Barbados is fortunate to have Ross University relocating here, and our Prime Minister deserves credit for facilitating the move. This was a win for everyone: the University, which would have a wonderful location in the true land-of-the-free; the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre (LESC), which would be able to pay its bills and not be a drain on tax payers; but most importantly, ordinary households.

The severe austerity is impacting those with home mortgages, and to have the reported 1,000 students plus 300 staff paying perhaps $1,000 per month for a room in someone’s house, may save the house from foreclosure. If the mortgage has already been paid, then the money can be used to invest in the education of their children.

The immediate beneficiaries would likely have been those in close proximity to the LESC, who would have likely benefitted slimily as those near the University of the West Indies. However, given the LESC’s favourable location and Barbados’ radial road network, anyone living near Highways 4, 5 and 6 would have an advantage since it would be one bus ride to and from LESC.

Many homes are already prepared to host the students and staff, having upgraded their houses to accommodate visitors for the Cricket World Cup. The level of interaction should be beneficial to the families since these are post-graduate students, and the exchange of ideas can only benefit both parties. Well done Barbados!

Yesterday, to my dismay, I read that all Barbadian households were disqualified from offering their houses as accommodation to the students and staff. I learnt that only those small houses in the Coverley residential development, which are located far away from LESC, were approved for Ross University students and staff. I felt sick reading that even if students wanted to have accommodation at a Barbadian household, that they could not.

Something did not seem right. Certainly Ross University would correct this offensive news report, but it remained unchallenged. Hence, this article.

Why is this offensive behaviour being tolerated in Barbados? Everyone in a free country has the right to seek accommodation that they can afford. Even in countries that limit personal freedoms, like Cuba, Russia, China and North Korea, people can still choose to select affordable accommodations.

In Barbados, the only persons who do not have the choice of accommodations are inmates detained at Her Majesty’s Prisons (HMP) Dodds, the Psychiatric Hospital, and those who choose a military type regimen like the Youth Service and the Defence Force. Everyone else has a constitutional right to personal liberty where they can seek affordable accommodations.

Is there no lawyer in Barbados who can request a judicial review of this offensive contract? Is there no person at the Fair Trading Commission who can make a determination of the fairness of this contract? Why are we tolerating having Barbados’ reputation being damaged in this manner?

It actually gets worse, as if that were even possible. These approximately 1,000 sq ft area houses are reportedly being rented to accommodate 4 persons, who must each pay approximately US$1,000 per month in rent. What???

This rent is so ridiculously high that those 4 students can pool their rent money for 3 years and easily purchase the house that they are renting. They can then sell it, share it as a vacation home, or rent it to other students after they graduate? Clearly they would not even need to consider something so extreme if the rent was reasonable, but to not consider this investment opportunity would be financially irresponsible of them.

It is a well-known maxim that to understand what is really going on, one should follow the money. It has been reported that the houses at Coverley were not selling as expected. It seems that only a few favoured people are supposed to benefit from the relocation of Ross University.

While homeowners and others may mourn the loss of this economic opportunity, the real victims are the unsuspecting students – who are to be incarcerated at HMP Coverly.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

237 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Ross University – Hip Hip Hooray”

1. Another scam. What I hadn’t realised that the country had the chutzpah to name anything other than a cesspit after that disastrous moron Sandiford. May as well name something after Fumble.

2. The whole Ross University relocation stunk from the beginning
    The moral moorings were ripped right out of the negotiations with a sole purpose of rewarding Ross University at tax payers expense along with an immoral (now seen) attitude of ripping off the students

3. Are you not ashame mentioning ‘moral moorings’?

#michaelcarrington

4. I owe no one any thing why should i be ashamed
    As a said many times here this govt pursue a path of unilateralism. making decisions absent of ethics and morals
    You insistence on using Carrington debacle as an example to imply that govt lack of ethics and morals should be overlooked only points out the digusting political animal in your prestensive view on issues dealing on transparency and good goverence for the people

5. poorpeacefulandpolite Avatar
    poorpeacefulandpolite

Nothing wrong with segregating these students initially and making use of the asset. Bds$500/month per student as rent is not extortionate for the amenities and shuttle facilities included.

6. “I learnt that only those small houses in the residential development which are located far away from LESC were approved for Ross University”

I would like to think that if I am spending my hard earned money, that I do so in a manner that is suitable to my own making….

And it affronts as well as militates against the very notion of capitalism to have someone endeavour to dictate to you as to where you should or shouldn’t live, or how you ought or ought not spend your money…

7. “All inclusive” education!!

