Submitted by Alden Blackman

blackman
Boulders dumped in a water course at Clarke’s Road by ex-Pat Pat Brayshaw

Why would Grenville Phillips, a Qualified Engineer contradicts a facts as to the Dangerous situation posed by a Watercourse in Clarke’s Road St. James?

I received a message from Mr Phillips Monday – he stated, I am aware of the situation, and investigated the problem. The main problem is that someone constructed a masonry wall inside of the drainage channel. The Town planner and Drainage Department are aware. Why are you not shining the light on the principal problem”.

What is beyond dispute is that the wall was constructed in the drainage course, if the wall is removed from the drainage course, the problem should  be solved. Relocating that wall is the obvious first step.

Alden:  when solving a problem you should address the main problem before any possible secondary problem.

As I have repeatedly stated Town Planning and Drainage have determined that the wall is the source of the drainage problem.

In Mr. Phillips investigation he refused to acknowledged the boulders wall sitting on the floor of the original watercourse with dislodged boulders into what he thinks is the original course is some of the course. Part of the course is under the boulders.

There no need for me to repeat myself but…Did Mr. Phillips: the enginee know of the watercourse before it was altered?

Mr. Phillips: did not see that the course canal from the end of the wall, about 75 ft to where the water emerged is flattened due to heavy equipment removing the sides in crossing the canal?

Mr. Phillips: failed to see the flattened road across the course canal on which vehicles traversed, above the wall.

Mr. Phillips: do you know that Drainage Unit Officers saw that watercourse encroachment in 2003 when no wall was erected ?

All Mr. Phillips: saw as the “MAIN PROBLEM” is a Black man protection wall, erected 5+ft from his land mark, 7+ years after enduring the yearly flood damaged.

It seems Mr. Phillips: as an engineer is now telling Town Planning and Drainage, move the Black man protection wall let his home wash away.

Because the British Ex-pat White needs a  private road.

blackman
Water flowing in Clarke’s Road after a downfall of rain.

186 responses to “Qualified Engineer Grenville Phillips contradicts Facts @Clarke’s Road”

1. This is what happens in countries without strict regulations and ENFORCEMENT and appropriate PLANNING. TURD WORLD FAILED STATE.

Stop blaming the engineer.

2. Enforcement is a noun WHICH CANNOT EXIST WITHOUT AN AGENT!!

In this matter to be enforced, even if the law is written then it can only be enacted by an agent, one who in this matter seems to be derelict in their duties

THerefore UNTIL AN AGENT CAN BE FOUND DE OLE MAN SUGGEST THAT the blame be directed at those with whom the buck falls

In this Case Mugabe and Kerrie Oblong Head who is the current Holder of the Most Waste Foop Performer for the month of February, it get inaugurated wid Oblong Head

https://i.imgur.com/jbIF6eN.jpg

3. MINISTER DR. THE HON. WILLIAM F. DUGUID, J.P., M.P. Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance

Please help Mr. Alden Blackman causin no Bajan his age should have to worry bout getting wash way by a flood.

4. Anybody remember the Carew situation. I think I recall that the old folk in the area had warned ENGINEERS about the watercourses. The engineers ignored and proceeded with construction.

Wuh happen?

I speak under correction since it was a long time ago.

Anybody remember the Arch Cot situation? I still have the newspaper article. What did the ENGINEERS say about the safety of drilling in that area?

Wuh happen?

5. @wily Coyote

(Stop blaming the Engineer) In this case, Mr. Phillips is blatantly bias against Alden Blackman .

If

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

The Carew situation was a clear case of the expatriate entity Royal Westmoreland’s blatantly ignoring any and all laws of the land.

But a blackman dead and while he might not have had common sanguinary relationships with Alden Blackman, the matter’s commonality is blackman fighting white woman and the automatic card of privilege WILL BE EMPLOYED

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Wily at 7 : 32 AM

We do have the Plan, the Law and the regulations. The missing factors are the will and the integrity of the persons saddled with the responsibility of enforcement. We just are not ready for independence. We like to talk. We should export some.

