The question many continue to ask – why did a British man James O’Rourke receive a reprimand and discharge from a Barbados court for slapping a woman on the ass.

The second question – why the obvious biase coverage by the Nation newspaper declaring the headline Visitor: I was saved by CCTV.

632 responses to “James O’Rourke: A Slap on the Ass – A Slap on the Wrist”

1. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Oh they think they can do shite to black people forever and get away with it, because ya governments corrupt and take bribes, the police rank take bribes and won’t MAKE AN EXAMPLE OF THEM…so they are protected…but NEWSFLASH…that will not last much longer either…..ya can take that to the bank.

2. Emmett Till was murdered.

He was not lynched by hooded members of the KKK riding horses out for the blood of black people.

From what I see, the reason his murderers got off scott free was because the body was unidentifiable!!

There was no DNA testing in 1955.

No body, no murder.

There were two women in the store, it looks like they were sisters.

Their husbands were out on errands.

It looks as if both families lived in the building which housed the store.

The two wives must have complained to the two husbands for the conduct of Emmett Till when the husbands returned.

The two husbands went in search of Emmett Till.

They took him from his home to one of the wives for identification.

They received the identification.

They murdered him subsequently and threw the body into the river (Mississippi??) weighted down by a 75 lb cotton gin.

When the body was found it was in a state of decomposition.

There was a ring on the finger of the decomposing body which was identifiable as belonging to Emmett Till.

That seems to have been the extent of the proof of the identity of the body.

There was plenty proof that he had been taken by the two husbands but not enough to say the decomposing body was his.,

The body was returned to his mother after many days searching in a sealed coffin.

His mother was not satisfied it was he in the coffin and asked that the casket be opened.

It was.

3. The two husbands took the law into their own hands based on what their wives told them.

No police seem to have been called.

4. Sorry

Bryant and Milan were half brothers.

The two women were sisters in law.

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/features/emmett-biography-roy-carolyn-bryant-and-jw-milam/

5. Hants
    May 26, 2019 11:35 AM

TheOGazerts ,
    I hope the men on this blog are smart enough to understand that slapping a woman on her bottom could cause them to ” encounter ” a husband or father who would have to be arrested for assault and possibly attempted murder.

This is exactly what happened in the case of Emmett Till!!

A husband and his half brother set out for an “encounter” with Emmett Till and ended up being arrested and charged with murder.

Still, that is a far cry from threatening to indecently assault imaginary females because they happen to be related to me!!

Some men can be complete idiots … and I say that as a man!!

6. “From what I see, the reason his murderers got off scott free was because the body was unidentifiable!!”

It is amazing how you slipped the big lie in there. The reason they got off initially was because they were white men who killed a black man. Why do you think they chose an all-white jury? The fix was in.

“A fourteen-year-old boy, Emmett Till, had been brutally murdered and his body thrown in the Tallahatchie River, but despite clear evidence that two white men committed the crime, an all-white jury returned a “Not Guilty” verdict after just an hour of deliberation.”

The old twistorian and his clever lies.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, are u still of the learned opinion that there is more grand knowledge to be found in this NOISE!

We can look away as we choose of course but for anyone to morph this original discussion into a comparative look at the LYNCHING of a black boy in Mississippi is beyond noise and borders on lunacy.

It seems past time that you graciously stop bloggers from representing themselves as insane and just CLOSE out this blog.

I can only use my favorite euphemism …this is AMAZING!

8. “No complaint, no victim!!!”

Teetering at the edge of the rabbit hole…..
    Will you insinuate the innocence of Mr O’Rourke and deny this woman her victim-hood?

Is she a person in your eyes?

Or is she just a prop for tourists to grope and feel?

Will you be inviting Mr O’Rourke to your home in August as that is the time you seem to feel that unlimited free groping is available.

9. @Dee Word

We will know them by their fruit.

10. I am trying to help PTL see some facts that seem to have eluded him.

Clearly the murder of Emmett Till has had a profound effect on his thinking.

