There is a concern by advocates of the rights of men that our legislators are not doing enough. The  130 page White Paper on the Child Protection and the Maintenance Act is an opportunity to defend the rights of men as it relates to Parental Alienation Syndrome. It is accepted that decisions handed down by Barbados Courts are are in the majority pro-woman. The ignorance and insensitivity of judicial officers presiding over family matters in the local court system has reached

To quote a male advocate,

…the white paper is revolutionary in its 130 page recommendations for it speaks to a minimum of 50% shared parenting for every parent once child in not in any danger. No longer will claimants go straight to court-  mediation and counselling will be required in all maintenance as well as access issues for the court is unnecessary clogged with these emotional issues…the Amendments in the white paper now speak to in kind maintenance as the extended family can help…Courts in Barbados perpetuate the notion that men are just a source of finance…

Read full text: UN Convention On Rights Of Child Whitepaper Barbados

121 responses to “Court System Not Protecting Men – UN Convention On Rights Of Child White Paper”

1. I agree with those who are now taking time to highlight the unfair treatment meted out to men confronted with domestic allegations in the Magistrates courts. In these coutrs, men are berated by Magistrates on mere allegations from the women without having to bring evidence to substantiate their charges. Men are cowered into silence by the obvious bias shown by Magistrates.
    I also believe that marriages are no longer considered to be important and the removal of the no fault clause in filing for divorce has removed the sanctity from the institition of marriage and contributed to the breakdown of family life in that partners are free to ignore their vows to the detriment of family with impunity knowing there is no penalty attached.

2. I agree with Charles if you split up you have to give the wedding gifts back.

3. Lawson

That is petty and cheap … let the woman keep the gift …

Charles Skeete

So you are saying that men no longer have due process under law …? And that an allegation brought by a jilted lover cannot be countered with evidence…? Now doesn’t a Magistrate have to rule within the periphery of the law …

4. I was talking about the dowery, if you cant understand the queens english maybe you arent as much a lexicon as you think.

5. Charles Skeete, you don`t have a clue unless you have been there yourself. As the interim president of a new interim organization Fathers & Parents For Justice I hear all sorts of issues daily.

So many men just choose to walk away, attempt suicide or just cry like a baby in court. Some judicial officers maybe inadvertently using their absolute powers of authority to belittle many men in court from feedback I have received. We should never forget, that high school drop out today may become the paramedic or even nurse who may one day be that person to make a difference in if you live or die.

Who would imagine a man with a swollen diabetic feet as big as a grapefruit on welfare who is medically unfit would be held in contempt of an order and sent to jail.

Who would believe a crippled man in a wheel chair would be put in court for maintenance.

Who would believe a man not gainfully employed who the social enquiry report confirms is unemployed is held in contempt of an order and spent 42 days in prison. Before committal an individual offered to pay 50% of the $2000 arrears and the Court Marshall refused saying he want all. No in kind contributions are ever considered as maintenance.

Many mothers put men in court and court never seeks to ascertain who the child really lives with as women word is taken as gospel.
    Imagine taking your child`s xmas gift with the help of the RBPF only for the Judicial Officer on hearing that to say to you that you are sick.. Yet everyday malicious orders are taken out against men as protection orders and no trespass orders have been weaponized as a tool to keep men from their children.

Another weapon the court have refused to look at along with the Child Care Board is the deliberate omission of fathers name from School/Kindergarten Registration Form. Thus,no participation in PTA meetings, no cheering on sports day. Courts seems to only focus on money for the mothers and not the emotional well being of children.

Malicious allegation of sexual abuse and domestic abuse is now a tool exploited by women suffering from Bitter Women Syndrome.
    I would never say that reports from men in these maintenance and access issues may be suggesting courts ignore perjury by women as men are always seen as guilty until proven innocent.

Never should any Judicial officer knowingly or unknowingly infer, utter or act in any way to diminish the good name of our court system as a pillar of our democracy. No I am not forgetting judicial Officers are from among us and humans.

