Boris and Conservatives Win BIG

For members of the BU family who are not confined to navel gazing and would cast eyes across the pond.

Projection of Seats: Conservatives 368 Labour 191 SNP 55 LD 13 – Majority of 86

396 thoughts on “Boris and Conservatives Win BIG

1. PIECE
    YOU ARE QUITE CORRECT, AND MAKING SENSE

ATHERLY SHOULD STEP ASIDE AND LET FRANKLYN LEAD
    ATHERLY IS A FOLLOWER NOT A LEADER
    HE NEEDS TO KNOW HIS PLACE AND HIS ROLE

YOU WILL BE CALLED TRAITOR, BETRAYER AND EVEN SCRIBE AS I WAS CALLED TODAY BY HE WHO HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS –ONLY A DEFLATED EGO

THIS PDP YOU ALWAYS TALKING BOUT LIKE THEY NOT GETTING THEIR ACT TOGETHER THOUGH

2. @ Dr. GP my fellow myope

Intelligent men discuss ideas, and abstract concepts, lesser men can only discuss things that they touch and can see!

John Q

He is a blogger here who always talks about the Quakers and their contribution to the Emancipation of Slaves.

Say what you will about his other beliefs he IS A THINKER!

And this is always the common ground for men who are thinkers, we recognise that there are issues that we cannot see eye to eye on but, when for example you float a concept about Trump, I have to take a step back and examine it, even though I have my biases

I simply cant read people like Grenville Phillip not because I am arrogant or think I am smarter than anyone (de Blogmaster say so) but because he is first among dufuses.

He is pedantic in his thoughts, absurdly pedantic!

I cant do that too long.

Let me share with you what I call my “threshold” as far as it relates to the People’s Party for Democracy and Development!

It is defined by 1 marker.

If Joseph Atherley DOES NOT ACTIVATE THE PdP Election Machinery BEFORE MUGABE MOTTLEY LAINCHES 1 National Initiative the has real traction, all bajans will know that he is a plant.

Because it will mean DEFINITIVELY that she, MUGABE, is pulling his strings!!

Then it will be time to explore VARIANT 2 OF OPTION 1!

But the fact is as follows, certain factions HAVE OBSERVED THE MUGABE REGIME DICTATORSHIP & …

I was concerned when he, a priest, has been noticeably quiet about 54 unofficial deaths BECAUSE PRIESTS WILL ALWAYS SPEAK OUT ABOUT THESE THINGS but the silence is deafening now

3. @ John Q

I wish to ask you this question since, OF ALL THE CONSTITUTIONAL POLEMICISTS REMAINING HERE ON BU, you alone fall into the category that thinks this government is unconstitutional!!

What if, Lord Forbid, the Almighty God called home Joseph Atherley tonight!

Would the constitutional crisis loom again?

And would such invalidate the Government of Barbados being a valid government WITH NO OPPOSITION?

And would the Senatorships of Caswell Franklyn and Crystal Drakes cease?

Would there be a by election called in St Michael West?

Would the BLP run Lauron Gibbs and again risk another 30 to 0 result?

Would the DLP field a candidate? An old one, or a new one? Who?

Of course I expect nuff people to come here and say dat de ole man want Joe dead but is not death inevitable? Or is Joe, being a man of the cloth, not going to die?

And my most profound question of all.

Would the PdP be ready for such? And who would they run?

Should they risk running Caswell? If so, why so and if not why not?

4. De ole man was tempted to submit this as an article to the Honourable Blogmaster but I know HE HAS INSTRUCTIONS NOT TO PUBLISH ANY MORE PIECES BY PIECE THE LEGEND!

I was going to call it

” if Atherley dies tonight, will the PdP die tomorrow?”

5. interesting thoughts Piece

once you dont toe the line they will attempt to stump you———even if it a no ball! i.e against the rules of the game

They cant like you— cause you like Trump. You dont say things hypocritically and polite.
    You are supposed to bow and scrape and say as you are told please sir no sir 3 bags full sir even when you dont mean um—once you sound right

If you get a full toss or a long hop you not to hit it to the boundary. you must pat it back gently to master

It aint now that our people not thinking or cant think—— they never learned to think
    they have not been thinking all their lives so they cant think now

they never learned to swim at low tide so they cant swim at high tide

the would be pm compared me to the scribes in Jesus day who impressed Jesus sometimes , lied about him sometimes and tore him up sometimes

by his analogy is he not suggesting that he is Jesus. Is not Jesus God?
    Jesus accepted it when the scribes criticized him and mocked him but Diotrophes saying he is God and one can not even suggest that he has no solutions for barbados, when it is as clear as the two bridges in Bridgetown

note that unlike Diotrophes JOHN K IS A BARBADOS SCHOLAR TWICE—– HE AINT JUST START THINKING

6. @Hal
    To be honest, it’s not really helpful to introduce into a serious discussion about democracy, meaningless platitudes by a racist like Churchill. Common sense tells you that anyone could make the same statement about the political system that they prefer. It sheds exactly zero light on whether the Westminster system aka ‘representative democracy’ is democratic or whether it’s preferable to any other political system. Maybe for the purposes of clarity, it would be useful if you explain how you define democracy.

What you have presented is the standard theory that defenders of the Westminster system offer in order to justify it. The reality of how this system actually works in life is completely different. First of all, in this system voters do not have the power. The Westminster system existed for most of its life without universal suffrage and, in fact, this is something that has been forced on it by the struggles of ordinary people all around the world. A Princetown and Northwestern University study of the US political system, which in its essential characteristics is a presidential variant of the Westminster sysytem, found that in this system “economic elites and organised groups representing business interests have substantial independent impacts on US government policy, while average citizens and mass-based interest groups have little or no independent influence”. So the power never starts with the people and in reality always rests with the financial oligarchs.