11. Close out and let’s discuss Brexit, Italy and the EU, Mueller Trump, Religion some psycho babble from some woman…
    The truth and reality can be like some fruits,,,,, bitter.
    Some cannot face the truth…

12. No body no murder

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_conviction_without_a_body

The only evidence at the time of the trial of the murderers was a ring on a decomposing body’s finger.

The two men admitted to the murder the following year but they had been tried already and acquitted in the absence of the body of Emmett Till.

Perhaps they can exhume the body, get the DNA and prove the body is that of Emmett Till

Maybe that will occur as a result of the reopened investigation.

But both of the murderers are dead … stone cold!!

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

A right wing Englishman behaving badly and laughing it off as banter. Also the “I had five glasses of wine and cannot remember anything” is being used. Alcohol fuelled machismo, just like the Austrian Deputy Chancellor forced out of office because of his bad behaviour

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-7082081/Military-chief-58-slapped-womans-bottom-Royal-Navy-charity-fundraiser.html

Former Tory mayor and military contractor slapped a woman’s bottom at a Royal Navy fund riser and laughed it off as banter.

Look BAD BEHAVED MEN. If the woman is nt your wife or staunch woman, the best thing to do is to keep your hands off her.

Or one of these days a woman will put both hands in your chest and shove your hard, and if you fall and hit your head on a piece of concrete or steel so much the better

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John the Racist

You still heah stoking the fires of racial discontent that are alive in Barbados?

Man, it would appear that my suggestions to visit your non existent daughters and squeeze their bobbies and fondle their non existent botsies, really got you vex though!

It is wrong to Grope any woman but you just vex cause you imagining my hand on their lily white AS IN MELANIN DEFICIENT SKIN, and it got you stake out here all day.

Whu good thing I ent mention putting me 14 ** mandingo pun dem, you would have had a coniption!!!

I will repeat again that my hypothetical same assault of your daughters sought to bring home the act as something that was personal.

So that, instead of you responding as you did with O’Rourke, you would have flared up like you did earlier and call in the Internet Police

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, are you really serious to pen: The truth and reality can be like some fruits,,,,, bitter….Some cannot face the truth…

I do hope I have misinterpreted ur remarks because it’s quite difficult to appreciate how you can encourage a WHITE man to stomp on the memory of Emmitt Till by accepting his equating Till’s horrendous murder and the absolute racist attitudes that allowed his killers to go free with this absolute drivel surrounding a stupid but minor sexual assault …

Are u suggesting that in 2019 we should have dropped O’Rourke in the Constitution River after burning and lynching him for his assault on a Black women?

This man has taken this discourse to levels of absolute inane rhetoric …very insulting rhetoric actually.

It seems he is laughing at us and you are giving him continued succor …

This is absurd …can u PLEASE tell me what does the memory of a little boy of the US deep South’s abjectly racist culture has to do with this stupidity at at a Bajan gas station?

This is unreal! SMH.

16. Are u suggesting that in 2019 we should have dropped O’Rourke in the Constitution River after burning and lynching him for his assault on a Black women?

This man has taken this discourse to levels of absolute inane rhetoric …very insulting rhetoric actually.

It seems he is laughing at us

No complaint no assault.

No assault no victim!!

… and of course, no body, no murder!!

If you can’t get something as simple as that you deserve to be laughed at

17. PTL

Man, I was wondering when you would be back!!

18. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

If all the predator tourists are chased off the island, bajan whites will die of starvation…they are the only people unable to survive without feeding off black people…maybe a good dose of starvation is in order.

19. PTL

Now that you are back, here is a link that uses your recent logic with regard to Emmett Till and explains why the defense in 1955 did not use it.

https://www.clarionledger.com/story/opinion/2018/08/29/unique-defense-helped-emmett-tills-killers-get-away-murder/1030492002/

The defense in the Emmett Till had the choice, justifiable homicide, Plan A or “no body, no murder”, Plan B.

The two were contradictory.

They could not argue the murder was justifiable homicide and at the same time argue there was no murder.

They would have preferred justifiable homicide but it was clear to the judge that their star witness, Carolyn Bryant, was lying.