We often speak to the Legal Profession but its really Legal Industry for Lawyers milk these issues via Legal Aid and fees from respondents.

Its an insult for courts and social services to speak about the childs best interest and ignore the emotional health of children. If these organizations really understood their roles in the protection of childs right, no child would be given 6 hours monthly or 3 days yearly with a good father nor would any parent be allowed to deprive any child of a minimum contact with caring responsible parents.

Let me say our politicians who are mostly lawyers and men are awful as well as an absolute waste. Our greatest supporters against this gynocentricism and Parental Alienation Syndrome are females. #DonaldTrumpSyndrome

6. Lawson

What does the law entails regarding dowry/dowery…? Once the marriage is final the gift belongs to the woman … and if such isn’t the case … then it has to be return to the man …

7. Charles Skeete, you don`t have a clue unless you have been there yourself. As the interim president of a new interim organization Fathers & Parents For Justice, I hear all sorts of issues daily.

So many men just choose to walk away, attempt suicide or just cry like a baby in court. Some judicial officers maybe inadvertently using their absolute powers of authority to belittle many men in court from the feedback I have received. We should never forget, that high school drop out today may become the paramedic or even nurse who may one day be that person to make a difference in if you live or die.

Who would imagine a man with swollen diabetic feet as big as a grapefruit on welfare who is medically unfit would be held in contempt of an order and sent to jail.

Who would believe a crippled man in a wheelchair would be put in court for maintenance.

Who would believe a man not gainfully employed who the social enquiry report confirms is unemployed is held in contempt of an order and spent 42 days in prison. Before committal, an individual offered to pay 50% of the $2000 arrears and the Court Marshall refused saying he wants all. No in-kind contributions are ever considered as maintenance.

Many mothers put men in court and court never seeks to ascertain who the child really lives with as women words are taken as gospel.

Imagine taking your child`s Xmas gift with the help of the RBPF only for the Judicial Officer on hearing that, to say to you that you are sick.. Yet everyday malicious orders are taken out against men. protection orders and No-Trespass orders have been weaponized as a tool to keep men from their children.

Another weapon, courts have refused to look at along with the Child Care Board is the deliberate omission of fathers name from School/Kindergarten Registration Form. Thus,no participation in PTA meetings, no cheering on sports day. Courts seem to only focus on money for the mothers and not the emotional well being of children.
    The malicious allegations of sexual abuse and domestic abuse is now a tool exploited by women suffering from Bitter Women Syndrome.

I would never say that reports from men in these maintenance and access issues may be suggesting courts ignore perjury by women as men are always seen as guilty until proven innocent. Never should any Judicial officer knowingly or unknowingly infer, utter or act in any way to diminish the good name of our court system as a pillar of our democracy. No, I am not forgetting judicial Officers are from among us and humans.
    We often speak to the Legal Profession but its really Legal Industry for Lawyers milk these issues via Legal Aid and fees from respondents.

Its an insult for courts and social services to speak about the childs best interest and ignore the emotional health of children. If these organizations really understood their roles in the protection of childs right, no child would be given 6 hours monthly or 3 days yearly with a good father nor would any parent be allowed to deprive any child of a minimum contact with caring responsible parents.

Let me say our politicians who are mostly lawyers and men are an absolute waste. Our greatest supporters against this gynocentricism and Parental Alienation Syndrome are females. #DonaldTrumpSyndrome

8. Bushie feels REAL sorry for all those men who were FORCED to marry shiite women…..
    and who suffer the obvious consequences afterwards…
    It is difficult to understand the complaints of the others.

If YOU made a BAD mistake….
    Pay the price – quietly..
    and NEVER repeat the error…

Some of the best lessons are learnt the hard way.

