Posted as a comment by Artax to Successive Governments Turn Blind Eye to Squatters at Grantley Adams International Airport

What is the latest information on the squatters at Rock Hall?

Or, as is usual with certain issues in Barbados, after all the furor and condemnation, it seems as though people have forgotten about the “Rock Hall squatters” …………. and apparently the issue has become a “nine day wonder?”

I understand a few weeks ago, government officials visited Rock Hall, took certain information from some of the squatters, and offered to sell them land somewhere in St. George. I also heard the illegal non-nationals ran away when the officials arrived, but returned after they left to ask what occurred.

Has anything been done to regularize the status of those illegal non-nationals who have illegally occupied land at Rock Hall and built houses there?

Or, since they continue to break the law by residing in Barbados and occupying land illegally, will they be deported?

Has government begun to the disburse the $25,000 Mottley promised the squatters and will the illegal non-nationals be eligible to receive the money?

210 responses to “Rock Hall Solid as a Rock”

1. @Artax

Agree with the view we have short memories and abhor follow through as as a people. What is the latest? Perhaps Weir is too preoccupied with the marijuana project?

2. Someone,preferably with an Aviation background should report this situation to the ICAO…this is bare sh8.This Government too is just engaging in talk for the occasion.
    Deport those ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS ,who are breaking the LAW,not once but TWICE to show that wunna doing something.

3. How does this affect Cat 1 categorization or are we playing the ass.

4. this govt flicks from issue to issue without any seemingly follow thru. an issue comes up MAM comes in and offer a quick solution and moves on to the next topical issue which from all reports looks like hurricane resistant wooden houses.

no doubt that MAM will come back and say we did not get into this problem overnight -it was over the last 10 years- and we wont get out of it overnight either but her Govt is working assiduously on the matter

like Harrytunover said someone from the airport authority needs to be a whistleblower or a martyr

5. ‘No job, go home’

” MIGRANTS WHO ARE NO LONGER EMPLOYED AFTER STORM TOLD TO LEAVE BAHAMAS
    NASSAU – Migrant storm victims who have lost their jobs as a result of Hurricane Dorian “need to go home” even if their work permits are not yet expired, Attorney General Carl Bethel said yesterday.

His comments to The Tribune came after the Department of Immigration issued a statement specifying that prospective employers of storm victims that need work permits must prove their applicant has satisfactory living conditions, because if they don’t, they will be denied.”

Barbados Today page 21.

6. Attorney General Tells Migrants Who Lost Jobs In Storm To Leave Country

://www.tribune242.com/news/2019/oct/01/attorney-general-tells-migrants-who-lost-jobs-stor/

7. I often wonder why we make the simplest issue very difficult?

In my opinion, illegal non-national squatters who are also illegally securing “house spots” for their relatives and friends should be DEPORTED. Plain and simple.

Barbados and Barbadian tax payers do not OWE illegal non-nationals a living. And what about the rights of land owners that are suffering as a result of squatting?

Rewarding illegal non-national squatters with house and land, would obviously send a message to other non-nationals that they could come to Barbados, get a job, stay as long as they please, squat on land and government would give them a house.

So, why apply for a mortgage in their country of birth, when they could come here and get house and land packages at the expense of the Barbadian taxpayer.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 9:00 AM

We are always sending the wrong messages ,do we not? Then we try to correct the problems created by these wrong messages. Actions speak louder than words. And the young are hearing us loud and clear . They are also watching us very closely.

9. David

This matter was addressed up to yesterday at the Consultation for Building Disaster Resilience. It appears that the governemnt is looking for a new affordable housing design before they start any new building, hence the RFP. I gine bet wunna that those squatters will be moved. The current situation does not impact on aviation, aviation technology has evolved.

10. “This matter was addressed up to yesterday at the Consultation for Building Disaster Resilience.”

Enuff

I have to agree with Greene’s comment re: “no doubt that MAM will come back and say we did not get into this problem overnight -it was over the last 10 years- and we wont get out of it overnight either but her Govt is working assiduously on the matter..”

However, did Mottley give any indication when the squatters would be moved, especially under circumstances where many of the illegal non-nationals are adamant they’re not prepared to move?

What are government’s plans for those illegal non-national squatters at Rock Hall and by extension those in other squatter’s settlements in Barbados?