The judge decided that her testimony was inadmissible so the defense was forced to go to Plan B.

They threw your logic (and Hants) away and established that the body could not be identified as Emmett Till’s beyond a reasonable doubt.

Two expert witnesses claimed the body had to have been in the river for more than 15 days which would have precluded the possibility that it was the body of Emmett Till who had been missing only a couple of days.

The jury had no difficulty in accepting the defense.

That’s why it took them not much time to reach a verdict.

That is how the murderers walked, not using the logic that appears obvious to you, and to Hants.

So, as far as the law was concerned, the body returned to the mother of Emmett Till was not that of her son.

That’s how the murders walked.

One of the expert witnesses, the Sherriff, can be shown to have lied!!

20. Strictly speaking, the murder of Emmett Till has never been solved.

The FBI dug up transcripts in 2005 of the case.

Thirteen years later, the investigation has been reopened.

It is pretty clear that Bryant and Milan were responsible and were motivated as PTL by his own admission would have been.

Even Hants seems to understand the motivation.

There is the possibility that the 1956 admission to a magazine that they murdered him was false and just for the money, $4000.

There is the possibility that the body Emmett Till’s mother buried was not that of her son.

It will be interesting to see what results, if any unfold.

21. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

And we know just how to unleash it…ticktock.

22. @DpD
    Your point is well noted and accepted. Sadly, I must agree with your assessment “and you are giving him continued succor”.

Perhaps I am farther down the rabbit hole than I recognized as there were a number of other diversions that I ignored. Indeed, my focus was not on ” Emmitt Till” but on his twisting, torturing, spinning and retelling of history.

Thanks for the check.

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Dribbler

The murder of Emmett Till and the sexual assault on the taxi woman come from the same place. A feeling of entitlement by WHITE MEN. A belief nurtured during slavery, and in this present post slavery period that BLACK people do not own their own bodies. That the bodies of BLACK people are chattle, to be hit, raped and murdered by white people, and especially by violent white men.

Both incidents are two ends of the same continuum.

RACISM and SEXISM.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John at 10:47 p.m.of May 29, 2019 “no body, no murder.”

John as usual is LYING

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_conviction_without_a_body
    Murder convictions without a body

25. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife

Insecurity and fear are also issues

https://www.wsbtv.com/news/2-investigates/officer-says-his-department-destroyed-him-over-interracial-relationship/942421478

This officer was doing a great job until he dated one of their women (the police chief’s daughter)

The fear of losing their women is always in the back of their heads, ever since Hackleton rode of that cliff they worry that may be their fate if they don’t keep their wives and daughters away from black men.

26. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ of all people Sir Simple Simon who I had promised not to engage with forever more.

Forever is a longggg time.

You said it clearly for all readers including my friend De Ingrunt Word

“…@Dribbler

The murder of Emmett Till and the sexual assault on the taxi woman come from the same place. A feeling of entitlement by WHITE MEN. A belief nurtured during slavery, and in this present post slavery period that BLACK people do not own their own bodies.

That the bodies of BLACK people are chattle, to be hit, raped and murdered by white people, and especially by violent white men.

RACISM and SEXISM…”

Spot on target SSSFL.

And John the Sometimes Quaker, sometimes Historian and always Racist understands that was what this issue is about.

Modern day Chattel Laws.

Well said SSSFL, you have lived up to your knighthood

27. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

But what we are going to UNLEASH ON THEIR EVIL PARASITIC criminal minority BACKSIDES….will pale in comparison to what they are planning for the majority black population.

28. Freedom Crier Avatar

IT IS ALWAYS STRANGE WHEN AN ACCUSATION IS GUILT BY THE MERE FACT OF THE ACCUSATION THAT IS TAKEN AS FACT! PEOPLE THAT HAVE AN AGENDA LOOK FOR OPPORTUNITIES TO PUSH FORWARD THAT AGENDA. IT DOES NOT MATTER IF IT IS FACT OR FICTION. WHAT MATTERS TO THEM IS THE AGENDA. THEY EVEN EMPLOY PEOPLE TO MAKE ACCUSATIONS TO PUSH THEIR FORWARD THEIR AGENDA.