Reeks of money laundering where the flow of foreign $$ are carefully directed!!

Bet all the cement used was hard as a rock.

8. Poor and Peaceful: How did you arrive at an affordable monthly rent of BD$500 per student when the stated monthly rent per student is US$1,000 – or BD$8,000 per month for each small house.

9. I still don’t believe that this is true. Tell me that this is not true. Somebody? ANYBODY???????

10. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

I maybe wrong here but its usually the practice of regular universities to provide tuition to its students as that is part of the cost of programme. However it is also the norm for the university to NOT-dictate where the “legally adult” student chooses to seek accommodation. RUSM aka Rossie maybe be the exception to the rule but it does seem rather unfair to the parents of these students not to be able to access “better for value” or “lower cost” student accommodation.

I am sure that given the location of the RUSm at LESC there are plenty of middle and middle-to-lower-middle neighbourhoods where student may pool their resources to acquire lower cost accommodation.

Just saying.

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Is there no lawyer in Barbados who can request a judicial review of this offensive contract? Is there no person at the Fair Trading Commission who can make a determination of the fairness of this contract? Why are we tolerating having Barbados’ reputation being damaged in this manner?

@Mr Phillips, a contract is a legally enforceable agreement between parties, Unless one of the parties complain, we have to trust that both are satisfied with the arrangement. The FTC cannot simply thrust itself into the role of remaking a contract for the parties

12. See what I meaning!I keep telling Grenville to stick to Engineering.Politics is your your bailiwick.Check yourself man!The duck mussee juck ‘e bill in you nine days water yeh!

13. Not your bailiwick!

14. That may dispose of one part of Grenville’s submission. But what about the other part? Who is benefitting from this arrangement and why was it made in the first place? How is it that ordinary Bajans seem to be getting cut out of all opportunities to benefit from this enterprise? Look at the businesses that are moving in to take over at Coverley!

The usual suspects!

Business as usual!

15. Welcome.

16. Miss Ram got an invite?

17. Hi Jeff:

Thanks for the intervention. Please note that the press (Nation and Barbados Today) noted that students were complaining. Two questions.

The FTC normally claims that specific contract provisions are unfair in their public relations campaigns (eg, no refund without the original packaging) without a declared complainant. Can they not do a similar promotion on whether an institution in Barbados can deprive a person of their personal liberty to seek affordable accommodations?
    Can a private contract be legally enforceable if it violates the constitution of Barbados? To avoid an argument, let us assume that the contract does violate Barbados’ constitution – and we are not speaking about a ‘with his consent’ waiver, but rather a clear violation.

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Mr Phillips, it is entirely possible for an individual to contract away his or her rights in some instances. If the rules of the University stipulate that you must live in certain accommodation for a period and you agree to follow the statutes and ordinances of the University then you have abandoned your right to claim an infringement of your constitutional right.

Except with his own consent, no person shall be hindered in the enjoyment of his freedom of assembly and association, that is to say , his right to assemble freely and associate with other persons and in particular to form or belong to political parties or to form or belong to trade unions or other associations for the protection of his interests.*

Second, as I point out in my column tomorrow, by the state action doctrine, the constitutional rights are enforceable against the state only and not against a private entity.

Third, we may have a difficulty identifying the relevant constitutional right here. Freedom of association perhaps? But this has already been ceded by the student agreeing to abide by the University’s regulations. Scarcely, freedom of expression or that of assembly.

Finally, the FTC needs to be stimulated to move. The students will first have to complain, especially since I am of the view that the proper law of the contract is Barbadian law.

And yes, a contract that violates the principles of the Constitution such as a contract to discriminate against a race or religion would be void as being contrary to public policy!

19. Is there an Unfair Contract Terms Act as part of consumer protection? And because an agreement is signed in Barbados does not mean it is under Barbadian contract law. Some timeshare businesses operate under US law, as against contract. It depends on what the contract stipulates.

20. Jeff:

I specifically stated that I was not referring to a constitutional clause that allowed a person to give up his constitutional right with the “Except with his own consent” provision, yet, that is exactly what you used. So you have not clearly answered the question.

The right of personal liberty does not specify an “Except with his own consent” provision. Therefore, if someone entered into a contract that violated THIS personal liberty constitutional right, then is that contract legally enforceable in Barbados? Let us assume that this is a hypothetical case.

21. I hope that everyone heard our Prime Minister clearly admonish Barbadians thus, and I quote.

“If you see someone unfairing one of them (Ross University students), get involved and stop it.”

