Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. ” STILL CANT FIGURE OUT HOW A BLACK GOVERNMENT KNIGHTED A FORMER WHITE LODGE BOY, HENRY FRASER, BUT OVERLOOKED TO KNIGHT TWO MORE OUTSTANDING LODGE BOYS, SAM HEADLEY AND OSCAR JORDAN.”

When you are able to figure out the action of the government of Barbados over the past 50 years, please let us know.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    “I STILL CANT FIGURE OUT HOW A BLACK GOVERNMENT KNIGHTED A FORMER WHITE LODGE BOY, HENRY FRASER, BUT OVERLOOKED TO KNIGHT TWO MORE OUTSTANDING LODGE BOYS, SAM HEADLEY AND OSCAR JORDAN.”
    I’ve tried to explain this to you several times. It is the philosophy of Black respectability… aka being a house negro. The people and culture that knights people craves to respect of White people because they represent the colonial culture that they are trying so hard to emulate.

Oscar Jordan was a cousin of mine and was a great Barbadian. There are many others like him who do enormous good for communities in Barbados but have gone unrecognized.

3. Freedom Crier Avatar

John please see my last Submission which you may have missed…

Anthony Johnson (b. c. 1600 – d. 1670) was a black Angolan who achieved freedom in the early 17th-century Colony of Virginia. He was one of the first Negro property owners and had his right to legally own a slave recognized by the Virginia courts. Held as an indentured servant in 1621, he earned his freedom after several years, and was granted land by the colony.

When Anthony Johnson was released from servitude, he was legally recognized as a “free Negro.” He developed a successful farm. In 1651 he owned 250 acres (100 ha), and the services of five indentured servants (four white and one black). In 1653, John Casor, a black indentured servant whose contract Johnson appeared to have bought in the early 1640s, approached Captain Goldsmith, claiming his indenture had expired seven years earlier and that he was being held illegally by Johnson. A neighbor, Robert Parker, intervened and persuaded Johnson to free Casor.

Parker offered Casor work, and he signed a term of indenture to the planter. Johnson sued Parker in the Northampton Court in 1654 for the return of Casor. The court initially found in favor of Parker, but Johnson appealed. In 1655, the court reversed its ruling. Finding that Anthony Johnson still “owned” John Casor, the court ordered that he be returned with the court dues paid by Robert Parker.

This was the first instance of a judicial determination in the Thirteen Colonies holding that a person who had committed no crime could be held in servitude for life.

Truth can be a very comforting thing to some. It can also be unsettling to others. Especially when that particular truth shatters generations of justified behaviors.

After all, “Victims” certainly want to remain victims, while continuing their facade of a united front against some phantom oppressors). Imagine that. 🙂 And now, just a small example of the ‘Whitewashing’ That has taken place regarding a Black Slave Owner (one of many by the way). When you think of slavery, you should in reality think of a variety of images. Barbary Coast Raids, European Slavs. Slavery in Africa, Irish Slaves in America… So many others. And yet, think to yourself. When YOU think of slavery… you think of Black Slave, White Master exclusively. And that is by design. The overlords would have it no other way.

http://www.slate.com/content/dam/slate/articles/news_and_politics/history/2015/09/150929_HIST_SlaveryMyths_1stslave.jpg.CROP.promovar-mediumlarge.jpg

4. and therein lies the rub Peter Lawrence Thompson

WE ARE INDEED EVERY STRAND THE HOUSE NEGRO!!

And very proud of it EXTREMELY PROUD OF IT!!

When the white man released us to independence HE DID SO KNOWING THAT WE WERE MOSTLY STILL ALL SLAVES IN OUR MINDS Peter.

And this is why, when I read John the Quaker, I read him with great sadness in my heart.

Because, even though his theme is often one that shows his allegiance, IT ALSO SHOWS UP OUR GRAVE SHORTCOMINGS as hewers of wood and drawers of water, content to groan at our collective plight and to MAKE SURE THAT WE KEEP OUR BROTHERS AND SISTERS DOWN if they would dare to shine.

Any man or woman who would suggest another model for Barbados or any non caucasian state MUST BE AWARE THAT THEY ARE MARKED FOR DEATH or destruction of their reputation, or destruction or theft of their concepts, not so much by the Whites who still live and proudly inflict that slavery mindset, but most assuredly, such ment will be killed by our black bretheren and sisteren.

