… Abrahams said that the outfall extends 815 metres (2,700 feet) offshore with two distinct high density polyethylene lines (HDPE), which was installed by Ward Drilling Inc., with sub–contractor Marenco Marine Ltd. One 8-inch and one 12-inch lines have been installed, with both of them capable of taking the entire flow from the plant individually…. Minister of Energy and Water Resources, Wilfred Abrahams

A recent discussion on another blog explained the threat to the environment of piping sewerage into the sea. Successive governments in their wisdom never allocated the resources to implement a tertiary treatment process as part of a relevant waste management system.  An irony for the blogmaster is that the Cabinet now includes a Minister of the Blue Economy, another for the Environment and let us not forget Water Resources.

The following comments (in two parts) were shared by Dr. Robert Lucas, PH.D., CFS,  Biotechnologist with the BU family in response to the question – what is the significance of a build up of phosphates and nitrates at the point of discharge in causing an algae bloom?

– David, Blogmaster

Comment

It is called eutrophication and is currently occurring off the south coast of Barbados where the escaping sewerage is being pumped into the sea. At the point of discharge there is a build up of phosphates and nitrates which cause an algae bloom that results in depletion of the oxygen content of the seawater. This creates a de facto desert in the sea. Halophilic anaerobic microorganisms predominate.

Comment

Nitrogen and phosphates occur in the foods humans ingest, Unused nitrates and phosphates are excreted into faecal matter. Nitrates and phosphates are soluble and are therefore easily dissolved in water. Nitrates and phosphates are essential elements required for microbial growth (note phosphates and nitrates are present as salts of potassium and sodium, i.e. all the major elements required for plant growth are present).

Also present in sea water are trace elements such as magnesium, manganese, molybdenum, sulphur, iron, zinc and copper. In other words you have an ideal medium for plant growth. There is therefore an algal bloom which depletes the oxygen content of the area where the sewerage discharge occurs. That is at the end of the pipeline from which the discharge occurs and as far as the diffused elements reach by a process of osmosis. This area is a virtual desert, deficient in all plant and animal life (biota). Remember bacteria are actually members of the plant family,

Also present will be unicellular parasites (protozoa) which can cause amoebic dysentery (the lack of oxygen kills the non-cyst stage). The cysts stage constitute what are called survival bodies and ingesting such contaminated water results in illness.note anaerobic halophilic  (salt tolerant) microbes are predominant in the affected area.

182 responses to “Piping Sewage to the Sea a Clear and Present Danger”

1. Dear Owner of the Barbados Underground Blog and to Dr Lucas

Dr Lucas is perfectly correct in his assessment of the consequences of pumping sewage into the sea.

They are those who would reason to the point that it is a big ass ocean (pardon the french please) and that there would be a dispersion factor that would kick in to dilute any associated dangers, namely that of eutrophication. The problem there is that sewage contains dissolved and suspended impurities many of which may contain high concentrations of oxygen-loving bacteria and other harmful organisms that as Dr Lucas rightfully pointed out, deplete oxygen rich waters leading to conditions suitable for the creation of ”significant harms” to delicate ecosystem structures.

If our leaders and experts in the field shall so reason this matter as stated above, it lends credence to ignorance and certainly not to commonsense, when I say that we might have to look again at the ability levels of some of our learnt academics if we think that the distance of discharge makes it safe to commence such an operation on a regular basis..

There was not a time not too long ago, when a minister under expert ‘oversight’ or ‘influence’ consented to the dumping of several metric tonnes of molasses in an area officials considered reasonable to do so. The end result, (after information coming to hand reveal that the experts concluded that molasses would dissipate upon dilution with water), was the contamination and putrefaction of an underwater cave stream. As per usual, no one was held accountable and nothing more was said about the matter.

Although it has been common practice since time in memorial to discharge affluent into the sea, we are no longer living in those medieval ages. There are still schools of thought that the solution to pollution remains dilution in small amounts since a natural process of self stream purification takes place from a large body of moving water. However, with the age of industry, the demands for more, bigger, better, and certainly faster, we have a colossal problem with increase waste that is proving not so easy to handle.

The solution is to improve our sewage treatment plants to the point that every household, business and industry is hooked up too. Improve the technology to continue to separate the impurities from the water and tank the water of irrigation purposes instead of discharging it into sea.

