The six month old Mottley government cannot be accused of NOT making decisions. In the relatively short time since winning the government several initiatives have been promised with few started. There are private sector projects coming online- a few that have been in the pipeline before the Mottley government took up residence in Government House.

The most recent announcement by the government issued amidst the noise of the Christmas season is the plan to litter the coastline between Hastings and Paradise Beach with about twelve hotels with four receiving upgrades. What piqued the interest of the blogmaster was that areas in St. Lucy, Christ Church and St. Phillip will be identified for tourism related projects. The blogmaster suspects deals have already been cut in smoke-filled back rooms and what is left is the PR piece.

The question Barbadians must ask- are we happy continuing to pump millions in the tourism model? The way business is done in this sector requires generous concessions to be offered AND analysts agree there is significant foreign exchange leakage associated with the segment. The blogmaster is not suggesting we should neglect a sector all admit that is paying the bills. What we want to see is a different kind of investment to grow a more resilient economy.

During the Arthur administration BU posted concerns about the extent the coastline was being carved up to serve tourism development. One expects flyovers will enter the discussion at some point. Our opposition then and still relevant is that Barbados will lose its shine as a SID if we continue to morph into a concrete jungle. We are already seeing unusual changes with our coastline to suggest decisions taken are not in harmony with the environment. We struggle with implementing a waste management and efficient water system. Is it conceivable that we should be looking to ease our hand from the tourism investment mouth?

Regional governments and by extension the citizenry have demonstrated in the last twenty years a lack of innovation and creativity in the problem solving business.

You requested to have this matter posted. Expecting you to lead the discussion!

466 responses to “Carving a Hotel Corridor”

1. David, you are quite right Sir David has an enviable operation at FourSquare, have a look at this……

https://www.forbes.com/sites/fredminnick/2018/12/13/best-sipping-rums-of-2018-the-ultimate-holiday-gift-guide/

2. Someone mentioned the moron parasite Commissiong – don’t you know ‘tis the season to be jolly, not one to induce sighs of despondency.

3. Just 10 short years ago D Thompson announced that his Gov’t would restrict commercial development on the East Coast of Barbados in an area from Pico Tenerife in the North to somewhere on the East Coast and the then consensus was that the people didn’t want the East Coast to go the route of the West Coast.

Now M Mottley is proposing the intensification of development on the South/West Coast in an effort to boost tourism. Presumably the sewage crisis will be over (we were promised that a temporary fix would be completed and wrapped up with a tiny bow under the tree by Xmas morning). All EIA will be finished, no residents would have to be relocated and the decaying infrastructure i.e. roads Etc. would be a thing of the past.

Our Gov’ts have been prone to the “grand gesture” the big announcements (usually in manifestos), then there is the usual debate which fizzles out until the next big announcement.

Call me a cynic but all I want for Chrismas is my two front teeth

4. David

In another thread you mentioned worker participation – a 25% ownership of the airport.

Don’t believe the hype.

A 25% ownership only represents the capture of workers’ interests by those who will control it. Remember your classes about the differences between these two – ownership and control. And yes, control is possible with even a smaller percentage ownership, but we are not minded that that is what has been proposed, not for the workers to control the airport.

For Mottley, its just political window-dressing.

Just another way to get foreign exchange. By selling a national institution with the name of Grantley Adams thereon. Adams cannot be resting comfortably.

Google is now proposing to buy Barbados, lot, stock and barrel – people too. They will want to change the country’s name to theirs and the national anthem will have to be supportive of their corporate objectives. Of course, the national debt will be assumed. Ah lie!

Keep watching this site. Just a matter of time now.

5. @Artax

To continue, we have had many discussions about the ‘product’. Of course there is a need refresh the plant but the product- what you refer to as things for people to do- is as important. That said attracting investment in the tourist sector is probably easier for those responsible for investment at a time it is required like yesterday.

6. I have long wondered why so many people continue to come to Barbados. Soon, I think they will stop coming. I am still undecided as to whether that is a good thing or a bad thing.

7. @enuff

To flesh out what you saying – the development being touted will be rolled out with the supporting infrastructure that is required? If we accept this approach how does it address diversification and aesthetics?

8. @Pacha

Agree it is a carrot in the context of what government is working to achieve. A weak trade union will take it. The ‘upside’ is that they can privatize and leave the workers in the cold. Take it or leave it!