5. Radical journalist William Cobbett complained of the ‘money-getting tribe of Quakers’, ‘none of whom ever work’, while they enriched themselves at the expense of the poor.

Do you realise that William Corbett would fit right in here on BU!!

Meanwhile Quakers got on with life, made their contribution, honoured God and passed from this earth memorialized in the works they did.

Barclays, Jordan’s, Cadbury’s, Friends Insurance, et al. …. Who the hell is or was William Corbett?

6. Let’s start from the idea that the Plantation was a socialist Utopia.

It supported slaves and owners from cradle to grave.

Care was taken of the very old and the very young.

Those workers injured on the job also received care.

As in every system, socialist or otherwise, elites exist.

Each elite had power over those beneath them.

It is this power which makes the plantation society attractive and encourages the existence of elites.

House Negro is an incorrect analogy because as I have shown from the slave returns from 1817, there were hardly any!!

Many plantations had none.

The difference between the elites of today and those on the plantation is that the plantation actually produced something consumable.

Today, the elites are part of a socialist system that doesn’t do that!!

The reason the plantation was more of a socialist utopia than what exists today is that the plantation could pay its way in both cash even though there wasn’t much of that, and kind!!

The invalids and the very young received care from adults who were past their working age and the plantation supported them all.

Today there is a lot of paper, some of it cash, but not much that is actually consumable!!

That’s a huge difference and makes a comparison between what happens today and the plantation society flawed.

The problem is POWER and its abuse!!

I am pretty sure the plantations society did not bestow titles.

You earned a title and those titles were skill based …. carpenter, mason, millwright, blacksmith, field hand etc. etc.

Not saying there wasn’t an abuse of power on plantations … but when the system was thrown out of balance, the plantation just changed hands.

7. John have you any Figures for Sugar Production in Barbados Prior to 1700

Freedom Crier,

Check page 10 of this document.

http://etheses.whiterose.ac.uk/13492/19/Thesis%20-%20KatherineCook%20-%20NewWorldMemory%202016.pdf

Highest 15,587 tons in 1698, lowest 3,750 tons in 1651.

Output would have been capped by the milling capacity.

Steam, (1850 onward) made growth in output possible.

Output in 1848 was of the order of 10,000 tons from Schomburgk.

Most we produced was 200,000 tons, in 1957 and 1967.

Booming economy fueled by world demand for sugar after WWII when the Japanese destroyed much of the sugar production in the Pacific and Europe and Russia laid waste – no sugar beet.

8. Artax

You wanted to know where I’ve gotten the term “pollutian” from … well it is a common Jamaican colloquialism which essentially entails a politician that is no good …

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE IT ALSO SHOWS UP OUR GRAVE SHORTCOMINGS as hewers of wood and drawers of water, content to groan at our collective plight and to MAKE SURE THAT WE KEEP OUR BROTHERS AND SISTERS DOWN if they would dare to shine.

Any man or woman who would suggest another model for Barbados or any non caucasian state MUST BE AWARE THAT THEY ARE MARKED FOR DEATH or destruction of their reputation, or destruction or theft of their concepts, not so much by the Whites who still live and proudly inflict that slavery mindset, but most assuredly, such ment will be killed by our black bretheren and sisteren.

A TRUER WORD HAS NOT BEEN SAID AND WE ALL KNOW IT
    WE ALL KNOW THAT THE ABOVE IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    IT HAS BEEN DISPLAYED HERE ON BU FROM ITDS INCEPTION
    AND WE HAVE SEEN IT DISPLAYED IN THE VILLAGE

10. It’s a beautiful morning in my neck of the woods. Bright sunshine, a comfortable temperature and a clear sky.
    It does not matter which side of the bench you are on, I hope you are having a great day..
    Have a blessed and beautiful Saturday Barbados

11. I think I can give a more definitive description to what many people call the “House Negro”.

Few slaves on the plantations as we know them today were engaged in domestic chores.

That’s a fact.

It is all there in the Slave Returns from 1817 to 1834.

Each had a productive role.

Even the older ones who were past physical labour played a daily role in the functioning of the plantation.

There were for example key roles such as minding children and watchman.

So, let’s for the moment accept that sugar output accounted for 1/8 of the tonnage of shipping as per Schomburgk.

