The government has introduced a new format to debating the 2019 Appropriations Bill. Ministers of the respective ministries and support staff will be questioned by members of parliament. It is early days how the new format will improve government, however, it must be said that hearing directly from government officials is a refreshing change from the annual humdrum of ministers spouting tired talking points.

Follow the discussion here:

299 responses to “Appropriation Bill and Estimates 2019 Debate”

1. We waiting pon God, GP.

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Now i know i am not being unfair or biased in querying this…

….an “85,000 dollar a month retainer payable by monthly installments in arrears, commencing May 30, 2018″……

…election was May 24, 2018…..so this had to have been in the cards from before…unless they are getting paid for not being present on the island on May 30th, 2018..

these White Oaks people got a little office in some building in UK…have no real track record except what was given to them by small island states….along with taxpayer’s money…

9 months later we should be seeing better results…not more excuses.

How long does the government plan to keep up this paying consultants without any real results …

May we keep reminding yardfowls that not only is taxpayers paying Mia and her government, but also her consultants and hangerson…it cannot be indefinite…here is where IMF will need to step in and put a stop to that fees party…as a condition for getting another draw down tranche…

….dont care how you look at it, seems like just another scheme to funnel and syphon off money into each others pockets….with taxpayers holding the bag and all the debt…as usual.

3. “85,000 dollar a month retainer payable by monthly installments in arrears, commencing May 30, 2018″……
    …election was May 24, 2018…..so this had to have been in the cards from before…unless they are getting paid for not being present on the island on May 30th, 2018..(Quote)

After five days in power, a completed agreement, written under English law. Bds $170 000 a month at a time when 1500 public sector workers were facing the sack in phase one of BERT. When was this agreement made? Where was its signed? Had the Mottley-led BLP been in discussions with White Oaks while still in opposition? This is immoral, if not illegal, and will end in tears. Barbados is a failed state.

4. I have posted a contribution pointing out that the White Oaks agreement was signed five days after the Mottley-led BLP government came in to power. Was it negotiated while the BLP was in Opposition? Where was it signed? Who negotiated the agreement? At Bds$170000 a month while at the same time 1500 pubic sector workers were being sent home, it was certainly immoral, if not illegal. It will end in tears. Barbados is a failed state.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ya see…when we start asking these technical questions ..the LaLa land resident immediately disappears.

6. It should be noted that the announcement of a debt restructure was made on 1 June 2018. What are the expected results? How are retainer and other fees in debt restructuring exercises calculated? How many consultants have Mia and her ministers appointed?

“Lee Buchheit, a corporate and international finance partner well-versed in sovereign debt disputes, led a team of roughly 20 Cleary lawyers advising the Greek state. Other Cleary attorneys working on the matter include corporate finance and debt restructuring partners Andrés de la Cruz in Buenos Aires, Andrew Shutter in London, Giuseppe Scassellati-Sforzolini in Rome, and Barthélemy Faye in Paris. (Before being hired by Greece, Buchheit spoke to The Am Law Daily last year about the debt restructuring challenges facing the country.) Additional lawyers from Cleary’s New York and Washington, D.C., offices also assisted on the matter, according to a spokeswoman, who adds that an associate from the firm has been working out of Athens since August. The spokeswoman also notes that Cleary doesn’t expect to be “engaging in any activity” that would require the firm to file its employment contract with the U.S. Department of Justice under the Foreign Agents Registration Act. The Greek government was also advised by an outside banking team from Lazard, the investment bank that former Cleary managing partner—and veteran legal adviser to sovereigns—Mark Walker joined in June 2011. (According to news reports, Lazard will reportedly be paid $33 million for its work, while Cleary stands to reap $8 million in fees for its services through October 2011, and another $2 million per month for each month the crisis is prolonged.)”

Now let’s start the debate/discussion, taking into consideration the differences in the size of the debts of course.

7. RE Donna February 19, 2019 11:21 AM

We waiting pon God, GP.

