Crime Wave

Against the background of a spike in the number of murders for 2019 – up by 200% compared to 2018 – the attempt by Deputy Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce to assure the public that although the increase in the number of murders for 2019 is a worry, the overall crime rate was down to support his summation that Barbados is not gripped by a crime crisis.

The blogmaster understands the role Deputy Commissioner Boyce attempted to play in the prevailing environment. It is not dissimilar to what the late Prime Minister David Thompson, former Central Bank Governor Marion Williams and the late Supervisor of Insurance Wismar Greaves did when news broke that CL Financial in Trinidad had encountered hard times in 2007.

The time has come for Barbadians to accept that there is enough blame to go around to explain the current state that has seen 14 murders for the year. As the blogmaster is tapping the keys to post this blog there is a report of another shooting in the Black Rock area. On the ground what we are hearing is that gangs in Barbados have become very active in a fight for turf. This is not a situation that can be solved overnight by throwing security forces at the problem. There is irony in the memory of that time when the former Attorney General Maurice King pronounced that there were no gangs in Barbados.

We have to stop with the effusive rhetoric and political gamesmanship when discussing the escalating crime situation in Barbados.  The blogmaster sides with the view that politicians will say anything to be elected which conflicts with what is required to govern. Some people give the impression they revel in the crime situation unravelling in Barbados. A true Bajan cannot feel joy at this time

For many years the blogmaster has been posting about the weeds sprouting on our manicured lawns. Many then accused BU of being overly negative, yet here we are. Our education system continues to graduate children who are functional illiterates and lack the capacity to exercise logic and reason among other deficiencies.

Where do we come from here?

The blogmaster is aware that in every community across the island they are citizens who if they were to listen to conscience are able to expose the criminal elements to the authorities.  We have the opportunity to win back our little country by a few people doing the right thing. If as a country we fail to persuade those in our midst with information to share with the authorities, it will get worse. Is this the Barbados we want for our children?

182 thoughts on “Crime Wave

1. We are constantly making the mistake that the so called “ bad boys” are uneducated , stupid and don’t understand the socio- economic problems,we face.
    The Mighty Gabby attempted to bury this obdurate fallacy,recently on brass tacks.

2. Sending out a MIA for Bush Tea
    All hands on deck needed many hands make for lite work
    This could possibly lead to a crime of passion

####bushteaatlargemia

3. Comments from a funeral
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/01/graemes-farewell/

Those who know will fully understand and appreciate the statements made in the article re hypocrisy, double standards and politically driven elitism etc etc

Those who choose not to know will criticise and blame the “youth” entirely for their choices and their outcomes

Those who don’t know will keep presenting faulty solutions to their perceived problems hoping that something works and the problem doesn’t land on their doorstep

those who know, choose not to know and don’t know will continue to argue with each other and hence continue the cycle of socio-political divisions, economic discrimination, community fractiousness and values decay.

Will a real leader please stand up?

Just observing

4. @ All

SUBLIMINAL MESSAGES

De ole man observed recently that Dearest SSS had placed a number of subliminal messages in her picture at caption

@ Observer above references an editorial in one of the broadcast media of the state regarding this crime epidemic

Don’t you people realize that AT NO TIME THERE IS A MESSAGE TO ADDRESS THE DIMUNITION OF THIS PROBLEM, is is not carried on the first pages of our papers?

I mean, one would figure that, dem killing people every day, and you putting full pages with the gruesome picture of death YET, all the messages that focus on stopping the killings are hidden in 2 inch articles that are infrequently posted in nondescript and equally non noticeable sections of the media

Yet we say we are doing everything we can to help

5. Stealing is a crime yet it seems it is only the lawyers in Barbados who don’t get some serious prison time for stealing from their clients and everyone else..am sure grand larceny and fraud are on the statute books, don’t need any fake integrity legislation to uphold the law in these crimes…and that also applies to government ministers.

…bet the DPP and commissioner of police will tell ya some bullshit lie that they can’t enforce grand larceny, embezzlement and fraud charges on tiefing lawyers and government ministers…even if there are numerous complaints with evidence…

…am glad US is giving notice of criminal activities so that the world is aware that white collar criminals in Barbados in the parliament , bar association, and business community are every bit as deadly and dangerous to the majority population and those innocent victims whom they all target to rob…as those criminals who are shooting people dead in the streets..

https://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/ny-metro-lawyer-church-prison-20190301-story.html#nt=oft-Triple%20Chain~Recommender~triple-recommender~new-york-recommender~~1~yes-art~automated~curatedpage

“A lawyer who stole $600,000 from a historic Harlem church while handling a real estate deal will pay for his sins with a prison term.

