The Barbados Today Editorial of September 26, 2019 reproduced here by request.

Several of these so-called traditional media outlets scrape stories from various social media sites without giving credit, for this reason the blogmaster reluctantly post this editorial.

For years Barbados Underground has been highlighting the ‘malbehaviour’ of lawyers and the dysfunctional justice system – see BU Lawyers in the News Section at the top of the page. In fact when we started the probing of the justice system many condemned this blogmaster as being unpatriotic. Our persistent criticism was interpreted as being negative. This blogmaster has lived to hear Chief Justice Marson Gibson and the Caribbean Court of Appear echo the same views.

Where is the moribund Barbados Bar Association (BBA)?

The name Stephen Archer might mean very little to those outside the circle of any close friends and family members he might have had. But his is a case that cries out for justice. This is yet another situation of an average Barbadian citizen being adversely affected by the type of dubious conduct that can accompany the vulnerable even to the grave.

Tomorrow morning Archer will be laid to rest in the churchyard of St Stephen’s Anglican Church just five months after publicly highlighting the tragic circumstances that befell him. He also drew attention to the representation – or lack thereof – of a well-known Barbadian attorney-at-law. Fifteen days after Archer celebrated his 30th birthday in 1997, a telephone pole fell on him occasioning him significant bodily injury.

Archer was taken to the United States to undergo treatment and physical therapy. While living in Miami, Florida, and now a paraplegic, he became homeless. His leg became infected as a result of his living circumstances and it was later amputated. He subsequently returned to Barbados and an initial hospital visit eventually turned into a four and a half-year residency at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. After leaving the hospital the bed-ridden Archer became a resident at Cyralene Senior Citizens Nursing Home at Accommodation Road, Spooners Hill, St Michael.

The utility company fulfilled its legal obligations to Archer and according to him paid a seven-figure compensation settlement to his attorney-at-law on his behalf. However, Archer revealed to Barbados TODAY in April that he was never given a cheque with his money nor was it ever deposited on his personal account. Despite the small fortune that his unfortunate accident had brought to him, Archer explained then that he still owed the nursing home $20 000 for eight months stay at the facility. He said the lawyer was handling his finances but had not paid any money to the home. “When I came here (nursing home), the idea was to save money to help my sister and fix the house in Cave Hill, but it backfired when the lawyer reduced how much I am getting so I ended up staying here a lot longer than I expected,” Archer revealed then.

Archer’s unfortunate situation was exacerbated as a result of his sister – who had been his main helper – dying in February from cancer. His mother who had initially been his principal caregiver had died from a stroke in 2009 while they were still in the United States. His was a life with little family support. He explained the mental and physical difficulty of being reduced from an independent, active, outgoing individual to one living in solitude and confinement in a bed with the occasional allowance out of his money coming from the lawyer.

With hundreds of thousands of his dollars sitting in the bank account of his lawyer, Archer was later reduced to starting a Help Stephen Archer Facebook page and the launch of a “gofundme” account. During his stay in the nursing home his three-bedroom, one bathroom family house at Well Gap, Cave Hill, St Michael was rendered an empty shell by burglars. Despite facing such immense personal hardship, a still optimistic Archer stated in April: “I am not worried, this is Barbados. In the States, I was homeless, in a wheelchair with maggots on me, but here in Barbados a lot of people know me so hopefully, it is not going to come to that. I have nothing to lose. When you are down the only direction to go is up. So I am waiting.”

Archer’s wait is now over. His direction did not take the upward curve he desired. But there are many questions left unanswered. And who will seek to have them answered? Archer had no children. Chief among those questions: Where is his money? Does his attorney-at-law still have the substantial amount on his own personal bank account? If he does, will he make any attempt to pass it on to existing family members, irrespective of how close or far removed they might be? Why did he not hand over all of Archer’s money when he received it or have it placed on his client’s personal account? Why were payments not made to Cyralene’s Senior Citizens Nursing Home in a proper manner? Does the Barbados Bar Association have any authority – or inclination – to launch an investigation into this matter? Is there any other agency willing to pursue this case? Will this be simply another case of a Barbadian lawyer benefiting from the funds of a client?

