This weeks column comes from within the United Kingdom with the continued Brexit debacle hanging a massive question mark and uncertainty over the tourism industry. While the value of the Sterling against other major currencies has for decades been volatile, tour operators are left to second guess what a realistic exchange rate will be for the US$ and Euro next year in order to price their holiday offerings. Combine that with increasing oil prices raising the cost of A1 aviation fuel and a double whammy. Then add in that almost everything imported into the UK will cost more post 31st October, resulting in depleted discretionary spending for every British family and you begin to comprehend the concern from what still remains our largest single visitor market.

With the huge increases in the cost of flying to and staying on Barbados through the introduction of additional departure taxes, accommodation and ancillary tourism levies imposed in October 2018, many of our normally loyal visitors are already questioning whether or not they can afford to return. For potential new visitors, they are questioning where they cannot obtain better value-for-money. When you see return airfares from Britain to South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and all inclusive holidays to the Indian Ocean priced at less than a comparable period to Barbados, not surprisingly, destination choices are being seriously considered.

Of course our tourism providers on Barbados have not been spared staggering increases in operating costs and it has become almost impossible to absorb them any more without bringing business viability and reduction in staffing levels into question.

One of our restaurant partners recently indicated that they could no longer accept the BDS$99 per person rate for our re-Discover special dinner offering. Completely understandable but Bds$99 at the current rate of exchange is around GB Pounds 41 and apart from our more well heeled guests hardly a bargain to the vast majority.

To put this in perspective, my brother and I, recently ate at a large chain carvery restaurant, where a main course with almost unlimited sides plus a choice of several delicious desserts cost BDS$18 each.

The Long Haul Holiday Report put together by Post Office Money and Travelbag measures the cost of ten everyday holiday purchases across 34 popular long-haul destinations. In 2018 Barbados recorded a 20% increase for this basket’ – the second highest across the 34.

127 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – BREXIT Looms and UK Tourists Weigh Cost of Travel”

1. @ sir simple

Lord you mean I would make a poor politician or yardfowl then! Lol

The truth is I have a problem when statements and approaches that can’t hold up to scrutiny go unchallenged.

Hal always says that our media does not function as a media should and I agree with him. If the media and opposition held the government up to scrutiny, much of what they say they would not risk to. When one allows this to happen it goes out there as factual and then others who will not think for themselves, takes it and runs with it.

Surely in 2019 we as an educated people can do better.

2. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

CORRECTION: 25,000 Thomas Cook visitors per YEAR.

3. I still say we have a lethargic approach to challenges when it comes to tourism. Look at the challenge from Brexit for example. We knew that was coming but what have we done at the end of September nearly to confront the fall out that can occur?

Have you heard of any travel specials introduced say offering pay for 4 nights get the 5th free?

Have you heard of any car rental companies offering any Brexit specials say between now and December?

Have you heard of any value added packages being piloted by the BTA, or any funds allocated for special marketing to address the Brexit fall out?

My point is with October around the corner why are we not hearing of these approached being implemented? We continue to be reactionary in our approach as opposed to being proactive.

The problem with being reactionary is you act AFTER the revenue has been lost, as opposed to being proactive where you try to safeguard the revenue stream.

Then again I aint no brand name professor just a humble blogger so don’t pay me no mind.

4. @John A

There is a flawed ethos. How often have we heard that the country suffers from an implementation deficit? We have strategic plans and policies, we have projects in the pipeline but the projects of which we speak, what is in the pipeline -will never be realized because critical path planning does not exist.

Have you registered we have projects event now at this perilous stage lagging implementation based on deadlines first made public? Clearly the lag or non implementation must compromise the recovery effort?

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinSeptember 23, 2019 1:06 PM “What world do you live in? It is quote acceptable for honorary doctors in the UK to call themselves doctors. Same for knighthoods. But, and this is the key, even people with academic PhDs do not often call themselves doctors. It is a third world thing. Look at the number of PhDs, Rhodes scholars and dons in this and previous UK parliaments; how many call themselves ‘doctor’ or professor? ”

it is impolite for anybody to refer to themselves by any title, whether such title is earned or honorary.

So if Peter of Hal calls or writes to me the correct way for them to refer to themselves is Hal or Hal Austin, or Peter or Peter Thompson. My correct response is Mr. Austin or Mr. Thompson, unless they tell me, “I prefer to be called Hal” or I prefer to be called “Peter”

But I sometimes encounter men , clearly unambiguous men, introducing themselves as Mr. X, and women introducing themselves as Mrs. Y. The correct thing is “I am Omar X” or “I am Rashida Y”

Let other people honor you.