Since the power doesn’t start with the people, they are not in a position to delegate it to anyone. As you well know, individuals are elected as representatives and not as delegates. Therefore, once the voters have marked their x, they have no further power over their so-called representative. They cannot instruct that ‘representative’ to vote in any particular way in the parliament, there are no mechanisms for that ‘representative’ to render account to their constituents and only in some limited countries is it even possible for the electors to recall an elected representative. Therefore there is no evidence that the voters have delegated their power to the representative. As regards to election promises and manifestos, I think people generally understand that these are not worth the paper they are written on and the voters have zero power to enforce their implementation. In the Westminster system, it’s clear that outside the election booth every 4 or 5 years, the voters are powerless in this system. Of course they could take to the streets, but they could do that in any political system.

Within the Westminster system, which is based on party government, the main political parties function as elements of the state along with the courts, the army, secret police etc and are the means via which the finacial oligarchy carries out its rule, while spreading the fiction that it is basing itself on the will of the people. Hence Malcolm X denounced it as a hypocrisy. These political parties are hierarchical organisations, with varying degrees of internal democracy. Their more active members emerge as career politicians whose career advancement is dependent on staying on the right side of the party leadership. These party leaderships are themselves in the pockets of the various corporations who exert their influence via so-called lobbying and other corrupt practices in order to ensure that governments pursue policies which meet their private interests, regardless of their election promises and even the views of their party members.

I don’t particularly want to go into the situation in the UK but the division in that society reflects the deep divisions in Britain’s ruling class as to how best to secure its interests. I’m sure you have noted that a similar process of division is unfolding in the USA. In my opinion these are reflective of the crisis that the Anglo-American ruling class finds itself in as it struggles to suppress those states rivalling it for control of the globalised capitalist economy. It has zero to do with democracy.

With regard to Barbados, I’m not sure why you think that the Westminster system doesn’t exist here. After all the English slavemasters set it up here in 1639, based on the system in England.

7. @ Dr. GP my fellow myope

And right there, you said it!

“…they have not been thinking all their lives so they cant think now

they never learned to swim at low tide so they cant swim at high tide…”

By that last comment you showed how bajan you are!

Learning to swim at low tide…

Going to the sea in one’s youth with old people was a trip ” de sea ent got no back door” or “if you move from heah and go out deah and drown, whe yo come back yeah, I gine kill you”

People will come here on this article and do their usual brimming exercises!

But they will never go beyond the parameters set by the Honourable Blogmaster

And it is not only because they are afraid of him and his power over their IP but because they fear that their discourse WILL NOT BE MEANINGFUL!

We have been trained to be a nation of servants who dutifully fan massas a.ss.

“As I was going to St Ives, I met a man with seven wives…”

I was exposed to that riddle at 7 years old and immediately gave the right answer because I “saw” the riddle in mens oculus.

THE PRACTICE OF THINKING IS SOMETHING THAT CAN BE accentuated by the right environment or, as in our case, dumbed down over many iterations as with the Barbados experience!

Periodically you can see the effect of this idiocy with the comments like “you feel you real bright doah”

You get despised for just being you!

Grenville is one such example of palpable idiocy that, because he is part of the obsequious genuflecting system in Barbados, is given a free pass.

So if you were for example to ask him “Bedroom Policeman, you plan to go in bajan bedrooms and censor what they are watching TELL US WHAT WHOLESOME PROGRAMS YOU WILL REPLACE THESE XXX MOVIES WITH?”

De Snuffleupagus would be lost BECAUSE HE HAS NOT THOUGHT THAT THROUGH!

And that my myopic friend speaks to the endemic malady that beseiges Barbados

They always got something to say bout anything being bad BUT ASK DEM WHAT TO REPLACE UM WITH?

You do this all the time SO DEM GINE HATE YOU GUTS! and it does get dem even more vex when you tell dem you wife love you and does cook for you!

My man, doan come home for de Gathering heah cause if dem hear you in de island, you boat dun sink!

8. Piece the Legend
    December 17, 2019 4:08 PM

@ John Q
    I wish to ask you this question since, OF ALL THE CONSTITUTIONAL POLEMICISTS REMAINING HERE ON BU, you alone fall into the category that thinks this government is unconstitutional!!

Would the constitutional crisis loom again?

And would such invalidate the Government of Barbados being a valid government WITH NO OPPOSITION?

And would the Senatorships of Caswell Franklyn and Crystal Drakes cease?

Would there be a by election called in St Michael West?

Would the BLP run Lauron Gibbs and again risk another 30 to 0 result?

Would the DLP field a candidate? An old one, or a new one? Who?

Of course I expect nuff people to come here and say dat de ole man want Joe dead but is not death inevitable? Or is Joe, being a man of the cloth, not going to die?

And my most profound question of all.

Would the PdP be ready for such? And who would they run?

Should they risk running Caswell? If so, why so and if not why not?

The PDP is a joke!!

9. What if, Lord Forbid, the Almighty God called home Joseph Atherley tonight!

What if Ms. Mockley gets the call?

