Against the background of a spike in the number of murders for 2019 – up by 200% compared to 2018 – the attempt by Deputy Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce to assure the public that although the increase in the number of murders for 2019 is a worry, the overall crime rate was down to support his summation that Barbados is not gripped by a crime crisis.

The blogmaster understands the role Deputy Commissioner Boyce attempted to play in the prevailing environment. It is not dissimilar to what the late Prime Minister David Thompson, former Central Bank Governor Marion Williams and the late Supervisor of Insurance Wismar Greaves did when news broke that CL Financial in Trinidad had encountered hard times in 2007.

The time has come for Barbadians to accept that there is enough blame to go around to explain the current state that has seen 14 murders for the year. As the blogmaster is tapping the keys to post this blog there is a report of another shooting in the Black Rock area. On the ground what we are hearing is that gangs in Barbados have become very active in a fight for turf. This is not a situation that can be solved overnight by throwing security forces at the problem. There is irony in the memory of that time when the former Attorney General Maurice King pronounced that there were no gangs in Barbados.

We have to stop with the effusive rhetoric and political gamesmanship when discussing the escalating crime situation in Barbados.  The blogmaster sides with the view that politicians will say anything to be elected which conflicts with what is required to govern. Some people give the impression they revel in the crime situation unravelling in Barbados. A true Bajan cannot feel joy at this time

For many years the blogmaster has been posting about the weeds sprouting on our manicured lawns. Many then accused BU of being overly negative, yet here we are. Our education system continues to graduate children who are functional illiterates and lack the capacity to exercise logic and reason among other deficiencies.

Where do we come from here?

The blogmaster is aware that in every community across the island they are citizens who if they were to listen to conscience are able to expose the criminal elements to the authorities.  We have the opportunity to win back our little country by a few people doing the right thing. If as a country we fail to persuade those in our midst with information to share with the authorities, it will get worse. Is this the Barbados we want for our children?

182 responses to “Crime Wave”

1. Overseas Observer Avatar
    Overseas Observer

Money talks whilst Bullshit WALKS.

2. Overseas Observer

You think everyone is like you … who has no moral-directionality? Do you think everyone is motivated by money? There are those individuals who take their jobs quite seriously, and who stand true to the oath they have taken…

3. Overseas Observer

I saw members of the CID worked days on end and day out for peanuts when Mark Young and Harding were on the run in the 80s … These men took an interested in preserving the public safety … at the expense of the needs of their family as well as their personal needs…

4. Bajan cop pulls over a guy with bucket full of sea eggs
    ” I am going to give you a ticket for taking them out of season”

No their pets

Phuc off

No really… everyday I bring them down to the water for a walk then they back in the bucket and I take them home

Okay if you show me that I wont give you a fine.

The guy puts the eggs in the water for a walk

five minutes go by …nothing

ten minutes go by still nothing

15 minutes go by and finally the cop says ….where are the eggs

“what eggs”

5. @ SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) February 28, 2019 9:41 AM

This is Typical Barbados POLITICAL spin on Statistics, always POSITIVE no matter what!

6. At least the DLP can’t be blamed.

Maybe, it is now time to look beyond cheap politics.

Somethings have always been wrong with this culture.

A so-called post slavery society which misguidedly still largely relies of a growing prison industrial system to release growing pressures, as the modern day slave economy, to be the answer to what is popularly called ‘crime’, does not pass the smell test.

Maybe an entrepreneurial ‘university’ professor will soon postulate that somebody elsewhere is to be blamed for this as well and other reparations are then payable.

Let’s find a way to shut down Dodds. But all the other things must be first done and fast.

7. @Pacha

The fact we have so many citizens firm of the view that the solution to the crime problem is in the police being able to prevent murders. The same citizens are not wondering what they can do.

8. There is a stat missing from Boyce’s analysis, lIttle known or much ignored victims of the crime wave are the voluntary “shut ins”. They may range from the middle aged to the elderly and seldom venture from their homes as soon as darkness descend because they are fearful for their wellbeing. We all know someone who falls into this category but their plight is seldom mentioned

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Sargeant February 28, 2019 7:32 PM “victims of the crime wave are the voluntary “shut ins”. …seldom venture from their homes as soon as darkness descend because they are fearful for their wellbeing. ”

Me Too.