Will legal and illegal non-nationals be eligible for house, land and the $25,000 Mottley promised?

Or will government use squatting as an excuse to regularize the status of illegal non-nationals, even though they are breaking the law by continuing to reside here and occupy land illegally?

Do you believe it’s fair that legal and illegal non-nationals could break the law by illegally occupying other people’s property and should be rewarded with land and houses at the expense of Barbadian taxpayers?

11. What??????? I missed that one. Enlighten me, PLEASE!

12. Has government begun to the disburse the $25,000 Mottley promised the squatters and will the illegal non-nationals be eligible to receive the money?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Was so startled I forgot to post this.

13. Artax

Maybe you should ask MAM herself about all the intricacies. All I heard was that the NHC was embarking on a house building programme soon, which is to be guided by a new climate change resilient design, boasting local Bajan architecture vernacular and the squatter issue is to be addressed as part of this programme. I support assisting ALL the residents. I don’t support illegal occupation of anyone’s lands, but if people have now acquired possessory rights due to length of tenure are they not now entitled to own? Where are you going to move them to at the moment?

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!!

Do I have to suspend reality on this issue too. Help ,Northerner.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

“possessory rights due to length of tenure?” This will have to be one of those “political balancing acts”.. Look what Barbados has come to. The land of the Lawless.

16. @enuff

From your comment the feedback given by the retired Aviation employee is not correct?

17. Vincent

Squatters rights, adverse possession whatever you want to call it. I am no politician

18. David
    Note the operative word “retired”. Go do some research and see if I talking nonsense or not.

19. Possessory rights due to length of tenure???????? What about the rights of the lawful owners of the property? What about the rule of law?
    I know of an instance of a woman who lived in Brooklyn and owned land in Christ Church, hch was occupied by a Rasta squatter. Everytime she visited Barbados he would pretend to be mad and walk around with a machete – know full well she would eave in a couple weeks. She called the police and they told her to get a lawyer. She did not for all the reasons we have been discussing.
    Would I buy property in Barbados? No.

20. @enuff

Then the government unit persons responsible should have been in the media challenging the posit.

21. Why y’all cussing me, I ain’t write the law, ain’t no lawyer and simply asked a question? Anyone remembers the rasta family on Sagicor land up Fort George Heights? Calm down.

22. Enuff

By “saying” you “support assisting ALL the residents,” you are essentially suggesting non-nationals living in Barbados and occupying land illegally, should be assisted as well.

My question to you is, why should government, through the NHC, build houses for illegal immigrants or assist them in any other way……. at the expense of Barbadian tax payers?

The Bahamian government’s appointed coordinator of hurricane relief efforts in Abaco, Algernon Cargill, told undocumented migrants they should not return to the storm ravaged island because they do not have any legal status or right to do so, and advised them to return to their countries of birth.

That island’s Minister of Immigration, Elsworth Johnson, confirmed that government intends to treat all illegal immigrants equally and being in a shelter would not protect anyone from deportation.

My question is, supposed the homes of illegal non-nationals are damaged or destroyed as a result of a storm or hurricane. Would government be responsible for repairing or replacing those illegal houses and in the interim, provide non-nationals with temporary housing? Would government use this opportunity to deport undocumented migrants?

[PS, I hope this question is not interpreted as me giving a “nod and a wink” to something I’ve clearly not mentioned or implied].

Sometime ago, Sagicor was battling with 30 squatters that were occupying land legally owned by that insurance company and offered them millions of dollars to move. They refused.

What about land owner’s rights? Why should I have to pay a squatter to move off land that I rightfully and legally own?

Would it not be reasonable for the BRA to transfer the land owner’s responsibility to pay land tax to the squatter, since he/she believes squatting gives them some exclusive right to possess that property?

23. Artax

What are the characteristics of the “illegal ‘non-national” households? Are all the occupants “illegal non-nationals”? Do they pay taxes? I don’t know what the government supports, but I support re-housing ALL.

24. Artax
    And this is because I believe in free movement within Caricom and the right to shelter. Note I said I don’t support illegal occupation but one would assume any re-housing won’t be free, even NHC units come at a cost.

25. Mr. Codrington

You are correct in stating Barbados has become the land of the lawless.