Do not honor yourself.

And it is rude for people with honorary doctorates to refer to themselves as Dr.

However this rule does not apply to BU where i am permitted to refer to myself by my fake title “Sir”

6. Dullard boy, yuh got the resident jack ass on yuh heels.

Maybe mixing metaphors is no different than that which is culturally bound.

Barbados has no tradition of professorial imposters locating themselves on the same level as people we well know who have a body of academic work which has been vetted by their peers and leaders within their disciplines.

We know of Frank Alleyne, for example, and associate a certain level of learning or professional expertise with him and his ilk, not that we have often agreed.

That somebody could come to Barbados and purport that he has the same level of academic expertise as a Hiliary Beckles or any other real professor on any of the campuses of the UWI and in so doing demands from a feckless public the same degree of respect awarded is no better than a social theft.

Persaud has always been an imposter.

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.gresham.ac.uk/about/
    Gresham College was founded in 1597 and has been providing free lectures within the City of London for over 400 years.

The College was established out of the will of Sir Thomas Gresham, one of the most influential and important men across the Tudor and Elizabethan periods. Sir Thomas made himself indispensable as the financial agent for four successive monarchs from Henry VIII to Elizabeth I. As well as founding the Royal Exchange, Sir Thomas left proceeds in his will for the foundation of Gresham College.

The College began in Sir Thomas’ former mansion on Bishopsgate. It was there the seven original Gresham Professors lived and lectured, including the likes of Sir Christopher Wren and Robert Hooke. After over 150 years at Bishopsgate – a period that saw the establishment of the Royal Society within the College – it moved to new premises on the corner of Gresham Street and Basinghall Street. In 1991 the College moved to Barnard’s Inn Hall, a 14th-century hall located close to Chancery Lane.

Today the College upholds its founding principle in maintaining the highest possible academic standards for all of our appointed Gresham Professors, Visiting Professors and visiting speakers. In recent years three additional Professorships have been added in Business, Environment and Information Technology.

The College’s 130 annual lectures and events are free and open to all. The College has been recording its lectures since the 1980s and we live stream all lectures for those unable to attend in person. There are now over 2,000 lectures freely available online on this website and on YouTube.

Gresham College is an independent institution funded from the estate of our founder, Sir Thomas Gresham. After his death in 1579, Sir Thomas’ estate and control of his benefaction were left to the City of London Corporation and the Worshipful Company of Mercers, which operate through the Joint Grand Gresham Committee to support the College.

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinSeptember 23, 2019 1:06 PM “Every Bajan with a badly written PhD thesis.”

Question for you Hal

How many PhD theses written by Bajans have you ever read?

Thanks.

9. Apologies to intrude Mr. Loverige…

Blog Master for your Attention Please …. THE MINISTER WANTS TO PLANT 600,000 TREES ON 254 ACRES OF LAND!

Freedom is happy that these lofty goals are being talked about when we have no water in some parishes and no garbage collection, while having an abundance of rats with no bait to bait the rats said by a man in authority who’s claim to fame is he is not Jesus. Wow 600,000 trees; let’s see how this is done on 254 acres

254 acres @ 43,560 sq. ft. = 11,064,240. A lot of sq. ft.!

Now for the magic of numbers 11,064,240 divide by 600,000 trees = 18.44 sq. ft. per tree that gives a space of a square with its lengths of √18.44 = 4.3 ft.

The center of the square is also the same distance away from another tree if planted in square pattern but if planted on the diagonal the space between the TREES will be 6 ft. apart.

No tree can grow if you want a TREE 6ft apart from another. Something is not adding up I would expect if you are a minister that at least you would have known that lies do not fly and that is what you are telling us (things that fly that cannot fly) and if you are repeating what someone told you, fire them or you will look like a fool whenever you believe that person again in the future.

If you are planting TREES and not scrubs they should be at least 20ft. apart to allow the branches to be at 10ft on either side of each tree and this estimate may be too small. So each tree will need 200 sq. ft. 600,000 trees would need 600,000 x 200 = 120,000,000. = 2, 755 acres

My advice to the minister start looking for land it should be over 3,000 acres not 254. But cheer up the government have a lot of land that surely is not the issue, or is the issue the 600,000 Trees.

Just for your information on the 254 acres you can only get 55,321 Trees if you do not have cart roads. Enjoy yourself.

