There is no one in Sixmens who saw an environmental impact study [EIA] this project seem to be going ahead without the knowledge of nearby residents and this is why we need to act now and i am accusing town and country planing dept of not insisting on the rules if they have already giving permission to build this marina.
Sixmens – BU family member

Barbados Underground has written ad nauseam about the social fallout which is likely to occur if the unchecked immigration policy practiced by the former government is not curbed. Although we are encouraged by the public positions offered by Prime Minister David Thompson and members of his government, we are not convinced that this matter is being treated with the urgency that it deserves. We listened with interest to Minister Chris Sinckler on Friday who was reported in the media to have confirmed that a sub-committee of cabinet has been directed to address the issue of a managed immigration policy, he suggested that this policy will take a few months to roll out. We wish to suggest to the government of Barbados that the country does not need any new policy to invite illegal immigrants to leave Barbados.

Our police and immigration officials need to enforce the EXISTING laws!

It was with alarm that we listened to a report carried in the Advocate newspaper last week attributed to the Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins. He was reported to have expressed deep concern at the high level of squatting which is currently taking place in Zone 1 areas around Barbados. He further declared that his information suggests that a significant number of the squatters are non-Barbadian. The BU family should take note that because of the threat which these squatters pose to the water supply of Barbados priority will be given to relocate them by the National Housing Corporation (NHC). The fallout of this situation means that hardworking and law abiding Barbadians who have applied via legitimate channels to NHC to acquire houses will have to wait for a longer period to be assigned a house. Here is where the social fallout will likely start to manifest itself.

We have waited a few days until our blood stopped racing a little to blog about this matter. First of all we want to know what was Chief Town Planner doing over the years as this problem was allowed to develop. Are we to assume that his office was manipulated by the former government to say and do nothing? The fact that he may have been aware of this development and did nothing: how does his inaction conflict with his obligation under the Town Planning Act to ensure that our land resources are managed according to the laws of Barbados?

We take this opportunity to ask political scientist Peter Wickham to shut-up on issues which he obviously knows nothing about. While it is his right to have an opinion on what goes on around him he needs to be mindful that as a moderator on a national talk show his positions should be logically grounded and not rooted in some neoliberal ideology. We could easily add Senator Kerri Symmonds and Clyde Mascoll to the list. It looks like Professor Michael Howard may have the last laugh after all.

While we appreciate the politics of the situation Prime Minister David Thompson finds himself he should be guided that home drums beat first. It is obvious when we examine our coastal development, the large numbers of squatters and the obvious lack of planning to our physical development over the decade, the Chief Town Planner has obviously been asleep at the wheel. If it is that his authority was undermined during that period we would have thought that he had options under the law.

85 responses to “Where There Is No Planning There Is Bound To Be Confusion”

1. All of these stories are irrelevant if they were in the country illegally.They should be deported,period.

Our former Prime Minister didn’t really seem to care about what Bajans think about this issue,but that has all changed & we have a new Sheriff in town w/ the new Chief immigration Officer,Minister of immigration & Prime minister.

All illegals whether Guyanese or not should be repatriated with there homelands.

2. in the Guyanas there are British, Chinese, Javanese, Lebanese, Jews, Hindus, Moslems, Bahais, Buddist, Africans, Dutch, French, Indians, Syrians, Hmong/Laotian, Amerindians, Brasilians, Colombians, Venezuelans, Mexicans in Guyana, and I can just go on and we have fun

3. If there is so much fun then why are Guyanese so eager to leave then ?There are more people leaving Guyana each year than there are people staying hence why it wouldn’t be much of a problem if you have illegal immigrants or not.However,being on an island such as Barbados where the population density is already high due to Tourism & illegal overstays,it then becomes of question of limited resources & over crowding.When people who choose to overstay & stay illegally in Barbados why should they be accomodated by those limited resources when they have absolutely NO right to be in the country not to mention how disrespectful it is to our country,laws & citizens.Do you see a pattern,lol ?

