There is one nettlesome complaint which keeps surfacing from Barbadians at home or abroad. It is always about lawyers wantonly violating standards of conduct as perceived in the court of public opinion and the ‘system’ repeatedly fail to redress.

These lawyers reallocate client’s monies, delay simple transactions to the detriment of clients financially, emotionally, illegally and otherwise. The result is that the reputation of the profession has been injured.

To heap on the issue for complainants is the inability of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) and the Disciplinary Committee (DC) to discharge its mandate to satisfactorily treat with complaints submitted by general public.

The purpose of this update is to invite members of the public – through a simple process – to highlight matters submitted to the BBA or DC. In turn the blogmaster will track and highlight submissions in this medium and other social media platforms to ensure tension is exerted. The expectation is that parties named will see the benefit of resolving matters and be true to their moral and legal mandates.

This is a pilot project. Response from the public will determine next steps.

The blogmaster gives credit to PUDRYR for his input which led to the creation of this initiative.

355 responses to “File Complaints Against Lawyers —–> HERE”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Besides…as Interpol is going to be domiciled in town from June..why not get info to them… the whole database…..ain’t Dale Whistleblower cleaning up corruption…??

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah trying to help here..ok

3. 5 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Burgess Civil Appeals No. 33 of 2012 and No. 34 of 2012 Nygard Holdings Limited v Michelle May & Allan May 11 February 2015 Appeal against the decision of Cornelius J to set aside the registration of a foreign judgment by the appellant

There was a case heard in the High Court before Cornelius J.

She set aside the registration of a foreign judgment.

Her decision is on appeal in the Court of Appeal.

A decision has been reserved and the litigants await the result … more than 6 monts, looks like since 11 February 2015

So you have to answer the question what was the foreign judgment?

Google seems to provide the answer.

It looks as if the May’s a Florida couple took Peter Nygard and his company to court in the US, 11th circuit.

There was a judgment.

Either Nygard or the May’s filed the judgment in Barbados.

One of these two parties must have assets here which the other needs to satisfy the judgment from the US.

Ok so far?

4. Ideally, the same way google supplied the US decision, it should also supply the decision of Cornelius J.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Piece…remember the last contact, expect it again..

6. Have a read of this link!!

https://winnipegsun.com/2015/07/27/legal-win-for-nygard/wcm/25e0c80f-2131-4ab7-8121-ae7336328244

Looks like the Court of Appeal may have some serious characters before it!!

7. The offshore sector of the Barbados Economy attracts all manner of humankind.

The reason is simple …. it is all about money … very little to do with economic activity!!

8. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

For very important reasons i did not want to broach this subject..but people are feeling very strongly about the sell out, criminal element in the parliament as it relates to black people the majority population being PREVENTED BY BLACK GOVERNMENTS from controlingl anything on the island..

Not even the medical marijuana for which the black majority are still being locked up, marginalized and criminalized by the same black government…so it cannot be ignored.

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/57160425_10161782338170720_6129459248163192832_n.jpg?_nc_cat=107&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=8559f702b86dbce04ef4891217bd569b&oe=5D407981

9. Yes, the Canadians are chomping at the bit, it seems. And we must address that at some point. Why not submit something on it?

10. @ John, good analysis. It is time we Bajans learn to read with a critical eye and think critically. You ask and answer all the right questions.

11. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Donna..would love to, don’t know if you have noticed but i have had to cut back significantly to only one or 2 threads…i have reached my limit, re posting etc….close to 7 years…kinda long….plus am otherwise occupied…so anyone else on the blog can submit…it is other people’s chance to contribute significantly to effect those changes…open those eyes….take control of the narrative at all times..

The blog does not lack for people.

12. I have not even got to an even better case yet!!

13. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

…it is other people’s chance to contribute significantly to AFFECT those changes…open those eyes….take control of the narrative at all times

14. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Thank you John Q

One final question then.

Would one be wrong to assume that

(A).Justice Cornelius, not being up to speed on anything legalese outside of Barbados, sought to administratively “recluse herself” from the matter while pretending to hear it?

(B).Is a judgement of this type a standard action which any skilled justice would be able to action? Or are you suggesting that the level of expertise required IS NOT RESIDENT IN BARBADOS?

You provided some interesting materials earlier

“…The 15 outstanding decisions at Court of Appeal is a data set on its own that also needs analysis…”

You continue by saying

“…Is there one particular High Court Judge that just gets it wrong?..”

