The following (with minor edit) is a comment posted by Walter Blackman to BU blog Whimpering Opposition.

– David, blogmaster

April 27, 2019 8:48 AM

“First thing this morning and we are off to the races attacking people instead of debating the real issues?”

Through the vehicle of BU, you are getting a very deep insight into the nature of Barbadians, as a people.

We have paid billions of dollars into the NIS since 1967. The money that was paid into the NIS was supposed to be prudently invested and used primarily to pay benefits to participants and their beneficiaries, along with the administrative costs of running the NIS department.

Reportedly, the NIS for Barbados was first articulated by Charles Duncan O’Neale almost a century ago. From the moment the concept was aired, some anti-progressive minded members of the white minority on the island rationalized that they were wealthy enough to provide for their unborn great-great-great grandchildren and therefore should not be called upon to contribute to any fund which pays out benefits to perceived poor and needy black Barbadians. To this very day, some of these white Barbadians are still demanding that they be allowed to opt out of the NIS.

With this background in mind, any sensible Barbadian ought to have been outraged when they saw black politicians from poor, humble origins take up the hard-earned NIS money of Barbadian taxpayers and stupidly give it away to every Tom, Dick, and Harry on the flimsiest of excuses. All of us are forced to suspect that kickbacks, fraud, and corruption must have been associated with the squandering of our NIS funds.

Somewhere along the line, possibly within the next 30 years, many Barbadians will weep and gnash their teeth as they witness the NIS become totally transformed into a Ponzi scheme, and then collapse, never to be resurrected. By that time, the retiring age for a full pension might be 85 or 90 years old!

This is but one simple issue in the area of finance that is desperately crying out for political ventilation and a solution. There are many, many more financial problems, alternatives, and solutions that ought to be put to the electorate.

Barbados needs outstanding financial leadership now, more than ever.

Given the excessive, prolonged “spiriting away” of public funds, along with the deep financial morass that the country is now mired in, I must boldly ask BU readers a few simple questions:

1. Who on the government’s side is seen as the person who can get up, address and communicate financial issues to Barbadians in a clear, understandable manner, and then get buy-in from the electorate and major stakeholders?
  2. Who is the named UPP’s spokesman on Finance?
  3. Who is the named Solutions Barbados’ spokesman on Finance?
  4. Who is the named DLP’s spokesman on Finance?

134 responses to “Expectant Pensioners Will Pay for Mismanagement of National Insurance Scheme”

1. John
    April 28, 2019 10:28 AM

Its insurance and any insurance is a gamble.

That’s why actuaries exist, to make informed guesses … sorry, predictions!!

2. @Vincent Codrington April 28, 2019 10:00 AM

@ Hal Austin

Really.
    Is that how you engage in serious debates? Do you have any safe investments in your neck of the woods? The NIB will be happy to invest in them.

THEY CAN INVEST IN CANADIAN BANKS. THEY WILL GET GOOD QUARTERLY DIVIDENDS AND THE STOCK WILL APPRECIATE.

3. The government does not generate the foreign exchange to invest outside of Barbados in a significant way.

4. @John A

How is it possible to leave the political angle out of any debate about the NIS?

Who makes the decisions about the fund?

Who appoints the Chairman of the NIS Board?

5. @ Vincent,

Stop speaking in Bajan code. What are you saying? My RH factor? @ Vincent for the last year or so this has been how you debate: you make a statement, and if someone does not agree with it or questions it, you retreat to snide, juvenile, silly remarks. You may not use obscenities, but could as well. Debate the issues. Do you know what debating means?