I’ve also heard that Guyana isn’t too happy about its illegal immigration situation,especially with Brazilians.

http://guyananetnews.com/news.php?readmore=108

If you are allowed to enforce your immigration laws in “Guyanas” then why can’t we in Barbados do the same,wouldn’t that be hypocrisy ?

4. Negroman is home again in his sweet Barbados that the Indo-Guyanese scums would love to take over and destroy like they did to Guyana.It will never happen once I have life in my body.JC you said the Guyanese maids have an organisation.I was hearing that from a black Guyanese friend of mines.I heard that they are some prominent Barbadians involved in the scheme Orlando Marville & Lindsay Bolden.Orlando Marville is one of those token blacks I keep referring to as a waste to the black race.He went and marry a white degenerate and want people to believe that he has the interest of black people at heart.He claimed to be an expert in African history & affairs and instead of marrying a beautiful,sexy black lady, he married a smelly white thrash.
    These token blacks & anti blacks blacks like Orlando Marville are no help to the black race and should be discarded from the race.
    Orlando Marville and the rest of blacks who go outside the race and look for wife,a husband or partner I have no regard,respect or admiration for people like you all.You have damned the race with the impurities of the white man poisonous blood

5. Negroman

How you man? You got me hey laffin!
    Listen Orlando has served us well as a diplomat man.
    Nutten wrong wid an interracial marriage.
    If you dig deep down you might got lil white in you too ya hear.
    Massa had a field day in he time so nuff o dem red people in de village are offspring from Massa’s indiscretions.
    So all o wunna fellas dat like red women must know how de villagers end up red!

6. lol lol Anon negro man got me laffing too. However, Marville had a choice the black women that the white man rape or seduced didnt have any!

That is the truth!

7. Negroman, You are something else, I am just laughing here, ah tell you, you are not four cents. Well look we can’t help that we have certain races in we. I am African, English and East Indian, my Dad was English and my Mum a dougla and we are all Guyanese. So I guess you really don’t like me. I am tained as you would say, I had no say in it though, but everywhere I go outside of Guyana I am African, then I meet Africans and they tell me I am Egyptian or Arab, what must I do. I had a white man act up with me and my Belizean co-worker at the job this morning, which made me want to say we will do for yuh really soon. Negro man, look I celebrating Diwali, yes the festival of lights. Yes a gat lil coolie Guyanese in meh so I must cleebrate, ah wearing sari next to work for Halloween, part a meh coolie Guyanese heritage. Look you too much for me Negroman, and ah bet you search your background you will discover that you are related to the Duke of Cornwall.or some Duke over there in England. Ah hope you have fun in the Land of the Flying fish. Oh my. You came in on British Air nuh. Bye Negroman, take a lil holiday tuh in Guyana, and leave some of yuh pounds shillings and pence in the old colony nuh. I am sure yuh might enjoy some metham or roti and curry, plus a lil side a coolie comfort. and maybe you can set things straight there. Love you

8. Negroman
    de guyanese girl “anonymous” like she got a thing fuh yuh. Tek care now! Don’t go down to Guyana fuh dem to wuk obeah on you and next thing yuh know, Negroman married to a coolie and wiping curry from he mout! A Guyanese man tell me that the coolie gals like African men real bad.

9. Every one could assure themselves Negroman will never marry or get involve with any smelly Indo-Guyanese scum.Never in my wildest dreams.I have a passionate dislike for those wretches and will never entertain the thought of being friendly with any of them.
    Anonymous yes I visited Guyana on a few occasions and I like the country and I enjoyed myself when I visit.I have only black Guyanese friends and them are the only Guyanese I will keep as friends my black counterparts in Guyana.
    I am not a supporter of mix relationships what so ever.I believe in purity of the races.
    Anonymous you do not know if you are indian,black,oriental or white.What a sad situation to be in.We did not had control over the rape of our fore parents by the wicked,disease ridden stinking white men and the subsequent off springs that came as a result,but I know we have control of what our children should be like.When any one sees my children there is no mistake which ethnic group my children belong to and that is the black African race.I will not put my children at a disadvantage by mixing my strong,pure African genes with the inferior genes of the other races and produce a mutant like you Anonymous or Esther Byer-Suckoo.My children are black,strong & proud to be African