A Query of your data, for Judges whose Court decisions are also “Court of Appeal” decisions, would show judge irregularities and frequency of these irregularities

“…Is it perhaps because of the litigants involved…?”

In a way this might be harder to support quantitatively, UNLESS A PATTERN IS SHOWN THAT THESE JUDGES RARELY RULE AGAINST PLAINTIFFS WHENEVER SAID PARTIES ARE INVOLVED (even in the face of compelling evidence against their decisions)

A pattern could be shown, with enough historical data to support this, though

You continue…

“…and is there discrimination by the court against certain litigants?…”

See my remark on historical data above (though bank account information and a judge’s possession of assets inconsistent with the justice’s pay, may be important indicators as well, like how one justice got a plantation???)

And then you asked

“…Do the litigants have anything in common?…” like bribery money perhaps?

Here is a link for Crystal Reports that may be of use to you, that is, if you propose to advance the data you are interrogating further

https://www.dummies.com/software/other-software/creating-a-report-with-crystal-reports-10/

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item here for John Q

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Look what i just found out…

as long as there is an international investigation…am not saying that there is…

and as long as there is an investigation into bribery and corruption at the supreme court…am not saying that there is…

whomever is investigating…will have complete and unfettered access to said database…

so ah don’t think those who are now showing concern need worry any longer…if there is an international investigation.

17. John also indicated that it appears certain peoples have their cases heard very quickly. He also indicated that certain people of certain tones did not have their decision in abeyance for years. I don’t remember if these outcomes were always in the favour of these particular skin tones or not. Those who like to criticize John, should look closely at the people he is more or less representing here.

18. “Nygard’s lawyers taking issue with the CBC’s decision to interview”

” Allan and Michelle May, two oft-convicted con artists”

who previously worked at Nygard’s Bahamian estate, called Nygard Cay.

alleging Nygard “inappropriate conduct” with an underage girl from the Dominican Republic in 2003.”

Scumsukkin muddadukkin degenerates wasting Bajan taxpayers money.

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Piece..scratch the contact…based on the info found above…it will not matter, it null and voided the intent…

If there is an investigation into these corrupt scumbags in parliament and bar association…they are doomed..

Donna..this may be new to you..but we already know all of it..

20. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Scumsukkin muddadukkin degenerates wasting Bajan taxpayers money.”

So what’s new…they are still wasting taxpayers money and endless opportunities for ALL the people and island …..just look at Mia and her idiocy..

The question is…what are we going to do about it..

21. The Mays are a Florida Couple so I assume not Barbados citizens.

Are they also assured of a speedy trial under the constitution as a Barbadian citizen would be?

Nygard Holdings is what appears to be a Barbadian Company.

Can this be assured of a speedy trial under the constitution?

Which litigant(s) can seek damages from the GOB for not providing a speedy trial?

22. Everybody in Barbados has the assurance of protection under the constitution!!

23. Any of the litigants have a just cause!!

24. 7 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Burgess Civil Appeal No. 17 of 2014 Roseal Services Ltd. V Michael Challis et al 5 October 2015 A security for costs application
    8 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Burgess Civil Appeal No. 17A of 2014 Roseal Services Ltd v Michael Challis et al 5 October 2015 A security cost of costs

Just a reminder of what Roseal was!!!

https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/bbtravel/kings-beach-going-going-gone-t5009.html

“The saga surrounding the sale of the now ruined King’s Beach Hotel is about to come to a happy, but incomplete ending.

In an arrangement being managed by Scotiabank Barbados, a deal for the acquisition of the St. Peter property for $32 million is to be sealed on September 13, Barbados TODAY has confirmed.

But investigations also revealed that in a new twist to the long running affair, three non nationals resident in Barbados, Anthony Reid, Michael L. Challis, and Marcus J.F. Clarke, who allegedly pulled out of a May 30, 2008 contract to buy the property for almost $65 million, will now be sued for about $33 million in damages.”

So these numbers when thwarted by a dysfunctional court can be a major problem for a broke Barbados!!

25. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Have they caught the german crook who ran and left owing NIS in that sorry saga..of course not..the dummies just let him leave merrily on his way….how many years is that now…at least 30 years..or more…jokers.

26. Here are the legal fees charged in this case – $2,325,000.

How many hours would a solicitor in the UK have to work to attract these fees?

1000, 2000 or more?