She justified this by stating that she lives by Jesus’ directive that His followers ‘do unto others as you would have them do unto you’.

Gabriel: You have the name of an Archangel, but you seem determined to follow the ways of lucifer. That has never ended well for anyone before, and it will certainly not end well for you. Better change course my friend.

22. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Phillips the Second we disagree with you on where students should live. The priority of foreign students and their parents is security. The areas within the radius of Sandiford Center you tout are working class unfortunately blighted with anti social elements. The Pine, Brittons Hill, The Ivy etc are regrettably not communities to loose young foreigners on renting sprees. Hard back locals enter these areas with caution far less tourists. Their rent choices have to be carefully managed. Coverley is suitable it ticks the security box.

In the prevailing circumstances where gunfire is a nightly occurrence particularly in hotspots God forbid one of those American students stop a bullet. If that were to happen Watch Ma Mia Amor gine wish she was never born to borrow words from that Johnnie the King boy song.

45 not the asshat who posts here the one with orange eyebrows would send an F16 to wipe out this shi&hole and MAGA. The COP repeats guns are pouring in everyday trigger happy lowlife thugs are prove him correct. Two more were shot last night. The police are trying but making little headway.

We therefore welcome Ross young students and wish them a profitable and enjoyable stay. However it would be reckless in the short to medium term not to ensure they are housed in a location that offers reliable security. The notion of freedom to choose that you Phillips the Second submit in these circumstances must be rejected.

23. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Donks Gripe and Josh January 5, 2019 7:09 PM “Phillips the Second we disagree with you on where students should live. The priority of foreign students and their parents is security.”

You sure? Bear in mind that most of Ross’ student are NOT children. They are adults.

My youngsters studied many places, including inna Kingston. And happily went off campus to explore the city, and the country. I said that as long as they were not sleeping under a bridge in West Kingston I was fine.

Bear in mind that bad things can also happen on campus. The young men from The Pine, Brittons Hill, The Ivy etc. are not the only threats. They may not be any threat at all. Isn’t the Barbados Community College in the area of The Pine, Brittons Hill, The Ivy etc. Some of my youngsters went there too, for both day and night classes. They all turned out fine.

We need to tek we young adults outta cotton wool? Aren’t these the same young people that Uncle Sam happily sends to war? And I mean real, real war, with real real guns, and real real fighting, and the real real possibility of dying before the age of 25.

24. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

Except that Donald trump did not go to war. he had a lame foot.

But lots of other people went, including a disproportionate number of young black men, and did not come back.

How soon we forget.

25. ” For example, if you’re living on campus, your residence and meal-plan or other food costs will make up a large proportion of your University expenses. These might range from approximately $8,000 to $15,000 per academic YEAR, depending on where you live, as well as whether you purchase a meal plan or prepare your own food.”

https://www.future.utoronto.ca/current-students/finances/fees/costs-university

26. Donks:

There are low-crime areas near LESC, so why did you only mention the high-crime areas that are further away from LESC. Are you aware that the PM’s official residence is next door, and low crime areas are close by? Did you not read that I mentioned anyone along Highways 3, 4 and 5 having an advantage.

Should we discourage undergraduate students from attending UWI if they cannot live on-campus because of the higher crime rates in Black Rock, or do we inform them about accommodation options in West Terrace?

Are you aware that these are graduate students, and that many of them lived off-campus in Dominica?

27. The writer needs to go and come again with some info on universities and student housing fees, for profit universities’ economic model, residency requirements etc and then write a more cogent piece. Already Jeff is shredding the legal/constitutional elements of the writer’s thesis. The major reason why university students seek private accommodation is due to supply v demand…universities can never provide the rooms based on student numbers, economic viability etc. Ross U is 1,500 students and luckily for them had access to land and an already established community to provide enough housing for their entire body. It is a business! University dorm rooms are no bigger or cheaper; and, as a medical school, accommodation will not be cheap, just as the tuition isn’t. The university is an American institution located offshore, not UWI. You should also analyse the impact the student body would have on local renters if Ross students are allowed to rent off campus in numbers, especially given your contention that the campus is easily accessible by public transportation? The writer should also provide some numbers and location of these available rental opportunities in proximity (not close proximity) to highways 4, 5 and 6 as stated? I, however, doubt that many of the students would opt to live in these areas, rather than close to Coverley which will be “student activity central”. The loss of rental income in any event will not outweigh the other significant economic benefits to be derived from Ross U.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

The right of personal liberty does not specify an “Except with his own consent” provision. Therefore, if someone entered into a contract that violated THIS personal liberty constitutional right, then is that contract legally enforceable in Barbados? Let us assume that this is a hypothetical case.