Come back and tell us something that can fly. The only other possibility is if the reporter was wrong but please have him publicly say so with the same type headline.

http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/infinity/article_popover_share.aspx?guid=23de541e-50e8-4273-9682-cd5f27a1b1fa

10. @Hal

Mildly interesting personal anecdotes but the point still eludes you. Clearly, you have absolutely no clue on these matters.

Separately, why do you assume every blogger to be a layman?

11. @ Dullard

I could not care less about laymen or professionals. Plse spell out what you really mean. My point is that it is perfectly proper for Persaud to call himself a professor, if that is what he wants. There is no law against it in the UK. I am free to call myself Dr Austin if I want, as long as I do not try to gain any advantage by so doing.
    . My second point is that he has a high reputation as an economist among some UK economists. I personally know he worked closely with one of the leading macro-economists in the world. I know that because I attended the launch of a report they co-authored.
    Did I miss something? I also added, that it is a third world thing for people with qualifications to post them after their names – and, as I have said before, mentioning them in discussions is a way of closing down debates. How many people say I am Joe X BA, or BSc? Or I am Jane C MA or MSc (unless you have a degree in something called political sociology from LSE)?
    Let us deal with Prof Persaud’s ideas, not with silly letters after his name. Let us start with BERT. Ask him to explain the growth aspect of BERT.
    We have a deep cultural faultlne of trying to destroy reputations. We hate ideas. We must change.

12. Quote:
    Let us deal with Prof Persaud’s ideas, not with silly letters after his name. Let us start with BERT. Ask him to explain the growth aspect of BERT. (Unquote)

Since you have met the man why can’t you start the discussion by asking him if he is the mastermind behind not only BERT but also the White Oak contract?

If the slick oil salesman calling himself a professor couldn’t even flog a few villas for a song how could he ever make a success out of BERT or convince foreign bondholders to take a 50% haircut?

Under BERT there can be no real economic growth without Recovery. And this recovery would involve a long period of convalescence to wean the patient Barbados off its unproductive laziness and profligate habit of borrowing foreign money to pay for the rather overtly obese lifestyle based on a diet of imported conspicuous consumption.

13. @ David.

Based on the central bank reports there has been no recovery to date. Further to that we have 4 quarters of consecutive decline..

Lord what’s the word for that again?? Oh yes a recession!

14. DavidSeptember 23, 2019 1:01 PM

Anything that will possibly impact Barbados negatively you are sure rise to the surface like crap in the sea off the South coast lol.

But David the worst of it all is that Mia came up with this grandiose idea of 20 20 with out any thought in mind on how the economics of a global economy can impact tourism

15. fortyacresand a mule Avatar
    fortyacresand a mule

@Hal. Only past african dictators of the likes of Idi Amin or Jean Bidel Bokassa ( Central Africa Republic ) were more obessed than the british when it comes to titles.The british of late might be evolving and becoming less formal and more casual like their american cousins, however, the brits are still seen as the most pretentious type in this endeavor.

I even read an article a few years ago how Germans in leadership position have an obession with PHD title behind their name. I don’t think only the elites in thirld world countries have a monopoly on this type of pretentious behavior.

16. @DAVID

Speaking of “crap in the sea off the South coast”, on Sunday while having lunch at Tapas the shit stink being stirred up by the rough seas was particularily obnoxious, no doubt the new outflow from Rockly.

One problem solved, shit in the streets to shit in the sea, hummmmmmm.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Let me put an end to the bickering over the title “professor.”
    Is Avinash Persaud entitled to call himself Professor Persaud? Yes, without a doubt because he has been teaching staff at post secondary institutions and published peer reviewed articles iacn his area of expertise.
    Is Dullard entitled to think Prof Persaud vain and insecure for titling himself thus? Yes, without a doubt because it’s a free country in that respect.

Now let me get back to discussion of Adrian’s column this week.

18. Yeah some one sent me pictures of a hotel caught up in the high tide
    My first thought was what effect was those fast raging tides had on the underground sewer pipes laid in the ocean

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Adrian your analysis seems predicated on the assumption that the major problem with the Tourism industry in Barbados is that it is pricing itself out of affordability for middle class British tourists. We are a relatively expensive destination, but dropping our prices will NOT save the industry from the oncoming shocks. It might marginally slow the industry’s collapse, but will not change the bleak fact that it is a dying industry. It’s like putting a terminally ill patient with inoperable cancer on life support… you might extend their time among the living by a few weeks or even a couple of months, but you spend a great deal of money doing so.

