If the reporting is factually correct, then all of us should warmly welcome the recent announcement by Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, stating that ‘the country’s tourism sector is about to become a level playing field when it comes to concessions granted for food and beverage importation’.
Adding ‘she had tasked Minister of Tourism, Kerrie Symmonds, to eradicate the bureaucratic unevenness faced by local hotels seeking clearance for the granting of concessions under the Tourism Development Act (Amended)’.
The second verbatim quotation raises a few concerns. Will this new policy only relate to hotels, or will it also apply to our stand-alone restaurants?
Our several dining options enjoy a good reputation and it would be a terrible shame to disadvantage them now.
The reason for requesting indisputable clarification will be critical to our post Brexit British market, especially with Easter falling late in April next year.Traditionally the bulk of overseas holidays are booked in the days immediately following Christmas, at least in the UK.
With the continued unpredictability surrounding the negative effects of Brexit, compounded by higher mortgage interest rates and a 30 year low value of Sterling against the US$. These factors will all play a huge part for those deciding which destination may offer the best value-for-money.
It also raises the question whether our policymakers and planners have put in place a contingency committee or group to carefully study and help mitigate any potential negative implications that may be caused by Brexit.
Are ‘we’ for instance looking at any possible reduction in airlift or the impact of the loss of EU261 which currently guarantees compensation for delayed flights operated by the current European Union member state airlines?
On a flight recently to Miami, it was particularly refreshing to witness at least two Government Ministers, including the Minister of Tourism and a Senator, seated in economy class.
And heartening later to read that it was a new Government mandate that Ministers, Permanent Secretaries and officers of a regulated grade would now fly economy on all flights of four hours or less and business class above a four hour duration. In actuality, this only covers direct nonstop flights to Florida and Panama. In hindsight it might have attracted far more credibility to have extended this to five hours, therefore including New York (area), Boston, Toronto, Montreal and Charlotte.
I also hope that this token move is taken a step further, by ensuring that all Government travel business including flights, accommodation and sustenance is paid for by designated credit or debit cards, which could earn those valuable frequent flyer miles or points ensuring further reductions in overall taxpayer spend and greater transparency of expenses.
Regular readers will know that I am a long standing and strong advocate of airline and hotel loyalty schemes and their associated benefits. As an example my recent connection flight from Barbados to Heathrow cost US$52.90 plus miles.
Just as our more innovative banks have devised credit cards that earn users additional cash back rewards, there is no reason why this preferred method of payment could not substantially bring down the overall net cost to Government.
Especially, when you factor in the increased number of Ministry portfolios, which will without doubt, create even more conceivably immoderate travel opportunities.
Adrian
Very good point you make about the tokenism of flying economy class for flights up to 4 hours ,since everyone knows those flights will cover places in the Caribbean (which are not as frequent as international travel) and as you say a direct flight to Miami.
HOWEVER IF MIA REALLY WANTED TO BE MEANINGFUL AND NOT DO THE USUAL PUBLIC RELATIONS – SHE WOULD HAVE INCLUDED AS YOU SAY 5 HOURS DURATION FLIGHTS WHICH WILL COVER MORE INTERNATIONAL AREAS – AND TELL US ABOUT HOW SHE INTENDS TO REDUCE COST IN THE HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS THEY BOOK AND THE PER DIEM THAT IS PAID.MORE IMPORTANTLY OVERSEAS TRIP FOR GOVERNMENT MINISTERS SHOULD BE SUSPENDED AT THIS TIME UNLESS THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL – OR THE TRIP IS FULLY PAID FOR BY THE HOST COUNTRY.
Mia – as usual – just playing games with the people.
DO THE RIGHT THING WOMAN – LIKE YOU ATTACKED THE LAST GOVERNMENT FOR – AND REDUCE YOUR HALF DAY MINISTERS TO 16.
SHAME ON YOU FOR HAVING BAJANS PAY MINISTERS SALARIES (AND CONSULTANTS) FOR THAT OVER – SIZED CABINET – WHILE POOR PEOPLE GOING HOME AND DON’T KNOW HOW TO PAY THEIR RENT,THEIR MORTGAGE – OR SEND SCHOOL THEIR CHILDREN.Steupes.
DAMN IGNORANCE GOING ON.
Anyone know what is the Hotel rate allowed for these Ministers & ‘officials’……. and their per diem????
why is 16 the magic number?
John 2
16 cabinet members would at least put it in the range of the last cabinet.
People are not stupid they have her own words of criticism against the last government – to use against her.
