There is one nettlesome complaint which keeps surfacing from Barbadians at home or abroad. It is always about lawyers wantonly violating standards of conduct as perceived in the court of public opinion and the ‘system’ repeatedly fail to redress.

These lawyers reallocate client’s monies, delay simple transactions to the detriment of clients financially, emotionally, illegally and otherwise. The result is that the reputation of the profession has been injured.

To heap on the issue for complainants is the inability of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) and the Disciplinary Committee (DC) to discharge its mandate to satisfactorily treat with complaints submitted by general public.

The purpose of this update is to invite members of the public – through a simple process – to highlight matters submitted to the BBA or DC. In turn the blogmaster will track and highlight submissions in this medium and other social media platforms to ensure tension is exerted. The expectation is that parties named will see the benefit of resolving matters and be true to their moral and legal mandates.

This is a pilot project. Response from the public will determine next steps.

The blogmaster gives credit to PUDRYR for his input which led to the creation of this initiative.

355 responses to “File Complaints Against Lawyers —–> HERE”

1. We file a complaint against all lawyers, as a class.

And insist on the general application of that most French of instruments.

2. All Lawyers, Also the Crime Minister and All lawyer that dealt with Violet Beckles when she was alive publish list,

3. DPP Bagg-Agard

4. Where would you file a complaint against judges for delay … one of them being the Governor General?

5. @John

You are savvy enough to know her cases were assigned to another judge.

6. I am also savvy enough to know that the other judge is in the High Court, not the Court of Appeal!!

7. I am also savvy enough to know that the court of appeal reserved its decision on 4th July 2016!!

8. Came across this recently

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/04/pm-constitutional-amendments-important-to-barbados-progress/

“She spoke specifically to the delays in judgments which have plagued the judicial system for several years, in introducing a new provision under which judges can be dismissed from the Bench if they take more than six months to deliver a decision on any matter that comes before them. She outlined once again the idea that “justice delayed is justice denied”.

“The Crown is at risk for damages because the right to due process is not delivered. There are too many people in the criminal and civil realm waiting for eight to ten years for a judgment, and in personal injury cases people cannot move forward because the money is tied up.”

While in agreement with the new provision on the grounds for the removal of judges, Leader of the Opposition, Bishop Joseph Atherley, said the judges will need more administrative staff to help them make decisions in a more efficient fashion. “You cannot tell someone to do a job in six months when they don’t have the support they need to do their jobs properly. The integration of technology will also become an issue where this is concerned.”

Just a stupid question but if the constitution is amended to allow to judges to be removed for delay who will write their decisions when they get removed?

9. @David, can we highlight the manipulation of lawyers in access cases who abuse the court system just to get another payday from Legal Aid. Many cases languish in the system for years which mediation can solve.

Fathers & Parents For Justice Barbados

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

First of all Honourable Blogmaster, you are to be commended for the effort.

It is noted that, unlike others of your articles which arise from contributions and contributors on your blog, not a single word of “credit” is as ribbed to Piece uh de Rock Yeah Right for this Jotform

The issue here that you have alluded to with your comment and I quote is

“…This is a pilot project. Response from the public will determine next steps…”

There was and is no need to say this at all Honourable Blogmaster

And I will Cite the reasons.

The viewing public WHILE THEY ARE CAPTIVATED BY THE CONCEPT, as would any sensible person, ARE UNSURE OF ITS BONAFIDES.

Let me explain.

I Piece, though the suggester, cannot become the Keeper of these Records, because I am Delusional

But equally so, NEITHER CAN YOU!

And that is not only because, of late your bonafides have been questioned.

No, it’s a question of what you said “WHAT NEXT??”

And this is why you nor I were never supposed to RUN THE ONLINE OMBUDSMAN but an academic like The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch!!!

Let me share a little more of the full concept so you understand 12 years of its reasoning.

The Average Man, and Woman, in Barbados and those countries that interact with the legal fraternity of Barbados HAS/HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN OUR LEGAL SYSTEM,

Resultedly simultaneous to the Establishment of the Online Ombudsman, there needs to be an equal reposing of Confidence IN THE MANAGEMENT OF THE MATTER!!