9. Best advice is for men to stay out of family court, if you cry you soft, if you vex you and abuser, if you quiet you are uncaring. You can’t win in court

Advise your sons, don’t hold down no woman
    who driving a Swift
    who is at every crop over fete,
    who wears imitation remy weave
    who works at a financial institution
    if her name ends in isha

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Bush Tea a bit harsh at 8:20 but bluntly on point also.

It’s always unfortunate when a marriage or once loving relationship breaks down and parents are squabbling so vehemently that interaction with your child becomes a war zone concern…but as you suggest in too many cases no parental union should have been made PERIOD at git go.

It’s impossible to put that genie of bad unions back into the womb to badly paraphrase…

These concerns as raised are based on a long and turbulent history as Mr Holder knows only too well and one which some despicable men cannot be proud about…but then again neither can duplicitous females.

This harsh backlash is not good and there seems no easy resolution in sight.

11. The issues are compounded by an incestuous legal industry. These issues are not a discriminator of class, profession or colour. We often as men make light of these issues other men experience. No reason to make light of these issue for Bitter Woman Syndrome can happen to any man young and old.

12. Bush Tea

“Sorry for those men who were forced to married shiite women”

Not always the case because as age advance and testosterone levels starts to rise and estrogen levels drops … the feminine woman you once knew assumes this new masculine disposition …then all Hell starts to break loose…

13. Bush Tea

I am not saying that all men do not understand women… but the problem with most of our menfolk … is the fact that we do not take the time to the understand the woman’s emotional needs or what she responds to emotionally… and more often than not this lands many of us menfolk in family court…

14. Lexicon, your response is just an academic response devoid of realism. I dont know how you can get persons to remain in toxic relationships or justify gynocentricism in our society due to men not understanding women emotional needs. A bundle of crap...however I respect your views as your views, as your based on lifes experiences as well as socialization.

15. @ Bush Tea who wrote ” If YOU made a BAD mistake pay the price – quietly.”

Very good advice. Been there done that.

I empathise with good fathers who are denied access to their children.

16. I have been in town long enough to realize that brilliant men give way to a wife who expresses a contrary opinion.They never seek to correct or put their point of view to the test.For this they are better able to sleep and ‘have their being’.
    There is nothing to beat a husband and wife living in harmony,seeing eye to eye and respecting each other to the extent that trust exists as a sine qua non of residence.
    In the Sermon on the Mount we are advised to love one another.If we did,man’s existence would be so much more meaningful and fulfilling.
    Today we learned that 4 young men who should have benefitted from State funded education can find nothing better or more fulfilling to do than to resort to robbery and killing as tools in trade.Shocking!

17. @Kammie

This is why it is important for people like yourself to share the experiences occurring in the courts.

18. Yuh know this isn’t for you when Dompey is giving marriage/relationship advice

In the meanwhile here is the theme song for men who have been “wronged”.

19. another day
    the usual drivel in the rum shop

SOLOMON SAYS THERE WILL ALWAYS BE INJUSTICE IN THE WORLD
    THIS IS JUST ONE FORM OF INJUSTICE

I ONCE HAD A COURT OFFICER TELL ME IN MY OFFICE THAT IF YOU HAVE A CASE IN COURT IN WHICH THE JAMAICAN WIFE OF THE PROFESSOR OF SURGERY WHERE JUDGE WATERMAN IS THE JUDGE YOU DONE LOST