Caswell spoke to that 2013 address she made to the Chamber of Commerce lambasting Freundel for flying up and down and for keeping his large cabinet which was 16 or 17 – even while he was sending home the NCC workers.
Hypocrisy does not look good on Mia ‘watch muh’ Mottley.
Hypocrisy does not look good on Mia ‘watch muh’ Mottley
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Agree %110
Economy class is for ” vacationers ”
Business class is for business.
Ministers should be working while en route to their destination.
It is all optics.
We have to focus on the more substantial issues.
@TI et al
I really don’t understand what you are going on about. The size of Cabinet will be a perfect election topic if MAM does not deliver.
Wasn’t 16 basically the maximum the last administration could field? They had zero female elected members, so they found two female ministerial candidates, in McLean and Byer.
In times of internal turmoil, when leaders are nervous, the solution seems to be “give everyone a piece”. The D’s did it, now the B’s are doing it. It is about keeping the crew happy. It too shall pass.
“Ministers should be working while en route to their destination”
and what, you cannot ‘work’ in an economy seat?
Piggy backing on NO
If MM delivers with getting the economy turn around, growing at a decent rate and unemployment decreasing
Will she be justified that she needed all hands on deck?
Meaning ministers and advisors
I think economy seating for ministers is petty. Yes, they need to work on flights and they need the room to stretch and space for files and lap top computers. Their jobs done properly require 12 hour working days. So please stop sweating the small stuff.
@ NorthernObserver who wrote ” you cannot ‘work’ in an economy seat? ”
No I couldn’t.. 6 ft tall 240 lbs . lol
The DLP surrogates need to grow up!
Apart from not being able to work in an economy seat, there is the challenge of confidentiality. Would you want government documents exposed to all and sundry? I think not. Anyway, why are we sweating the small stuff while we should be concentrating on the larger goal?
I can appreciate the need for the displaced and dishonored Dems complaining at every turn. They have not been able to complain about anything for ten long years, so there must be quite a lot of bile that needs to be released. And even if they complained during that period in the wilderness for Barbados, would it have made any sense? Nobody was listening and certainly, nobody was talking to them or the nation, so go ahead and complain every day for the next fifteen years at which time the country would have regained its good name, there will be money in the bank, employment will be impeccable and the country can be turned over to them again for wreckage number three.
I ain’t no Minister or nobody and I hate economy class even if it is 4hr flight, uncomfortable as RH. #petty#thedlpiteshavenaffintuhtalkbout
I hear “economy” on these is pretty special
I hope anyone doesn’t get the idea that it is imperative that they attend a “conference” on one of the Emirates routes.
@Sargeant:
Economy on those planes is like business class on the others. When the steward seated me on my flight from Bangkok to Tokyo, I asked him if it was the correct seat. With a smile he told me yes and to enjoy my flight. Big seats, lots of leg room and storage you cant believe. My son flies around in business class only. Single, nothing to do with his earnings, figures he will inherit when I pass.
@ks November 5, 2018 7:46 AM “Anyone know what is the Hotel rate allowed for these Ministers & ‘officials’…and their per diem?”
Don’t know what the Barbados government pays but the U.S. government pays a maximum of $315 USD per day for Ottawa; $482 USD for London; $365 USD for New York City and $270 USD for Washing, D.C. and the rates are no secret as can be seen here: https://www.federalpay.org/perdiem/2018
And here: https://aoprals.state.gov/web920/per_diem.asp
If the Barbados government is not already making these rates public, I would strongly suggest that they do so. It is called accountability.
When government officials spend taxpayers money, the taxpayers should know how much money was spent, and what was purchased with THEIR money.
@bajans November 5, 2018 5:27 PM. “My son flies around in business class only. Single, nothing to do with his earnings, figures he will inherit when I pass.”
I trust that you are planning to trick him.
Lolll!!!
@Vincent Codrington November 5, 2018 2:38 PM “they need the room to stretch”
A Simple Response: get up and walk the aisles like anybody else, since in any event it is better to stretch standing and walking instead of sitting.
@Vincent Codrington November 5, 2018 2:38 PM “…and space for files and lap top computers.”
A Simple Response: My 9 year old second-hand laptop which I am using right now is 13 1/2 x 9 1/ x 1 inch thick. I am sure that Ministers and high level officials have more modern, much thinner, much smaller, much lighter laptops. And how big is a thumb drive? Smaller that my own thumb I am certain
@Vincent Codrington November 5, 2018 2:38 PM “Their jobs done properly require 12 hour working days.”
