Jesus explained that we only have two paths before us, namely, the broad way of irresponsible behaviour that most choose, and the narrow and more challenging way of responsible behaviour.  I believe that when we reach our individual ages of accountability, we are each given 3 virtual bags containing the good deeds, encouraging words and healings that we are to empty before we go to the great beyond.

Every one of us have plenty of opportunities to give out of our bags, but something holds us back.  Something tells us that if we meaningfully help someone else, or say an encouraging word, or speak a blessing, that we would be ridiculed.  Imagine that.  We have been deceived into thinking that being responsible is something to be ashamed of or embarrassed about.

We are to receive no earthly benefit for most of the good things that we do, because we are to do them in secret.  Jesus said that our good deeds must be so private that figuratively, our left hand does not know what our right hand is doing.

During this time of severe austerity in Barbados, we have many opportunities to give out of our bag of good deeds to help those in desperate need.  Let us resist the temptation to selfishly guard our time and other resources for our own use.  It would be tragic, for us, to squander such opportunities.

As we interact with others, we will be tempted to withhold our compliments, advice, and encouragement out of a fear of how they may be received – we may even cringe at the very thought of saying something nice.  How it is received is not our responsibility, emptying that bag is.  Therefore, tell your loved ones that you love them, compliment persons for their efforts, and encourage persons to do what is right.

All three bags are to be emptied together, so we must also empty the contents of that third bag – the blessings.  We will be tempted to avoid blessing others because it may appear awkward if the blessing is not realised.  Again, the result is not our responsibility, emptying the bag is.

I follow my own best advice that I freely give to others, so I am happy and content with reason.  Two days ago, I was thanking God with a heart overflowing with gratitude, while walking towards my car after shopping in Bridgetown on Christmas Eve.  I happily realised that if I could choose any car in the parking lot, that I would honestly choose mine without reservation.

I then realised that if I could choose any house on this planet, that I would happily choose the one we built.  I then reflected further – and gingerly.  I slowly contemplated that if I could choose any woman on this planet, that, after deeper and honest contemplation, and with God, who knows all of my thoughts as my singular witness, I would genuinely choose my wife.  I asked God that I not outlive her, and I have already put my house in order for that eventuality.

I continue to improve myself so that I can better serve others, which is why I am currently pursuing a Doctorate in Engineering in addition to my other duties.  So, I write this blessing to every person who reads this.  May you be empty so that you may be full.

May you prosper financially during this time of severe austerity in Barbados, so that you will have abundance to assist those in desperate need.  May you be in good health and be healed of any and all diseases or ailments, so that your testimony may increase the trust others have in God’s love for them.

May you understand all information that you read, hear and perceive.  May your ability to analyse this information far exceed my own abilities (hence the reason for revealing my studies).  May you be filled with wisdom from above that may be applied to this analysed information so that the productive result will benefit you, your family, and everyone who follows your best advice.  All of this I write in the name of Jesus, our Messiah, the Son of God, Yeshua.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

308 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – A Year of Empty”

1. The yes men and yes women part I meant, they claim that Mia cannot function successfully under such conditions, but she gotta know, personally I would get RID of half the cabinet, because if one or two of them can’t research and tell her not to get in bed with a shady university or after she railed against Maloney and now gushing what a brilliant SCAMP HE IS. AND NONE OF THEM CAN TELL HER not to get into bed with shady Maloney and she can’t THINK of a better way to do things and they…who are all sucking on the taxpayers tits …..have no solutions and are not creative enuff to generate workable ideas and solutions…….it will not end well.

2. CSME FAIL?

“Durant, who took the young men to his church where they spent the rest of the night, told Barbados TODAY that the Haitians are in need of temporary accommodation and funds to help purchase return tickets.

The young men said they had come to Barbados in search of a better life.

However, they said they found no jobs and have exhausted their limited finances.”

3. @David
    You need to tell Verla to get her team ready for midterm or even to cover Santia in a few months
    I can’t believe you went there, that is some ghoulish speculation.

4. Haiti has a population of around 10 million people, Barbados is a tiny island with not even 300,000 people and very little opportunities ..someone is giving these desperate people bad information.

5. @Sargeant

The smart thing is to prepare for the possibility. Her medical team might advise her to break from the hurly burly of political life.

6. lol..

7. This is vile, but typically Barbadian. The woman is seriously ill and to talk of her demise takes the biscuit.

8. @Hants

Beware the poop!

