Jesus explained that we only have two paths before us, namely, the broad way of irresponsible behaviour that most choose, and the narrow and more challenging way of responsible behaviour.  I believe that when we reach our individual ages of accountability, we are each given 3 virtual bags containing the good deeds, encouraging words and healings that we are to empty before we go to the great beyond.

Every one of us have plenty of opportunities to give out of our bags, but something holds us back.  Something tells us that if we meaningfully help someone else, or say an encouraging word, or speak a blessing, that we would be ridiculed.  Imagine that.  We have been deceived into thinking that being responsible is something to be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

We are to receive no earthly benefit for most of the good things that we do, because we are to do them in secret.  Jesus said that our good deeds must be so private that figuratively, our left hand does not know what our right hand is doing.

During this time of severe austerity in Barbados, we have many opportunities to give out of our bag of good deeds to help those in desperate need.  Let us resist the temptation to selfishly guard our time and other resources for our own use.  It would be tragic, for us, to squander such opportunities.

As we interact with others, we will be tempted to withhold our compliments, advice, and encouragement out of a fear of how they may be received – we may even cringe at the very thought of saying something nice.  How it is received is not our responsibility, emptying that bag is.  Therefore, tell your loved ones that you love them, compliment persons for their efforts, and encourage persons to do what is right.

All three bags are to be emptied together, so we must also empty the contents of that third bag – the blessings.  We will be tempted to avoid blessing others because it may appear awkward if the blessing is not realised.  Again, the result is not our responsibility, emptying the bag is.

I follow my own best advice that I freely give to others, so I am happy and content with reason.  Two days ago, I was thanking God with a heart overflowing with gratitude, while walking towards my car after shopping in Bridgetown on Christmas Eve.  I happily realised that if I could choose any car in the parking lot, that I would honestly choose mine without reservation.

I then realised that if I could choose any house on this planet, that I would happily choose the one we built.  I then reflected further – and gingerly.  I slowly contemplated that if I could choose any woman on this planet, that, after deeper and honest contemplation, and with God, who knows all of my thoughts as my singular witness, I would genuinely choose my wife.  I asked God that I not outlive her, and I have already put my house in order for that eventuality.

I continue to improve myself so that I can better serve others, which is why I am currently pursuing a Doctorate in Engineering in addition to my other duties.  So, I write this blessing to every person who reads this.  May you be empty so that you may be full.

May you prosper financially during this time of severe austerity in Barbados, so that you will have abundance to assist those in desperate need.  May you be in good health and be healed of any and all diseases or ailments, so that your testimony may increase the trust others have in God’s love for them.

May you understand all information that you read, hear and perceive.  May your ability to analyse this information far exceed my own abilities (hence the reason for revealing my studies).  May you be filled with wisdom from above that may be applied to this analysed information so that the productive result will benefit you, your family, and everyone who follows your best advice.  All of this I write in the name of Jesus, our Messiah, the Son of God, Yeshua.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

308 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – A Year of Empty”

1. When the Head is bad the whole body becomes corrupt
    Would be very hard to find one person in barbados who has not been touched by the evil hand of corruption
    All Mia has done is use the effect of ceremonial pomp of emboldement and entitlement to excute the process to make corruption an acceptable norm
    Hence we have the blp yardfowls flying all over the place presenting all manners of fanfare which would. and should be applicable and agreed by all and sundry for Mia father knighthood
    London bridge indeed is burning down and no one bothers to bring a hose

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Enuff, likely they are but as the Blogmaster said that is really not the point and u are too freaking sensible to play dat BS.

The simple point is that they had serious issues as an educational institutions and it’s absolutely fair to ask serious question of any arrangements with them…
    Stop playing the same ‘let Dem starve partisan folly’ for which u wud be fast enuff to pranceparade on any Dem.

..u APPEAR better than dat!

@David the Blogmaster, a loud bouya to ur bank remark.

Did u read the report about Wells Fargo absolute disgusting behaviour in foreclosing on hundreds of people because of 1. Errors in calculations – supposedly by an AI computer (being facetious with AI) 2. Blowing past options to save those for etc etc

They were fined 3/4 $$Billon and of course they still doing business right.

And of course this is the SAME company that spiked credit card acs, directed customers to options they did not need and so on and so on.

That makes ur point quite bluntly: you can be accredited and doing business but yet be as freaking bad as a $3 bill. Ah well.

