One vote can make a difference
    Dont come talking political bull sh.ite this morning
    There is yet a law passed in barbados that takes overall society in context without having a political angle attached
    What does this law involved does it have the necessary legal protection that give a right of overall society to be protected from any health risk associated from the smoking of marijuana
    In USA certain religiuos groups are given the right legally to use rituals as part of their cermony
    However govt laws are written within rules and guidlens regulatef to protect society from any negative fall out that these rituals might impact on the social and economic enviroment of the state.
    It is as if these churches can move around society smoking and have a God given right to used the Ritual as a protection against laws written in the protection of the best interest of the country

8. State laws and goverance in the USA

Under the Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA), a person / religious entity (claimant) can raise a defense against federal charges for possession of a controlled substance, as well as gain injunctive relief to prevent future charges or governmental seizure of the substance. For a successful RFRA defense, the claimants must demonstrate that they have both a sincere religious practice and that it is being substantially burdened. If the claimant cannot satisfy these two elements, then they can receive no relief under RFRA. However, even if the claimant can satisfy these two elements, they can still be denied relief under RFRA if the government can show that the substantial burden is done in the furtherance of a compelling governmental interest AND the government is using the least restrictive means possible. If the government can satisfy its two elements, then the claimant is denied relief under RFRA.

READ How the Michigan State
    Sincere Religious Practice

That raises the question: what is a “sincere religious practice”? According to the statute, a religious practice is any activity that is compelled by or central to a religious belief or any activity engaged in for religious reasons. Given these broad definitions, a claimant is usually able to satisfy this element through some kind of documentation of use of the substance for religious purposes. For example, there is a long history of certain Native American tribes using substances like peyote as part of spiritual ceremonies. The historical record of such practices could be attested to by both group members as well as scholarly anthropological sources. Often though, the sincerity of the religious practice is not even challenged by the government.

Substantial Burden
    The Supreme Court has said that a religious practice is substantially burdened when one is forced, “under threat of criminal sanction, to perform acts undeniably at odds with fundamental tenets of their religious beliefs.” In cases involving the use of controlled substances, it must be argued that the use of the drug is necessary to the practice of the religion. For example, if the religious organization believes that use of the substance is required in order to connect with the deity, then the believers are in the position where it is necessary to use the controlled substance to practice their religion.

Compelling Governmental Interest
    The most common governmental interest is protection of public health and safety. This can apply to protecting the health and safety of members of the church, however, preventing the substance from being diverted for use outside of the religious practice often becomes the government’s primary compelling interest. The government then argues that diversion of the controlled substance poses a significant risk to children. Often it is near impossible to refute the government’s interest in protecting public health, especially when it concerns minors.

Least Restrictive Means
    The government must further its compelling interest through the least restrictive means possible. This means that if the government can further its compelling interest in some way other than enforcing full compliance with the CSA, then the claimant is granted an exception. Often, the nature of the religious organization, the substance and the organization’s practice with the controlled substance will determine if full enforcement is the least restrictive means. In the 2016 RFRA claim by the Hawaii Cannabis Ministry and their use of marijuana, the court decided full compliance with the CSA was the least restrictive means because the church’s fundamental tenets were to celebrate marijuana as a sacrament and to dispense marijuana to church members to use as a sacrament.

Another factor is the popularity of the substance. Marijuana has a high demand on the black market and that fact makes it much more difficult to win a RFRA claim. In the court’s eyes, the high demand for marijuana increases the likelihood that marijuana could be sold to non-church members or stolen from the church and diverted to the general public. The courts have said that substances like peyote, which do not have as strong of a demand on the black market, are less likely to be diverted to the public which increases the chances of a successful RFRA claim.

If the government’s compelling interest is to prevent marijuana from reaching the general public, there is often no alternative way of promoting that other than full compliance with the Controlled Substances Act.