10. Anonymous
    I lived and worked in guyana for a Int. Company, therefore, I know of the racism in guyana. I have BLACK cousins in guyana and they have told me horror stories about the racial divide in your country. From your blogs, I detect you too believe indians are superior, weel maybe in your country but over here, if they come with that foolish belief, they will see how superior we black bajans are. I predict that by 2010, we bajans would have complete some ethnic cleansing in this country.I would suggest ALL those indo -guyanese who don’t want to be mixed-up in this should leave NOT.

11. Anonymous
    I lived and worked in guyana for a Int. Company, therefore, I know of the racism in guyana. I have BLACK cousins in guyana and they have told me horror stories about the racial divide in your country. From your blogs, I detect you too believe indians are superior, weel maybe in your country but over here, if they come with that foolish belief, they will see how superior we black bajans are. I predict that by 2010, we bajans would have complete some ethnic cleansing in this country.I would suggest ALL those indo -guyanese who don’t want to be mixed-up in this should leave NOW

12. Scout,

Your advocacy of “racial cleansing” is most irresponsible. WHO will decide who is racilly clean? DO you recall RWANDA? Would you like that here?

13. Jurias I understand your comment. However, since these persons think that black people are asses can you really blame Scout or negroman?

14. Juris it make me wonder if Negroman and Scout are not from a fifth column trying to sabotage Barbados.

I am with them up us having managed immigration. We part company when they start ranting about discriminating against Indo Guyanese.

We should not treat Indo or Black Guyanese badly. They are all from Guyana and they should all be equally subject to our rule of law fair and square while they are in our land.

There is no need to talk about ethnic cleansing. Thats despicable. They are getting into territory reserved for Hitler and before him the white European slave masters.

As a proud passionate patriotic Bajan I disassociate myself from any of that backward inhumane mein kampf nonsense.

15. @ JC

“However, Marville had a choice the black women that the white man rape or seduced didnt have any!”
    Though this may be true in many instances, we have to be careful of the hyperbolic portrayal of the white man as this cruel animal who rape our helpless grandmothers.
    There are many examples (speaking from my personal family history) where our women made very rational decisions(in their view of the world at that time).
    Though it may be a hard pill to swallow, a lot of our grandmothers chose to sleep with Massa because they wanten children with lighter skins since they saw that as a way out of hardship.
    The creolization that took place in the the French islands especially will support this.
    There are several documented cases of these choices made by black women in the Deep American South as well and like I said, Barbados has it’s own history of that.
    If you can get pass the first 100 pages of Austin Clarke’s “A Polished Hoe,” it gives us a good glimpse at the choices our grandmothers consciously made.
    @ My brother Negroman
    Dont let me down now ya know…I dont wanna hear dat u fathering a few outside dougla children.

16. Anon I have family that the whole of Barbados probably knows who has children from a White man!

When I met him I met a pretty decent guy; however, I let him know in no uncertain terms that I was not a fan of the white people.

THEY LOVED SLAVERY;

My Grandfather Weekes was a White man. My daughter strike back and red is hell. Recently I went to a popular store and a woman had the audactiy to ask me if I was her nanny; Well I told her yes that I was just doing some shopping for the lady of the house and wanted to give her a break so I opted to take the little one out. Imagine my child cause she got curly hair and mine course is ass she thought I was the maid and nanny ha ha ha halol!

So anon I comprehend what you are saying however, there is no excuse for raping my foreparents and the middle passage no way.