I LIVED TO SEE THAT SHE WAS RIGHT
    I SAW WATERMAN BEND OVER BACKWARD TO DO WUH SHE SAY

SAME LAWYER GIVES SHE HUSBAND THE PROF SO MUCH HELL THAT HE HAD TO BUIILD A LITTLE ROOM IN HE BACKYARD

I HAVE SEEN MANY A MAN IN A CAGE AT GLENDAIRY SENTENCED FOR MURDER WHO COULD NOT WALK AWAY

IF YOU HAVE A TYRANT FOR A WOMAN WALK AWAY
    LET HER HAVE EVERYTHING IF NEEDED
    AND WATCH QUIETLY

ONE WOMAN WHO GAVE HER HUSBAND HELL IS NOW AN ALCOHOLIC
    HE LEFT SHE IN DE BIG HOUSE AND GONE WID DE MAID

I HAVE SEEN MANY YOUNG MEN WITH HYPERTENSION AS A RESULT OF TYRANICAL WOMEN

I KNOW OF ONE WOMAN WHO LEFT HER NICE QUIET HUBBY CAUSE HE WASNT MEKING ENOUGH MONEY AND SHE HAD A GOOD JOB

SHE MARRIED AGAIN TO A MAN WID A GOOD JOB WHO USED TO COME HOME EARLY PUN A MORNING BECAUSE OF WORK AND WOMEN

HE RUN SHE OUT THE HOUSE ONE MORNING WID A PANTY IN SHE HAND SAYING
    I IS A GOOD WOMAN
    BARE SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP
    THE WAY OF A MAN AND A MAIDEN

20. @David, we have attracted some donors thanks to some international partners. Thus, international Parental Alienation Syndrome expert Dr Ann Baker will be in Barbados in February to speak to the issue and do workshops. I will soon share it all for my 4 year experience is not something I imagined happens in Barbados. To say I am frustrated with the court system, lawyers and AG`s is to be polite. The whitepaper was around for over a year and Barbados is way behind in child protection.

As we speak I do not know where my daughter is going to school if she is at all going. The mother have refused to cooperate while the Judicial Officer has fallen for her victim persona antics.

Most men will ignorantly make light of these issues but its only a matter of time before it hits home with some family member. Imagine telling the court you wish a changed of your requested supervised access moved to a more suitable place because of decaying dead dog in the park. For the judicial officer on hearing the mother saying I am lying asking for me to bring proof despite next court date would have been 6 months in the future. Courts in Barbados ignore perjury by females.

Have affidavits close to my chest with pictorials when absolutely necessary for we live in a very small vindictive society. Unless we collectively expose this the Legal Industry will continue to milk and exploit the public at large.

21. Sergeant

You are confabulating with a man who has dated Black Bajan women; a half white Bajan woman; a Chinese Jamaican woman; a Trinidadian Chinese woman; an East Indian West Indian women; American: Black, White and Hispanic women; and plenty of Jamaican women of African descent as well as an …. African woman from Uganda…so I a have pretty good idea about the topic brother…

22. Where were these cries when Black men under the cloak of a White man’s male-dominated society were taking advantage of women, still in many ways, even today.

Afrikan peoples were always cultured in matriarchal societies. Real Black men must stop crying about the failings a White man’s system and find the power within to accept that this is the Aquarian Age and that no amount of crocodile tears can prevent the Great Mother from having Her will, be done.

These forces now unleashed cannot be constrained by useless pleadings to flesh and blood, the formation of more NGOs, marketing responses.

We ask the Great Mother to massively increase Her actions against those who would seek to counter Her will.

Men have have sown the wind – now reap the world-wind.

The age of woman and water has washed away the Piscean Age. Stop talking shiiiite about the fish and bow down to the Great Mother, in all Her representations. Let Her do Her divine work.

23. Sergeant

A lot of men have been wronged because they have been emotionally … no matter have much a woman tells you that she treasure her independence in the relationship with her man … deep down inside … she wants to be man to led by that man … and a lot men have failed in this department … because they have too easily given their power over to women … and woman is going to quickly lose respect for a man she has to lead … masculine energy (dominance)… feminine energy (submissiveness) complements each other…

24. Here we men are presented with an opportunity to start a movement to right the wrongs that are now perpetrated against us, what do we have, a few pooch sniffing billy goats going off topic writing and saying bull plucking shit. Don’t you fools realized the very same women we wasted our lives pampering are now engaged in a scorched earth tactic?