@ William,

I was fortunate in having formative years influenced by people like Don Blackman, John Connell, Aldon Lloyd, Calvin Alleyne, Keith Miller and numerous others, debating every Saturday night until the early hours of the morning. In my later teens, I had the influence of Leroy Harewood, his then wife Rones, Phil Sealey, and other senior members of the PPM/Black Star. It was n the Black Star bookshop that I met Prof St Clair Drake, the outstanding US sociologist, and others. I sat and listened as Leroy debated with such stellar intellectuals.
    I am old enough to remember Dan Blackett, publisher of the Torch newspaper, old man Bolden, the Tweedside welder, whose son became a lawyer/politician, and that generation of old trade unionists/activists, through my father’s own activism. I was lucky because as a little boy Dan Blackett had a liking for me and gave me free copies of his paper. These were men (apart from Maisie Inniss they were mainly men) who were youths in 1937 and maintained an interest in politics until they died. I remember Reynold Weekes, not as an MP, but as a shopkeeper and local organiser in St Philip, if you want lessons in how to connect to local communities..
    In the UK I spent more time than I should at the home of the late, great CLR James and his wife Selma: listening, learning, searching for more knowledge; with people like Obi Egbuna, Fennis Augustine, Garry Burton, and the members of the West Indian Student Centre..
    It is impossible to describe 60 years later, but that was the Black Power era, the years of the Student Movement, of the embryonic years of Feminism mark 2, the environment movement. It was also the time when Enoch Powell made his speech and I was a witness to how the Labour Party and trade unions reacted.
    @ William, I have mentioned this before, but take a look at the history of Newtons metaphysics and quantum theory, one sees space and time as continuous, while the other does not. But both have contributed enormous to our advancements in scientific knowledge.
    I say all that to say I know where you are coming from. I know the stench in the sewers of Bajan social life of which you talk. The intellectual adolescents on BU are like a nuisance fly given all this.
    Sometime ago the Nation ran a profile of John Connell and his wish to b a DLP MP. Read Barrow’s reaction, the so-called Father of the Nation. Read it again.
    I will end on this: a few weeks ago a young economics undergraduate at UWI posted an essay, it was exactly what you would expect from a bright young man or woman, lacking in depth, but was sincere. But he was mauled by the predator lions of BU. I hope it does not put him off.

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Dame Bajans at 11 :12 AM

With the apparent withdrawals from the Caribbean and downsizing of Canadian banks, I would not recommend. But you are on location so you may have a different perspective.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    I hope that others read your piece. I spent hours in the company of Leroy Hareeood and John Cumberbatch. Like you I was exposed to many of the brothers and sisters you mentioned.
    Public debate and policy have now been hijacked by people whose only ambition is to suck on the political and intellectual nipples of bogus people operating as our saviors.
    The struggle continues.

8. With the apparent withdrawals from the Caribbean and downsizing of Canadian banks, I would not recommend. But you are on location so you may have a different perspective.(Quote|)

What has this got to do with investing? We are not talking about opening a savings account. Investment policy is based on returns on investments. Are you bluffing again?

9. Here is a link to the article by UWI student Kemar Stuart. The majority of commenters were supportive with a couple giving FEEDBACK read he should review future submissions for grammar/syntax etc to ensure the errors do not detract from the central point. There is no basis to suggest he was mauled by BU commenters. Another Rh lie.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/02/23/the-white-elephant-in-the-room/

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal at 11:38 AM

With all due respect, you are the person bluffing. You are not making contact with the fundamental issues. If you cannot comprehend the significance of a corporation reorganizing it self and its suitability for prospective investors, you are indeed bluffing.

11. Imagine if part of this $48 million loss was directed to increasing the revenue and hence profits of the private sector!!

ROI would increase …. !!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239501/usd48m-loss

Much of the $48 million will be invested with Buju which will allow him to continue his long walk to financial freedom.

Does he get to take out his cut of the $48 million as foreign exchange or will he be investing in the Barbados Economy?

12. @William

Will not bother with you and this nonsense except to say Carl Moore provoked bloggers/commenters in his column of 20 April 2008. He gave and he received. You may have the last word.

13. @ Vincent,
    What is that in plain English? We are talking about the NIS. What are the fundamental issues? Plse explain a corporation reorganising itself for prospective investors? What do you mean?

14. I see Buju been walking his long walk to financial freedom all through Trinidad before Barbados.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/buju-vendors-we-want-our-money-back/article_8deaa572-67c2-11e9-b206-631f895a1a3a.html

Exploiting the poor black man!!