John Shasanmi, 39, a Delaware resident, was sentenced Friday to 1 ½ to 4 ½ years in prison following his guilty plea to grand larceny and possession of a forged instrument.

Shasanmi made illicit withdrawals from an escrow account holding funds for the Second Providence Baptist Church on W. 116th St. between 2014 and 2017, prosecutors said.”

6. Ernest Jackman’s theft case has been clogging up the court system for 11 years…and his is only one, there are many more…he too being accused of stealing over 600K of a client’s money and in typical tiefing lawyer style…and despite a judgement to repay the man his money….via .a judgement in 2008 or 09…he still has not repaid the money…but the negro owns a plantation….

7. So Marshall can continue to separate criminals by the high school they attended as much as he wants but he cannot change reality that the biggest and deadliest criminals are to be found in Barbados’ parliament, among their friends, family, imps, pimps and yardfowls….AND in the toxic bar association AND in the thieving minority business community..

All 3 combined have reduced and demoted the island to its current horrible criminal state…and none of them can deny it….

8. for all the long talk about the schools and socio -economic background of would be gangsters, there are 3 basic solutions to the shootings and murders

stop them from doing it now
    stop them from wanting to do it
    find alternative outlets or social associations for the camaraderie they find in gangs

9. TheO,

Perhaps you were not too sensitive at all. I was responding to your earlier comment about scrolling past the looney who cries about communism, socialism and capitalism every day. The one who shall remain nameless because this site moderates my posts whenever I mention it. Strange but true.

10. WARU,

These lawyers and politicians and lawyer/politicians have taught the young men that crime, despite what that old adage says, DOES pay. What the young men haven’t learnt is that it pays for the EDUCATED not the uneducated.

The uneducated young men get prison and the cemetery while the educated get titles and national honours.

“Criminal” and “late lamented” for the uneducated versus “Queen’s Counsel” and “Sir” for the educated.

11. The pen is indeed mightier than the sword /gun.

The pen is the lawyer/politician/white collar criminal’s gun. With it he/she does immeasurable carnage. Lives are shattered and eventually the victims die a slow death.

We cannot live without money. When they take our money they take our very lives.

When we cannot afford a balanced diet, adequate shelter and medical care, when it stresses us daily to keep our heads above water, when they deprive us of opportunity for education and employment ….

THEY SHED OUR BLOOD.

What is the difference between them and the street thug?

They get away with it.

12. @Mr Greene, on another blog the politician in-waiting Mr Phillips was taken to task for offering solutions that lack the details (numerical in that case) that show any real fit for purpose useability…and over here there is more of the same … so in fairness maybe you can shed some light on yours!

Other than good sounding words can you identify any successful locales where this was achieved:
    “stop them from doing it now…stop them from wanting to do it…find alternative outlets or social associations for the camaraderie they find in gangs”

Or alternatively “score” some details on how the Bajan authorities can get from A to P (ie well along the path) on these strategies.

As I suggested this stems from my dribbles on Phillips so please don’t see it as some personal broadside to you…it’s simply part of the overall debate between sweet prose AND REALITY!

13. @Donna
    Excellent observation

Mario Puzo: A lawyer with his briefcase can steal more than a hundred men with guns.

I think the lawyers in Barbados have that as their motto.

You have been making some powerful observations.

I hope that folks like you Waru, , SSS, de old man etc. are able to remain as anonymice.

Was going to add Mariposa to that list, but folks would think I am joking.

14. Donna..but to add insult to injury…Marshall is getting some criminologist to criminalize 6 of the newer schools …trying to project that all the criminals come from those schools when very few of the criminal politicians, criminal ministers, thieving lawyers who commit crimes against people on a daily basis, criminal minorities who steal from the treasury and pension fund with the help of the corrupt ministers..not many went to those newer schools..

….all those criminals who have destroyed the island for decades, who corrupted the island beyond repair attended the so called pretend elite high schools , two of which still carry the names of vile, repulsive slave masters…

to criminalize high schools just to cover up the crimes of government ministers, lawyers and their bribers is a whole new low…ah don’t believe they got everyone bamboozled…with those lies, distraction and misdirection…..

ah don’t believe Mia and Dale can ever bamboozle vulnerable people ever again..since it is being said that Mia, though still to be confirmed.. had a constituency party recently and none of her constituents turned up, they want nothing to do with her…people from outside the constituency are the ones who turned up….so her tail is showing..