Perhaps it is time that in matters such as these, plaintiffs have greater oversight on the actual transaction between the defendant and legal counsel where compensation is due to be paid. Why are cheques written in the name of lawyers and not the clients they represent? Developments in Barbados’ courts over the years would suggest that not writing the plaintiffs’ cheques in the names of their lawyers might be protecting many from themselves.

Of course, none of this is going to help Stephen Archer now. But perhaps some of the mourners who pay their last respects to him tomorrow will ensure they are guarded against such anguish if similar tragedy should ever befall them.

184 responses to “Open Letter to ALL Rh Lawyers on behalf of Stephen Archer”

1. These corrupt thieving criminals in the Bar Association systematically robbed this man every penny that was due to him in compensation and sat back and waited for him to die…..this happened to him .at a time when lawyers still collected checks on personal injury claimant’s behalf, but despite that wicked practice ending after that evil lawyer robbed him, personal injury lawyers in Barbados still steal from their injured clients when those compensation checks should ALL be in the injured client’s names….but instead they collude with the defense lawyers and the insurance companies to REDUCE the compensation amount so they can all get their cut..while the injured end up with very little or nothing..

nasty, repulsve criminals the whole lot of them, look out for more names being called in these crimes against injured people…because not everyone will sit quietly and be victimized and robbed of money they need to take care of their health and wellbeing without calling names on social media..

… yall can take ya threats of libel and defamation lawsuits and shove them up ya tiefing asses.

2. This article is one of the saddest things I have seen for this month.

I call this murder of the spirit.

When you take a person’s property and live a high flier life AND REDUCE THEM TO THE IGNOMINY OF DE FACTO ALMS HOUSE while you live high on the hog de ole man feels that your punishment should be a torturous existence/ending.

But God does not sleep!

3. Ya don’t know how am waiting for these vicious animals in that bar association…i will make an example of their disrespectful asses for the whole world to see….ticktock.

how on earth they could think it is ok to steal from injured people, to steal from their children to steal from the vulnerable, disabled and unaware, while watching them die in pain, misery and poverty is a mystery…

and got the goddamn nerve to threaten lawsuits if you complain or question them after they have robbed you blind;…

… got the nerve to catch attitudes if you ask about amounts due to you or the progress of YOUR OWN CASE….it is all supposed to be a secret KEPT FROM YOU…until you realize all your money was stolen by them the defense attorneys and the insurance companies..

…the only reason these criminals all dressed up in suits continue to do this is because no one in Barbados has dropped any of them YET…but what does not happen in a thousand years can happen in a nanosecond..

If they know what is good for them, they better fly right or i will pick one of their most uppity ass QCs and make them a goddamn mascot of theft.

4. And don’t forget, ah got a recording of the way dirty lawyers speak to their injured clients when they already plan to sell them out to insurance companies…their own client they sell out without a speck of remorse….the disrespect they show those clients…especially when they have withheld medical documents from the court, the client finds out, files the document themself and let the lawyer know straight up..i will fcuk you up.

5. 10 Richest bajans it’s just fake news.

6. Isn’t Jackman the name of the lawyer? I remember reading about the affair maybe about ten-fifteen years ago in the press. The article outlined the difficulties the now deceased was facing in getting his money. Let me restate what I have said previously: It would appear that blood may have to be shed to initiate a change. Thomas Jefferson is on record of having said that at times violence has to be used when one faces intrenched injustice to effect change. Do you think this S..t could happen in Jamaica without there being extreme violent repercussions?
    The link between lawyers and enacted Barbadian law must be changed and by electing a preponderance of lawyers it is highly unlikely to change. There is a lot of talk about rule of law and due process: let me just say it is better to be dead than to tolerate injustice that is intrenched. This country is corrupt as a rotten pole.