Guess these vendors won’t be paying much NIS in Trinidad!!

15. Guess the financial transaction works this way.

The promoter sees an opportunity to bring an act to Trinidad/Barbados to make a $ of the ignorant masses who got free time with the Bank Holidays.

Buju is on his long, (probably very short), walk to financial freedom.

So the promoter reckons he can benefit too and shorten his walk as well.

The two talk and do a deal.

The promoter pays Buju in foreign currency.

The promoter then sells concessions to vendors and tickets to the public.

Trinidad has Good Friday and Easter Monday and May Day.

Barbados has the same holidays but also Heroes Day, today and Monday.

Two strikes to make a dollar!!

I guess things tough in Trinidad too so the public just buying the tickets and bringing their own food.

16. Hal Austin
    April 28, 2019 9:31 AM

@ John,
    Who is the blogger?

Rhetorical question?

17. @ John,
    Not at all.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    somewhat surprised at your comments. The Funds have always had the bulk of their investments locally. The investing issue was when they opted to ignore the investment formula approved by the Board, and load up on local debt instruments. This in answer to the concept of ‘home grown financing’, when the GoB ran back to back annual deficits of $900,000,000+ post the prior election. This didn’t begin the mismanagement, but it likely pushed it to the edge.

19. @ David.

Sorry what I said was a bit ambiguous. What I am saying to the board is that the NIS Board must now make some hard decisions and leave politics out of it. In other words it is pointless them saying the DLP did this or that. The point is they now have to look at the NIS balance sheet as a business. They have to examine each asset one at a time and view its performance. They have to value each property at todays market value and make the necessary adjustments on book. The goal is therefore to arrive at the true value of the NIS fund free of politics and based solely on hard supporting data. Yes we all know Sinkler used it as governments piggy bank and we know much of the so called paper being held is now unretrievable today in terms of cash surrender, so we must as a matter of urgency then accurately value the property held and other hard assets. This fund is the lifeline for many and the way it has been misused is a disgrace, but we now must get past that and clean up its finances in an attempt to rebuild it. Honestly I see no way of avoiding increased percentages of earnings and the age being pushed forward, as Government is not in a position to push at the minimum $1 billion dollars in hard cash into the fund and that is the only way that the other increase on the backs of bajans can be avoided sadly. Regrettably the payments to pensioners which they in turn take into the supermarket can not be replaced with promissory notes.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern Observer at 1:01 PM

What you have opined may be true. But will you please point me to the financial statements on which your analysis is based.
    Sorry to surprise you, but I was invited to express my view. I am not aware that they had to comply with other commentators.

21. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

(quote) One more element in the equation is an aging population coupled with the replacement of labour and management by technological innovations.(quote)

The replacement of persons by technology is something that large auto workers union are talking about in Germany. It seems the labour movement in Barbados may be doing an injustice to the workers by not even talking about this. They (Germans) can see what is coming towards them as they speed or crawl down the road. These are things we must look at; size up and be prepared to battle. Or maybe we will just pretend that it it cant happen here and confine it to the graveyard like how me have confined “maintenance” to the same grave yard. The NIS depends on the working persons to pay the benefits it provides. If technology is replacing the need for human workers the NIS’s basis for funding has to change. But then again we may just ignore that too; like how we have ignored the need for maintenance.

So far Andrew Yang a Dem candidate for the US President is willing to talk about something that is speeding toward the Big USA. The tech companies are hard at work trying to replace human workers as fast as humanly or humanely possible. We also need to see the potholes in the road ahead as Barbados is solely a consumer of technology and its ideas and ramifications. If we cannot improve our productivity we will be left behind. Artificial Intelligence(AI) will take no hostages; we need to be smart enuff to see that things will change at a rate that we basically have little or no control over. The NIS has to be reconfigured or repositioned to meet the needs of the Barbadians as the world changes.