15. I need to know if there is any truth in this $10K gun rental fee,
    ‘I am planning to bring a few frozen turkeys in near the end of March.

I saw one fellow talking about the private sector generating jobs. I saw this paragraph somewhere (statistics may be old)
    “Moreover, the economist, who will become Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados in another two weeks, said 27, 500 people were employed in companies that provided personal and miscellaneous services, 26, 800 worked for Government and those two categories employed double the number that worked for the industry that drove the island’s economy – tourism, where 13 800 were employed.

Seem like the government is still a major employer …. You all have to stop reciting what you hear on talk radio outside of Barbados. Our economy is much different from your example…

16. RE since it is being said that Mia, though still to be confirmed.. had a constituency party recently and none of her constituents turned up, they want nothing to do with her…people from outside the constituency are the ones who turned up….so her tail is showing..

THIS IS VERY SERIOUS IF TRUE WARU

SOME ONE BEHIND ME SAYING……THAT BITCH WILL ITCH AS SHE FALLS INTO THE DITCH! MURDAH

SEEMS SHE HAS ENCOUNTERED A GLITCH
    THERE IS ONE HITCH
    NOW SHE WILL GET MORE MEAN SPIRITED!

LET US SING

OH HOW WE LOVE MI-YAH
    BECAUSE SHE BITING SO… OR BECAUSE SHE SCREWING WE SO MURDAH

17. Even Israel knows how bad the optics are to the world when you have corrupt government officials and lawyers sitting in ya parliament…colluding with equally corrupt business people…even they know they have to act to deflect all the damage and the only way to EFFECTIVE to act is to lock them up…..to successfully deter the others…with the same corrupt plans..

JOIN THE DISCUSSION
    “Israel’s Netanyahu Officially Indicted on Bribery and Fraud Charges

February 28, 2019 at 8:55 am
    Written by Tyler Durden

Tweet
    Pin
    23K SHARES
    (ZH) — Three months after Israeli police recommended that the country’s attorney general pursue charges against Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu over his alleged involvement in “Bezeq Walla Affair,” it appears an indictment is finally being handed down on Thursday, much to the longtime leader’s chagrin.

Since Netanyahu and his wife have become embroiled in multiple scandals over the past few years, seemingly all of which have yielded recommendations of prosecution, let us pause a moment for a quick refresher on the most serious allegations.

The crux of the case is that Netanyahu and his wife accepted bribes from Shaul Elovitch, the owner of Israel’s largest telecoms firm, Bezeq. Elovitch also owns the “Walla” news website. The prime minister crossed a line when he allegedly fired Communications Ministry Director-General Avi Berger and hired ex-Netanyahu campaign manager Shlomo Filber in a bid to help guarantee special treatment for Elovitch and his companies. In exchange, Netanyahu and his wife purportedly struck a deal with Elovitch for favorable coverage on his news website.

In addition to the bribery and breach of trust charges stemming from Bezeq-Walla, Israel’s Attorney General Avichai Mendelblit said Thursday that he intends to indict Netanyahu for fraud and breach of trust in two other cases.”

18. …even they know they have to act to deflect all the damage and the ONLY EFFECTIVE WAY to act is to lock them up…..to successfully deter the others…wHO HAVE the same corrupt plans..

19. WHAT DOES THIS HAVE TO DO WITH A CRIME WAVE IN BARBADOS
    AND WHAT DOES “Even Israel knows” MEAN?

KEEP WATCHING ISRAEL
    ISRAEL IS GOD’S TIME CLOCK IT IS GOD’S ALARM CLOCK AS ANY GOD ESCHATOLOGIST WILL TELL YOU

THEY WILL ALSO TELL YOU THAT THE BIBLE TEACHES THAT ALL THE NATIONS WILL HATE ISREAL AND THAT GOD WILL PLACE HOOKS INTO TURKEY, RUSSIA AND IRAN DOWN TO ISRAEL FOR THEIR DESTRUCTION

CANT YOU SEE THIS HAPPENING SOON?
    ITS VERY OBVIOUS TO ME.

20. @Waru
    The first news I heard this morning was that President Lula of Brazil was allowed to temporarily leave jail in order attend the funeral of his 7-year-old grandson, who died of meningitis.