9. Verla was asked about the lack of transparency in the contracts for various DLP baked projects specifically,Water Authority and Cahill.She was sputtering saying she didn’t see the contracts so she can’t speak on those matters relating to tendering.This is the same woman who was on CBC TV every Sunday night and in the Senate holding forth the gospel according to Stuart and Sinckler but dipsy doodling when Winnie de Aunt from Bagatelle asked where was she when all these shenanigans were going on.Like why no tender for these projects like Cahill,BWA,Grotto,Coverley,Cruise Terminal etc.Verla was heard crying that she didn’t see none of these contracts as she not in the cabinet…boohoo boohoo. But,today,she wants to see the CV’s of the advisers in the ministry of Finance and the contract for SSA.Woman,shut your trap and go look for work.Didn’t you realize your party got skinned out of Government on May 24th 2018?#30luventeasytoswallow.

10. If I were in Barbados I would not go anywhere near Worthing until they fix the sewage plant.

11. David @3:42 p.m.

Verla is handling herself well and is not giving any ground despite what they throw at her.Well done to her – She must always be on the offensive – never on the defensive with these lot of vipers that abound in this place.

Unlike Mia Mottley she has rolled up her sleeves and is attacking this seemingly overwhelming task on her own strength -bit by bit.

Mottley however in opposition needed the total backing financial and otherwise of the business community.Even now she is in government she has to have an army behind her – whether it is of ministers of finance (5 of them) – consultants, tsars, political advisors – you name it.

She needed and co-opted some immoral and unethical members of the media/journalistic community.So she fed them the stories and they rushed out and put it on the front pages of the newspaper,the social media sites and on the radio station via the news broadcast and the call in shows.Relentlessly so too.

She had the support and backing of the university community – who when they weren’t writing columns in the said Nation newspaper e.g Lisa Cummins & Tennyson Joseph – they were being invited by the associate company in One Caribbean Media – VOB Radio – to come on the programmes as guest speaker ‘wearing a mask as an Independent university lecturer’ or ‘independent commentator’ – when all the while Ellis and the others know these ‘guests’ are painted in their BLP stripes.

If all else fail – then you turn to the gullible masses – led by 2 15 minutes of fame-ers breadfruit swappers leading the Unions to whip the people (their members) in a frenzy and then march them up and down – up and down – in protest at every decision Stuart and his team made.

Of course you would have your moles secreted away in senior positions in the public service.

However if any of the matters had to go to the courts – like the Hyatt issue,or the BIDC matter,or the Barack case,anything so – then you call on the allegiance of the BLP mafia in the judiciary and you get made to order judgements.

Poor Verla Depeiza is not so lucky however (or would it eventually be unlucky) – as Mia Mottley is, to have these bands of nefarious well known,influential sons and daughters of this land backing her –

So Verla will plod along and as the effects of the Kool- Aid wears off – and the people’s eyes start opening (as they already have for some) – many hands will join with hers and indeed these many hand will make light work – but for a just cause and not this shite that is taking place right now.

Selah.Pause and think about these things.

12. Re: Marijuana.
    The political class who seem to be stuck somewhere in thepast, can ape (copy) the legislation of Antigua & Jamaica with regards to Marijuana.
    What are they waiting for?
    Approval from Drug Lords?
    Antigua making Buhbaydoss look like a backwater place stuck in the past.

13. TInniss
    I keep saying you gine need smelling salts come next year. Yes there are consultants, which the DLP had too. The difference is that the public was in the dark about the Dems’ consultants and there were no successes to report. Can you or any of your fellow apologists look any sane Barbadian in their eyes and say the last DLP government did well? In fact what has the DLP accomplished since 1986! While you and Verla are struggling for traction, the government is pressing ahead with its agenda.

14. WARU
    Thanks for the cut & paste. No I am not gonna call you a liar, after all it is a cut and paste and as I said before unless it is a cut & paste most of what you post is false info. I will also point out again that you’re not very good at fully analysing what you read or researching the topic. Is the university accredited or not? If it is, by which institution and is it a legitimate institution?

15. @Hants
    If I were in Barbados I would not go anywhere near Worthing until they fix the sewage plant.
    +++++++++++++++
    But…… the Gov’t declared Worthing Beach open….. what is it open for? This s a good news/bad news joke:

Good news the beach is open

Bad news Yuh can’t go in the water

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

How are you doing?

It would appear that you did not get the memo.

So here it is one more time

http://imgur.com/SakY0Vk

17. So Mia gives her father a knighthood within 7 months of her becoming prime minister.

What SPECIAL contribution did he make to the island though ?

Just like Mia got behind Owen Arthur’s back and against his clear instruction – and manoeuvred to ensure her father got over a million dollars in taxes wiped out – now this.

There are some things that are so crass that you just don’t do them.

I know you might love your daddy – but to do something like this clearly shows you the political animal you are dealing with.

More to come I am sure.

I can understand and would have accepted her uncle getting this recognition for his contribution to culture – but what outstanding contribution did her father make ?

So because you have a 30 -0 win you mean you don’t care what the people think,or how things look, or whether it is right or wrong – yuh just doing it ? steupes.