10. @ Tee White

I am not sure what Churchill’s alleged racism has to do with the statement about democracy, but let us move on. Yu ask me to define democracy, but that is not my call. I am responding to your call for a new system of government.
    I am not sure what you mean by ‘defenders’ of the Westminster system offer to justify that system, since I do not, and have never, sought to defend the Westminster system. I have simply sought, in as simple a way as possible, to describe the system you and I live under.
    You claim it has existed for most of its being without adult suffrage, but so has every system of government we know. Politics is dynamic, it changes all the time. So, if a system improves itself it cannot be accused of being undemocratic. Until 1951 ordinary Barbadians did not have the vote; and until 1963 those aged 18-21 did not have the vote.
    In fact, I believe the age of majority in both the UK and Barbados should be 16. But then that means that those aged under 16 will not have the vote. Will that be undemocratic?
    You describe the US presidential system as a variant of the Westminster system. It is not. It is a totally different system, nearer to an elective monarchy than to the Westminster system.
    Ignore the nonsense about academic studies, the fact is all over the world small elites have control of the levers of power and its is getting worse, not better. Just look at little Barbados.
    You say power does not start with the people, but it does, does it not? Then what is the purpose of a general election? A nd you claim voters do not have any control over their representatives after placing the X. But they do, at present at a maximum of every five years. What I believe you mean is that five years is too long. Am I right? You say voters cannot instruct their ‘representatives’ on how to vote ow what policies to support. But are you not mis-interpreting what the word representative means?
    You say political parties, or at least the main ones, function as part of the state. That is a very loose definition of the state. You also say that there is no ‘evidence’ that voters have delegated power to elected representatives. What evidence do you need?
    The execution of a vote is de facto and de jure a transfer of that power to the elected person; who enters parliament and transfers some of that power to the majority group or party; who then appoint/elect a leader; who then appoints a Cabinet. At every stage some of that power is transferred, but ultimately final power rests in parliament, not the government or prime minister.
    Who are the UK ruling class? Is this class independent of government and the monarchy? We have just had 40 years of membership of the EU, is the British ruling class part of the EU ruling class? If so, have the voters now rejected both ruling classes, or is the Boris government just anther part of the British ruling class?
    You say the Westminster system exits in Barbados. Plse list the requirements of the Westminster system and point out how these exist in Barbados.
    I am still looking for your proposal of a system of government that is better and more representative than the current democratic system.
    I think you know what you are against, but have not yet worked out what you are for.

11. Here is text modified from a Leave Seat MP in the UK’s recent election.

I have modified it to explore a point of similarities.

“…Every Labour (PARTY) leader gets vilified by the press (see Reverend Atherleyof the PdP’s record to date but the vitriol levelled against Jeremy Corbyn (THE PDP LEADER) was (HAS BEEN) of a greater intensity…

Whoever comes next (TO LEAD THE PDP) must not give our (ITS MANY) enemies any opportunity to portray them in a hostile light, be it allegations of failing to tackle antisemitism (be it allegations of being a BLP plant or AN INABILITY TO HANDLE AN ECONOMY IN SHAMBLES) or familiar claims around national security (VIOLENCE AND MURDERS UNLEASHED or the xenophobic policy of the Mugabe government to triple the population).

The problem is that the PdP has yet to see that it has faced its first election from the time the Reverend Atherley was allowed to cross the floor AS A JUDAS!

And, having done what he did IT HAS REFUSED TO ADDRESS THE PERCEPTION IN THE MINDS OF THE VOTING ELECTORATE THAT the PdP leader is NOT A MAN TO BE TRUSTED!!

And that single campaign message, by Mugabe Mottley, IN BARBADOS, with its majority, simple minded electorate, IS GOING TO BE ENOUGH to scuttle The PdP that is seen as THE MIA MOTTLEY OPPOSITION OF CONVENIENCE!

Yet the PdP is locked in a stasis incapable of understanding the extent of the problem AND PRESENTING A PREMIERE COUNTER FOR THIS ISSUE!

But John Q does call them a joke heheheheh

12. john

re What if Ms. Mockley gets the call?

I WOULD PRAISE GOD ALL DAY FOR A FORTNIGHT LIKE IF I AT THE GATHERING IN REVELATION 5

13. Man GP you is a Christian and a doctor. Barbados and Bajans took good care of you for decades until David Thompson it was and others? effed you up, but still in spite of that you should be praying for all politicians. In the Anglican church we pray for all politicians every Sunday, and sometimee we remember to pray for them at home too, although i won’t lie to you, most of the time I don’t remember the politicos in my home prayers. Most of the time I don’t study them at all one way nor the other, but when I remember I ask God to grant them all good gifts, long life, good health etc. But “no” I have NEVER asked God to grant anybody an election win.

14. PIECE
    OUR PROBLEM IS THAT OUR LEADERS AND WOULD BE LEADERS DONT AND CANT THINK

I PUT A QUESTION TO THE LEADER OF NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS WHICH HE CANNOT ANSWER
    I PUT THE SAME QUESTION TO MY DEAR DARLING WIFE WHEN SHE CAME FROM WORK LAST NIGHT, AND SHE WAS ABLE TO ANSWER IT

HERE IT IS
    IF YOU WERE THE DICTATOR/LEADER IN BARBADOS WITH ALL 30 SEATS BUT YOU HAD NO MONEY TO BUY GARBAGE TRUCKS OR PAY GARBAGE COLLECTORS HOW WOULD YOU GET THE GARBAGE COLLECTED AND PREVENT THE SPREAD OF LEPTOSPIROSIS

YOU KNOW WHAT IS DE BIGGEST PROBLEM HERE TO THOSE WHO READ THAT QUESTION?
    THEY CANT PERCEIVE THAT GARBAGE CAN BE COLLECTED WITHOUT MONEY TO BUY GARBAGE TRUCKS OR PAY GARBAGE COLLECTORS

15. @Piece the Legend December 18, 2019 12:35 AM “But they will never go beyond the param SO DEM GINE HATE YOU GUTS! and it does get dem even more vex when you tell dem you wife love you and does cook for you!”

I don’t know about the others because I don’t hate GP [neither of them] at all, and those of us who appreciate good food are glad to know that he has a loving wife who cooks for him.

