It never fails to amuse the blogmaster when following international news- as his his wont[- to wonder how two buffoons were able to attain the heights of political office in their respective lands. Perhaps somethings are not meant to be understood and should be dismissed as the improbable made possible.

306 responses to “Trump Then Boris”

1. Mariposa
    September 10, 2019 5:42 PM

Trump is a wufless man saying that he has no room in america for Bahamian refugees
    How on earth can anyone support this man
    I bet if it was israel he would part the red sea and walk on water to bring the jews into America
    This idiot seems to have a nasty problem with Caribbean people
    What a jack a.ss

Now if you look at what the Bahamas Government is saying there are NO REFUGEES!!

The Government is saying, if you want to help us, come visit!!

Only 2 of our 700 islands have been affected.

It is business as usual!!

The US already has millions in aid delivered.

The message from the US is clear, “go ahead, rebuild and we will help you”!!

2. Ignore John aka Jack Bowman and his right wing spam twisted warped mindset fellow travellers

If Johnson is Britain’s Toxic Trump

then it is time to jettison his Populist Bannon Cummings

and throw the demo out the limo window

Johnson and Trump have to replace personnel quicker than Trump changes his sheets

3. @John

Challenging the Stuart matter would have created case precedent? You support Boris challenging the court decision but would rubbish parties in Barbados doing same as it applied to Stuart abusing the three month period included in the Constitution? Sometimes you do a disservice to being educated.

4. Deal in reality!!!

In the three months prior to elections, the court was taken up deciding if certain people the Electoral Commission said could not vote could in fact vote.

Remember?

… one of them was Donville’s dentist buddy!!

5. Remember the matter went to the CCJ, days before the election was held on 24th May 2018..

“The Intended Appellant, Professor Eddy Ventose (‘Professor Ventose’) applied to the Caribbean Court of Justice (‘CCJ’) urgently on Friday May 11th, 2018 after office hours seeking special leave to appeal the decision of the Court of Appeal of Barbados rendered on May 6th, 2018. Professor Ventose wanted to be entered on the Register of Voters ahead of the May 24th general election date. Given the urgency of the matter, the Court heard the application via video-conference on Sunday May 13th, 2018 at 11am.”

https://ccj.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/2018-CCJ-13-AJ1.pdf

6. John

Why should i ignore Trump because of your twisted views
    Trump opened his mouth and the truth fell out
    The man u
    Is a despicable character representing the people of America
    His first goal should have been one of giving Hope to the people of the Bahamas not one of placing a political barge on top of the devastation in the Bahamas
    What a f..ikng loser
    Yuh think Trump wouldn’t say the say about Barbados under same circumstances
    Wuh dam he already call these small islands shite holes and his words and attitude towards the Bahamian people says he meant every negative word he has said

7. David
    September 11, 2019 8:22 AM

Challenging the Stuart matter would have created case precedent? You support Boris challenging the court decision but would rubbish parties in Barbados doing same as it applied to Stuart abusing the three month period included in the Constitution? Sometimes you do a disservice to being educated.

I am simply enjoying the theatre!!

My education and life experience make me want to explain what I see unfolding.

I like the puzzles life throws up and always try to predict outcomes!!

Sometimes I get it wrong, sometimes I am bang on!!

I challenge myself daily, most of the time I do so silently!!!

I watched the Trump phenomenon unfold and got it right early.

The Boris phenomenon has remarkable similarities!!

Can’t help remark on them!!

8. Why did Freundel choose 3 months, not 2 or 4?

A judge is supposed to give a decision in 3 months!!!

A judge hearing a challenge to Freundel’s delay can twiddle his/her thumbs for up to 3 months without pressure!!

Six months is a maximum time!!

Check CCJ decisions where the tardiness of the judiciary is raised as an issue by the Justices!!

Boris reckons a month is good!!

We watch while the process completes!!

I am just showing a possible method in what everybody seems to think is madness!!

9. Just looking at the puzzle from both sides and enjoying the mental challenge!!

10. @ John September 11, 2019 8:45 AM
    “I watched the Trump phenomenon unfold and got it right early.
    The Boris phenomenon has remarkable similarities!!
    Can’t help remark on them!!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You got that one right! Pure theatre but of the absurd variety.

The world has seen similar dangerous fools performed long before these two clowns.

Like Hitler and Mussolini, or even Pol Pot, they too would make their exits (or be pushed or forced to like Mugabe) from the stage of megalomania and political tomfoolery.

