It’s that time of the year when I hope those not directly involved in the tourism sector spare a tiny thought for the many who will be working over the Christmas period and to various degrees, sacrificing quality time with their families.

From our own perspective, this year will be the first family Christmas that I hope to experience in over 40 years. Of course it goes with the territory and if you choose tourism as a career then it is naturally expected that you will be working during what the majority consider ‘unsocial times’.

For our cherished guests it is a very special time where almost always they are paying premium rates for both accommodation and flights.
If there is any hope they may return year and year, we have to justify why they are now paying higher prices than ever before.

While I fully understand the current Government’s financial challenges, they also fully benefit from the increase in windfall taxes at this time and concerted measures have to be taken in an attempt to keep the island clean and tidy.

Once again, our area has not had a garbage collection for over two weeks. The stench of the rubbish, strong winds blowing it all over the place, breeding flies and constant scavenging by stray dogs and fowl, does nothing to impress our guests or encourage them to return to the destination.

Many of our visitors closely follow the social media and are aware of the increased operating costs to businesses, compounded by the second departure tax, accommodation room and ancillary tourism tax that they now have to absorb in their increased holiday costs.

Perhaps many readers will vocally argue, give the new Government a chance. Rightly so but there are very rarely second chances in the tourism industry.

You cannot make comparisons with goods and many other services. If a car or refrigerator breaks down you can take it back to the dealer or get it fixed. First and last impressions often have a critical bearing on the choice of the next holiday and we should never lose track of that fact.

While the private sector is pivotal in the overall visitor experience, it cannot directly intervene in the continuing niggling problems, so graphically highlighted in social media sites like Barbados Trip Advisor Forum. These include a shortage of manned immigration desks, exacerbated by the long delayed Automated Passport Control Kiosks becoming operational. The time it frequently takes to reclaim hold baggage or as one Canadian visitor commented recently, it took 1 hour and 40 minutes to retrieve his luggage.

Yes, we fully understand the possible illegal drug implications, but surely a few more fully trained customer officers and dogs are not beyond the administration’s ability to implement, especially as our arrivals are paying for it in vastly increased taxation. And finally, either we have a customs green channel or we don’t.

None of these are new problems. They have been there for years. Let’s finally deal with them.

140 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Cleanup the Country, it is XMAS for Chrissakes!”

1. Good, you would pollute Barbados. Now get lost, I only interact with sentient human beings, and you don’t fall into either category.

2. 45govt

Did I hurt your feeling …?oh I am sorry darling … I shall do my best to be a little more sensitive the next time we talk…!

3. Here’s my problem the US has about one gun per person virtually impossible to have everyone turn their’s in so what do you do there is no sense closing the barn door after the horse is gone. So I think all you can do is brand your horse before it gets out so you know who has it. Because whether it is a gun, a truck a knife or a plane people are going to kill people. Barbadoshas had gun laws in place so have a chance of eradicating them if they are willing to do so 3.5 guns per 100 is low and I am sure the cops know the bad actors with them.

4. Lawson

Stop making them and and ammunition that goes with them … advocate for a two-thirds majority vote in Congress and every state legislature to amend the Second Amendment …

5. Lawson

There are those persons “(45govt)” who think that the Second Amendment is an absolute right, but just like Religion and Speech, Congress is vested with the authority regulate how they are use as well as how they are applied …

6. there are people who think abortion is a right…do you believe that maduro or chavez have right to take guns away from civilians who may not think like them

7. Lawson, asking Leximoron to think is fruitless – ask a passing dog.

8. @Green Monkey
    My brother used to rent a car at the Airport and the Agency would provide him with a permit, but they only provide them to their clients. Last few times I was at Oistins for permits I sailed through but were they on a go slow to protest the layoffs?

It could be worse for your house guest, if they are over 70 they have to get clearance from a Doctor prior to obtaining a permit and there goes another three hours plus I hear that they charge extortion fees.

9. Lawson

Like most Christians I believe that life beginning at the moment of conception, but there are those who think that life begins at the most of born …
    But as far as guns are concerned, I think that law enforce and those in related professions should be the ones carrying guns and not the common citizenry…

10. It is nice that Leximoron puts his trust in the govt – the VERY reason the founding fathers wrote the 2nd Amendment. Oh yes let us all naively cling to the belief that we will be safe with them ‘protecting ‘ us LOL.

11. @Lexicon and 45govt

It is Christmas, give us a break.

12. 45govt

Trying to school be about the American Constitution is like trying to teach Trump how to speak for more than 15 minute at one of his many press conferences …

13. I pay a sewage tax yet my home is not connected to a sewer system. I pay a solid waste tax yet my garbage does not get collected for weeks. I now pay a health levy yet the hypertension medication I used to get is no longer on the list of subsidized drugs. I pay more “road tax” yet the roads are just as bad as before if not worse. I am beginning to think that I have been conned.

