The following letter was shared by a trusted source – David, blogmaster

Dear Editor,

The Sandals Barbados fiasco: Throwing out the baby with the bathwater, otherwise known in the Caribbean as snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

My name is James Bristol. I am a lawyer from Grenada and I negotiated the incentive agreements with the government of Barbados on behalf of Sandals.

I have read the recent statements both from the Prime Minister and Sandals and would like to clarify certain matters.

May I state from the outset that I have no political axe to grind and no political affiliations in Barbados.

I met the former Minister of Finance for the first time during the negotiations of the incentives and have not met him since.

I know the Prime Minister both as a colleague and as a friend.

The Sandals Barbados incentives are based on those which I negotiated for Sandals in respect of the Sandals Grenada hotel. The Barbados incentives are more generous than those in respect of Grenada.

The present Prime Minister of Grenada publicly expressed his initial concern over the generous incentives granted to Sandals in Grenada by the previous administration.

However, on attaining office and seeing the financial benefits of the Sandals investment in Grenada, the Prime Minister, not only endorsed the incentives granted, but added to them by including a tax stabilization clause to ensure that the incentives, and therefore the financial viability of the investment by Sandals, was not threatened or whittled away by future legislation.

The Sandals Grenada incentives took effect during a period of financial austerity under the IMF. The IMF program was successfully completed notwithstanding the Sandals incentives which incentives were fully implemented and respected by the Government at all times.

A large part of Grenada’s economic recovery has been attributed to Sandals and I am aware that the Grenada Government is doing all that is within its power to facilitate a Beaches Resort here.

Grenada’s enhancement extends to one of the most sophisticated call centres in the region with over 100 employees and increasing. All from Sandals!

As it is well known, Grenada‘s performance has been applauded by the IMF and Grenada is recording one of the highest rates of growth in the Caribbean.

Indeed, the Sandals incentive model has been adopted by the Government of Grenada for other hotel investments.

If Grenada can survive an IMF program while these incentives are in place and come out with flying colours despite the incentives, why is Barbados finding it difficult to honour an agreement reached in good faith between itself and Sandals?

The Barbados agreement was given effect by Statutory Instruments laid before Parliament under the applicable legislation. I drafted those statutory instruments in conjunction with the government’s legal department.
Far from insisting on additional incentives, Sandals is simply seeking to have certain incentives, not within the Statutory Instruments but within the Incentives Agreement, embodied in some form which would give a level of comfort to its bankers and itself to the extent that the financial basis for the investment remains stable so as to guarantee the ability to repay the loans in respect of the proposed Beaches project.

The Barbados incentives agreement contains a clause which mandates the Government to pass all laws and take all steps which are necessary to give effect to the agreement.

So, the Government is mandated to find avenues to give effect to its obligations under the agreement.

Much has been said over the years about Barbados giving Sandals too much by way of these incentives. Indeed, the same has been said in Grenada and Antigua.

The truth is that none of these countries has given away anything because without the incentives Sandals would not have invested. If Sandals did not come the Government would not have a development nor the benefit of the taxes. Therefore, if Sandals does come and pays reduced taxes, the Government has lost nothing. On the other hand, by Sandals coming, the Government has gained everything by way of the investment and its associated benefits. Sandals is the entity taking the risk by investing its money and being unable to dig up its hotels and take them away if things turn sour.

The way I see the incentives agreement is akin to an invitation to a friend to come to one’s home. The invitation allows them through the door and once inside the benefits of that friendship accrue.

The initial investment which Sandals proposed was the construction of two hotels: Beaches and Sandals.

But an added benefit arose as the Sandals Casuarina hotel has morphed into two hotels, Sandals Barbados and Royal Barbados, at about the same level of investment which was envisaged for the two original hotels, the total invested thus far being over US$300 million.

With the Beaches project the total investment is about US$750 million. Barbados now stands to benefit from 3 hotels as opposed to 2.

The corresponding employment and other benefits have been well documented by others with greater knowledge than me in this regard.

No one can argue that Sandals has delivered over and above what it agreed to do. Has the Government fully delivered on what it contracted to do?

The simple question I would pose to the Government and people of Barbados is this: would it benefit your country if there were no Sandals hotels? Think of the benefits of Sandals building the five star Beaches as opposed to the negative impact on your country and economy if the project is cancelled?
The answers are obvious: any investment of the type made by Sandals is a benefit.