You and others have not thought this through, I have, I even went to Norway with this but that is enough on the distance the concept has travelled

What I want you specificall to understand is that our hands David “have too much blood on them” for us to be allowed to build/host the Tabernacle of the Online Ombudsman

Even now you still have the 2 Veoma Ali Articles up though Veoma is Dead, no sireeee, we are tainted like Grenville is tainted meat.

But we, David BU, are the messengers, we chating the course for the promised Land but we ent going set foot there, because we are not worthy

Here is what I humbly suggest that you use the form to do.

Ask visitors to the site to fill it out with imagined issues.

Use the validation to limit the contents and then create your reports based on the 10 points that you and Theophillus Gazerts composed last week in your other Blog

And then append that reports here!

Show the viewers to BU what this simple form would do to ENFORCE ATTORNEY COMPLIANCE DAVID!

Once you have done this, then you and I and others (who have been courted) see it at work WILL UNDERSTAND WHAT HAS BEEN SHOWN.

AND WHAT WILL BE!!!

Arent you tired talking David of BU?

Arent you tired of rehashing the same old articles every two years?

Let Us Change This Equation sir.

We have the Grey Brain Matter to Make the Change as Craftsmen of our Fate.

But then again maybe this is a Bridge Too Far for you too and you are directed by A POWER BEHIND YOUR THRONE?

I must ask Mr. Vincent Codrington about this, maybe he will be able to say why you were unable to give any credit to the ole man for THE JOTFORM?

But then again, if Mugabe can do that, why cant you? Or anyone else?

Our Role is NOT TO MANAGE THIS DAVID, IT IS TO FACILITATE…

11. @Kammie

Members of the public have control to influence the outcome of this pilot or other related initiatives. The blogmaster is showing what is possible.

12. @PUDRYR

We all have roles to play. There will always be the argument we can do more. The blogmaster is showing what is possible coming out of the BU project. No the blogmaster is not tired talking. What he is tired of is many here taking potshots at innocent targets.

Will repeat this for your benefit. This is a pilot effort. You and others are free to make suggestions. There is no need to make an issue of not giving you credit highlighting the jotform or tension you have given to such an approach. Be assured it was not deliberate and will be rectified.

Postscript: well wishers send private notes to the blogmaster with suggestions almost every week to share observations.

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I spent a few moment just now creating a comprehensive backstory about the IDB funds that actually exist for this project

That whole item crashed because of this new tor browser but I will construct it again with a hope you understand the complexities of what this involves.

A few moments and I will return with a condensation of that item

14. @PUDRYR

Sometimes one has to take baby steps. Let us show others waiting in the shadows what is possible that it may inspire them.

15. @John

Are you anticipating the Chief Justice will be unable to reassign the case? Also how often should we anticipate a sitting judge would be sacked?
    Finally, do you disagree with decommissioning a judge for non-performance?

16. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

“The Online Ombudsman

A Few Core Functions of the Online Ombudsman ‘s are to receive and facilitate the investigations of complaints from aggrieved persons and entities against individuals, government agencies, statutory bodies and corporations and / or officials of such agencies and organisations…”

Remember this?

http://imgur.com/C8AUccI

We CANNOT CARRY THIS BACK INTO THE SAME OLD SAME OLD sewer of thought and create a commercial activity like a credit bureau ELSE IT DIES IN UTERO.

It has to reside within “a credible matrix” and have an enabler, or enablers, like a Jeff Cumberbatch, and a Senator Caswell Franklyn, and a Leighton Trotman.

anything else is an abortion of the concept David of BU

you are rushing something which must be planned carefully.

I suggest this David of BU.

Ask BU users to populate the form with mock data PURPOSELY David of BU

And in two weeks generate a report for them to see what the Online Ombudsman is capable of.