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

In your response to Bajan in NY you said and I quote

“…@ Bajan in NY

It’s politically easier now.

The new parties just afraid to work consistently and persistently for five straight years.

There is also the problem of financing and resources that they may not have or attract outside of the election period….”

William

I put this to you clearly and without reservation.

The $$ of which you allude is NOT as great as you think

Look de ole man has been promoting this E Platform for a few days

Many have noted that the EPlatform is an unknown

Yes, the fact is that it is an Anonymously Orchestrated platform but this is just the way that it is and how it has evolved.

That Actuation was not purposed but there is no other option.

But here is the thing that I want you to think about

Up to this point the E PLATFORM HAS NOT BEEN PROMOTED OUTSIDE OF THE BU WALLS

Why do you think that is William?

Do you think that de ole man ent got email lists?

So why the “pause” why not push the initiative

Because there HAS TO BE A DESIRE FOR THIS, there has to be an organic growth and interest in AND SUPPORT OF THE THRUST

This is not about putting up a sweet campaign slogan like Covenant of Hope!

This is peoples lives William and both the electorate AND THE HOPEFUL CANDIDATES MUST SEIZE THE MOMENT and make the move

Email coming from pieceuhderockyeahright means nothing but email from hopefuls to their constituents will bring about a different result

In my next post de ole man will give wings to my promise to employ 10 people from 1 community besieged by crime

Do you think that this new modus of doing instead of talking will bring about the change we need?

Will you support that William?

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

12. “I will cook myself some cou-cou and red herring today.”
    You would probably fight with her everyday, but if she shares her food, you will eat well.

13. David

First principles!

We have to consider that the ways of the West may not be workable for us, in every instance. Building all of these expensive prisons and so on.

We are a small country and complain all the time about smallness.

One of the benefits of smallness has to be that ‘crime’ should not be as intractable as we like to presume, have learnt to live with – at all levels.

We don’t pretend to have all the answers but our country has to decide that we don’t want any crime at all and does whatever is necessary, from A to B, from the cradle to the grave, to make it so. For us crime is a construct. A byproduct of a national failure.

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Or a bye-product of irresponsibility. It is not my business/fault . It is yours.

15. @ Piece
    I understand and endorse your concept. There is much potential there. Good thinking.

16. @Pacha

Agree with you. We have to take charge of our small island. It seems we have no problem with allowing a meandering to take place.

17. @ Mr William Skinner

William

I thank you for the endorsement

My Christ says “suffer the little children to come unto me” and these are truly little children in adult bodies WHO NEED GUIDANCE.

We ent got time put down and we ent got $21 million dollars like Mugabe to lik out pun she freinds and family and put up camera round she house that she does watch from the Government Offices pun Bay Street.

Leh Mugabe and she Mugabe-ites do dem own ting, IT WILL COME TO NOUGHT

But you know what will overide all her wastage of Treasury $$ that she is mekking bajans suffer with these takes over??

When A THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT that is outside all of her largese IS ABLE TO DELIVER THE GOODS even while one is the enemy of the people or LIKE YOU, a very verbal “dissenter” who hides his mouth from no man of woman born or untimely ripped!

https://i.imgur.com/4qNifC7.png

De ole man beleives that all of you who come here to BU “see” what is being said here by many of us.

I AM NOT ALONE there are many bajans like me who want a new model to change this country barbados that we call home.

These are the real patriots WHO ARE PREPARED TO GIVE OF THEIR TIME, $$ and other resources to buid a better Barbados where ALL OF US CAN CONTRIBUTE TO, & BENEFIT FROM THIS LAND.

It is pernicious that Mugabe could say that she would be allocating $21 million to cuntsultants

But as you notice NOT A FELLER ENT SAY A WORD but I say this to you that what HAS TO HAPPEN IS THAT WE FACILITATE THE SENSITIZATION OF THE ELECTORATE OVER THE NEXT 5 YEARS

AND ENSURE THAT WHEN THE BELL RINGS A THIRD MOVEMENT IS READY AND WAITING

The faster Bajans get the $$ in the faster the EPlatform will be built and the quicker IT WILL EMPLOY PEOPLE.