9. Grenvillle wants to play in the big leagues, well ya in the big leagues now, so get on with it.

10. This is a law purposed with a political angle which will have the same uncontrollable effect as that which thrives within the squatting community
    One concern of certainty would be those in the rasta community in neighbouring islands looking at this law as as opportunity to ply their trade of “ritual marijuana” in barbados
    This law can open many unwanted doors with negative effects on barbados social enviroment

11. Listen…ya done know if i did not catch those two words Adriel Nitwit let slip when he was LOOKING DOWN on the Rastas like Adonijah and those guys he did not even want to meet with 2 years ago, he did not even want to be seen with any Rastas…he totally disrespected them and in public. …that yall with ya funky selves would still be sitting on that 28 year old AMENDED MARIJUANA LEGISLATION…

STILL not saying a word to the people..

.. still pretending marijuana was the worse thing in the world

… STILL locking up ya own people for it, while smoking it and some selling it too..

…..then yall and Verla and all the OTHER HYPOCRITES…once US, UK, Canada etc legalized and let your slave minds off the hook…would then RUSH OUT to pretend ya are halfassed heros and heroines, doing the Black population A HUGE FAVOR..as Mia is now miserably attempting…BUT SPECTACULARLY FAILING..

…yall would have done the same low crawling thing…remember…the dangerous slave mind..

Ya ask Verla yet WHY she still have not honored what she said she would do when Adriel Nitwit was AG and she a Senator….ya should ask her what made her backtrack.

12. And Grenville can’t even say i don’t like him, because i warned him first..lol

13. Even as one branch of the Abrahamic religious community seeks legal sanction for ritual cannabis use, Christian evangelical leaders have denounced the move, declaring it a ‘gateway’ to full legalisation.
    Pentecostal preachers declared they were not in support of Attorney General Dale Marshall’s announcement in Parliament on Tuesday that the legislation was coming because it was the right of the Rastafarian community to use the drug for sacramental purposes, in accordance with guarantees under the Bill of Rights in the Constitution of Barbados that protect religious freedom.(Quote)

This is the unqualified nonsense that passes as knowledge in Barbados. Plse tell me, as I obviously missed it, when did Rastafari become an Abrahamic religion?
    That was written by Anesta Henry and was passed by the subs, assistant editors and editor. Some people will say just scroll by and ignore it. Welcome to Barbados, with 98 per cent literacy.

14. All yuh too funny! The rastas smoking gine kill them children but all yuh say naffin bout the carbon emissions pizuning children daily, because all yuh love all yuh big rides. A comedyfest! Not to mention Former Senior Editor lambasting Ms.Henry for calling Rastafarianism an Abrahamic religion.🤣🤣

15. But then again, one of the resident experts thinks redeveloping land along one of Bridgetown’s busiest streets for housing is a spectacular idea.🤣🤣

16. @ Enuff

I know your great career achievement so far has been chairing a meeting when you were the only black person in the room (presumably apart from the cleaners, waiters, and messengers). Wow!
    Are you now saying that Rastafarianism is an Abrahamic religion? Yes or no. For the record, I was not ‘lambasting’ Anesta Henry, but was pouring scorn on her line managers, including the editor. In case you do not know, copy has to go through a number of hands before it is published.

17. @ Nextparty246:
    “If our desire is to know the truth, then we should submit claims of truth to honest research. Truth should be able to withstand rigorous scrutiny…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So why are you not calling for the banning and criminalization of the smoking of tobacco?

It’s a well researched ‘fact’ that smoking tobacco is bad for human health and a major burden on some countries’ health services.

So what’s your position on tobacco which can be easily bought by any adult from most retail outlets in Barbados?

Why not call for equal treatment for both ‘sins’?

We will leave the alcohol debate for another occasion.

18. Rastafarianism is an “Afro-Caribbean” offshoot of Judaism; just like Christianity and Islam in all their various expressions aka schisms and cults.

After all Abraham, himself a married man, impregnated an Egyptian slave girl who produced Ishmael (the father of Islam) and was never punished by YHWH or Jah for this awful sin.

