The following report is reproduced by BU for many reasons. At the top of the list is the lingering curiosity by some Barbadians questioning whether local authorities will pursue this and other matters. The expectation is not meant to slur the character of anybody but to satisfy a reasonable expectation that justice must be seen to be done..

Barbadians have become increasingly cynical about the inability or inaction of local authorities to charge local prominent officials for white collar offenses. It is a naive person who believe white collar crimes “doan happen hey”.

New York News: BROOKLYN, Former Chief Executive Officer and Senior Vice President of Barbadian Insurance Company Charged with Laundering Bribes to Former Minister of Industry of Barbados

BROOKLYN, N.Y. – Ingrid Innes, the former chief executive officer, and Alex Tasker, a former senior vice president of Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited (ICBL), a Barbados-based insurance company, were charged in a superseding indictment unsealed on January 18, 2019, with laundering bribes to the former Minister of Industry of Barbados in exchange for his assistance in securing government contracts for ICBL. Innes and Tasker are not in U.S. custody.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the charges.

Innes and Tasker were charged with one count of conspiracy to launder money and two counts of money laundering in the superseding indictment. The former Minister of Industry of Barbados, Donville Inniss, a U.S. legal permanent resident who resided in Tampa, Florida, and Barbados, was charged with the same crimes in an indictment unsealed on August 6, 2018, and as a co-defendant of Innes and Tasker in the superseding indictment. Inniss is scheduled for trial on June 24, 2019, before United States District Judge Kiyo A. Matsumoto.

The superseding indictment alleges that in 2015 and 2016, Innes and Tasker participated in a scheme to launder into the United States approximately $36,000 in bribes that they paid to Inniss, who at the time was a member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados.

The charges in the superseding indictment are allegations, and the defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.

ICBL voluntarily disclosed to the government the payments to Inniss and received a prosecution declination under the FCPA Corporate Enforcement Policy. ICBL disgorged to the government $93,940.19 in illicit profits that it earned from the scheme.

The FBI’s New York Field Office and International Corruption Squad is investigating the case. In 2015, the FBI formed International Corruption Squads across the country to address national and international implications of foreign corruption.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of New York and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Division’s Fraud Section are in charge of the prosecution.

The Fraud Section is responsible for investigating and prosecuting all Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) matters. Additional information about the Department’s FCPA enforcement efforts can be found at http://www.justice.gov/criminal/fraud/fcpa.

The Defendants:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

INGRID INNES
Canada

ALEX TASKER
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (S-1) (KAM)

SOURCE: news provided by JUSTICE.GOV on January 31, 2019.

196 responses to “Inniss, Tasker, Innes Matter Filed Under DROSS by Barbados Authorities”

1. @ PLT

That is the problem with you. You live by Google. In a democratic society, where there is the rule of law, a suspect is innocent until proven guilty. This is done by an open and fair trial in a court of law. ‘Evidence’ are simply allegations until guilt is proven.
    In criminal cases, the test is beyond a reasonable doubt; in civil cases the test is the balance of probabilities or a preponderance of evidence. Bribery or money laundering are criminal allegations.
    Don’t tell me, as in economics when studying engineering, you attended seminars on the theory of law while at university. Or, was it a module on your MBA course.
    By the way, a plea of guilt is no proof of guilt. Many people accused of serous offences plead guilty even when innocent; there are also cases when people not involved in an incident plead guilty – criminology 101.

2. PLT,

Hal is simply saying that notwithstanding your personal views Inniss is innocent until proven guilty and any deviation from that descends into mob justice or mob rule. bearing that in mind preponderance of evidence is not decribing the evidential stardard to be considered but the mindset of the mob.

3. Hal,

you will find that ML even though criminal is decided on balance of probability (the civil standard)

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@NorthernObserver February 2, 2019 2:20 PM “i DID congratulate you?”

Thanks Northern.

its amazing what ground food and ground work does for a body.

Lolll!!!!

5. You are of the view those posting here are unaware that Inniss must have his day in court? We are in the court of public opinion you are reminded.

Are you able to appreciate why so many have become cynical about this and other matters? We are forced to observe the political and money class screwing us – the people – over and over and over.

Enough!

6. ” The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.”

https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/former-chief-executive-officer-and-senior-vice-president-barbadian-insurance-company-charged

7. Hal Austin once Dems are involved you look to find excuses so typical.The same with Mr Thompso n you could not remember his involvement with a certain invoice either.Every day you show your Dem colours on this blog poor soul.Keep looking for excuses and tag teaming with TInniss and Mariposa.