FACTS ARE TOO SLOW FOR THEM BECAUSE IT MAY DISPROVE THEIR AGENDA. SO IN THE AABSENCE OF FACTS, INNUENDO AND LIES ARE WHAT ARE SUBSTITUTED.

IN THE WORLD WE LIVE IN WORLD WE LIVING TELLING THE TRUTH IS A RADICAL IDEA.

AS AOC HAS SAID ‘CAULIFLOWER IS RACIST’, AND POOR CAULIFLOWER DIN SAY A WORD.

IT HAS BEEN MY EXPERIENCE THOSE THAT SHOUT RACISM CONTINUOUSLY ARE THEMSELVES GUILTY OF RACISM.

https://qt.azureedge.net/resources/quotes-images-large/the-word-racism-is-like-ketchup-it-can-be-put-on-practically-anything-and-de-a87405e325ce529922963aee7d43c7a7.jpg

https://www.hoopoequotes.com/media/k2/items/cache/48e31c659226d69a2dd4af90e325adbb_XL.jpg

29. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

this nuisance drug trafficker/gunrunner still around…ya don’t hear we are shoving all you criminals off the island away from …REAL HUMAN BEINGS..

30. Freedom Crier Avatar

WARMONGER YOU WILL STROKE OUT WITH SO MUCH TOXICITY RUNNING THROUGH YOUR CLOGGED BRAIN CAUSING OVERSTIMULATED VERBAL DIARRHEA.

POTTY MOUTH YOU’RE DAILY LOOSE STOOLS MOVEMENTS ON BU SHOWS YOU SUFFER FROM A CHRONIC HEALTH PROBLEM, SUCH AS IRRITABLE BOWEL SYNDROME (IBS), EXCEPT IT’S COMING THROUGH YOUR UPPER PIPE HOLE.

YOUR BACTERIAL INFECTION IS THE CAUSE OF A DAILY DIETARY PATTERN THAT NEEDS TO CHANGE INSTEAD OF YOUR REGULAR DIET OF LIES, MALICIOUSNESS AND BRAWLING WITH INTENT.

NOBODY ELECTED YOU …YOU CANNOT SPEAK FOR A MAN OTHER THAN YOUT TOXIC SELF. YOU REPRESENT YOU, BUT LIKE ALL LEFTIST THAT WANT TO PRETEND THAT THEY ARE PURE, YOU WANA MAKE OTHERS COMMIT CRIMES FUELED BY YOUR LYING HATE FILLED RHETORIC.

THANK GOD THAT BARBADOS IS STILL A LAW FEARING COUNTRY AND A GOD FEARING COUNTRY AND WE HAVE A PARLIAMENTARY DEMOCRACY WHOSE CONSTITUTION ALLOWS YOU TO HAVE AN OPINION BUT NOT TO LIE AND SLANDER.

IF YOU LIVED IN BARBADOS YOU WOULD HAVE KNOWN THESE THINGS, BUT YOU LIVE ELSEWHERE AND WANT PEOPLE TO BREAK THE LAW IN BARBADOS. YOU ARE A LYING CHARLATAN AND WHAT YOY SPEAK EXPOSES YOUR CORRUPTED SOUL. SO CHANGE YA PEN NAME AGAIN AND WE WILL EXPOSE THAT ONE TOO.

UNLESS YOU CHANGE YOU, YOU WILL REMAIN AS A “DECEITFUL”, “UNSCRUPULOUS”, “FRAUDULENT”, “QUACK”, & “FAKER”.

https://hateandanger.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/truth-is-hate-for-those-that-hate-the-truth.jpg

31. Anyone who can identify two or more races is a racist!!

There is only one race, the human race!!

32. Been thinking about how the murderers got off in the Emmett Till case and the reopened investigation.

It seems to have boiled down to two “expert” witnesses saying the decomposed body fished out of the river had been there for atleast 15 days so it could not have been Emmet Till.