3. Ya sounding weaker and weaker and weaker……no one is interested in ya cries Enuff…ya can only fool those who. know no better…ya can’t even fool the people of St. John anymore…be WARNED..

4. @Dee Word

This is why the exchanges with enuff is counterproductive. It is a rehash of the last 10 years. We need to shift / elevate the discussion.

These earning brownie points exchanges is childish.

5. @Hants
    ” “Let us be clear. In life you have to know when to move on and when to say ‘thank you’, and I say ‘thank you’ despite all of the lashes you would have gotten from me in the past on other things,”
    ++++++++++++
    Yuh mean it was only politricks?

6. WARU the Salemite
    Many times I question your mental state.

7. Sir Michael Philip Jagger

Sir Elton Hercules John CBE

8. It almost always is ” politricks “

9. oh yeah…so when yall are going have me committed???

am sure DLP yardfowls said more than that…but now they are too busy to remember..

10. @Hants

A politician can only be political. This is the point about people power.

11. What Mia did by submitting here father name does not look good especially at a time when Barbadian housrholds are catching hell because of govt policies
    Her actions defies sensitivity and flies in the face of humility against those who elected her
    Her is a woman who only a week ago use the media to speak of Hope
    It is obvious her choice for Hope only speaks to those of her choosing

12. I agree with the PM giving her dad a great ” Christmas present “.. #familiyfirst

13. @David
    Yours @12.09pm

That is pretty weak, the Brits virtually invented it, they can bestow their honours on whoever they like, we should have different aspirations we don’t have to continually follow them blindly except for the 11 plus of course which they have abandoned (tongue firmly in cheek), 50 years and counting…….

14. @Sargeant

Hence the comment earlier about where is this government’s position on moving to a Republican system of government, we are still anchored in the trappings of a colonial past are we not?

15. David
    We need to mature to a point where we can separate optics from deserving.

16. @Robert Goren December 29, 2018 10:09 AM “He may fool you.”

Nah. TInniss can’t fool me,

Because I and most Bajans are more intelligent than TInniss the Gallus gallus (domesticated fowl) who is waiting to suck the blood of the taxpayer.

We the taxpayers can smell homo nosferatu vampiris (vampires) even from five years off.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 12 :37 PM

Changing the designation of the State of Barbados will not bring about a change in behaviour. What colonial trappings are you talking about? You are doing” ignoranciness” and blaming it on a political system that existed over 50 years ago?

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I would like to add to that list Sir Hants Blogger.

19. @enuff

Yes and no.

Deserving yes because for many years all Barbadians accepted Elliot Mottley was the leading criminal lawyer in Barbados and further.

The point of contention for many however is that the system is politically motivated and has no credit it is to be widely accepted as a honour role.

20. Ain’t that the truth …can smell when it’s time for the present lot of parasites/vampires to depart the parliament too.

21. @T.Inniss December 29, 2018 2:24 AM “So Mia gives her father a knighthood within 7 months of her becoming prime minister”

I am not worried about the knighthood given to old man Mottley, who, like most of us on BU is in the departure lounge, but I am worried about the one given to Assad Haloute, the founder of Chefette. I am wondering if we are not as a matter of public policy concerned about overweight/obesity anymore? If we are no longer worried about the contribution that high fat/high sugar foods have made and are continuing to make to the obesity epidemic, the hypertension epidemic, the diabetes epidemic, the heart disease epidemic. I am wondering if we have discovered oil in Barbados’ backyard, that we know that we have more tha enough money to take care of the consequences of poor eating habits. But maybe not we knight rum merchants too. We living in funny times.

The Prime Minister is about my height, but more than a decade younger and perhaps 20 pounds heavier. That worries me as it should worry all of us.

But I am only a

Simple Simon

22. David
    Most systems are political. Do you suggest we vote? It seems meritocracy is preferred over name except when the name comes with merit.🤣🤣

23. Again, I have to ask why is Owen Seymour Arthur’s name absent from those to whom knighthoods have been bestowed? After all he is a three term PM who is alleged to have saved Barbados’ bacon but yet the first BLP Gov’t elected after his tenure has determined that he is not worthy to carry the honorific title “Sir”. What does a body have to do to earn that designation?

Would someone care to explain the optics of “deserving”?

24. @Simple Simon

Haloute received the award because of his philanthropy, dont you get it? How does the political class survive? Who does the political class serve?