7. “The link between lawyers and enacted Barbadian law must be changed and by electing a preponderance of lawyers it is highly unlikely to change.”

Bajans have to STOP electing lawyers to public office, it is the No.1 reason why the people and island are ALWAYS being robbed…these uppity negros put systems and laws in place to make themselves untouchable while robbing their own people blind and recruiting all types of lowlfe thieves and parasites to rob their own people too…

stop electing lowlife lawyers…keep them out of the parliament…permanently.

they are the reason the people and island will NEVER progress…they have reduced the people to being their victims..and have for decades..

this gaggle of thieves currentlu occupying the parliament should be the last majority of lawyers ever elected, the people cannot say they don’t know or they don’t have the powers to get them out..just STOP VOTING FOR LAWYERS…keep them excluded from public life always..

8. Even worse, they all colluded to steal the money and now spreading all types of info on whatsapp whereas when people were asking for names and information before and why this was happening to this man…not one of them would open their mouth about the lawyers and the tiefing minorities involved, now all of a sudden we getting an information overload now that the dude has died.

… first off we already know neither Jackman, Cheltenham, nor Cow can be trusted with Black people’s money and properties, so what are the latter 2 names even doing in this case….it was collusion to steal from an injured, disabled person….that is what it was…

thieves of a feather tend to flock together…

9. This is a perfect description of the parasitic ministers, lawyers and tiefing minorities in Barbados as it relates to stealing from the Black population, from the disabled and injured, stealing from the young, old, sick, dying and dead,,…..they wait and wait and then just like carrion birds…they eat living or dead flesh..

https://www.facebook.com/groups/485469478293065/permalink/1340668342773170/

10. While I commend Barbados Today for bringing this affair to the attention of the public part of me wonders why it chose to omit the name of the lawyer, are they afraid of being accused of libel?

I also wonder why the deceased didn’t engage the services of another lawyer to recover his money similar to how Carrington’s client sued him to retrieve his funds but it could be a case of once bitten twice shy.

11. Condolences to the family and friends of Stephen Archer.

For some in Barbados, ” wait till they die ” is included in business planning.

In a few months we will forget about Steven Archer and his physical and mental torture.

Some will say ” he done dead now so he doan need nuh money “.

I am a typical Bajan coward so I will not write what I really think should be done.

12. @Sargeant,

This man had a horrible accident.

He would have been vulnerable to manipulation by those who wanted to profit from his settlement.

13. 13 October 2013

” As he has done for the last 25 months, he lay in his hospital bed until he was bathed just before midday, the bandages on his bed sores changed and, thereafter, he just stared at the ceiling.

He received no presents and no one came to visit. He did receive a phone call from his sister in the evening and a few texts as well, and when the nurses found out they wished him happy birthday.

But, generally, it was just like any other day. “Being stuck here with no one to talk to and nothing to do is very depressing,” said Archer, who sees his life as no more than mere existence.”

14. “I also wonder why the deceased didn’t engage the services of another lawyer to recover his money similar to how Carrington’s client sued him to retrieve his funds but it could be a case of once bitten twice shy.”

Really…you do know better, it was not his first lawyer and he would have gone through 500 lawyers from that toxic bar association…with the exact same results…you are dealing with a cabal within a web within a viper’s nest..

…..there is no escaping victimization if you are unfortunate enuff to get stuck in their corrupt system…unless ya willing to drag those dirty, uncouth disrespectful bar association negros into the light…but ya must have a certain mentality to do so….most Bajans don’t.

They showed plainly their most wicked ways recently on national tv…very few are not like that.

15. Too many blasted thieves in the Barbados Bar Association
    The dam place needs to be closed down
    This situation calls for an investigative committe taken from different islands within the Caricom Community
    No Lawyer from the Barbados Bar Association should be included on the committe

16. Really…you do know better, it was not his first lawyer and he would have gone through 500 lawyers from that toxic bar association…with the exact same results…you are dealing with a cabal within a web within a viper’s nest
    Xxxxxxxxxxxx

Having dealt with lawyers in Barbados and having my own experience I can attest switching from one to another is from switching to another criminal enterprise with increased costs and stress.