He has “cussed” me form time to time, but I remember when I first came on BU and someone with the handle ROK was advocating for the Barbados government to run a study on the effectiveness.necessity of childhood vaccines, whereby a number of children would not be vaccinated to compare the rate of their subsequent illness with the subsequent illnesses of vaccinated children. I disagreed with ROK, and Dr. GP supported me. For that support he will forever remain in my good books. I don’t only remember only bad stuff, I also remember the good and the sensible. Dr. GP’s support for childhood immunizations is the good and correct position to take.

16. @Hal
    I’d like to avoid us spinning in the mud by simply restating our different perspectives on this issue. So I’ll try to focus my responses on the areas where I think discussion will bring us greater clarity about the sources of our different perspectives.

You may remember that my first contribution to this discussion was to argue that the Westminster system is not democratic if judged by the widely used definition of government of the people, by the people and for the people. Clearly, you have a different view on whether the Westminster system is a democratic system of government. Logically, it follows that you either think that the Westminster system reflects government of the people, by the people and for the people or you are using a different definition of democracy to the one I’ve adopted. Your statement that all over the world small elites have control of the levers of power suggests that you don’t think the former. Hence my request for you to explain what definition of democracy you are using. If your definition is something along the lines that the Westminster system and its characteristics is what democracy is, then obviously your position would be clearer to me. For me, the problem with such a definition is that there are no external criteria by which we can judge the democratic nature of the system. It also opens the door for supporters of any other political system to simply state that the characteristics of the system they favour is what democracy is. You are no doubt aware that the Chinese Communist Party considers the political system in that country to be democratic although it differs significantly from the Westminster system. I suspect that you wouldn’t consider the system in China to be democratic but as there are no external criteria, their claim is as valid as yours.

With regard to your claim that the Westminster system does not exist in Barbados, I’m not sure why you make that claim. In Barbados, we have two main political parties. These campaign at election time and on the basis of the votes cast in the election, a parliament is elected which sits until the next election. Those elected are considered to be the ‘representatives of the people’ and from among them, the party with the majority forms a cabinet which governs the country. Please explain to me how this differs from the Westminster system.

I have deliberately used the term Westminster system loosely to mean what is generally referred to as ‘representative democracy’. I have done this for two reasons. First to emphasise the fact that this system has its origins in the English civil war and the efforts of the rising English merchant class to wrest political power from the monarchy. Secondly, to contest the idea that it is, in fact, a democratic system. I’m fully aware that this system exists in presidential and parliamentary variants but these are simply variants of the same political system rather than different systems.

The ruling class in the UK are those who own and control the economy. Both the government and the monarchy are part of the institutions through which they carry out their rule. As a class with extensive international investments, loans, financial relationships etc, it is integrated with capitalists from other countries within the globalised capitalist economy. It has strong economic relationships with the EU but also with the USA as well as farther afield. The different economic interests of the factions within this class drive them in different policy directions with regard to Britain’s relationships with both the EU and the USA. This is not a problem that was created by David Cameron. In fact, as far back as 1990, Geoffrey Howe triggered Margaret Thatcher’s downnfall precisely over Britain’s relationship with the EU. The referendum and recent election represent a victory for that faction of Britain’s ruling class which favours prioritising the country’s relationship with the USA over that with the EU.

17. SS
    RE Man GP you is a Christian and a doctor. TRUE

Barbados and Bajans took good care of you for decades NOT TRUE MY PARENTS AND GOD DID
    I GOT NO PREFERENTIAL CARE FROM Barbados and Bajans

THE JOB I WANTED WENT TO FOREIGNERS……………WHO HATED DOING IT AND DIDNT DO IT WELL
    ONCE I GOT A TWO WEEK ACTING PICK FOR CHILD CARE BOARD
    I TURNED UP AT A CHILDREN’S HOME TO WHICH I WAS ASSIGNED

LADY IN CHARGE TOLD ME DR BBS DONT COME
    IF HE DOES COME HE DONT GOT A “STETOSCOPE” OR A PRESCRIPTION PAD
    WE DOES JUST SEND THE CHILDREN TO THE POLYCLINIC

I CAN SAY SO MUCH MORE BOUT HOW I WAS MISTREATED
    BUT GOD HELPED ME AND MY PARENTS WERE ALWAYS THERE FOR ME

I OWE Barbados and Bajans NOTHING——-I PAID MY DUES

18. @GP December 18, 2019 8:32 AM “YOU HAD NO MONEY TO BUY GARBAGE TRUCKS OR PAY GARBAGE COLLECTORS HOW WOULD YOU GET THE GARBAGE COLLECTED AND PREVENT THE SPREAD OF LEPTOSPIROSIS. YOU KNOW WHAT IS DE BIGGEST PROBLEM HERE TO THOSE WHO READ THAT QUESTION?
    THEY CANT PERCEIVE THAT GARBAGE CAN BE COLLECTED WITHOUT MONEY TO BUY GARBAGE TRUCKS OR PAY GARBAGE COLLECTORS.”

Well I int bright like your wife, and i int no HC nor Cawmere person nor neffen so but we can be much more rigid about sorting at source, it takes only a few minutes per day, for example when I buy bleach from the supermarket I never asked them to sell me a bleach bottle. I only wanted the bleach, so on my next trip to the supermarket, and I have to go there anyhow to buy cleaning supplies etc. although not much food because i grow a lot of my own, I carry back their bleach bottle to them, and not only the bleach bottle but every other container that I never asked to buy. And of course we can compost and feed our gardens with the compost and subsequently feed ourselves with the vegetables and ground provisions.

As for the rats, we MUST make it mandatory that all garbage is stored until collection in a bin with a tightly locked on lid, easy for the collectors to remove, but impossible for a rat, cat or dog to remove. We set up rat restaurants in front of our homes and businesses and then act surprised that every night the rats come out to dine.