In December 2018 “The Georgia state senator who steered his controversial campaign for governor with a “deportation bus” was jailed Wednesday after he was indicted on insurance-fraud charges and other crimes.”

I can easily provide an example of similar jailing of politicians in Asia. All over the world, ‘crookeds’ politicians and lawyers are going to making a jail or facing trial. Even in the bastions of corruption when the leadership change, the old officials have to run and hide somewhere.

Our bunch of crooks probably have their money in the US, but cannot run there. They are like sitting ducks in Barbados, but MIA does nothing.

Our Barbados train lets off steam and has all the bells and whistles of a real train, but it just cannot go round the track.
    It’s a toy tran
    It’s Animal Farm
    Bizarro’s World
    Not failed but failing

21. When a politician has to pay for favourable coverage, he dog done dead, perhaps he doggie too.

22. Either I am hearing voices or it is real…
    I have just been appointed head of the Mugabe Defense Force (MDF) on BU

Memo: Rules Of Engagement
    To: Enuff
    Rule: Do not engage GP. Not only is he giving you a good ass whipping, but it is demoralizing the rest of the foot soldiers.
    Are you being paid. So far I have not received a check.

23. DPD

I am sure some from you brainiacs could put some meat on those bones.

you all like to waste time discussing US politics so why not spend some valuable time in solving Bim’ s crime problems even in theory

24. ” All over the world, ‘crookeds’ politicians and lawyers are going to making a jail or facing trial. Even in the bastions of corruption when the leadership change, the old officials have to run and hide somewhere.”

It’s only in Barbados the criminals in the parliament, in the bar association and in the minority business community believe they are some kinda special and should not pay for their many vicious crimes against generations of vulnerable black bajans..they think they should not only get a pass from their criminal activities……..but allowed to resurrect the same corruption…while telling us to …”watch muh nuh” …then when ya watch them and record their crimes…they want to get vex…

….and telling the people shite about some “come to jesus moment”….while clogging up the supreme court with cases against the press for some shite defamation…;and still got the nerve to tell the injured population…that they are not going to pursue DLP crooks that they are letting the millions and millions of dollars in stolen money banked offshore by they themselves…slide…

for that alone, they all want jailing.

25. Step one foot in Israel GP and they will jail ya black ass…just for being black…

…ya really need to catch yaself.

26. If some of us are able to squeeze the politics from the issue of how do we defend against rising gun and violent crime the uneasy conclusion is that it will not be a quick fix. First we need a holistic plan. Is there a plan?

A pity some of us find it difficult to stay on topic.

27. RE Greene March 2, 2019 12:08 PM

DPD

I am sure some from you brainiacs could put some meat on those bones.

you all like to waste time discussing US politics so why not spend some valuable time in solving Bim’ s crime problems even in theory

MR GREENE SIR

FIRST DPD IS NOT A BRAINIAC OK? HE SAID THAT HE HAS UK APHASIA, AND I BELIEVE HIM. WHY ELSE WOULD THIS IDIOT ARGUE WITH ME ABOUT CERVICAL INJURIES, AND THEN TRY TO CONVINCE BU READERS ABOUT HAVING EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS?

SECOND DPD CAN NOT PUT BONES ON ANYTHING. HE ONLY CAN USE ARCANE WORDS AND TRY TO FOOL US THAT HE IS INTELLIGENT

THIRD THERE IS NO WAY IN THIS WORLD, OR THE NEXT, THAT DPD CAN SOVE ANY OF BIM’S CRIME OR OTHER PROBLEMS IN THEORY OR OTHER WISE.

SO GIVE IT UP SIR.

28. Step one foot in Israel GP and they will jail ya black ass…just for being black…

REALLY? I KNOW MANY BLACK FOLK WHO HAVE GONE TO ISRAEL ON VISITS TO THE HOLY LAND

…ya really need to catch yaself.

I HAVE MISS,
    I BELIEVE AND UNDERSTAND WELL THE BIBLICAL TEACHING ABOUT ISRAEL IN THE ENDTIMES AND CAN SEE IT ACTUALLY COMING TO PASS BEFORE OUR EYES

29. We now have two new laws that give the police complete autonomy over the people…that mean creating a police state…

The second law that was passed was that the Barbados Defense Force will be the second arm of the police force in cases of domestic unrest!!