Ralph Thorne
    George Walton Payne & Co
    Arthur Holder & Associates

Bunch of criminal lawyers from same Political Party working in collusion to disenfranchise and rob clients.

This not only my experience but also many others I have spoken to who have been misrepresented by these “Professionals”.

17. @Sargeant

A good question.

There is the political class.

There is an authority class.

They all rule.

18. “Developments in Barbados’ courts over the years would suggest that not writing the plaintiffs’ cheques in the names of their lawyers might be protecting many from themselves.”

That is none of the supreme court’s damn business…they are out of place and set it up to STEAL FROM CLAIMANTS…

There is still the case of the little girl whose face was ripped open on some school gate a case of clear negligence when she was a small child, she is now a teenager and they are victimizing the mother and still have not paid out any of the money…it is an attempt to steal from the injured, the court is a fraud..

then there is the case of the Britton’s Hill Arcg Cot collapse, the surviving family have not received o ne dime, the child was an infant then, now a teenager and still no payments…it is the same stinking lawyers names calling over and over in these scams to rob claimants..

but all the tiefing lawyers living large off claimant’s money but the court don’t want claimants to get any..

in almost every case that is what happens, but they will get a shock..

19. Would it not be a good idea if a surviving relative of the deceased visits the chambers (or home) of the alleged attorney and have a strong word with him/her?

20. Some jackasses only respond to the whip.

Same thing with the corrupt Bajan lawyer class.

21. As far as i know, the checks are now supposed to be written in claimants names. but the lawyers ALWAYS end up doing something very dirty to either get into the claimant’s accounts or set it up with the wicked defense attorney and the insurance companies to cut out the claimant…

Vonda is accuse of finding her way into a client’s account and stealing not only the fees owed to her, but 200,000 that did not belong to her..they live to steal.

these are a long term ongoing crimes against injured people, it did not start yesterday….and you will be shocked at the amount of bar association rats involved…at leadt 98% of them live to rob injured and/or disabled people.

…..it is right up there with thefts of land and estates from the elderly and their beneficiaries…all perpetrated by evil lawyers, particularly those in government…they lead the pack..going up against any of them is quite the exercise, hence the reason they must all be exposed..along .every case of theft from the vulnerable..

they have all robbed generations of black bajans not yet born..each and every one of those crooks.

22. “…Stephen Ainsley Archer, a paraplegic who landed in the spotlight five months ago after pleading to be paid an overdue settlement by his lawyer, was remembered today at his funeral by a small gathering at St Stephen’s Church, Black Rock…”

Not all the lawyers in Barbados are dishonest. There are still a few who have scruples

Not all the lawyers in Barbados have balls, but there are still a few who have scruples and balls.

To fight against the entrenched corruption in Barbados is a three pronged strategy.

De ole man has spoken clearly of this triune process here variously but….

The first leg of this three part report may be viewed here

https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/15/file-complaints-against-lawyers-here/

Note is made of this comment by the Honourable Blogmaster which says and I quote

“…The blogmaster gives credit to PUDRYR for his input which led to the creation of this initiative…”

There is an endemic disease called Kaydemakdem or “KDMAKDM”

Kill the Messenger and Kill the Message!!!

When de ole man suggested that this Jotfile Tool be used back in April 2019, me objective was a simple one really

I sought to create a public campaign that resides on the platform of this premiere fourth estate that would promote the voice of the underdog.

De ole man sought to expand that “lawyers in the news” pretty carousel ting dat de Honourable Blogmaster has running on this page to something meaningful.

A careful read of that blog above would show that the Honourable Blogmaster got vex when do ole man asked him what he planned to do with the data.