19. @GP December 18, 2019 8:46 AM “I PAID MY DUES”

And we–at least some of us–thank you for your service and we are sorry that some of us treated you badly.

20. John
    December 18, 2019 3:15 AM

Does Ms. Mockley have a Deputy …. in the governmental sense?

These polysemous words!!

21. JOHN

Does Ms. Mockley have a Deputy …. in the governmental sense?

WHY YOU DONT STOP ASKING THESE HARD SIMPLE QUESTIONS THOUGH?
    YOU WANT PEOPLE TO BLOW A GASKET IN THEIR CIRCLE OF WILLIS OR IN THEIR BLOOD BRAIN BARRIERS

JOHN BY NOW YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT WE LIVE IN A WORLD OF DUMMIES

SS & DONNA
    I LOVE WUNNAH BOTH MUCHLY
    DONT CARE HOW MUCH WUNNAH CUSS ME OR VICE VERSA

22. @Dr GP a small apology I in order to you.

I was reading the opening news of the day and saw a note that Politifact had labelled Pres Obama’s can keep ur doctor statement as THE lie of that year…

I didn’t realize it was given that heady a decoration… so you may have been on to something with your continuous harangue on that point.

Soooo tell me oh wise one are you going to continually remind the blog and the world now and forever that YOUR favorite pres has also been accorded esteemed ‘Lie of Year’ status.

Politifact nailed Trump on this one below but frankly it could have have been any number of blatant lies he blasted and continually repeated to millions.

BtW he now has TWO False Fables D’or in last three years and he /his campaign would make in three in four…. that nimbleness of tongue is akin to Messi or Ronaldo in soccer skills… You think he will get 6 awards before he leaves … presuming of course nothing like your crass glee re Ms Mottley’s fate befalls him!

The choosen lie of the year: Since the Sept. 26 release of the whistleblower complaint about his call with Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelensky, Trump has insisted more than 80 times that the whistleblower’s account is fake, fraudulent, incorrect, ‘total fiction,’ ‘made up,’ and ‘sooo wrong, [but] despite what Trump claims, the whistleblower got the call ‘almost completely’ right.”

23. @ GP December 18, 2019 8:46 AM

“I OWE Barbados and Bajans NOTHING——-I PAID MY DUES”

Cannot say that I blame you. When I was finishing off my doctorate, there were two Britishers also doing graduate work – Bob Body was finishing off his doctorate and Seumas was starting his master’s. Body was going down to Brazil to seek out a post; both he and Seumas told me that I was too good a scientist and should not waste my time in back water countries like Barbados and that I should go to Brazil. The back water statement ,though true ,I found some what disturbing. It affected my outlook because I objected to Barbados being called back water. Even if I wanted to go, there was the problem of my two young sons and a wife: when I suggested that I would go up to the States and scout the out the position ,that was one big noise. Looking back, I would say that didn’t listen to my dad when I told him I was getting married. He sent to buy a nip bottle of whisky from the rum shop at the corner of Mason Hall Street and Emmerton( Chapman Lane) Lane. When I got back, he told me to drink two shots of the whisky and forget the idea of getting married to the wife. I guess she had more sway than dad. Dad was proven to be correct in his assessment. You can call this the reflections of a misspent youth.

24. dr lucas

my mother also told me not to marry to my first wife

like you, if we had killed a man and plead guilty to manslaughter we would be better off — CAUSE we would have got out by now.

YOU NEVER FULLY GET OUT OF A BAD MARRIAGE WHEN YOU PUT IN SO MUCH. IT AFFECTS THE CHILDREN WHO END UP POORER FOR IT

BUT GOD CAN HELP A MAN TO FORGET

THOUGH IT IS TRUE GOD HAS BROUGHT ME THROUGH, I WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF FINANCIALLY TODAY. LIKE YOU MY YOUTH WAS MISSPENT. LOT OF HARD WORK BUILDING MY REAL ESTATE EMPIRE GONE FOR NOTHING.

JUST THANK GOD THAT YOU WERE ABLE TO WALK AWAY WITH YOUR SANITY
    WHEN I USED TO GO TO GLENDAIRY TO SEE THE PRISONERS I MET MANY MEN IN CAGES WHO WERE UNABLE TO WALK AWAY… AND THEY MURDERED

AS A PHYSICIAN, I MET MEN IN THEIR THIRTIES ALL WORN DOWN AND BROKEN WITH HYPERTENSION
    JUST THANK GOD THAT YOU WERE ABLE TO WALK AWAY WITH YOUR SANITY AND YOUR HEALTH

DONT GET ME WRONG I BELIEVE IN MARRIAGE
    SOME OF US GET GOOD WIVES AND ABUSE THEM……….I WITNESSED IT FIRST HAND AS I GREW UP

SOME OF US GOT SOCIAL CLIMBERS AND CONTROLLING UNLOVING WOMEN WITH MYOPIA AND THE INABILITY TO SEE WHAT GOD HAS GIVEN TO THEM BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE

THE MEN WHO ARE DONT CARISH AND HAVE LITTLE WORTH SEEM TO GET BY WELL IN BIM

25. @ Tee White

I am not putting a case for or against the so-called Westminster system. What I am saying is that if the system that exists in the UK is the Westminster system (based on the geography of parliament) then the system we have in Barbados is not a true reflection of this. An adversarial political system, a bicameral parliament and a Cabinet form of government does not make it the Westminster model.
    You talk about the ruling class, but do you mean the capitalist class, the political elite or the wealthy aristocracy? The biggest investors in the UK capital market are pension funds, owned by ordinary workers. Are you suggesting that workers are the ruling elite?
    You claim the current political problem were not caused by David Cameron. I bow to your greater wisdom and understanding of UK politics. The only thing I will ask is that you do not teach such things to young people.
    For the record, whatever the ideology, the current problems have been caused by the Fixed Term Act and the referendum. Still waiting for a description of your representative e form of government. I think you are getting confused about the pegging of the pound with the mark and the dollar. If this was not a serious discussion I would laugh out loud.
    I suspect that your views are what was (is) being taught at UWI. I have a theory of circulating mediocrity. If the above is what you have been taught, it is ALL wrong.