And where in the Constitution wotud I find this right, Mr Phllips?

My answer above covers this question. If there were such a right in our Constitution, then a contract to permit it to be infringed would be unenforceable and illegal..

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Is there an Unfair Contract Terms Act as part of consumer protection? And because an agreement is signed in Barbados does not mean it is under Barbadian contract law. Some timeshare businesses operate under US law, as against contract. It depends on what the contract stipulates

Yes, Hal there is though not eo nomine. I have not spent over thirty years as a student of law to be tutored by anyone on ascertaining the proper law of the contract. Where the contract is made, the provisions of the contract, the place where it is to be performed and the object of the contract are all relevant.

30. “Should we discourage undergraduate students from attending UWI if they cannot live on-campus because of the higher crime rates in Black Rock……..”

Mr. Phillips II

I am very familiar with the Black Rock area.

Could you please present yours or the police statistics to substantiate your claim that there are “higher crimes rates in Black Rock?”

31. If the students are willing to pay for their housing while at Ross it is not for us to decide where they should or should not live.

It is the responsibility of the Barbados government to ensure that the students are treated fairly.

The Barbados government allowed and assisted Ross to establish in Barbados. MIA GOT THIS.

32. Artax

“High crime rate in Black”

Artax, I am afraid Mr. Phillip might be right because not to long ago a young lady from St. John and myself was engaged in a conversation on social-media respect to some of the most violent areas in Barbados.

And I told her that I was originally from Bush Hall which happened to be one of the most dangerous place in Barbados when I lived there, and she said to me not anymore Black Rock is by far the most dangerous place in Barbados these days.

And her accounted really suprised me, because all that was really known of Black Rock back in the day was the Mental, and no such thing as a crime element of notoriety came from that area back in the day.

33. Hi Jeff:

Section 13 specifies the constitutional right to personal liberty. That liberty is removed by a contract that forces them to live where, according to news reports, some do not wish to.

34. Hants1
    Unfair? The students are not obligated to attend Ross U. If Ross U comes with mandatory residency, you accept or apply to another medical school.

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

No person shall be deprived of his personal liberty save as may be authorised by law in any of the following cases, that is to say-
    (u) in consequence of his unfitness to plead to a criminal charge or in execution of the sentence or order of a court, whether established for Barbados or some other country, in respect of a criminal offence of which he has been
    convicted

Mr Phillips, the LIBERTY referred to here is freedom from incarceration, not the license to do whatever one wouldst. You must read the entire section, not merely the first few lines…;

36. @Grenville

Based on your exchanges with Jeff on the blog and a few others prior you should consider encouraging a legal mind in Solutions Barbados stable? Particularly to provide guidance before you take public positions?

37. @ David
    you should consider encouraging a legal mind in Solutions Barbados stable?
    Particularly to provide guidance before you take public positions?
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Baloney.
    Grenville’s position is quite clear and concise.

Bushie has a major problem with this situation where it appears that one needs to be a lawyer in order to interpret what should be SIMPLE ENGLISH statements.

Therein lay the problem.
    These lawyers write all kinds of coded shiite …and then seek to convince brass bowls that only those of their ilk are able to translate it into english…

If the word ‘LIBERTY” means ‘freedom from incarceration’….then why the hell could they not just say..
    .. No person shall be INCARCERATED save as may be….

Lotta shiite…!!!
    ..and the solution is NOT to introduce MORE shiite-hound lawyers into the exercise…
    …IT IS TO EXCLUDE THE BASTARDS…

…but that is only Bushie’s humble opinion….

38. @Bush Tea

You have supported the position why a legal mind is required to assist in navigating the legal language. As an aspiring politician leading a third political party hoping to gain traction read credibility it is a necessary evil?

39. @ David
    Skippa, It is common wisdom that when you find yourself in a deep hole,
    The solution BEGINS with a cessation of digging…

We are in a DEEP HOLE
    due to the confusion caused by lawyers ..and by the shiite laws that they have concocted.

Are you telling Bushie that you see the solution as having MORE digging – this time by Grenville’s Solutions gang?
    Do you understand that a lawyer is a lawyer …is a scamp?