Let’s say that 7/8 of the economy did not occur on the plantation but somewhere else associated with the 7/8 of the tonnage of shipping.

The milling capacity we know from Schomburgk was capped.

We get another key statistic from Schomburgk … the number of estates … that was 491 in 1848.

I am going to say that there were on average under 100 slaves on each of the estates … that’s my eyeball estimate of the numbers I have looked at over the years in the returns.

There will be large ones like Kendal and not so large ones.

There will be more small ones than large ones.

In 1817, the slave population was a couple thousand shy of 80,000.

Let’s say there were 40,000 slaves engaged in the production of sugar in 1817.

It means about 40,000 slaves were involved in the other 7/8 of the Barbados economy.

Coming to terms with the “off plantation” slaves will help in understanding why we are the way we are.

It will better help understand what is erroneously referred to as the “House Negro”!!

I think in this sector of the slave population there were some serious psychological issues!!

The sugar plantation however was a “socialist utopia” where each person cared about the other and until death, each person had a role to play and would have felt both needed and more importantly … wanted!!

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I AM SURE THEY DID NOT HAVE PLANNED PARENTHOOD THEN

13. “Quakers dealt directly in trading slaves. James Claypool a Quaker and member of the Free Society of Traders had a joint business with other Quakers to buy slaves from his brother in Barbados. Penn’s agent, Philip Lehnmain, used a ship, The Isabella’, to trade for slaves. In 1683 Penn himself was actively dealing in slaves, buying a number from Captain Nathaniel Allen. Penn was also selling slaves. He sold one who was an excellent fisherman for ‘a full price, for the man will expect it of me‘.”

14. A happy good morning to all.
    Excellent contributions from Artax
    as he dismantles the big and often repeated lie.

Unable to contribute when I see words like Quaker, slave or Trump

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, the blog regulars must commend your intensity and desire to dismiss those who peddle biased views under the guise of factual research.

Kudos.

We may not always agree on all positions but your push for the rational, fact based discourse is awesome and with that I will always agree!

16. TheOGazerts and de pedantic Dribbler

Thanks.

I believe we should be able to “discuss” issues on BU in a manner which is rational and reasonable.

To do so would add much needed value to the forum.

17. @Artax
    Look like you silence the Quaker with the white saviour complex. Well done.

18. @ David,

Breaking news.

19. Artax
    May 12, 2019 9:39 AM

“Quakers dealt directly in trading slaves. James Claypool a Quaker and member of the Free Society of Traders had a joint business with other Quakers to buy slaves from his brother in Barbados. Penn’s agent, Philip Lehnmain, used a ship, The Isabella’, to trade for slaves. In 1683 Penn himself was actively dealing in slaves, buying a number from Captain Nathaniel Allen. Penn was also selling slaves. He sold one who was an excellent fisherman for ‘a full price, for the man will expect it of me‘.”

The question was were Quakers founder members of the Royal African Company.

Since it was formed in 1660 during their persecution by church and state it is unlikely the King of England who was a founder member would accept them as his business partners.

For sure Quakers bought slaves, after all, they owned sugar plantations.

By the 1680’s Quakers had become influential for the simple reason that they were successful in business

William Penn and the King became good buddies.

In fact, the King, who had borrowed from Penn’s father, repaid Penn with Sylvania which became what we call Pennsylvania today!!

That was 1681.

Then there is the story of the hat!!

https://books.google.com/books?id=DJiJCgAAQBAJ&pg=PA6&lpg=PA6&dq=penn+doffing+hat+to+king&source=bl&ots=1z7jjjtH44&sig=ACfU3U2DawTMZUyjgIDDAMT7Rl4ch7nqSA&hl=en&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiBpe-VxpfiAhWOtlkKHfuDBmMQ6AEwB3oECAcQAQ#v=onepage&q=penn%20doffing%20hat%20to%20king&f=false

You will see in the link that even Penn spent time in prison for being a Quaker.

Penn was actually quite a character … you should read up on him and learn a thing or three!!

Here is a list of 60 Quakers you can read about if you want to appreciate just how remarkable was their contribution.

The Valiant Sixty!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valiant_Sixty

20. Similarly to how to how some people supported slavery or was against it, some Quakers SUPPORTED slavery, while others did not. The Quakers may have played a role in the abolition of slavery, but their efforts did not begin with ALL Quakers being abolitionists. Those Quakers that opposed slavery were able to convince other Friends that slavery was wrong.

