For decades we in the Caribbean, misguidedly so, have been living under a false presumption that our here and dear homeland was ‘a zone of peace’. We well remember those homilies as oft repeated by generations of the political elites, as if mantra, but not at all well-based in truism. These thinly-veiled falsities have been laid bare by the existential realities of our time. Enter, the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela!

As Wilpert has argued, the Pink-Tide governments currently facing serial reversals in the wider region always had Venezuela as their epicenter. Thus, the internal logic employed by Washington was not to be limited to the rollbacks in Brazil, Argentina, Ecuador and Guatemala for Venezuela was always the main target. Of course, Cuba and Nicaragua remain firmly within the bullseye of empire as well. Mexico under its new left-leaning president will soon, more openly, also attract empire’s ire. Under this global financial hegemony no deviations to the established orthodoxy shall be permitted, they posture.

Imperialism has gone through at least three (3) distinct phases. Classical imperialism meant you outright stole other peoples’ things at the point of a sword. Colonial imperialism has meant that one was committed to bearing the costs of administrative control, or management on the ground directing the theft of resources, thereby reducing the net margin of surpluses extracted. The colonial extraction of surpluses by financial imperialism is the purest and most efficient formation thus removing up to 95% of surplus production from the ‘host’ directly to the German bankers or ‘parasites’, as in the recent case of Greece.

In the case of the militarized financial colonialism, which seeks to re-impose itself on the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, the adversary is seeking to create conditions on the ground aimed at the renewal of historical patterns of extraction by pressuring the country with a contrived humanitarian crisis. By paying off its national debt and kicking out the International Monetary Fund (IMF) Hugo Chavez denied the money-changers the rentier economy most efficient in extracting surpluses. This is a long-planned artificial crisis to which they are presenting the faux but ready-made solution, of course!

The United States has, for many years now, deployed dollar supremacy to create artificial scarcities in Venezuela, primarily through financial manipulation and employing other petroleum producers to sink the price of crude. Such a scenario unduly pressurizes the population; suggest that the military should be disloyal and commit treason; aims to set up a rival government in Venezuela; is portentous for a civil war; locates the Caribbean well within a final war scenarios. But America should try to avoid a hot war for it has lost every conflict, except Grenada, in more than one hundred (100) years. However, civil confusion, fictitious claims to governmental authority and disaster capitalism are also in America’s immediate interests, like in Syria and contrary to popular claims. Claims just as propagandistic as those about ‘zones of peace’ anywhere.

The USA has set up financial companies in Colombia to invite holders of US dollars to remove them from the country (Venezuela), mainly the wealthy Venezuelans left behind. They have set up financial services companies in Miami whose sole role are to act to drive down the parity for the bolivar, creating inflation of more than a million percent in a year. Then they blame Chavez and Maduro for ‘mismanagement’ and they own the media to often repeat their memes, lies. They have insisted, for years, that Venezuela was not to borrow in US dollars from anywhere. They have demanded that American companies operating in Venezuela were to repatriate their reserves of US dollars. And more!

More recently we have seen the weaponization of international finance taken to a new and worrying level. It’s worrying for Russia, China, Turkey and others. The United States has contravened the well-established understanding of international law what sovereign statism means when removing the legal protections the government of Venezuela has had viz a viz its US dollar reserve holdings in American banks and its holdings of bullion in London institutions. We are witnessing a global colonial conspiracy with obvious extraterritorial implications. It is or should be intolerable to all world nations. The grapes of globalization, you say!

What connects the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the dirty looks of American empire is the three (3) letter word which has been, since its discovery, been the bane of all countries of the South. What’s worse, is that imperial (American) control of oil, we say control not necessarily ownership, not that Trump and those currently in the White House care much about the differentiation any more, for they are gangsters. But crude oil is the single strategic mineral, which has, since 1971, could have acted to impose a perceived value on a fiat American ‘currency’ through ‘forced-demand’ market conditions as imposed by empire. Without which, the paper-tiger of an American empire falls, tomorrow morning!

These are the orders of magnitude the present illegal and aggressive ‘humanitarian’ war against the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela represents for the Caribbean, the wider region and the very existence of live on our Mother, Earth. These scenarios make nonsense of quaint notions about ‘zones of peace’ anywhere. For Russia, China, Iran and others will not be forever dominated by American fiat currency control mechanisms, for resistance must come, sooner or later. And if Venezuela is to be the battle ground no pretenses about the Caribbean as a ‘zone of peace’ can contain these configurations of forces.