Just musing

22. I was watching a Test match at Kensington Oval in 1978.

An argument broke out between two Engineers and escalated to serious Bajan cussing by one of them who happened to be an associate of a well respected firm. Behaviour unbecoming ?

BU is typically Bajan. Rum shop,cricket match, beach gathering, fish market and the House of assembly…..get wha de muddacant I saying?

On BU we have from well educated contributors to igrunt wrassewhole idiots.

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The permanent factor in managing the NIS is management. All decisions are based on the business cases provided by staff and management to BOD.
    It is management’s responsibility to convince the BOD to stick within investment guidelines approved by them and in keeping with investment principles governing pension schemes.
    From time to time guidelines will be unenforceable. The investment markets have been very volatile in the last 11 years.

24. YouTube

Statement – Living 4 Now “2019 Soca” (Barbados Crop Over) | Official Audio

25. Sinister One,

I did not say anything about dismantling any government. I said that a rethink is in order and some reductions are needed. I am not a right wing Libertarian. I believe in balance.

Hiss your words but do not try to force your forked tongue into my mouth!

Walter,

Good job! Hope to see more of you. Then Hal can have his meaty discussions. I hope he realizes though that it cannot all be like that, or else the language would have to be simplified and made more interesting to cater to others who read the site. The average Barbadian is even less likely to read a long, dry discussion than they are to watch it on television. Reality is a bitch! Piece’s animations would have a wider reach, I’m afraid.

It all comes down to who the site is meant to reach and what exactly it’s meant to teach!

KNOW YOUR AUDIENCE!

26. @Donna

Your deep perception continues to amaze.

#knowyouraudience

27. Be careful, David! You had better start calling me a RH or something or I will be accused of being a pale face again! Or a member of the genuflecting crew!

28. Knowing you from your postings it will not deter you from making your points.

29. Walter, I too am somewhat concern regarding the perilous state of the scheme. However, it would be best to await an actuarial valuation as well as an up to date audited statement. Additionally, why no actuary or any one with pension fund management experience on the board of the NIS? Certainly, this is an glarying oversight. I would suggest that we further reduce the benefits ,albeit, slightly,remove the integration with private pensions, have a statutory limit on investments with government instruments and property and give the NIS the opportunity to invest within the region. For sure I am aware of others schemes within the region which are properly managed by well qualified actuaries at the helm or within their senior management. Food for thought may be?

30. @curley

How much longer you want to wait for the financials that were promised by Tony Marshall and Justin Robinson?

What has changed with the fund since the last actuarial report to suggest the financial health of the fund has improved?

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

You see the dichotomy. On the one hand, one cannot ‘jump to conclusions’ because we haven’t seen financials from the NIS in ??? years (is it 13 now?). Yet, during that period, several have invested in financial instruments which have been decimated in value, potentially caused by the load acquired by the NIS. Not that the NIS doesn’t stand to be materially affected also by the decreased value.
    Obviously the NIS is fine. The former most senior NIS manager of several years was promoted to Director of Finance, the former chairman of the Board while removed from the BoD was retained on the BoD of the CBB, while numerous members of the former NIS BoD were retained and some promoted. So failure to report financials on a timely basis must be a good thing? Certainly a basis for promotion or continued appointment.
    So let us just wait until we get the hopefully sanitized reports on the NIS, telling us the NIS is worth a fraction of what it should be, but nobody knows how this happened, a series of unfortunate decisions in a very unstable economic climate. Maybe we should earmark Reparation monies to the NIS to fill any voids.

32. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Maybe we should earmark Reparation monies to the NIS to fill any voids.”

oh really??…neat trick NO..lol

reparations…should not be money…in paper form..

and should not go into any government coffers..

…..reparations are meant for the DESCENDANTS OF SLAVES..not for nasty politicians/lawyers/ministers and their bribers..

33. @David
    Horses for courses, one a banker the other a management scientist,not sure that they are eminently qualified for the Chairmanship of the NIS either by training or experience. Notice was made of those personages that led within recent were accountants by training. This will always be bad for this field of endeavour, you need specialists in finance with social security experience along with prudent pension actuaries/ managers and a wise team of wealth/ investment managers.