For years successive BLP and DLP administration have been grappling with issues relating to PSVs, squatters and illegal vending.

The previous DLP administration built a new Constitution River Terminal. Yet, the route 6 Bush Hall vans pick up and set down passengers by Queen’s Park, while route 10 and 11 vans park on QEH’s pasture to collect passengers and the Silver Hill/Gall Hill mini buses remain parked opposite the old Empire Theatre. After 5pm the mini bus operators reverse to the corner of the NIS building, directly by the traffic lights and impeding the free flow of traffic.

PSV operators are against the move to incorporate PSVs into the Speightstown bus terminal. They prefer to remained parked on the opposite side of the road and block the traffic lights.

Then we have a problem with illegal non-nationals believing it’s their right to build illegal stalls around the environs of the old Fairchild Street market, to sell food and beverages without the required liquor licenses and health certificates and appropriate toilet facilities.

It is my understanding the site of the old Fairchild Street market is being prepared for the construction of a new market. I’ll bet anything those illegal non-nationals will be the first to ask for space in the new market.

People continue to parking on sidewalks and illegally in the city, despite warnings from the police. Non-nationals and Barbadians alike are vending in areas outside the designated markets, such as alleys. Store owners display their items on tables or racks placed on sidewalks, causing pedestrians to walk in the road.

On several occasions the police removed those vendors, many of whom are non-nationals, from the area leading to the entrance of the Fairchild Street bus terminal. A non-national told reporters she does not care how many times police move them……. she returns as soon as they leave. Now, the vendors remain a permanent fixture there.

Young men are seen on a daily basis riding motor cycles that are clearly not insured and “wheelying” dangerously through traffic.

I could go on and on and on.

26. Artax

well stated and then they will turn around and blame each other.

no illegal resident can claim squatters rights. i dont know where Enuff come up with that BS from even if she/he wants to be generous or all inclusive. no person should be able to come into another man’s country and squat and then get rewarded unless of course the Govt permits it. lol.

i have land in Bim and i just want someone to squat on it. no police no law and the squatter will be gone. that is one distasteful act that i cant understand how Govts permit such to occur so often on Govt land.

and if Govt wants it so they should change the law to allow squatters right only for crown land

27. @ Greene,

If you put the emphasis on getting votes, rather than the rule of law, then this is what you get. The rule of law becomes a technicality.

28. Not gonna move if govt openly made promises of help
    Not gonna move
    Why should they.As usual Mia opens her big mouth with out clearly understanding the legal ramifications of her actions
    A good lawyer can challenged govt of the promises made to the squatters and win
    Squatters were given “rights” the moment Mia made a direct promise leaning towards their plight
    Did not a minister label the promise as one of humanitarian
    So why should the squatters move when govt actually handed them an ace to put up their sleeve

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    I was only referring to where there is blame/credit to be had.
    Now…..how many town halls has this PM held in Barbados? Look at who she picked for various GoB appointed posts. We Gathering? etc etc
    With your above analytical skills do you see any patterns?
    They do not miss a beat on the stage outside of Bim, yet struggle to get a few trucks, purpose intended or not, to collect the garbage on any form of regular basis. What are the intentions of this focus?
    I believe the Blogmaster refers to it as ‘connecting the dots’

30. The problem of squatting in Barbados have brought to a crisis point a number of issues I have brought to attention on BU over the years.
    First, we will miss Jeff Cumberbatch for attempting to explain the complexity of the law in simple, readable language to ordinary people. For that I have recommended that he should long been made a QC. It is not too late, even if his elevation is a proper recognition.
    Second, for a society dominated by lawyer/politicians, it is sad that legal theory does not form part of our regular public discourse. Advocates rule, OK.
    If theory had been central to our discourse we would be paying close attention to the squatters of Rock Hall and elsewhere. What protections do the legal owners of property that is being illegally occupied have if s/he enters on that property? What is the period of occupancy before an illegal squatter can claim any benefits, legal protectons or entitlements to that property? Is it one day, one year, ten years?
    Does the principle apply to other forms of property, for example a motor vehicle? If my car is illegally occupied, can the trespasser claim ownership after one hour, one day, one week? Or, will it simply be treated as theft? If a hungry (wo)man enters a supermarket and eats the food without paying does hunger over-ride the obligation to pay?
    As long as constituency MPs regard squatters as potential votes the perversity of the act will be confused with understandable, if wrong, considerations of sympathy and charity.