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson February 2, 2019 2:27 PM. “Preponderance of evidence” is exactly what it says; it has absolutely nothing in common with “mob rule.”

Peter is right. Hal is wrong. “Beyond all reasonable doubt” applies to capital/murder cases, because a person’s life is at stake.

in other cases liberty, not life is at stake. if found guilty the accused will simply lose her liberty, not her life.

Non-murder/non capital cases are adjudged on the basis of “the preponderance of evidence”

9. David BU thinks that the court of public opinion, or what he would perversely call free speech, over rules the right to a fair trial by an accused. The man is amazing. This is the level of democratic deficit in Barbadian discursive culture. It runs from the top to the bottom. (just ask @PLT).
    This is the kind of court of public opinion that leads (has led) to the innocent being executed. Plse do some reading about lynching in the US.

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    “The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, article 11, states: “Everyone charged with a penal offence has the right to be presumed innocent until proved guilty according to law in a public trial at which he has had all the guarantees necessary for his defence.””

Notice the “presumed.”

I simply stated that Donville was alleged to have laundered a bribe. He has not even been charged with accepting the bribe yet (that is the tragedy).

I gave my opinion that I think he is guilty based on the preponderance of evidence in the public domain. That is my right— I am not obliged under law to presume anything.

We can continue discussing this after the trial.

11. lorenzo,

stop talking crap. do you think that no BLP politician has taken an alleged bribe?

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    “… do some reading about lynching in the US…”
    Yes Hal you should. Yo have proved my point.

Lynching occurred when there was no evidence at all, let alone a preponderance of evidence. Furthermore, thousands of innocent Black people were executed after a trial in which they were found guilty by racist courts.

You trust the court system which has a long history of corruption… I, on the other hand, trust only the evidence, particularly a preponderance of it.

13. Switching from ignore mode.

The blogmaster operates in the realm of the fifth estate. Do you know why? The rise of the fifth column has been a consequence of the failing institutions you constantly rail about.

Switching back to ignore mode.

14. there is no such thing as evidence until it is tested in court via the rules of evidence and other laws. until then it is mere information

15. @ Lorenzo,,
    In case you have forgotten, my view of David Thompson is that he would have made a decent prime minister. I simply base this on the man, since he did not have time to develop his ideas. What I do know is that he would have engaged people in debate.
    Unfortunately he died too young. The case against him the only case I have heard, is that involving Clico. That, I have said over and over again, is/was regulatory failure.
    The problem with Bajans is that they do not discuss policy/ideas, but individuals. My caution about Mr Thompson was/is how can a UK-born man, of Guyanese heritage, with a St Lucian wife, become prime minister of Barbados. That could not happen in the US.

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 3:04 PM “David BU thinks that the court of public opinion… over rules the right to a fair trial by an accused…This is the kind of court of public opinion that leads (has led) to the innocent being executed. Please do some reading about lynching in the US.”

Donville is in the United States. Public opinion on Barbados Underground, Barbados or the United Kingdom is highly unlikely to have any influence at all on his jurors, his judges, or his trial. What is the likelihood that U.S. jurors and judges are reading Barbados Underground? Lolll!!! (Sorry David of BU)

Donville is also in the safe custody of the U.S. authorities. What is the likelihood that a bunch of elderly (sorry PLT) Barbados Underground bloggers are going to turn up in the U.S. overpower his guards and lynch him?

You must feel bad that a member of the party that you have long loved is facing serious charges in the U.S. In truth I feel bad too, even though I have never been a member or supporter of any party. But I feel bad that the U.S. authorities “down hand” in a former Barbados Cabinet Minister.

As a Bajan I feel bad. I feel embarrassed.

17. ” The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.

ICBL voluntarily self-disclosed the case and received a declination under the FCPA Corporate Enforcement Policy. ICBL disgorged $93,940.19 in illicit profits that it earned from the scheme.”

https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/former-chief-executive-officer-and-senior-vice-president-barbadian-insurance-company-charged

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“Beyond all reasonable doubt” applies to capital/murder cases, because a person’s life is at stake.Non-murder/non capital cases are adjudged on the basis of “the preponderance of evidence”*

in law, the distinction is between the criminal case and the civil case, not on the basis of the offence charged

19. @@Granma Grammarian

You make an excellent point,to add that highlighting this matter is about addressing the current state of things in Barbados. The Inniss matter is a means to hopefully an improvement.

20. ENGLAND 88 FOR 5.

WEST INDIES ON FIRE. REAL REAL TEST CRICKET.

apologies for interrupting your dross. lol

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 3:14 PM “What I do know is that he would have engaged people in debate.