The solids- subject it to additional treatments and utilize it as an additive to enrich our soil. This should be done, however, after persons like Dr Lucas or other experts in the Food and Agriculture ‘arena’ test its efficacy and if it would good for the soil or not.

Regards

Lloyd P Gulston

2. FAILED STATE controlled by TURD WORLD POLITICIANS supported BY IMF, one can only wonder in amazement.

3. Well, well, well, Barbados has banned the use of single use plastics because of our concern for the environment meanwhile, back at the ranch we are discharging millions and millions of gallons of raw sewage into the same ocean that we have pledged to protect.

That’s kinda like changing a government because they are incompetent to one that is kinda….

4. Failed state so-called brainaics out of control
    More like monkeys handling gun

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Barbados has banned the use of single use plastics because of our concern for the environment meanwhile, back at the ranch we are discharging millions and millions of gallons of raw sewage into the same ocean that we have pledged to protect.

THIS IS BECAUSE WE ARE WHAT MY LONG DEPARTED GRANNY WOULD CALL EYE SERVANTS
    I.E WE bann the use of single use plastics because of our concern for the environment SO THAT WE MAY BE SEEN TO BE DOING SOMETHING —ALL CAN SEE OR KNOW ABOUT THIS AS IT AFFECTS ALL
    HOWEVER discharging millions and millions of gallons of raw sewage into the ocean IS NOT SEEN BY ANY, NOR IS IT KNOWN TO MANY , NOR ARE THE CONSEQUENCES

6. @ Mariposa July 18, 2019 7:42 AM

We think you, Ms Many Pussy aka ac the DLP shit-monger, should take time out and stay away from this discharge of disaster in the making.

Your destructive lying party has neither the credibility nor the credentials to make any constructive contributions to this very serious matter.

For what your dirty lying party did to the south coast (the former Mediterranean of the West Indies after Martinique) you guys ought to be hung, drawn and quartered by forcing you to scuba-dive around the sewerage outfall for 3 hours every day for 16 days.

Both Sealy and Boyce ought to do overtime for their cockiness in trying to prove that swimming in shit is good for Bajans and visitors alike.

7. Also no accountabilty or transparency
    One would think that an issue so senstive would become a necessity of importance in so much that local media and loud talking local enviromentalist would be looking and asking govt for answers sufficient and enough as to how when and where and what solutions govt have on hand if there is a poosiblity human life is impacted by the persistent and constant use of sewage being pumped into the ocean

On another topic that impact human life there is a barrage of rats the size of mangoose that have invaded the Accra boardwalk and its environs
    Govt officials knows about the problem but have done little to rectify
    Meanwhile tourist and locals travel freely along that area most unaware of the hidden dangers rats impose on their lives

8. Will we reach a point where Barbadians put Barbados first?

It will only happen if we have the good sense to remove the political claptrap from the discussion.

If you need an incentive accept that both DLP and BLP are culpable.

9. Miller

Please that pit toilet was leaking toxic waste for years in the swamp and blp did nothing to resolve
    Past govt had a gorillaphant on its hand to rectify
    The blame game that u want to pursue goes both ways
    So shut yuh lying tongue and concede that present govt resolution creates more problems for the enviroment

10. @Miller

There was sympathy to the decision to divert the sewage from the streets. The sight of tourists in slippers tiptoeing through the sewage water was a discussing sight. What is unacceptable is the silence from the government of next steps to treat the waste gushing into the sea. What is the Rh plan.

11. One again govt cant see forest for the trees
    The political banter of removing the sewage from the streets gave present govt the permission to pump the sewage in the ocean as long as it was not pumped into any ones back yard
    Here we have a govt that can pay White Oaks millions of tax payers money to do nothing
    But an issue as sensitive and volatile as toxic impact on the ecosystem govt cannot find the financial resolution to create a more unique and practical solution to protect our ecosystem

12. This past Good Friday my family and some friends spent the day at Accra Beach where we had a delightful time.

We decided to remain on the beach and enjoy the full moon that was scheduled for that evening. Little did we know that as soon as the sun dipped below the horizon the beach would be invaded by the resident rat population. They roamed the beach with impunity knowing full well that we were outnumbered and were in fact the interlopers.