If we can accept Islam as a ‘legitimate’ Abrahamic faith why not the Caribbean bastard Rastafarianism.

19. Have you ever gone to a doctor for help and left feeling more confused or hopeless than you did before the appointment?

Maybe:
    • The doctor didn’t really listen to what you were saying.
    • You felt rushed, like the doctor didn’t really have time to answer your questions.
    • Your concerns about medication or diagnosis were dismissed.
    • You didn’t get to the root cause of the issue—you just got a prescription.

WELL THIS IS EXACTLY HOW I FEEL WHEN I READ THE RUBBISH THAT GPII WRITES LOT OF WORDS, BUT AS USUAL, NO SOLUTIONS FROM MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

And this is why more and more people are turning away AWAY FROM FROM MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

If you’ve been let down by THE BLP DLP DUOPOLY, I WARN YOU THAT MR SOLUTIONS HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

20. IT IS WRITTEN IN Jeremiah 2:13

For my people have committed two evils; they have forsaken me the fountain of living waters, and hewed them out cisterns, broken cisterns, that can hold no water.

FOLLOWING GRENVILLE PHILLIPS WHOSE SOLUTIONS BARBADOS HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS IS LIKE HEWING broken cisterns, that can hold no water.

I HAVE TO AGREE WITH WARU
    HERE

One thing we do know, no one is putting you in that parliament …no one has the time or inclination to ELECT anyone who has paper knowledge and very little else

IT SEEMS MY DEAR FRIEND GRENVILLE PHILLIPS THAT THE :WRITING IS ON THE WALL!”
    YOU ARE BEING WEIGHED IN THE BALANCE AND YOU ARE CONSISTENTLY BEING FOUND TO BE WANTING

watch now friends
    give a drum roll for the entrance of his attack dog and only apologist stage right

21. Hal
    I never said one word about whether you or Miss Henry is right. I just found it funny. Now carry on with your exposition on what is Abrahamic and why rastafarianism isn’t Christianity and therefore does not qualify as being Abrahamic.

22. @ Enuff November 8, 2019 9:28 AM

We are seeing eye-to-eye on this one even though we serve different gods.

Of course Rastafarianism is not Christianity. But both are rooted in the Old Testament of Judaism where Yahweh or Jah is the focal point of adoration and worship

That makes them either brothers or cousins (like Islam or even the Bahá’í Faith) on the wheel of religions of the world.

Rastafarianism is to Judaism as Mormonism is to Catholicism.

23. Hal
    “I know your great career achievement so far has been chairing a meeting…”

MeetingS, plural!! If you’re gonna be condescending at least be factual.🤣🤣🤣

24. Enuff

Apologies. Meetings. So quite clearly you must have been very good at what you did. By the way, to lambast is to be highly critical of someone……you still have not answered the question: Is Rastafarianism an Abrahamic religion, yes or no?
    Plse take time out to consult the all-white delegates at your meetings.

25. Always diving to the trivial.

Steuspe

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Grenville II ,

A well argued case for consideration of the downsides of decriminalization of Marijuana for medicinal and sacramental purposes.
    What is the State doing legislating what is sacramental? Is not the State forbidden to legislate on matters religious? Especially harmful sacraments?

27. The only sensible solution is to legalize marijuana and allow the market forces and other entities to dictate the peculiarities of the legalization.
    There is no empirical evidence that marijuana does more societal damage than rum drinking or cigarette smoking. Also, there is no empirical evidence that marijuana smoking costs the health services anymore than rum drinking, pollution and cigarette smoking.
    We have political parties serving alcohol to minors at their political gatherings. We have young people who cannot vote going to fetes and drinking hundreds of gallons of rum and other alcoholic beverages.
    Once more politicians who have no philosophy or strength of any convictions are refusing to give proper leadership on this issue.The usual symptoms of the Duopoly.
    Legalize it and let the market take care of the rest. Let the farmers decide if they want to plant and make it profitable. Don’t allow this most viable cash crop to be controlled by a select few
    Legalize it now!!!