I read about a Quaker named Benjamin Lay (1681-1759) who was born in Colchester, England, to Quaker parents William Lay and Mary Dennis. Lay was one of the first Quakers to oppose slavery and “was DISOWNED (EXPELLED) from the Society, not for the truth of what he said, but for PUBLISHING CRITICISMS of FRIENDS who OWNED slaves. This was seen as an internal concern to be resolved within the Quaker family.”

Lay went to Barbados in 1731 “where he was appalled to see the conditions under which slaves were kept. He took up their cause and soon started to berate Quaker slaveholders. He went to live near Philadelphia and continued his protests against slave owning. Lay wrote a tract about the evils of slavery entitled ‘All Slave-Keepers the Keep the Innocent in Bondage, Apostates’. His friend Benjamin Franklin had this published in 1737. In this publication he made many accusations against individual Friends and the Society as a whole.”

“Quaker institutions were ANGERED by what he had WRITTEN, and, more seriously, by the fact that the book had been published as a Quaker document without Quaker approval.” Lay went as far as kidnapping a child so as to illustrate how Africans parents felt when their children were abducted from Africa and sold into slavery.

There was also a French-man named Anthony Benezet, who joined the “Religious Society of Friends” after he and his relatives emigrated to Pennsylvania in 1731. He married Joyce Marriot, a Philadelphia Quaker minister. Benezet challenged the assertion of black inferiority at a time when many whites, including many Quakers, DID NOT regard black people and white people as being EQUAL.

RE: “For sure Quakers bought slaves, after all, they owned sugar plantations.”

To suggest Quakers owned slaves ONLY because “they owned sugar plantations” is NOT entirely true.

According to you, Quakers “were successful in business.” The slave trade was a lucrative “business.” Quakers participated in the slave trade in various and PROFITED from their involvement ways as well. Some Quakers owned ships, were captains of ships and some were involved in the slave trade as INVESTORS. Quaker iron-masters also MADE chains and shackles for USE in the slave trade.

“Shippers from the colony of Rhode Island provided around 70% of all of the slaves brought to the Americas and Newport possessed one of the largest populations of wealthy Quakers, many of whom made their WEALTH THROUGH THE SLABVE TRADE. It is HARD to REFUTE. Quakers HELD slaves and profited by the institution well into the mid-eighteenth century.”

“It took about two generations for Quakers to cleanse their membership from benefiting from the institution of slavery, as owners and/or traders.”

Quakers only began to fully embrace the concept of abolition in the 1770s.

RE: “Penn was actually quite a character … you should read up on him and learn a thing or three!!”

I “read up on him” and “learnt a thing or, not “three,” but nine.”

Although William Penn cautioned his followers to treat their slaves kindly, he declared he ACCEPTED slavery and preferred Africans to white indentured servants because one could OWN an African for life.

https://sourdoughcreekperspectives.wordpress.com/2016/05/13/did-quakers-really-own-slaves/

http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/58/Eliminating-Slavery-amongst-Quakers

http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/61/Benjamin-Lay

http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/60/Anthony-Benezet

21. *************That should read: “Quakers participated in the slave trade in various ways and PROFITED from their involvement as well.”

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

Thank you Artaxerxes the Superlative Researcher and Griot and investigator of things black.

In my experience on “these things black” AND THE DEARTH OF INFORMATION ABOUT OURSELVES (WE BLACK PEOPLE) you have brought a factual intellectual perspective to the lies and partial untruths (what percentage?) That John the Quaker has been presenting.

I wonder if you could shed some light on this.

In all of the History of the West Indies books, specifically curriculii for Barbados schools, has there ever been any reference made to the Berlin Treaty?

De ole man did not go school like wunna bright fellers so I gine need some help here

https://youtu.be/FTjBNppdk-M

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

EVERYTHING JOHN SAYS IS WRONG……….CAUSE HE WHITE!

WE MUST DO ALL IN OUR POWER TO DISCREDIT HIS RESEARCH AND PULL HIM DOWN AND DEBASE HIM…….CAUSE HE WHITE AND HE WON TWO SCHOLARSHIPS.

IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT FEW BU BRIMBLERS CAN SAY THAT THEY EVEN WON ONE.