Do not throw out the baby with the bathwater. Mia please call Keith. Keith, please explain to Mia.

James Bristol
Henry, Henry & Bristol
P. O. Box 386
4 & 6 Lucas Street
St. George’s
Grenada

194 responses to “Sandals Barbados Backstory”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Another shite lawyer…easily bought and can be sold at any time…only thing on their weak ass corrupt minds is making sure their people stay dependent on parasitic shitehounds like Sandals…

Ask him if he can think of another way to enrich and empower his own people and his 2 brain cells will shut down for weeks..

2. From ;Hon: Alex-Mitchell :El Of Barbados
    President of Barbados
    Bajan Free Party& Coalition of Unified Parties BFP/C.O.U.P
    Pine Hill Road Barbados
    alex.alex99@gmail.com Whats app 246-821-7939

To:James Bristol
    Henry, Henry & Bristol
    P. O. Box 386
    4 & 6 Lucas Street
    St. George’s
    Grenada
    Affidavit of Truth By the Hon: Alex-Mitchell:El

We thank you for your Open Letter on BU, At this time Barbados is being run by a Criminal Group know as the BBLP Party headed By A Crime Ministers, Her Family and Roots are in A Massive Land Fraud and PONZI running with CLICO, We as Bajans Welcome any investment once all lawful and legal clean. The Problem We as Bajans do not want is Anyone, Group or Government investors building on The Citizen of Barbados lands without ownership and ' Clear Title" The governments of Barbados and in the Caribbean has been bulling crooks taking from the poor giving to the rich, Make sure that the land offered  to build on belongs to the government and the True owner are paid in full with a deed recorded at the Land Registry,Do not buy into the CrownLand lies,Seek.

Many Projects come alone in Barbados during election time to gain votes, and many have failed for “Clear Title” search being Done, 1913-2019 Most are looking at money and underpaid workers with rude and disrespectful management, We are not slaves for anyone and Your Butch need to know that very Clear! Pay a living wage or Hall his Ass-est!

This Government has removed 126 Years of Barbados History Records, dealing with land ownership to cover their crimes, All Slave records seem to be intact from and before 1661. You are Welcome to come and do the “Title Seach” at our Archives and Trust no one, lawyers or Crime Minister to give the word that all is order. For whatever you Trespass on shall be held by the True Owner/s with the Right Lawful Government in Place, Its only a Matter of Time!

Make sure as their lawyer that you Ask Questions Yourself to the Crime Minister about Beatrice Henry 1892-1985 and Violet Beckles 1918-2010. Please take no smiles and handshakes with this snake, Do your Homework or Butch may Fire You if He finds out you did not do Your Duliagents in protecting his company Reputation. Do not behave like a Bajan Lawyer! Bigger the title bigger the crook! You have been warned, Trust none! Facts

This Will also be posted on My Facebook page in case it’s removed,

https://www.facebook.com/Bajan-Free-Party-BFP-HonAlex-MitchellEl-1767331239973521/
    https://www.facebook.com/alexmitchell.el/
    Affidavit By the Alex-Mitchell :El March25th 2019

3. After perusal of the above, it further enforces what Dr. Cardinal Ward said in the paper yesterday.

4. It is good to read about the issues mentioned by the PM and AG last week that are challenging the consummation of the agreement. Sandals is within their right to seek comfort to satisfy their ROI expectation given the heavy investment. Barbados government is also within its right based on the investment appetite to accept or decline.

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

This is a letter from the lawyer who drafted the incentive agreement/ Why am I not surprised. Does a fisherman ever tell his customers that his fish stinks?

Stupssseee!!!!

6. @Simple Simon

The shareholders/owners identifies the ROI and other similar indicat. The lawyers draw the agreement to capture. Stay focused!

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@James bristol “I know the Prime Minister both as a colleague and as a friend….why is Barbados finding it difficult to honour an agreement reached in good faith between itself and Sandals?”

This is a response from one of us who has lived in Barbados for nearly 70 years and who have paid taxes in Barbados for nearly 50 years, and who will continue paying taxes in Barbados until I die. That is this is a response from a person who has paid BOTH Mr. Bristol’s wages and who continues to pay the Prime Minister’s wages. It is because of us that both Mr. Bristol and the Prime Minister have money in their pockets.

