This weeks column comes from within the United Kingdom with the continued Brexit debacle hanging a massive question mark and uncertainty over the tourism industry. While the value of the Sterling against other major currencies has for decades been volatile, tour operators are left to second guess what a realistic exchange rate will be for the US$ and Euro next year in order to price their holiday offerings. Combine that with increasing oil prices raising the cost of A1 aviation fuel and a double whammy. Then add in that almost everything imported into the UK will cost more post 31st October, resulting in depleted discretionary spending for every British family and you begin to comprehend the concern from what still remains our largest single visitor market.

With the huge increases in the cost of flying to and staying on Barbados through the introduction of additional departure taxes, accommodation and ancillary tourism levies imposed in October 2018, many of our normally loyal visitors are already questioning whether or not they can afford to return. For potential new visitors, they are questioning where they cannot obtain better value-for-money. When you see return airfares from Britain to South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and all inclusive holidays to the Indian Ocean priced at less than a comparable period to Barbados, not surprisingly, destination choices are being seriously considered.

Of course our tourism providers on Barbados have not been spared staggering increases in operating costs and it has become almost impossible to absorb them any more without bringing business viability and reduction in staffing levels into question.

One of our restaurant partners recently indicated that they could no longer accept the BDS$99 per person rate for our re-Discover special dinner offering. Completely understandable but Bds$99 at the current rate of exchange is around GB Pounds 41 and apart from our more well heeled guests hardly a bargain to the vast majority.

To put this in perspective, my brother and I, recently ate at a large chain carvery restaurant, where a main course with almost unlimited sides plus a choice of several delicious desserts cost BDS$18 each.

The Long Haul Holiday Report put together by Post Office Money and Travelbag measures the cost of ten everyday holiday purchases across 34 popular long-haul destinations. In 2018 Barbados recorded a 20% increase for this basket’ – the second highest across the 34.

127 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – BREXIT Looms and UK Tourists Weigh Cost of Travel”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Thomas Cook Travel has gone bankrupt. This will have a dramatic impact on airlift to Barbados from the UK.

2. Yes David market forces will come into play, good comment, EXPLAIN EXACTLY WHAT WILL HAPPEN, GOOD, BAD ETC.

A significant percentage of Barbados airlift gone, gone, gone.

3. thank god the world is gonna end in twelve years ,you shouldn’t have to put up with this stuff.

4. @Wily

It is the downside to having a one leg economy. Those with ears let them hear.

5. @ David September 23, 2019 7:45 AM

Don’t you see the resulting pressure on the Bajan dollar with its unrealistic and unsustainable 2:1 relationship to the US$?

This loss of the Barbados share of the Thomas Cook business could only result in significant drop of forex earnings during the upcoming winter season.

Which smart investor would be that gung ho to invest in hotel properties in Barbados given what is taking place in the travel market and against a background of growing concerns about the shocking rapidity of global warming?

The country needs to bite the bullet and come to the reality that it is NO longer punching above its weight but merely keeping up appearances behind a mirage economic stability.

It’s time Bajans get back to economic basics and prepare for a future of hard times.

BTW, the foreign creditors holding default bonds must be getting rather jittery out of fear that the their chances of being repaid are slipping away every day the GoB continues to play its version of hard ball.

6. I believe that Adrian suggested in one of his submissions that we consider Thom Cook investing in an hotel property here in Barbados as was done in other parts of the world.

This is one of those times when the exceedingly slow pace with which anything gets done in Barbados is a good thing. While a good idea at the time, current events point toward us being left with another unfinished and abandoned monstrosity blotting the landscape.

I wonder if government has any plans of implementing some sort of guarantee that ensures once an hotel project is started, there are sufficient funds to see it through to completion? Paradis beach comes to mind with the use of that location completely lost to locals for the foreseeable future. If by chance that project is ever restarted, one would imagine any work already completed would have suffered the ravages of time and weather, and would most probably have to be started again from scratch. Even the rickety road that once led to this wonderful beach is now closed to the public.

With the collapse of TCT, will the impact also roll over to our cruise industry?

7. @FearPlay

A kind of Performance Bond you mean?

8. Exactly. Starting a project with the hope of raising the necessary funds during building might be attractive to the developer but bad for the country.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David September 23, 2019 5:51 AM
    “Do not worry Peter free market forces will come in to play.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Ahh yes… the same free market forces that just killed Thomas Cook. That’s a great comfort.