34. …..reparations are meant for the DESCENDANTS OF SLAVES..not for nasty politicians/lawyers/ministers and their bribers..

Aren’t they also descendants of slaves?!!

You can’t deny Donville his cut of the reparations monies!!

35. If you don’t mind let us leave this reparation exchange for another blog. We have flagged it to death John.

36. David
    April 29, 2019 12:12 AM

If you don’t mind let us leave this reparation exchange for another blog. We have flagged it to death John.

The devil made me do it!!

… but Lord have mercy … it felt tooo sweet!!!

37. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“The devil made me do it!!”

Devil is real busy these days…..lol

38. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Some reality for all the NEGRO SELLOUTS …..

….and …..also for those who are losing hope and are about to give up….to contemplate…

“Hamadi Martin is with Gr845 and Glenn Sweety “G” Toby.
    January 18
    So, you mean to tell me that someone down your ancestry line survived being chained to other human bodies for several months in the bottom of a disease-infested ship during the Middle Passage, lost their language, customs and traditions, picked up the English language as best they could while working free of charge from sunup to sundown as they watched their babies sold from out of their arms and women raped by ruthless slave owners.

Took names with no last names, no birth certificates, no heritage of any kind, braved the Underground Railroad, survived the Civil War to enter into sharecropping…

Learned to read and write out of sheer will and determination, faced the burning crosses of the KKK, everted their eyes at the black bodies swinging from ropes hung on trees…

Fought in World Wars as soldiers to return to America as boys, hosed in Birmingham, beaten in Selma, jailed in Wilmington, assassinated in Memphis, segregated throughout the South, ghettoed throughout the North, ignored in history books, sterotyped in Hollywood…

And in spite of it all someone in your family line endured every era to make sure you would get here.”

Now if you receive one rejection, face one obstacle, lose one friend, get overlooked, you want to quit? How dare you entertain the very thought of quitting.

People you will never know survived from generation to generation so you could succeed. Don’t you dare let them down.

It is NOT in our DNA to quit!”.

39. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

John
    April 28, 2019 8:49 AM

Reportedly, the NIS for Barbados was first articulated by Charles Duncan O’Neale almost a century ago.
    From the moment the concept was aired, some anti-progressive minded members of the white minority on the island rationalized that they were wealthy enough to provide for their unborn great-great-great grandchildren and therefore should not be called upon to contribute to any fund which pays out benefits to perceived poor and needy black Barbadians.
    To this very day, some of these white Barbadians are still demanding that they be allowed to opt out of the NIS.
    Again, the “white elephant” injected to divide when google could have helped Walter keep to simple facts.

John,
    Based on your own writing, let us keep this simple and sweet.

Otto Von Bismarck brought the concept of social security to the world. He articulated the concept FOR GERMANY about 135 years ago.
    LLoyd George first articulated the concept of NIS FOR BRITAIN almost a century ago.
    Franklin Roosevelt first articulated the concept of Social Security FOR THE USA almost a century ago.
    Based on my writing,The NIS FOR BARBADOS was first articulated by Charles Duncan O’Neale almost a century ago.

From the above, I don’t see how any reasonable person could claim that there was a need for me to google to keep simple facts. The facts I presented to you were too difficult?

By the way, how come we can say all manner of things about “black elephants” in Barbados, but from the moment we mention the word “white”, we are accused of injecting a “white elephant” to divide?

The two questions I have just asked you are intended to be rhetorical. That is, no answers are required.

40. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

curley16
    April 28, 2019 3:11 PM

“I would suggest that we further reduce the benefits ,albeit, slightly,remove the integration with private pensions, have a statutory limit on investments with government instruments and property and give the NIS the opportunity to invest within the region.”

curley16
    I have already made the point that Barbadians seem to understand that the funds of the NIS have been mismanaged, and therefore a cut in benefits is inescapable. Rather than castigating politicians and forcing them to manage the NIS funds properly, we are telling them to cut our benefits.This is a useless, timid, incorrect civic response.