Cause I felt that the data served more use IF IT PUBLICIZED THE RESULTS TO THE PUBLIC and did not hide them.

Yet here we are today on an article for The now deceased Steven Archer reading an introduction that in part says and I quote

“…For years Barbados Underground has been highlighting the ‘malbehaviour’ of lawyers and the dysfunctional justice system – see BU Lawyers in the News Section at the top of the page…”

The Honourable Blogmaster continues

“…In fact when we started the probing of the justice system many condemned this blogmaster as being unpatriotic…”

Yet many here going say dat de ole man disrespectful “and need banning”

But I still going ask, are you giving lip service to this man Steven Archer?

23. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for you thank you kindly

24. It is assumed that some institution paid a cheque to the representative of Stephen Archer who is with holding the monies.

Who can give a good receipt for this money?

Stephen Archer or his legal representative … or either?

Do we know that a cheque passed?

Do we know good receipt was given?

25. Who was the source of funds?

ICBL by any chance?

26. Maybe CLICO

… or CGM perhaps?

27. When i first heard about this case, Stephen was in the newspapers querying why the insurance company, i forgot their name, had not paid him out, days later the insurance company answered in the newspapers that they had paid out the couple million…YEARS BEFORE…they did not name the lawyer or lawyers involved and that is also a great injustice, because if an insurance company pays out a claim and the lawyer refuses to pay the client…they should be able to call their names without having to worry about being sued for telling the truth…..but that is how the dirty rats in the bar association, the judiciary and parliament have the system set up to steal from everyone and sue you for talking..

which mean the lawyer(s) were lying to him that they did not receive the money and blaming the insurance company….when they had received the money years before…and used it for themselves…while divvying it up…thieves.

28. There are people walking the streets in poverty today because of those stink lawyers who rob everyone, many of these thieves are CURRENTLY in the parliament….and believe themselves untouchable…

29. The train wreck that the uppity lawyers/politicians/government ministers and their parasitic minority bribers created ….has fully DERAILED…and needs to be DISMANTLED…it is too corrupt to function and they have instituted too many human rights abuses…against hteir own people, believing they own human property on the island…so nothing can move forward….NO PROGRESS…they have dead stopped..

….just look at events in the last 25 years…everything they touch turns to shit…everything..and the island is regressing at a rapid pace….

it has gotten even worse since last election….they have the curse of the crimes they committed against their people follwowing them everywhere….as it should.

30. Where is the regulator? This money belongs to the dead man’s estate? Is Inland Revenue taking an interest?

31. Hal…you know as well as everyone that they will all sit quietly and wait for this to die down, do nothing and hope everyone who knows about it dies off real soon….in the meantime they are eyeing their next injured victim…but they will meet the right one..

these are some stink savages, they are not human..

32. As a matter of fact they will soon start blaming the victimized Stephen for all of this real soon, if they have not started already, anything not to be held accountable or give back any of the 2.7 million dollars they stole from a paralyzed, helpless man..

and ya can guarantee…they are all involved.

33. What happened to Mr. Archer is heartbreaking and there is the possibility that it can happen to every vulnerable Barbadian.
    There is no attempt to resolve the land theft allegations. This is not and will not be an isolated case. If it makes it’s way to the courts, it will be a long drawn out costly process involving the same lawyers. What else can be done to resolve this? Where else can this matter be taken up?

34. NOW THAT IT HAS BEEN DISCUSSED ON BU THIS MATTER WILL NOW QUICKLY BE REVOLVED

35. Heather…enuff human rights abuses have been perpetrated by a gaggle of wicked lawyers, government ministers and criminal minorities on the island against 3 generations of bajans…….these are human rights crimes, of course human rights lawyers in Barbados are also involved in corrupt shite…so they are useless…and will ignore this case and the hundreds or thousands of others that came before, that they ALL know about……but they should be brought to the attention of the relevant international agencies…because we know not one of them from Mia back down will raise a finger to correct any injustices in Barbados, because they are all involved and have done these abusive acts against the people at one time or another…

complaints have to be made to human rights bodies outside of the island and the situation has to be monitored, in the meantime violating their own people’s human rights are all these riff raff leaders and lawyers know, so it’s just a matter of time….before they feel that they must continue..