Ask them to share the link David of BU!! Ask them to share it with people David

I will try and do a Stoopid Cartoon to give an idea of what the Concept is (tomorrow is tight, I am here preparing for a session so I cant do it before then…)

This is what “Civic Participatory Methodology” is – you are validating Barbados Underground in this space AFTER MUCH ADO, as a major activist for positive change, you are a de facto Third Party Movement activist.

but I, with my delusional self, have been here years ago.

Get these three men on board David of BU as the faces of Transparency and Accountability within that 2 week time frame.

listen to the ole man David of BU, “i am not Gandalf the Gray, i am Gandalf the White”

Pause, rethink, deploy.

You need to understand the power of this Concept and What it Will Do!

Nurture it slowly, dont kill it!

it is a nation that is going to benefit from it, this has regional implications.

“The Barbados Government and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) have a US$12.5 million loan agreement to finance its Administration of Justice Program…” A dated item but there are things that exist that…

Jeff Cumberbatch and the University of the West Indies have the credibility required for this.

He also has the students who can be coopted in what is a Good Governance project David of BU

when I told you months ago that I had a proposal, you shifted me, and that is understood David of BU.

you dont understand where I am coming from regarding the country that has abandoned me, but that is okay David of BU

you dont need to, ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS WATCH MY DELIVERABLES!!

WHEN WHAT I SHOW WORKS, then you have your evidence of whether I wish to undermine the corrupt in Barbados or undermine the economy.

if treason and high treason is the reward for pursuing the former, and running such men and women from office, then I am guilty of treason

but if all I want is to disband the agents of despotism and support the latter, then history will commend us few who use our skills only fight for that objective.

or so one would fool oneself to believe that is what we do at these strange hours of the night…

We may not have the luxury of taking baby steps, I’m afraid and a baby after 52 years of independence at 2019 best be subjected to euthanasia to ease this suffering we are being subjected to

17. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with another item here.

And yes I do accept that we are not alone one thing that I can say is that you come out in the open with your observations while the others hide

You do know when this works that you are going to be very much a hated activist in Barbados right?

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I was told to check BU. I said what for? David has started something that if it TAKES OFF will place a tremendous amount of pressure on the law fraternity of Barbados. I came here and saw something fresh, something new, and a move, hopefully, the real David, that more or less proves he is still serious about the BU motto and the purpose behind the blog. I am surprised and yet not surprised. The real David would do something like this. The BLP ass kissing David is all about the toeing the line with the Rogue-Works administration. Be that as it may, this David must be commended for lighting a flame under the wicked regime that practices law for themselves.. BU will now become the target of that nasty establishment. I hope the real David knows that he will be supported in this venture. Good solid contribution and a warranted move. I salute you.

19. @PUDRYR

BU has established a reputation of protecting our sources. Members of the public are free to submit with this assurance. Others are also free to run with the project. The blogmaster does not have the time, at this time, to be shackled to an exercise that will require high maintenance.

20. The following two comments posted by Grenville Phillips, leader of Solutions Barbados, to another blog. Grenville please join the fight on this matter.

Hi David:

You have identified the root cause of the problem – lawyers’ fees are legislated.

For your information, the FTC tried to address this in 2004 to encourage competition among lawyers to benefit the public. Something seemed to have spooked them, so they abandoned this effort entirely and directed their resources against all other professions. In 2007, they intimidated all professions except lawyers to abandon a minimum scale of fees.

http://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/14/barbadians-cry-out-as-barbados-bar-association-continue-to-protect-crooked-lawyers-and-dysfunctional-system/comment-page-1/#comment-1182553

Hi David:

I attended the presentation of that follow-up report in 2007. However, the FTC have been unsuccessful in addressing lawyers’ fees for at least the past 15 years (since 2004). Unless there is a significant change in management, we should not expect a change of this issue.

http://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/14/barbadians-cry-out-as-barbados-bar-association-continue-to-protect-crooked-lawyers-and-dysfunctional-system/comment-page-1/#comment-1182602

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you kindly

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Here is narrative fo a proposed Visual story board for the Pilot

It will be 49 to 56 seconds

I used your language/narrative from the blog above to arrive at the proposed visual board.

“P” stands for Pane.