25. @enuff

Of course!

There will always be tension between the political systems and the people.

In this case we the peony will continue to rail for greater transparency.

26. The accreditation “Bible” so that we don’t have to guess nor cuss one annuder

https://ope.ed.gov/dapip/#/home
    Database of Accredited (American) Postsecondary Institutions and Programs

Accreditation in the United States is a voluntary, nongovernmental process, in which an institution and its programs are evaluated against standards for measuring quality. The goal of accreditation is to ensure that the education provided by institutions of higher education meets acceptable levels of quality.

And “no” I am not a gallus gallus for the BLP nor the DLP.

I am Simply Simon

27. Hants December 29, 2018 11:18 AM “@ Drug Lords also contribute to the economy and provide employment to the street level dealers although it is a WIN LOSS.”

Cuhdear man Hants!!! I expect better of you, even if you are only joking. Drug lords are a bane to any community in which they exist. I have a little goddaughter who has not yet sat the 11+ a sweet, beautiful and hard working child who is almost always at the top of her class, no thanks to her father who has been in and out of jail and the mental hospital for most of her life. The drug lords have stolen that father from his young child. She did not deserve to have her father corrupted into uselessness.

I blame the drug lords for that. Those mentioned by name, and those nameless ones, but they know exactly who they are.

I pray that they will be punished for their sins in this world and the next.

I pray that the drug lords be cast into that eternal unquenchable fire, and that they will suffer for ever and ever for having turned healthy productive young men (and women) into useless zombies.

28. @Mariposa December 29, 2018 11:07 AM “I do not ever listen to Brass tacks Ifba media cannot be unbiased in their opinions .they become lapdogs to the govt.”

So Mariposa, tell me something do. Was Brass Tacks/VOB/the media a lapdogs to the DLP government too?

29. The issue was not accreditation, most institutions in US have their programs evaluated for ACCEPTABLE STANDARDS……IT IS SOP…AS EVERYONE KNOWS.

it is when those institutions LIKE DEVRY…LOWER their standards to DECEIVE the people AND FALSELY ADVERTISE…and the feds have to sanction them, causing them to close multiple universities ACROSS THE US…fining them heavily ..to PROTECT THE PUBLIC…and FORCING A NAME CHANGE…and then they slither into vulnerable jurisdictions like Barbados with their LAST REMAINING CORRUPT GOVERNMENT…

that is the ISSUE.

accreditation was never the issue but JUST an Enuff redherring to shift the focus AWAY FROM REALITY.

30. @Sargeant December 29, 2018 11:51 AM “I have been a voice in the wilderness calling for the abolition of these awards as DLP Gov’ts hand out knighthoods to DLP supporters/members and vice versa for BLP Govt’s. Now we have the added complication of a PM doling out a knighthood to her father whoever said “blood isn’t thicker than water”?”

I ceased believing in the national honours thingy when I grew enough to realise (at about age 12) that the British monachary including Queen Elizabeth 2, also hands out awards to their spouses, children, grandchildren, inlaws etc.

So decide to give one to myself too. Why not?

From now on I am

Sir Simple Simon

31. and then they slither into vulnerable jurisdictions like Barbados with their LAST REMAINING CORRUPT GOVERNMENT…UNDER A BRAND NEW NAME..

32. @David December 29, 2018 12:55 PM “for many years all Barbadians accepted Elliot Mottley was the leading criminal lawyer in Barbados and further.”

So shouldn’t the awards go to the criminals then?

Because without criminals, there can be no great criminal lawyers.

Criminals are the ones who make the great careers of great criminal lawyers.

33. @David December 29, 2018 1:27 PM “Who does the political class serve?”

The people?

Forgive me if I am wrong.

I did not “pass” the 11+

34. There are some here – who to respond to their ignorant diatribe – will be to elevate their contribution to a position that it is not worthy of – so you put them on ignore.

To whom it may concern.

35. @Sargeant December 29, 2018 1:27 PM “Again, I have to ask why is Owen Seymour Arthur’s name absent from those to whom knighthoods have been bestowed?”

Owen may have refused a national honour from this lot. In truth we don’t know.

But Owen has 2 daughters.

Bright young women.

One of these days their time may come, and his time will come again.

Rise Sir Owen, the GG or the Queen ( I forget which) will say.