17. Wha strike back wha JC…you had a lil piece pon de side. Tell de trute!

18. Hello all fine Barbadians, I read what Scout and Negroman wrote yesterday and I was just in shock, could not respond to them, for all my family members are black, and I am black, so their responses were a big shock to me. Scout I don’t think the Indian superior, I just like their culture, and the sari. I wished you all a Happy Diwali, even though I am not a Hindu, due to the fact that I feel we should get to know each others cultures and maybe avoid all the racial sterotyping which can lead to violence. Diwali is the truimph of good over evil, and it has to do with a bad king imprisoning women and the subsequent freedom of the women by a good king, so for me the concept of Diwali has an important message as in today’s society so many women are abused and murdered just because they happened to be born female. That is my concept of Diwali, now someone will come here and read this and take me to task, but as I said, I am not a Hindu. Anyway, I am shocked at both Negroman and Scout. Have a nice day. Negroman, I don’t know how you can visit Guyana and not come into contact with others, sure beats me, and Scout you and this cleaning thing, well Scout you need Jesus, Jesus is love, and when we accept Jesus as our personal Saviour all the racial superiotity is pushed along the wayside and we just see people as the children of God. JC you need to research the background of Negroman for me, because he reminds me of a neighbour I had in GT, who preached to us that she was 100% African stock, and then come to discover she had a Scottish grandfather.

19. The Scout You are on the ball.Ethnic cleansing will occur in Barbados sooner rather than later if those Indo-Guyanese do not leave Barbados.We are fed up with whole lot of them.
    I will always say Indians are destructive people and calamity befalls any country with a large Indian population.Guyana & Trinidad 2 richest Caribbean countries with all the natural resources available are 2 of least developed Caribbean countries with a high level of poverty.The simple reason for that the racist,clannish & selfish behavior of the Indians who make up the a significant portion of those countries population.
    We in Barbados will never allow Indians to destroy Barbados the same the destruction of Trinidad & Guyana occurred.That goes to Indians from the mainland,the Chinese,the Whites & all other ethnic groups in Barbados.Black people are not gullible & naive anymore and we will fight back and defend ourselves from any harm that will come our way from the other ethnic groups.I am talking about real black people not those like Orlando Marville,Lindsay Bolden & the many token blacks & anti blacks blacks like Reluctant Non Believer who post comments on these blogs.We have thousands of real true blacks men like Negroman in Barbados.

20. Well Negroman, what about Mr. David Thompson, the current PM, and the last PM Mr. Owen Arthur, and then there is Miss Mia Mottley, and of the late Mr. Tom Adams, and the late Sir Grantley and even the late Mr. Errol Barrow?

21. Nobody did like white people more than Errol Barrow. Dat don’t mean that he didn’t like Black people but Barrow did like white people bad bad. Thing is, white people did like he bad too.

22. So, Negroman, it is up to you to determine who is a REAL BLack man?

23. Marcus and Juris don’t worry with Negroman, he is just like the late PM Eric Williams of Trinidad, say one thing to we, but do the exact opposite in private.

24. Na anon fah real my daughter’s father’s mother was part Carib. Anon you got me cracking up!

I have principles values and pride I too old for that shite! I leave that to the you know whos … …….. fill in the blanks.

Stupse!

25. Marcus Gravvy your cynical fooling around with the name of the great Marcus Mosiah Garvey is disgusting. But I am not surprised. Its a shame Barrow did not get the people you say he liked bad bad on the Lord Comberemere as he planned. Most of them were in NZ and Down Under by the time Barrow got the Lord Combermere ready.

26. Which is more disgusting “fooling around” with the great man’s name or fooling around period and doing everything contrary to the philosophy that he espoused. Duh got a lot of armchair revolutionaries bout here! History assignment: Find out who declared Stokely Carmichael a.k.a. Kwame Ture persona non grata in Barbados!