We are in a bad place.

9. @ David
    We are in a bad place.
    You are a fast learner.

However the REAL BAD news is that our reverse gear is broken.
    Even if we managed to kill the corruption engine, now…
    the LAW of inertia will take us to the grass….

We passed the point of no return when Caswell did not BUP….

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    Please enlighten me… what does BUP mean in the context of what Caswell did not do?

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 10 :39 AM

Rum that is biochemically defined Barbadian; not legally defined. The sugar cane must be grown and processed in Barbados and the molasses manufactured into Barbados Rum. No fake Barbados rum.

So it appears I will not be imbibing,just in case David Bu comes with another Big Foot move. I stop watching Mia and I am keeping a steady eye on him and Piece of the Rock.

12. @Peter

Caswell was encouraged to start the Barbados Unity Party. Bush Tea drafted a 10 point plan to guide as a kickoff. It is posted somewhere on the main menu.

13. Don’t know about wunna fellows,
    But it was a GREAT ride for Bushie….
    sweet as shiite…
    …and it all made (and makes) great sense too.

Donna seems to think that her having endured some ‘hard times’ somehow compromises the QUALITY of person she now is…

ON THE CONTRARY…
    Diamonds can ONLY result from great heat and pressure.

Heat and pressure either destroys shiite carbon …or it can create a DIAMOND out of the same shiite carbon…

Anyone who concludes that ‘heat and pressure’ are bad things..
    …have no appreciation for the beauty of diamonds and gems…

The lessons of life are all around us …for everyone with eyes to see…

14. PLT

Agree, but building new experiences without the requisite quality or quantity of accommodation to compete is useless. Clustering also gives you the opportunity to establish new experiences too. St.Lawrence Gap once exemplify this and 2nd Street to some extent. The cruise tourist and the holiday seeker have varying interests/demands.

You would have to ask the government. I said it gives the Government the opportunity to address infrastructure in a comprehensive and, may I add, strategic manner. We have employed the old approach to infrastructure funding, which is through public finance/BOLT. A better way is through capturing funding via the development process. Aesthetics is subjective; but once a framework is put in place to manage the quality of architecture, materiality and the design (structures and landscape) so that it functions and aligns with the existing context, aesthetics can be addressed. Diversification also occurs intra-industry, something as simple as requiring a % of these new hotel rooms to be fully wheelchair accessible and include other aspects of inclusive design would “diversify” the Bajan product. Furthermore, I don’t believe that the government’s hotel plan is the sole economic activity planned or announced. In fact, isn’t Sagicor in today’s paper touting their retirement/medical tourism and Ross opening in January? Haven’t we heard about marijuana research and Fintech? The global travel industry continues to grow by the way. We need to find ways to get more or some of the booking money collected overseas and the profits onshore.

15. @ PLT
    A look at our situation clearly showed that underlying ALL of our issues has been a national lack of ethics and morality.
    Without these, there is NO HOPE for any community to succeed.

Among us brass bowls, Caswell has ALWAYS stood out as unique in his almost fanatical dedication to what was right – to the best of his knowledge.
    This has been no coincidence. He has been a clear BLESSING to Barbados – even with all his (many) faults…as even those who dislike him are forced to attest.

Had Caswell led a national movement for ethics and RIGHTEOUSNESS …and had Bajans supported him.. the transformation would have been BEYOND anything that wunna could imagine….
    The TRUTH is that practically ANY shiite hound can succeed at the albino-centric nonsense that we argue about here on BU daily… BUT commitment to RIGHTEOUSNESS (The key to long term success) is only available from one source… and Caswell is uniquely blessed with that commitment…

Furthermore, he would have been successful – since by the time the idiot called elections, EVEN Bajan brass bowls realised that drastic actions were needed – thus the 30-0 DLP thrashing…

All water under the bridge now…
    But Bushie enjoys saying ‘he told you so….’ …so trig wunna… 🙂

16. @ Enuff
    Which dream world do you live in?
    Wunna plan to build a string of hotels in order to house expected tourists who will be coming for projected new experiences that will be developed later…?

Shiite…and
    Will the squeaky voiced ‘professor’ also be responsible for arranging funding (at great benefit to himself) – like he did for Four Seasons?