18. Director of the Criminal Justice Research Unit, Cheryl Willoughby.

SCHOOL DROPOUTS COMMITTING MAJORITY OF GUN-RELATED OFFENCES

Thu, 02/28/2019 – 12:01am

Research conducted by the Criminal Justice Research Unit amongst inmates of Her Majesty’s Prisons Dodds indicates that a significant number of persons incarcerated for firearm related offences, can be classified as underachievers or have dropped out of the local educational system.

Director of the Criminal Justice Research Unit, Cheryl Willoughby, revealed the above as she delivered an analysis of the crime situation in Barbados during the National Consultation on Crime and Violence held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre yesterday.

Willoughby noted that 200 prisoners (199 males and 1 female) incarcerated for gun-related offences were interviewed and of these, 172 were on remand and 28 were convicted. The inmates interviewed ranged from 21 years to 30 years.

“The result of interfacing with these persons incarcerated for gun-related offences revealed that expulsion from school was the leading cause of non-completion of secondary school by these inmates.

It accounted for 27.5% of those persons who dropped out, followed by inmates who left school of their own volition. The mean age of the inmates discontinuing school was 15,” the director said.

She also revealed that 44% of those inmates interviewed had interfaced previously with the juvenile justice system.

“That means that there is a problem or issue with recidivism among young people who are already in the system, meaning that they are recommitting offences although they are involved in the system,” Willoughby said.

She added that 41% of inmates had a criminal history of firearm-related offences, with 13% of these offences resulting in convictions.

“When we asked them what was the motivation for the firearm use and or possession, these persons indicated that it was for protection,” the criminologist pointed out.
    Willoughby also noted that a study on gangs was conducted, which revealed over 50 blocks spanning both urban and rural areas of the country, with six dominant gangs identified by the Special Branch Unit of the Royal Barbados Police Force, and teens as young as 15 are frequenting these blocks.

19. The range of crimes committed by these groups include robbery, theft, drug possession, distribution, fire arm possession, serious bodily harm, wounding, murder and other violent crimes.
    At war
    The research also revealed that there are “warring factions” amongst young people from the various communities across Barbados and a new phenomenon known as “The Circle” has surfaced, which sees easily accessed firearms being passed between members in the circle and youth also renting guns. Some are willing
    to pay as much as Bds $10 000 for a gun. Willoughby added that there is a growing drug culture which the research shows is strategically linked to the firearm situation as well.
    Amongst the socio-economic drivers of this type of criminal activity, she said, are unemployment and underemployment, poverty, poor academic performance, young people being expelled from school, and a number of young people are also suffering from mental health issues that need to be addressed.
    She is meanwhile recommending the country adopt and adapt a Cure Violence Project currently being piloted in Trinidad, amongst other measures, to curb the current situation. (RSM)

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/school-dropouts-committing-majority-gun-related-offences

20. Measures have already been implemented to deal with the smuggling of firearms into Barbados and gun crimes in general.
    This was revealed yesterday by Attorney General Dale Marshall as he reacted to the recent shootings which resulted in the deaths of four men between Saturday and Wednesday.
    “We are taking serious steps to eliminate the entry of illegal firearms into the island,” Marshall told THE NATION.
    “We are taking steps to round up those illegal firearms that have reached our streets, and to round up the people who wield them, and those in the drug trade who fuel the demand for the weapons,” he said, while pointing out that he could not share the details of police operations and strategies. (Quote)

This is absolute Mottley-type waffle. Don’t tell me, he cannot reveal the so-called measures for security reasons; or, maybe, he is being economical with the truth. The man is a political fraud. I remember a speech he made talking about the Barbados development model.
    This government continues to fabricate policies because it has no policy ideas. It is an old Chinese trick. Mr Chang Wong is selling bamboo sticks to hungry Bajans as if they are pandas.
    Bajans cannot see beyond their noses, the short-termism of owning a new car or stylish kitchen; the long term future is someone else’s responsibility.
    It will end in tears. Barbados is a failed state.