I presume that this situation will continue until a tourist is attacked by one of these vermin or contracts leptospirosis. Once the international media picks it up, pesto – a solution will miraculously appear.

Just drive by Accra Beach almost any time during the day and have a look at the overflowing skip. Dover Beach also has a branch of this rat supermarket which is just as disgusting and just as filthy. What an image we project of ourselves for our visitors.

13. @David

Didn’t the minister say that this outfall was suppose to be a temporary fix until an upgraded treatment system was brought on line? From what I recall he said “once” this was done the outfall would then not be discharging raw sewage anymore but a much diluted treated form.

Now having said that NO time frame was given for this to occur, nor has any progress report been published on the matter. We therefore patiently await an update Mr Minister.

14. So David

White people’s incovenience was worst of it?

Something is wrong with that kind of thinking

15. @Pacha

Have no problem using emotive language here. Tourists are not all White you know and too besides, they are our
    guests.

16. With the issue of Global warming and its negative impact
    Hopefully govt might have a solution sooner rather than later
    Mankind is now witnessing the worsening effects and negative impacts on the planet due to forceful abuse and negligence upon the planet
    Mother earth is saying there is a day of reckoning coming
    Hence we have more evidence of earthquakes floods in diverse places and heat waves and colder than normal temperature
    Would not be surprised if a tsunami make way along our shores
    Then what!
    Has govt even given thought to the horrendous impact which would result from pumping waste into the ocean if such an occurence become a reality

17. *The sight of tourists in slippers tiptoeing through the sewage water was a discussing sight. *

What about the sight of locals?
    Or is the health of locals is secondary?

18. @ FearPlay July 18, 2019 8:35 AM
    “I presume that this situation will continue until a tourist is attacked by one of these vermin or contracts leptospirosis. Once the international media picks it up, pesto – a solution will miraculously appear.
    Just drive by Accra Beach almost any time during the day and have a look at the overflowing skip. Dover Beach also has a branch of this rat supermarket which is just as disgusting and just as filthy. What an image we project of ourselves for our visitors.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Have no ‘Fear’! It’s just a matter of time before such an internationally-embarrassing event occurs. Then travel warnings (and even travel bans) would be issued to protect the health and safety of prospective visitors making Barbados look like a destination stricken with Ebola.

It is not only Accra beach that has an overflowing skip permanently adorning its parking area. Just check any other popular beach (e.g. Miami, Browne or Brighton) and you would see a fully-loaded free supermarket ready to be looted by vermin and other disease-carrying pests.

These skips need to be serviced at least once every week of the year.

But then again, the public health authorities just do not have any sense of class or decency about them.

Let them continue to play the game of Russian roulette with the public’s health and safety.

19. There used to be cats that frequent the beach area which helped in keeping the rats away
    However the restaurant owners were displeased with having the cats citing that they entered the restaurants abd were a nuisance to the tourists
    Soon after the complaints by owners the cats disappeared and the rats took full control of the beach

20. Question for one of the BU experts.

Is it possible for effluent pumped 815 metres offshore to be carried back to the shores.

Can sewerage from this ” south coast outfall ” end up on Holetown beach ?

21. @ LLOYD

Clearly you are not thinking of the financial cost of both all the treatment for both the water and solids.

There were plans as far back as the 70s to build a plant on the west coast. Why is it not built yet?

We can also expand on all the “shite” talk and claim that all the houses should be connected to sewage plants because of the risk of our underground water being contaminated by the nitrogen etc.

For right now the government is using the best option available to it when you take into consideration what was going on on the south coast and the financial condition of the country.

I would rather take the option of dilution at sea with maybe some contamination in the localize area of the out fall than the contamination of my drinking water.

22. The minister did talk about upgrading the sewage plant.
    I think….. there was some mention of work being done on the original outfall (if not by the minister then by BWA)

23. @John A

We need some real talk/feedback from the ministers responsible.

Did you air Minister Symmonds forced to address the Caves and importantly the automated kiosks at the airport this morning?

24. @ David.

No sadly i didnt hear. what is the status on the caves in terms of operations going forward? Is it being contracted out to run? Or we that not touched on?