I’m not at all worried because I have no investments in the tourism industry… nor am I some whiny Brit stranded in a foreign land complaining that a decent restaurant costs GB Pounds 41…

10. That is why I have said before no permission should be granted to Maloney et all for the Hyatt until they first do something with the Paradise property. We have too much half built properties like Four Seasons to talk about building more until they are first completed. Besides Sam Lord’s, almond beach, paradise, those in Christ Church by Bubbas and the list goes on, what sense is building more when we have hundreds of half finish or abandoned projects all lying idle.

If you read the World Economic Report 2018 you will see the return on FDI in the Caribbean is roughly 5 percent, one of the lowest surveyed. So taking that into account it is not hard to understand why investors walk away from projects. Before we risk that with more beach front land let us identify all that lies dormant and complete those first.

The long talk about a hotel corridor stretching from hither to thither can therefore not be supported by economic reality, so let us be honest and work with what we have.

11. The simple truth is that we are pretending that we became a high priced destination recently , not true. We marketed ourself as a top end luxurious destination. That was inaccurate when compared to other destinations world wide. We need to be spared the baby tears. We were overcharging and pricing ourselves out of the market for the last thirty five years. We allow all kinds of people to lecture us and when you check their track record in the industry ,it’s none existent. Failure to develop a progressive symbiosis between agriculture and tourism has been one of our major failures. Ill conceived marketing plans coupled with political square pegs in round holes is another reason. The concentrated efforts to destroy small business people alienated them from the industry. Clandestine attempts to develop private beaches angered the locals. And the persistent managerial racism turned off qualified blacks.
    These are the real issues not the failure of Thomas Cook or the stupidity known as Brexit.

12. @ PLT

Well said. This absentee ownership mentality seems to have been transferred.

13. @ William.

The truth is we are over exposed in this sector as it stands, yet we want to expand our exposure to issues like Thomas Cook and Brexit without first capitalising on our current asset base, In terms of our hotel stock both finished and half finished.

14. It would be good to hear from the Barbados Minister of Tourism on the Thomas Cook collapse and the effect on Tourism in Barbados.

Or we could hear from she who has the superior oratorical skills.

15. @ John A

We are in the recycled managerial/ consultant business. The same Professor Persuad, who promised the previous administration to source financing for the Four Seasons project and failed is the same Professor Persuad , who is now a chief consultant to the current administration. No doubt his advice would be to how to manage tourism, his failed track record means nothing.
    That simple example should open your eyes as to why everything around here is basically unfinished. Same soup different bowl.

The Duopoly Rules

16. @William.

Well if his success with four seasons and the way he is handling the foreign debt restructuring is an indicator of his success our goose is well cooked!

I am yet to hear from those involved in the industry how they plan to launch a marketing program to secure us from the fallout of Brexit. I guess we will use the wait and see approach once more.

17. Sir William Skinner, is quite right!

We continue to argue that Persaud is not and was never a professor.

All Mugabe had to do was to ask Beckles, a real professor, why Persaud could not be employed at the UWI, in any capacity.

Or maybe, just maybe, Mugabe already knew the answer.

Then the question must be – how could we avoid the obvious conclusion? How could this man be so presented to the country and be installed within the seat of power entirely based on a large fraud?

We have warned Mugabe, like we did to Thompson previously about Parris, that this Persaud will wek she and the country hold deh belly.

Sir William, like many others, only gives credence to the fraud of Persaud against Barbados by calling this man something he has never been.

18. mek!

19. @John A

Over 1 billion Rh dollars in the tourism investment pipeline.

20. @ William

Is the problem Prof Persaud’s? By the way, his title is honorific and he is perfectly entitled to use it, like many of those who call themselves doctors..
    Our real problems go further than personalities.

21. @ David.

Yes we hear that figure bandied about but remember the “pipeline” includes Four Seasons, Heywood and Sam Lords just to mention 3. Back them out and the pipeline might only got in 300 million if that in real terms.

Talk cheap it’s delivery that cost the money!

22. As I said of you refer to the World Investment Report 2018 and turn to return on FDI by region you will see we are one of the weakest return on investment here in the Caribbean. You got places like the far east offering twice the return we offer.

That is why to get the big players here we have to give away our shirt to attract them

23. PLT your all invested in the tourism business, but I do agree with you I would rather be whining at a restaurant in my own country.