P1. Barbadians at home or abroad

complain about lawyers using and abusing their monies & property

P2. Many lawyers

“reallocate” client’s monies, by delaying transactions

reallocate means teif

P3. & what makes it worse is that people have little recourse

Because when they go to the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) and the Disciplinary Committee

They get unfaired …

P4. Enter the Online Ombudsman

This Service is GATEWAY where members of the public – will submit matters that they have or will submit to the BBA or DC.

P5. This Pilot proposed a New Way by which Bajans can track their submissions

& ensure pressure is exerted

on these agencies to do their jobs

P6. We believe that this Gateway

wiil aid bajans in resolving matters that are currently

LEFT DANGLING…

P7. This is just a pilot project.

Response from the public will determine IF BAJANS WANT TO ADVANCE THIS

OR WANT US TO STOP

I would have done it previously but I only have my phone and iPad. Now looks like I’m back on Wednesday and not Tuesday

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I posted this previously but…

Freedom Crier or Sand Devil as I call her, is always on about capitalism.

Let me show you why Grenville Phillips ‘ strategy will never work!

Donna says ” will a snake cut off it’s own head?” NO IT WILL NOT

BUT, and here is where Freedom Crier ‘s capitalist chant, and Donna’s wisdom, congeal positively if only this once (and that is “an oxymoron of personalities” for you)

This Online Ombudsman will list all the lawyers, the performing ones and the non performing ones AND THEIR RATES.

And the referrals, commendations, performances and non performances WILL CREATE WHAT THE FTC, Grenville the talker, AND ALL THE REST, COULD NOT DO FOR 17 years!!!

Push it David of BU to the point where you cannot got any further, SOMEONE WILL COME TO TAKE IT FROM YOU.

SOMEONE CALLED BAJANS CITIZENS

Ask Jeff to create the structure based on a cooperative and set up the assets of the structure under a foundation

Before I say anything else, get feedback from the Dean, but suffice it to say, there is a pathway.

Hosting the initiative for a 3 month period cant hurt David of BU and it is at a “non tainted” site at Jotfiles let the organism grow.

De ole man would “help” with my delusional self.

All you need to do is post the questions to Jeff and Caswell here on BU and Leighton as well (he is near to retirement is he not?)

All three are trusted men a d even if busy, will only refer people that they trust to carry on in their stead.

And Jeff can write a constitution for the entity that would remove any offender!

24. David
    April 16, 2019 1:05 AM

Are you anticipating the Chief Justice will be unable to reassign the case? Also how often should we anticipate a sitting judge would be sacked?
    Finally, do you disagree with decommissioning a judge for non-performance?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How would you suggest a case which has been already heard and is awaiting a decision be reassigned?

The case would have to be reheard which means the litigants would have to find a whole second set of legal fees to pay their lawyers!!

Have you thought about what is involved in decommissioning a judge for non-performance means?

If you are savvy enough, go through the 2016 list of non performing judges (outstanding decisions) you published here!!

https://barbadosunderground.net/2016/09/19/outstanding-decisions-in-barbados-courts-dont-blame-me/

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/09/2016-outstanding-decisions-august-2016.pdf

If you use this list to define non-performance then here is a list of Judges who you would have decommissioned in 2016.

Worrell

Reifer

Cornelius

Roberts

Chandler …. recently promoted to the Court of Appeal

Alleyne

Richards

Jackson

Gibson

Burgess – promoted to the CCJ

Mason – promoted to GG

Goodridge

What you could do to determine non-performance is publish the current list in 2019 and see how many judges were able, over the past 3 years, correct their non-performance in 2016.

My bet is you will find none!!

See how many would be left if you decommissioned the judges on the 2016 list you published, allowing the 3 year period as a period for correcting non performance!!

The entire unholy racket, lawyers, judges, clerks etc making up the court would. it appears, have to be disbanded.

The list above does not include the retired judges like Greenidge, Williams and Moore who no longer have the opportunity to correct their non performance!!.

It would appear from the list above that a promotion often follows non-performance.