8. BU PERSPECTIVE…NEVER FAILS

Racist Glasses | …WHAT IS REALLY LAUGHABLE IS THAT’S ITS TRUE!!

9. Racist glasses – glasses that enable us to see racists clearly.

They do exist, especially in former colonies. It is only logical that they would. Any other position is laughable.
    Rose-tinted glasses.

10. Mr Blackman received a message from Mr Symmonds on Feb. 12, 2019 suggesting a possible meeting to discuss the issue.

Was the meeting ever held or was the offer of a meeting withdrawn

11. For Scrolling Pr-Madonnas and the Like…

According to a 19th century legend, the Truth and the Lie meet one day. The Lie says to the Truth: “It’s a marvelous day today”!

The Truth looks up to the skies and sighs, for the day was really beautiful. They spend a lot of time together, ultimately arriving beside a well.

The Lie tells the Truth: “The water is very nice, let’s take a bath together!”

The Truth, once again suspicious, tests the water and discovers that it indeed is very nice. They undress and start bathing. Suddenly, the Lie comes out of the water, puts on the clothes of the Truth and runs away. The furious Truth comes out of the well and runs everywhere to find the Lie and to get her clothes back.

The World, seeing the Truth naked, turns its gaze away, with contempt and rage.

The poor Truth returns to the well and disappears forever, hiding therein, its shame. Since then, the Lie travels around the world, dressed as the Truth, satisfying the needs of society, because, the World, in any case, harbours no wish at all to meet the naked Truth.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1063965350456458&set=a.170324743153861&type=3&theater

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 2, 2019 9:21 AM “Anybody remember the Carew situation. I think I recall that the old folk in the area had warned ENGINEERS about the watercourses. The engineers ignored and proceeded with construction. Wuh happen? I speak under correction since it was a long time ago.”

It wasn’t that long ago.

It was just yesterday as far as some of us are concerned.

Somebody should have served serious time in prison for Carew’s death. And a few senior civil servants and a politician or two should have shared a cell with them. They think that we have forgotten. We have not. And we have already tole our children, and our children’s children.

I was born and raised in the area, as was my mother more than 100 years ago. So my grandmother who was born in 1886 lived in the area too.

Why would any human being with even a single brain cell build a solid bridge (therefore in effect a dam) across a natural water course? Where did they expect the water to go when we get an 8 inches in 8 hours rainfall?

You did not need to be a genius to understand that a so called bridge, an inadequate dam really would fail under heavy rainfall.

After Carew died, we went across the “Bull’s Eye” and looked, and saw the boulders from the dam, boulders as big as 18 x 10 houses washed downstream by the pressure of 8 inches of ran with nowhere to go but down to the sea, carrying Carew and his house with it.

We have not forgotten Carew. And we have not forgotten the property owners, and we have not forgotten which party was in office (not power) when Carew died.

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

We do not have short memories.

14. #snakesinthegrass

15. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

WHEREAS IT IS TRUE THAT WRONG THINGS WERE DONE IN DAT WATERCOURSE
    WHO BUILDS HIS HOUSE ON THE SAND?
    WHO SAVES HIS MONEY IN A WATER ON TOP HIS HOUSE?
    WHO WHEN THERE IS A FLOOD OF WATER GOES ON TOP HIS HOUSE?

WUNNA CAN CUSS ME NOW FOR ASKING THESE QUESTIONS.

16. Blackman kept the right edge of that Natural watercourse that adjacent his lot in very good shape. flood flows stay in the canal, NO flood flows to Blackman home or Clarke’s Road the day of Carew flooding,and a lot of rainfall that day, but all change late 2002. When a British ex-pat white woman, commission the used of heavy equipment to CUT a 15+ft wide path across the course canal by removing both edges less than 3ft from where Blackman lot end at the top. The heavy equipment prepared her lot for building. Near completion of house, the equipment returned, encroached 4ft to the boundary line in the middle of the course, placed boulders from the course floor and built a boulder wall 6+ft high sloped to 3+ft to formed the right edge adjacent to Blackman lot. The equipment leaved, and did not replaced the left or right edge that was removed from the cut path across the course. That process leaved Blackman lot and Clarke’s Road a flood area .