20. @Wily

You could have been having a whiff of the swamp.

21. Barbados Tourism officials calls a meeting
    Says Thomas Cooke situation is bad news for barbados tourism

22. Billy Griffith did a good interview in the circumstances by detailing the contingency plans. Successive governments have worked to dig the tourism hole we find ourselves.

23. @David

If you turn to page 21 you will see why we are having such a hard time raising FDI. Becuase our rate of return has been so poor over the last few years, we will always find ourselves having to give investors massive concessions so as to bring their ROI up to an accepted rate.

When you read through this report you can clearly see where our challenges lie.

Thanks for posting it hopefully some will take a read and realise that our problems run deeper than the Bs and Ds.

24. @ John A
    It’s not that we don’t realize that some of our problems run deeper than the Bs or Ds . It’s simply that they have no answers to simple problems. I hope that you don’t end up in the apologists’ column. You have been a beacon of balance so far.

25. @William.

I don’t wear red or yellow so will always be neutral. The problem is the duopoly don’t have a grasp on the gravity of the situation they have on hand. They think grand statements will be their saviour, not accepting that some issues are way bigger than they are.

The issue of a poor return on direct investment for example is a problem in the Caribbean. That doesn’t mean though that we can not take what measures we can to address the issues we control and in so doing try and make investment more attractive here.

These are The things i want to hear our leaders speak on, not grand ideas that we have neither the capital or capacity to make materialise.

26. @
    John A
    Thanks for your response. Our chances of going anywhere new with the Duopoly are none to zero. It’s all from the cosmetology factories on Roebuck and George Streets. Garbage in garbage out. We are what we eat.

The Duopoly Rules.

27. Some have suggested that the Thomas Cook UK plc liquidation has negatively effected CONDOR. This is NOT the case and the Condor website is open for business with one way flights from Frankfurt/Barbados available from Euro 229 (about US$252) . PLEASE SEE: http://www.thomascook.com

28. Thomas Cook Travel has gone bankrupt. This will have a dramatic impact on airlift to Barbados from the UK(Quote)

Let us get some facts: what are the advanced bookings from Thomas Cook for 2019/20? What percentage of our total tourism count is that? Which hotels are mainly affected? What percentage of our visitors from the UK come on packaged holidays?
    How many tourists have been left stranded in Barbados as a result of the collapse of the firm? How many have been rescued by the UK government?.

29. @John A

The relevant extract you cited:

FDI in the Caribbean subregion grew to $5 billion, driven by flows to the Dominican Republic, up by 48 per cent to $3.6 billion, bolstered by booming investment in trade activities and positive flows to telecommunication and energy industries.
    Investment flows to Latin America and the Caribbean are expected to remain stagnant or decline marginally, at about $140 billion. Economic growth in the region is expected to remain tepid, challenged by many downside risks, including economic and policy uncertainty associated with upcoming elections in some of the largest economies, and possible negative spillovers
    from international financial market disruptions.

30. Swift response to airline’s collapse

Article by
    Marlon Madden Published on
    September 23, 2019
    The collapse of the UK-based Thomas Cook group has sent shockwaves through Barbados tourism industry.

However, local officials have immediately sprung into action and are working on a plan to mitigate any potential fallout.

The 178-year-old company officially ended its operations on Sunday after last-minute negotiations aimed at saving it failed.

The Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI) said it was saddened by the news, noting: “We were aware of the company’s ongoing financial challenges for some time. It is a major blow to the industry to lose the world’s oldest travel company.”

The BTMI further noted however that it was working closely with the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport and the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) to minimize the impact to Barbados’ tourism business.

“Our first priority is working with the BHTA to facilitate solutions for the visitors currently on island who would have booked Thomas Cook packages. While customers are entitled to refunds from the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA), we are committed to ensuring minimal discomfort and disruption to their Barbados holidays due to the fallout.

“It is estimated that there are currently only 44 Thomas Cook guests on the island, all booked through scheduled airlines and it is likely that they will not be considered as stranded passengers,” the BTMI said, following a meeting with ministry officials.

It was not immediately clear how many local hotels or room nights would be impacted as a result of the failure of the global travel group.

However, a quick check with some hotels revealed that the majority of the British holidaymakers who use the Thomas Cook holiday service were scheduled to start arriving in November.

Thomas Cook UK currently operates three flights to Barbados from Manchester in the winter, as well as a direct flight from the London Gatwick airport, providing a total of approximately 24,000 seats to the destination each year.