Merry Christmas to all on BU.

14. 45govt

You aren’t even aware of the fact that the right to bear arms only existed within the context of the Militia …because the Framers of the Constitution believed that every citizen were to be a part soldier …

15. @Ping Pong

An efficient waste management system is all our business.

Merry Christmas!

16. 45govt

Here is another fact regarding the Constitution that may have escaped you noticed because of your cognitive insufficiency … the Bill of Rights wasn’t even applied to the Constitution until the 1790s …remember the Constitution was ratified in 1776 …

17. 45govt

You are following
    the letter of the Second Amendment rather than spirit of it …

18. David
    …but I am paying more and getting less!!!!

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Ping pong is complaining that he is paying more for an “efficient wastage management system, and is getting a less efficient one . This is the complaint of most citizens.

20. I am paying more for road maintenance and getting less road maintenance. I am paying more for health care and getting less health care. The courts don’t function efficiently. Violent crime seems to be increasing. Is this what is meant by “Barbados is punching again”? It seems that what is meant is that the citizens are being treated like punching bags!

21. Ping Pong

Oh dear yuh got muh cracking up.

Luv it too bad.

Yuh ain’t lie.

22. @Ping Pong and Vincent

The point is understood. The size of the issue must be viewed from about six months ago, what was the state of the waste management system then and what will it take to achieve the efficient system we want.

23. @Ping Pong December 24, 2018 6:33 PM
    RE

I pay a sewage tax yet my home is not connected to a sewer system. I pay a solid waste tax yet my garbage does not get collected for weeks. I now pay a health levy yet the hypertension medication I used to get is no longer on the list of subsidized drugs. I pay more “road tax” yet the roads are just as bad as before if not worse. I am beginning to think that I have been conned.

THE WHEELS ARE FALLING OFF CANT YOU SEE?

24. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Ping Pong has discovered that

“I pay a sewage tax yet my home is not connected to a sewer system. I pay a solid waste tax yet my garbage does not get collected for weeks. I now pay a health levy yet the hypertension medication I used to get is no longer on the list of subsidized drugs. I pay more “road tax” yet the roads are just as bad as before if not worse. I am beginning to think that I have been conned.”

@ PngPing

I think you need to hurry up and help David find his elusive “Hope”. Once you get there and the coast is clear send us the word, we all moving up there wherever it maybe. I just hope David not to picky or choosy about who he has for neighbours. Btw i bringing my two noisy(bark the whole nite) retrievers (salmon tot pedigree) wid me. lol

To all a Merry Christmas.

25. @sirFuzzy

Let us frame it by asking this question on Christmas Eve- do you agree the country was managed by a set of incompetents up to about six months ago? Is the expectation all would have been fixed by now?

26. q do you agree the country was managed by a set of incompetents up to about six months ago?

a YES

Q Is the expectation all would have been fixed by now?
    A THE NEW GUVMENT SAY IT WOULD BE…..AND PEOPLE BELIEVED IT

BUT THE WHEELS ARE COMING OFF

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Ping pong is complaining that he is paying more for an “efficient wastage management system, and is getting a less efficient one. This is the complaint of most citizens.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Is this a racial issue or what? What’s wrong with black Bajans and their public hygiene habits?

Imagine black people have been cleaning the white people’s latrines and yards for hundreds of years but when it comes to their own surroundings or the national domain (aka the fields and hills now their very own) they can’t even rub two sanitary cents together.

It’s time white people take back control of those same fields now overrun with bush and monkeys so that blacks could return to being good servants with two or three talents instead of the one given to them by their god-like ‘white’ master(s)

28. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

David December 24, 2018 8:42 PM

@sirFuzzy

Let us frame it by asking this question on Christmas Eve- do you agree the country was managed by a set of incompetents up to about six months ago? Is the expectation all would have been fixed by now?

I am just asking Ping Pong to help you find your elusive ‘Hope”. The answers to your questions are Yes and Yes.

Min Prescod and SSA trucks. Some thing there does not make any logical sense, may i suggest it smells fishy and any other bad odour you may want to associate with it. There is no way a trip to Europe to help solve a national health and hygiene issue can be or should have been sidelined/hijacked because a single bajan showed up on site that happen to represent a dealership. Thus no trucks equals no ease as of this writing..

So let me stretch this current scenario a bit into the future. if we send a few good men to seek much needed medical supplies for QEH and a local medical rep showed up at the same location does that mean we no longer purchase the supplies etc. ppl would suffer at the QEH for lack of supplies?

If the scenario was to do with purchasing TB buses will we scrap purchasing much needed buses because a local dealership rep showed up on site? So national productivity will suffer as commuters cannot travel to work etc?