24. @ John A

We have entered the gloss intellectual business. We pontificate on the stupid actions of our former slave masters with great aplomb. We like to talk in glib terms about global matters. Those who should know better devote great intellects on pure nonsense. We take way too seriously bogus international leaders whose intelligence level is lower than at least 90 percent of those who comment on BU. Rather than seek to protect ourselves, we are constantly using their yardsticks of what is and isn’t development. What is and isn’t social and economic policy and we indulge in pure intellectual mumbo jumbo. We all want to seem professorial.
    Fifty years ago progressive nationalists warned about the dangers of cultural penetration. They were ignored.Concerned citizens warned about crime and the environment. They were ignored. We want to go to international conferences and talk big talk only to return to garbage on the streets. One PM even went to one of these gatherings and delivered an Ode to the environment.
    The land is barren ; self doubt reigns and in many ways we still waiting for the crumbs from the Massa table.

25. @ William

The problem is not intellectualising, but coming up with progressive ideas and IMPLEMENTING policy. Barbados is terribly weak on policy. It gets in the way of platform theatrics and character assassination..

26. @ Hal
    I am simply saying that the Duopoly is very impressed with him although he has not delivered.
    I am not that up to date with titles. I just thank those teachers from
    Primary school who taught me and prepared me for citizenship before we even had a university. I do remember a Professor Lahaha .He was a kind of magician, who we used to pay five or ten cents when he came to perform at my primary school. I haven’t taken any professors seriously since!

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge

Have you any ideas why the Aeroplane flights to India and Africa are so low per passenger compared with those to the Caribbean?

You are a restaurateur, What accounts for the vast gap in prices between your lunch for BDS $18 in London and BDS $99 in Barbados ?

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    While I agree that Barbadians excel at “platform theatrics and character assassination,” I think that the emphasis of our recovery will be entrepreneurial implementation rather than policy implementation. Implementation is the key for sure, but policy is in the hands of governments who have proven themselves to be incapable of leadership ever since 1627. Barbadians must work around the stumbling block of politics if we are to make any progress. Governments will play catch up sometime after we show them the way.

29. @ Wllam

Pro Persaud was a childhood friend of the President, although I am not suggesting nepotism. It is rumoured he also received Bds$7m for raising finance for Four Seasons. If true, was it when he was chairman of the project? And if so, was that a conflict of interest?

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

That should have been : “Costs of flight per passenger mile”.

31. @ PLT

Government are the pathfinders, the navigators, the architects. Entrepreneurs operate with the parameters set by government. That is why the state has the fiscal and regulatory tools to aid aspiring business people. Get that wrong and the business community fails.
    Our future depends on good government, not aspiring business people.

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Since 1627 governments have NEVER been pathfinders, navigators or architects in Barbados. They have always followed along behind innovators in the economic space. The governments only acted to adjust the fiscal and regulatory environment in the wake of successful innovation. For example, the 1661 government only issued the “Act for the Better Ordering and Governing of Negroes” well after the practice of the enslavement of African peoples was well established in Barbados.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “Our future depends on good government…”
    ++++++++++++
    Since 1627 we have not had a single “good government,” so I guess that explains conclusively why we are a “failed state.”

34. @ William

Yes the grand standing by the duopoly is half the problem, especially with those that can’t or will not think for themselves. So the question is why are they allowed to get away with it? The answer quite simply is that neither the press or the opposition seem capable of challenging them on their delusions of grandeur.

Take for example the talk about BERT leading to economic growth. We here on this blog have pulled BERT apart for what it is more than either the opposition or press has, so why is that?

Then we have the hotel corridor talk. Again this blog using facts has shown that based on our annual occupancy rate that struggles to maintain 60 percent, we can’t even get close to filling our existing room stock for 12 months of the year. So pray tell what is the incentive for a flag ship hotel to come here and invest, especIally when our return on FDI is barely 5 percent?

My problem is these pipe dream statements are allowed to go unchallenged by those who are supposed to challenge them and enlighten the public. Isn’t that what an opposition and press are supposed to do, or do they now just advertise fetes and publish comics?

35. So Thomas Cook group fails to raise the 200M Gbp and goes to the wall as expected.

Very bad news for Bdos tourism. Not only are Thomas Cook flights grounded but also those from Condor, directly impacting capacity from continental Europe.

Yet another belly searcher to Bert whose knees must now be wobbling.

36. A good government will respond to a vibrant private sector. It should not be a passive relationship. Out of such a relationship a relevant policy framework should emerge. You

37. @plt
    Said it before and will say it again.
    Barbados basically has a rentier economy. It is driven by government hand outs, rent seekers and outright theft (mostly intellectual but also physical).