26. @ Reverend Atherley

Again de ole man will go back to the main topic here

“…In my constituency of Barnsley Central, the Brexit Party came a worryingly close second

They threw the kitchen sink at us – visits from Nigel Farage with national media entourage in tow, a full wraparound our local paper, a plane flying a party banner, a dozen mailings to households, publicity across the borough and countless targeted Facebook ads.

All of which carried the same message: Labour doesn’t care about you. And it worked. The result was a humbling night for Labour in Barnsley. I received 10,000 fewer votes and saw my majority reduced to 3,571…”

This is an excerpt of Labour Candidate Dan Jarvis from Barnsley ONCE A LABOUR STRONGHOLD.

He lost!!!

You have been tarnished as a betrayer of the Barbados Labout Party DO YOU HONESTLY FEEL THAT, GIVEN THE ONSLAUGHT THAT MUGABE MOTTLEY IS GOING TO THROW AT YOU, you going win your seat?

Bow out gracefully UNDER YOUR TERMS, with a symbolic fight against Mugabe!

Listen to de ole man and win, disobey AND LOSE!

27. like you, if we had killed a man and plead guilty to manslaughter we would be better off — CAUSE we would have got out by now.
    “AS A PHYSICIAN, I MET MEN IN THEIR THIRTIES ALL WORN DOWN AND BROKEN WITH HYPERTENSION”

Funny.as hell
    🙂
    I have hypertension. Going to put her out this evening….. On second thoughts… I’ll just keep quiet and just do my time:-)

28. THEO
    YOU WELL PASS 30, MAN

TAKE YOUR HYPERTENSION TABS AND BEHAVE
    just keep quiet and just do my time
    YOU SOUND LIKE YOU GOT A GOOD WIFE LOL

BUT SERIOUSLY ALL THE VERY YOUNG MEN I SAW WITH HYPERTENSION ALL HAD EVIL WIVES MAN

AND I AM INDEED IN REAL LIFE Funny.as hell
    ALL THE BEST FOR THE SEASON

29. RE As soon as dis BU BORG member come pun duty dem does block everyting

DONT WORRY PIECE

NIGHT DOES RUN TIL DAY CATCH UM AND VICE VERSA

ONE WONDERS WHY DIOTROPHES POSTS TWO SILLY ARTICLES WEEKLY THAT CONTAIN
    NO SUBSTANCE
    NO SEQUENCE
    ARE NOT SOLID
    ARGUEMENTS NOT SOLID, SUCESSIVE SEQUENTIAL OR SYSTEMATIC

AND HE WANTS TO LEAD THE COUNTRY? WHERE? IN DE CAREENAGE? OR WESTBURY?

30. Silly Woman
    December 18, 2019 9:05 AM

We all have a deputy John. You know that. Just in case the “main man” fails

Silly women do exist!!

31. Ewart ArcherDecember 13, 2019 5:02 PM

Tee White

went through his entire childhood and somehow grew up to be a functioning adult without realizing that “democracy”, “equality”, “social justice”, etc. are utopian fantasies.

The human animal is a predator. Think carefully about what that means. Then read a book on biological psychology.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Some of us have evolved. I am not a predator. I do not understand the predatory instinct. I dream dreams and have fantasies of a better world for all. Tee White has also evolved. Do you still consider yourself a predator?

It is true what you say, though. The world is still for the most part, a jungle and many people are predators. In reaching for Utopia we will fall short. But that does not mean we should not strive for a more democratic society, less inequality, improved social justice etc.

Time was when slavery was accepted. Domination of women was accepted. Monarchies and dictatorships were accepted. Most of us have come to believe these things to be unacceptable even if we have not managed to eradicate them totally. It always starts with a thought. And then there is slooooooww progress. Evolution is a slow process. And those who have not evolved will fight progress even when the majority has evolved.

The other animals do not think on these things. But we have that capacity and do think deeply.

Let us keep evolving!

32. Time was when slavery was accepted.

Domination of women was accepted.

Imagine if the Quakers had not been motivated by God and did not become tools in His hands to effect the change and spread His message to all mankind.

33. Do unto others as you would have them do to you.

This isn’t something that evolved over time out of man’s fertile mind.

It is kind of old.

34. @ John December 18, 2019 8:48 PM
    “Imagine if the Quakers had not been motivated by God and did not become tools in His hands to effect the change and spread His message to all mankind.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It’s pity that the Quakers weren’t around to melt the hardened hearts of the
    Pharaohs to free the ‘white’ Jews who were in slavery for over 400 years.

Wouldn’t be surprised if you describe your ‘white’ Moses as the founder of Quakerism.

35. Hal Austin

What will Hal Austin say now that, in the Queen’s Speech, Boris (“One Nation”) Johnson has formally pledged to (a) increase government spending on the NHS by £34 billion over four years; and (b) build a million new units of affordable housing.

Not even Jeremy (aka Leon Trotsky) would have done better.

36. If men are being warned not to marry some women, certainly the reverse is true, looking for the women who were warned not to marry some men.

Life is a two- way street.

37. Tee White

Sounds like a clone of the young boys from the GBSS and Presentation College who schemed their way to power in the Grenada Revolution (1979-83).