GO FIGURE.

We were told a story or a fact u pick what what u want to believe.

The MAM administration made a decision. They are now more to blame for the current SSA situation than the prior/previor FJS administration imo becuae they were given the opportunity to run with the football all the way to the touchline but they DECIDED to drop/fumble the ball many yards away from the touchline. Today we have the smelly unhygienic filthy repercussions of such actions.

just my thoughts on XMAS eve.

29. Agree there is fog around the issue of the garbage truck.

Even pro BLP BU commenters agree.

30. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@david.

I ask a few months ago what is my recourse if the SSA or its agent doesnot pick up my garbage after i have paid/made my monthly
    contribution?

Since there has been not easing of other taxes that would have usually paid the SSA i am of the opinion that is DOUBLE TAXATION for single or in some cases NO garbage collection.

My garbage goes out on the collection night in the hope that it will be collected. Currently it is merely piling up and the rodents maybe thinking that their is a God after all this Xmas as the food sampling maybe be getting juicer and larger than before.

May i ask back or for a refund for my contribution? I have many stamped receipts as proof of payment/contribution.

31. Well we were promised that our garbage would be picked uo on Tuesday 18th December. It hasn’t been picked up yet. This is the first Christmas in 30 years that the garbage in my community hasn’t been picked up.

32. Lawson

I told you earlier that a gun provides a false sense of security … just check the statistics on the gun in the home which is use to protect family against burglar, but it is often used against family member rather than the burglar …

33. @sirFuzzy

The challenge exposed by this SSA issue is the lack of engagement by the citizenry. We will probably have to wait until five years have passed as per usual.

34. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

“lack of engagement’?

i am not sure that is the correct word choice/salad to use.

if i pay my contribution monthly am i not engaged. The money doesn’t get into the hands of the SSA by mere wishful thinking. It requires that me John Public make a wilful effort to visit a payment location and then relieve myself of the said amount being asked for by BWA. Thats plenty of engagement. We need the SERVICE PROVIDER to get off his/her broad ass and fulfil the other side of the service agreement.

I noticed that the BWA Chairwoman was quick to remind defaulters that the BWA have to pass this money onto the SSA and they will have to resolve some of these issues by “turning off” water supply. Ok if i dont pay; BWA gine turn off my water. So i scared i gone and pay and faithfully paying, but the recipient(SSA)of the money not doing his/her part of the payment for services contract.

I am not hearing any legal advocates talking about what the SSA needs to provide the end users that are paying faithfully every month and getting bad/no service in return.

We need service level agreement with the SSA once you have paid the contribution through the BWA

35. You have to pay taxes or suffer the consequences. Engagement in the democracy by the citizenry is fueled by awareness of civics. The degree to which citizens are engaged determines the quality of society.

36. wunna gwine got to get A GO FUND ME PAGE!

THE WHEELS RUNNING OFF

37. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

I heard what u are saying. engagement/civics is always welcomed; but this does not rise to the level in my opinion.

But likewise i am sure that when u pay the BL&P for their service you also expect that in be provided.

We are now paying the SSA thru the BWA for a service; they need to provide it. The SSA can no longer hide behind central govt financing. its financing revenue is thru a direct payment regime/conduit. thus it should provide the service it is being paid by the end users to perform. I am not legal expert but we do have some here i am sure, but simple contract law i presume.

38. It is now 5:05 a.m. Christmas and my garbage still has not been picked up. I have spent al of my Christmases since 1989 at this same location, and this is the first Chritsmas that my garbage has not been picked up.

No. I do not owe the SSA a single cent. I have never owed then any money. I have always paid every month.

And I have always goven the men who work the trucks a cash present at Christmas.

What is going on?

39. Merry Christmas to all BU readers and posters.

Well thanks to the men (haven’t seen the lady who used to work on the SSA truck servicing my area for awhile) the piles of garbage on my street were picked up after 10 pm last night. Gave the men a small token of my appreciation and wished them Season’s Greetings. The SSA men told me there are only 15 working trucks to service the entire island. Are these enough trucks? I am sure I heard Ms Mottley of a “promise made a promise kept” fame say that as a matter of urgency that trucks for the SSA will be purchased. Well I am holding my breath but only because of the smell of the piles of garbage.

40. @Ping Pong

The official word is that 35 trucks are required to effectively service the island.

41. David 11:01

Do you really think that social arithmetic still works, has meaning.

Seems to us as best located within a bygone era!

42. Ping Pong

Once again you are right.Only 2 weeks ago when she spoke in the house Mottley was rattling off the promises made and the promises kept – and was boasting that we are once again punching above our weight.