We are endeavouring to ignore the bellicose mouthings of Trump and company. Beyond that, all the other international indicators suggest the end of imperium. All the forces within the United States of America, itself, also point to an unescapable collapse, and very soon too. War with Venezuela, as urged by the Deep State or permanent American government and particularly the bankers running the Federal Reserve, remains the last flicker of hope for maintaining or extending American global hegemony. For they have failed to control Russian oil, Iranian crude, Central Asian resources, so Venezuela seems a necessary but insufficient target. They should expect millions of freedom fighters from Venezuela and elsewhere to deliver a righteous resistance, in several neighbouring countries as well. Venezuela represent another miscalculation for the internal and external constellations are working against the continuation of American hegemony and are well-disposed to denying empire any lifeline.

The very existence of America has always been about global hegemony. We simply have to look to see where its nearly 1000 military bases are located. We’ll discover that they are primarily situated near oil fields, to protect oil shipping lanes and other strategic minerals. The oil majors have always acted as instruments for imperial power starting with Iran (1953) as British Petroleum, as successor, acted with the CIA and British Intelligence (MI6) to remove Mohammad Mosadegh, a duly elected leader, who nationalized Iranian oil. By these, the oil majors, on whose behalf the United States military has always been praetorian guard. Of course, they enlist their partners in crime to assist in the policing of the world’s resources. France’s hegemonic relationships with its former colonies still represent the most perverse contradiction from the country which continues to claim to have given us ‘liberty’.

Why the increased recklessness at this time? Well, major countries are coming to realize that the fiat dollar has been used to threaten them, wage wars against them, impose sanctions against them, subjected them to intractable poverty, been extractive of real wealth owned by them, subjected them to more and more irrational American demands, the rising list of demands never seems ends. Strengths also present weaknesses and the growing weakness of empire also presents the Achilles Heel as a point of attack. So we have a number of countries establishing systems which seek to bypass the US dollar as global reserve currency and the Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication (SWIF) system used for its transfer.

Venezuela, just last years and in its own defense, decided to price its oil in the yuan, or petro-yuan, the currency of China. This military response by Trump and his gang in the White House is not dissimilar to what happened to Maumar Khadafy when he decided to sell Iraqi oil solely in the gold dinar. Meaning, buyers had to hold gold to buy Libyan crude oil. No such competition is ever to be given to the Devil’s dollar. The same fate met Saddam Hussien of Iraq, who deciding to price Iraqi crude similarly. They are many other countries facing this colonial reprisal. We will do well to remember that our region has never been a stranger to American backed wars, subversions and intrigues.

Contrary to the predictions of Trump we expect the American empire to collapse long before his wish for ‘socialism’, as an organizing principle, to have a chance in the heart of imperium. The truth is that America has many aspects of what he calls, derisively, as ‘socialism’. Indeed, Trump himself is a product of statist or corporate socialism through the privatization of surpluses and the socialization of debt, his many unpaid debt from several bankruptcies.

As we approach the weekend we now see the British billionaire, Richard Branson, bringing a threatening humanitarian live aide type concerts to Venezuela’s borders. This is the threatening behavior of the humanitarian war hawks and Venezuela should have a prepared counter-measure for any kinds of forces threatening it. Branson, an acolyte of Obama must also be an agent for empire. Venezuela, a country is not starving as they would wish us to believe. Why can’t this man Branson, who got his billions through the thief of public assets, not encourage the aggressive countries for which he acts as agent, to deliver the resources of the Bolivarian Republic, instead?

Everything here proves that it was a ‘mistake’ for Hugo Chavez to expect to launch a real structural revolution to liberate the masses of the Venezuelan peoples while at the same time leaving the capitalist structures in place. These capitalists have always been the agent of slavery, colonialism, neo-colonialism and now financial imperialism. They are the ones who, like the Americans, always believed that all the resources of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela were theirs and theirs alone, even as they served their White masters from abroad.

232 responses to “VENEZUELA VERSUS THE CRIMINAL, NEO-FASCIST REGIME IN WASHINGTON – NEXUS FOR THE END OF AMERICAN GLOBAL FINANCIAL SUPREMACY AND IMPERIUM”

1. @ John,

Are you Quaker John, the former Barbados scholar?