You are such a personal disappointment to Bushie…..
    ..oh dear !!!!

17. What is this ‘albino-centric’ rubbish Bushie? Be specific.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff
    We HAVE accomodation. The ONLY push to build new accommodation is from those crooks selling concrete.

As Bush Tea points out, we should build new and upgrade old accommodation only AFTER we have invented new experiences that visitors want to pay for. To do so before is rank lunacy and pathetically bad business.

19. Someone seems to have gotten wind of the plan to carve a corridor. Recent development by Coppa next to the old eye hospital and the Carlisle Bay Centre.

#smokefilledbackroomdeal

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The development along Carlisle Bay like the Copacabana is the lowest hanging fruit to exploit the growth of cruise ship visitation; it’s not necessary to speculate about back room deals… it’s a no-brainer.
    #occam’srazor

21. @ 45govt
    “albino-centric rubbish” – is the predisposition to behave as if money and material possessions constitute the be-all and end-all of our lives and our society.

This predisposition leads us to
    – define success incorrectly…
    – set priorities that are diametrically inverted from reality
    – take short-cuts that undermine even the very achievement of the money and possessions that we covet
    – value others by the things that they possess
    and also leads to almost countless other examples of brass bowlery.

To be honest, it takes very little to be successful materially – commitment to high quality in almost ANY natural talent, persistence and a little community-centric support and we ALL could probably be rich as shiite…

The REAL challenge is how can we build a JUST, FAIR, equitable society …. and this is where the elusive ‘righteousness’ becomes the missing link….

BTW
    Don’t waste your time looking in any dictionary for alnino-centric rubbish ….(and SHIITE !!!! …DO NOT ASK GP….)
    Either check with Bushie … or Lexicon for these complex concepts

22. Are we now going to get a mature, objective BU analysis of the Mottley-led BLP government, warts and all, including BERT, or are we going to continue shouting?

23. I also believe we should modernize the tourism industry. To effectively market tourism, we must constantly improve the infrastructure to meet the levels of international standards, as well as adopting an integrated approach to management and marketing.

Building several hotels along the sea coast indicates we are concentrating specifically on beach tourism. We have to move away from the thought that tourists are only interested in swimming, snorkeling, diving, surfing, sailing, wind surfing, water scootering, parasailing, jet ski and motorboat rides. This has now become an antiquated method of developing the tourist product.

Yes, tourists still enjoy these beach activities, but what happens when outside is overcast and there are 2 to 3 days of rainfall? That’s why I believe we should also look at building resorts inland, such as the former Vila Nova in St. John, for example. These inland resorts could be packaged, marketed and priced appropriately to solicit tourists…… and also used for the hosting of group events such as weddings (offering accommodation packages allowing the bridal party and invited guests to spend a few days)…….. as well as for clubs, conventions and conferences.

Land could also be used for infrastructural development such as cultural museums, theatres, entertainment and shopping complexes, play grounds, recreational and amusement parks, as well as parking areas for coaches, buses and cars.

Tourist attractions such as these, or any type for that matter, would be of little importance if their locations are inaccessible by the normal means of transport. Before considering these types of developments, there would be a need to improve the transportation network, access roads and public transport service.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    The subject of this thread is the future development of the Barbados tourism industry. Are we going to get a mature, objective analysis of this subject from you or are going to continue shouting about “the Mottley-led BLP government, warts and all, including BERT.”

25. @PLT,
    Have you been drinking? The subject of the thread is the government’s proposed hotel corridor from Savanna to Paradise, announced by the prime minister yesterday. It was part of a speech on the government’s performance. @PLT you must lern to think before grabbing your computer.
    Her speech was not just about tourism, but government economic policy. Is it part of BERT or separate. Those are legitimate questions. That is why we need a proper analysis.

26. What is PREVENTING YOU from BEGINNING the discussion on the “mature, objective BU analysis of the Mottley-led BLP government, warts and all, including BERT?”

27. Nice answer Bushie, that I agree with wholeheartedly, and I particularly enjoyed the suggestion that anyone might ask the wordsmith Leximoron, BUT, what has ‘albino’ got to do with it, since you didn’t mention that?

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Hal Austin
    “The subject of the thread is the government’s proposed hotel corridor from Savanna to Paradise,” which is the centrepiece of their tourism development policy.