Dear Mr. Bristol: It is NOT Barbados that has to honour this agreement. It is taxpayers like me who have to honour it. We the people. We are having difficulty managing our own basic needs. Some of us who are not highly paid lawyers and are not Prime Ministerial friends have to pay our own bills, pay for Sandals’ incentives, pay your legal fees, and pay the Prime Minister’ wages. For some of us an extra $45. a month for sewage services which we do not receive, and for garbage collection which has not improved is too much. Some of us continue to pay high priced Prime Ministers, and high priced lawyers even while we cannot afford to fix the holes in our own roof.

That is why Mr. Bristol.

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David March 25, 2019 7:31 AM

Dear David: I am deeply, deeply focused. Please see my post of 7:33 a.m. I am a simpleton. I don’t know any big words, but I know what an empty pocket feels like.

Do you know that feeling too?

Does Mr. Bristol?

Does the Prime Minister?

Does Mr. Stuart/Stewart?

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I am not sure if Mr. Bristol has noticed that we the people threw the DLP out of office 30-0 in May of last year. If Mr. Bristol choses to contemplate the election result it may give him an inking of what we the people think about the DLP, Mr. Bristol and the Sandals agreement.

We are not brassbowls. We are not sheeple. We are not stupid.

We are thinking human beings.

If we are cut.

WE BLEED.

10. Well Mr. Bristol don’t try educating a country who dies mit understand the basuc rules of investment
    This is a country still living on antiquated idealogies and spitefulness
    Many of whom has nothing to offer the country but long talk and political jobby
    Sandals does not need barbados
    Barbadians in general belive that holding on to a fead horse called Assets is an economic success and a winner
    Mr. Bristol be prepared for the attacks as the foolishness of politics becomes an incentive as proof to their stupidy

11. Well Mr. Bristol don’t try educating a country who does not understand the basic rules of investment
    This is a country still living on antiquated idealogies and spitefulness
    Many of whom has nothing to offer the country but long talk and political jobby
    Sandals does not need barbados
    Barbadians in general belive that holding on to a dead horse called Assets is an ecoomic success and a winner
    Mr. Bristol be prepared for the attacks as the foolishness of politics becomes an incentive and proof to their stupidy

12. @Simple Simon

Th ask is a simple one.

Let us examine the matter dispassionately, attacking the messenger is silly. In fairness to Mia she signaled from earlier all agreements will be reviewed.

13. The challenge therefore is that we have to compensate for the traditional structures. Easier sad than done.

14. The challenge therfore is to stop peeping out from behind closed curtains and look and learn from other countries who has used the basic formula of Knowning when to hold and when to fold
    All Sandals was asking govt was a surety of a previuos agrerment so they can secure loan/ s from the bank
    Mia instead use a political power play long standing against Sandals which was uncalled for and downright ignorant especially at a time when joblessness and heightened criminal activity is a major need of concern for this country

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE SELF CONFESSED FARE PICKER IN HER POSTS ALWAYS REMINDS ME OF THE LIKKLE DOG IN JILL WALKER’S PRINTS

SO DOES WARU WHO SEEMS TO HAVE A BEEF WID ALL LAWYERS

16. David

This is no more than a self-serving piece by an agent for Sandals/Beaches who wants to be paid. It puts one side of what we know is a much more complication situation while pretending to be interested in Barbados.

Maripokey and the DLP types should consider that they had Sandals for years but still couldn’t pay basis bills. Sometimes more means less!

It certainly would not benefit the country, regardless to the Grenada or Antiguan situations, for Sandals/Beaches to be able to pay their bills and ‘eggplants’ for lawyers make their money, but Barbados continues to thread water.

If the cost-benefit analysis aint right, reject! And that analysis must consider all variables.

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I thought you were a doctor…what are u doing slumming and defending dumb lawyers…

I know some wonderful lawyers who actually have intelligence…but the ones who don’t tend to make spectacles of themselves..

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie March 25, 2019 8:31 AM “THE SELF CONFESSED FARE PICKER.”

Good morning Dr. GP. May God grant you a Blessed day.

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David March 25, 2019 7:51 AM “@Simple Simon. Let us examine the matter dispassionately.”

I am ALWAYS dispassionate David. Why, a former boss told me that i was the coldest human being she had ever met.