ALSO WE MUST SAY HE WAS BRIGHT AT AGE 18………BUT NOW HE IS AN IDIOT JUST LIKE WE ARE.

LET US THEREFORE SEEK TO SOMEHOW REDUCE HIM TO OUR LEVEL.

LET US TURN HIM INTO A MERE DPD!

WATCH NOW……..WATCH

24. Slavery existed for millennia before any Quaker came along after 1648.

It was legal, moral and acceptable you would have to agree.

It could be found all over Africa and in the Islamic World in a most brutal form.

Within 2 centuries these remarkable people, the Quakers had abolished it … simple irrefutable fact, so simple and irrefutable that you don’t need to do much research on it!!

It is also an irrefutable fact that they were Christian … capitalists too, but Christian first and foremost.

Look at slavery as it developed and existed in some of the leftist ideologies and you will understand the difference between the socialist utopia created on Barbadian plantations and the sheer hell created under the fascist and communist systems.

Look at Stalin’s collective or Hitler’s concentration camps … communist and fascist … both leftist.

Look at the results.

Slavery belongs in leftist ideologies … they are essentially all Godless and give power to the state.

They seek state control over the individual.

It doesn’t mean that slavery couldn’t exist in a capitalist systems but eventually it will be rejected because capitalism thrives on individuality.

No Christian or capitalist or for that matter any normal human being in their right minds wants to have to care for and control a whole lot of people from cradle to grave.

Which individual wants to be saddled with a whole mass of other humanity and have to provide for them as well as their own family?

It is only a Godless state that could countenance such a situation.

It is way too much trouble and heartache for any individual.

If it is made violent, it collapses violently.

If it is made compassionate it also collapses because there are limits to the profits capitalism can generate to subsidise a socialist utopia.

It will collapse because people want to get on with their own lives as God created them.

For sure we were made our brother’s keeper, but our brother is not expected to be our slave for life!!

25. Even brothers depart the family and go and form their own.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

LET US TURN HIM INTO A MERE DPD OR LEXICON!
    IN SO DOING WE WILL DO WELL FOR DISCOURSE ON BU AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF OUR FAILING NATION

27. Mr. Georgie Porgie

Are you suggesting because some contributors may present an alternative view to John’s biased opinions, they should desist from doing so because they are attempting to “DISCREDIT HIS RESEARCH AND PULL HIM DOWN AND DEBASE HIM…….CAUSE HE WHITE AND HE WON TWO SCHOLARSHIPS?”

Are you implying that research done by an individual becomes “null and void” or does not have any basis, because the researcher did not win a Barbados scholarship?

Are you also suggesting those of us who have not won Barbados scholarships are IDIOTS, and should therefore WHOLEHEARTEDLY ACCEPT anything John posts to this forum, simply because at age 18 he was “brighter” than us…..having won “two scholarships”…………. and to CHALLENGE his opinions means we are “THEREFORE SEEKING TO SOMEHOW REDUCE HIM TO OUR LEVEL?”

AMAZING.

It is interesting to note that while you are here engaging in this petty, childish argument about who were not as fortunate as you and John to have won two or more “scholarships, and since you consider “non winners” as IDIOTS…..entrepreneurs such as Charles O. Williams, Everson R. Elcock, Rawle C. Brancker, Ralph Williams, Edwin Worrell, the Jordan brothers of Jordan’s Supermarket, Andrew Bynoe and Gray “Doc” Broome are NOT island scholars, but they developed successful businesses that employ hundreds of Barbadians. And ironically, some “island scholars” are employed by these same businessmen.

In this regard, tell what you and John have been able to achieve?

Tell us, as a doctor, what have you been able to achieve that your medical colleagues were unable to achieve as a result of they not winning a scholarship?

It’s truly amazing!!!

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARTAX

I DIDNT MAKE ANY SUGGESTIONS

I SAID WHAT I WANTED TO SAY AND I MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR WHAT I SAID

AND I GOT THE EXACT RESPONSE I EXPECTED

IT JUST TOOK 108 MINUTES

RE Tell us, as a doctor, what have you been able to achieve that your medical colleagues were unable to achieve as a result of they not winning a scholarship?

PUT IT THIS WAY… ONE OF THEM WHO DIED RECENTLY IS REPORTED TO HAVE ASKED
    ” HOW CAN DR GP BUILD HOUSES ON A GOVERNMENT SALARY?”