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GEORGIE PORGIE March 2, 2019 12:44 PM “WHEREAS IT IS TRUE THAT WRONG THINGS WERE DONE IN DAT WATERCOURSE. WHO BUILDS HIS HOUSE ON THE SAND?”

I haven’t, but all along the west coast houses, from St. Lucy to Bridgetown hotels and churches are built upon the sand. St. James Parish Church, the oldest church building in Barbados. And St. Alban’s where my parents were married.

@GEORGIE PORGIE March 2, 2019 12:44 PM “WHO WHEN THERE IS A FLOOD OF WATER GOES ON TOP HIS HOUSE?”

If there is a flood and you cannot get out the most logical place to go is up high. It is unlikely that Carew knew of the irresponsible engineering that had taken place more than half a mile upstream from his house. he had a full time job at Wildey, and a part time job singing calypso. What time or expertise would he have had to supervise engineers working half a mile upstream from his house?

Do you know even now what sort of bad engineering is taking place upstream from your home? or upstream from the many roads on which you have to drive? Especially in the season of very heavy rainfall?

Bad engineering has bad consequences. That is taught in engineering courses. The engineers ought reasonably to have know a solid road should not be built across a water course. A hanging bridge would have been both CHEAPER (less material required) and SAFER (the water can flow safely under the bridge) Instead the water built up behind the makeshift dam, collapsed it and killed Carew.

I grew up seeing my father, who did not go to school pass the age of 12, hanging floors. That was way back in the early 1960’s. All the floors still stand. It does not require a PhD in materials science to safely design and build a hanging floor or bridge.

I repeat “Somebody should have served serious time in prison for Carew’s death. And a few senior civil servants and a politician or two should have shared a cell with them.”

18. So Carew was stupid. But his stupidity would not have cost him his life if it had not been for the construction. The construction was the cause of the raging waters that caused his death..

Thank you, Simple Simon for presenting us with the full story. I remember seeing articles about old people who said they warned them about the watercourse.

Grenville thinks he can swing by with some qualifications and put the matter to bed. SMH.

What arrogance!

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GEORGIE PORGIE March 2, 2019 12:44 PM “WUNNA CAN CUSS ME NOW.”

No need to cuss you. After all you are not a Christian martyr.

There is just a need to speak the truth.

If a makeshift dam is built across a watercourse.

The makeshift will fail under heavy rainfall.

And it is very likely that some of God’s beloved children will die. This likelihood increases if the rainfall is exceedingly intense, and if the rainfall occurs at night.

Many more people could have died the day Carew died. If a school bus full of children, or a bus full of tourists had been passing when the makeshift dam was breached they too would have died.

One of my children was bused along that some road, twice per day, for five years.

It is not just about Carew.

Those of us who were born and raised in St. James, and St. Peter, and whose foreparents have lived in the area for generations know that dry water courses are many and deep. We know what the phrase “the gully out” means.

I join Hants is saying:

@Hants March 2, 2019 8:55 AM “MINISTER DR. THE HON. WILLIAM F. DUGUID, J.P., M.P. Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance. Please help Mr. Alden Blackman causin no Bajan his age should have to worry bout getting wash way by a flood.”

And I appeal to my MP Kerrie Symmonds as well.

20. Prior Park, Crystal Heights all built in a water course.

21. TheOGazerts

That offered of a meeting, was just a comfort promise. the path across the course is now a flatten road above Blackman’s home,

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

re After all you are not a Christian martyr.

i AM VERY THANKFUL TO GOD FOR THIS
    PERHAPS IT IS BECAUSE I AM SECOND AND NOT FIRST, WHAT YOU THINK?