Stupssseee!!! We do not pay prime Ministers so much money and give them so much power so that they can “engage us in debate”. Being the Prime Minister is not like being the captain of a high school debate team. We the people are not a cheering audience.

We pay our Prime Ministers to WORK. And if they can’t work, then they should quit.

22. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 11 is nonesense …

The fact of the matter is you are presumed guilty until you can prove that you are innocent … If what the article was saying was true
    … there would have been no such thing as a non-bailable offense/offence…

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Jeff Cumberbatch February 2, 2019 3:20 PM

Thanks Prof.

24. ss,

then MAM should be fired lol

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

De nada!

26. David BU thinks that the court of public opinion, or what he would perversely call free speech, over rules the right to a fair trial by an accused. The man is amazing. This is the level of democratic deficit in Barbadian discursive culture. It runs from the top to the bottom. (just ask @PLT).
    This is the kind of court of public opinion that leads (has led) to the innocent being executed. Plse do some reading about lynching in the US.(Quote)

@Hal Austin
    “… do some reading about lynching in the US…”
    Yes Hal you should. Yo have proved my point.
    Lynching occurred when there was no evidence at all, let alone a preponderance of evidence. Furthermore, thousands of innocent Black people were executed after a trial in which they were found guilty by racist courts.
    You trust the court system which has a long history of corruption… I, on the other hand, trust only the evidence, particularly a preponderance of it.(Quote)

Thank you, @PLT. Remember, we are talking of an innocent man accused of a criminal offence and you have claimed, without waiting for the conclusion of the court, that he is guilty.
    Now you want to flip your argument to talk about innocent people convicted by rigged courts. Did you attend any legal philosophy seminars while studying engineering at university.
    By the way, you are a talkative fool.

27. Hal,

i am with you re Thompson.

when you say Guyanese heritage you mean his father correct?

28. @ Jeff Cumberbatch,

I posted the link to the USA Justice Department. where it was written ” beyond a reasonable doubt “.

So is there a difference between ” a ” and ” all ” reasonable doubt ?

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson February 2, 2019 2:05 PM “I think he is guilty, but I still allowed him the fig leaf of “alleged.”

@Hal Austin at 3:26 “you have claimed, without waiting for the conclusion of the court, that he is guilty.”

At no point do I see where PLT has said that anybody is guilty.

If I said that I think that Santa Claus is real, does that make dear Santa real?

30. Mr Austin Mr Thompson would have made a decent PM based on what?Personally i saw nothing in him to come to that conclusion.As for Mr Greene that maybe true but the Dems had 10 years to take action and did zilch.Therefore the only person i see in trouble is Mr Inniss.

31. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

So is there a difference between ” a ” and ” all ” reasonable doubt ?

Not really, Hants. They might also say beyond ANY reasonable doubt. The judge will instruct the jury that they need to feel sure of an accused’s guilt.

32. Thanks Jeff.

33. @ Hants,

That is the perverse nature of plea bargaining, which has its appeal in Barbados. We have lost our democracy. I hated rum shop talk as a little boy, still do.

@ Simple

@Jeff Cumberbatch February 2, 2019 3:20 PM
    Thanks Prof. (Quote)

ie I got it wrong.

34. lorenzo,

so if a tree falls in a forest and there is no one around to hear it does it make a noise?

35. @ Lorenzo,

In case you have forgotten, my view of David Thompson is that he would have made a decent prime minister. I simply base this on the man, since he did not have time to develop his ideas. (Quote)

It is a personal impression, is that now a capital offence in the BU court of public opinion. Or should I say execute him for his alleged involvement in Clico. He was an intelligent man, a thoughtful man. It is a shame that many of the people who sucked up to him refuse to defend his reputation now in public. How Bajan. Just look at the silent voices on BU.
    Does BU represent the moral level of public debate in Barbados? Part of mature discussion is the ability to hold different opinions while agreeing to disagree.

36. well said, Hal, well said

37. @ James Greene,

Thanks. You are one of the only sane voices in this asylum.

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 3:40 PM. “I hated rum shop talk as a little boy, still do.”

So why on earth are you hanging out in the BU rumshop every single day?

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 3:40 PM @Simple. @Jeff Cumberbatch February 2, 2019 3:20 PM Thanks Prof. (Quote)”

@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 “ie I got it wrong.”

Yup I got it wrong, and the professor got it right. And I am big enough to so admit, and to thank the good professor.

I am not arrogant.

i am not thin skinned.