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Mariposa at 6:26 AM

What an erudite submission! Can we depend on more submissions from you at this level?

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ William Skinner

Do you not know that Marijuana is only valuable because of its scarcity?
    Have you not paid attention to President Obama’s advice to his Jamaican brethren some 3 years ago on where the profitability of this plant will accrue? Which countries have rushed to plant and process this holy weed? Backed up by advanced technology,equipment and marketing?
    William, you need to walk circumspectly. I thought you understood the Game Plan.

30. @ Vincent Codrington

I know the “ game plan” that’s why I am not into their games- just legalize the marijuana .

31. FREEDOM BELIEVES THE RASTAFARIANS ARE BEING USED AS A PLOY TO OPEN THE GATE TO THE RECREATIONAL USE OF MARIJUANA UNDER THE GUISE OF A SPIRITUAL RITUAL. I IMAGINE THAT THE SMALL PERCENTAGE OF RASTAFARIANS WILL INCREASE DRAMATICALLY IN THAT CASE.

THAT SAID I DO BELIEVE 100 % IN MEDICINAL MARIJUANA IN THE FORM OF CANNABIS OIL!

RATIONAL OBSERVATION ARE THE HARMFUL CARCINOGENIC EFFECTS BY THE SECOND HAND SMOKE TO CHILDREN … GP11,“Some like to justify unpopular decisions by claiming that we are going where the science takes us. Well, science has proven, beyond doubt, that smoking is very unhealthy for humans. Further, it is extremely harmful to our children.”…

PRESCRIPTION DRUGS KILL ABOUT 100,000 PEOPLE IN THE WORLD EACH YEAR. OFF THE TOP OF YOUR HEAD, DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY DEATHS ARE CAUSED BY USING MARIJUANA MEDICINALLY?

“There are no deaths from cannabis use. Anywhere. You can’t find one,” said Dr. Lester Grinspoon, professor emeritus at Harvard Medical School.

Yet, the facts remain: Prescription drugs, while legal, are experimental, dangerous and often toxic. Prescription drugs continue to kill tens of thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, each year; meanwhile, marijuana has never been the direct contributor to a single death. Maybe we should focus less on making natural plants extinct and focus more on controlling the drugs that we’re actually responsible for.

Medical marijuana may be beneficial for everyone’s health, but it’s not very healthy for the pockets of the pharmaceutical companies. The pharmaceutical industry is the biggest industry with powerful connections in high places. Pharmaceutical companies don’t want you growing your own medicine.”

“The prime motivation behind any drug company is to make money, and as much money as possible. In the case of a synthetic compound, if it’s only an ingredient from the cannabis, they can formulate that as a drug and make a lot more money off of it.”

Since no company can patent a plant, pharmaceutical industries are incentivized to keep cannabis and industrial hemp illegal as they try to recreate the same drug with the same effects. Obviously, there is a great deal of “double talk” in this argument – How can the government prohibit marijuana but allow an identical drug with identical effects? – but ultimately, it comes down to money.

Medical Marijuana:

Marijuana will grow well in the type of soil and conditions we have. Medical marijuana is the plant without the THC the ingredient that makes one high. To grow this we will need to process it to the stage of the oil and tablet form, not export the raw material. We want the value add to remain in Barbados. This type of item will be in greater demand all over the world while the rest of the world concerns itself with decriminalising the use of high THC marijuana for smoking. The medical uses for this type of marijuana have greater access to the world for a host of illnesses. This is the plant with great future use in the medical industry and would have a premium value attached to it.

https://cdn.bajanreporter.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/cannabis-plants-june08.jpg

32. SINCE 2003, RICK SIMPSON FREELY PROPOSED HIS CANNABIS OIL TO MORE THAN 5000 PATIENTS WHICH SUFFERED FROM DIVERSE DISEASES such as cancer, diabetes, melanoma, leukaemia, chronic pain, warts, viral and bacterial infections…with convincing results. Rick stated that 70% of the patients that followed his treatment were healed from cancer, by consuming 60g of high-quality cannabis oil.

https://www.alchimiaweb.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/rick-simpson.jpg

https://www.alchimiaweb.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/73601_454022264660666_857935414_n.jpg

HEMP OIL IS THE PUREST FORM OF CONCENTRATED CANNABIS. Taken by drops orally, unlike Cannabis that is Smoked, it is not Carcinogenic or Addictive.