31. And what if our government continues to turn a blind eye to these squatters who, in the main, are technically speaking illegal aliens. The recent events in South Africa with the violence meeted out towards hordes of desperado Africans seeking refuge in that country should not go unnoticed.

It is said that native South Africans would like to see the removal of these people.

Is it possible that there could be a similar backlash towards other foreigners in Barbados?

32. We should turn our back on the squatters just like the Bahamas government is doing to undocumented there. What a world!

33. The problems……

34. David BU

Firstly, I agree wholeheartedly with the Bahamian government. Hurricane “Dorian” did not give undocumented migrants any automatic formal rights of citizenship. They do not have any legal right or status to remain in the Bahamas and should return to their countries of birth.

Secondly, are you suggesting people could come to Barbados, receive the mandatory 6 months stay, after which they refuse to return home or regularize their status. Living here illegally, they want somewhere to live and decide to squat on someone’s property……. are adamant they’re not moving when asked to do so………. and the Barbados government should REWARD these ILLEGAL non-nationals with house and land, [at the expense of Barbadian taxpayers], for BREAKING the LAW?

So, while I have to face the bank or credit union for a mortgage, a Guyanese or Jamaica, for example, could come to Barbados, remain here as long as he/she pleases, squat on someone’s property and when told they have to move, government should intervene and provide them with house and land?

NONSENSE!!!!

David BU, non-nationals living in Barbados WITHOUT their status being regularized is ILLEGAL, so too is squatting.

What is disturbing is the fact people from the neighbouring territories seem to believe CARICOM gives them a right of entitlement in Barbados and they can come here to blatantly break our laws. What is more disturbing is we are prepared to play the CARICOM card as a means of tolerating these illegal non-nationals ……. and giving them certain privileges that are not enjoyed by Barbadians.

35. @Artax

The undocumented workers have had children with guaranteed rights under their Constitution. In Barbados both administrators allowed the squatter population to take root and and therefore is complicit. It is not a binary issue to solve.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

Auditor General Report 2018
    5.72 In addition to the increase in squatting that was determined during the
    site visits, it was also observed that the traditional chattel house
    structures were being replaced with more permanent concrete structures.
    Most of the houses showed evidence of being outfitted with electricity,
    telephone, water, and in the Belle Gully area, natural gas. No water
    meters were seen on some of these properties.
    5.73 Personnel from the Ministry of Housing indicated that the Ministry of
    Transport and Works constructed asphalt roads within the Licorish
    Village/Belle area which provided easy access to the land for the
    squatters. At Six Men‟s, there is a main marl road which branches off into
    five (5) other gaps/roads. Personnel from the Ministry indicated that this
    type of activity has encouraged and facilitated further squatting. This
    indicates that the squatters see their condition as permanent.

It would appear many bodies are complicit.
    Auditor General report 2018…https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/c1d2b12a20f84d0567e73a3fc08e3b54.pdf

37. So…… we are going to take the pensions of injured Barbadians who have worked for them, tell them they must somehow “refinance their mortgages” and then we propose to redistribute the monies saved to undocumented squatters who have broken the law and ALREADY RECEIVED THE BENEFIT OF LIVING RENT FREE for years.

The children of these injured people are also Barbadian and therefore entitled to similar consideration, I HOPE. Or should their parents upon losing their ability to pay their mortgages flee to Guyana and Jamaica where there is plenty more land available for squatting?

I have no problem with relocating these people but they too must take out loans to pay for their accommodation.

38. Another solution – the “invalids” should rent out their houses and use that money to pay the mortgage and set up house next to the squatters.

39. This govt policies of “giving” into squatters categorized a lazy person thinking
    What is the purpose of having a justice system if govt decides that issues of this nature can be resolved by PM
    If govt does not let the wheels of justice takes it’s course on these issues eventually the Democratic process would collapse
    The long and short of this problem must be guided by the justice system and not by a govt led by a PM who belives it is ok to have the final word in any and every Issue

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “we are prepared to play the CARICOM card as a means of tolerating these illegal non-nationals”
    and this is only one card in a much larger deck.
    The closer one gets to a variety of international bodies, and this includes the IMF, the social pressures intensify. And sadly, children are used as a shield in battle. People quickly learn where the cracks in a system are, usually with the help of lawyers, many of whom are paid our of the public purse to navigate the cracks in the public systems.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/985788de4ff067a7115be4ccb9f6449c.pdf
    The 2013 Auditor General report, go to p137, all of Chapter 6 is devoted to the topic of squatting.
    So “this” government is non sense. Whomever has occupied office has been complicit. They even built roads to encourage squatting!!!!!