2. Donna

You sure this wasn’t a repeat of the Democrat Looney, disciple of Crazy Bernie, attack on Republican Congressmen playing baseball which left Steve Scalise injured?

3. RE I was expecting that stupid “Grenada” response

NOT STUPID……….BUT FACTUAL uh lie?

4. Barbados position is clear, they continue to recognize the administration with the seat at the UN.(Quot e)

I thought the official Barbados position was to be ‘neutral’? What wisdom is behind this statement?

5. Hal Austin
    February 25, 2019 12:15 PM

@ John,
    Are you Quaker John, the former Barbados scholar?

Not a Quaker but did win a Barbados Scholarship in 1975 … and a Barbados Exhibition in 1974.

That makes me both a Barbados Scholar still.

…. and an Exhibitioner …. or is it Exhibitionist?

6. RE Hal Austin February 25, 2019 12:15 PM

@ John, Are you Quaker John, the former Barbados scholar?

HAL, APPARENTLY JOHN WON TWO SCHOLARSHIPS……………DID YOU EVER WON ANY.

DID YOU EVER WIN ANYTHING BESIDE A STUFFED TOY AT THE CHURCH BAZAAR?

BY THE WAY HOW DOES ONE BECOME A “former Barbados scholar?”

AFTER ALL THE OPPORTUNITIES YOU HAD IN THE UK TO BE SOME KIND OF SCHOLAR. TELL US “HOW WELL DID YOU DO?”

7. Hal

What do you think a Quaker is?

8. Donna a Great Alternative to the Murder of the Innocent Ya Think???

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10210650317092639&set=a.1238828509379&type=3&theater

And yes LEFTIST LOGIC ….Kill the Innocent and Let Murderers go Free!!!

Lethal Injections Not Allowed for Murderers in Vermont, But Unborn Babies Will Soon Get Them Up to Birth
    State Steven Ertelt Feb 22, 2019 | 1:30PM Washington, DC

The state of Vermont appears to be the next state to follow New York and legalize abortions up to birth. But ironically Vermont does not allow the death penalty and hasn’t executed a murderer in the state in decades
    Read More @https://www.lifenews.com/2019/02/22/lethal-injections-not-allowed-for-murderers-in-vermont-but-unborn-babies-soon-will-get-them-up-to-birth/?fbclid=IwAR1swbdev97Oa_uXzupSOxIjrqdK87DMq-j0_uIOSIszKmY_zrcs7SiSS48

Image https://screenshots.firefox.com/49VBTBAPdSSkZRzZ/www.lifenews.com

9. JOHN
    HAL THINKS THAT A QUAKER IS A PERSON THAT MAKES ONE QUAKE IN THEIR BOOTS!

10. @ John,

Once a Barbados Scholar (at age 18 or 19) you remain a Barbados Scholar for ever, like a Nobel Laureate (for a lifetime’s work)? Is there a register of Barbados Scholars.
    I also notice you had two bites of the cherry 1974 and 1975, so presumably you did not take up your 1974 offer?

11. @ HAL
    NO DUMMY HE STAYED ON IN 6TH FORM FOR ANOTHER YEAR!

TO WIN AN AWARD AT THE FIRST ATTEMPT IN SCIENCE BACK THEN WAS QUITE EXCEPTIONAL…….DONT YOU THINK

IS IT REALLY TRUE, HAL, THAT SPENDING LENGTHY PERIODS OF TIME IN THE UK WARPS WHAT EVER LITTLE BRAIN YOU HAVE?

12. Vice President Mike Pence delivers remarks to the Lima Group in Colombia.

https://www.facebook.com/FoxNews/videos/542887862875756/?notif_id=1550965514980932&notif_t=live_video

Juan Guaidó, interim president of Venezuela, and MIKE PENCE, Vice President of the United States, participate in the lima group meeting in Colombia to discuss the situation in Venezuela.

https://www.facebook.com/UNIVISION23MIAMI/videos/261236188112603/

13. MADuro celebrating as Humanitarian aid went up in Flames!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10161782065360268&set=a.10150546217925268&type=3&theater

14. Numbers increasing daily over 200 have Armed Forces Defected from the MADuro Regime!

Frigate Lieutenant of the National Navy of Venezuela crossed the arauca river, arrived at the office of the people in arauca for protection.

https://www.facebook.com/AnonymousVene10/videos/381413499128940/

Two police officers from Venezuela are fleeing the regime!!!

https://www.facebook.com/unpanaencolombia/photos/a.2067473290230116/2292459364398173/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/javier.castrtillon/videos/10218331351980019/

The good we are more #gnb on the simón bolívar bridge they turned to the government thanks to God they realized they were acting wrong… against their own people.

https://www.facebook.com/javier.castrtillon/videos/10218331351980019/

15. Donna February 21, 2019 On another blog

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/military/coast-guard-officer-wanted-kill-democrats-msnbc-hosts-say-prosecutors-n973786

Look at what you are promoting and supporting when you line up behind that hideous monster. You are a bunch of very sick creatures.