THE TREVOR SMITH STORY: HOW HE BEAT BLADDER CANCER NATURALLY WITH CANNABIS OIL

Trevor Smith, 54, was diagnosed with bladder cancer in 2012. After learning about cannabis oil online he began taking it along with diet changes for his cancer.

http://www.cureyourowncancer.org/trevor-smiths-story-how-he-beat-bladder-cancer-naturally-with-cannabis-oil.html

https://www.cureyourowncancer.org/uploads/1/1/6/9/11695594/9335909_orig.jpg

33. @ MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLLUTIONS

I WASTED A FEW MINUTES READING ENLIGHTENED RASTAFARI, BUT CAN MAKE LITTLE SENSE OF THIS DIATRIBE AND VERBAL DIARHHOEA BY MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS.

RE During that time, I used to walk from Combermere School to the QEH after school. My mother worked as a nurse in the paediatrics department, caring for babies.

SO YOUR MOTHER IS A NURSE? SO WHAT? HOW IS THAT RELEVANT TO ANYTHING?

RE What distressed her was the Rastas’ insistence on feeding their babies nuts, despite the obvious and apparent harm.

PLEASE TELL US WHAT IS THE obvious and apparent harm HERE. ENLIGHTEN US.

RE I think that they have now wised-up, but their current state of enlightenment was no comfort to the babies who suffered unnecessarily, through their stubborn ignorance.

DID YOU ACTUALLY RESEARCH AND DOCUMENT THIS?
    CAN YOU PLEASE SHARE THIS RESEARCH?

RE To have our children exposed to either first-hand or second-hand smoke, is even more irresponsible than feeding babies nuts. It was previously done through pure ignorance. It is now to be done through the irresponsible encouragement of our politicians, whose main goal is a lucrative lifetime pension at the public’s expense.

IS THIS WHY YOU GOT INTO POLITICS? PLEASE KINDLY INDICATE HOW YOU DIFFER FROM OTHER POLITICIANS IN THIS REGARD. JUST ASKING POLITELY

RE There are two options for addressing this issue. The first is to prostitute for the Rastafarian vote by forcing through poorly thought-out legislation. That seems to be the preferred option for irresponsible politicians. WHY WOULD THEY DO THAT WHEN THE PERCENTAGE OF RASTAFARIANS IN THE POPULACE IS VERY SMALL?

RE That they are promoting this as a Rastafarian-only issue means that neither they, not the Attorney General, have properly thought this through.
    IT SEEMS THAT YOU HAVE, BUT I AM PERCEIVING POVERTY OF THOUGHT

LOT OF WORDS, BUT AS USUAL, NO SOLUTIONS FROM MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

LOT OF WORDS, BUT AS USUAL, NOT MUCH REAL USEFUL CONTENT FOR ONE SEEKING to play in the big leagues, AS WURA OPINES well ya in the big leagues now, so get on with it. LOL murdah

one of your two ardent apologists has already come to work today here today…….where is the other one?

34. Hal
    Let me saaaaaay ittttt sloooooowlllllly, I don’t give 2 RHs if it is Abrahamic or not. Go annoy Anesta Henry. Like Miller, however, I believe it is of Judaic origins, after all don’t they reference the Christian Bible. Stupse!

35. David:

You wrote: “We should debate the issue in a civilized manner. We should respect the opinions of everyone.”

That is to ask an impossibility, for a bad tree evidently cannot bear good fruit.