Just suggesting to the learned attorney and to the learned members of the political class that they might try walking a mile in my shoes.

If I had shoes good enough for a mile long walk.

20. Sandals deliver jobs. I dont think in the agreement it was specified that Sandals take on the whole of barbados debt
    As an investor i know the gains that would benefit me and i also anticipate losses
    However i weight and balance the overall profitability and losses against having nothing at all
    Btw wasnt Mottley involved in the failed now defunct Four Season

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WARU

RE I thought you were a doctor…YES I AM AND A GOOD ONE TOO

what are u doing slumming and defending dumb lawyers…NOT DEFENDING A SOUL MISS

I know some wonderful lawyers who actually have intelligence…SO DO I

but the ones who don’t tend to make spectacles of themselves..TRUE BUT YOU DONT HAVE TO CUSS LAWYERS EVERYDAY

SELF CONFESSED FARE PICKER……..AND YOU DID CONFESS
    GP IS ALREADY HAVING A WONDERFUL AND BLESSED DAY

RE am ALWAYS dispassionate David. Why, a former boss told me that i was the coldest human being she had ever met.
    DID YOU DEVELOP THIS COLD DISPASSIONATE NATURE FROM YOUR FARE PICKER ACTIVITIES

RE Just suggesting to the learned attorney and to the learned members of the political class that they might try walking a mile in my shoes.

WHY WOULD ANYONE WANT TO WALK IN YOUR SHOES FOR ANY DISTANCE? WHY?

22. I wonder why Mr. Bristol did not make any references to the Sandals debacle in Antigua?

A similar situation occurred in Antigua when PM Gaston Browne said the Chairman of the Sandals group, Butch Stewart wanted an extension of ABST wavier for all his properties, because he was investing in the new beaches resort at Halcyon Cove.

https://antiguaobserver.com/sandals-lawyer-there-were-no-abst-talks/

Rather than calling Keith………… perhaps Mia should call Gaston.

23. The author has an objective, to link the Grenada experience to the Barbados transaction given we are walking a similar IMF path. It will be up to government to weigh the pros and cons to support the best decision in the interest of Barbados.

24. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

.”TRUE BUT YOU DONT HAVE TO CUSS LAWYERS EVERYDAY”

The days that am cussing lawyers…stay off BU..

25. Using the goodly attorneys analogy, all Barbadians should threaten to leave Barbados unless the government lowers the taxes imposed because as he says it’s better to collect lower taxes than no taxes at all.

Sweet.

26. William Skinner Avatar

All of this nonsense. The damned private sector ain’t doing anything to help this country! Billions tie up in the banking system but they prefer to kick Butch Stewart out.Why don’t they take over the project? We got to get it right. If the private sector don’t want to invest, others would come in and they would all ask for incentives.
    The poor working class want JOBS not high wire political acts.
    And don’t tell me about some meAshely $200 million to build an old peoples’ home. And by the way : Why after all the protest the Hyatt is not only going to be built but it is going to be bigger and we are now going to buy a property to enhance it.
    Open your eyes people this is high wire political acts nothing to do with development.

27. William Skinner Avatar

measly not meashley. Thanks

28. “A large part of Grenada’s economic recovery has been attributed to Sandals and I am aware that the Grenada Government is doing all that is within its power to facilitate a Beaches Resort here……Grenada’s enhancement extends to one of the most sophisticated call centres in the region with over 100 employees and increasing. All from Sandals!….. As it is well known, Grenada‘s performance has been applauded by the IMF and Grenada is recording one of the highest rates of growth in the Caribbean”.

Well that’s what Mr Bristol says. But what does the Sandals induced and IMF acclaimed ‘economic success’ look like for ordinary Grenadians?

According to the United Nations’ 2017-2021 sub-regional country programme for Barbados and the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, Grenada has a debt-to-GDP ratio in excess of 90 percent and 37.7 percent of of its population live below the poverty line.

Grenada also has an unemployment level of 25%. So the Sandals induced economic success leaves a lot to be desired.

The question we have to ask ourselves about Butch Stuart or any other so-called investor is are they taking out more than they’re putting in. We have to get away from this idea that they’re investing to ‘help Barbados’ or to ‘create jobs’. They hire workers because without workers they would have no business and would make no profit.