It is a dangerous trend we are seeing. Notice how despite all the criticisms about the last government Mia ain’t care wuh de public and taxpayers have to say – she keeping the enormous cabinet,she keeping the consultants,she keeping the tsars,she keeping the political advisors.

Yuh could like it or yuh could lump it.

People,people,people – these are clear signs of dictatorship – and like I keep saying there is no VOB, or Nation newspaper or even Barbados Today or Barbados Underground – that will keep highlighting and criticising these things.

This is not even a creeping dictatorship type behaviour – it is an ‘in yuh face’ move.

That 30 pieces of silver for those in the media and others who have sold out will eventually lead to their own demise – you watch and see.

Francis Chandler enjoy your award hear ?

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T Inniss

You had to have been posting the same time de ole man was posting about this

I wonder what de Honourable Blogmaster is going to say about the optics of this??

Do you think that any one of the two BLP dogs on this BU channel voing comment on it?

I going bet you $1 million Monopoly that dem ent going say one Shy€e

Unless of course this is one of the things one of the dogs hinged that voing mek people pun BU shame!

Yes, now you mention it dem was saying dat we voing got to het smelling salts to recover from de tings dat going happen in de next 12 months.

Well if de fader get a knighthood, and de Don get a *** , why it only mean dat Mummy going get some sorta honours too

Whu aftah all!

Dame Mugabe Ueen of the Island Republic of Mugabe

You do know dat when Mugabe island get build dat dem going sucede?

Yes my man.

As soon as de last block from de quarry het “moved to please” by Sir Moooooo, dem going vote for independence fro the Twin State of Barbados the Sir Mugabe, governor general of Mugabe island going cut ties.

If this was not so blatantly a tyranny in the making, it would be the plot for a B rated Borak movie

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

19. “most of what you post is false info.”

Enuff Yardfowl…accreditation is no big deal, most schools in US ARE ACCREDITED …I won’t make that part of my problem…that is for the small minded yardfowl to dwell on…..

…the point is ya CANNOT CHANGE THE FACT…that is the SAME SCAM ARTISTS running the same SCAM UNIVERSITY..that the FEDS SUED…and that everyone …if ya ever lived in NYC..knows is a SCAM UNIVERSITY…long before they ran into trouble with FTC….

But yall are criminals, SO YA FELLOW CRIMINALS WILL BE WELCOMED AND FIT RIGHT IN ……..AND ya will try to JUSTIFY ya criminal behaviour…but….TIME IS LONGER THAN TWINE.

Again…ya can’t discredit me..we passed that bridge many years ago…

20. “What are they waiting for?”

From certain sources…which I hope is not true…Mia rushed ahead early after being elected and made some deal with this marijuana , we will wait and see, because I was still willing, despite all her nonsense, to give her the benefit of the doubt, but we shall see….TIME IS LONGER THAN TWINE.

21. BTW……ya should be glad I exposed the Devry/new name connection, ah know ya can’t think at that level..POOR LIMITED INTELLECT THAT YA POSSESS…, but if Mia is a quarter as intelligent as she pretends to be…she was just GIVEN BY ME the upper hand in that arrangement…if she is not TOO CORRUPT…..TO SEE IT.

yall are welcome.

22. @T.Inniss

You will like this link.

https://wp.me/p43Aa-hW

#Mottleyism

23. Piece

Yes I noted the comment from the blp agent.

But time longer than twine. God is still on the throne.

I am watching to see if the blog moderator will put up a blog about these developments taking place just over 6 months into this administration.

I hope they that are proposing smelling salts for us would not be the ones being carried out in a pine box.

Talk about crass.That act by Mottley to give her father a knighthood could take 1st place for the most crass,vulgar act by a politician in Barbados.

I am reminded about the Press Conference Owen Arthur called a few weeks before the elections and one of the thing he said is that “could you imagine Mia father asking him to wipe out that million dollar taxes” – and Arthur replied “how do you even dare put me in a position like this with your daughter being a senior cabinet minister – and asking me to do that”

So even Arthur recognized that some things are just not done .

24. David

Can you put what is in the link that you are pointing me to – into a blog ?

I am very wary about opening certain links these days.

Then I and everyone can read it and comment.

Is that alright with you ?

25. Piece,

A knighthood is worth a thousand words!

26. You will have to trust the blogmaster wont you. Here is a hint, wp means WordPress.

27. I hear you David.

On another point why are these comments jumping all over the place and the comment posted for example as the last comment sometimes can’t be found or is located higher up.I know it could perhaps be a comment off the reply link – but to me it is messing up the comments listing.

28. The format mirrors Facebook, commenters can have different conversations under the same blog. For example if Lexicon posts a comment you are free to have a discussion with him and at the same time have one worth PUDRYR and Nineofnine. The setting was tweaked this morning. It is about trying to mitigate nuisance exchanges, let us see how it works out.