P.S. Do not bother to remind me of the leftist shooter who shot Scalise. Bernie Sanders does not encourage violence by his rhetoric. Incendiary rhetoric is Trump’s trademark. I can post you several videos of Trump inciting violence. Not to mention his Twitter account.

This is another thing we did not need Limbaugh to predict.

16. Do not bother to remind me of the leftist shooter who shot Scalise. Bernie Sanders does not encourage violence by his rhetoric. Incendiary rhetoric is Trump’s trademark

BUT TRUMP’S SUPPORTERS HAVE SHOT NO ONE
    SANDER THE SOCIALIST IDIOT’S SUPPORTER HAS
    THIS IS A FACT THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

THIS IS BARE SPORT

17. I didn’t need Limbaugh to predict your stupid response either.

Let me remind you of another earlier post of mine. It was only yesterday that I said.

Extremists! The real enemies of the people. Left wing extremists bad. Right wing extremists bad.

What was your response, you sick creature?

Not one word condemning right wing extremists! Plenty posts on stupid Jussie Smolllet!

SMH

Well, I guess you just have to follow your leader!

18. Excerpts from Vice President Mike Pence remarks to the Lima Group in Colombia…

Where the Spirit of the lord is there is Liberty

To the People of Venezuela are standing up for Freedom and Democracy as the people of Venezuela stand up, the people of the United States is right there by their side.

We say from our hearts to the Freedom loving people of Venezuela, know that you do not go alone, you go with the support and prayers of the American people, the people gathered here today and the Freedom Loving people across the world.

As you stand for Freedom, you go with the Grace of the Author of Freedom who said in those ancient words, do not be afraid, stand firm and you will see the Deliverance the Lord will bring you today, for where the Spirit of the lord is there is Liberty.

Freedom springs from the hearts of all those across the new world and as Simon Bolivar said, “A people that loves Freedom will in the end be Free”.

With Faith in that great Promise, in all that have joined the cause of Freedom in Venezuela, the day is coming soon when Venezuela’s nightmare will end and Venezuela will once more be free, when her people will see a new birth of Freedom a nation reborn to liberty…

To the good people of Venezuela, seek your Freedom, we will go with you, you go with God.

https://daily-bible-verse.net/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/2Corinthians317.jpg

19. RE Extremists! The real enemies of the people. Left wing extremists bad. Right wing extremists bad.

What was your response, you sick creature?

ARE YOU SAYING THAT IF A PERSON DOES NOT RESPOND TO YOUR EXTREMIST VIEWS ON EXTREMISTS THAT THEY ARE SICK?
    WHAT SICKNESS DO THEY HAVE?
    OR IS THIS A NON SEQUITUR.

RE Plenty posts on stupid Jussie Smolllet!
    INDEED! SHOULD NOT ALL JOIN IN CONDEMNING THIS IDIOT …….ESPECIALLY TO TEACH THE YOUTH WHAT NOT TO DO?

20. The intent is what matters, dear George. It really pains me to see you argue this sort of crazy way.

He built up his arsenal. He was making his plans. He is an ex Marine. He knows how to do it.

The point here, dear George, is that Bernie Sanders does not incite violence and quickly condemned it in the strongest possible terms.

Here’s your guy.

Trump didn’t say what was sad. Maybe he thinks it’s sad he didn’t succeed.

Like this guy.

But not this one.

Or this one.

Trump’s language against blacks protesting police brutality by kneeling on a football field was to call them sons of bitches and advocate for hauling them off the field.

His lukewarm response to the white terrorist is a dog whistle signalling his approval.

But hey, I don’t live in the USA.

How about you?

Remember… we all look alike to a white terrorist. No medical diploma or stupid Barbados scholarship is going to help you.