GOOD FUH WUNNA

YA MEAN WUNNA DOING LIKE THE AMERICANS IN 2016?
    DE CHURCH PEOPLE IN DE PEWS PRAYED
    DE CHURCH PEOPLE IN DE LEADERSHIP PRAYED
    ONE EVANGELICAL LEADER SENT OUT A SERIOUS ARTICLE BY EMAIL AND SOCIAL MEDIA AND THE CHURCH PRAYED AGAIN……….

AND BRUGGADONG
    WHAX PA LAX ETC
    THE TRUMPET SOUNDED THAT TRUMP HAD TRIUMPHED AND TRUMPED THE WITCH

HE HAS SINCED REVERSED ALL THE STUPID IDEAS OF THE TOKEN ——— AND GOT A LOT OF PEOPLE CAT SPRADLED

NOW IT IS ON TO THE ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT OF ANTICHRIST
    BUT YA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS BEFORE DAT?

8. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Every time ya point out their scams…they compare the island with bigger countries and their debts..which cannot be compared.

It is a simple question….what has White Oaks done in 9 months at that whopping fee to reduce the debt and reverse the downward slide in the economy….where is the growth.

Did they not boast that within months they had Grenada’s economy on track…so..wuh happen to Barbados’.

9. Salemite

I don’t know if it is a scam or not. A debt restructure, however, is a debt restructure whether it is Barbados Grenada, Belize St. Kitts or Greece and it involves costs. The fact that the election was 24 May, the agreement was signed 28 May and the announcement on the 1 June should be applauded. It shows preparation. Should she have announced the DR then sought an agreement? I would love that scenario as a consultant. The debt restructure in Grenada took 2-3 years. You continue to spread your propaganda.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Puff Enuff

Why are you ignoring me, hon? Let’s play! ;P

11. @ Hants: You did not get an invite?

I invite you to be part of the launch party for Vison 2020: We Gatherin’ which will be held on Friday February 22, 2019 from 5:30pm until 7:30pm at the Barbados High Commission, 55 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa. While there we will join Prime Minister Mia Mottley via video stream as she hosts the official Vison 2020: We Gatherin’ event from the Courtyard of the Barbados Parliament. This will be a worldwide event as similar launch parties will be held by Barbados Missions and Consulates around the world which will all be linked by video streaming.

The We Gatherin’ homecoming will feature a series of events, projects and programmes that will take place commencing January 2020. We Gatherin’ is a year-long campaign to encourage Barbadians at home and abroad to participate in the parish by parish development of Barbados. The 52-week festival will begin in St. Lucy in January and travel to a new parish on a monthly basis, culminating in a national celebration from November 30th through December 31st.

Bajans by birth, Bajans by descent and Bajans by choice will also have an opportunity to conceptualise and execute events that will form part of the official We Gatherin’ 52 week events calendar.

Please join me on Friday 22, 2019 to hear more and to share in an evening of fun.

12. @enuff

We also heard the minister to say that the TB has 7 mechanics and need many mire to ensure adequate rolling stock is maintained.

13. I keep hearing that this is a one term government – not true! Let’s look at the plot: The current government has 30/30 seats in Parliament and five years to run the course.

With all of that goodwill in hand, years one and two will be devoted to administering some of the most severe medicine ever administered by a doctor (Government) under the guidance of a senior consultant (IMF). Should the patient (Barbadian tax payer) survive this rigorous regimen (attack) of treatment, there will be a reduction of medication ( extreme taxation) in year three. At this time the patient will be reassured of the tremendous improvement shown and be reassure that a total and complete recovery is possible if (and only IF) the patient will continue to follow the doctors directions and stick rigidly to the medication schedule.

Year four will see the consultant physician informing the patient through the attending physician, that the improvement in (financial) health is almost miraculous and as a result the medication is to be reduced and some of the past enjoyable persuits of the patient will be restored this alleviating some of the pain.