25. @Miller
    These skips need to be serviced at least once every week of the year.
    With the average temperature in Bim hovering in the high 70’s to the mid 80’s, once a week is not enough, twice a week should be a bare minimum.

26. John have you stop to think that some of the affluent has chemicals embedded for household use which the ocean cannot rid itself (of) and can easily be move along by tides into other low lying bodies of water which eventually can enter our drinking water

27. Barbados is in a sad state and now being run by communication experts who dont know what the hell they talking (about) and fart frighten ministers who are affair to tell the public the truth in fear that Mottley would grin their balls at the table

28. @David

“We need some real talk/feedback from the ministers responsible”

Hey brother how long you live in Barbados, please STOP POSTING these illogical questions.. You and I both know anything from Minister(s) is going to be GARBAGE at the best of times, if not OUTRIGHT LIES.

One cannot expect a FAILED STATE to have their political minions come forth with logical, accurate or reliable information, STOP DREAMING and get on the FAILED BANDWAGON. The French had the right idea in the 1800’s, lets dust off the guillotine.

29. @ david

On the feed back issue I believe they may have to submit their statement to the PM for approval before it can be shared with us, this may delay the process now as a result. Lol

They are serious questions that need to be answered though and I sence recently some hesitancy by some to come forward.

For Instance where are we with the White Oak debt rescheduling issue? We were promised an update 3 months ago what happen with it?

Or as one of our philosophical luminairies once expoounded in one of his rear moments of verbal utterances, ” have we put new wine in old wine skins?”

30. @John A

Both sides have gone silent in the media, an indication they are close.

31. First you say:
    The sight of tourists in slippers tiptoeing through the sewage water was a discussing sight
    and too besides, they are our guests.

Then:
    Will we reach a point where Barbadians put Barbados first?

How can Barbadians put Barbados first if they put no value in themselves? Continually see themselves as second class? In their own country?

This is an example of extremely muddled thinking.

32. @ Mariposa

You 12:55 question/comment is nothing else but ignorant shite .

33. @Dullard

You are shit picking. The bigger point is that we need to fix the thing and for a country dependent on services from overseas it has implications for us to sustain ourselves. Not inclined to debate nuisance point here.

34. John when the stench and taste of the chemicals start showing up in the drinking water then u would know what is shi.t
    As a matter of fact barbados drinking water left a gawd awful taste in the mouth
    Yuh think that any govt would be transparent enough to tell u why how and where this taste made its way into the drinking water
    Recently on the west coast i made the most gawd awful mistake of drinking tap water and the end result was not pretty

35. As long as govt dont touch the Esplanade the car park that now makes the open window seems insignificant and the open window next to the old eye ward also another open window further down across from London Bourne Towers i am kool with all other decisions which would enchance the baystreet shit hole and breath new life into bridgetown

36. You need to know when to stop.

Are you aware the water is periodically tested for minimum water quality?

There are also external agencies in Barbados that test the water.

#loosentheweave

37. Maybe they ought to taste the quality because water coming out of the tap in the west coast is not suitable to give to live stock
    The taste is downright nasty and dont tell me to boil it

38. MARI

Maybe it the effluent (not affluent) from the toilets on the west coast that you drank. Remember there is no sewage plant on the west coast and they cannot pump the shit out to sea. It good that you got a good “taste” of what it would be like if the sewage is not pumped out to sea.

39. On a serious note

I think most of the water from the west coast comes from the desal plant. Recent the did some maintenance at that plant. Maybe you took you drink at the wrong time, before the water quality returned to normal.

If it was a case of the water quality on the west coast is as bad as you said it is we would have been hearing a greater outcry by now.

40. Maintenance at Ionics, outages may occur

PR/SAT,

Added 29 June 2019

ionics-desalination-plant

Ionics Desalination Plant (FILE)

Some residents in the western and central parts of Barbados may experience water outages or low pressure as a result of maintenance at Ionics Freshwater Limited.

The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) advises the public work started yesterday, and the plant, located at Spring Garden, St Michael, is still offline.

