Around this time of the year it is difficult not to spare a few thoughts for all those involved in tourism, directly or otherwise, who sacrifice their quality precious time with family to take care of our visitors over the Christmas period. Of course they are not alone with other sectors including the essential services assuming the same responsibility. As someone, through work commitments, who has only celebrated a personal Christmas four times during the past 40 years, my thanks and admiration to you all for your dedication.

There have been many predictions and projections made recently about an anticipated increase in long stay visitors in 2015 when compared with this year. A figure of a 6 per cent rise has been quoted, but I would caution all tourism partners against any complacency they may be lured into. With hopefully Sandals Casuarina re-opening on schedule at the end of January and maintaining an optimistic 90 per cent occupancy level before any rooms are added, this would attract around 24,000 visitors, based on two persons sharing and an average 7 night stay before year end.

According to CTO (Caribbean Tourism Organisation) statistics, Barbados recorded a total of 508,520 stay over visitors in 2013, which was a 5.2 per cent decline when compared with the 2012 figures. Therefore factoring in the potential Sandals and an overall 6 per cent rise would only produce a net gain of 6,500 visitors spread across every other accommodation provider.

Perhaps a more realistic objective would be a target of 10 per cent. There is no doubt that a brand new Sandals built with the concessions granted that many hoteliers are still dreaming about will drive new business. But is it a two edge sword? The question still remains as to exactly what proportion of their earnings in fact find its way to Barbados at all. And while the brand will inevitably attract some European business, will it be at the cost of reducing visitor average stay with an increase in North American business.

Hopefully the ultimate result will produce a tangible national benefit for more than a single hotel operator.

Sir Richard Branson’s decision to enter the cruise ship market is a fascinating one, especially at a time when this segment has been witnessing almost unprecedented levels of discounting and massive over capacity in the Caribbean. There is, no doubt Virgin’s principal strength is its brand and I am sure they will introduce many innovative new concepts and possibly capture a niche that currently isn’t being fully exploited.

Clearly in-house airlines Virgin Atlantic, Virgin America together with the Delta partnership will give any ship operator a distinctive advantage and I see a whole range of opportunities for exciting new cruise and stay programmes. As an example – fly from London to Miami, cruise the Caribbean for 7 days, a week’s hotel stay and fly back to the UK from Barbados. Or thinking one step further, what a coup if one of new Virgin ships was home-ported in Bridgetown!

The current dominant leader Carnival Group does not have that flexibility, at least for the time being.

May I wish all readers a very Happy Christmas or holiday season.

84 responses to “High Expectations for Tourism”

1. @ Clone December 23, 2014 at 4:46 PM #

“There are economists in the Ministry of Finance, in the Central Bank and the wider civil service who are advising Government. Are you saying all of these people are foolish and dotish.”

My friend, the economists at the IMF, Standard & Poors, and Moody’s Investment Services have continually demonstrated by their reports, the “economists in Ministry of Finance, in the Central Bank and the wider civil service who are advising Government” are “foolish and dotish.”

2. @Clone “You and your party sympathizers get on this blog and speak about the massive suffering in Barbados without bring any evidence to support it.”

FYI,

There’s no suffering by the investors in Clico!

There’s no suffering from gasoline prices (Can you purchase gas here for .51 US/$1.02 BBD per liter)

There’s no suffering from food costs (Can you purchase a whole chicken for $4.75 US/$9.50 BBD) Even buying local.

There’s no suffering from the wear, and tear on vehicles due to road conditions, even though there’s a road tax for it, which some ministers I’m told owe.

There’s no suffering from the mounds of garbage rotting on the streets.(Air pollution, rodents, etc) and service going from twice a week to once a month in some cases.

There’s no suffering from an additional solid waste tax.

There’s no suffering from increased electricity costs.

There’s no suffering from increase water bills.
    ………A recent report of a parish without water for a month(correct me if I’m wrong).
    ……..A recent report of a Townhouse developement where there has been no assessment, or collection of water bills for over two years.

You must be living in another country or something!

3. @Clone

As a caveat to my previous post. I quote Shed Manager Vincent Jones of the Port “And statistics have shown this year that while people would probably bring in one package, we are seeing two and three now per person.

“I believe that is a reflection of the hard economic times and families overseas decide that instead of sending one package let us send more,” he said.

4. Racehrse
    I really do not like the trivia back and forth. You simply do not know what is suffering in a bajan context. If you can afford a car and run it on pothole roads that mashing up your shots you are not suffering.

Read todays nation there were no carts at Cost you less or Pricemart which maybe middle class persons shopping but I am a Popular supermarket person and the lines does be long in Popular every weekend for the entire year. In today’s Nation a letter writer is concern that Bajans are deeply into materalism, Recession or no recession. You get the point.