I am going to assume both were wrong, we know one of them, the Sherriff said on first seeing the body that it looked as though it had been there a couple of days!!

If they were wrong it is likely they were put up to it.

That suggests it came from high up politically.

The Democrats ran the south back then.

Only Democrats could give a body back to a grieving mother and at the same time say it was not her son.

Don’t be surprised if Trump is gifted a bombshell for 2020!!

Notice Obama’s FBI had the transcript and did nothing.

Maybe there was nothing to be done and nothing will come of the reopened matter but who knows!

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    May 30, 2019 7:49 AM

@Dribbler
    The murder of Emmett Till and the sexual assault on the taxi woman come from the same place. A feeling of entitlement by WHITE MEN. A belief nurtured during slavery, and in this present post slavery period that BLACK people do not own their own bodies. That the bodies of BLACK people are chattle, to be hit, raped and murdered by white people, and especially by violent white men.
    RACISM and SEXISM.

++++++++++++++++++

I think it is more likely it was the 21 year old beauty queen Carolyn Bryant that caused the problem in 1955 …. a woman!!!

It is possible she set her husband up and got stuck with the result, having to lie.

Any man her husband may have considered a potential rival.

She told her husband that Emmett Till put his hand on her.

Just read Hants and PTL and you will realise their reaction may not have been much different!!

She may have wanted to be rid of him from the time she realized she was in an abusive relationship.

She probably figured on him doing something foolish and getting jailed.

Eventually, 20 years later, she divorced him!!

“At some point, Roy and Carolyn Bryant’s marriage developed serious problems, and it became unbearable for Carolyn. Even her mother-in-law, Eula Bryant, saw it. Eula, whom Carolyn described as tough and outspoken, asked Carolyn in front of Roy many times why she stayed married to him. Eula died in August 1974. A year later on Aug. 15, Carolyn left Roy and two months after that, filed for divorce. Their divorce papers describe Roy as having been guilty of “habitual cruel and inhuman treatment of her and of habitual drunkenness.” Perhaps Roy’s demons had concerned his mother because she had once endured similar abuses from her second husband, Henry Bryant. Carolyn asked for sole custody of their daughter, the complaint read, because “said child needs the care and guidance which only a devoted mother can give.” Roy failed to dispute any of the allegations. When the divorce was finalized two months later on Oct. 28, 1975, sole custody went to Carolyn. Roy was granted visitation and ordered to pay $75 per month in child support beginning Nov. 1. A lump sum of $6,300 for alimony was due by Dec. 1.

It is possible it all boiled down to her STATEMENT OF COMPLAINT TO THER HUSBAND who then took the law into his hands!!

34. There is third person involved …. the half brother of Roy Bryant.

35. Roy Bryant was 24

Carolynn Bryant was 21

The half brother was a WWII veteran, decorated so probably 10 years older.

It does not appear as if Carolyn Bryant made any complaint to the police of the “assault” Emmet Till committed on her.

She complained to her husband and his half brother when they returned.

Roy Bryant and his half brother kidnapped Emmett Till and took him to Carolynn Bryant for identification.

They appear to have bypassed the police.

36. Piece the Legend
    May 28, 2019 6:12 AM

@ John the trifold character.

“…You cannot take her place any more than you can take the place of Angela Austin.
    You are not some avenging angel … life does not work that way!!..”
    Why not?

Is it becoming clearer why you should not even consider becoming an avenging angel?

Seek out the facts of the Emmett Till Murder and don’t rely on what you have been fed!!

37. @ John May 31, 2019 6:41 AM
    “Is it becoming clearer why you should not even consider becoming an avenging angel?
    Seek out the facts of the Emmett Till Murder and don’t rely on what you have been fed!!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why are you using the Emmett Till murder as the pivotal case to justify your KKK-position?

Why not use the George Stinney case to support a position of why it is necessary for police investigators to “seek out the facts” before fabricating evidence to send young innocent black men to the electric chair?