Is it hatred of your so-called bulling Shitbama that is blinding you to your own self-interest?

We know how intensely you old “Evangelical Christians” feel about homosexuality. Did his pursuit of change in marriage laws trigger this irrationality?

SMH.

And that’s my final answer. Back to Venezuela where your slimy toad is trying to take Venezuela’s oil like he wished to take Iraq’s.

21. DONNA YOU WORKING HARD WITH YOUR U TUBES LOL

JUST READ THIS

Steven Ahle STEVEN AHLE FEBRUARY 25, 2019

It’s no wonder that so many Democrats support Maduro in Venezuela. Besides being a socialist, the government confiscated all the guns owned by private citizens, so they can’t fight back against a corrupt government.

After all, Democrats don’t want you to be able to fight back as they quickly take away freedom after freedom. As the military has been opening fire on the civilian population, they no longer have the ability to defend themselves.

In 2012, Venezuela’s dictator-for-life President Hugo Chavez had his rubber stamp legislature pass the Control of Arms, Munitions and Disarmament Law. The public generally supported it at the time. The law stripped law-abiding Venezuelans of every firearm and round of ammunition they could legally own.

As the country and its citizens have increasingly benefitted from the wonders of Bolivarian socialism, it appears that the public now regrets their support for total civilian disarmament.

“Guns would have served as a vital pillar to remaining a free people, or at least able to put up a fight,” Javier Vanegas, 28, a Venezuelan teacher of English now exiled in Ecuador, told Fox News. “The government security forces, at the beginning of this debacle, knew they had no real opposition to their force. Once things were this bad, it was a clear declaration of war against an unarmed population.”

If only the citizens of Venezuela had the right to keep and bear arms as a check against government tyranny.

Once again, another nation demonstrates what can and frequently does happen to a disarmed populace. The despotism pushed by the authoritarian ruling class can proceed full force, with no realistic threat of opposition from the people they subjugate.

THIS WILL BE HAPPENING IN THE USA AS SOON AS TRUMP DEPARTS IRREGARDLESS TO IF THE DEMOCRATS OR RINOS ARE IN POWER

THE WRITING IS CERTAINLY ON THE WALL

THERE WILL BE THE SLAUGHTER OF WHICH GEORGE WASHINGTON DREAMT THAT WOULD OCCUR IN HIS COUNTRY

22. One should condemn Smollet. But one should condemn white terrorists MORE. My comment was addressed to the racist known as John. You would do well to keep out of his quicksand.

23. JOHN K IS ACTUALLY A VERY NICE PERSON
    AND HE IS IN NO QUICKSAND HERE ON BU
    BULL SHITTERS AND HATERS ON BU CANT DO NUH BODY NUTTIN

24. Donna February 25, 2019 3:11 PM

“The point here, dear George, is that Bernie Sanders does not incite violence and quickly condemned it in the strongest possible terms.”

Donna Socialism/Communism Kills….Feel his Burn of Lies and Deception that leads to Sure Death…

15% of the Populace are Eating from the Garbage! No Medicine and Basic Amenities

Bernie Sanders/ children eating on a garbage heap in Venezuela….

http://i.imgur.com/qkCOlX4.jpg

http://www.anticorporatism.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Bernie-sanders-banana-republic-USA-Venezuela.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=981278818680721&set=a.249451318530145.1073741827.100003958375602&type=3

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=981247332017203&set=a.249451318530145.1073741827.100003958375602&type=3

https://www.thepubliceditor.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Bernie_Sanders_Too_Late_Venezuela.jpg

25. Buzz off, Looney Tunes I am speaking to George.

26. John has shown his true colours here. He is racist.. There are different degrees of racism. One is voluntary and the other is involuntary. The involuntary one allows them to be “nice’ and essentially racist in their thinking nevertheless. A sickness.

By the way, you should watch my youtube videos. They are EVIDENCE THAT CANNOT BE REFUTED.

27. DEAREST DARLING DONNA, WITH ALL DUE RESPECT, I AM NOT INTERESTED IN YOUR UTUBE VIDEOS BUT I WILL CONFESS I LIKE THE CARTOON ABOUT FEELING THE BERN!

28. No but on a more serious note…Donna Is this why Bernie is one of your Favorite Leftist mentor?

Bernie Sanders Supports Abortions Up to Birth With Absolutely No Limits: “That’s My View”

Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders has never been a moderate on the abortion issue. And as a candidate for president he would take those views to the White House.