Oh please. Everybody works 12 to 14 hour days. I am certain that all Ministers have spouses, parents, and domestic helpers to help them on the home front. So haw hard is it to work 12 hours per day when you can come home to hot meals, a clean house, freshly washed and ironed clothes, and well behaved children who have finished their homework and have had their baths.
I raised two children, held down a full time job for 43 1/2 years, looked after 3 sick and dying elders, and never complained about having to work 14 hours days for decades at a time. When it was all done I looked in my NIS file and there is zero sick leave noted there.
I expect no less from Cabinet members and high level officials.
I don’t want the BU boys to kill me, but once I was having a conversation with the mummy of a P.S. and she assured me that she laundered his shirts as soon as he got home every evening, making sure to pay special attention to the collar, brushing the same with an old toothbrush.
He was only about 40 then.
Fellas like that should be made to work until midnight every night, including Sundays.
What hard work, what.
@Hants November 5, 2018 2:40 PM “No I couldn’t.. 6 ft tall ”
I might make an exception for those people over 6 feet tall, but I would refuse to make any exception for overweight people. I’d also make an exception for people older than 55.
Younger than 55, is relatively young as the BU people never tire of telling me.
I will make a statement where others may jump on me.
If you are leaving Barbados and it was not a last minute trip (unplanned) and you have to work on the plane, then you are not well prepared to do business.
the most you should be doing is scanning your notes.
Some US companies which have a lot more money than Barbados use some kind of stratification based on your position in the company and where you are going to.
I will investigate tomorrow.
Some good points being made here.
Theo Gazerts
I will await the information you researched.
@ks November 5, 2018 7:46 AM “Anyone know what is the Hotel rate allowed for these Ministers & ‘officials
U.S. Government rates, used for their officials Hotel only. Meals and incidental expenses are extra
Kingston, $210 USD per day
London, $299 USD per day
Miami, $140 USD per day
New York City, $291 USD per day
Ottawa, $204 USD per day
Port of Spain, $236 USD per day
Toronto, $223 USD per day
Washington, D.C, $93 USD per day
Can’t do 5 star hotels at these rates. I hope that our officials are understanding and appreciate tat we are in no position to give them 5 star treatment.
And NOPE. I am not being petty.
Some internet searching yielded the following:
UK: 650 MP’s – one for every 101,000 people – 22 cabinet ministers
Canada: 338 MP’s – one for every 108,000 people – 35 cabinet ministers
Kenya: 349 MP’s – one for every 142,401 people – 22 cabinet ministers
Uganda: 238 MP’s – one for every 180,084 people – 31 cabinet ministers
Belize: 31 MP’s – one for every 12,086 people – 15 cabinet ministers
Antigua: 19 MP’s – one for every 5,350 people – 13 cabinet ministers
Jamaica: 63 MP’s – one for every 45,870 people – 18 cabinet ministers
Trinidad & Tobago: 41 MP’s – one for every 33,390 people – 21 cabinet ministers
Grenada: 15 MP’s – one for every 7,188 people – 16 cabinet ministers
St. Vincent: 15 MP’s – one for every 7,325 people – 10 cabinet ministers
Barbados: 30 MP’s – one for every 9,520 people – 26 cabinet ministers
KS
Well done.
This information shows us that outside of Canada & Uganda – Mia Mottley has the biggest cabinet – and note this is comparing small developing countries like Barbados and St Vincent with very large Developed Countries like the United Kingdom (Scotland,Nr Ireland,Wales,England & the other small islands) as well as Canada.
Canada has the highest of 35 cabinet members – but pay attention to the fact that they have 338 (three hundred and thirty-eight) MPs.
BARBADOS IS ONLY 166 SQUARE MILES,HAS APPROX. 280 THOUSAND RESIDENTS, IS BARELY MAKING IT WITH A FEW TOURISM DOLLARS AND DECLINING OFF SHORE BUSINESS,AS WELL AS DECLINING REMITTANCES FROM THE FAMILY OVER AND AWAY ;
YET MIA MOTTLEY AT A TIME WHEN SHE SAYS SHE HAS TO CUT COST AND MAKE GOVERNMENT EFFICIENT – SHE MAKES 26 CABINET MINISTERS OUT OF 29 AVAILABLE MPs .
Think about that people.