‘The world is just a stage and all men and women merely players [actors]. They have the entrances and [definitely] their inevitable exits’.

To carry on from where Walter Blackman ‘abruptly’ stopped on another blog with his Shakespearian quotation from “As You Like It”:

“The sixth age shifts
    Into the lean and slippered pantaloon,
    With spectacles on nose and pouch on side;
    His youthful hose, well saved, a world too wide
    For his shrunk shank, and his big manly voice,
    Turning again toward childish treble, pipes
    And whistles in his sound. Last scene of all,
    That ends this strange eventful history,
    Is second childishness and mere oblivion,
    Sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste, sans everything.”

11. You did As You Like It at school?

12. https://www.parliament.uk/about/faqs/house-of-commons-faqs/business-faq-page/recess-dates/

Parliament goes on holiday every year!!!

The official term is “recess”!!!

Holiday is too plebian!!

Boris has just extended MP’ holidays!!

13. The problem is not Brexit!!!!!!!!!!!!

The problem is a hung Parliament.

Unhang Parliament and Brexit fixes itself!!

14. So Hal

Can the court order elections?

Parliament is being stymied and has been stymied for a while!!

15. https://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2019/09/britain-politics-chaotic-constitution-working/597340/

Another opinion for what its worth!!

Looks like 2/3 majority of Parliament needed to get elections at this stage and Parliament is supreme!!

Whatever happens it sure is interesting.

16. @ John

My great ambition was to get a job teaching cricket to Americans; I have changed my mind: it is now to explain the British constitution to Americans and Bajans.
    In the UK parliament is sovereign – not the Executive, not the ruling party, not the Supreme Court. The architect of this mess was David Cameron (Eton and Oxford, First in Politics, Philosophy and Economics). The system is now being gamed by Boris Johnson (Eton and Oxford: 2:1 in Classics).

17. May negotiated a deal and Parliament rejected it!!

Games ensued and May resigned.

Boris then won election as her replacement beating out his opposition.

Games then continued!!

The opposition then successfully enacted a law to prevent Brexit unless certain conditions were met.

Meanwhile, three years out the result of the referendum is not realized.

Would elections with a second referendum be acceptable to the opposition?

18. Seems like there are a bunch of lunatics up your side!!

The alternative is to wait till 2022 when elections are due!!

One thing is sure, the opposition can’t move a motion of no confidence in the Government because it seems to be terrified of the result!!

So Boris can do what he wants with no fear of this, once he doesn’t touch Brexit!!

19. Stalemate!!

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes @Miller re“Like Hitler and Mussolini, or even Pol Pot, they too would make their exits (or be pushed or forced to like Mugabe) from the stage of megalomania and political tomfoolery.[…]‘The world is just a stage and all men and women merely players [actors]. They have the entrances and [definitely] their inevitable exits”

…But even after they have left the stage those folks leave a profound effect on life within and outside their nation…thus, leaving – though often a good thing – may yet be too late.

So staying in your Shakespearean mode I interpret the more profound saying as from his Macbeth on life itself: *…but a poor player, who struts and frets [its] hour upon the stage, […] a tale [recounted by us idiots] full of sound and fury, [and when at death’s door one wonders exactly if it signified anything] *.

21. In a statement last night, GAIA chairman Vic Fernandes said: “GAIA has terminated the services of [Mr Boxill] . . . .The board has thanked Mr Boxill for his service to the company.”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241735/boxill-sacked-airport-ceo

22. Hal

What separates the Government and opposition on Brexit?

“He added that Labour would allow a general election “when we are clear that there will be an end to the danger of no-deal on 31 October”.”

Is it as simple as this?

All that is required is a deal?

But wasn’t there a deal already which Parliament rejected?

23. John the matter is not that simple and you know it. What is the United Kingdom? What politics is being played? Come on, you can be better than this.

24. Labour wants a deal before a general election; the Tories want a general election before Oct 31. An election before Oct 31 will be an effective referendum and Johnson will almost certainly win. An election after Oct 31 will be the end of the Tory party.
    @John, I find the BU interest in Brexit very interesting. Apart from the media, very few Brits talk about Brexit.

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnSeptember 11, 2019 9:50 AM “Parliament goes on holiday every year! The official term is “recess”

People in kindergarten and people in Parliament both go out on recess.

Wait!!! kindergarten and Parliament?