He consistently has stood by the Democrats’ radical pro-abortion agenda, and rejected even moderate abortion regulations, such as a late-term abortion ban. All indications suggest he would continue to do so if elected president of the United States.

Sanders’ votes have been consistently pro-abortion when it comes to protecting the most vulnerable, defenselessness lives in America today.

In January 2018, he voted against a bill to ban late-term abortions — a bill that would have saved as many as 18,000 unborn babies from abortions every year. The Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Act would have banned abortions after 20 weeks when unborn babies are capable of feeling intense pain.

The legislation had strong public support, but Sanders and his fellow Democrats killed it. Fifty-one senators (48 Republicans and three Democrats) voted to take the bill up for debate, but 60 votes were required to overcome Democrats’ filibuster.

Sanders’ famously couldn’t answer a question about if there was ever a time in pregnancy where he would ever limit abortions.

Sanders refused to allow any limits on abortion: “I am very strongly pro-choice.

The Rabbi Speaks Truth…We are Living in Barbaric Pagan Times …The Ware-fare is Fierce… Good Versus Evil!!

NEW YORK & THE SACRIFICES OF BAAL…

https://www.facebook.com/JESUSFINALCALL/videos/2202466903345600/

29. Learn about the plot by the US to destabilize Venezuela by a bottom feeder member of a terrorist organization named Juan Guaido

https://youtu.be/87Hc1Bs80Xg

30. Hal Austin
    February 25, 2019 12:37 PM

@ John,
    Once a Barbados Scholar (at age 18 or 19) you remain a Barbados Scholar for ever, like a Nobel Laureate (for a lifetime’s work)? Is there a register of Barbados Scholars.
    I also notice you had two bites of the cherry 1974 and 1975, so presumably you did not take up your 1974 offer?

+++++++++

In 1974 I had UK university acceptance in mechanical engineering but realized I did not want to do it!!

I stayed a year, discovered electronics and found a joint honours programme in Electronic Engineering and Physics.

I dropped Chemistry in which I had an A and took up Further Math with Mr. Persaud.

Four of us stayed and did this new subject.

My good buddy PLT was one.

In 1975 I won a scholarship, in fact all four of us did.

I never set out to win an exhibition or scholarship, just do my best.

Went to the UK, graduated with a First Class Honours in June 1978.

When I got back I saw a Dutch Government Fellowship advertised for a masters degree in Electronic Engineering.

I applied and got the award so at Christmas I went to Holland and spent a year and a half.

It was a great experience, got to travel around Europe too.

Spent a fortnight camping in Spain, from Guernica in the North to Barcelona in the south.

School days was happy happy days!!

I met a friend from school years later who admitted he cried his last day at HC!!

31. Donna
    February 25, 2019 6:21 PM

John has shown his true colours here. He is racist.. There are different degrees of racism. One is voluntary and the other is involuntary. The involuntary one allows them to be “nice’ and essentially racist in their thinking nevertheless. A sickness.

I see you are still hanging on every word I say (write) but I need to point out that I do indeed have two degrees, one in Electronic Engineering and Physics and the other in Electronic Engineering.

At which university did you acquire your extensive knowledge of racism and get your two degrees in it of which you are so knowledgeable and proud??

I think your submission sounds like a lot of BS to me and you could have saved somebody a lot of money and chosen a STEM degree instead of the two degrees you possess.

32. RE I met a friend from school years later who admitted he cried his last day at HC!!
    FOR ME LAST DAY PRAYERS WERE ALWAYS VERY MOVING
    IN THOSE DAYS -62-70- BEFORE THE DIS-ESTABLISHMENT OF THE ANGLICAN CHURCH WE ALWAYS USED TO SING TO THE TUNE ETON ON THE LAST DAY

Lord, dismiss us with Thy blessing,
    Thanks for mercies past receive;
    Pardon all, their faults confessing;
    Time that’s lost may all retrieve;
    May Thy children
    Ne’er again Thy Spirit grieve.

Bless Thou all our days of leisure;
    Help us selfish lures to flee;
    Sanctify our every pleasure;
    Pure and blameless may it be;
    May our gladness
    Draw us evermore to Thee.

By Thy kindly influence cherish
    All the good we here have gained;
    May all taint of evil perish
    By Thy mightier power restrained;
    Seek we ever
    Knowledge pure and love unfeigned.