Residents in the St Thomas districts of Cane Garden, Arthur Seat, Welches Heights, Bagatelle Park, Bagatelle Gardens, Melrose, Redman’s Village, Edgehill, Welches Terrace, Padmore Village and the surrounding areas, as well as Husbands, Oxnards, Prior Park, Apes Hill, Lower Mount Standfast, The Garden and Weston in St James may be affected.

The BWA has made adjustments at the Belle Pumping Station to make up for the deficit while the desalination plant is offline and water tankers have also been dispatched. (PR/SAT)

41. @ Hants July 18, 2019 11:51 AM

It depends on the direction of the ocean currents. Barbados lies to the east of the other islands and with north east trades and the earth rotation it is possible for contamination to occur elsewhere. Indeed, one of other islands did complain about the matter

@ Mariposa July 18, 2019 12:55 PM

“John have you stop to think that some of the affluent has chemicals embedded for household use which the ocean cannot rid itself”

This has occurred in the Scandinavian countries and elsewhere, where endocrine disrupters (EDs) had been discharged into the sea from sewerage treatment plants. The EDs were a by-product of family planning pills taken by women. The excess excreted in the urine and also from sanitary pads. Male fish suddenly were found with female traits and vice-versa .All of this was reported in “New Scientist’ about twenty-years ago. Given the fact that the local treatment plants only seems to be made for primary treatment only it is possible the same could be occurring in Barbadian waters. Of course then there are the PCBs, or polychlorinated biphenyls and Chlorinated polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons(PAHC) formed burning of organic compounds ,which are adsorbed by soil:, Surface run off after rains can result in the release of these compounds into the sewerage systems. Similarly with dioxins (Dioxin is formed by burning chlorine-based chemical compounds with hydrocarbons. The major source of dioxin in the environment comes from waste-burning incinerators of various sorts and also from backyard burn-barrels).

@Mariposa July 18, 2019 2:59 PM

“John when the stench and taste of the chemicals start showing up in the drinking water then u would know what is shi.t”

Any taste detected is due to the fact that the water had a very high level of organic matter: As a result the chlorine level has to be increase. As a result, there is excess chlorine in the water. This residual chlorine is called-in plant chlorination. If the organic matter is excessive, the in -plant chlorine (residual chlorine) form compounds called chloramines that are responsible for the off taste.

42. the chlorine level has to be increased instead of increase.

43. No John my take of the water was not of recent
    I took a sip of a glass of the pip water and the water simply tasted nasty
    Since i was spending a few days with a friend i was told to boil the water as has been done by them
    I belive the taste could have resulted from underground toxins entering the system
    It is not as if the water is tested every day
    So a primary test might have given a good result
    However if a few days after a underground pipe becomes damaged or has holes it would not be farfetched to have toxins entering the systems
    Again i say the water tasted horrible

44. “Recently on the west coast i made the most gawd awful mistake of drinking tap water and the end result was not pretty”

45. @Dullard

You are shit picking. The bigger point is that we need to fix the thing and for a country dependent on services from overseas it has implications for us to sustain ourselves. Not inclined to debate nuisance point here.

Now, now @Chairman, do mind your tone.

Debate? Is that what you call it?

46. @ David,

did you mean nit picking ? lol

47. David

It seems to be becoming clear that this government is no better than the last as far as this/these problem/s is/are concerned.

Do you get the feeling that they are playing the same old and tired long game, to meet the political requirements of the next general elections?

And if so, are we not back at square one? That the last elections were indeed no more than the carnival which we called them?

48. You all need to get a little more realistic. You’re making the big mistake of always following the standards of the whites in the north.

The fact is that Barbados is a bankrupt non-developing country whose economic growth has been zero for 12 years and which has no hope of recovery.

In this situation it is far better to direct the shit into the sea than further into the streets. The sea area around Barbados is huge and can handle some organic waste.

49. @Pacha

There is more energy from the PM and a couple of her foot soldiers but the operating model is the same. To be honest high expectations from a year ago are not being met. More depressing is to survey what is in waiting.

50. Tron

The people of Barbados were led to believe that this problem could be solved.

That solution was certainly not the application of ‘organic matter’ into the sea.

For that has never been a solution to sewage for a country which says that tourism is our business.

And yes, we understand the requirement for you to walk back political promises, and we might even accept your lowered expectations but issues such as shit flowing everywhere must be treated, pun intended, differently.