23. ” Raft foundations (sometimes known as Mat Foundations) are a large concrete slab which can support a number of columns and walls.

The slab is spread out under the entire building or at least a large part of it which lowers the contact pressure compared to the

traditionally used strip or trench footings.”

At least one house in Jamestown Park, Holetown has a type of raft foundation that was designed by a respected structural engineer who is no longer with us.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

“The gully out” is the loud popping sound heard during heavy rainfall when all the natural and nowadays man made debris which has built up on the gully floor is suddenly breached by the weight of the accumulated rainfall, and the trapped water goes rushing downstream. If one puts truck sized boulders in the dry water courses these too will be moved by the power of the rushing water and catastrophe follows.

People who visit Barbados or who have lived beside one of these dry water courses, perhaps for decades may never have heard the sound made when “the gully out” They see the gullies as dry places. Gullies are not dry places. The are dry river beds waiting for 8 inches of rain to fall in 8 hours, or 15 inches in 15 hours.

The next time it may not be “only” Carew. it may not be Alden Blackman.

It may be a bus load of children, or of tourists, or an MP or two.

Don’t say that you don’t know.

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 2, 2019 1:22 PM “So Carew was stupid.”

Carew was NOT, I repeat NOT stupid. A good friend of mine worked with him for years. he was very good at his job. And his calypsoes were hilarious. i miss him still.

And wunna know that a bigable two storey wall house has since been constructed in the exact place where Carew’s house was?

Wunna know that right?

26. Seems to me the questions to be asked are simply these –

What used to happen before the aforementioned construction?

Was there any other construction that took place at the same time in the same area?

What happens now after the construction?

#notanengineerbut

27. Watchman die trying reality is a SOB
    Take down that Wall
    Maybe you can sell it brick by brick to Trump so he can build it on his side of the Mexican divide

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The rain which fell on the day Carew died was not the heaviest rainfall that Barbados experienced in the 20th century.

If you doubt me, ask John. John is a man who really knows his rainfall. Ask him about the 1930’s. The time before any living politician, or policy maker or any currently practicing engineer was born.

And it is unlikely to be the heaviest of this 21st century.

My father remembered.

He told me.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

There is a growing tendency for some property holders to divert water courses. The Town and Country Planning Office ought to supervise these building plans more thoroughly.

30. A better suggestion is for him to donate the blocks to the DLP to repair a dilapidated George Street headquarters.

31. Grenville will never get into parliament. He is a qualified engineer, yet he did no research, did not check the rules, and regulations, did not speak to the home owners on Clarks Road, apparently did not check the geophysical maps of BWA and T&C planning, but decides it is Mr. Blackmans wall that is the problem? He may be an engineer, but not a very smart one. He absolutely failed this test.

32. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

CAREW HAD HIS LIKKLE WOODEN HOUSE RIGHT ON THE SAND…LITERALLY BY THE SEA SIDE.
    GUESS WHO SAID YOU SHOULD NOT DO THIS?
    GUESS WHO SAID THAT IT IS STUPID TO DO THIS ?
    I DROVE PASS IT EVERY DAY ON MY WAY TO WORK
    HIS HOUSE WAS NOT ON ANY RAFT OR OTHER SOLID OR SERIOUS FOUNDATION

RE And wunna know that a bigable two storey wall house has since been constructed in the exact place where Carew’s house was?

Wunna know that right?

SO WHAT? THAT IS A NON SEQUITUR. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CAREW OR WHERE HE HAD HIS HOUSE ON THE SAND OR HIS STUPIDITY!