25. Sorry: I meant a lot of men have been emotionally weak…

However, a friend of mine in Barbados wife left him after 30 years of marriage … and when I asked him why … “he said to me he did not know … because if he and she had two arguments during the marriage they had a lot.

So I said to him your marriage was over for vary long time … because I know for a fact that women resolve their problem by talking about them …and if she wasn’t talking to you about her needs… then she was obviously talking to another man about them…

26. Bush Tea

Men have sit down and study their women to understand how they think or what they emotionally respond to … men have get out of the habit of not doing the things they have done to win the love of the woman in the beginning of the relationship … Yes some women are materialistic and opportunistic … but this does not account for most women…

27. Bush Tea

It is not your good looks… your big chest … your big bank account… nice car or big house that holds the love of a woman …because women have walked away from all of that stuff for less … it is the way how you make a woman feel when you talk and interact with her Bushie …

28. Bush Tea

There don’t teach this in school … so I am giving you this advice free of cost Bushie …

The problem with a lot of men today … is that we are to emotionally weak when it comes to a woman … we too easily give away our power to a woman and no woman is going to respect that … Even the Scripture implore us not give our strength on to a woman … and man who cusses and argues with a woman doesn’t really understand a woman …

29. Bush Tea

The two biggest misconceptions amongst men and women are: a woman thinks she can change a man … and man thinks that once he has a woman she isn’t going to leave him … the sad reality is he is the last to know … another thing about women we men must understand is this … women are premeditated in their actions: a woman just doesn’t get up and leave as a man would … a woman plan her departure all the while making the man think all is well … even if it takes her five years to make her move … the man is the last to know …study your woman …study your wife …

30. WE NOW HAVE MARK FENTY AKA DOMPEY AKA LEXICON AS THE ACCREDITED, CREDENTIALED MARRIAGE COUNSELOR

31. Marriages are made between two people

Divorces should not involve Courts and Lawyers only obsessed with financial matters

who don’t give a shit about the Children

It’s time to kill the Court scam and stop criminalising men because their wives can’t be loyal to their vows

the person who files for divorce should just leave with no claim on house and children (and maintenance)

32. When women start shaving their pussy it means they are grabbing dick outside

33. Isn’t this blog meant to discuss how we can become more effective advocates for the rights of men to safeguard th relationship with their children? Instead we turn it into a battle of the sexes? Please grow up!

34. RE how we can become more effective advocates for the rights of men to safeguard thE relationship with their children?
    ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE WHEN YOU SEE WHAT HAPPENS IN THE LOCAL COURTS

EVEN YOUR BUDDIES FROM VERY EARLY SCHOOL DAYS WHO ARE NOW TOP LAWYERS SEEMED TO HAVE GIVEN UP

THOSE WHO HAVE NOT WITNESSED IT FIRST HAND GET ON YOUR KNEES DAILY AND THANK GOD

35. David

It is not about the man or the woman per se … but the children is where the focus ought to be … and if the man is in a better position to supply the maintenance for the children … then he ought to do so … and likewise the woman.

But this has to be done by way of the court order or else how will you hold an irresponsible man or woman … accountability for the food, shelter and education of his or her children if not by court order?

Who cares about the emotional stonewalling between the two exs … dat isn’t important here … the food, shelter, education, safety and security of the children must be paramount …

36. Georgie Porgie

Doesn’t the court take into consideration the sum of money taken from that man’s salary for the maintenance of his children, and what he has to live on after such sum has been taken?

And isn’t the estate split down the middle…

And if the children reside with mother then the father supples the financial maintenance for the children and vice versa…

And if the man or the woman believes that the existing court order is unfair based on changing circumstances … he or she can file a motion to modify such order…

So how are men being mishandled by the court?

37. Georgie Porgie

Women also pay childsupport but only in instances where the children reside with father … but most often the court usually grant the woman full custody … and the man partial visitation rights…

38. @Lexicon, I do not think you listen to radio or read the newspapers for you would have heard the lament of men.