21. Willoughby’s Report is a weak report and de ole man will show you why i say so

“…a significant number of persons incarcerated for firearm related offences, can be classified as underachievers or have dropped out of the local educational system…”

What de ef does that mean Honourable Blogmaster!!

What is an underachiever?

As a dropout can the parties read or write? are they functionally illiterate?

Which schools did they come from? Is this a pattern for these specfic schoools?

Were the students exposed to specific teachers?

When de ole man said dat Mia Mottly wasted US$236 million on Edutech two fellers come heah and say dat de ole man is a conspiracist.

When de ole man say dat what the ignoramus should have done at that time was to have a specific number of the targeted schools equipped with “witeboards” (dat jackass Leximoron gine come and say dat this technology is outdated, without understanding dat de ole man talking bout a project funded by Pamela McKell nee williams daughter of Eric Williams, but overseen by charlatans and Un Illuminated chvunts, did not say Illuminat.

National Rape of the treasury of the cuntry by A Dictator in the Making, please doan let de ole man publish de spread sheets

There should bot be underachievers in Barbados because every fvcking school should be connected and the teachers teaching at St Michaels should be accessible at Brumeys.

ALL THE SCHOOLS IN BARBADOS SHOULD BE ON TECHNOLOGICAL PAR.

DE EFFING ISLAND IS TOO SO AND SO SMALL

And this would be a project for the Third Party Movement to engineer, with de assistance of de grandson, to show dese wicked self aggrandising fvckers what can be done

But den again de ole man ego showing heheheheheheheh

22. Was it her job to make public what you asked? What was her brief? We cannot blame her for identifying the issues. Our policy makers need to move the conversation with the country forward?

23. “Some are willing to pay as much as Bds $10 000 for a gun.”

Do we accept this figure of do we question it?

Are you telling me the average criminal who can afford $10,000?
    And if you are spent 10K to rent a gun how much do you have to make from your robberies ?
    And how much the damn gun cost $15K, $20K, $25K?

I gun stop for when you ask for numbers or question numbers in Barbados you are called “a dangerous man”.

24. Honestly does anyone really care about the number, the problem is there buy selling and renting guns dont get side tracked, Stay on point lets get the guns off the island so we can go back to hacking people up with a collins.

25. The study focuses on those who are already in prison.

If all of the crimes were committed by only those who were caught and in prison I could accept the conclusion and the headline. But if only a small percentage of the crimes are solved, then there is a vast nebulous group out there that we know nothing of and are not speaking of

Secondly this may be more than a function of school drop-out and poor education, Barbados is a place where you can ask for a favor and somehow the problem disappears. And we see how the justice system like to punish those who steal loaf of bread to ease their hunger. Are they in the 200? These statistics may be just for those who are poor, disconnected and unable to pull strings to escape Bajan justice.

41% is not even a majority of the 200. So a majority of the imprisoned school drop-outs (59%) were not involved in gun offenses.

“When we asked them what was the motivation for the firearm use and or possession, these persons indicated that it was for protection,” the criminologist pointed out.
    Are you going to rent a gun for $10K just for protection? (that’s not a good point, but I put it there)

I am seeing this “50 blocks” phrase quite often. What is the Barbadian definition of a block?

$10,000…. Get out of here

26. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Lexicon, I am just saying we have been too silent and selfish as a society while bestowing utmost confidence in politicians. We are suppose to lead politicians through the lobbying. However, we lack passion to live which is always seen as arrogance by those who hate to hear the truth. John F Kennedy that mans greatest problems can be only solved by men. Parochial Think Tanks and not constituency led think tanks could be an option.

Why cannot the RBPF through legislation engage a civilian arm with an Auxiliary Force similar to the US. I have a bajan friend who is 55 and got trained as a reserved police officer and volunteers 3 days a weeks with uniform and gun alongside regular police officers. #EmpowerPeople

Such a force would allow the masses to help solve their crime problem and act as a crime mitigation initiative. So many things are not rocket science but unless you have total engagement many unusual ideas will not be discovered.