36. Grenville…despite numerous warnings, even from those on MMB..you are the one blew yourself up, you were WARNED by myself and OTHERS…to do more research before coming out with ya chest all puffed up …bedroom bully style to spew discriminatory. degrading and demeaning shite at people who look JUST LIKE YOU…and ya refused…that’s on you…

…..so blame no one else..

37. RE “We should debate the issue in a civilized manner. We should respect the opinions of everyone.”
    SO WHY CANT MY OPINIONS BE RESPECTED, BECAUSE I AS AN EDUCATED MAN CAN REASON AND DEBATE TOO, AND
    NOT NECESSARILY ACCEPT YOUR BOVINE EXCREMENT?

RE That is to ask an impossibility, for a bad tree evidently cannot bear good fruit.

WHAT IS BAD FRUIT? OPINIONS THAT CONTRADICT YOURS? YOU SOUND LIKE A CRY BABY!

IS THE BOWLING TOO FAST? ARE TOO MANY YORKERS AND BOUNCERS BEING BOWLED?
    CAN YOU PLAY SPIN THEN?

DID YOU NOT KNOW THAT WHEN YOU COME ON BU YOU MAY BE CHALLENGED?
    WHY COME IN THE LION’S DEN UNLESS YOU ARE DANIEL?
    WHY JUMP IN THE FIERY FURNACE WITH OUT AN ADEQUATE DEFENSE?
    WHY PULL THE TAIL OF A TIGER?

IF YOU CANT MANAGE THE HEAT……..RUN OFF TO MUMMY LIKKLE BOY
    YOU ARE IN THE BU RUM SHOP
    SHARE A MALT OR A PLUS WID ME CAUSE I DONT DRINK

38. PROVERBS 8:13 KJV

THE FEAR OF THE LORD IS TO HATE EVIL: PRIDE, AND ARROGANCY, AND THE EVIL WAY, AND THE FROWARD MOUTH, DO I HATE.

https://www.facebook.com/ChristiansUnitedforIsrael/photos/a.58091114813/10157710983179814/?type=3&theater

39. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Too much unprotected sex brings with it a huge cost and burden to the society than marijuana smoking to say the least. Go figure.

The one thing I admire the most about the rasta, is at least, their god is a black man and in their own imagine. And not your white looking european saviour that adorned all the black churches on the continent and in the diaspora.

40. @ nextparty246 November 8, 2019 12:06 PM
    “That is to ask an impossibility, for a bad tree evidently cannot bear good fruit.”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So how then do you explain or rationalize the conversion of Saul to Paul?

Even GPs can see the Light and find workable and curable solutions to the myriad problems plaguing Barbados.

You cannot be so hypocritical as to condemn the use of cannabis while turning a blind eye to the widespread sale and use of alcohol and tobacco in the ‘Christian’ country called Barbadoes.

Why not call for the criminalization of alcohol similar to what pertains to devout Muslim societies with the same zealous approach you took in your evangelical proposal to control the watching of porn by adult Bajans.

You are nothing but a church-going hypocrite with a bedroom police mentality, Grenville!

41. BE WATCHFUL AND BEWARE AS EVIL/DECEPTION/LIES/UNBRIDLED EMOTIONS ABOUND.

A WORD OF CAUTION AND HOPE:

When the unclean spirit is gone out of a man, he walketh through dry places, seeking rest; and finding none, he saith, I will return unto my house whence I came out.
    And when he cometh, he findeth it swept and garnished.
    Then goeth he, and taketh to him seven other spirits more wicked than himself; and they enter in, and dwell there: and the last state of that man is worse than the first. (Luke 11:24–26)

When we have repented of evil it is not enough to say I have cleaned myself up. We must fill our lives with good things, His spirit etc., otherwise the other spirit/actions/behaviours/beliefs that we have cleansed from ourselves may return and bring even greater evils on ourselves, times seven.