BY THE WAY I KNOW THE FULL STORY OF CAREW GOING OUT TO SEA PUN TOP HIS HOUSE WHERE HE WENT TO GET THE MONEY HE HAD IN THE WATER HEATER

I ALSO CERTIFIED CAREW DEAD FOR THE RBPF

Carew was NOT, I repeat NOT stupid. THAT IS YOUR OPINION

A good friend of mine worked with him for years. he was very good at his job. And his calypsoes were hilarious. SO WHAT? THAT IS ANOTHER NON SEQUITUR. THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CAREW OR WHERE HE HAD HIS HOUSE ON THE SAND OR HIS STUPIDITY!

33. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Watchman die trying reality is a SOB
    Take down that Wall
    Maybe you can sell it brick by brick to Trump so he can build it on his side of the Mexican divide

TRUMP IS BUILDING AND WILL COMPLETE HIS WALL!
    WILL MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY SUCCESSFULLY BUILD THE BARBADOS ECONOMY EVEN BY HER DICTATORSHIP?

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IMAGINE A MAN WHO IS A SECOND AND NOT FIRST DISMISSING ALL THE SHITTY NONSEQUITURS OF THE REALLY SIMPLE SIMON TODAY

JUST SUPPOSE I WAS A FIRST, WUH WOULD HAPPEN.

JESUS SAID NOT TO PUT YOUR HOUSE ON THE SAND
    IF YA PUT YA HOUSE PUN DE SAND……THEN YA STUPID, SIMPLE

SIMPLE AINT IT?
    WUNNA KNOW WHO JESUS IS?

HE IS THE SUPREME ARBITER ON THIS, AH LIE? IT DOES NOT MATTER IF A FRIEND TELL YA A MAN WAS GOOD AT HIS WORK?

IF JESUS SAY DONT PUT YOUR HOUSE PUN DE SAND AND YA DO SO…….THEN YA STUPID. I SORTA TEND TO BELIEVE WUH JESUS SAY ABOVE WHAT SIMPLE DUMMIES IN BUHBADOS SAY

COME SIMPLE COME WID ANOTHER OF YOUR LONG HOPS

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

I HAVE PROMISED NOT TO BRING THE GOOD INFO THAT COMES TO MY COMPUTER DAILY TO BU BECAUSE OF THE BULL SHIT CHALLENGING BY THE DEVIL’S SON, BUSH SHIT, NOW MIA AND AWOL

BUT I COULD NOT HELP WID THIS ARTICLE DAVID

YOU CAN PUT IT ELSEWHERE SO THAT MIA THE PUNK CAN SEE IT AND GET RID OF JAMES THE TWIT

5 reasons you should put physicians in charge of hospitals
    EDWARD R. MARIANO, MD |

Putting physicians in charge of hospitals seems like a no-brainer, but it isn’t what usually happens. A study published in Academic Medicine states that only about four percent of hospitals in the United States are run by physician leaders, which represents a steep decline from 35 percent in 1935. In the most recent 2018 Becker’s Hospital Review “100 Great Leaders in Healthcare,” only 29 are physicians.

The stats don’t lie, however. Health care systems run by physicians do better. When comparing quality metrics, physician-run hospitals outperform non-physician-run hospitals by 25 percent. In the 2017-18 U.S. News & World Report Best Hospitals Honor Roll, the top four hospitals (Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, Johns Hopkins Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital) have physician leaders. Similar findings have been reported in other countries as well.

While not all physicians make good leaders, those that do really stand out. For those physicians who may consider applying for hospital leadership positions, specific characteristics should distinguish them from non-physician applicants and help them make the transition successfully. Of course, this is my opinion, but I think it comes down to these five things:

Physicians are bound by an oath. The Hippocratic Oath, in some form, is recited by every medical school graduate around the world. This oath emphasizes that medicine is a calling and not just a job: “May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.” Physicians commit themselves to the treatment of disease and the health of human beings. There is no similar oath for non-physician health care executives.
    Physicians know how to make tough decisions. This is crucial to every informed consent process. Physicians need to curate available evidence, weigh risks and benefits, and share their recommendations with patients and families in situations that can literally be life or death. This is essential to the art of medicine. Effectively translating technical jargon into language that lay people can understand allows others to participate in the decision-making process. This applies both to the bedside and the boardroom.
    Physicians are trained improvement experts. They learn the diagnostic and treatment cycle which requires listening to patients (also known as taking a history), evaluating test results, considering all possible relevant diagnoses and instituting an initial treatment plan. As new results emerge and the clinical course evolves, the diagnosis and treatment plan are refined. In my medical specialty of anesthesiology, this cycle occurs rapidly and often many times during a complex operation. These skills translate well to diagnosing and treating sick health care systems.
    Physicians are lifelong learners. When laparoscopic surgical techniques emerged, surgeons already in practice had to find ways to learn them or be left behind. Medicine is always changing. To maintain medical licensure, physicians must commit many hours of continuing medical education every year. New research articles in every field of medicine are published every day. For these reasons, physicians cannot hold onto “the way it has always been done,” and this attitude serves them well in health care leadership.
    Physicians work their way up. Every physician leader started as an intern, the lowest rung of the medical training ladder. Interns rotate on different services within their specialty, working in a team with higher-ranked residents under the supervision of an attending physician. As physicians progress in training through their years of residency, they get to know more and more hospital staff in other disciplines and take on more patient care responsibility. A fundamental lesson learned during residency is that the best ideas can come from anyone; occasionally the intern comes up with the right diagnosis when more senior team members cannot.

While these qualities are necessary, they are not sufficient. To be effective health care leaders, physicians need to develop their administrative skills in personnel management, team building, and strategic planning. They will have to learn to understand and manage hospital finances, meet regulatory requirements and performance metrics and find ways to support and drive innovation. For physicians who have already completed their medical training, a commitment to effective healthcare leadership will require as much time and dedication as their medical studies. However, if they don’t do this, there are plenty of non-physicians who will.

OF COURSE IT IS TRUE THAT MILLINGTON AND WILLIAMS DID A GREAT JOB IN THE 80’S AND 90’S
    THAT CANT BE DENIED

36. Simple Simon,

I did not wish to argue the point.since it made no difference to whose fault it was. Perhaps I should have said EVEN IF Carew was stupid in his actions that day…

That is what I meant anyway.

And no, I did not know that a two storey wall house has been built on his spot.

37. David Bu
    How.if he donates the bricks to the blp so they can build a wall that separate the drug lords and their friends from the rest of society
    A simple and easy way for Mia to have a policy in place that deals with criminality and its associates which will cost govt Nada
    Oh by the way Mia can engage the special services of Charles Herbert

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DONNA

A GALLON OF WATER WEIGHS 1O LBS I AM TOLD
    SEVERAL GALLONS OF WATER ON THE MOVE IS A VERY POWERFUL FORCE

IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS THERE WERE MAINTAINED WELLS IN MOST WATERCOURSES TO LIMIT THE ABUNDANCE OF WATER FLOW AND FORCE AT ANY TIME

IN ADDITION THERE WERE PROVISIONS IN THE FORM OF WATER BREAKS TO LEAD THE WATER TO THESE WELLS

THESE THINGS HAVE NOT BEEN MAINTAINED BUT THE OLD TIME FOLK HAD A VERY GOOD GRASP GRASP OF THINGS

THERE SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN BOULDERS IMPEEDING THE FLOW OF WATER IN THE WATER COURSE AT WESMORELAND.

THAT DAY THE RAIN FELL STEADILY BUT IT WAS NOT NECESSARILY A VERY HIGH RAINFUL DAY SUCH THAT THE WATER SHOULD NOT HAVE RUN OFF TO THE SEA SLOWLY AND GRADUALLY WITHOUT CAUSING PROBLEMS.