It WAS truly amazing!!! TRULY AMAZING INDEED. LOL

COME ON PEOPLE PILE ON NOW PILE ON!

29. Atrax

The problem is the brainwashing that has occurred.

I experienced it too but got past it.

Somehow we need to find solutions (no pun intended) for our country’s problem and the tired ols way of looking at the past is not working.

I am showing a way of using our remarkable history to increase our appeal worldwide.

… every square inch of Barbados is a world heritage site!!

It is so so simple!!

30. Atrax

GP can predict your response to a teaser because you are predictable by the brainwashing you received.

I do it routinely and send some folks who have been brainwashed better than others crazy.

Barbados is past the rubbish preached by politicians and historians who have contributed nothing to our country and caused more harm than good.

Time to wake up!!

31. John

Your “brainwashing theory” as applied to this particular situation is nonsense…….rubbish.

You are essentially suggesting I “have been brainwashed” because I choose to present an alternative perspective of the Quakers as opposed to wholeheartedly accepting, without challenge or question, YOUR personal views on the said Quakers.

My friend, people’s responses to issues are based on their beliefs and how they portray or see themselves.

You could present a specific situation to two different individuals and predict their responses.

Mariposa, for example, is a “diehard” DLP supporter. Therefore, any reasonably thinking individual could predict her responses to political issues will be in defence of the DLP.

You and Dr. Georgie Porigie are ARROGANT and believe because you both won “island scholarships,” everyone should bow to your self-perceived “superior knowledge” and accept as gospel, anything you spew in this forum.

I LIKEWISE anticipated (predicted) the following comment from you or GP. But he was “first out of the box.”

“WE MUST DO ALL IN OUR POWER TO DISCREDIT HIS RESEARCH AND PULL HIM DOWN AND DEBASE HIM…….CAUSE HE WHITE AND HE WON TWO SCHOLARSHIPS.
    ALSO, WE MUST SAY HE WAS BRIGHT AT AGE 18………BUT NOW HE IS AN IDIOT JUST LIKE WE ARE.
    LET US TURN HIM INTO A MERE DPD!”

Therefore, it is reasonable to suggest we predicted each other’s responses.

Does that make GP “brainwashed” as well……. or is the “brain washing” and “predictability” reserved specifically for those who have not been as fortunate as you or him to have won a Barbados scholarship?

It does not take any exceptional skill to predict responses from a man who keeps boasting about winning a scholarship and referring to people as “BU brimblers,” and illiterates.

Or predict responses from a man who keeps romanticizing slavery and implying the plantation system was a better form of “government,” in that, (IGNORING the atrocities of slavery), the “plantation system of government” provided health care, social welfare, transport, meals and took care of the slaves “from the cradle to the grave”…… as opposed to the type of governmental system that exists today. In other words, implying that black people were better off being slaves.

You brought your perspective on the Quaker issue, in addition to websites for our perusal and to substantiate your opinions.

I presented an ALTERNATIVE PERSPECTIVE on the issue and likewise included references from websites for your perusal and to substantiate that perspective.

Rather than compare and contrast both perspectives to make way for an informed, rational discussion, you immediately DISMISSED the alternative in favour of your opinions………… and in the process, concluded I have been “brainwashed.”

You are PREDICTABLE because of your ARROGANCE.

I must remind you that, if I wholeheartedly accept anything you spew in this forum, unchallenged and unquestioned……..

……….. I would essentially be ALLOWING myself to be “brainwashed” by you.

Anyhow, I presented information for those readers who may want to view an alternative perspective, which they are free to dismiss or use along with your information, to research the issue……. if they care to.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARTAX

I SAY AGAIN ABOUT JOHN IN MY ARROGANCE AND LOVER OF BU BRIMBLERS BARKERS AND BRAYERS WITH NO APOLOGY

“WE MUST DO ALL IN OUR POWER TO DISCREDIT HIS RESEARCH AND PULL HIM DOWN AND DEBASE HIM…….CAUSE HE WHITE AND HE WON TWO SCHOLARSHIPS.

ALSO, WE MUST SAY HE WAS BRIGHT AT AGE 18………BUT NOW HE IS AN IDIOT JUST LIKE WE ARE.
    LET US TURN HIM INTO A MERE DPD OR LEXICON !”