27. @David
    “Where do we come from here?”

Alas we have breached a tipping point but much in the wrong way.

Just observing

28. @Observing

Hence the use of come and not go.

#gladwell🙂

29. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Theo…i will tell you something…never believe any statistics coming out of any government department in Barbados…not with the lies and deceit still prevalent..

…..there was a crimiologist will tell ya… that under Simmons and Dottin…they could not provide the public with accurate statistics…they were not allowed to…under threats of being fired….so expect even worse under this stained and tainted AG….who also thinks they will all continue to get away with more of the same…so when u see these new shiny faces jumping out with some pretend survey…they are only regurgitating what they are being TOLD to say.

Like that stink little cretin Pain…they think they can transfer all the blame to the disenfranchised people on the island, like how that beast ran off to the US ambassador snitching on the people but neglected and omitted to inform her…just how corrupt, criminal, tiefing and evil he is, like if she did not already know…..they blame everyone else for their own crimes, particularly the young…and hide their own involvement about why the island has so many guns, drugs and stolen car rackets…but not anymore though.

Ticktock….

30. Talking Loud Saying Nothing February 28, 2019 10:37 AM

So the topic has descended into the marital status of males. How typical of BU! Donna darling – the voice of reason – can you please steer this debate back on track?

I hope you aren’t being sarcastic because I consider that to be the second best compliment I have ever been paid. The first was that my default mode is the truth or to put it as my mother did when I was six, “You are a very uncomfortable liar!.”

I was taking a break yesterday as this murder spree was overwhelming me. I had to catch myself and take fresh guard.

I am still fidgeting at the crease. I am still not settled.

But thanks for the very kind words. I find you also to be reasonable in most cases. All of us have our off moments though, being human and subject to emotions.

31. Dullard March 1, 2019 8:40 AM

Care to share any views on this?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/02/28/trade-guns-for-our-self-help-tools-minister/

This minister found it necessary in his comments to lay all the blame at the feet of the DLP for spending money on summer camps.

When he can start making remarks without dropping remarks I will start taking him seriously. SMH.

What the hell are we going to do?!

32. @Dullard

The words as quoted by the minister do not reconcile with those being shared by the criminologist. The youth toting the guns lack cognitive skills. Our education system is failing, some homes are failing, the government is failing to facilitate economic opportunities etc. in other words the solution to the problem is complicated.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster I share ur concern: Why criticize the basic arithmitic of the ‘survey’ results of a prison population!

The facts speak for themselves.

@Pieces…come on bro…u know better than to throw up hit air balloons like dat.

…a significant number of persons incarcerated for firearm related offences, can or have dropped out of the local educational system…”

“What de ef does that [those classified as underachievers] mean …What is an underachiever?”

THERE are some of those we spoke of several blogs times over ago who get failing grades at 11+; those who remain underprepared and along with very poor home environments crash out of school having not ACHIEVED base level standards to compete for a reasonable job!

“As a dropout can the parties read or write? are they functionally illiterate?”

SOME of them cannot and are!

“Which schools did they come from? Is this a pattern for these specfic schoools?”

The same schools that take in those with the failing grades…let’s be frank and blunt….they are NOT from Foundation or St
    Michales or your Cawmere or CP other than a rarity!

“Were the students exposed to specific teachers?”

AT specific schools maybe … but bad or callous teachers abound throughout the system . Your elearn platform makes great sense but you know only too well that if a kid is coming to school WITHOUT breakfast, WITHOUT proper rest, WITHOUT the facility to do homework or to get the help needed to grasp key concepts that even the most gifted teachers will have great difficulty moving that student from underachiever to achiever!

@Theo…where in the report above was it stated that ALL 200 inmates were school dropouts?

My takeaway from the report (quickly read the above only) is quite different to yours.

1.This was a group of 200 inmates who SPECIFICALLY were incarcerated for GUN related acts.
    2.From that population over 27% were EXPELLED from school and an unknown % left on their own volition – which can surely be intetpreted as leaving before they too were expelleded after various infractions.