Condor, a subsidiary of the Thomas Cook Group, provides 12,600 seats through its summer and winter business to Barbados from Frankfurt.

Thomas Cook UK Plc and its associated UK entities have entered compulsory liquidation, indicating that its UK business has ceased trading with immediate effect and all future flights and holidays are cancelled. All Thomas Cook retail shops have also closed.

“A dedicated support service is being provided by the Civil Aviation Authority to assist customers currently overseas and those in the UK with future bookings” it said.

The BTMI said it estimated that about 60 per cent of Thomas Cook’s winter business to the island would have been booked in advance, and that it was already working on a strategy to assist any displaced passengers.

“The Honourable Kerrie Symmonds, Minister of Tourism and International Transport, is already in the UK meeting with other airline partners who currently service Thomas Cook’s routes,” the BTMI said.

The island’s tourism marketing arm said it was also considering the implications for the air-to-sea cruise programme, which could be potentially impacted by the loss of the chartered Thomas Cook flights.

“We have already commenced discussions with cruise and airline partners who can service the fallout,” the BTMI said.

Barbados TODAY reached out to officials of the popular Foster & Ince Cruise Services here, but they declined to comment on the development.

Meanwhile, Chief Executive Officer of the BHTA Senator Rudy Grant, who is also in the UK with Symmonds, expressed concern about the development.

BHTA CEO Senator Rudy Grant and BTMI CEO William Griffith
    “The Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association is very concerned about the recent failure of Thomas Cook and its impact for the winter season when the service would be operating,” said Grant, adding that the BHTA was also participating in discussions led by the Tourism Minister.

He explained that the BHTA was identifying specifically the number of room nights that would impact its members so it could work with those affected and the BTMI to have the “right market response”.

“Our initial discussions are concentrated on ensuring that we are able to secure the long-stay visitor arrivals that would have utilized Thomas Cook for the winter, but also to identify the possible options available to assist in the cruise-and-stay home-porting area as well,” he explained.

It is estimated that the failure of the tour operator has put some 22,000 jobs at risk worldwide, and hundreds of thousand of people would be stranded.

So far, the British Government has promised to get the firm’s 150,000 UK-based customers back home from vacation spots around the world, while Virgin Atlantic has tweeted that it would be helping to bring Thomas Cook passengers and staff home from Cuba, Jamaica and the United States.

Grant said based on discussions so far between Barbados and its UK partners he was “confident” that Barbados’ response through Symmonds, would allow the destination to be able to properly deal with the fallout.

Meanwhile, the BTMI said it continues preparation to launch a direct service on October 28, 2019 from Frankfurt to Barbados as a result of a new partnership with the Lufthansa Group.

The partnership is focused on increasing business out of Europe and is projected to bring over 25,000 new seats to Barbados annually. marlonmadden@barbadostoday.bb

31. PLT

You alone do not have the ability to put an end to this matter. And if you had an appreciation of the processes involved or the seriousness attached thereto you would not be calling this matter ‘bickering’.

For such a ‘man in the streets’ determination is beneath you.

Dullard is absolutely right. And whereas this writer continues to support this government’s unavoidable measures, our insistence that Persaud is not a professor and therefore unworthy of being so addressed stands.

We have long ago written an article right here on BU about this ‘said’ ‘same’ matter.

If one man could come to Barbados and short circuit well-established standards and that action is not then seen as a crime then stop complaining about all others.

32. UK Supreme court has ruled against Boris. No surprises here.

33. @ David September 24, 2019 5:48 AM

This would put further pressure on the value of the pound sterling vis-à-vis the Bajan dollar.
    More pressure on the Bajan tourism business out of the UK as it would immediately drive up the cost of a week’s holiday in the coming winter season a period when Barbados earns most of its forex from its tourism industry.

Brexit might just be the undoing of the usual ‘bumper’ tourism business out of the UK on which the economy of Barbados depends heavily.

Would advise the Bajans government to make immediate productive use of those CLICO lands and ask some assistance from Israel to develop its water conservation and management systems.

34. I am glad to hear the minister is already in the UK addressing the issue of Thomas Cook and hopefully we can secure some of their traffic for the winter season still.

We have faced challenges in the past like 9.11, the market crash in 2008, American Airlines strike etc, this Brexit issue is however different.

What we have with Brexit is the possibility of a weak sterling over a prolonged period. The question is how will the UK traveller view this? Will they holiday closer to home? Will they still come here but for a shorter period? If let’s say the pound remains week for 2 years and there is weak consumer confidence for a similar period over the whole Brexit issue, what will the effect be here on us?