WE ARE WITNESSING THIS CORRUPT FRUIT DISPLAYED HERE RELENTLESSLY!

https://miro.medium.com/max/1000/1*eNNcZddpufR6UszjpB6OIg.jpeg

42. @Enuff

Plse cool down. White delegates at your all-white conferences, your great career achievement, will not like a negro getting hysterical. You know what they say about black men and their temper – and cut out the obscenity. So they reference the Christian Bible, so they are Abrahamic; is that your answer? Say it politely.

43. Muhammad your bête noire Avatar
    Muhammad your bête noire

So they reference the Christian Bible, so they are Abrahamic; is that your answer? Say it politely. (Unquote)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It is precisely the ‘fact’ that the Rastafarian religion adheres to the precepts of the Judean Old Testament that makes them Abrahamic in origin.

Even the white British Christian people recognize that and celebrate such through the publications of the “Festival Shop” and other media promoting the universality of mankind.

So why can’t you, a mock black Englishman?

44. “The one thing I admire the most about the rasta, is at least, their god is a black man and in their own imagine. And not your white looking european saviour that adorned all the black churches on the continent and in the diaspora.”

wuh i am here sincerely hoping that the UK and Europe are paying attention if not admiring their CENTURIES OLD handiwork of DESTRUCTION of the BLACK MIND….which is so clear for everyone to see…

with BarbadosFOR CENTURIES being the clearing house for slaves where it is STRONGEST AND EVEN MORE EVIDENT……..for those who can see we are actually SEEING…what they did.

the other DAMAGED MINDS in the minority community are nothing more than collateral damage, not even worth caring about, too few of them……but look at the monsters the UK and Europe created in the majority black population…and the irony is that they mostly present themselves as the damn leaders…..all of which needs to be DISMANTLED…that is the best reparations that can be offered to the African descendant in the Caribbean to date….REVERSING THE DESTRUCTION OF THE BLACK MIND.

45. The most serious problem associated with recreational use of Marijuana is the criminal activities and resultant violence. Decriminalisation may help to reduce these problems. That said I very strongly advise persons to stay away from recreational use of marijuana. It is clear to me that such use is very likely to be harmful to one’s health.

46. On Barbados Today in an article entitled Evangelical wrath by Anesta Henry (cf
    http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/html5/reader/production/default.aspx?pubname=&pubid=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a) we read the interesting opinions of a number of the Christian evangelical leaders in our religious community, who have denounced the move that seeks legal sanction for ritual cannabis use

Of course none of these Christian evangelical leaders are seeking the favour of the populace at the polls, so one assumes that they feel free to preach the word, in season and out of season, and to do so fearlessly, faithfully and fervently. After all THEY NOT BEGGING NUH BODY FUH DEM VOTE (no pun intended).

That being the case one can fully understand their stand or position. You may disagree with them, but their positions are clear.

We read that “Pentecostal preachers declared they were not in support of Attorney General Dale Marshall’s announcement in Parliament on Tuesday that the legislation was coming because it was the right of the Rastafarian community to use the drug for sacramental purposes, in accordance with guarantees under the Bill of Rights in the Constitution of Barbados that protect religious freedom.” We read also that “The evangelists were united in the view that the move was a gateway to legalising marijuana for recreational purposes.”

Is not Mr Solutions with NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS A Christian evangelical leader or a Pentecostal preacher too? How is it then that he is talking rubbish and does not have a crystal clear position like Pastor Hal Cumberbatch, of Restoration Ministries who asserts that “We have to go by the word of God if we claim that Christ is in us.
    “And I don’t see anywhere in the word of God that we should indulge in marijuana or smoking. “Smoking [abuses] the body to begin with and we are not to abuse the body.
    “Our bodies are the temple of the Holy Spirit and we must keep our bodies holy.”

You may not agree with Pastor Hal Cumberbatch, but he is A MAN, who has made his position clear based on his understanding of the Bible for he is not a WIMP seeking the favour of the populace at the polls, and therefore not afraid to offend the voters. Uh lie?