Quaker John you have demonstrated overtime that you are rather good at unearthing stories of bygone people, places and things.

So why not use your sharp researching skills to dig up the evidence surrounding the conviction of the 14 year old ni**ger boy George Stinney as the basis to lynch that ‘so-and-so’ “Piece the Legend” (PTL) the old black Joe for raping your two imaginary daughters Betty June and Mary Emma, the dear loving children of John the Quaker?

38. The story of Emmit Till by the twistorian
    Talk about a rabbit hole…
    Note the “assume”, “I think”, “it is possible”, “she may have”, she probably figured”, “it is possible”

“I am going to assume both were wrong, we know one of them, the Sherriff said on first seeing the body that it looked as though it had been there a couple of days!!”
    I think it is more likely it was the 21 year old beauty queen Carolyn Bryant that caused the problem in 1955 …. a woman!!!
    It is possible she set her husband up and got stuck with the result, having to lie.
    She may have wanted to be rid of him from the time she realized she was in an abusive relationship.
    She probably figured on him doing something foolish and getting jailed.
    It is possible it all boiled down to her STATEMENT OF COMPLAINT TO THER HUSBAND who then took the law into his hands!!

39. @ John of the Trifold Nature,

I am sure that you know this rime well

“It is an ancient Mariner,
    And he stoppeth one of three.
    ‘By thy long grey beard and glittering eye,
    Now wherefore stopp’st thou me? ”

It comes from “the Rime of the Anciente Mariner.”

I am like the next of kin who, refusing to accept what you are dissembling here about O’Rourke heheheheheheh

I understand well what you are contending with in this O’Rourke matter and the stance that de ole man has taken until this sentience ceases John.

De ole man took liberties with your non-existent, lily white daughters, as i sought to bring this matter down from all the silly “no fault, no blame, no crime, no charge” silliness that you sought to equivocate the matter as.

I simple used words that were of such intensity in the digital wall of BU, that made you cringe to think that I would go further with your caucasian offspring to make the point that what O’Rourke did to this woman, a black woman is wrong.

And, notwithstanding all the other bloggers who post here, de ole man stick in your craw.

I have that effect on people John the trifold….heheheheheheh

I unnerstans what makes wunna tick and I does squeeze it, OR IN YOUR CASE, SLAP IT!!

But I cannot sit here on this cyberspace “stone” any longer John there is much to be done and times waits on no man so I shall ask you not to keep this engagement up any longer.

This is Barbados AND AS SURE AS NIGHT FOLLOWS DAY there will be other Emmett Till and George Junius Stinney matters which we shall joust on, assuredly but i will not vacate my position on O’Rourke’s crime and his dismissal by the Courts of Barbados

“John holds me with his skinny hand,
    ‘There was no crime,’ quoth he.
    ‘Hold off! unhand me, grey-beard loon!’
    Eftsoons John’s hand drops me…..

Heheheheheheheh

40. @ the Honourable Blogmaster, my final response to John the twistorian, thank you

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-48480365
    Sir Philip Green charged with misdemeanour assault in US.

The complainant said in a police interview that Sir Philip had slapped her bottom

What is this with white British men?

Maybe Hal can tell us if this is cultural.

42. Grasshopper

Looks like I am not the only one!!

https://atlantablackstar.com/2018/04/27/woman-questions-80-year-old-cosby-convicted-woman-admitted-lying-emmett-till-remains-free/

I understated the obvious!!

The wife is the one who identified Emmett Till after he had been kidnapped.

How did she escape any prosecution whatsoever?

43. The defense won on the “no body, no murder” principle, not on her testimony.

Didn’t matter to the court what she said.

44. Grasshopper

You can also look at what the wife of Bill Cosby is saying about Carolyn Bryant and Emmett Till

https://www.bustle.com/p/camille-cosby-compared-bill-cosbys-conviction-to-emmett-tills-lynching-8975724

She is comparing her husband’s conviction to Emmet Till’s lynching, although strictly speaking he was murdered.

She is comparing the lies Carolyn Bryant told about Emmett Till that led to his murder to the lies told by the press about her husband that led to his conviction.