The roads were bumper to bumper leading to every shopping center in Barbados over the past week so the people are intent on having a good Christmas WHILE YOU GRINCHES GET ON BU AND WHINE ALL DAY AND NIGHT.

Artaxerxes
    I see myself as a functional literate citizen of Barbados so because you can call all the economist working in government and Central Bank foolish and dotish I will not respond to anything you post again because I have no time for pompous arrogant people like you.

5. @Clone

Your last comment is what can be described as a generalization. Do you know in Haiti the shops are well patronized as well?

6. David
    There is no problem with local currency.It is said that savings are up in the Banking sector and Credit Unions. There is no comparison between Barbados and Haiti.

7. @Clone

Saving up can be tagged to many reasons, at the top of list, less consumer spending which has been confirmed by the retail sector and a lack of confidence at the state of affairs in the country.

8. Can agree with your points but if you have savings when you are ready to spend like an occasion like Christmas then you can which is what is happening now.

Wishing all a Merry Christmas and a Healthy 2015

9. Correct and this is what being higher than many countries in the region on the Human Development Index does for us, we have the capacity to absorb a hit. This is what the last 5 years have been about and should not be confused with the country doing well.

10. @ Clone December 24, 2014 at 12:47 PM #

“I see myself as a functional literate citizen of Barbados so because you can call all the economist working in government and Central Bank foolish and dotish I will not respond to anything you post again because I have no time for pompous arrogant people like you.”

I see you also lack comprehension skills as well. Nowhere in my contribution have I called “all the economist working in government and Central Bank foolish and dotish.”

So what if you don’t respond to anything I post..… who cares, I certainly won’t lose any sleep.

You have “no time for pompous arrogant people like” me because you came to the realization that your inadequacies have been exposed by someone who has demonstrated the ability to think above your level of intellect. So, please accept my apologies for intimidating you.

Consequently, the real reason “you will not respond to anything I post again” is because I’ve continued to exposed your contributions for the shiite they really are. You come to BU with a lot of generalized emotive statements based on what you believe to be true and not on facts. You also state percentages and figures, as FACT, without quoting from or referring to any official survey to substantiate your points.

If know the “grinches get on BU and whine all day and night”, perhaps it would be best if you stop visiting this blog and read the DLP web-site instead.

Merry Christmas.

11. @Clone

I do understand what’s happening in Barbados firsthand, and have stood in Popular Supermarket lines at Spooners Hill for hours, so your not telling me anything new. Whether you like my Trivia back, and forth (whatever that means) is not my concern. Barbadians are going to find a way to celebrate, whether its Crop Over, or Christmas whatever it takes to maintain their spirits in the islands gloomy economy.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone December 24, 2014 at 1:09 PM
    “There is no problem with local currency.”

Of course, Clone, there is absolutely no problem with the local currency. How can there ever be a problem with monopoly money easily exchangeable in the international money markets?
    Neither is there a problem with the foreign reserves according to the Guv of the CB (if we were that stupid as to believe a man who still can’t yet account for the missing $300 million).
    So what’s Barbados’s problem?
    Why all the fiscal adjustment measures? Why all the downgrades and loss of investor confidence?
    What do you expect when a government is allowed to print money (local currency) without a corresponding output in earning capacity (aka foreign exchange earnings not borrowings). What do you expect when the DLP government increased the national debt by almost 100% since 2008 without its being able to manage effectively the fiscal deficit on current account?
    Yes Clone, just like ac & Co, see the people as jackasses that can’t think for themselves by saying the national debt increased to $10 billion in less than 7 years because the present DLP administration had to borrow money to pay the debts incurred by the previous Arthur administration. Yes Clone, invent another form of arithmetic which says: $5 billion from $5 billion equals $10 billion in debt.

Of course you would argue that it is not a case of people (especially investors) not having confidence in the present lying DLP administration with its monkey handling gun chief, but it is a mere situation where the credit rating agencies and the IMF just do not like the DLP administration and poor Barbados; with those foreigners envious of the country’s high standard of living aka HDI (which has dropped in real terms compared to 1992). What’s more, if the citizens show discomfort or opposition to the present administration they are just whingeing pompous BLP yard-fowls, no more, no less, pure and simple; and worthy of their heads being cracked and shot if necessary.

Even Dr. Estwick, in your eyes, is a bloody jackass and madman for kicking against the DLP prick. It would be interesting if you guys would continue to grossly disrespect the goodly doctor with his UAE debt restructuring plan and opt for the ill-advised loan shark recolonisation by financial privaterring plan.

But I will end like Artaxerxes@ December 24, 2014 at 1:59 PM:
    “If know the “grinches get on BU and whine all day and night”, perhaps it would be best if you stop visiting this blog and read the DLP web-site instead.
    Merry Christmas”.

13. “You simply do not know what is suffering in a bajan context.”