HOWEVER, THE BOULDERS IN THE WATER COURSE CAUSED A DAMMING EFFECT, AND WHEN THE WEIGHT OF THE THOUSANDS OF GALLONS OF WATER “BROKE THE DAM” AS IT WERE, THE FORCE OF THOUSANDS OF GALLONS OF WATER TIMES 1O LBS PER GALLON TIMES THE RATE OF FLOW CAUSED THE UNUSUAL FLOODING IN WESTON

THERE IS A NEED TO RETURN TO MANY OF THE WAYS OF THE OLD TIMERS AND THE NEED TORESPECT THE FORCES OF NATURE.

39. GP,

It has been my experience that some doctors don’t give a damn about the Hippocratic oath. I learnt that the hard way. It almost cost me my womb.

It is also my experience that a better diagnosis can even come from the nurse. I learnt that the hard way. It almost cost me my sight.

What you posted may be so but it depends on the character of the doctor. And we have some HYPOCRITES down here!

40. Please. The question must be ask is, why did Grenville Phillips message Alden Blackman,? was he working for Government, or Pat Brayshaw, let Grenville answer that.

41. GP,

True dat!

42. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GEORGIE PORGIE March 2, 2019 1:59 PM “CAREW HAD HIS LIKKLE WOODEN HOUSE RIGHT ON THE SAND…LITERALLY BY THE SEA SIDE.”

Carew’s house was constructed like tens of thousands of houses in Barbados. It rested on a “pack-rock” foundation. Of course it is ideal to have a solid concrete foundation, and to use steel tie the joists and beams to that concrete foundation. Even today most houses in Barbados are not constructed like that. Not because people do not want to, and not because they do not know any better, but because they simply can’t afford to do so.

Carew would not have died if a makeshift dam had not been built directly across the watercourse east of his house. It wasn’t “boulders placed in the water course.” It was a solid dam used as a road to get vehicles from one part of the estate to the other.

If Carew was an idiot, and he was not. The person or the people who build a solid dam across the watercourse were even bigger idiots.

And killers too.

Somebody should still go to jail for Carew’s death.

We have not forgotten. We will not forget.

We have already told our children and our grand children.

You can cuss me again.

But the TRUTH is the truth.

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

GEORGIE PORGIE March 2, 2019 3:19 PM “THAT DAY THE RAIN FELL STEADILY BUT IT WAS NOT NECESSARILY A VERY HIGH RAINFUL DAY.”

It was a very heavy rainfall day. 8 inches in 8 or 10 hours constitutes very heavy rainfall.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 2, 2019 2:48 PM “Simple Simon, I did not wish to argue the point.”

I don’t wish to argue with you either.

I just feel the need to get the truth out there, and to put the lie to the trope that Carew died because he was a foolish man who built his house upon the sand. The same trope uttered by the white pastor at Carew’s funeral. Attempting at the funeral to blame the man for his own death. While saying not a word about the white people who built a dam across the watercourse east of Carew’s home. Anyway said pastor was very soon dead.

There are some Bajans who think that they can persuade us that black people are foolish, and that white people can do no wrong. BOTH LIES.

I know St. James and St. Peter better than most people now still alive.

I have walked across that landscape hundreds of times taking food to my grandmother who had moved to Weston in her later years. And afterwards to my auntie who for many years lives less than five minutes walk from where Carew died.

What happened on the day Carew died was criminal negligence.

And whether or not Georgie Porgie certified Carew’s death has nothing to do with how Carew died. He was already dead. Tens of millions of people have died and tens of millions more will die without a doctor certifying death.

45. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Let us wait until a similar thing happens west of Alden Blackman’s home. Then we can go to the scene carrying pretend looks of shell shock on our faces, and act as though we did not know.

But we do know.

WE KNOW.

46. I meant I did not wish to argue the point with GP who said he was stupid. It was not relevant.

I remember that sermon now. It was atrocious! Totally disrespectful we all felt at my workplace.

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Both the ex-pat’s road and Alden’s wall need to be removed. And the watercourse needs to be restored to its original state.

Two wrongs do not make a right.

Don’t phuck with Mother Nature. She has a million ways to get back at you.

Is there anybody with balls in the house?

Or maybe we just need to assign the job to a few women and they will get it done.