39. Kammie Holder

What is it that men are lamenting …?

That men pay too much in childsupport and the women do not?

That the courts continue to rule in the favour of the woman?

Mr. Holder… inform my understanding … because $200 a week cannot pay for food, shelter and education…

40. When I was contacted by a suicidal man and his girlfriend who happens to be the legal industry as a legal clerk I was shocked. Man went to court and magistrate told him he did not want to see any receipts which would have shown his house repairs loan for the ex and his net pay of $200.

Order was made for $260 as the unprofessional clerk told the inexperienced magistrate who said he had a funeral to go to that the man should be made to pay the $65 weekly requested by the woman.

Every week that man loan to the bank is short $60 while he does not get to see his child. Unfortunately, he is a cry baby and simpleton who would prefer to remain depressed than to expose nonsense with the courts.

Some things cannot be made up. Who would think a judicial officer in Barbados who grant protection orders daily would tell a father who got the assistance of the police to accompany him to deliver his Xmas gift, that he sick?

The stupidity and ignorance of some of the comments are not surprising for we are a selfish uncaring society. Only when it hits home do we care.

41. @Lexicon, may I invite you to read the attached document and acquaint yourself with the Maintenance Act, for it shows a general rule of thumb for shared expenses around a 50% split. However, it can b more or less depending earnings of individuals. If one parent is ordered to pay $125 weekly the assumption must be that the child needs a total of $1000 monthly for their maintenance. #MeanTesting should mean fairness as well as reasonable expenses and not Clarkes shoes or Remy.

Sir, you have sought to poke fun and trivialize the issues of men, no wonder Rosa Park had more balls than most men. I will not allow you or anyone else to derail or become a distraction from the cause at hand.

42. Kammie Holder

The man was stupid … had he been better informed he would have gone to childsupport enforcement, and pay the determine sum to them directly rather than to let a woman trick him into repairing the house etc … he had but only his stupid self to blame … no tears from me …because he ought have been better informed …

43. Kammie Holder

A man was pay $500 a week in childsupport for four children from a previous marriage … so he went to court and filed a modification of his childsupport … because he and his new wife had new born baby… and the judge told him no … that he knew he had the four children before he decided to have this one…

44. Child Support does not go to the Children it goes to the ex who spends it all on herself and neglects and shortchanges the children who remind her of their father(s).

It seems like the new David is a Woman, I guess pacha mummy

45. 555dubstreet

At least the man is paying his childsupport … so what the woman does with it is her concerned … she has that on her conscience … the main point is that the man is able to stay out of jail…

46. What men fail to understand is that judges do not want hear any excuses … when it comes to pay your childsupport… because children have be fed, clothed and housed…

47. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Is 555 dubstreet the Russ Meyer of Barbados Underground?

No comments – yet, from our female bloggers. Waru, Donna and Simple Simon where are you?

48. Here’s (some of) an excellent court schedule template sample

There should be a shared parenting plan as both parents have joint and equal parental responsibility for the child.

Both parents must acknowledge they will look after them jointly under a shared care arrangement, recognising the importance and commit themselves accordingly throughout the child’s childhood.

They should support the principle that the child shall spend time approximately equally in both homes, understanding need for agreeing times, dates as early in advance as possible, during school holidays.

Agree terms to collecting the children from school and keeping them for alternate weeks balanced between father and mother.

49. I was a boy of 10 when a judge in Barbados locked up a mounted police name sobers for childsupport … I never forgot that memory… because some of Sobers mounted buddies brought him in to District A lock up … where he worked … and to added insulted to injury … the Mounted Branch is located at District A Police Station … Sobers spend some time at Her Majesty’s prison in Station Hill…

50. 555dubstreet

It is going to happen if the father has been falsely arrested tried and convicted for domestic violence …there no way a judge is going to grant him partial visitation right…