MOCKING IN THE RUM SHOP TOO SWEET DO

33. “……for I am perswaded,that if they whom thou call’st thy slaves,be upright-hearted to God,the Lord God Almighty will set them free in a way that thou knowest not,for there is none set free but in Christ Jesus.For all other freedom will prove but a bondage”
    Prophetic words of Alice Curwen,Quaker preacher in 1677 on a visit to Barbados.Prophetic because the 95% black Bajans are still in bondage to an imperial economic system controlled by the banking sector of europeans and zionists.Its the same story everywhere the black man is.Bondage for evermore once these scoundrels are allowed by politicians to con black people.

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BY THE WAY ARTAX I DIDNT GET A SCHOLARSHIP I IS ONLY A SECOND LOL LOL MURDAH

35. I, I , I

#deniskellman

36. Gabriel
    May 13, 2019 1:12 PM

“……for I am perswaded,that if they whom thou call’st thy slaves,be upright-hearted to God,the Lord God Almighty will set them free in a way that thou knowest not,for there is none set free but in Christ Jesus.For all other freedom will prove but a bondage”

Wasn’t she saying that we all are slaves … except those set free in Christ?

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NO DAVID IT IS H I J K

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John

re Wasn’t she saying that we all are slaves … except those set free in Christ?
    EXACTLY!

That person may have been citing any of these verses
    2 Corinthians 3:17
    Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.
    Or John 8:36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.
    Or Galatians 5:13-14
    13 You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh ; rather, serve one another humbly in love. 14 For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”
    Or Galatians 5:1

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John the Denizen

When you post as John the denizen who inhabits this earth as I do, entitled as I am, to its resources, I have been quick to commend those posts

Then you will post as John the Historian, and in those moments point white and black alike to regard the classic stupidity of slavery, perpetuated by white colonists, and existing whites, AND BY MY BLACK GOVERNMENT.

As in your most recent observation about the cave-in in the 1890’s? and the treatment by the plantation owners of that time of their chattel, and the repeat cave in at Arch Cot, and the abandonment by the new black plantation owners, both the black BLP and the DLP, of the cattle now SHEEPLE!

“…The problem is the brainwashing that has occurred.

Somehow we need to find solutions (no pun intended) for our country’s problem and the tired ols way of looking at the past is not working.

I am showing a way of using our remarkable history to increase our appeal worldwide…”

I concur with that observation wholeheartedly, John the Historian but I posit that the existing clowns cant see that.

Then you will post as John the Quaker and at times it seems like if you glorify the shame that is slavery.

I understand when you “emote” specific responses but at times I wonder John the Quaker where you centre of gravity truly lies.

I do not doubt your brilliance, and reasoning skills, in fact you may recall that I have even suggested co-opting you to the Ranks of the Third Party Movement’s “facilitators” heheheheh, but there are moments when you push that envelope and, it is clear that, it doan tek much fuh “people like me” to “Set it Off”

It’s a hard thing for us humans to divorce ourselves from these “frail shells that we inhabit” for these 3 score years and ten …

And it is harder still, when we have grown accustomed to this overt and institutionalised crime of racism, to see another’s intent, given past history.

I can still remember the day when BBC reported Steve Biko’s death so I beg all of wunna to give me pause since “my soul has fled to yonder corpse and I must pause till it come back to me…”

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

41. Here we are, with the US and China shaping up for war, and Bajans on a blog talking nonsense. You just could not make it up. It must be cultural.

42. Communism …. Pravda

Fascism …. Goebbels

The left needs a propaganda arm to brainwash.

Barbados …….?????

I’m saying that there was a conscious effort to brainwash and we see it now especially in those over 50!!!

It was an extra curricular activity of some youngsters at HC and other schools.

Effectively, their childhood and youth was stolen from them.

My observation of how it was done to some in my family was through a group of elders who set out to promote mediocrity in some of my contemporaries.

They were lauded even for the most ridiculous statements or actions.

Even then I could recognize something wrong in the thinking but I never spent too much time trying to understand it as life was happening at a rate of knots.

I just separated myself and got on with living.

I got my share of licks but shrugged them off because life was great!!

Those who went through a carefree childhood and exuberant youth learning by experience and enjoying the immediacy of life can spot who got it done to them.

There is a bitterness and envy now that cannot be concealed.

Life seems to have and have had no joy.

Rather than live in the present it is the past and future that dominates.