Notice, no taxation, no invoice no nothing … a number plucked from thin air.

http://www.worldcourts.com/ccj/eng/decisions/2012.10.03_Roseal_Services_Ltd_v_Challis.pdf

“In addition counsel for the Respondents made a request for payment of the costs of the applications for summary judgment in the High Court, for leave to appeal in the Court of Appeal and for summary judgment in the Court of Appeal in the total sum of $2,325,000. Mr. Gale Q.C. rejected that request and invited the Respondents‟ counsel, Mr. Belgrave Q.C. to proceed to taxation. Mr. Gale Q.C. indicated that “once these costs have been taxed and finally determined my client will pay your client the cost of the proceedings in the Court of Appeal”.”

27. For laughs!!

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/19/speed-up-justice/

“Asked what was the oldest case of which she knew that required a decision, the Bar Association head replied: “There are some cases that are old in the system, but they have had so many applications on them that the judgments are not outstanding. I am aware of at least one matter in which the judgment has been outstanding for seven years.”

Here are some that are almost as old as the President of the Bar Association.

Justice Lionel Greenidge SC Suit No. 400 of 1993 Desmond Goddard v Lennox Carter 1998

Justice Lionel Greenidge SC Suit No. 1912 of 2000 Jonathan Enterprises Ltd v BS&T Motors Inc. 11 April, 2002

Justice Lionel Greenidge SC Suit No. 1131 of 1996 Denise Layne v Conrad Springer et al 7 June 2002

Justice Lionel Greenidge SC Suit No. 2180 of 2003 Gregory Cumberbatch and Gail Gibson t/a property Restorers v Clarence Festus Thompson 18 January 2005 Application to set aside a default Judgment

Justices Colin Williams, Frederick Waterman and Lindsay Worrell SC Suit No. 15 and 16 of 2000 Edilberto Munoz Coronel & The Superintendent of Prisons & The Attorney General and Jimmy Marques Nagles & the Superintendent of Prisons & The Attorney General. The decision was reversed on 23 January 2002

28. The press should conduct interviews with the litigants of old cases and their lawyers … if they are still living …. and run a series of articles in the press.

Give a prize to the litigants in the oldest case.

Maybe the GOB could pitch in and send them on a cruise!!

29. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ John Q

Not the Press

The Third Party Movement

Using a smart phone.

Asking 8 questions

Q1. What is your name?

Q2. Who is your case against?

Q3. What is in in Brief?

Q4. How much money is involved?

Q5. Who is the Judge?

Q6. Who are the lawyers?

Q7. HOW OLD IS YOUR CASE?

Q8. do you feel you will ever get your day in court? If not, why not?

120 seconds

Then post them here

De grandson would mek de names of de judges and the lawyers and de time flash all through dem matters

SHAME AND BLAME!!!

WHAT DO THEY HAVE TO LOSE John Q?

But my black people docile and stoopid so that ent going happen…

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Here is an internet site that has complaints.

It is a major website

“…MeasuredUp serves as an intermediary between consumers and many service-oriented companies where you can ask questions, post reviews and ask for help.

You can even upload a video in which you explain your frustration.

The site suggests users film “on location” and submit live reviews, which could get more attention than the written versions…”

What is being recommended here is “fighting back”

Fighting against a Constitution that is denying citizens their rights using all sorts of gangster moves two hairs short of killing the poor unsuspecting victims.

SHAME AND BLAME and using SEO to heighten the incidence of the names of these legal fraternity criminals surfacing on the internet.

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

De ole man is seeing the Reverend Bishop Pastor Joseph Atherley out in front de camera in the newspapers recently.

Talking with de poor man, with his back bent humbly, listening, like if he is taking a confession of sins.

De ole man also watched the video with Cynthia Forde doing interviews with unknown respondents and schoolchildren

And suddenly it hits us all that this is about catching the attention of the people.

BIOPICS!!!

BIO + OPTICS how people rather sheeple are being tricked to see these politicians as being caring for the masses.

So we pretend to put the busfare at $3.50 and create a furore then you solve it.

Not the Transport Minister but you solve it, you Mugabe, yourself.

And this is why people cannot be allowed to lose sight of these issues Honourable Blogmaster

IF YOU ARE GENUINELY SERIOUS ABOUT THIS INITIATIVE, you would add another JOTFILE where people WHO HAVE ALREADY SUBMITTED THEIR MATTERS, can indicate if they want to be video taped.

This initiative will mean nothing if you leave it at stage I

But then again that will mean additional high maintenance wouldn’t it?

Just as a matter of interest, what are you proposing next?