27. The bottom line is simple this Idno-Guyanese, if allowed, will clease this bajan culture and subtly distroy what is bajan. Are we as bajans then allow them to do to us what they have done to Guyana. i know from Experience, a guyanese indians dispises a black guyanese. He is considered less than a human. Yes, there are some blacks who allow themselves to be used. Once they are here in their numbers, which is almost at that level, they will launch their subtle attack, undermine the very fabric of the bajan society. They will soon be asking for Dawali and Pagua or any of their festivals to be accepted, then one of them in parliment, then we will have them in imigration and customs and God knows where else. Then when we bajans realise, GEM GONE. I’m not prepared tp sit around and let that happen. Bajans have had it good all their lives, we never really had to fight for anything. Yes, things might have been a struggle at times. We make a big thing about the 1937 riots,which was mild to compare to what these countries experienced . I sympathise with and admire our neighbours but I CANNOT allow them to ruin MY COUNTRY and whatever it takes I will do to DEFEND what my ancestors have work hard to achieve. I make no apology to anyone who dislike my comments. One day when it is too late a lot of you will wake up.

28. Yeahhhhhhhhhhh Hooray for scout!

29. Scout, I am not being vicious, but I too have to protect my own, so if they want to go I say let them. Ayuh day coming, and sooner than you know. We day come and it its 67% over and we will return to how were. You know what I mean.

30. Scout, I put in a sentence in the above and messed up the whole paragraph. It should read, Scout, I am not vicious, but ayuh day coming, if they want to come, let them go, you see I have to protect my branch in GY, we day already come with massa and then he came back in their form, but we day almost done with 63% done, then we will return to normal.

31. Anonymous
    If you are black and really honest, you would agree that indo-guyanese think of themselves as superior to blacks. Some of the dumbest idno-guyanese are the ones in GT, they would do anything to eliminate a black fellow. The ones in the country are not as bad, slightly more friendly.I preferred being in the backdam among the amerindians.

32. I just read an article in nation news that our Honorable P.M. is being careful about CSME.I got tuh say,”De man got sense”
    http://www.nationnews.com/story/310079171647564.php

“I think you need to understand we are proactive about it but we are not reckless like some leaders have suggested to say that simply because there are trade benefits with the rest of the region, that we should open the doors without any regard on its impact on our social fabric,” Thompson added. “

33. Scout I am not interseted in what they think. I think differently and I am not going to come here and call for the removal of any group from Guyana because you have had a bad experience with them, and thus want to keep them out of Barbados. My mantra is that we can all live together in peace and harmony. Peace an Harmony, love and unity begins with one person, and you would be surprised how it spreads like wild fire. Look at dear Mrs. Jagan, she fell in love with Cheddi, came to BG and worked assiduously for the freedom of all Guyanese people and there are those that would just criminalise Mrs. Janet beyond our wildest imagination, she dis, she dat, but yet 1/2 million Guyanese have flocked to this lovely lady’s land of birth say they seeking a better life, makes no sense to me, but then again Guyanese and humans are strange creatures. Have a nice day everyone in the Land of the Fly fish, in the Land of the Humming Bird and in the Land of Many Waters.

34. I’m not a prophet of doom and gloom, far from it, but I am a realist. With the looming global economic crisis and a slow down in contruction and other areas in Barbados, there is going to be fierce competition for work in this country. These jobs should be reserved for bajans first, locatl with families to feed, mortgages and loans to pay. I don’t see why bajans should have to compete with outsiders, most illegal, for work in their own country in a depressed economy. I’m therefore calling on my P.M to live up to his promise that jobs in Barbados are for BAJAN FIRST and further more reduce or illiminate these illegals from the country. Failing this and judging from rumblings underground I fear that we may encounter a fierce response from bajans who are placed on the bread line in favor of non-nationals. This can result in civil unrest. Barbados can ill afford something like this as this time. Please act NOW before the problem escalates.

35. Please Mr P.M, address this problem before it reaches catastrophic proportions. We BEG we PLEAD with you avoid this.Barbados can ill afford this but if we have to act patriotic we will