Listen I like you could never envision our country in this situation…but from where I am standing we are in some deep sewage and some choose to bury their heads in the sand… Personally from the cards on the table, the voice of the people does not count. Our civil servants are now our masters…they do not believe they are employed by the people.

People beware…people think that a change in government will remedy our situation…in reality when choosing one Socialist government over another only means delaying the inevitable…

You can’t solve a problem without knowing the root-cause… that is like taking Panadol for a headache when you have a busted blood vessel in the brain! And you feel you fixing things!

Modern medicine treats the symptoms not the cause. Because if they get you to take a pill a day for your life they make money, if they cure you they won’t get any money tomorrow…

If you ask what we should do, you cannot treat the symptoms only you have to use the symptoms to lead you to the root-cause… then you can fix the problem…I have been speaking about the cause of our ills for a long time and some still don’t get it… especially lefties!!

What socialist governments advocate is more government to solve problems that government caused in the first place!!

One vicious circle that goes round and round and we end up in a Socialist Mayhem like Venezuela!!

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/58/56/b2/5856b20dd8c40414ab50831061d17bb6–law-and-order-conservative-politics.jpg

30. Fear Mongering does not Over Shadow the Greater Issue Here Of A Police State … Silence is Consent!!

This law is Tantamount to Martial law. That is what the Populace Should Fear Most… Look South to Venezuela!

Barbados is a Socialist State run by a Socialist Government!!

I AM NOT ANTI GOVERNMENT…I AM ANTI BIGGGGGGG GOVERNMENT!

SMALL GOVERNMENT IS BY THE PEOPLE FOR THE PEOPLE…BIG GOVERNMENT IS FOR BIG GOVERNMENT…

THEY ARE NO LONGER SERVANTS OF THE PEOPLE THEY HAVE BECOME THE MASTERS OF THE PEOPLE!!

Oversized Government with its Ideology that is Rooted Socialism has been such a Stealthy Culprit, that we have come to accept it without questioning. We need to understand that it’s all about Control, Control, Control with Endless Rules and Regulation that are incumbent upon the people.

https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/a/alexanderhamilton/383897/alexanderhamilton1.jpg

31. @ David
    For the hundredth time: You cannot plant corn and reap peppers! You were advised time and time again to set standards and you bluntly refused; you were told that people were hijacking the blog with nonsense and you allowed for years people to publish innuendo and nonsense without any relevance to the topic; allowed all kinds of unfounded accusations to flow on the grounds that if it was offensive one should not read it and now you complaining about people straying from the topic.
    I said that you acted like the same political class calling for standards while they set none for themselves. BU by now should have been a place where people come to read enlightening contributions but alas you refused to guide it in that direction.
    You can’t run with the hare and hunt with the hound.

• The blogmaster prefers self censoring, it makes for a more sustainable change in behaviour. Unlike you some of us live in hope that the impossible is possible. The nature of who we are is what it is, we have to coach the best out of people by appealing to their good sense.

32. As long as Mia continues to blatantly lie to the public…ABOUT EVERYTHING..

As long as she REFUSES to address the corruption of which she and half that cabinet play a big part…

As long as they all continue to sit their fat backsides in the parliament collecting monthly salaries while paying consultants massive amounts to do their jobs for them…cause according to Enuff in LaLa land…none of them are qualified or have the requisite expertise and qualifications or specialities to do the jobs themselves….and their only actions now seem to be assigning blame to everyone else willy nilly and not accepting any responsibility for their starring roles in what the country has become….nothing is going to get fixed…nothing…

33. “you all like to waste time discussing US politics so why not spend some valuable time in solving Bim’ s crime problems even in theory”

Come now @Greene, one discusses topics about which one has a strong interest…many of us ‘waste time’ discussing WI cricket too or how come Brazil got spanked so badly 2 world cups ago by the Germans, or when the Patriots will be beaten…lots of stuff over which we have absolutely no control…so that’s a total cop out!

The point I pushed back to you was made by the Blogmaster basically: “…how […] we defend against rising gun and violent crime [is no easy] conclusion”.

I suggest to you that many Bajan (brianiacs and others…we can go back to CoP Durant as a prominent example) have fleshed out many a plan to fight this issue but putting meat on bones does not by itself a healthy body make!

This recent spate of killings is a singular series of events based on some specifics happening on the blocks but of course the overall drug and gang warfare is now a very well ingrained problem that no mere words will solve …with or without brianiacs ! We all have wonderful theories because too many counties and local naves have battled the same issues but effecting them is still not easy.