“Bill Cosby was labelled as guilty because the media and accusers said so… period,” Cosby wrote on Facebook. “And the media ensured the dissemination of that propaganda by establishing barricades preventing the dissemination of the truth in violation of the protections of the First Amendment. Are the media now the people’s judges and juries?”

She then went on to claim Cosby’s accusers had committed the same sort of perjury as Carolyn Bryant, the white woman whose false claim ended up robbing Till of his young life, according to Biography.com.

She misses the point that Carolyn Bryant’s testimony was ruled inadmissible by the Judge.

Mrs. Cosby is confused and hasn’t got her facts straight.

She has been brainwashed!!

She is using Emmett Till just to make her point and getting her facts wrong.

She says “Since when are all accusers truthful? History disproves that…for example, Emmett Till’s accuser immediately comes to mind,” Cosby wrote. “In 1955, she testified before a jury of white men in a Mississippi courtroom that a 14-year-old African American boy had sexually assaulted her, only to later admit several decades later in 2008 that her testimony was false.”

The simple fact is Carolyn Bryant did not testify before a jury!!!

45. Emmett Till’s funeral was on 6th September 1955.

The trial which acquitted the two murderers was September 19-23, 1955.

https://fsu.digital.flvc.org/islandora/object/fsu%3A390158

The experts at the trial testified that the body taken from the river was not the body of Emmett Till even though the authorities had returned his body to his mother who had buried him weeks earlier.

The “no body no murder” defense was used because Carolyn Bryant’s testimony was ruled inadmissible at the last moment.

46. @ Enuff

The really sad thing is that I believe behind the silly mask is a prominent, professional even, Bajan showing off his appalling ignorance. It is why I have said, to the chagrin of some, that we are inward-looking and just rotate mediocrity. I am sure you get a kick out of this. Is a symptom of a failed state.

47. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, my virtual blog friend and BU sage and to Madame SSS, your thrust that Both incidents are two ends of the same continuum:RACISM and SEXISM…” is valid in the ‘narrow’ context of white male sexism … as OF COURSE white males continually project and enforce their privileged status.

Clearly, they take liberties with women as their pernicious personality will dictate and have done so for many generations … however to bring that simple equation to compare the case of 1950s murderous racial prejudice in the south and all its antecedent slavery ethos to this absolutely silly or depraved – if you will- act of a white male is absurd…in my view.

The act was crass and wrong…we all know and understand that… but this man O’Rourke whether we agree on his punishment was taken apart by the female magistrate and has THAT humiliating CRD as a slap upside his head on social media for a few years yet…more time in jail would have done no better really.

There can be no comparative equality to Till, Steinway, Cheney/Goodman/Schwerner or Addie Mae, Cynthia, Carole all 14 years and Carol 11 whose lives were blasted while attending Sunday School or ANY of the other heinous racially provoked murders of that or more current eras!

More bluntly stated Black men have the same proclivity or depravity in our current times to slap derrieres.

There is no need to hyperventilate on this ORourke matter and make these insanely ridiculous comparisons …

Sexual assault is morally bad and illegal … when done by a white male it becomes no more evil in this day and age than when it’s done by a black man… When Clarence Thompson was accused of sexually harassing/assaulting his then assistant Ms Hill it was wrong… If he was white would that have made it wronger; when Harvey Weinstein sexually harrasssed/assaulted those many actresses would it have been more wronger still if there were all black ladies… and does either of these men’s action have a foundation in the racist history that surely has informed their lives!

No, no and likely no.

I get @John’s insulting links and references …he is intent on dissembling, but otherwise I fail to understand how both of you can intellectualize this as u you have.

Ah gone.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh dear that should be Madame SS !

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And double, oh dear:

“If he WERE white”…not was…and

“… if THEY were all black ” not there.

Any other errors…just read them in! 🤔

50. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dPD

The typo errors are not all if any fault of yours , for some reason the auto correcting algorithm was coded by some one who was not as well schooled as you were in the English language. It over-corrects.