29. Ok Fine.

30. WARU
    Accreditation is no big deal? LMBAO. I guess accrediting bodies are allowing scammers to operate even after being fined. Expected from a Salemite.

31. Accreditaton is NO BIG DEAL…it might be new to Barbados…but how are you going to stop crooks from operating…even with accreditation …if they already ADMITTED TO DECEIVING THE PUBLIC…POSSIBLY PAID A FINE and agreed to …A NAME CHANGE to continue operations …unless they do it again in an even bigger way…which can SHUT THEM DOWN PERMANENTLY.

why do you think they hightailed it …OUT OF US…??…oh ah forgot…ya cannot think that far.

ah told ya stay in ya lane…even Verla knows her limits when it comes to US laws…

32. @ Enuff
    WARU is right.
    Accreditation by whom?
    There is ‘accreditation’…and then there is Accreditation.

It is like having a ‘degree’…
    All depends on the institution behind it….

33. Blatant up in your face Corruption.This is the kind of evilness that this country will have to endure for the next five years
    Dont expect one word to be said by the Blp yardfowls

34. The yardfowls will respond the same way you did to the michael carrington matter for example?

#peasinapod

35. And besides…when ya trying to pick my brain…am only going to give yall…WHAT I WANT YOU TO HAVE..

because…my original intentions STAND…protecting the VULNERABLE Black people on the island, from yall, ESPECIALLY from yall…and PARTICuLARLY FROM YA CROOKED TIEFING FRIENDS…AND MASTERS…so there.

36. TInisss
    It’s a knighthood, relax. No monetary gain, unlike QC–Allsopp, King, Lashley, Smith, Yearwood and Taitt. Discuss whether the man is deserving based on his contribution or lack thereof.

Piece
    I feel fuh you.

37. Enuff it has signalled that Mottley has no immediate plans to go Republic? Did Elombe tell them to shove a similar honours award?

38. @ Enuff
    So your standard for BLP behaviour is that it be ‘not as bad’ as DLP shiite…?

39. Enuff

Imagine that you see no big thing in the prime minister of this country within 6 months of coming to office GIVING HER FATHER THE HIGHEST AWARD IN THIS COUNTRY.

AND YOU SAY RELAX.

Enuff is there nothing that you will ever criticize this government or your party about ?

Yet you constantly question Mariposa about why she hasn’t spoken out on any and every issue concerning on the Dems.

This country will be in a mess soon – if it is already there.

You enuff was the same person who said that you saw nothing wrong in Mottley closing down the Government Printery and giving the contract to the Government minister family business.

Yet the last government were filled with wild boys right ?

Time longer than twine my friend.

40. Notice the angle the blog moderator chooses to take – that Mottley’s action means that she has no immediate plans to go to a republic.

Not a word on whether her action to knight her father – for God knows what – is an offensive thing to do.

41. T. Inniss,

The perception is as bad as the reality. Elected on May 24, and for the first New Years Honours appoints her father a knight. Deserving or not, it looks strange.

42. @T.Inniss

You are free to prosecute this matter through your lens, the blogmaster will do the same.

capiche?

43. nils olav just about says it all

44. Politicians are all the same and their yardfowl supporters are silly.

The only difference between Mia giving Mottley an award and Freundel giving Stephen Lashley a national award for overseeing CARIFESTA, which he was paid to do in the first place and CARIFESTA was a failure and giving Bryan of the Advocate 3 national awards because his paper was pro DLP, is that Mottley is Mia’s father.

45. Politicians are all the same and their yardfowl supporters are silly.

The only difference between Mia giving Mottley an award and Freundel giving Stephen Lashley a national award for overseeing CARIFESTA, which he was paid to do in the first place and CARIFESTA was a failure and giving Bryan of the Advocate 3 national awards because his paper was pro DLP, is that Mottley is Mia’s father.

46. Hal

But Hal – what is it that the father did to deserve this honour /

He isn’t a lawyer that a thousand bajans can say over the decades of his practicing law that he did pro bono work for the poor and destitute.

I can’t think of any landmark case that revolutionised the legal system that he was involved in.

He was not engaged in charitable works etc.

What has this man done to get a knighthood except be the father of this new prime minister /

Naked abuse of power staring yuh hard in yuh face.Wuhloss, wuhloss.

For a long,long time I have been saying these knighthoods have been so watered down that they ain’t even worth cleaning the dog poop with.Steupes.

Anyway a peaceful and productive 2019 to all in this BU community.

47. A few old men in Barbados, and a lot of BU old men too seem care about knighthoods, but the rest of Barbados doesn’t give a phuck..

Stupssseee!!!!

Knighthood or not, the old men all going to their fina; destion in 10 or 15 years.

So tell me again why should an 18 year old Bajan care?

48. final destination

49. @T.Inniss,

Maybe he has hidden qualities.