I aint so sure the author of this sentence knows the meaning of the word CONTEXT because he/she is contradicting his/her opening argument– Barbados is better off than other Caribbean states therefore there was no suffering. To contextualise suffering, would be to examine conditions in Barbados pre-2008 and now.

Anyhoooo, Merry Christmas.

14. Happy Xmas Barbados! Avatar
    Happy Xmas Barbados!

Chris Sincklair’s riposte to Owen Arthur and clown economists Jeremy Stephens and Ryan Straughan is bang on target. The welcome offers from the two Brit billionaires have to be considered carefully not summarily dismissed as the jokey economists are suggesting. Matter of fact my grandmother who went to Brumley makes more sense when she talks economics than Straughan or Stephens and she only talks economics when speaking of grocery shopping. At least Owen Arthur has proved himself as a PM and economist.

Sincklair points out that people should take note of the optimistic picture the Brits have of Barbados. They refer to Barbados as the Rolls Royce of the Caribbean. Compare that hopeful energizing outlook to the picture painted by yard fowl David and the BLP toads. Seriously people its time to come together for the island’s sake. Granted we have political differences but when people go lobbying Moody’s and Poor’s to downgrade Barbados and telling tourists to go to other islands instead of this island that is gong too far. That’s treason.

We thank Mr. Stewart and Mr. Fordham for their commitment and obvious love for Barbados. The MOF must work with them and use their knowledge and infrastructure in the world of finance to help Barbados.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Happy Xmas Barbados! December 24, 2014 at 11:06 PM
    “Sincklair points out that people should take note of the optimistic picture the Brits have of Barbados. They refer to Barbados as the Rolls Royce of the Caribbean.”

It would be nice and, indeed, intellectually civil if you were to stick to just one moniker like most of us in the BU family; even if it means sticking to either “Waiting” or, for that matter, “Clone”. Be that as it may, your wont to mislead people should be challenged even in the season of goodwill.

If the British investors are so optimistic why were the previous so-called Road Shows put on by the MoF and the Guv of CB to sell the same Bajan bonds fail miserably?
    If there is so much confidence in the current administration how come the following projects are failing to attract ‘genuine’ investors and buyers to the Rolls Royce of the Caribbean:
    Four Seasons.
    Pierhead marina.
    Sugar Point Cruise Ship terminal.
    Sugar Cane Industry Revitalization project.
    WTE.
    Merricks Development.
    Foul Bay Development.
    Along with the numerous project earmarked to kick-start the Bajan economy as announced by the same Sinckliar ad nauseam , ad infinitum.

We are sure the investors knocking at his door from sunrise to sunset will be keen to put their money where their mouths are as long as similar concessions to Sandals are granted and which, btw, are supported as long as FDI is involved in any forex earning enterprise..

Maybe, just maybe, when the present administration stop the lying and the blame game and come clean with the people, as OSA suggested, then and only then would a ray of economic sunshine break the cloud of negativity and darkness that is causing the lack of confidence and mistrust in the people who have been put in charge of the affairs of Barbados, the previous Rolls Royce of the Caribbean now limping along with its numerous engine breakdowns aka downgrades.

16. @ millertheanunnaki December 25, 2014 at 8:52

According to the DLP operatives assigned to BU, the reason why those projects you listed have not already started, why Barbados lacks investor confidence and why the road shows were not successful, was because these so called investors and the international financial institutions and rating agencies, became discouraged after logging onto BU to read about us grinches whining all day and night, while criticizing this DLP administration.

Okay, “Sincklair points out that people should take note of the optimistic picture the Brits have of Barbados.” Perhaps Sinckler was also sending a message to those individuals who have accumulated vast amounts of wealth by earning millions of dollars from Barbadians tax payers through government contracts, or Barbadians themselves who have supported their businesses over the years.
    Why could these same individuals not formed a consortium to buy government bonds or do what these British investors are attempting to do?

Unpatriotic and treason are now the new convenient “buzz words” for the DLP yard-fowls. So I guess not committing treason means this administration paying almost $300,000 to prepare for the Earl and Countess of Essex visit for the queen’s silver jubilee in 2012, or patriotism means hosting a $300,000 football tournament in honour a former PM.

But those protesting former Beautify Barbados and NCC workers, who are still awaiting severance payments almost 9 months after being retrenched, can be defined as they being unpatriotic.

17. “Barbados is the Rolls Royce of the Caribbean.” Now if the Germans had said that…………………….
    ………………………………………………………………………………..

In 1998, Rolls-Royce and Bentley Motors was purchased from Vickers (its owner since 1980) by Volkswagen for £430 million, after bidding against BMW. BMW had recently started supplying components for the new range of cars, notably V8 engines for the Bentley Arnage and V12 engines for the Rolls-Royce Silver Seraph. The Rolls-Royce name was not included in VW’s purchase; it was instead licensed to BMW (for £40 million) by the Rolls-Royce aero engine company.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bentley#Vol

18. What is the National Patroleum Corp saying? They warned the West Coast entities which support the hospitality sector and therefore what? Yes the entities should have heeded the addax to be forewarned is to be forearmed BUT the entities paid for a service and should be made be subsidized.