They said all of the things Tee White is saying, almost word for word, and once in power, they established People’s Assemblies throughout the island. These were examples of direct democracy — community gatherings that allowed individuals to make direct proposals to government ministers and discuss the details of the government budget.

So how did that turn out? Some Grenadians who disagreed with the People’s Revolutionary Government plotted to kill the PRG leadership, which in response began rounding up suspected opponents and jailing and torturing them without any attempt at due process. Eventually, the PRG leaders turned their guns on each other as well as on their opponents, and the Americans stepped in to impose a regional solution.

So stop re-inventing the wheel, Tee White. Anything you can think of has already been tried. Human nature is what it is.

38. Miller
    December 19, 2019 5:45 PM

@ John December 18, 2019 8:48 PM
    “Imagine if the Quakers had not been motivated by God and did not become tools in His hands to effect the change and spread His message to all mankind.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It’s pity that the Quakers weren’t around to melt the hardened hearts of the
    Pharaohs to free the ‘white’ Jews who were in slavery for over 400 years.
    Wouldn’t be surprised if you describe your ‘white’ Moses as the founder of Quakerism.

God is the common denominator, Moses and the Quakers were both His tools.

39. But I have an unrelated matter on my mind. I am hoping that David did not shut down a whole blog to shield Chris Halsall. I was going to accept his apology and move on but if David has done this unwarranted action then I have lost any respect I had for him and now wonder if Piece was right about EVERYTHING he has said about him.

And if kissing certain people’s ass is a requirement for being on this blog then it is obvious that I am not welcome. Cause Donna don’t play dat!

40. @ John December 19, 2019 8:17 PM
    “God is the common denominator, Moses and the Quakers were both His tools.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what’s the use of Jesus if the Quakers are the tool’ of God?

Why do we have to spend so much money building and maintaining churches in the worship of some concocted saviour when we can go straight to God in prayer (like the Jews of old) by just being ‘silent’ like the Quakers?

BTW, Quaker John, since Jesus was a real-life person, why do you ‘celebrate’, in true pagan style, (and like any other human being) his birth on a ‘fixed’ date?

But, how come, when it comes to his death it is turned into a moving mooning target in true Xtian style from one denomination to another depending on the phases of the Arabic moon?

In other simple words, why is Jesus Christ birthday on the 25th of December (winter) while his crucifixion and resuscitation can be any time after the vernal equinox but only with the Sun’s blessings (fertilization) of Spring’s snow melt of March and the showers of April to provide for Mother Earth’s new lease on life in the Northern hemisphere?

41. GP,

I saw the signs before but I am one to give the benefit of the doubt for a while. You did not tell any lie on the man. You did what you always do. You bait people. The specious excuse about not accepting this behaviour towards people who are posting under their own name is soooooo obviously bogus. He accepts it for others who post under their own names. But here he goes full obsequious to the man, intervenes at every turn, threatens all challengers with his “blogmaster powers” (LOL) and now it seems he has put up a shield.

I have heard about bending over backwards but I wouldn’t be caught dead in that position. I treat all people equally. Frankly, I am embarrassed for him.

PS. Halsall denies telling people what to do but he did tell you what to do. Whether he knows it or not his manner is condescending and gets one’s hackles up. David can ban me if he likes because “my mouth never had no cover” and that is not likely to change. You could ask my mother, my father and my teachers. I will tell it as I see it if you have a big stick hanging over my head. Being banned from BU is hardly a big stick.

42. And by the way, I never hide my identity. The police at the station would have had guns when I faced them and I ripped into them for the most part alone with my sixteen year old son on their turf. Not using your full name does not mean one is hiding. Everybody who reads BU and knows just a little about me has already recognized me I am sure. And if they somehow weren’t sure before, after my police station story dem dun know because they know that that is exactly what i would do in such circumstances.

43. @Donna: “PS. Halsall denies telling people what to do but he did tell you what to do. Whether he knows it or not his manner is condescending and gets one’s hackles up.

Sincerely, not intentional.

As a bit of an intense dyslectic OCD, I don’t ever mean to cause offense.

Heuristically though, I do sometimes get shit done…

44. I do believe that it is unintentional. That is why I said “whether he knows it or not”. Just making you aware and calling out David’s shit.

That is MY OCD showing.

45. @ Donna,

Seasons Greetings to you and your son and your extended family.

I will in due course give similar cheer to all my bajan people, friends and enemies here on BU.

I just saw your comment which in part, said, and I quote

“… I am hoping that David did not shut down a whole blog to shield Chris Halsall.

I was going to accept his apology and move on but if David has done this unwarranted action then I have lost any respect I had for him and now wonder if Piece was right about EVERYTHING he has said about him…”

Donna, there is a thing that you and many others here have to be careful about.

Every time you and others here mention Piece the Legend THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER, AND THE BU BORG, TAKE NOTE!

There is a quote by Arundhati Roy that goes

“…Every people, every society, needs a culture of resistance, a culture of being difficult and disobedient, that is the only way they will ever be able to stand up to the inevitable abuse of power by whoever runs the state apparatus, the capitalists, the communists, the socialists, the Gandhians, (the Mugabe-ites) whoever.

THOSE OF YOU who were raised in healthy homes, AND WENT TO SCHOOL AND FURTHER, are starting to wake up to the subtle changes in how this Regime is dealing with dissent.

And I make no excuses about my behaviour here but the way I figure it is that, when people in a delirium A QUICH SLAP IN DEM FACE WILL SOBER DEM UP RAPIDLIKE!