By year five, the patient will have a major medical review and will be found to be completely cancer free. There will be massive celebrations, and gifts galore will be bestowed upon the goodly doctor under whose guidance of the consultant physician these phenomenal results were achieved.

Needless to say, the patient who’s life was saved through the miraculous intervention of the attending physician, will joyously sing praises and willingly and without malice offer the highest recommendation that the physician be retained in the post or even be promoted. So what, the physician may lose a few points because initially the patient suffered severely but there is enough goodwill for some to be taken away (20/10 perhaps) and the doctor will still be retained. You see, there were some family member of the patient who did not like the doctor in the first place anyway. No love lost.

Like childbirth, the pain will be forgotten once the beautiful new baby arrives and then it’s off to make another baby over the next five years.

And that is why this will not be a one term government.

14. @Fear Play

You cannot accuse them of kicking the van down the road like the slothful Stuart and band of incompetents.

15. Fearplay

But there is no promising treatments for pancreatic cancer … the prognosis/diagnosis is a dim I am afraid to concluded…

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Re: White Oaks
    I cannot critique the monthly fee/retainer for I know not the fees in this type of work.
    However, the additional commission A.K.A “success fee” for skinning local debt holders and creditors seems egregious.

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Should she have announced the DR then sought an agreement?”

No…she should have KNOWN WHAT TO DO….she was elected by the people and is being paid a salary…all her pimps and hangerson and even her cousin…15,000 per hour to read a goddamn document when people on the street knew the answer….

SHE IS FINANCE MINISTER…why don’t she know what to do.

…what does she need all those consultants for at taxpayers expense….it was not gimme de vote and watch me hire consultants at exorbitant prices which the taxpayers are paying..because i dont know what to do….it was “gimme de vote and watch muh”.

The consultants will be their undoing.

LeGarde was right …Mia did not need consultants…she was elected…she should know what to do…

IMF should stipulate no consultants….and since Mia campaigned on corruption….no money should be loaned hnless the corruption was dealt with, something Mia is gliding and slidingb away from hoping it all goes away, but time is longer than time..

18. Well she did what she knew she had to do–suspension of debt payments and adoption of a debt restructuring programme, which requires specialised skills; although, since you know everything, you could have offered your services. You are clutching at straws, you soon drown.

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

At the rate Mia is going, the electorate should just fire all their asses and hire consultants to manage the country…that would defintely eliminate, pimps, imps and yardfowls,.what do they need a government for when they will only hire a gaggle of consultants to do their jobs for them…

Cause even if IDB and CDB loans requires consultants…she does not need that many consultants and not for every goddamn thing and for every sector.

20. Up to now you can’t tell BU how many consultants are there and what are their roles. But you know there are too many. Go watch Senator McConney explain what her ministry is doing. Yes, the same woman wunna opposed. Very impressive.

21. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ya cant spin enough to convince me…why dont she have all those offshore accounts frozen and the money returned to the island,.then she can pay off ALL THE ISLAND’S DEBTS…..the money stolen over the decades would be in the hundreds of milliond….as things stand she is trying to avoid dealing with all the thefts of taxpayers and pensioners money…trying to avoid dealing with the corruption that put the island in the mess to begin with..

I am not the one said…gimme de vote and watch muh…i never salivated to be PM….be careful what ya wish for…and if ya look closely…ya will see who is drowning…in debt..

….ah dont even have a credit card…cut them all up since 2004.

It is the people will suffer for Mia stubbornness …but eventually they too will want their pound of flesh for what they are being put through unnecessarily.

A government with good intentions would first recover all that was stolen from the people…as a priority..but that did not happen did it.

22. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Who is McConney, the chick from Canada…wuh i was happy when Mia changed the constitution to accommodate she and Rawdone and the other one…it gave me something to gently beat Mia over her head with when she did that at warp speed…within minutes of being elected…and rushed out promoting Bitt Inc scam just as quickly…..but 9 months later still cant put a medical marijuana framework in place……lol..am on record as not opposing the change.