Let Thy father-hand be shielding
    All who here shall meet no more;
    May their seed-time past be yielding
    Year by year a richer store;
    Those returning,
    Make more faithful than before.

ON THE FIRST DAY WE USED TO SING TO THE SAME TUNE

Lord, behold us with Thy blessing
    Once again assembled here;
    Onward be our footsteps pressing
    In Thy love, and faith, and fear;
    Still protect us
    By Thy presence ever near.

For Thy mercy we adore Thee,
    For this rest upon our way;
    Lord, again we bow before Thee,
    Speed our labors day by day;
    Mind and spirit
    With Thy choicest gifts array.

Keep the spell of home affection
    Still alive in every heart;
    May its power, with mild direction,
    Draw our love from self apart,
    Till Thy children
    Feel that Thou their Father art.

Break temptation’s fatal power,
    Shielding all with guardian care,
    Safe in every careless hour,
    Safe from sloth and sensual snare;
    Thou, our Savior,
    Still our failing strength repair.

I CERTAINLY ENJOYED MY 8 YEARS AT HC!
    SINGING PRAYERS IN THE HALL WITH CANON I MCK JONES AT THE PIANO WAS ONE OF THE DISTINCT PLEASURES……..ESPECIALLY WHEN 600 BOYS STRESSED THE numerous “S”s in Lead uS heavenly Father lead uS

33. I remember many lines from many hymns from singing them in prayers and now understand why we were made to attend prayers.

Something had to stick!!

I remember the Hymn “We plough the fields and scatter”.

It sticks in my mind because of two chorus lines.

Then TANK the Lord

Oh TANK the Lord

I am sure that PLT will remember these two lines as well … part of the school experience.

34. @ John,

Before we were rudely interrupted, we were talking about your outstanding academic achievements. In 1974 you won a Barbados Exhibition; how old were you at the time? Did you take up the scholarship or you opted to remain at Harrison College? I notice you say you had a university offer in 1974, was it accepted?
    Then the following year, after studying pure maths with Mr Persaud, you won a Barbados Scholarship. So, presumably, you declined the Exhibition. Does one remain an exhibitioner if one turns down the offer of the scholarship? Or did you take advantage of both?

35. Hal

I don’t know if the scholarship and exhibition winner boards are still up in the hall at HC but if they are and you pass, ask security if you can go and look.

I want to go sometime and see if a boy’s name from way back in the late 1800’s is up there.

“Henry Edmund Gaskin Boyle OBE (2 April 1875 – 15 October 1941) was a pioneering anaesthetist best remembered for the development of early anaesthetic machines. Born in Barbados, he was the only child of Henry Eudolphus Boyle, estate manager and his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Benjamin Law Gaskin, a member of the House of Assembly.He moved to England in 1894 after schooling at Harrison College, Bridgetown ”

The most depressing sight for me when I go down Crumpton Street now is that security hut.

The need is real .. a sign of the times.

Makes me feel unwelcome at a place which welcomed me every weekday morning for many years.

Such as life.

Anybody from inside the school on here?

If you are, see if this boy’s name is there and let me know…. early 1890’s I would guess.

Was looking at his genealogy and have tracked his ancestors back to St. Lucy …. Quakers wouldn’t you know!!.

But then HC was started in 1733 by Thomas Harrison, and the Harrison family was also Quaker!!

36. @ John,

Thanks for your reply. But you have not said if you turned down the Exhibition to remain in the Sixth form or took up the 1974 university offer.

37. @Pacha

You will not read it in the local press but there is chatter in the T&T media about Russian activity on the ground.Too close for comfort if true.

On Sun, Feb 24, 2019 at 8:51 PM TnT PATRIOTS tt@yahoo.com [CaribbeanTalk] wrote:

The Airports Authority cannot deny that few, if any, airplanes remain parked at the airport for more than 3 weeks while the crew is “resting” and the plane is being refuelled.

Show the data on how many planes were here parked for more than 3 weeks while the crew stayed in a POS Hotel for more than 3 weeks!

The Airports Authority must produce the data to show how many planes that are here for refuelling had to apply for TWO extensions.

The Airport Authority is simply splashing generalities and avoiding the specific troubling issues about these 2 Russian planes.

Who grants extensions for cargo planes and what is the specific reason to grant these 2 extensions?