You incorrectly state that you propose to use the information “elsewhere on social media to bring tension…”

The word is pressure, you cannot bring tension to bear on an issue, the phrase does not exists in English and the connotation is incorrect.

But back to the substantive question.

“…The purpose of this update is to invite members of the public – through a simple process – to highlight matters submitted to the BBA or DC.

In turn the blogmaster will track and highlight submissions in this medium and other social media platforms to ensure tension is exerted…”

Q1. What do you mean by tracking?

Q2. From the time this blog was launched what do you mean by “highlighting “?

Q3. Does “highlighting” for you just mean hosting? Are we using semantics here?

Q4. You refer to some non specific types of social platforms where you are applying tension.

Are these platforms national secrets?

Q5. How does this arise that this virtual collaboration and fight against “this nettlesome problem” you have social networks where your “George Linnaeus Banks colleagues in the fray” ARE NOT INVITED?

Q6. Are you ashamed of your BU guerillas being among your exclusive digital conferences?

Q7. Or is this a vapourware battlefront where you are over the vale a few clicks, firing off your weapon in the air at imaginary forces?

I just asking because SSS asked you if you were compromised earlier this week AND IT IS NOT THAT YOU SAID NO, YOU JUST IGNORED HER QUESTION!!

So I jes asking again

Q8. Are you compromised?

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with a few questions for you concerning your ongoing commitment to the George Linnaeus Banks thing thank you

33. Here is what happens when a country … not unlike ours … has a corrupt set of leaders

https://sputniknews.com/world/201802071061432323-turks-caicos-hurricane-trial/

From the Governor back down … every man jack is before the courts!!!!

BUUUUTT …. it is costing dearly and may never be solved …. even with UK “help”!!!

Lawyers and Judges making a fortune looking into the problems their brothers created!!

34. “This trial is killing our economy and we have got no results from it. It is one of the longest trials in the history of the Caribbean and people are starting to wake up and think why are we paying for it,” Mr. Grey told Sputnik.

It’s only 10 years and they are complaining!!

As is pretty clear from the data several trials in the Barbados courts have been going on longer!!

I know one that was 20 years old in October last year!!

In fact, I know it pretty good!!

35. @John
    👍
    “The press should conduct interviews with the litigants of old cases and their lawyers … if they are still living …. and run a series of articles in the press.

Give a prize to the litigants in the oldest case. Maybe the GOB could pitch in and send them on a cruise!!”

I have been following your posts here with a great deal of interest. You have provided some food for thought. and ably demonstrated that final justice is often delayed..

You remind me of a phrase by Mae West (with a slight modification ““When I’m good, I’m very good, but when I’m bad, I’m ̶b̶e̶t̶t̶e̶r̶ horriible. ” Stay away from the ‘third rail”.

Very good contributions. 👍

36. A happy and beautiful morning to all Bajans wherever you are. Hope everyone has a great day.
    My day is a bit overcast and seems dull, but I am here looking at what my favorite people Have to say.
    Enjoy the day.

37. I know of a case older than twenty years that was actually started and has been made to disappear apparently. No documents can be found is the excuse. But I happen to KNOW it was started and stalled probably because of connections.

There is no such thing as justice for the ordinary citizen in Barbados. It is a charade!

38. Excellent work by John and great suggestions by Piece. Don’t lose hope, Piece! These young people nowadays ain’t easy. Perhaps they will light a fire under the older folks feet. We have had two recent protests by school children that forced change.

39. You remind me of a phrase by Mae West (with a slight modification ““When I’m good, I’m very good, but when I’m bad, I’m ̶b̶e̶t̶t̶e̶r̶ horriible. ” Stay away from the ‘third rail”.

Thanks Grasshopper,

I will take that as a compliment … however, I don’t think I am really bad … yet!!

Just scratching the surface.

… and Donna, thank you!!

40. Barbados business plan.

Delay until they die.

I talking bout fish not lawyers.Did you know that a bonito takes longer to die than a ning ning or rockhnd after you put dem in de boat ?

41. Hants and fishing. How many people know what a ning ning is? One of the most tasteless fishes in the sea.

42. Actually Mae West borrowed from a nursery rhyme,

There was a little girl
    Who had a little curl
    Right in the middle of her forehead
    When she was good she was very very good
    But when she was bad she was horrid.

John, John,

As a mere mortal I cannot influence truth. Truth IS truth no matter what I say. I consider it to be a waste of my time to try to deny truth, especially the self-evident kind.

Life is too short and I have almost certainly lived more than half of mine. Besides, I have always found that the truth really does set one free!