So what do ministers need consultants for….is it because they do not have any specialized skills…which means you do not need ministers…just hire consultants and their skills to manage the country.

23. The blogmaster likes what McConney and team is saying.

24. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ya think if Mia hires another consultant with specialized skills in drafting legislation, we can get that done.

25. 🏊🏾‍♂️ Salemite 🏊🏾‍♂️. Lmbao!🤣🤣

26. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Talk is cheap…consultants are not.

27. This is a silly back and forth. Mia has stated that she will expect the country to hold her government accountable based on the stated deliverables. Until a reasonable period has passed to fairly assess governments performance the back and forth is an empty exercise. To who much is given much is expected, the blogmaster is confident that Mia is aware.

28. I don’t engage in nonsense. I seek to clear up the lies and one-sided half stories. I must say I am excited about the Ministry of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology. One term? Wait fuh um! Just want MAM announce the foreign debt restructure completion so the government can press on. #legacy #yallmadstaymad🤣

29. Waru

Why dont you insteady of soundung off daily and achieving nothing but boosting ur ego, plot a course to become PM then lock up who u want to and revolver what you want from them
    IT should be an essy job for yiu

30. Waru

Why dont you insteady of soundung off daily and achieving nothing but boosting ur ego, plot a course to become PM then lock up who u want to and revolver what you want from them
    IT should be an essy job for yiu

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Dont know why you think anyone is mad or even wish for Mia to fail…but the people who elected her have all right to know what direction their lives are taking, which course they are being led along….so far the promises are all empty..

….nine months, many consultants and millions and millions of dollars being spent and double that being borrowed…and there is nothing to show but talk…while the laid off workers at the bottom of the economic ladder….still have not been paid and have to survive how they can….by their wits.

That is a serious indictment on Mia…nothing to be proud of,..

32. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

John2…first of all..i have no clue what you just typed.

secondly…have you ever got even a 1/4 of the results i get from “sounding off everyday” if no…ya are useless.

find something useful to do..

at this point even Enuff in Wonderland is more useful…cause we got to dissect intent because of what was posted.

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Again..John2..i have no clue what rubbish you just posted.

34. RE Talk is cheap…consultants are not.
    IT IS TRUTE YA AH TELL DERE DEAR
    YUH AINT LIE AT ALL

RE LeGarde was right …Mia did not need consultants…she was elected…she should know what to do…
    IT IS TRUTE YA AH TELL DERE DEAR
    YUH AINT LIE AT ALL

RE A GATHERING OF WICKERS & WITCHES

WHO ELSE GWINE GATHER BESIDES THE 5 DRUG LORDS AND THEIR MINNIONS?

35. Waru give it a rest, look for a job.Everyday you and the shite tag team on here bellyaching, you nor them put together are not in Ms Mottley,s catergory.The only persons impressed by you would br Piece,Gazzerts,Donna,SSS,TInniss,Mariposa and a few others.Which country you ever run?What happen to Ms Marshall you tired talking about her?

36. Kay IS sounding quite impressive as is the technocrat she brought with her. I can only hope the implementation is just as impressive.

She had better be worth the trouble unlike some people we know who carry the title of CHIEF JUSTICE.

I do like this format. It is easier to follow and more informative.

37. Right on cue, “Cockadoodledo!” And plenty fowl shit.

38. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I am not the one to give it a rest, yall came out trying to convince us the sky is yellow when Bajans know that is a lie.

Wuh according to reality and yall..Mia is not running the country either…consultants are…and are being paid quite handsomely by taxpayers too.

Ah lie??

In case you have not noticed…we know about yardfowl tunnel vision…bajans are not amused by any of this, ya should try holding up ya head from peck, peck, pecking and talk to the people, get their reactions…and stop going by what you feel.

And…who says i need a job..i dont have any money problems…if ah had to depend on your government…i would.

39. Yard fowl at the very time you were typing my name I was typing my approval of something this government has done. It is YOU who could NEVER be in MY category.