At the moment to book a room at Sandals in St Lawrence Gap for 7 nights will cost you BD$1505 per night. Workers in Sandals are getting paid BD$300 or BD$400 a week. So it’s not enough for Sandals to say they are creating jobs because with the low paid jobs, Sandals is still getting the lion’s share and and most of the money is ending up in Sandals and their bankers and shareholders’ pockets and not benefitting Barbados. What about some return on our investment, including educating the workers that Sandals employs, providing them with health care when they fall sick, providing transport for them to get to and from work and more?

This is why Sandals should pay their taxes. We are selling ourselves cheap if we accept some low paid jobs in return for Sandals making a bag of money out of our country while all our public services desperately need investment and the government says it’s broke.

Also, as someone who grow up bathing on Heywoods beach, I want to know who will be responsible for putting the beach back into a useable state if Sandals pull out of this project because the government doesn’t give them the indemnity they want?

29. “Btw wasn’t Mottley involved in the failed now defunct Four Season….”

PLEASE explain to BU how Mottley was “involved in the failed now defunct Four Seasons” other than being a lawyer representing the interest of her clients(s)?

Was Mottley involved when, in March 2011, when former minister of finance tabled the US$60M (Guarantee of Loan) Bill in Parliament, in which government, under Clearwater Bay Ltd., agreed to guarantee an 18 month bridging finance loan of US$60 from ANSA Merchant Bank, at an interest rate of 6.75% in return for a 20% stake in the project?

Was Mottley involved when the Auditor General wrote the following in his 2014 report:

Loan to Clearwater Bay:
    The Government of Barbados guaranteed a loan for $120,000,000.00 in respect of the Four Seasons Development project during the financial year 2011-2012. This guaranteed debt was called during the financial year 2013-2014 by the lenders. As Government guaranteed the debt, an amount of $124,329,766.00 which entailed principal plus interest was paid through its company Clearwater Bay. This amount was subsequently recorded in the accounts of the Treasury as an accounts receivable. There is however no information available that any monies have been repaid to date.

$124,329,766 of taxpayers’ money.

Was Mottley involved when your administration sold the Four Seasons property to Jada Construction, or when the property was conveyed to Jada Construction on December 19th, 2014 and received and recorded at the Land Registry on March 10th 2015?

30. I remember Gaston Browne rolling up his sleeves and fist fighting Sandals
    Until sandals started to ignore him totally …and threatened to close shop and move on
    Then and only then did the little tin horn dictator understood what the word Losses meant bringing him to a righteous understanding that his politics of exclusion did not work in favour of the betterment of those who would be put on the bread line

31. Wasnt Mottley not involved in giving million of dollars in tax waivers
    Mottley hypocrisy is so entertwined in political deception so much that every moves she makes hurts the barbadian household

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

LOL. what perfect timing. What a coincidence. What a play. Who will be the suckers? Bajans!

33. Can anyone explain why Barbados needs more hotels? With the way crime is going, plus the extra taxes imposed on visitors, is it worth it for a few low paid jobs? Does anyone think with all the extra taxes, the increased bus fares, etc., that maids, waiters/waitress, gardeners, etc., will be able to live on those wages paid by these hotels?

34. “I remember Gaston Browne rolling up his sleeves and fist fighting Sandals…….. Until sandals started to ignore him totally …and threatened to close shop and move on….”

Do you read anything other than what comes from your George Street headquarters?

NO, you got it WRONG………. Butch did not ignore Gaston.

What Butch did was to use this same Mr. Bristol to threaten the Antiguan government with a law suit. And Butch also used his newspaper, the “Jamaica Observer,” to begin a smear campaign against Gaston and even went as far as using his wealth to solicit votes for Baldwin Spencer and the United Progressive Party (UPP).

And what happened after Butch “threatened to close shop and move on?”

“Notwithstanding its agreement to the terms of the deed of release and settlement of claim, in apparent retribution Sandals closed down its Antigua property for several months without notice, ostensibly to implement previously unannounced repairs and renovation.”

“This closure prompted the government to introduce and pass in Parliament the Investment Authority Amendment Bill of 2017, which was designed to prevent a similar repeat occurrence, not just by Sandals but by any significant resort operator seeking to impact or manipulate the Antigua and Barbuda economy in like manner.”