Has Immigration granted the Russian plane crew official permission to remain in TT for this period of time, and if yes, on what basis?

Is this a common practice of TT Immigration?

This info from the Airports Authority does not address the troubling issues surrounding the strange case of a cargo plane parked for more than 3 weeks with the crew taking up residence at the Marriot Hotel, POS.

A crew rest and fuel stop last for more than 3 WEEKS? Is the other Russian plane crew also on extended rest and fuel stop? Are they also staying at the Marriot? Not at Holiday Inn Express?

“They told im­mi­gra­tion au­thor­i­ties that they re­quest­ed a fu­el stop and crew rest in Trinidad.

One of the pi­lots Mikhail Mini­akov told au­thor­i­ties “af­ter drop­ping off the car­go which they had picked up in Italy, they trans­port­ed con­tain­ers to French Guiana but could give no in­for­ma­tion as to what they con­tain­ers con­tained.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/aatt-nothing-unusual-about-russian-aircraft-6.2.787412.dfffcd1a67

38. Hal Austin
    February 26, 2019 5:49 AM

@ John,
    Thanks for your reply. But you have not said if you turned down the Exhibition to remain in the Sixth form or took up the 1974 university offer.

++++++++++++++++++

You got me baffled!!

If I stayed in sixth form, took up Further Math and won a scholarship the following year it means I did not take up the Exhibition nor did I go to university in 1974.

I can’t remember formally writing to turn down the Exhibition or for that matter the University offer.

Guess the GOB saved a few dollars for fiscal year 1974-75.

To show you how costs have changed I think the total value of the scholarship in 1975 was $5000.00 BDS per year.

After three years I had saved a good bit!!

39. @J|ohn,

I cannot make any assumptions. You have to tell me that you declined the offer of an Exhibition. So, you are not an exhibitioner. There must be an offer and an acceptance. At what age did you get the offer of an Exhibition/Barbados Scholarship, I presume late teens?

40. So Hal

If I did not turn down either it means I must still be an Exhibitionist with an outstanding 1974 offer from a UK university!!

41. @ John,

There must be an offer and acceptance. Had you accepted you would have known. An offer does not remain on the table for 45 years. You still have not said how old you were when you were offered the Exhibtion/Barbados Scholarship.

42. Come to think of it Hal, my name is on the Exhibition Board in gold letters at HC for 1974!!!

Same for two of the four students who stayed an extra year and did Further Math if memory serves me right.

GP’s will be on the Scholarship Board, also in gold, for the year he won his Scholarship as will be mine for 1975.

Once they are still up, you can go and see for yourself that the record shows that today I am both an exhibitionist, or is it exhibitioner and scholar!!

Does this help?

43. @ John,

No. It does not. The government of Barbados offered you an Exhibition to undertake higher education in 1974; you did not accept this offer. So you are not an exhibitioner – no matter what the boards at HC say. How old were you in 1974/5?

44. I was 17 when I first did my A Levels in 1974.

45. Too early in the morning to imagine John as an exhibitionist.
    Let us enjoy our breakfast.
    Dude cover your scrawny whatever it is…
    Put on some clothes
    #sharepicswithHalonly

46. Hal

Suppose I had died (TANK The Lord I did not) immediately after I was awarded a Scholarship in 1975 and before I had accepted.

By your logic I would neither be an exhibitioner nor a scholar but my name would still be up in gold letters on the two boards at HC and I would be remembered as such!!

All that can be said is that I would be dead, the GOB saved a few dollars and some university was short those dollars!!

Come to think of it and on deeper and studied reflection, had I died back then, we would not be having this conversation …. unless perhaps you had passed too and we were both on the “other side”.

David would have had to have passed over as well and set up BU over there too!!

47. Agree with your position John.

48. @ John,

Got it in one. Passing the exam in a condition of getting a national scholarship; the offer and acceptance is the other part. Hope you do not die too soon. How old were you when you got the Exhibition/Barbados scholarship?

49. My birth month is July.

Exams were June, published results and awards probably late August early September.

So in 1974 I did my A levels when I was 17 and was awarded an Exhibition when I was 18.

You are confusing common sense with contract law.

50. The exam determines whether you are a scholar or not.

There was also if memory serves me right a dedicated scholarship exam for UWI in my day.

I came across where Oxford and Cambridge used to award Open Scholarships to the colonies for students who met the standard in their exams.

It is the exam!!

The marking and awards are peripheral.