Apostle Elesius Joseph, senior pastor at Apostolic Teaching Centre, declared there was no scientific evidence that suggested that using marijuana for sacramental purposes would provide medicinal benefits for Rastafarians, and that the community has long considered cannabis as an integral part of their sacramental rites.
    He also said that “ he believed that marijuana use also led to other illicit drugs.” And that: “Once you open it for religious use, who can define that the person who is using it, is using it for religious use and not for recreational purpose?
    “Once you do that, there are obviously no barriers to control it, or no opportunities to regulate it.“Once you open it for religious use you remove all regulations.”
    He further asserted that “ that marijuana was a troublesome drug for young people that has affected their lives in several ways, including their neurological and psychological growth” and that “When it is used for medicinal purposes it is regulated by a doctor.
    “The amount and how often it is prescribed will be regulated.“But when somebody uses it for religious and recreational purposes there is no monitoring process.”

You may not agree with Apostle Elesius Joseph, but he is A MAN, who has made his position clear based on his understanding of the Bible, and even science for he is not a WIMP seeking the favour of the populace at the polls, and therefore not afraid to offend the voters. Uh lie?

Apostle Dr David Durant of Restoration Ministries, a former senator, declared he was not only opposed to Rastafarians using the drug for religious purposes, but added that he would strongly advocate against “any other religion using it”.“So I would ask that we be very cautious in going ahead.

Here is another Christian evangelical leader and Pentecostal preachers who is very clear about the issue, and who because they are not seeking the favour of the populace at the polls, feels free to preach the word, in season and out of season, and to do so fearlessly, faithfully and fervently, since THEY NOT BEGGING NUH BODY FUH DEM VOTE (no pun intended).

You may disagree with all of these BIBLE MEN, but their positions are clear.

In the article, we even had the opinion of a female preacher- something Granville endorses. This is her crystal clear opinion.

Reverend Thelma Greaves from Deliverance Temple House of Prayer said that while marijuana’s medicinal benefits had been proven scientifically, it should also be acknowledged that “it has bad effects too”.

Reverend Greaves said what bothered her most was how would it be determined that marijuana would be used for religious beliefs, and not misused.
    She said: “I very much fear actually that this is a gateway to the legalisation of recreational marijuana and that is going to be devastating for the youth.
    “Recent research has shown that if you take marijuana before the age of 16, it has the capacity and the ability to damage your brain cells for ever.

Why is it that all these Christian evangelical leaders in our religious community who are not seeking votes have spoken out clearly, but would be MOSES, GP II rambling and vacillating and talking nonsense as though he has a blockage some where in the area of his circle of Willis?

47. Ah take it UK and Europe should at THIS POINT be saying how they really feel about their brainwashed IDIOTS in the churches making an already VERY BAD SITUATION..even WORSE…

…..these particular ones or even TOO DUMB TO BE CALLED NEGROS….or even to exist

48. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

“Reversing the destructing of the black mind, the best reparation” couldn’t agree with you more WARU. A profound statement indeed.

49. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinNovember 8, 2019 1:21 PM “so they are Abrahamic.”

Yup.

Rastafari is an Abrahamic religion, born in the Middle East and like all Abrahamic religions, Roman Catholicism, the various “Prostestant” faiths, Islam, Rastafari; ALL these religions born in the Middle East of the Abrahamic tradition are ALL misogynistic as hell.

I try to steer clear, especially of male believers of the Abrahamic traditions.

Because typically they, especially the true-true male believers act as though we are all still back in the day of Abraham, and truthfully I have no wish to live the way people lived 5,000 or more years ago.

That is my truth.

50. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Grenville Phillips “Is it mandatory for the marijuana plant to be smoked as part of the ritual – if so, then why?”

I hope that you know that we Anglicans not only have alcohol in church every Sunday, but we also have smoke (incense) at our services.

I don’t know if this combination of alcohol and smoke (something like in an old time rum shop) is good for Anglican health.

Is it?

If alcohol+smoke is bad, should we ban them or would that be unconstitutional?