Case in point ..just recently colleagues at a local school were discussing – no implementing- strategies which reminded me of those which had to be adopted by principal Clarke of ‘Lean on Me’ fame/infamy….so yes, the theories and constructs are known but in this local true to life movie I don’t see a nicely wrapped happy ending here!

34. “cause according to Enuff in LaLa land…none of them are qualified or have the requisite expertise and qualifications or specialities to do the jobs themselves…”

and that includes addressing corruption and crime waves..

Although they all LIED and said on the political platform that they were all qualified to run the country….so next election…Mia and all the other political parties will have to FIRST …tell bajan voters…just how many millions of taxpayers money they will need to spend on consultants once elected..before they start with the lies and self promotion of how qualified they are…..since we all now know that none of them are qualified to manage any country…without qualified consultants….

wuh if Mia is reelected…she will have to recall the same consultants..at taxpayers’ expense…cause neither she and the others will be specialized or qualified in 4 years 3 months.

And the beauty of this is…Enuff & Co can’t even tell me ah lie…lol

35. @ William,

Well said. The blog needs direction, not only in terms of politics, but generally. What do we know about the White Oaks deal and why have we not fully discussed it? What about Venezuela and the ‘neutral’ CARICOM position? What about a proper discussion of crime policy? Snide remarks and deference to orthodoxy do not make for mature discussions. Then there is the vulgarity.

36. David,

Change the blog to that dry stuff and many will go elsewhere. You can learn plenty from BU if you look for it. This is not a site for academics. The good stuff is mixed in with the fluff. Most people do not have that kind of attention span for long dry discussion.

And so I ask you, David – what is your target audience?

I am not one to gossip much and extreme vulgarity is not my thing BUT those who are dissatisfied need to do their own thing. and cater to the audience they prefer. Why stick around and moan?????

Or have they already tried and failed???

#wanttoborepeopletodeath

• @Donna

The target audience frequents BU daily. Unlike a few on the blog who have a lot of time on their hands, the BU household is a hectic place. We have neither the time or appetite to review comments and delete based on some subjective view. When that time comes we will close the blog.

37. Having some fun fretting some Englishmen on BBC sports. Some of them are actually blaming the pitch, saying we prepared the pitch to suit ourselves and that the pitch was lousy, pushing the limits of cricket pitches. I didn’t see an uneven bounce, just bounce available to taller bowlers.

These are the things that annoy me about certain people of the colonial persuasion. They think we should prepare facilities to suit them as though the cricket field is some hotel!

38. @ GP

The violent and drug trafficking criminals in Barbados also feel more emboldened when they saw Mia after the election on a video on Social media that I later copied on BU from Facebook smiling and socialising with three of the main Barbados druglords including Nigel Bounty Pinder.

Five of the main drug lords plus well known trickster and drug trafficker Reggae Promoter Freddie Hill were also invited to Parliament.

What messages do you think is being sent to boys on the blocks who is seeing this?

In Trinidad the current Prime Minister Rowley fired one of his Ministers who invited a known drug lord from his own constituency to a Function at the President’s House.

All standards in Barbados have broken down and the blocks are intelligent enough to see the COLLUSION.

39. “Or have they already tried and failed???

#wanttoborepeopletodeath”

Lol..lol

40. Donna March 2, 2019 4:40 PM

Having some fun fretting some Englishmen on BBC sports. Some of them are actually blaming the pitch, saying we prepared the pitch to suit ourselves and that the pitch was lousy, pushing the limits of cricket pitches. I didn’t see an uneven bounce, just bounce available to taller bowlers.

These are the things that annoy me about certain people of the colonial persuasion. They think we should prepare facilities to suit them as though the cricket field is some hotel!

OFF COURSE THEY DO
    THEY HAVE ALWAYS CHANGED THE RULES TO SUIT THEM

SOON THE RULES WILL BE AMENDED TO STATE THAT TALL FAST BOWLERS SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO PLAY AGAINST THEM

I HOPE THAT THEY DONT EVEN REACH THE SEMI FINALS IN THE WORLD CUP

I LOVE TO HEAR THEM GROAN AND MOAN WHEN THEY LOSE

41. It’s amazing we talk about the need to change and rethink our approach . We speak about the political class impotence and a simple suggestion to the blogmaster is scorned!
    BU has a readership that surpasses any blog based in our country. It would be in our interest if it at least tries to focus more and attract the thousands of young minds , that we say are in need of direction.
    Let us not say “ we like um so” because it serves our purpose.
    I certainly did not suggest it becomes a “boring” blog. Quite frankly I do enjoy most of the contributions.
    I am plesantly amused by those who say if you don’t like it to go somewhere else. Reminds of returning nationals especially from England, who used to be told to leave if they complained about anything.
    We want change once it does not upset our comfort levels.
    Yep, they used to complain about the then creeping crudeness and incivility that was emerging; they used to complain about poor service, they used to complain about our addiction to lateness.
    They were told they were mad and longer fitted into the “culture”.
    Now look wuh happen. I say no more.
    Thanks.