Same ting!

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@JohnSeptember 11, 2019 1:50 PM “Meanwhile, three years out the result of the referendum is not realized.”

The old xenophobic people who voted to leave are already dead. i don’t understand why the British politicians are getting their panties in a knot trying to “honour” a referendum promise to dead people.

27. The issue is not that parliament is going on break, it is that the break is the longest seen and is interpreted as an effort to frustrate parliamentary debate ahead of the 31 October EU deadline.

Keep up people!

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    September 11, 2019 3:30 PM

@JohnSeptember 11, 2019 9:50 AM “Parliament goes on holiday every year! The official term is “recess”
    People in kindergarten and people in Parliament both go out on recess.
    Wait!!! kindergarten and Parliament?
    Same ting!

++++++++++++++++++++++

See, even Simple Simon gets it!!

29. Hal Austin
    September 11, 2019 3:05 PM

Labour wants a deal before a general election; the Tories want a general election before Oct 31. An election before Oct 31 will be an effective referendum and Johnson will almost certainly win. An election after Oct 31 will be the end of the Tory party.
    @John, I find the BU interest in Brexit very interesting. Apart from the media, very few Brits talk about Brexit.

Same thing in the US when Trump came on the scene …. nobody said a thing … result, polls were wrong!!

I have paid it no mind whatsoever until this blog …. just so happens I have a break … recess if you like!!

Sometimes Rush Limbaugh will mention it!!

The similarities are remarkable without the characters involved.

Clearly a latent force is at work on both sides of the Atlantic!!

I think you are wrong about an election after Oct 31 being the end of the Tory party!!

That’s why people ain’t saying peep … why would they .. they will be abused by the lunatics we see in the clips or the media!!

By keeping quiet, the lunatics have no one to abuse!!

America was trending towards Britain and Europe but Trump put a stop to it … for the moment … that’s why he is so hated.

He has screwed up the best laid plans of men and mice and done so devastatingly!!

Boris has some of his traits.

Both are natural leaders.

Whatever happens, it will be interesting to watch.

My bet at the moment is with Boris!!

Rush Limbaugh just doesn’t waste much time with Brexit.

Too obvious what’s going on.

https://news.iheart.com/featured/rush-limbaugh/content/2019-01-16-rush-limbaugh-blog-the-elites-are-undermining-brexit-the-same-way-theyre-undermining-trump/

30. “The world has seen similar dangerous fools performed long before these two clowns.”

Amen…and all dead and buried, dust.

31. SOCIALIST/COMMUNIST DEMOCRAT DEFLECTING!

Must Say Freedom Stands with John…America & Brittan… Donald Trump and Boris Johnson…Same Spew Different Phew!!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2999431026750717&set=a.226983197328861&type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=3296397660385277&set=p.3296397660385277&type=3&theater

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-WAR-on-USeptember 11, 2019 4:56 PM “Amen…and all dead and buried, dust.”

Hitler dead at 56. Suicide.

Mussolini dead at 61. Executed.

If they had spent their lives doing really important work farming, fishing, teaching, shoe making the world would have been a much better place.

33. ‘A Banana Republic led by John Berkow… shameful indeed!!!!’

MP’S BEHAVING BADLY…

34. Looks like a Circus fill with Bloviated Pompous Clowns!!

35. Brexit: Operation Yellowhammer no-deal document published

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/660/cpsprodpb/182D1/production/_108752099_mediaitem108757467.jpg

Image copyright PA Media

Riots on the streets, food price rises and reduced medical supplies are real risks of the UK leaving the EU without a deal, a government document has said.

Ministers have published details of their Yellowhammer contingency plan, after MPs voted to force its release.

It outlines a series of “reasonable worst case assumptions” for the impact of a no-deal Brexit on 31 October.

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said the paper confirmed the PM “is prepared to punish those who can least afford it”.

Michael Gove, one of Boris Johnson’s senior cabinet colleagues who has been given responsibility for no-deal planning, said “revised assumptions” will be published “in due course alongside a document outlining the mitigations the government has put in place and intends to put in place”.

However, ministers have blocked the release of communications between No 10 aides about Parliament’s suspension.

Mr Gove said MPs’ request to see e-mails, texts and WhatsApp messages from Dominic Cummings, Boris Johnson’s chief aide, and eight other advisers in Downing Street were “unreasonable and disproportionate”.