In short these inmates were ‘bad from youth’ and were not able to be translated Ed or guided to a path of legality .

THAT is the scary point. Surely if so MANY of the known criminals are of that predisposition then surely the population of those not interviewed or not caught is likely just as startingly high!

Thus when we argued some months back when the then Min of Educ. closed the specialized education schools and pushed those needy kids back into the regular dysfunctional schools from whence many of those Ms Willioughby interviewed we can better realize the lobgterm major problem we are in fact effectuating.

The report simply captures some nerve racking stats…why are we blaming the messenger unnecessarily.

34. @Dee Word

Continue with your reasonable analysis- how can we correct these bad boys. At this point how can we create an opportunity for them to experience an epiphany moment.

35. Isn’t there another expert who claims that the criminal element can be traced back to seven schools? Wuhloss I gwine soon hear that the white collar criminals come from HC or Combermere. These analyses are shallow and doesn’t shed any new light on the problems every society can point at poorly educated people as the root of criminality. When you don’t know where you are going any road will take you there.

36. David

To presume that there are ‘bad boys’ to be ‘corrected’ is not the critical point of departure. For it assumes that the systems are right and that these so -called bad boys are not a natural consequence therefrom.

We have been starting from that point for centuries and we’re still here.

A more appropriate question to posit should seek to involve a deep interrogation of all the systems around us. Of course, such questions go to larger orders of magnitude.

If we can agree that the education system is failing or has failed. Then certainly these cannot be the responsibilities of these bad boys to which you refer. Maybe bod boys at a higher level but not the ones manifesting as ‘criminals’.

37. @Sargeant

The the data points to the school should the results be manipulated?

@Pacha

Does it matter how the solution is defined? If we work backwards based on how we created the bad boys does it not agree with your starting point?

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sargeant at 11:24 AM

I agree with your conclusion in the referenced submission. The survey did not address the concerns of the society. It was data from a particular source. It does not address criminology as I understand it. We are concerned about the drivers of crime among the mainly male youth. Data is not information ;nor does it lead to knowledge.

39. When some make calls that we should get the rid of guns they generally refer to status quo.

Meaning that certain people are to have weapons and others none.

This central tendency can no longer hold.

We have to decide to get the rid of all guns, as a national policy.

When we say all, we mean all.

We have to try to get back to a place where policemen don’t have guns. Where certain elites, friends to the COP, other elites controlling economic resources, White people, cannot have guns and parade them around Barbados exhibiting the irrational power of a gun over others.

We would make a singular exception for the BDF.

40. David

Yes, it does. We need to determine whether we deal with the symptom or the cause. The margins are that great.

We tend to think that violence is generally located within the lack of resources. It can present in many ways. The absence of deep truths, etc

Meaning that education or re-education cannot be delinked from resource allocation and its historical patterns of maldistribution etc.

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

David March 1, 2019 11:17 AM

@Dee Word

Continue with your reasonable analysis- how can we correct these bad boys. At this point how can we create an opportunity for them to experience an epiphany moment.

WHAT IS SO REASONABLE ABOUT THE BULLSHIT DEE WORD WROTE THAT YOU CALL reasonable analysis

DO YOU REALLY EXPECT THIS JOKER TO ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS? IS HE A PSYCHOLOGIST OR PSYCOANALYST.

I CAN SEE THAT YOU LIKE TO ASK QUESTIONS LIKE IF YOU ARE A SCHOOL TEACHER IN THE HOPE OF ADVANCING THE DISCUSSION, BUT YA DONT ASK THE DUMBEST BOY IN THE CLASS, UNLESS YOU SEEKING TO WASTE TIME

THIS IS A MAN THAT TALKS ABOUT “EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS” AND ARGUES ABOUT IT WITH A MAN THAT ATTENDED SEVERAL AUTOPSIES

42. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

RE We have to decide to get the rid of all guns, as a national policy.

When we say all, we mean all.

We would make a singular exception for the BDF.

REALLY? REALLY? We would make a singular exception for the BDF. ARE YOU A MERE CLOWN OR ARE YOU A WHOLE CIRCUS?