Bajans need to stop staying silent and make some real noise and call the names of these thieves, they do try to intimidate you if they believe they can get away with it…

..one claimant just had to set a QC damn straight….if you do not tell them you will drag their names all across the internet, they will continue their plans of stealing your money or wickedly drag your case through the court system if they beleive you are giving them too much trouble, until both you and them get too old or die….the nasty minded negro at play…

..one way or the other they are determined to deprive you of what you are entitled to if they can’t steal it..

it is an evil system and they believe they have some right to continue this…they have no conscience.

36. “NOW THAT IT HAS BEEN DISCUSSED ON BU THIS MATTER WILL NOW QUICKLY BE REVOLVED”

huh???? have you been drinking..rapturing??

37. WURA which agencies should one complain to?

38. Amnesty International is one…they take this informaiton …check out other agencies that monitor human right abuses also , they are a few, but, for sure, this cannot continue.

…..these beasts set up their own system of human rights violations and have profited from it for decades……against a people whom they know CANNOT FIGHT BACK….given the warped education system they keep in place, just for that…and the decades of dumbing down with lies and deceit by the same wicked criminals…it must be dismantled….

….another generation of vulnerable Bajans should not be exposed to these life destroying crimes….against themselves..and their children and future generations….by these stupid, greedy people.

39. WARU, Everyone, Do you know of any other agencies apart from Amnesty International?

40. WARU, we have all failed Stephen Archer in his life time. We must try to make amends after his death. We cannot pass on this mess to the next generation.

41. There’re crooks, when your family died they hold on to the estate money that has to be divided.

42. No it can’t….

but what is even more evident is that the authorities in Barbados are some ugly people, i saw this story over a decade ago when the insurance company said they paid the money to the lawyer and not one prime minister, minister, lawyer of which they are 1200, not one police, judge, no one attempted to assist this man who was crying out for help…they all sat back and watched it happen until he ended up dead, enabling theft and human rights abuses against people who look just like them…

they none of them can be trusted, that is very clear and they should not have access to the people’s treasury nor pension fund as is even clearer from all the billion dollar thefts from both taxpayer funded entities…..these are dangerous leaders and should be given a very heavy dose of their very own medicine..

43. I understand that when Eugene Melnyck sold Bert’s bar and paid off the workers, he sent down Canadian lawyers and his personal assistant to handle the sale.

44. WURA-WAR-on-USeptember 27, 2019 5:19 AM

“…they collude with the defense lawyers and the insurance companies to REDUCE the compensation amount so they can all get their cut..while the injured end up with very little or nothing..”

I can attest to that. That is the new method being used – play down the expectations of the client and share the spoils with the insurance companies. But there is plenty of information online with respect to British cases to inform the injured. One can get a pretty good idea of how to quantify one’s claim.

45. Time to chase another one of them down Pinfold street?????

46. Donna…they have upgraded their criminality since then, now when they file your submissions, they are trying to hide their “opinion” from you that the filed to the judge, but only as it relates to the dollar figure they are opining about…somebody is going to finish off one of these fckers…i much prefer expose them for the world to see their faces when they travel..

47. @Hal

“Would it not be a good idea if a surviving relative of the deceased visits the chambers (or home) of the alleged attorney and have a strong word with him/her?”

I would suggest that several BU BLOĢERS, supported by the local GANG DRUG community visit said lawyer armed to the teeth with vigilanti motives and invite the local constabulrity to stand by as bystander victims. JUSTICE SERVED residential style, STAND YOUR GROUND.

IT’S TIME FOR IN-ACTION TO ACT.

48. @ Dame Bajans,

I didn’t know Canadian lawyers could work in Barbados.