Too many of our men are bare-bare perhaps.

Perhaps I will think about it.

Perhaps I will talk about it.

Perhaps I will get a committee to study it.

Perhaps I will do it.

Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps.

And decades later the job is still not done.

Bare, bare, perhaps.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE It was a very heavy rainfall day. 8 inches in 8 or 10 hours constitutes very heavy rainfall.

nit picker

can you find anything of substance in the post from which you picked that nit?
    THE RAIN THAT FELL THAT DAY WAS NOT ENOUGH TO CAUSE A FLOOD

THE DAM THAT WAS MADE HAD BOULDERS AS ITS BASIC STRUCTURE NIT PICKER

re If Carew was an idiot, and he was not

SINCE JESUS TAUGHT NOT TO BUILD YOUR HOUSE ON THE SAND
    AND SINCE JESUS IS GOD AND THEREFORE THE FINAL AUTHORITY ON THESE MATTERS THEN CAREW WAS AN IDIOT. SIMPLE, SIMPLE

ONLY IDIOTS FAIL TO FOLLOW THE LORD’S EDICTS
    ONLY IDIOTS DEFEND PEOPLE WHO DISOBEY THE LORDS EDICTS SIMPLE, SIMPLE

EVERY TIME WE FAIL TO DISOBEY THE LORDS COMMANDS WE ARE IDIOTS SIMPLE, SIMPLE

INDEED the TRUTH is the truth.

GOD’S WORD IS TRUTH JOHN 17
    AND JESUS IS THE TRUTH JOHN 14

THIS IDIOT HAD HIS MONEY SAVED IN AN UNATTACHED WATER HEATER IN 1995.

Q. WHO SAVES THEIR MONEY IN IN AN UNATTACHED WATER HEATER IN 1995
    A. AN IDIOT

THIS IDIOT KNOWING THAT HE COULD NOT SWIM WENT PUN TOP HIS HOUSE DURING A FLOOD TO SAVE HIS MONEY AND GOT SWEPT OUT TO SEA AND LOSS HIS LIFE

WHAT AN IDIOTIC THING TO DO!

RE We have not forgotten. We will not forget. WHO CARES?

We have already told our children and our grand children.WHO CARES?

SO WHAT?

WHAT CAN YOU AND YOUR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN DO ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED?. NOTHING !

WHAT HAVE YOU AND YOUR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN DO ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED?. NOTHING !

WHAT WILL YOU AND YOUR CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN DO ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED?. NOTHING !

WILL YOU JUST NIT PICK?

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I meant I did not wish to argue the point with GP who said he was stupid. It was not relevant.

I remember that sermon now. It was atrocious! Totally disrespectful we all felt at my workplace.

NONSENSE!

CUKE TOOK THE BEST AND ONLY TEXT HE COULD IN THE WHOLE BIBLE.
    HE PREACHED THE WORD TO THOSE ASSEMBLED
    HE WAS HOMOLETICALLY & HERMENEUTICALLY SOUND ACCORDING TO ALL THE APPROVED TEXTS!.
    I WOULD HAVE TAKEN THE SAME TEXT MYSELF!

PREACHERS DO NOT HAVE TO PLEASE THEIR LISTENERS
    THEY MUST PREACH THE WORD IN SEASON AND OUT OF SEASON AS THE BIBLE CLEARLY TEACHES.

THAT IS WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE WORLD TODAY.
    CHURCH GOERS AND SO CALLED SUNDAY SCHOOL TEACHERS DO NOT KNOW OR CARE ABOUT WHAT THE WORD OF GOD SAYS

AND JUST AS THE BIBLE SAYS PEOPLE IN THE PEWS WANT PREACHERS TO TICKLE THEIR EARS.. THE LISTENERS HAVE ITCHY EARS

PREACHERS TODAY DONT STUDY THE WORD SO HOW CAN THEY KNOW, OR TEACH IT PROPERLY AND ACCURATELY.