38. @ PLT

I apologise for what I have said about you in the past. You can be a quick learner when you want. Barbados is indeed a failed state. For over 50 years of constitutional independence we have under-performed. But carry on with the myth of Barrow and punching above our weight.
    Let us do an audit of government policies since May 25, 2018.

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Dullard September 23, 2019 12:29 PM
    “Barbados basically has a rentier economy.”
    Exactly my point. No amount of intellectual masturbation about or around government policy is going to fix this. Either Barbadians will fix this as citizens, entrepreneurs, and social entrepreneurs… or it will not get fixed.

40. By the way, his title is honorific and he is perfectly entitled to use it, like many of those who call themselves doctors

Nonsense !

It is not the acceptable practice to refer to Honorary doctorate/ professorship holders as Dr or Prof.

Second, does Avi Persaud even have an honory professorship? Please show me where from. This ought to be freely available information.

The man is no professor. I thought by now this was a well known fact.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “Let us do an audit of government policies since May 25, 2018.”
    Waste of my time.
    Let us instead do an audit of private sector rent seeking, corruption, and regulatory capture since 1966. That is where the problem lies and where it needs to be fixed.

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John ASeptember 23, 2019 9:19 AM

What’s the matter with you? You like you got tummuch common sense man.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Dullard September 23, 2019 12:36 PM
    “… does Avi Persaud even have an honory professorship?”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    As far as I am aware Avinash Persaud has a BSc from the LSE.
    Among his post secondary teaching experience is 3 years (2003-2006) at Gresham College (not the one that’s part of Oxford University but the one founded in 1597 in London) and another 3 years (2010-2013) at the London Business School.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@DullardSeptember 23, 2019 12:36 PM “The man is no professor. ”

What’s the matter with you?

Isn’t it enough for you that he professes to be a professor?

45. How will the demise of Thomas Cook impact the 2020 gathering coming out of the UK
    that is enough smoke coming out of Thomas cook to ground the gathering

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompsonSeptember 23, 2019 9:18 AM “I’m not at all worried because I have no investments in the tourism industry… nor am I some whiny Brit stranded in a foreign land complaining that a decent restaurant costs GB Pounds 41…”

Cuhdear Peter…Have a heart.

That said our tourism officials said on the 12;30 VOB news that Barbados receives 25,00 Thomas Cook visitors per day.

So yes some Barbados hotels which had set aside rooms but has not and will not receive any money from Thomas Cook have to start scrambling to fill those rooms, so from Barbados’ end some people are going to get burned.

But it appears that some people are already rebooking privately, but some British people will already have paid their money to Thomas Cook, and have no money left to pay another company, so some British tourists will not be able to come to Barbados on holiday this winter, so they will get burned too.

47. Anything that will possibly impact Barbados negatively you are sure rise to the surface like crap in the sea off the South coast lol.

48. @ Dullard

What world do you live in? It is quote acceptable for honorary doctors in the UK to call themselves doctors. Same for knighthoods. But, and this is the key, even people with academic PhDs do not often call themselves doctors. It is a third world thing. Look at the number of PhDs, Rhodes scholars and dons in this and previous UK parliaments; how many call themselves ‘doctor’ or professor? Did Gordon Brown call himself Dr Brown, prime minster, or Peter Hain or Kwasi Kwarteng? Ed Balls was a teaching fellow at Harvard in economics, his wife Yvette Cooper was a Kennedy scholar. I can go back to those with outstanding academic records: Harold Wilson, Roy Jenkins, Tony Crosland, et al. Stop the juvenile nonsense.
    I literally sat next to an Eton, Oxford and London Business School graduate for several years and did not know his background apafrt from the basics until I read a profile in the Sunday Times. I had a Cambridge classics graduate reporting to me and did not know her background, apart from going to Cambridge, until one day at lunch with a business contact she started talking through the conflicts between Sparta and Athens; it was then she revealed her background.
    What is a well known fact, Bajan stupidity? Every Bajan with a badly written PhD thesis likes nothing more than calling him/herself ‘doctor’.
    Stop playing the man and play the ideas. I know for a fact that Prof Persaud has a high reputation among UK economists.
    Half-educated Bajans love nothing more than trying to destroy people’s reputations.
    However, I must make it clear I do not share his economic ideas. If his ideas are driving BERT I think they will fail and am prepared to debate these issues with him or any other member of the government at anytime.
    Let us debate ideas and not personalities.

49. quite..….