P.S. I was there for Kay’s first day at both her schools and I hope to be there for her GREAT SUCCESS. I will not be going easy on her just because her tiny self looked cute in her Panama hat.

40. Govt job is to.impress the IMF .so far ver impressive as govt rolls out more policies which would benefit international financial institutions while the people sit in waiting with hands longed out asking “what about us”
    Of course there are those sheeplie who are too blind to see that the peoples expectations have been void of govt actions to include the people

41. Imagine hiring consultants at such a heavy fee and asking people to help pull the debt laden wagon
    I wonder how much or if any taxes from these consultants fee would be payable to govt of barbados

42. @WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog, Have you given thought to the idea that if MAM had fielded a team of candidates who were qualified to salvage this country after the ravages of the most incompetent government anywhere in the world, that they would not have been elected? We love electing “Grass Roots” politicians. Trouble is, a billion dollar economy can’t be managed by grounds men or grounds women. Hence, like any capable CEO/MD, MAM assembled an electable team and then recruited specific talent for the job at hand. Doubtlessly, once the ship is righted and sailing comfortably again, recruited talent will be released into the wild.

This is the difference between enlightened management and uninformed damagement (DLP).

43. The format is better than what existed and the information forthcoming whether by accident or design gives the public the opportunity to better appreciate current state of play. For example 4 million dollars written off because chip ID cards were allowed to stay in storage for 4 Rh years. How about the 1 million dollar crane sitting at the Bridgtown Fisheries for years, just rusting. A reminder that nothing has change if we think about the elevators that rusted outside the QEH all those years ago.

44. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Fearplay…we can hope…but looking at government in the 80s and even in the 70s, as difficult as things were…they needed no consultants…Mia apparently needs more consultants than any government in history…again to fix the mess that all of them created..

Neglect of taxpayer funded entities and equipment is epidemic, it was ugly to see those baby incubators just sitting in the hospital yard rusting away…but that is what they do neglect everything..

45. @nameless headless #1
    A very small point.
    I thought I was off the list.

How can you put me a sworn Mugabite with that bunch of characters.

Cannot you see that I am right there going peck, peck, peck with you. Do I have to match your pecks?

46. It is becoming quite obvious that Mia & her cabinet are unqualified/unable to run this country, hence consultants are now running this country.
    So what do we need a bloated cabinet & PM for?
    What purpose are they serving?

47. @FearPlay
    “Trouble is, a billion dollar economy can’t be managed by grounds men or grounds women. Hence, like any capable CEO/MD, MAM assembled an electable team and then recruited specific talent for the job at hand. Doubtlessly, once the ship is righted and sailing comfortably again, recruited talent will be released into the wild.”

Makes no sense at all. The elected officials (C team) are too weak, so you hire professionals. But when the professionals get things going nice, you will release them and put the C team in charge.

Idiocy explained.

If Mia keeps sending you, nameless headless #1 and Enuff out, I will quit the team.

48. Poor Donna you are right fowl shit for a Dem yardfowl and pooch licker just right for you.As i told you you are out of your league, when it comes to me as i have been arond politics too long for you to fool me about not dtill being a Dem yardfowl carry that to the tag team.As for Waru i am on the ground everyday and the only bellyaching i hear are from Dems ,since only morons would expect a 9 month old government to solve all the problems of the poor management of the previous government.Gazzerts typical rubbish reply from you are you 10 years old time to grow up.

49. @GP
    “i am reading a lot about a one term government………………………but I am not reading anything about how this will occur, or who or what will replace the BLP/DLP duopoly.”

The million dollar question. Third parties are not ready.

50. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

(quote) For example 4 million dollars written off because chip ID cards were allowed to stay in storage for 4 Rh years (quote)

@ David. I wonder if expiry is the correct word. I am just wondering if the storage condition caused the smart card failure. These cards normally have a good lifespan once stored in adequate conditions etc. But wht can we expect from GOB handlers.

Just asking