There is more than one David King here but the sentiment that you are noticing is that WE ALL NOW MUST CHANT THE MUGAGE ANTHEM, TOGETHER or …

People are waking up slowly but surely while other “small fry bajans” get disrespected OR YOUR ADDRESS IS NOTED.

DISSENT, HOWEVER SMALL, IS NOT WELCOME

46. PIECE
    I HAVE FOUND THAT TO POSSESS SUPERIOR INTELLECT AND DEBATING AND ORATORIAL SKILLS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE

YOU ARE TO TOE THE LINE AND BE A HYPOCRITE
    YOU ARE NOT TO TELL THE TRUTH EXCEPT WHEN IT SERVES THE PURPOSE OF THOSE IN “POWER”
    THATS WHY YOU HAVE GONE FROM BEING A HERO TO A ZERO
    WHEN I TEACH MEDICINE, I AM A HERO HERE——-OTHER WISE, I AM A ZERO

47. Well Piece, I was born a rebel with rebel blood from a long line of rebels but never without a just cause. I will have to die a rebel sooner or later. I console myself with the fact that EVERYONE MUST DIE! Even those who “tink dat dem mek demselves”. Their power is so temporary it is laughable. Fools don’t remember that they could drop dead in mid -sentence and those over whom they thought they had power could step over their helpless bodies.

Steupse!

I pity the fools!

48. Case in point, years ago Tom Adams ordered my father’s name off a promotions list calling him “that black bitch” simply because my father’s credibility in the constituency had cost his golden boy an election. Well, Tom Adams soon DIED, my father got another better paying job which Mia & Co tried their best to relieve him of but he rose to the top and by the time he was ready to retire the BLP minister begged him to stay.

But to get back to the main point – Tom Adams DIED. The black bitch is still alive. I never heard him rejoice at the death though. He just isn’t that type. But stinking Donna is her mother’s child.

49. @Donna: “But stinking Donna is her mother’s child.

To resonate…

When I hired my teams, I presumed they would look out for each other. Help each other. Teach each other.

Instead what I found I had to deal with was protecting all my team members from back-stabbing from team-mates.

Weird. I had never encountered this before.

50. Chris,

I managed to go through school, university and three jobs before I felt the first knife in my back. Never quite understood what possessed these people.

The “Stinking Donna” reference is a Bajanism just as “I ent no sweet bread” that generally means I am nobody’s fool/ pushover or that I am not above a little spite or payback. In this case I only had a good laugh at the thought that Tom Adams was now powerless to deprive my father of any promotion he earned. I do speak ill of the dead if they did ill when they were alive.

In short, don’t ask me to deliver a eulogy!

51. Donna

I dont really think that you are a rebel, simply because you go against the grain

I dont think that folk who stand firm for righteousness are rebels

YOU CANT BE RIGHT AND WRONG SIMULTANEOUSLY……….although that is how you are judged and that is how it works out

When you know that you are right—-you should stand firm———-but it will cost you………and dearly

PEOPLE DO NOT LIKE YOU WHEN YOU ARE RIGHT OR HAVE A GOD GIVEN SUPERIOR INTELLECT

52. GP,

A rebel with a just cause is something I celebrate. I bear the label proudly. Just as I bear my madwoman label proudly.

53. Far-right Britain First is urging its supporters to join the Conservative Party in order to “make Boris Johnson’s leadership more secure”.
    The extremist group, whose leaders were jailed last year, sent an email to subscribers claiming “thousands” of its activists were becoming members of the Tories (Quote)

54. Perusing the British press online this morning, I came upon this headline:

WOMAN WITH BROKEN FOOT DIES AFTER WAITING SIX HOURS FOR AMBULANCE ON FREEZING PAVEMENT.

The UK National Health Service is so bad you can read stories about their incompetence every day in UK media, usually in the Daily Mail. But the dreadful state of affairs will never be acknowledged by committed socialists like Hal Austin.

55. Miller
    December 19, 2019 9:33 PM

@ John December 19, 2019 8:17 PM
    “God is the common denominator, Moses and the Quakers were both His tools.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So what’s the use of Jesus if the Quakers are the tool’ of God?
    Why do we have to spend so much money building and maintaining churches in the worship of some concocted saviour when we can go straight to God in prayer (like the Jews of old) by just being ‘silent’ like the Quakers?
    BTW, Quaker John, since Jesus was a real-life person, why do you ‘celebrate’, in true pagan style, (and like any other human being) his birth on a ‘fixed’ date?
    But, how come, when it comes to his death it is turned into a moving mooning target in true Xtian style from one denomination to another depending on the phases of the Arabic moon?
    In other simple words, why is Jesus Christ birthday on the 25th of December (winter) while his crucifixion and resuscitation can be any time after the vernal equinox but only with the Sun’s blessings (fertilization) of Spring’s snow melt of March and the showers of April to provide for Mother Earth’s new lease on life in the Northern hemisphere?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Incidentally, I have a Quaker ancestor who was put in stocks on Christmas Day 1676 for building a wall in a Quaker Burying Ground, I suspect the one by St. Philip’s Church.

He was a stone mason.

He dared to work on a “Holy Day”.

Quakers did not observe Christmas.

Merry Christmas to you and yours!

56. So what’s the use of Jesus if the Quakers are the tool’ of God?

Jesus frees us from a different form of slavery, slavery to sin.

We then become slaves to righteousness.

57. @ Ewart

Committed Socialist? I cannot even spell the word. What does it really mean? Does it mean I party a lot? I think the UK needs a modern health service like those in Barbados and the US.

58. Why do we have to spend so much money building and maintaining churches in the worship of some concocted saviour when we can go straight to God in prayer (like the Jews of old) by just being ‘silent’ like the Quakers?

You are sounding more and more like a Quaker in wolf’s clothing!!

Leave a comment, join the discussion.