25. Maybe the constitution should be amended to remove the right of a citizen to a speedy trial that way performance is no longer an issue.

26. Do the exercise, list the non performing judges from 2016 and see who made the effort to bring themselves into compliance.

27. We are told that BU has a reputation for protecting sources. We have also been told that BU cooperates privately with the authorities. May be the extent of this cooperation can be explained.

28. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“The entire unholy racket, lawyers, judges, clerks etc making up the court would. it appears, have to be disbanded.”

At least 3 judges need removing from that bench NOW…the corrupt practices attributed to them will keep the court infested with their cancer, it is not even a secret anymore just how corrupt these judges are, it is so bad that even some lawyers are concerned..,…and the PM, GG and AG KNOWS that they are corrupt.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/16/corrupt-security/

Only now are they getting serious, but not serious enough to give up the lowlife ministers and business people in the community involved in the massive trafficking of drugs since the 70s and guns since the 80s..they all know who they are…but yall are going to give them up…ya only think that ya wont.

29. INTERESTING…Bail Act flaw, says attorney

Flawed, unconstitutional and not thoroughly thought through!

This is how attorney-at-law Alyvan Babb, is describing Government’s recent changes to the Bail Act, which he said has left him confused.

Recently Attorney General Dale Marshall announced in Parliament that anyone facing a murder charge would only be considered for bail after they have spent 24 months in custody.

However, Babb is contending that the changes were not the answer to solving the issues being faced in Barbados as it relates to persons already on bail returning to the streets.

The attorney said he held the view that the problem was a justice system that does not work.

“I live in Barbados just like all of you. I am affected by crime just like all of you, and I too would want to see a solution for the issues that we are facing. But tampering with the Bail Act is not the solution,” he said.

The amended act now reads as follows: “ . . . In any case where a person is charged with murder, treason and high treason or an offence under the Firearms Act which is punishable with imprisonment of ten years or more that such a person shall not be granted bail unless 24 months have passed.”

“So that’s a two-year sentence based on what, an allegation? In trials and in evidence, there is data from judges which says that a witness may be honest but mistaken. And if you really think about it in your every day life, I am sure that at some stage everyone of you have either touched someone that you found out to be the wrong person, shouted for someone that you found out to be the wrong person, or even spoke to someone that you found out to be the wrong person, and that is a person that was standing right in front of you.

“So isn’t margin and error greater when the police who weren’t there who is acting on the strength of information, wouldn’t the margin be greater that they may also have the wrong person?

“And it is for that reason that some countries have totally abolished the death penalty. So how do you tell me that I am charged and I am to be sentenced for two years up front when in fact the evidence after a trial may in fact show that the witness had the wrong person?”

Babb voiced his concerns about the changes, as he delivered remarks on the topic The Bail Act And The 2019 Amendments, at the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) Astor B. Watts Lunchtime Lecture Series, held at the Errol Barrow Gallery, DLP Headquarters, George Street, St Michael.

It was there Babb also indicated that while the fears of society must be taken into consideration, Government still has a responsibility to make correct decisions that do not conflict with the Constitution.

“Two wrongs don’t make a right. If the two-year sentence passes and a trial has not began, what are you going to do with that five-time offender…except let him go again. So it shows you that the issue is not the Bail Act. The trial of offenders in a reasonable time is the key to solving the problem,” he said.

30. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“BU will now become the target of that nasty establishment. ”

Ah…but there are nastier people out here..,and much, much BIGGER and BADDER demons.

As long as president Mia and the “nasty establishment” knows.

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

…and the current CHIEF JUSTICE, who has overstayed his welcome by 10 years, the PM, GG and AG ALL KNOW that these judges are corrupt.

32. @John

Thanks, this is the point to be made!

33. William Skinner Avatar

This is an interesting development: taking a relevant issue and operating as a quasi pressure group / consumer advocate.
    The major benefit will be the silencing of the party hacks and apologists because the legal fraternity is well represented in both camps and the complicity is there.
    Perhaps we will finally understand why integrity legislation remains in the dust bin.