All we really need to do, is get Simple Simon (now with a brand new shiitehood) to translate all the stupid ‘Laws’ into standard English …then even Maripoka will know where she stands – and what is right and wrong.
    Best of all, the damn Judges will be able to determine cases quite easily, when the Law actually SAYS what is INTENDED – instead of the lotta coded shiite. that currently exists…
    In fact, very few cases would even GET to court – since any idiot (Lexicon included) could then see whether or not they broke the law….

What say you David…
    (and ignore the biased opinion of your able (and learned) assistant on this moot….)
    Murda…

40. The exhaust leaking from the weed whacker is affecting bushie

41. @Bush Tea

Are you not conflating some issues here? Asking a trained mind to interpret the legal data to inform public pronouncements seems sensible.

Ignore Jeff? Never!

42. Mr. Lexicon

So….. “Mr. Philips II might be RIGHT because not too long ago a young lady from ST. JOHN”………..

………..TOLD YOU “Black Rock, (ST. MICHAEL) is by far the most dangerous place in Barbados these days?”

And you actually believed her????

Or did she PROVIDE you with considerable EMPIRICAL EVIDENCE to SUPPORT her claim?

43. @ Bush Tea,

44. LOL @ David
    What EXACTLY is it that convinces you that legal data needs to be such
    that ‘trained’ interpretation is needed for educated brass bowls to get it?
    That has been our local experience…. but it has not served us well… AT ALL!!!

Why should intelligent people not have their laws written in PLAIN ENGLISH (or even Bajan…?)
    …is it that we need to continue to feed the cancer?

Bushie has no real interest in the various semantics of interpreting the ‘Law.’.
    Bushie is more interested in WHAT IS FAIR, JUST, and RIGHT…and in keeping with national principles.

One gets the impression that this is what Grenville seeks to discuss….

When we seek to discuss PRINCIPLE, it is often easy to distract – with semantics and legal games…
    But …RIGHT is RIGHT
    …and shiite is jobby.

45. @ Hants
    Good Ad.
    No one could possibly imagine such a legal mess in such a small place.
    It is BEYOND our imagination…

46. Not following your argument here Bushie. By your admission the existing laws represent a challenge for the laymen because of the fog of legalese. Until said laws are revised in simple language- your argument- it makes sense to call in a SME?

47. What is this ‘hant1’ handle now Hants?
    You aspiring to be like Grenville III?
    so…
    hantsII next week….?

48. When in a hole David…..

You want to call more jack hammers…?

49. Bet all the cement used was hard as a rock.

There might be a new building material on the horizon that could at least partially replace cement, wether it be the hard as a rock kind or not.

Dutch Company Unveils World’s First Prefab House Built Entirely of Cannabis

In the near future, citizens around the world will have the opportunity to live in economical, sustainable, and secure housing made entirely from hemp, a variety of the cannabis plant. Not only can the prefabricated abodes be constructed in a fraction of the time modern-day homes require, but they are also said to be more durable and affordable, as well as earthquake-resistant.

The progressive home was constructed by Dun Agro, a Dutch company specializing in “hemp concrete,” also referred to as “hempcrete.” Hemp is a versatile variety of the cannabis plant. It can be used to make everything from industrial building materials and food to clothing and bio-fuel. Unlike its cousin, hemp does not contain tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). As a result, it is impossible to get “high” from ingesting or using the material.

Dun Agro hempcrete is made from hemp fibers, water and glue. After it is pressed together in a mold to make prefab sections for houses, the mixture dries over a period of three months. Then, all sections of the home can be assembled.

On November 30th, Dun Agro put its hemp home on display. The company has already completed its second hemp home and has plans to build and sell more in the near future. In fact, with the present output of hemp in the Netherlands, the company estimates it can produce up to 500 hemp houses per year. If the demand increases, that number can easily be scaled up.

https://www.wakingtimes.com/2019/01/05/dutch-company-unveils-worlds-first-prefab-house-built-entirely-of-cannabis/?utm_source=Waking+Times+Newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=3bac9aa34f-RSS_EMAIL_CAMPAIGN&utm_term=0_25f1e048c1-3bac9aa34f-54669341

According to the video presentation below hempcrete is also fire resistant and termite resistant. Pictures of the Ukrainian “hempdome” houses at the 12:14 mark give an impression that these roofs would offer a streamlined and therefore wind-resistant shape that could more easily withstand hurricane force winds for buildings in regions subject to periodic hurricanes.

Presentation “Industrial Hemp: The Future of Green Building”
    for the Northwestern Lumber Association
    Denver, Colorado, 29 September 2016
    youtu(DOT)be/s599N6f-6s4