42. @ William

It has been ever thus. To really see what Barbados is like, just go overseas and look back. When you are in a little hole and all you can see are the people crowding you, you get a different picture. It is what I call Plato’s Allegory.
    Remember the little German girl who was kidnapped and held in a badly lit room for years; when she got out she had realised the world had moved on. Barbadians cannot help looking back – to colonialism, to slavery, to Barrow, to the good old days. We punch above our weight.
    They are scared of the unknown, of the future, of the unfamiliar. They find comfort in learning by rote, repeating the same thing over and over again, the better they do the more they think they are ‘educated’.
    They are like people in an asylum who believe they are free, until they notice the waves washing up on the shore are in fact keeping them (and their minds) imprisoned.

43. Image, no caribbean nations manufacture guns or ammunitions, yet , the society is awashed with these deadly instruments.

44. The spread and upsurge of fatal gun crime across the region is a trending phenomenon over the last fifteen years. Only a few islands are the exception( eg. Dominica and Grenada). And if it continues like it is, they too will become victims sooner or later.

The irony in all of this, is that, our economy is built on tourism. And gun violence and tourism don’t go together.

• @fortyacresandamule

You are scarce as Freundel on BU these days?

Any ideas the initiatives we should be taking to arrest the problem?

45. How many people in Barbados attend lectures and who attends them? I attend lectures (and watch those I miss on Say it Again on CBC) and I can tell you the audience is usually small and made up of the same old educated people. If you try to start a serious conversation with the man on the street he tires quickly. You can continue to make your contributions in your own way. I enjoy reading them and often agree with you. (That’s for William not Hal.) What I am trying to say is that the average reader whom David might be trying to awaken will not be drawn in by you and Austin. Even I, though at first startled by the delivery, after being informed by Bush Tea that I was in a rum shop came to understand what BU is about. I grew up with rum shops in my village and often fell asleep to the sounds and I must admit that I miss them. Pearls of wisdom were often shared along with plenty of nonsense and when they wanted a dispute settled they turned to my father as the voice of reason.

A few pearls of wisdom are still shared here found in the midst of plenty of nonsense but even a village idiot should have a voice Villages worked when that was the case.

The purpose of BU may not be to thrash everything out in one day but to plant seeds that grow gradually in the minds of the average man.

I remember a pearl of wisdom I received from a co-worker who wore 1970 s clothes and an afro long past the sell by date.

One day I asked him why he wouldn’t replace his beat up briefcase and he said –

“You Bajans take the last hundred dollars out of your purse and buy a better purse. Then you walk around showing off an empty purse.”

That follows me around every time I go shopping. I never looked at spending money the same again. It took a while for my habit to change but I have arrived!

The years of dry financial lectures did nothing.

Two Bajan style dry wit sentences eventually did the trick.

By the way, he was a man who frequented the rum shops.

• @Donna

You are a very smart person

You could have substituted purse for Apple phone.

Some things never change.

46. David,

They may not change for everybody but they change for some. I have planted that seed win my son and boy can he save! He thinks before he spends but still has a group of friends with whom he shares freely. I am amazed at the friendships that he has managed to build and how strong they are. These young people share everything they have with each other. Freely without keeping an account. My son has friends who, on getting a vacation job rush to buy him Christmas gifts and one who has left school and is working handed over a wad of cash he had in his pocket on a chance meeting “because he missed his birthdaY.” All these young men say it is because my son shared so freely with them when they needed it. There are some girl friends who do the same. And so my son is thrifty without being stingy. Perfect!

The distrust and selfishness that does not allow us to work together in business enterprises is not evident with these young men and women. I see many positives in these.young people. They give me hope.