34. On, on…David……… excellent initiative….hope those who have been “un-faired” by lawyers will open their mouths. Not me but know someone waiting near 5 years now for a divorce hearing…… some ‘system’ we have !!!

35. PIECE

We humbly disagree on one point made at 11:36 where you suggested Jeff Cumberbatch as referee, ombudsman – the like.

While we think that Cumberbatch is as decent and upright a citizen as there is, or could be, we have yet to meet one of the brothers/sisters who has been willing to go against the very root structures of that fraternity.

And we dare say that no other man/woman alive ever will. Only the divine guillotine has the ability to cut out this abscess from the body politic.

36. @PUDRYR
    BU has established a reputation of protecting our sources. Members of the public are free to submit with this assurance. Others are also free to run with the project. The blogmaster does not have the time, at this time, to be shackled to an exercise that will require high maintenance.

Could this journalistic standard still be as grounded as previously given the developments with Assange, Manning, Benny, et al.

We have a superpower in decline and standards for ‘journalism’ are slipping, long have been, for some at least.

In your case, we would proffer that if empire outsourced the squeezing of your testicles by the special branch, or should local circumstances required it, you will sing like a choir boy. LOL

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!!

BU too sweet for days!

Wunnuh see what does happen when these two conspirators get together?
    Wunnuh see what does happen when a simple problem that needs a management solution leads to ?

38. @Pacha

Yours is an extreme example. Empire has no need with a simple blogmaster.

39. Was not Assange ‘a simple blogmaster’?

40. Our maybe simple but we fear will be the new normal

41. David

You should get into the habit of reading freedom of information act disclosures and see how many ‘simple’ people in Barbados, and elsewhere, that empire has files on.

42. Why do you think your ‘man’ Wickham as passing messages

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

“It would appear from the list above that a promotion often follows non-performance.”
    Nor is it restricted only to legal/judicial. It’s a Bajan thing.

44. @Pacha

The Wickham mention in Wikileaks saga is an overrated concern.

45. David

So you don’t think that empire has ‘birdies’ and systems everywhere collecting ‘intelligence’.

46. @Pacha

That is not the point. How fertile is intelligence gathered from a 2×3 place?

47. The modus operandi has always been.
    1) Seek out persons in financial straits.
    2) Massage the egos of those who like to eat and drink who think they are superior to others.

Reading a job description for a PolOf it interesting to find part of the JD requiring the ability to recruit persons who are persons of influence from such areas as judiciary, military, PEPs and media houses.

Well I know I ain’t get invite for no amount class or type of finger foods or big mouth drinks can cause me to spill my guts to appease our masters. Field Slaves and House Slaves are still part of the Bajan landscape. #GoatsieSheepleSyndrome

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE In your case, we would proffer that if empire outsourced the squeezing of your testicles by the special branch, or should local circumstances required it, you will sing like a choir boy.

WILL HE SING IN THE PRISTINE VOICE OF THE PRE- PUBESCENT TREBLE BOY
    OR IN THE VOICE OF THE TREBLE VOICE WHOSE VOICE HAS BROKEN?

49. (Bread and butter only)
    (Not a DLP or BLP thing)

————————The other side of John—–
    I followed one of John’s link back to 2016 and it seems as if the flow of illegal drugs was one of the main topics at that time? Can anyone tell me one concrete action that has been done to stop the flow of guns into the country since 2016?

——————–Gone but not forgotten————-
    I also ran into a comment from Amused. Again, I was impressed by this man’s contribution to the discussions we have here. RIP, fellow blogger, your shoes remain unfilled.

—————–Seeking a volunteer————————–
    We need just one patriotic, honest and intelligent lawyer to contribute (even anonymously) on BU and we will all benefit as a nation. With over 1100 legal eagles in Barbados we know you are out there? Unlike others, I don’t want to know your name, contribute anonymously if you want.

50. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Besides Jeff and Amused, many lawyers used to contribute to BU…but mostly to cover up so they all dont get exposed….seeing that most of them disappeared off the Blog…the covering up thingy did not work out too well…because they had bad intentions.

Amused, like Jeff, was one of a kind.