“Wasnt Mottley not involved in giving million of dollars in tax waivers……Mottley hypocrisy is so entertwined in political deception so much that every moves she makes hurts the barbadian household..”

Is this the best you can come up with trying to defend the DLP’s abysmal record as it relates to Four Seasons?

What about the $13M owed to the NIS.

As it relates to what you so often erroneously refer to as “tax waivers,” it would be very interesting to see a list of names of the businesses and individuals that benefited from the tax write offs.

I hope you wouldn’t get a heart attack if some of those names include members of the DLP, some of whom you’re aware own businesses.

Unless, you want to convince us ALL DLP business owners are UP TO DATE with their NIS commitments, VAT, income and corporation taxes obligations, and are above board in their business operations.

35. Yes after several attempts Butch finally paid attention to the fool

36. Fool????

Come on, I thought we were “discussing” Butch and Gaston…….. not Butch and YOU.

Hahahahahahaha

37. Why don’t you people stop wasting the little time you have left on this earth?

What do you expect the man to say about his client’s business??

And to those complaining about low paid jobs…Get used to it, beggars can’t be choosers. Be grateful that you get to clean some Englishman’s or German’s toilet after gaining a MSc. in Sociology from UWI.

Barbados has to take whatever it can get. That is what middle-aged prostitutes do.

PS: It is too late now to jump on the STEM band-wagon and ride the current wave. The time for that was 30+ years ago.

It. Is. Over.

Barbados is a failed state.

38. Barbados should agree to the terms Sandals asked for.

Let the Beaches project be completed.

The Republic of Barbados can renegotiate the ” terms ” 10 years from now.

39. Only a fool would throw out the baby with the bathe water.
    tub included and have nothing with which to replace them (with)
    The fact remains that 10 months into governance Mia has not tabled any initiatives to remove the dammning taxation off the peoples back
    However has used political spiel and yardfowl politics as divisonary tactics and alternatives which adds up to a double dose of unfettered politcal gamemanship which finds the poor and vulnerable holding the economic stick
    If Mia so boldy can tell Sandals to get lost
    One would think she would used the same spiel with an objective to have already brought projects of similar entities( home made) to drive the all but failed state out of economic stagnation

As for Gladstone Browne he had no other choice to remain in favour with Sandals rather than kill the goose that laid his golden egg
    In the end most of thses turd world small islands states after fist fighting corporations usually find themselves ending up like Cuba and Venezuela

40. Mia has not said she will not closed the deal. She is pressing for a better deal for Barbadians.

41. What better deal
    Why hasnt she disclosed the deals with Ross and the new store which she touted as investors falling at barbados door steps
    No! she is hop scotching on burning fire trying to make taxes an economic policy to recovery
    Untill she has a bigger and better financial source to pay debt she should weight the merits of her decisions against the negative fall out which accompanies political fireballs

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Dullard March 25, 2019 11:49 AM “Be grateful that you get to clean some Englishman’s or German’s toilet after gaining a MSc. in Sociology from UWI.”

You better be careful that the person with an a MSc. in Sociology from UWI doesn’t turn up and take your job, or your wife, son or your daughter’s job. The UWI graduates are a highly mobile group.

Just warning ya!

43. Mariposa, seriously……… do you read the news or do you make up things and write the first thing that comes to your head, just to be “politically controversial,” because it is politically expedient to do so?

It’s a pity you can’t remain on a “rational, objective course” and without politicizing every issue during a “conversation.”

What does the “waffle” you wrote at 1:01PM has to do with the issue?

Mottley stated clearly that “her administration had worked hard to make the sprawling Beaches project a reality, despite it not being in agreement with the “excessively generous concessions” the last government issued to Sandals.”

“For us not to have honoured a contractual arrangement made by a previous executive would have destroyed our reputation as a country that follows the rule of law. And that we accepted that we were bound by the terms of the agreement signed by the last administration with respect to the Sandals and with respect to the Order under the Duties Taxes and other Payments Act Chapter 67B,” she explained.

“In other words Sir, the damage to our government and our country to fulfill this obligation would be large but measureable, but if we failed to honour the obligation, the damage would be immeasurable and affect the integrity of our reputation as a place where the rule of law obtains or where business is conducted. So we agreed that we would honour it,” she said.

Tell BU when “Mia so boldly (told) Sandals to get lost?