Yet no mention was made of the lies that were told to the people by way of promises that were made and promises that were not kept like for example that;

1) In 3 months time 30 new Buses were going to be here – that is until Chairman of the Transport Board Gregory Nicchols decided I not playing that shit with you – so he openly told the barbadian public that we cannot get buses before another year – to a year and a half because the suppliers don’t have buses to suit the specifications for Barbados – put down on a shelf;

2) Mottley also said that in quick order – that is 3 months time – 30 new Sanitation Trucks were coming – then when it was clear that because she went and default on Barbados loan payments – Creditors don’t want to trust Barbados anymore – so she had to wait to gather up money to pay for these trucks – she then told some ‘cock and bull’ story about a ‘mysterious employee from a car dealership turning at every meeting – uninvited.

What she didn’t tell Bajans is – that once the Sanitation Authority has sourced trucks – which are imported by the particular dealer – then they send up an employee to deal with the issue of sourcing parts for the vehicle etc

3) She told the public servants – it breaks my heart to see you all dismissed -but fret not thyself – you will be leaving work with your severance pay in your hand – another promise made – and another promise not kept;

4)She told the electorate that if she was elected ‘within one week she will start to implement a number of plans to alleviate the sewage crisis.

She also told Food establishments that she will temporarily shut them down and pay their workers and;

She would also pay the hotels and other businesses that were negatively affected by the sewage crisis

YUH HEAR LIE – THAT IS LIE – TEACHER PERCY SAY IF YUH TELL A LIE YUH GOING TO HELL AS SOON AS YUH DIE………..

I wonder how she going to blame the Dems for these lies she told /

Ah well – all she has to do is go back to talking about how the Dems so corrupt – and how she find this contract that seem suspicious – and how her government will ‘lock them up ‘ – yeah right – yawn.

43. RE The official word is that 35 trucks are required to effectively service the island.
    WILL THAT COVER
    COLLECTION
    TRANSPORT
    DISPOSAL
    WILL THERE BE COMPREHENSIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT WHEN EVER–IF EVER WE GET THE 35 TRUCKS?

44. T Inniss,

Have a Happy Xmas.
    Mottley is a lawyer, once she is briefed she goes in to court and speaks with the confidence of an eye witness. She is also a QC and in their billing they have something called a ‘refresher’ – ie a charge for re-familiarising themselves with the case. In the UK that fee is £3000 a day. I am not sure what it is in Barbados.
    @T.Inniss, See Matthew Chapter 13 – No prophet is accepted in his own land. (See also |Mark 6) It will end in tears. Just think of those poor people sacked by an unforgiving government. What kind of Xmas they have had; how about their bills? In the meantime, big fat cats are employed as so-called economic advisers
    May 2019 be better for you and the nation.

45. Hal

Blessings to you and your family for the season and the new year.

2019 will be interesting.

46. Merry Xmas to Hal Austin

Merry Xmas to T.inniss
    Man you bowling like a fresh bowler near the end of a test match. Such pace, such accuracy… You got me feeling sympathy for two of the batsmen

You and Mariposa gun kill somebody.

Man you mek me change muh tune… Because it is Xmas, ease upon de pressure. Let the two guys enjoy their Xmas meal

47. @Theo,

A very Happy Xmas and a most Prosperous New Year. May all your wishes come true.

48. Theo

The best of the season to you and yours sir.

God help us all in Barbados.

49. Now all are beginning on 25th dec in the year of our Lord to realize that all the whispers of change for the better emittting from the breath of Mottley mouth was nothing more than stinking garbage which caused a fog of unreality and blinded the vision of the people of barbados
    There is no bigger liar than one who can stand boldly and proclaim they have the answers to barbados economic problems that took more than fifty years to full fruition
    Mia is who i speak of.
    Her grand illusion of illustrious platitudes of promises in a time of barbados economic woes knowing full well that the burden to recovery ( if it should ever happen) would be place on the most vulnerable
    In the meanwhile her advisers and associates clap hands while singing Hark the herald angels Sing
    Thanks Mia for Nothing on this Xmas Day

50. Today Nations on line has up a story ‘Tis the season for Garbage’ – and that says it all – that finally even the Nation newspaper – the mouth piece of the BLP – had to acknowledge the danger of the public’s health as Garbage pile up for up to 3 and even 4 weeks before being cleaned.

Somebody need to rewind back to Mia Mottley and all the current MPs as well as the yard fowl on radio,newspapers comments section and on all the social media sites creating havoc and seeking to incite bajans about the lack of regular Garbage collection then – and that was every 2 weeks – sometimes 3 weeks yeah – now looka wat going on here in Bim under Mia.

Who ever heard under the last DLP administration of Garbage not being collected over the Christmas Holiday ? Well,well,well !

The people for sure have been crying out but have you seen the same outrage reflected on VOB, the Nation,Barbados Underground, etc

Hmmm – who de dog like he does lick and who he don’t like ……………