THEN IF A LUNATIC IN THE BDF TURNS ON THE POPULACE HOW WOULD FOLK BE ABLE TO DEFEND THEMSELVES?

IS THAT NOT HOW STATES LIKE VENEZUELA ETC COME INTO BEING?

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

MrBlogmaster…an epiphany u say…bro if I had the definitive answers to your questions then u can be assured that I would have offered them (for good renumeration 😂)!

But that apart I would say the answers are known but like peace in Hanoi it’s freaking hard, continuous effort and hard slogging.

Don’t have time to prolix so let me use one simple anecdote that always resonated with me to pry open further … Years ago another professional doing one of these reports offered the sidebar that NONE of the prison population were ever Boy Scouts!

Eh….you likely ask..”what de eff that got to do with anything.”

Everything! Not scouting itself but what many have said already: solid foundational upbringing, development of social skills and excellent family life growth either directly or vicariously via other social networks (like scouts).

Nothing too fancy but also no singular epiphany moment either…just plain hard slogging over a kids early years!

And this is KNOWN by the many competent folks who are scattered throughout our civil service and professional ranks…bottom line it just isn’t happening as it should .

Anyhow lata…

BTW @Simple made a notable point yday re three of our top public figures namely GG, CJ and PM are not married. Surely a first here and in the region likely … not drawing the same conclusions she did but it’s clearly a massive signpost of the changing dynamics of our society…

So the ‘bad boy’ issue runs much deeper and broader as the Pacha opined.

We need to brace for this new era…it will be rough !

44. Stinking Georgie Porgie!

What a concomitant asshole. Are dispensationalist Christians always this *ucking foolish? Yes, believing 100,000 lies in the old testament alone is reason enough.

Jesus Christ! Based on your idiocy we should engage in the second amendment farce that your Whites masters have instituted in your New Jerusalem. Yes, that would be the most moral thing to do. Yuh female rabbit!

45. Dpd
    You #1 point is incorrect.
    Start wrong, end wrong.

46. Freedom Crier Avatar

The the Democrat Party that started the KKK to intimidate blacks into not voting and enjoying their newfound freedoms…and the NRA, founded in 1871 to improve marksmanship, which aided them in enjoying their Second Amendment rights. It was the NRA who supported a black man named Otis McDonald to sue the city of Chicago so he could have a firearm in his home to defend himself. And it is the NRA that made me, a son of Atlanta, Georgia, a southern American black man one of its board members. The damn NAACP has never asked me to join, and no wonder, it was founded by three white socialists….Alan West

allenbwest.americanewscentral.com

‘The NRA has hundreds of thousands of black members. Many people have been mislead and need to get educated on our civil rights struggle. This should be taught by good parents, and schools as part of Black History Month.’

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2078922945721788&set=a.1377744815839608&type=3&theater

Why the Second Amendment was Instituted…

https://www.snopes.com/tachyon/2016/06/thomas-jefferson-quote.jpg

47. @Dee Word

Your last paragraph is bound to raise some eyebrows again. The blogmaster has perennially posed the question in the vacuum created by a secular society that is growing by the day what have we created to replace religious studies that was anchored in traditional values? It is a philosophy query not motivated by should we be religious or not.

Give the Pedandic Word a break nuh?

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, why u don’t leave GP…the bro is intent on arguing with heself most vexatiously…cause I really ain’t paying attention to he broadsides ….too trivial and puerile at my age and with my aches!

Now @Theo…you sir I will take on …I will presume you READ English well…it’s my first language and despite stints wid a lil Latin and mucho Spanish and some French it still is my ONLY language ..so I try my best to make it awesome.

Can you pls…pretty please explain to me what this quote MEANS re ALL the prisoners interviewed and the COMMON offense they all had done?…. and then tell me on what basis you posted at 1:33 such inaccuracy?

“Willoughby noted that 200 prisoners (199 males and 1 female) incarcerated for gun-related offences were interviewed and of these, 172 were on remand and 28 were convicted. The inmates interviewed ranged from 21 years to 30 years.”

Thanks wise sir!