The integration of the NIS scheme with private pensions has a great impact on the amount of private pensions paid. However, private pension plans have no impact on the amount of NIS benefits paid.

You will not see any statutory limits being placed on how much of any NIS funds that politicians can utilize, so long as the Minister of Finance has the ultimate say in how and where NIS funds are to be invested. In fact, it might be a worthwhile exercise to determine, if, and how much of the NIS funds end up in the “hands” of any Minister of Finance.

The NIS cannot use Barbadian dollars to invest within the region. So what foreign currency will be used to make the investments? Where will it come from?
    I don’t think you really appreciate the extent to which the economy of Barbados has been savagely and comprehensively sodomized.

41. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

John

“Its insurance and any insurance is a gamble.”

John,

Insurance is a mechanism used to protect the policyholder against the negative effects of EXISTING risks.

Gambling CREATES a risk.

42. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Mariposa
    April 28, 2019 8:57 AM

“Walter So Sinckler should be put in front of a firing squad”

Mariposa,

I try my best to be fair to everyone.

FOR WHAT HE DID TO THE POOR PEOPLE OF BARBADOS, Sinckler deserves to face another firing squad. He faced one in May 2018.
    He worked extremely hard to achieve that honour, and no one in their right mind should try to take it away from him. Not even you.

But remember to “skin out” his pockets first.

LOL.

43. Walter Blackman
    April 29, 2019 8:55 AM

John
    “Its insurance and any insurance is a gamble.”
    John,
    Insurance is a mechanism used to protect the policyholder against the negative effects of EXISTING risks.
    Gambling CREATES a risk.

… like CLICO!! … COLONIAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY!!

Life is a gamble and risk is an inherent part of life.

The difference between NIS and life Insurance (against death) is the beneficiary.

Can you imagine insuring against death?

The NIS depends on the waged paying the way of the unwaged!!

The waged depend on the economy and the economy is a gamble!!

With Life Insurance the beneficiary is not you, unless you have the type that pays you out 65 … and you happen to be alive then …. a gamble.

What is the difference between CLICO and the NIS?

… a rhetorical question!!!

44. I knew a guy, dead now, who was dead set against life insurance and did not use it.

I have relatives who have cashed out a long time ago.

Both I think had the same philosophy.

Insurance is a gamble and they rather control their own money than let somebody else do it for them.

45. Based on my writing,The NIS FOR BARBADOS was first articulated by Charles Duncan O’Neale almost a century ago.

Is that why he was made a National Hero?

46. By the way, how come we can say all manner of things about “black elephants” in Barbados, but from the moment we mention the word “white”, we are accused of injecting a “white elephant” to divide?

How many white or black elephants have you seen?

47. What is the difference between CLICO and the NIS?

… a rhetorical question!!!

.. and Trade Confirmers, and Manufacturer’s Life and the countless other Insurance vendors that have gone belly up in your life?

48. Walter Blackman Avatar

John
    April 29, 2019 9:30 AM

“With Life Insurance the beneficiary is not you….., ”

John,
    In the case of life insurance, the existing risk is “your” premature death. The negative effects are leaving bills and a family with no financial support behind.

Thus, life insurance would be the mechanism used to tackle the negative effects arising from the existing risk of “your” premature death.

Before you start “jumping up and down like a bank-holiday bear” and comparing CLICO with NIS, you need to grasp the basic principle I am showing you first.

Insurance agents and financial advisors have to confront this “insurance is gambling” argument every day, so let us hope that by raising it here, you have succeeded in helping others to know better.

49. Walter Blackman Avatar

John
    April 28, 2019 8:49 AM
    “Again, the “white elephant” injected to divide when google could have helped Walter keep to simple facts”

John
    April 29, 2019 9:39 AM
    “How many white or black elephants have you seen?”

John,
    Have a nice day.

50. Anyone who wants to keep the mention of “black” and “white” out of the discussion does not want us to understand what is happening in Barbados.