It is infinitely more fun to present Jack with his jacket than it is to fight him for it and ultimately lose out on getting my own. Because we all know that the truth will come out eventually.

43. @ Dame Bajans,

I respectfully suggest that you are wrong unless you forget that Bajans season their fish unless they are roasting them on the beach.

At a minimum onion,black pepper, salt However my preferred seasoning includes fresh thyme.

44. There are several things wrong with the justice system. The main problem is poor management. The main beneficiaries of the poor management are lawyers.

Perhaps if lawyers were not paid for court appearances where the only business was an adjournment, there would be less adjournments.

45. 1 Hon. Marston Gibson Magisterial Appeal No. 2 of 2011 Teddy Orlando Gill v C.O.P. 26 October 2011 Justice Williams submitted his decision but the Chief Justice has not issued his decision

2 Hon. Marston Gibson CA No. 7 of 2009 Peter Barton v R 24 November 2011 Justice Williams submitted his decision but the Chief Justice has not issued his decision

3 Hon. Gibson, Burgess & Moore Civil Appeal No. 18 of 2013/927 of 2006 Leonie Marbell v Gote Properties In. 6 January 2014 Costs issue

4 Hon. Burgess, Moore & Goodridge Civil Appeal No. 9 of 2014 Trident Insurance Company Ltd. V CGI Consumers’ Guarantee Insurance Company Ltd. 5 December 2014 Application for Leave to extend the time for Leave to Appeal

5 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Burgess Civil Appeals No. 33 of 2012 and No. 34 of 2012 Nygard Holdings Limited v Michelle May & Allan May 11 February 2015 Appeal against the decision of Cornelius J to set aside the registration of a foreign judgment by the apellant

6 CV2 of 2015 RBTT Bank Barbados Ltd. V Fitzroy Adolphus Davis & Lisa Davis 10 June 2015 Appeal against decision of Clarke J (Ag.)

7 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Burgess Civil Appeal No. 17 of 2014 Roseal Services Ltd. V Michael Challis et al 5 October 2015 A security for costs application

8 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Burgess Civil Appeal No. 17A of 2014 Roseal Services Ltd v Michael Challis et al 5 October 2015 A security cost of costs

9 Hon. Gibson, Mason & Goodridge Civil Appeal No. 16 of 2016 Sigma Construction Inc. v Birch Development et al 28 March 2017 An application for leave to appeal out of time

10 Hon. Gibson, Goodridge & Reifer(Ag.) CA No. 23 of 2017 Tara Alleyne v QEH Board 14 November 2017

11 CA3 of 2014 Olympiad v RBTT Decision outstanding on appeal and cross-appeal on the question of costs

12 CA No. 6 of 2010 Marjorie Ilma Knox and John Vere Evelyn Deane and Eric Ashby Bentham Deane

13 CA No. 15 of 2013 Apsara Restaurants (Barbados) Limited v Guardian General Insurance Limited

14 Hon. Marston Gibson CV6 of 2010 Omar DaCosta Holder v The Queen

15 Hon. Goodridge, Burgess & Chandler No. 1526 of 2016 Grenville Winslow Phillips v RCTD Holdings Limited and Silver Point Villa Hotel Inc.

The CJ’s name is called for most of the outstanding decisions.

I would have thought that one of the two justices of appeal with whom he sat would have been tasked with writing the decision.

His real job is managing and captaining the ship.

This raises an exrewmely serious question.

Is he being undermined?

46. … extremely

47. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Barbados business plan.

Delay until they die.”

Pretty much…or just help them along if they are taking too long..

They now have to look for a new plan, but they are outta luck…it is the only one they had, just like the one trick pony tourism….mis-education at work.

48. Interesting!

49. When a judge demits office it means that besides the outstanding decisions for which he/she can be rightly chided there are also a host of other matters for which responsibility needs to be passed on to another judge who will have to start from scratch.

All the talk about changing the constitution to allow judges to be removed should be very carefully considered.

A judge is forced to retire at a certain age by the constitution unlike the Justices in SCOTUS who have their post for life.

Ideally, he/she is winding down and finishing his/her assignments as retirement approaches and it is a managed process.

No retired Judge should have outstanding decisions, that is scandalous.

Death or incapacity are the only excuses.

So here I am wondering why the PM is talking about removing judges!!

The two who have gone, Mason and Burgess, have been effectively promoted.

However they have left outstanding decisions behind them.

50. … are there any appeals they were in the process of hearing?