42. Do illegal immigrants have “squatters rights”? If so, that is madness!

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Where there is no vision,the people perish. Barbadians are perishing,and nobody cares.

44. “The undocumented workers have had children with guaranteed rights under their Constitution.”

David BU

I’m trying to understand something.

If non-nationals decide to continue residing in a country after their length of stay granted by immigration officials has expired……. and without applying to regularize their status as a resident or for an extension of stay……

……….would it be reasonable to assume those non-nationals do not have any legal status or right to remain in the country and by continuing to do so, they are essentially breaking the law?

If so, and taking the above into consideration, do the children of an illegal non-national couple (husband/wife or boyfriend/girlfriend) have “guaranteed rights under the Constitution?”

Assuming the children are recognized as citizens of the host country and actually have rights guaranteed under the Constitution, because of these rights, does this entitle their ILLEGAL parents to citizenship either forthwith or by some special arrangement?

If so, then, what would prevent other non-nationals from entering a country, overstaying their time, have children, squat on other people’s property and use the children as the basis for applying for citizenship or as the means for government to provide them with house and land?

A subject such as this would obviously elicit comments based on emotion or assumption….. and there isn’t anything wrong with that….. but, perhaps we should examine how the laws of the land apply to these situations and any ensuing legal ramifications.

45. Is it a scenario playing out that we are evolving? Your thought process shared so many times on BU pages.

46. @Artax

There is no need to be hypothetical, the situation playing out is real comparable to Trump and America letting lose ICE on undocumented workers and the offspring abandoned. How humane is this approach? It is an obviously a messy issue read not black and white. All countries especially magnet countries battle the problem of illegal immigration. In the case of Barbados we have made it a political issue. Those with clean hands please push your hands in the air.

47. Does BAJANS have squatter rights?
    Does BAJANS know the laws?
    Are BAJANS going to let the illegals visitors get the clico land before them?

All BAJAN does is talk talk talk!

ARTAX go in St John and stake a claim before its too late. Yuh have the same rights!

48. NO
    Y’all talk big eh. If you can lay out the process for ordering trucks, logistics, time etc that demonstrates the government could have acquired suitable trucks sooner
    then I will agree with you. Add to the mix the state of the existing trucks–constantly breaking down–and workers apparently against working any 5/7 days a week in favour of overtime; while the union boss raises issues about rats and other hazards like they disappear during overtime work. You cannot fail to buy new trucks and fail to maintain the existing fleet for 10 years and avoid a crisis. Then I am labelled a yardfowl…SMFH. #egofowlism+metropolitanism

49. There is a process in immigration law which must be followed
    The chain of command starts with documentation with a right to legal domain
    There is no country in the world that would give illegal aliens right to domain or property with out those aliens producing proper documentation( unless a need for political refuge arises)
    In cases such as the squatters govt has began to set a dangerous precedent by giving the squatters a right of privilege under a banner called “humanatarian rights”
    Somebody needs to pull this govt out of their foolish stupor and remind them that they as govt cannot over turn laws which governs property rights and immigration laws by the use of unnecessary and foolish political giveaway gimmicks to squatters

50. And the news media is to blame too for not keeping on top of a story with such serious implications for the country because I suspected it would have been the usual nine day wonder of diatribe which would fade away into the sunset until someone funds it opportunistic to raise the matter again.
    The Government has a responsibility to settle this matter once and for all now the head of this ugly issue has once again reared.
    By now notices should have been affixed on the houses of the squatters giving them notice to quit
    Folowing that they will be given a time frame to meet with officials of the Ministry of Housing where proposals not for negotiation would be presented to them
    Squatters without legitimate rights to stay in Barbados would be deported
    Shades of Trump but sometimes we have to resort to extreme measures in the face of intransigence