On Thursday, 25 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

19. No gas for Hotels and restaurants to cook Christmas dinners on a TOURIST ISLAND.

Ridiculous.

20. What is happening to Barbados? No eggs. No gas . No chickens ,causing Chicken Barn to close down. And Mr Paul is forever assuring Barbadians that local suppliers have the capacity to supply Barbados with all such needs. I recall hearing either Mr Paul or that other DLP yardfowl on CBC morning show , Lovell, claiming that since the massive retrenchment of workers in the public sector, many many of these laid off workers ,have entered the egg and poultry business, and because of the expected glut on the market , we may see some of these nuevo chicken farmers selling their products at a reduced price. Well Christmas has come and gone and we have seen neither a glut in eggs nor a reduction in prices. In fact, the week before Christmas I bought a tray of eggs for $15.00 from a vendor on the highway, who usually charges this same price for some lovely big brown eggs, only this time I got what was like pigeon eggs, white, and clearly straight from the freezer.
    Obviously the statement made that many retrenched public workers were finding a living in chicken farming ,and other areas ,was just a piece of government propaganda,to appease some , and what better place to spout that off, than on CBC.

21. Hants December 28, 2014 at 10:32 AM #

No gas for Hotels and restaurants to cook Christmas dinners on a TOURIST ISLAND.

Ridiculous.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    I understand that COW is to start production of concrete Coal Pots, as this item has long ago been taken off the production list at Chalky Mount. There is no shortage of wood in Barbados, we have just as much as what the Portuguese would have seen in 1536, plus the many Christmas trees ,now or soon to be abandoned, which were imported from Canada

22. But why are we surprised that a government entity like the NPC has broken down.
    It is just following in the footsteps of Transport Board, QEH, Ambulance Service, Water Authority,Sanitation Service, and the Barbados Government itself.

23. the blp yardfowls up to the usual fear and despair theme. somethings never change
    when last a country ceased to function because of an egg shortage,, bunch a belly aching jAS

24. “…when last a country ceased to function because of an egg shortage…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Wait bozie ….. how has the mighty fallen…

So where we used to be punching above our weight and were the “Rolls Royce” of the region, we are now reduced to being grateful that the place not grinding to a stop…???

Shiite then AC, you seem to have pretty low expectations of your handlers…

BTW, a country may not cease to function because of an egg shortage, ….or even FOREX shortage,….but many have stalled because of an over-abundance of brass bowls in positions of authority…..people who would buy an abandoned hotel, pay to demolish it…. steupsss – YOU know the rest….. 🙂

25. Shortage of cooking gas on Christmas day.
    Shortage of Chickens.
    Shortage of eggs.

Hotels and restaurants lose money.

Chicken Barn lose money

Workers lose pay.

get it ac ?

26. @Bush Tea

Why do you always feel compelled to respond to idiotic arguments?

Do you recall when said person agreed with the BAS for flexing against the position taken by the BHTA as it related to an MOU to buy local?

Why don’t you scatter some scratch grain on the BU yard?

On Sunday, 28 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. @Hants

And yours is the bigger point. The systemic issue.

28. I wont bother with AC. Reading the British papers this morning everybody who is anybody is in Barbados for Christmas. I guess some hotels may have to start serving meal pap if the tourists dem get tired of the lox, cream cheese and bagels. However, I thought dem Brits dem luv dem eggs, bangers and beans for brekkie.

29. @ David
    Why do you always feel compelled to respond to idiotic arguments?
    lol
    wuh Boss, if you ain’t got horse yuh don’t gotta ride cow…?

….besides, Bushie was just trying to show AC how she was inadvertently bad talking her precious DLP by trivializing the egg thing…

Cuh dear, we going let her lose the last vestiges of any dignity she may be holding on to….? She may be retarded, but she is still we BU sister …ent-it??…. 🙂

30. @Bush Tea

What did Kenny Rogers advise?

You got to know when to hold…

When credibility is shot it is lights out.

On Sunday, 28 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. @ David

Did Kenny Rogers have a whacker?

What Kenny Rogers what….?!? 🙂
    LOL Ha ha ha

32. barbados is not the first country to be affected by egg shortage, this hue and chicken little cry about the egg shortage makes for good afternoon yardfowl poop entertainment,

33. Coming egg shortage will tax family budgets

(New American) If eggs are a staple in your family’s diet and you’d like to keep it that way, now would be a good time to get a few laying hens.

http://www.wnd.com/2014/12/coming-egg-shortage-will-tax-family-budgets/