Please let us know your objective analysis of this “government’s proposed hotel corridor from Savanna to Paradise.”

29. @PLT,
    Was the statement part of government’s economic policy and a report on its performance after six months? If so, is it part of BERT? Or do you prefer to concentrate on the narrow tourism aspect?

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

Seems we are forgetting Barbados has a magnificent climate. It works 365 and 24×7, and it’s free, without questions of productivity.
    Barbados will never, be everything to all people. No place will be.
    Today a meaningful percentage of ‘sun tourism’ is provided by all inclusives, in places why for a myriad of reasons, people rarely venture “off compound”. They are cheaper, and appeal to those who cannot afford more. Barbados is a niche.
    Further why can’t there be multiple objectives at the same time?
    Does a focus on a newer accommodation enclave prevent a push on growing more, or creating new festivals/conferences, or legalizing MJ, or solar or anything else?
    Growth will come from the combination of a myriad of endeavours, not some magical one trick pony.
    And when the international economy moves, it will impact all of them.
    BY size alone, Barbados is a niche. So tiny slices of many pies seems plausible.
    If there is one thing which offers hope, for a citizenry who seems overly reliant and interested in politics and public employment, is this current group seems capable of juggling several competing priorities at the same time.

31. Let us continue the discussion and forget the noise.

32. WILL MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY INCLUDE THE GARRULOUS OPINIONS OF THE HIGHLY CRENTIALED BU COMMENTERS?

WILL MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY AND THE GARRULOUS OPINIONS OF THE HIGHLY CRENTIALED BU COMMENTERS SAVE BARBADOS?

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    I prefer to concentrate on what you said was the subject of this thread… “the government’s proposed hotel corridor from Savanna to Paradise.”

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserver
    A “focus on a newer accommodation enclave” will simply replicate the disaster that has been Paradise Beach, Harlequin Property, and others. The investment and effort will divert all attention to things that could be productive. It is a fatally flawed initiative.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

^divert all attention FROM things…

36. Six months in office, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government declares it has delivered on its promises, as it has delivered on its promises, as Prime Minister Mia Mottley delivers her own report card to Barbadians.
    Mottley today gave the country a laundry list of accomplishments in a ministerial statement. She boasted that foreign reserves had reached their highest level in four years, the dollar was no longer in danger of devaluation, debt to GDP ratio had fallen to 123 per cent and the country received its first credit rating upgrade in 15 years.
    And while Barbados was not yet completely out of the woods, Government had met most of its goals thus far, she said.
    “To say we have come a long and far way would be to make the understatement of the year,” the Prime Minister insisted as she addresed lawmakers in Parliament.
    “What we assured the people of Barbados six months ago, was that we would work assiduously and selflessly to turn the outlook and the fortunes of this country around. We promised that we would stop the decay and decline. That we would stop the haemorrhaging, and that we would return pride to, and confidence in, the Barbadian brand.
    “We promised six months ago, that we would bring Barbados back to where it belongs . . . in the region, in the world and in the psyche of Barbadians, living at home and abroad. I am proud to report this evening, using every yardstick and every other measure available to me, that this noble mission…has been accomplished. Barbados is punching once again above its weight division,” Mottley added.
    While she once again expressed her regret at having to retrench hundreds of workers as part of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transition Programme (BERT), she said several important targets had been met.
    “The plan has halted and reversed the six-year slide in our reserves, which have jumped from just $400 million to over $1 billion. Indeed today our Gross International Reserves stood at $1.044 billion – the first time since 2014,” Mottley noted.
    “Our dollar has been brought to safety…and in a few months we executed one of the largest exchanges of government debt as a percent of national income in world history. We will now save approximately $500 million of interest per year.
    “As a result of this and the economic adjustments we have made, the Government will not need to borrow domestically for the next four years, and our debt levels have been put on a downward sustainable path. It has already fallen from approximately 170 per cent of national income to 134 per cent. If we use the new GDP numbers, as we must now, our debt to GDP ratio is 123 per cent Our goal is to get it below 100 per cent in five years,” she said.
    Between April and November of this year Barbados’ gross tax revenues increased by $118 million compared with last year and expenditures fell by $322 million, leading to an improvement in the country’s fiscal position of $430 million, the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance told fellow MPs.
    BERT had also seen international credit rating agencies give their support with the first credit upgrade in over 15 years, she added.
    “As the first six months leave us, we have reached our milestone. The first bell can be rung. Barbados is back. This Christmas you can take a breather,” Mottley declared.
    “But being back is not enough. The journey continues. We are on track, but there is much further to go.
    “I cannot promise a rose garden in the next 12 months, but what I can say, is that I am confident that by December 18th 2019, fewer persons in this country will have reason to complain. Fewer persons would be without a job. Fewer persons will be living below the poverty line. Our infrastructure would have undergone a major overhaul and the standard of living of our people would continue to rise.” (Quote)