Only a lunatic could support a theory that the world will end in 12 years because of global warming.

It might very well end in 12 years, but it won’t be Global Warming that is the cause!!

… but then again it might not so live every day as if it were your last.

The brainwashing did not only happen in Barbados, it was a worldwide phenomenon.

In Barbados it was irresistible but in the US there was resistance and enough strength to right the ship after the leftist philosophies were proven to be failures.

That is one of the things I recognized in what happened in the 2016 elections.

It is pretty difficult to overcome individuals no matter how organized a state you make!!

God made each of us strong and is always there to further strengthen.

43. Hal Austin
    May 13, 2019 2:22 PM

Here we are, with the US and China shaping up for war, and Bajans on a blog talking nonsense. You just could not make it up. It must be cultural.

Relax Hal.

Chill.

Worse thing can happen is China decides to take out the UK first!!

44. Curwen is an interesting surname.

I looked for it in my usual sources but could not find it.

Yet, there is a Curwen Avenue off Beclkes Road.

… and the name is used as a Christian name in Barbados.

Obviously if she was the source, she was held in extremely high regard.

Next time I look at the name I will spend a little more time.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

yes Hal CHILL FUH TRUTE

CAUSE after China decides to take out the UK or the USA,

Bajans WILL STILL be on a blog talking nonsense

46. John
    That’s your interpretation and that’s why to the discerning it’s all a sleight of hand brand of living.The mantra of the white demagogs ….Ef yuh wite yuh awright….is still the reality of the black man. By de swet ‘o yuh brow yuh must eat bred…
    BTW its jesus THE christ.

47. Bajans refer to those Curwens of the Bayland as ‘red’ people.

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

I posted this already but

@ John the Denizen

When you post as John the denizen who inhabits this earth as I do, entitled as I am, to its resources, I have been quick to commend those posts

Then you will post as John the Historian, and in those moments point white and black alike to regard the classic stupidity of slavery, perpetuated by white colonists, and existing whites, AND BY MY BLACK GOVERNMENT.

As in your most recent observation about the cave-in in the 1890’s? and the treatment by the plantation owners of that time of their chattel, and the repeat cave in at Arch Cot, and the abandonment by the new black plantation owners, both the black BLP and the DLP, of the cattle now SHEEPLE!

“…The problem is the brainwashing that has occurred.

I am showing a way of using our remarkable history to increase our appeal worldwide…”

I concur with that observation wholeheartedly, John the Historian but I posit that the existing clowns cant see that.

Then you will post as John the Quaker and at times it seems like if you glorify the shame that is slavery.

I understand when you “emote” specific responses but at times I wonder John the Quaker where you centre of gravity truly lies.

I do not doubt your brilliance, and reasoning skills, in fact you may recall that I have even suggested co-opting you to the Ranks of the Third Party Movement’s “facilitators” heheheheh, but there are moments when you push that envelope and, it is clear that, it doan tek much fuh “people like me” to “Set it Off”

It’s a hard thing for us humans to divorce ourselves from these “frail shells that we inhabit” for these 3 score years and ten …

And it is harder still, when we have grown accustomed to this overt and institutionalised crime of racism, to see another’s intent, given past history.

I can still remember the day when BBC reported Steve Biko’s death so I beg all of wunna to give me pause since “my soul has fled to yonder corpse and I must pause till it come back to me…”

49. Piece the Legend Avatar

And yes John of the Trifold nature you are right when you say some of us live in the past as I would have clearly categorized myself when I spoke of Bantu Steven Biko whose life ended in 1966 but I also live in a present with Trayvon Martin whose dead body was retweeted by George Zimmerman his murdered days after he died.

It is a thing most strange John the Quaker that you tell us that we must forget our pasts since it makes us envious and bitter but when Jews remember Auschwitz and the Holocaust or Americans remember Pearl Harbour it is well with your soul!

50. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar
    The Truth Shall Set You Free

“Here we are, with the US and China shaping up for war, and Bajans on a blog talking nonsense. You just could not make it up. It must be cultural.”

@Hal Austin

If you know China and the US are shaping up for war, what is there preventing you from discussing it, instead of making yourself the blog jackass by preferring to come to the blog talking nonsense about Bajans talking nonsense.

Then again, you are a Bajan, so it must be cultural. No one could have made that up.

Get a life old man.