Belize – more MPs (31) – less cabinet ministers (15)
Jamaica – more MPs (63) – less cabinet ministers than Barbados (18)
England,Wales,Scotland & Nr Ireland – more MPs (650) – less cabinet ministers than Barbados (22)
Trinidad & Tobago – more MPs than Barbados (41) – yet less cabinet ministers than Mia’s big,big cabinet – Tdad has (21)
Kenya – more MPs (349) – but less cabinet ministers than Barbados (22)
I am sure the picture is clear and no amount of spin or shyte talk about ‘many hands make light work’ will suffice.Most of those cabinet ministers have very,very little to do and are drawing down large salaries,entertainment allowance,travel allowance,per diem money when they travel overseas etc – FOR WHAT ? – JUST TO PROTECT MIA IN CASE THEY GET DISGRUNTLED AND ANGRY AND DECIDE TO THROW HER OUT.
SO WE THE TAXPAYERS OF BARBADOS MUST PAY FOR THAT – AT A TIME LIKE THIS WHEN THE ONLY BREADWINNER IN A HOUSE LOSING THEIR JOB AND THERE SEEMS TO BE NO PROSPECT FOR NEW WORK;
AND ESPECIALLY WHEN MIA HAD THE UNMITIGATED GALL TO CONDEMN THE LAST GOVERNMENT FOR HAVING TOO BIG A CABINET – WHEN ALL THEY HAD WAS 17 CABINET MINISTERS.
This is the path that dictators start on – yuh see that 30 -0 wunna give Mia – yuh will regret that big time – if yuh haven’t started regretting it already.
30 – 0 – to Owen Arthur –
30 – 0 to Errol Barrow –
30 – 0 – to Bree St John
30 – 0 – to Sir LLoyd Sandiford
All of the above are not good scenarios – but they absolutely do not represent a frightening prospect as giving Mia ‘give muh de vote & watch muh’ Mottley a 30 -0.
Yuh dealing wid a different ‘political animal’ here.
@T.Inniss
Any of those countries the giver won by a all to zero and had to keep all the elected happy? What importance do you place on the political dimension. With a one seat majority does it also explain why Stuart was never motivated to reshuffle his non performing cabinet. Crap by a different color!
I really don’t know how to assess your sincerity when you touted new governance models under the last regime.
This idea of doing what is politically expedient – instead of what is best for country – being totally unacceptable.
So why do you keep making excuses for Mia Mottley’s absurd decision to put almost all of her elected MPs in a cabinet in an island this small;
and with very scarce resources;
with very high debt;
with a burdensome IMF Programme that seems designed to extract every last drop of blood from bajans;
AND MORE IMPORTANTLY – WHERE THE VERY PERSON DOING THIS IN YUH FACE – BLOATED CABINET AND EMPLOYMENT OF OLD FORMER BLP MPS AS WELL AS CONSULTANTS TACTICS – HAD ONLY A MERE MONTHS AGO DENOUNCED THIS PRACTICE OF LARGE CABINETS IN THE FORMER GOVERNMENT – AT A TIME WHEN THEY ONLY HAD 17 – AND SHE NOW HAS 26.
This is more than mere optics because the cost of these extra ministries – along with the all the workers to staff these ministries – along with salary and perks – and with the higher cost of pensions which will have to be calculated at ministers rather than just MPs salaries etc etc etc. – this does not just cost 1 million dollars a year – this amounts to millions.
SO THE HYPOCRISY OF THE BLP SUPPORTERS BOTHERS ME A LOT.
DO SO DON’T LIKE SO.
You need to appreciate how politicians and political animals behave.
I know how they behave – it is your views and consistency in your approach that I am more interested in.
Your role at this critical juncture is more influential than you may realise.
If you can explain the silly WhatsApp messages by the DLP has been stoking social media, Trump style, it will be useful.
What you just said does not connect in any way to my 2 posts above – especially the one at 10:19 a.m.
I am waiting on your answer still yuh know.
If you don’t directly address the point raised then – all the ‘righteous indignation’ about governance is just ‘a lotta long talk’ – david of Barbados Underground.
Answer the question Sir – The people are reading and waiting.
@T.Inniss
Will defer your question to sirFuzzy. He may respond along the lines we live in hope.
The question should be if the cabinet members are doing a good job all day every day.
It does not matter whether there are 17 or 27 ministers.
It is the results that matter.
Hants
How can they be doing a good job all day every day – when they have very little to do – all day every day.
David/BU
Sir Fuzzy now speaks for you ?
@ T.Inniss wrote ” they have very little to do ”
That is politically motivated bullsht and you know it.