Publishing the information, he added, would “contravene the law” and “offend against basic principles of fairness”.
    Image copyright Reuters
    Image caption Dominic Cummings was one of those named in the request to release communications

The government sought to resist the publication of the Operation Yellowhammer document, but lost a vote on the issue in the Commons on Monday, prior to the suspension of Parliament, so it was compelled it to do so.

The six-page document, dated 2 August and leaked to the Sunday Times last month, warns of disruption at Dover and other channel crossings for at least three months, an increased risk of public disorder, and some shortages of fresh food.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-49670123

36. “If they had spent their lives doing really important work farming, fishing, teaching, shoe making the world would have been a much better place.”

i don’t know why they even bother, everyone is sick of them and would like them all to go striaght to turning into dust anyway, without all the accompanying processes, they are mere stains on the earth and we can all write their endings.

37. I think you are wrong about an election after Oct 31 being the end of the Tory party!!
    That’s why people ain’t saying peep … why would they .. they will be abused by the lunatics we see in the clips or the media!!

Hal

Look at the results of special elections in North Carolina yesterday.

Polls said Dan Bishop would lose by 14%

He won by a few points of a percentage, 35% black voters.

Trump lost it by 20,000 votes in 2016!!

In the other, the Democrat was defeated by almost 25%!!

Trump held a rally in support!!!

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/dan-bishop-north-carolina-ninth-district-special-election-results-dan-bishop

Don’t go by what the media and polls tell you.

Rely on your own instincts!!

People are no longer being led by special interest groups.

They no longer have confidence in the media.

Barbados is yet to catch on, had it done so Grenville might be PM and he could have put in the Building Codes!!

Form a party.

Suspect however Boris got it covered unless someone comes with a program the voters want!!

Looks like Boris connects with people … like Trump.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, I am going yo direct this to your remark of “John […] Come on, you can be better than this.”

You were speaking of the UK and Brexit but I believe you expect your bloggers to always refrain from creating alternative facts and misleading with BS!

The ALTERNATIVE FACTS (what used to be called ‘telling lies’: Look at the results of special elections in North Carolina [9th District] yesterday. Polls said Dan Bishop would lose by 14%…Trump lost it by 20,000 votes in 2016!!

REALITY:According to FiveThirtyEight websiteTrump won the NC 9th District by 12 points…AND most of the leading polls leading up to election day called the contest as a CLOSE race…with some polling giving Republican Bishop at 1 point advsntage and others the Democratic a 5 point advantage. Polls ALWAYS speak of a margin of error (generally 3% – 5%)…so that suggests a tight race.

Moreover this is a REPUBLICAN district …actually 14 points more Republican than the national swing! The last rep was Republican of course.

The Dem candidate was up agaist all that and the bully pulpit power of the President…that he carried so many votes is a boost for him!

AND in the other special election in that same state, most definitely the Dem candidate was shellacked …but the district was REDDER STILL …24 points leaning Republican.

Good heaveans the Republican political machine and POTUS did a great job to get their people over the line in contests they were EXPECTED to win in HEAVY Republican voting districts. …Hooray to them…

..Why is there the need for this level of inaccurate blogging… surely we are BETTER than that!

Sensible, rational people have confidence in the legitimate media and when they analyse aggregated polls and carefully interpret the data, they can decipher possuble outcomes….

…It’s snake oil Presidents and dissembling, alternative facts pundits they can’t trust!

39. The survey, conducted by the Democratic firm ALG Research, shows McCready and Bishop tied at 46 percent each among likely voters in the district’s September 10 special election, while another 8 percent of likely voters said they were undecided.

When respondents were told about Bishop’s 2017 state Senate vote against a bill allowing pharmacists to discuss lower-cost alternative drugs with patients, McCready’s support in the race went up to 51 percent, according to the internal poll, while Bishop dropped to 43 percent and 6 percent remained undecided.

In a memo, pollsters John Anzalone and Kevin Akin said that McCready was in a “competitive position” to flip a district that has been held by Republicans since 1963 and one carried by President Trump in 2016 by more than 11 points.

Poll in NC in July

Sorry, not 14 points, but 8 points, misheard, DEM candidate was expected to win by 8 points.

https://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/454122-contested-nc-house-race-in-dead-heat-internal-poll

Aim of poll was to create the impression Macready would win!!