36. Tekking ya time ain’t foolishness.

37. I know we are Barbados focussed, but look at what the Brits do to Lewis Hamilton, the greatest FA driver. In 2008 he got an MBE. Since then nothing – and he is five times world champ.

38. @Hal A

I don’t normally follow those things but perhaps the Brits are waiting until he hangs up his lead foot, but if memory serves was Lester Piggott was still riding when he was knighted?

39. Maybe Lord Lewis Carl Davidson Hamilton, is too young, too good looking, too decent, too good at what he does to deserve a great award.

Merit what!!!

40. To who or whom the knighthood should have been given should not have included a submission on behalf of Mua Father by his daughter
    The underlying effect leaves negative connotation in the mind drawn upon questionable implications as to how much Mia would do to.protect her fathers best interest
    It is obvious that Mia has an unending love for her father as evident by other actions towards her father and her need to hide or cover up
    This last act of Knighthood now verifies her committment to father all above what those who elected her to high office think or belives

41. My error Piggott wasn’t knighted, he was awarded an OBE later withdrawn to a conviction of tax evasion.

42. Gazzerts I do not pretend for you or anyone else,i shoot straight from the hip ,as the Dems would tell you on here.I support Ms Mottley and this Government 100 % and make no apologies for it.I am hoping in a few years time Barbados will be up there again as one of the leading Caribbean countries,economically,after a disastrous 10 years of the former try a thing Government.As for Mariposa you did not listen to BrassTacks but I bet you listened to Talk Ya talk on CBC with the three Dem Moderators lead by is Barbados ready for a female PM Ms Holder and the in my view loud mouth Mr lovell.Guess Ms Holder got her answer loud and clear,as the Dems mouthpiece on that programme,in alliance with the Trini Dem,both of whom seem to have gone under ground as you cannot hear a peep out of them,good riddance.Mariposa again I state you are a first class hyprocrite.T Inniss,the BU family got you coverd as a Dem yardfowl so you do not have to respond,to some persons ,no skin off our backs,you are not important,but your comments will be taken as the nonsence they are by the Bees.As I have stated before the Dems really need to get better bloggers on here,and give you two a long rest,in my view.

43. WARU
    More rubbish!The first litmus test for any tertiary level educational institution is whether it’s accredited and by whom. Secondly, its ranking whether based on the programme or the entire school and cost. Devry University has not changed it’s name. Devry Education Group the parent body changed its name to Adtalem Global Education, which runs a number of schools in and outside of America including Ross U. Devry University is not defunct. In any event, Ross isn’t Devry U. #refutingtheshyte

44. Well listen to this logic..the feds took NONE OF THAT INTO ACCOUNT..when they FINED DEVRY…100 MILLION DOLLARS…they were looking at the VIOLATIONS the university committed ..not at any accreditation..

ya don’t fine any institution 100 million dollars for being accredited, being accredited is not a crime…

it had nothing to do with their accreditation…comprende ahora?

christ..the education system failed many, it does need an upgrade..

45. Don’t worry..tie yaself up as much as ya want…time is longer than twine.

46. besides…the more yardfowls show ugly yardfowling really is, thanks to you, the more people will…OPEN THEIR EYES…..TICK TOCK.

47. Piece, Grenville does not even respond to any comments on his own blog. He just gets them posted and disappears.

48. Good Afternoon…Politics make Strange Bed Fellows!

49. David December 29, 2018 1:27 PM @ Simple Simon

“Haloute received the award because of his philanthropy, dont you get it? ”

He uses Minority share value in the Company wherever he sees fit, be it in Sports Sponsorship, Charitable Donations and whatever they Conjure up for the Glorification of him and his. All Tax Write Offs!!
    Where is the True Spirit of Charity?

FOR 20 YEARS ASS… H HAS WANTED THE TITLE OF SIR WHICH COME @ A HIGH PRICES THESE DAYS…

KUDOS TO sir CHELTENHAM HIS LAWYER WHO IS A LONGTIME BLP MAINSPRING!!!

50. Rubbish! You so ignorant so because they were fined the GoB should not allow a sister univetsity/Adtalem to set up in Barbados though they are fully accredited? I guess we should ban the importation of VW vehicles and Virgin Atlantic from flying to Bim. 😂😂 Go learn to analyse what you read. I will continue to “yardfowl” and show you up as a Salemite constantly looking for a Sarah and a serial false info poster. It doesn’t take an iota off my back.