Why don’t you give examples of the failures of the current BLP ministers?
All the problems the DLP failed to solve while in government now gives the BLP a whole lot to do.
What? Is that YOU, Hants? I didn’t know you had it in you!
Hants
I will ignore the bullshit you wrote above which will tickle those whose attention you desire . iT IS ALL THERE FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO – TO SEE – JUST READ BACK YOUR SO- CALLED CONTRIBUTIONS.
NEITHER FISH NOR FOWL NOR GOOD RED HERRING.STEUPSE.
Imagine you don’t even know of what you speak but you call it politically motivated bullshit – my dear man – please tell me what the member from st Michael north west has to do as junior minister in the ministry of elderly people huh?
Tell me why in all our post independence history – when the office of the Attorney general’s ministry is linked to home affairs for obvious reasons – that all of a sudden Edmund Hinckson – is giving a piece of that ministry – home affairs – and his main function as seen every day is attending some function given by the firemen or soldiers ..
Dale Marshall – aint got boo to do.
Why do we need 2 ministers in the ministry of works & Transport – all 2 turn up for their photo op and while one speaks – the other one looking in his face and nodding his head as he stands behind him;
Why do we need 2 ministers in housing – when there is very little happening there ?
What work does the minister of the blue economy have to do – talk about refurbishing a fish market – no plans for seaweeds etc
Why don’t you talk about what you know my man.
I can tolerate cogent, contrary arguments – BUT I HATE PEOPLE WHO BROWN NOSE – I FIND THEM REALLY DESPICABLE.
You cannot just go and look at MP’s versus Population/Constituents and leave out the FACT that the UK, T&T, Jamaica, Australia and many others have LOCAL GOVERNMENT (which we had up to 1967) which is another layer of PAID elected officials that spreads the representation ratio and each of these large constituencies have several Local Govt ‘councils’. One this I don’t like is HALF or PARTIAL TRUTHS.
I have been saying we need Local Govt back here – not Constituency Councils like we had which was appointed people and so politically shewed – as there are people in district that may be willing to come forward and be able to help and get things done – better than 1 MP to 7,000 constituents – that may not want to run at the National level. But you see that would mean less Centralized Govt, which is what we have and spread not only work but the authority.
(Excuse my quick typing and some typos)
David Brooks
while your response re the other layer of government is true, the fact is Ministers have enough support staff – from the permanent Secretary,his/her personal assistant,personal secretary ,a couple accounting/administrative officers – down to very junior staff.
The larger point is what is going on in the Ministry of Housing that you need George Payne or Charles Griffith – there is no government housing project, no reorganization of that ministry – nothing so.
the same for the ministry of works with Dugid and that guy peter phillip – 2 ministers
4 Ministers in the Ministry of Finance – plus Avinash persaud – consultant
Cynthia forde and neil rowe – Ministry of the people – goodness man – its a waste of precious,scarce taxpayers’ money.
Then we can look at the number of constituents per member of parliament :
Jamaica has I believe approx. 3 million residents – yet they only have 63 members of parliament
Barbados has about 280,000 – just over a quarter of a million – and got 30 members of parliament
Trinidad & Tobago has about one and a half million and has 41 members of parliament
Then we have a proposal being talked about by Mia which will be along the lines of the Constituency councils which will also take away some of the responsibilities (hopefully) of members of parliament.
In a period of such austerity being thrust on citizens – this government MUST AND NOT SHOULD – lead by example and cut that cabinet in half,as well as get rid of the consultants.
What people are not hearing of are the number of advisors and other contracts that are being given to party faithfuls – while at the same time the lower level staff are being sent home.
Don’t only talk about corruption and nepotism in the last government – but keep your eyes fixed on this lot as well.
@ T, Inniss… Are you saying that ministers in the current government are guilty of doing nothing based on your knowledge of what ministers in the last DLP government did cumulatively for ten years? If that is your judgment benchmark, please I beg of you, seek another.
Just as an aside, you seem to be extremely aggressive in your condemnation of the current government in every one of your post, almost to the point of being rabid. Were you as critical of the laggards during the last administration? Or were you one of the faithful worshipers who stood idly by as the silent one (mis)led by example? If yes, you should be proud of yourself and others like you who watched a one-eyed captain look through the telescope with his blind eye and said the he could see light at the end of the tunnel. What he failed to interpret was the light at the end of the tunnel was MAM and that when she and the BLP arrived, that would signal the END of a most Depressingly Lawless Period.