Note the language

40. Trump lost Cumberland County in 2016 by 20,000 votes.

It is 35% black!!

https://news.iheart.com/featured/rush-limbaugh/content/2019-09-11-pn-rush-limbaugh-what-the-media-wont-tell-you-about-trumps-big-north-carolina-win/

“The Democrat base on Twitter and wherever else pressures the AP and they change their headline, which has to indicate Republicans are in trouble. “North Carolina Gives Republicans a Wake-up Call.” “GOP Holds North Carolina House Seat But Shows Frailty in Suburbs.” Here’s the truth. Dan Bishop, the Republican, won Cumberland County, North Carolina. That county is 35% black. There’s a 35% black population in Cumberland County. Republican Dan Bishop won it by a margin of 0.3%.

“Donald Trump lost Cumberland County in 2016 by over 20,000 votes. Tonight, the Republicans won it back. So why isn’t this the news? Well, we know why this isn’t the news ’cause this does not look good for the Democrats. They have a 35% black population in Cumberland County, North Carolina. Trump lost it by 20,000 votes in 2016. Tonight, the Republicans win with a slight majority of black voters. What’s going on? Well, take a look at African-American unemployment. Take a look at African-American poverty dropping.”

41. “Trump tweeted that Bishop was down by 14 points at one point in the polls, and that’s exactly right. Bishop comes back and wins. Trump was a difference maker, he was a factor, and this has got to just destroy the media. “Trump’s over, don’t you see? Trump’s days are over! Trump has already been defeated. Trump is either gonna be impeached or he’s gonna be defeated in 2020. Everybody hates Trump. Trump doesn’t have any power! He’s losing his base!” And then he goes to North Carolina, and helps turn the black vote in a county — and then the rural vote comes in — and all the Democrats can say is the Republicans are in trouble in the suburbs.”

42. https://www.politico.com/2016-election/results/map/president/north-carolina/

Cumberland County
    100% Reporting

Tweet
    H. Clinton
    56.7%

D. Trump
    40.7%

70,523-50593 = 19,930

Approx 20K!!!

43. 56.7-40.7 = 16% deficit

Bishop turned it around to a 0.3 surplus.

44. … or was it Trump whose approval rating is supposed to be dropping …. according to the polls!!!!

45. You all guys and gals need to listen to Rush as well for a sanity check on the media you consume!!

Stopped him off and went to sleep now starting him back up!!

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

You absolutely adore these verbal tussles with yourself….

YOU are the person who listens to right wing partisan media and read the same style media and then come here to disseminate misleading and sometimes blatantly false data…as YOU did above.

To further highlight that “[the] Aim of poll was to create the impression Macready would win!!” is the continued inane ramblings of a dissembler…any rational person reviewing political polls will analyse an aggregate number taken from data from different pollsters – and over different periods- (as there are so many available) .

It is abject folly to take ONE poll snap shot and pontificate about expectations….Thus no one but crazed partisans would make assertions such as yours!

BTW, the fact the POTUS highlighted the outlier poll is quite laughable…just the other day he called polls that were showing him losing the horse-race against a slew of Dem candidates as false news…you guys love to have it both ways…it’s not an outlier when its good for you ….but it’s cat piss and puke wrong with media manipulation when it’s bad for you!

Why wanna so tho!…snake oil dissembler all yuh. What a waste!

47. It is abject folly to take ONE poll snap shot and pontificate about expectations…

Which is of course what the media did …. a media I have long learned, unlike most … to distrust!!

48. @ John

You know, you are basically admitting that you did the same thing using one poll as the media. Therefore, your actions are justified.

You just exposed yourself to the same criticism you gave the media. So, it is reasonable if de pedantic Dribbler or any other blogger distrust you and your agenda.

You have demonstrated that you are just as dishonest and manipulative as Trump. Maybe that’s why you adore him so much.

49. Just yesterday I was speaking to my sixteen year old son about the need to be able to think and analyse critically. I opined that lack of these skills could cause one to make the horrifying mistake of voting for Donald Trump. He said that there was no need for critical thinking or analysis in this instance because who and what Trump is shows plainly on his face. Those who cannot see it, do not want to see it, he thought.

Trump lies every day, my son says. Trump says one thing in the morning and another thing in the afternoon. There is no more proof needed that he is unfit for office. No-one who seems incapable of telling the truth can be good for any country.

John is capable of critical thinking and analysis and so I believe he is just a liar of Sharpie proportions. I must admit that I am still baffled as to his motives.