Secondly, it is true “Browne had no other choice to remain in favour with Sandals,” because, similarly to how Mottley had to honour the contractual agreements made by your administration, Browne had to honour the commitments to Sandals, made by the former Baldwin Spencer led UPP administration.

What Browne was concerned with was the fact that:

(1). As at December 31, 2016, Sandals COLLECTED and WITH-HELD Antigua and Barbuda sales tax (ABST) totaling EC$101,424,448.54 (US$37.5 million).

Sandals subsequently agreed to pay ABST at the full statutory rate as from January 1, 2017 and waived from that date any right that they may have had to a discounted rate of ABST under any prior arrangement or agreement with the previous government.”

(2). They were manipulating their obligation to pay social security contributions in respect of their employees by classifying certain workers as independent contractors so that they did not have to pay the payroll taxes.

And what Butch did when the NIS wanted to conduct an audit? He threatened to close the hotel.

44. Yes she makes it as she goes along. Her body of work on BU tells the story. She can be more constructive donating a table cloth and a couple standing lights to George Street to make the lunchtime affair more pleasing?

45. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

UWI graduates are not only highly mobile, they are also very smart, and in the U.S, marketplace for example there is a projected 18% growth rate for social and community service work managers. I don’t know about other people but 18% growth seems great to me. Social and community service assistants 16% growth projected, post secondary social work teachers 15%, social workers 16% growth projected.

Man!! if I was 40 years younger with an Msc. in social work from UWI, I would certainly SELL my education/skills/training to the Americans. [not as GP and Piece erroneously believe, my pokey] I would not be scrubbing any English, German or U.S. sh!t. As the world becomes a more confused and confusing place we will need more people with master’s degree in social work, not fewer. Our problems in Barbados [and the U.S.] will not be solved by STEM people [I have nothing against STEM people] nor by lawyers, nor by engineers, but by people who understand human behaviour. I have a young relative who earned a master’s degree in engineering, then after a few years went back to school to earn a master’s degree in human services, because he found engineering to be too “easy”. He enjoys the challengers of dealing with the enormous complexity of human behaviour.

Oh!!! and by the way, the projected “growth” rate for computer programmers in the United States is -7%.

The official data is here:https://www.bls.gov/ooh/a-z-index.htm

46. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Artax at 2;25 “US$37.5 million”

What????

US$37.5 million is a nice piece of change.

I bet that the new mothers and the pensioners are happy about this.

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.bls.gov/news.release/pdf/ecopro.pdf
    U.S. employment projections 2016 to 2026

Ten fastest growing occupations:

Solar photovoltaic installers 104.9%
    Wind turbine service technicians 96.3%
    Home health aides 47.3%
    Personal care aides 38.6%
    Physician assistants 37.3%
    Nurse practitioners 36.1%
    Statisticians 33.8%
    Physical therapy assistants 31%
    Software and applications developers 30.7%
    Mathematicians 29.7%

11.5 million jobs. If Bajans can do even a miniscule % of this work, we good. Bajans have a long history of “following de wuk” whether that work is in St. Lucia, Guyana, Panama, Cuba, the United States, England, Canada. We do what we have to do. And we get the job done.

Did our grandfathers and grandmothers not build the British Empire, the Panama Canal, the British National Health Service, London Transport?

We CAN DO.

48. @Simple Simon

Relevance?

How does Barbados aligned with the growth areas you have listed and what does it bode for Barbados?

Given the austerity being experienced do you anticipate a run on our workforce?

49. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Yup!!!

Bajans have always run to other places to find good well paying jobs.

Nothing new.

Ask Hal, ask Hants, ask moneybrain, ask Sargeant, ask Dame Bajans, etc. etc.etc. etc. etc.

It is alright to talk about love of country, but I keep telling wunna that people love SELF first.

50. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

You may not be associating enough with young people David. I personally know at least 6 young people (under the age of 25) who have migrated to Canada in recent years. Once the youngsters have got at least a polytechnic certificate or a BCC associate’s degree they are off.

What else are they supposed to do? Kick an empty fast food box down the road? Or work as a gunman for hire for some big guts, rum drinking, drug taking man who is old enough to know better?

I tell you the young people are very smart, AND they are willing to work hard.

If Barbados doesn’t want them or can’t accommodate them they will make life elsewhere.