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 3:59 PM “@ James Greene, Thanks. You are one of the only sane voices in this asylum.”

I wonder why Hal insists on hanging out in the [alleged] BU asylum?

41. ss

yours is not to wonder why

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ammmm @ the Sir who is in fact a woman…

On a “simple” point.

You said “policemen” and “boyfriend”.

Policemen is plural

Boyfriend conotates intimacy even for a grandma

De ole man Hope’s dat you ent intimating plural boyfriends and that this was a grammarian slip?

Else you ent nuffin but a …heheheheh

note dat de ole man did not laugh “hohohoho..” given its intimation

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright February 2, 2019 4:37 PM “De ole man Hope’s dat you ent intimating plural boyfriends and that this was a grammarian slip?”

I beg your pardon.

A slip of the tongue, if i may say so. Lolll!!!

A good evening to you.

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@HAustin, you have some affection/respect for Thompson which certainly colours ur remarks in a quite irrational way I would suggest.

++As asked above on what rational basis can you surmise that “David Thompson…would have made a decent prime minister”.

Decent in what way… integrity, policy proposals, battling corruption, refocusing the civil service and corporate processes… how exactly?

OK so he would have engaged people in debate… did he not engage us all in the CLICO debate while being the legal agent of the then CEO’s remuneration package and PM too!

Is that part of being a decent PM?

You can so ridiculously opine that the ONLY case against him is that of CLICO…well there was one big case against Philby too, not so!

Your reasoning at times defies the most basic common logic.

I’m not going start a DT diatribe but suffice to say that there are folks who knew him from his school lad exhibition winning days who speak extremely highly of him still and others of that same vintage who always thought he was somewhat of scalliwag.

However, that u give him so much leeway and bash others very similar in nature to him is freaking amazing.

Incidentally wasn’t Ted Cruz born in Canada (of a US mother) and was vying legally to be US president?

How does Thompson heritage in any way serious disqualify the man to be a bajan PM…

The St.Lucian wife item is funny really because at one point as a lad I thought u almost had to marry a non Bajan to be a Bajan PM ! 😂

45. What the RH am I reading. A man conspired with his friend to defraud a company by wrongfully invoicing said company for legal services performed by a QC (who, by the way, denied any knowledge of such an invoice/services) and this action is due to regulatory failure? 🖐🏾

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@DPD “The St.Lucian wife item is funny really because at one point as a lad I thought u almost had to marry a non Bajan to be a Bajan PM ! 😂”

These Bajan Primiers/Prime Ministers have had non-Bajan spouses:

Errol Barrow, American spouse
    Tom Adams, English spouse
    Erskine Sandiford, Jamaican spouse
    Owen Arthur, Jamaican spouse
    David Thompson, St. Lucian spouse

Only Grantley Adams, and Bree St. John have had Bajan spouses.

Freundel Stuart and Mia Mottley have chosen to remain unmarried.

47. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife who wrote ” Freundel Stuart and Mia Mottley have chosen to remain unmarried.”

How do you know they are not married ? Speak for yourself. lol

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife February 2, 2019 4:08 PM
    “@Hal Austin February 2, 2019 3:40 PM. “I hated rum shop talk as a little boy, still do.”

So why on earth are you hanging out in the BU rumshop every single day?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Because the man is a full-blown madman who fancies himself as a born-again Englishman who loves the pub gossip.

This is the same insanely stupid racist fool who would demand that the Bajan government (not the British) withdraw citizenship from people born in Barbados who have been convicted for committing a serious criminal offence.

To which country would he deport these stateless “criminals”?

To seek “Asylum” in the UK?

Is he referring to people with “Guyanese” heritage or those that have ‘Islamic’ roots in Kensington New Road?

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@James Greene February 2, 2019 3:13 PM
    “there is no such thing as evidence until it is tested in court via the rules of evidence and other laws. until then it is mere information…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here is another source of information that could work in or out of the Don’s favour.

Did the Don report the monies credited to his bank account in the USA as assessable income in his Barbados income tax return(s)?

After all the rules require Bajan taxpayers (unless specifically exempt) to declare, fully and honestly, all sources of incomes including income earned overseas in their annual filing.

Shouldn’t you be asking the BRA to confirm whether the Don as a ‘sworn’ minister of the Crown did meet this absolute requirement?
    And if he did then we would know the poor Donville is as innocent as a singing canary who simply received an honorarium for meritorious services rendered outside the call of national duty.

50. All of this talk about corruption and Barbados is still considered the least corrupt in the region.