I think we need to now turn our attention to what effect the above could have on the Industry and our economy over a prolonged period. What can we do here on the ground to partially mitigate the above? The Thomas Cook issue will sort itself out in a few months. If the demand is there for seats both Virgin and BA will respond by increasing flights. The Brexit issue though is a long term issue for us and as a result requires more of a retooling than a short term fix.

35. @John A

Did you listen to Billy Griffith yesterday? He stated the government was aware- like the market was- that Thomas Cook was failing.

The minister is reported to have been on a road show in Dublin.

36. @ David.

Yes I read he was at some function there so flew over to address it.

Although I have to ask if they were aware it was failing one would wonder why wasn’t a proactive approach taken as opposed to a reactive one?

37. @John A

What could they have done?

38. @ David.

I was speaking more in terms of the UK government. I would of hoped they would of stepped in and stopped Thomas Cook from taking future bookings once their collapse was Iminent.

Like what was supposed to of happened here with clico but didn’t.

39. @ John A

Thomas Cook has been failing since 2008 and this has been well known – not because of online rivals, but because of bad management. As to the economy, UK households and businesses are very concerned about the post-Brexit future. Long haul tourism is a luxury.

40. @ Hal.

That is my concern too, how in a post Brexit economy will long haul tourism to the Caribbean be viewed when they will be cheaper options available closer to home.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A
    “…how in a post Brexit economy will long haul tourism to the Caribbean be viewed when they will be cheaper options available closer to home…”
    +++++++++++++++
    We already know the answer to this question. Our tourism earnings in this market will contract significantly in the short term without any prospect of recovery in the medium or long term. Period. Why do we keep pretending that this can be fixed by better government policy or more clever marketing? It cannot. We need to adapt with more innovative strategies than designing better whips to flog a dead horse.

42. @PLT

I sincerely hope you are wrong for our sake, although I agree with you some fall out will come, especially with the summer bargain hunter. Our winter traffic hopefully will not be too badly hit, as we pray those who are wealthier and have been coming to the Caribbean will continue to do so.

What I think it will mean for us though is not being as caught up in arrival numbers, but concentrating more on those with higher disposable income Instead. In the short to medium term we will have uncertainty to weather however we look at it.

43. @ John A
    @PLT

Can either of you explain why the low-hanging fruit of tourism – heritage tourism – is largely ignored by our tourism officials? Is it because this is a largely black market – the children and grand children of Barbadians in Europe and North America – and may not be the type of guests our hotel owners want?

44. Tourists with higher disposable income want valueaddeds our tired product offering does deliver .

45. Brexit or the threat of it is already impacting the Bajan economy, does the Gov’t have a count on how many British pensioners (returning nationals) reside in Barbados? I had conversations with a few and they are complaining that the fall of the pound against the USD is really impacting the amount that is finally credited to their accounts in Barbados. I also know a pensioner who has cut back his monthly expenditure by BDS $2000 as a result of the sinking pound and I believe that even without the Thomas Cook bankruptcy we would have seen a decrease in the number of British tourists as their spending allowance was going to be severely curtailed.

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinSeptember 24, 2019 12:27 PM “Is it because this is a largely black market – the children and grand children of Barbadians in Europe and North America – and may not be the type of guests our hotel owners want?”

If hotel owners in Barbados are looking at the colour of people’s skins, rather than the colour of their money, then they deserve to fail.

That said my nieces and nephews in the great white north are doing very well. They are well educated, virtually all have bachelor’s degrees, most have post-graduate degrees and a few have doctoral degrees. They earn more, typically significantly more than the median income in the places where they live and work very hard. We the family here encourage them to visit regularly, to have fun and to spend.

If Barbados tourism does not nurture [and notice that I said nurture, not exploit] this market, they are very, very foolish.

47. @ David September 24, 2019 12:28 PM

A quick and relatively low-cost way of offering value for hard-earned tourist dollars is to clean up Barbados first and make it look like a welcoming friendly proud little tropical island with a healthy and safe environment as it used to be up to the early 90’s.

People used to fall in love, at first sight, with the sparkle of the gem called Barbados.
    The gloss of beauty has disappeared and shabbiness has started to cover the former jewel of the Eastern Caribbean.

48. Time for a Rihanna mega concert in Barbados televised world wide.

buh doan mine me. I just writing foolishness.