37. IT SEEMS THAT MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY BELIEVES THAT SHE CAN DO MIRACLES.

BUT

MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY IS NOT JESUS

SHE SEEMS TO HAVE DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR

38. PLT and BushTea

Context, context context–ego enhancement is one of the biggest characteristics of tourists to Barbados, especially the British. What attractions are we speaking of here, certainly not the Serengeti!! So the ones Artax raised like casinos etc make sense and can be incorporated into a clustered development approach.

David – Why such an extreme picture? lol

39. Question David what happen to the article you posted on govt performance 2018
    Cant find it
    I read several comments which were crticising govt performance soon after the entire article “thread” disappear
    Wonder who are pulling your strings

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff
    The context, context, context is that the mass market tourism for British proles is dying and will soon be just a memory, killed by the upcoming recession, Brexit relate xenophobia/racism, and climate change damage to our beaches.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea
    I assume that it has not escaped your notice that your definition of “albino-centric rubbish” as “the predisposition to behave as if money and material possessions constitute the be-all and end-all of our lives and our society…” is also a good working definition of capitalism.

42. Tourist are known to often display blatant disrespect for local cultural traditions……. as well as rude, inappropriate behaviour towards the local population.

As such, in my opinion, this nonsense about having a “Mother Sally” and “Green Monkey” performing for tourist at Pelican Village, should also be a thing of the past. It is a commercialisation of our cultural heritage, when performers are reduced to wearing “monkey suits” and dresses, with “big bubbies and big botcies,” to “flip ‘bout, skin cuffings and wuk up” to tuk band music……. for tourists in return for money.

“Question David what happen to the article you posted on govt performance 2018…..Cant find it….I read several comments which were crticising govt performance soon after the entire article “thread” disappear. Wonder who are pulling your strings”

Come off it….. you are being dishonest, disingenuous……. and all the words that would describe you similarly.

You dun know the article you alluded to was an old one and, as is usual with older articles that people post contributions to……..it would not appeared in the list of the current articles…….unless it attracted a significant amount of contributions.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I’m not sure that 45govt understood this before he agreed with you.

44. ********Come off it….. you are being dishonest, disingenuous……. and all the words that could be used to describe you similarly.

45. Isn’t there a link to the article at the top of the BU page?

46. @ 45govt
    BUT, what has ‘albino’ got to do with it, since you didn’t mention that?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    That is a long story … starts in the Bible with a fella who had a lotta money, but he also had leprosy (skin was all white…) and was miserable.
    He was sent to a prophet of God to seek cleansing. He took along a lotta money to pay -cause this was important to him…

To cut a long story short, the prophet sent him to get a dip in a river and told him to keep his dinero…
    But another greedy fella overheard the exchange and went after the rich man for the money…
    He got it too…

His punishment …?
    You guessed it…
    Skin turned white as shiite … albino style…

He and his family got to keep the money …and his descendents added lots more money over time…
    However they remained miserable as shiite….

47. @ PLT
    Capitalism is just the modern term used for the same thing… and
    45govt understands a lot more than many give him credit for…

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT
    You are entitled to your opinion.
    Since I haven’t seen a detailed proposal, I am unwilling to jump to the negative. Barbados has many more tourism related ongoing success than failures.
    Why must it replicate the two failures and not the several successes?
    Why should a few hotel projects completely railroad progressive projects in other sectors?
    You are assuming they will ‘suck up’ government funds, and that alternatives similarly need government funds?
    Maybe the funding sources will surprise you.

49. yea we can get some hard money lenders as the funding sources

50. @enuff

Sometimes it is good to holdextreme positions to ensure all issues are properly ventilated.