47. @David. Fruedel, LOL! Your too funny. I am still in the house.
    Like most social problems, crime and violence is complex in its causation and requires a multi-prong attack in its curtailment. Gang violence and its attendant of gun homicides, focus of attention should be placed on these two main areas in my opinion :

A robust antigang legislation with teeth. Someting along the line of a RICO legislation. Follow the money. However, I am not naive, more easy said than done. Along the same path the police service will need its own reforming.
    Border protection should be top prority.The security architecture at the port, where most of the illegal guns enter the country, should be revamped. All containers entering the country should be scanned. Port security personels should all under go fit and proper check along with polygraph testing.

48. If the people want guns, they will get guns. If the people want drugs, they will get drugs. I have heard that the gang warfare is more prevalent when the police manage to intercept too many drug shipments. I hear that the gangs then steal each other’s drugs and therein lies the problem. I learnt this from a hairdresser with bashment clients who anxiously await the proceeds of the sales.

We will never eradicate the drug trade. What we can do is reduce the number of participants in it by providing opportunities for those who see no other option. It is about managing the level of crime rather than eliminating it.

49. @Donna. I agree, crime will always be here with us. However, this recent upsurge in gun homicide violence should be vigorously stamp out and not allow to become the norm. Becuase if we don’t , dog eat our supper.

In the late 90s, St Kitts was marred by gang and drug violence. The authorities at the time turned a blind eye or think this will just pass away. It never did. st Kitts murder rate is one of the highest in the world since.

50. It is indeed amazing that Dale ” Smiley ” Marshall had all the answers to Barbados’ crime situation prior to May 2018.

So much so that on Kadooment Day 2017 – when there was unwarranted gun violence on Spring Garden – this same Dale Marshall berated the then AG Adriel Brathwaite , and told all and sundry that Brathwaite ain’ t have a clue about solving Barbados’ crime situation.

Now , between January 1 2019 to March 19, 2019 – the same Dale Marshall as AG has presided over – 19 MURDERS !

And all he has done is to , SMILE , more !

Retribution !

51. Fractured BLP

I hope you realize the name “Fractured BLP” you used to ridicule the BLP back-fired, because you’ve now become a “FRACTURED and DECIMATED Democratic Labour Party.”

You even elected the three (3) time loser Verla DePeiza to lead your party and she is “painfully” struggling to address serious issues.

now, would you please tell BU what policies either BLP or DLP administrations could implement that would prevent a man from “putting on a mask” and going into a village to shoot, rob, kidnap, rape or assault an individual, breaking into a house, car jacking or committing any other serious crime?

Better yet, tell BU what Adriel Brathwaite would have done to prevent the 18 murders In Barbados so far for this year?

I’ll remind you to read your DLP’s 2008 and 2013 manifestos and come to BU to inform us what policies and promises relative to the crime situation contained therein that were implemented or fulfilled.

52. Asstax

The least you say about DLP policies the better for you.

You need to address that the FACTS that the BLP had all the answers before May 2018 – and now 9 months later their CHICANERY has been exposed !

Even Jeffrey Loss – tic is waking up to the fact and lamenting that even his City constituents are turning their backs on him !

That’s the RETRIBUTION for the LIES & PROPAGANDA the Blasted Lying Party (BLP) fed their supporters wid !

Tek dat in yuh tail !

53. Fcuktured BLP

The typical yard-fowl…… you did not address the substantive issue, but went on to write political rhetoric that you’re famous for spewing.

But we all know you’re an expert in “the fundaments of chickens coming home to roost,” because you likewise experienced
    “RETRIBUTION for the LIES & PROPAGANDA the Demonic Lying Party (DLP) fed their supporters wid”…….

………. when you were “OVERWHELMINGLY” and “RESOUNDINGLY” REJECTED by the ELECTORATE (including your SUPPORTERS)………. 30-0 at the polls on May 24, 2018.

BTW, wuh part Fumbles Stuart, Chris Stinkliar, Todd, Bandit Chaser Irene, Esther Buyer-Suck-who, Denis Lowe-down and de rest uh DEM gone?

Uh know uh cud go to Moontown and find Kelly; de Pitbull duz be getting more drunk in he bar; Michael Lashley busy representing de ZR and mini-bus men (dat he gave PSV permits to for small fee); and the USA’s judicial system ALWAYS KNOW wuh part Donville “it can’t be business as usual, bring solutions” Inniss duz be (thanx to the ankle bracelet)……

…….. but wuh part de rest uh DEM gone?

Leave a comment, join the discussion.