@ T.Inniss,
I have been a Barrow DLP supporter since about 4th form at the school “where tender brains are stuffed with knowledge.”
@ks November 5, 2018 7:40 PM “Some internet searching yielded the following:
UK: 650 MP’s – one for every 101,000 people – 22 cabinet ministers
Canada: 338 MP’s – one for every 108,000 people – 35 cabinet ministers.”
Aren’t you comparing apples with oranges. In the case of the U.K. there is also a large ;local government system with significant power to tax and to act.
In the case of Canada thee are actually three levels of government, federal, provincial and local. All 3 levels have significant powers to tax and to act.
Canada has three levels of government; federal, provincial and municipal. According to Section 92(8) of the Constitution Act, 1867, “In each of the ten Provinces the Legislature may exclusively make Laws in relation to… Municipal Institutions in the Province.” There are about 3,700 municipal governments in Canada.
So a federal government of 338 Members of Parliament
Provincial governments with ten Premiers, and many hundreds of Members of the Provincial Parliaments.
And 3700 municipal governments, each with its own mayor, so 3700 mayors.
So to be fair you must compare like with like.
Simple Simon
As always neither “B” nor “D”
T.Inniss November 6, 2018 8:01 AM “Yuh dealing wid a different ‘political animal’ here.”
No different political animal.
No different at all.
All politicians have big, big egos.
If wunna wasn’t so big egoed, wunna wouldda become elementary school teachers instead, wouldda spend wunna time teaching little children to read and write.
But “no” wunna love politics too bad.
Here you cussing the Honourable Mia.
And at the same time panting, just panting to get back into politics and political power, and taxpayers money.
Who wunna t’ink ya fooling?
Stupseee!!!
We ain’t married to the Honourable Mia and the “B’s” and we ain’t married to the “D’s” neither.
@Hants November 6, 2018 11:47 AM “That is politically motivated bullsht and you know it.”
Cuh dear Hants. You rough up TInniss too bad. lolll!!!
@TInniss “Jamaica has I believe approx. 3 million residents – yet they only have 63 members of parliament.”
iIam sure that you know that Jamaica also has local government.
Here is another perspective on this “Smoke up wunna pooches” Public Relations exercise by Mugabe.
Does any one of you bloggers know how many flights are required by any Ministry in any given year? AS PER THE ESTIMATES? (barring the non planned meetings?)
and the answer by the brimlers, including Mr. Loveridge, is “noooooooo” which could easily have been “baaaaaaa”.
Say that it is a collective $5,000,000 does this mean that the savings to be experiences let us suppose that this is going to be $1,000,000 will NOT BE SPENT? wor will that mean that more trips will be taken?
And how will wunna sheeple know this? and the answer that comes back is “we wont” or in the case of many of the class idiots “baaaaaaa’
Does any one of you people know what is the spend of the previous ministers as it related to travel allowance?
Is that a baaaaaa again? and with the increase in the various ministers what will be that spend? and the answer is baaaaaaaaaa
Another shy#e article full of hot air and signifying nothing
Steupseeee…..
I find it amusing that some would point at the several layers of government elsewhere.
I hope they would also keep in mind (1) the size of the island, (2) the size of our population and (3) our relatively simple economy.
I would go even further and suggest that 30 MPs are just too many. 30-0 ministers is just outrageous and is a saddling of the taxpayers with dead weight.
@ Theophillus
And lest you and others reading the ignorance of the oversized Manatee in the House (pun intended) here be the names of the 26 Mps including the 21 stragglers on
https://www.barbadosparliament.com/page_content/show_content/8
1.His Honour Arthur E. HOLDER, B.Sc. (Hons.), LL.B., MSW (Speaker) 🤡 🤑💰
2.His Honour Gline A. CLARKE, J.P., B.Sc., Dip. Ed. (Deputy Speaker) 🤡 👀
3.Hon. George W. PAYNE, Q.C. (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development) 🔪🔪🔪👀👀
4.Hon. Ronald St.C. TOPPIN, LL.B., (Hons.) (Minister of International Business and Industry) 🤡 & 🐑
5.Hon. Miss Mia A. MOTTLEY, Q.C., LL.B., (Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment Minister of National Security and the Civil Service)
6.Hon. Miss Cynthia Y. FORDE, J.P., L.C.P. (Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs) 🤡
7.Hon. Dale D. MARSHALL, Q.C., LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C., (Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs) 🤡, 👀👀
8.Hon. Trevor A. PRESCOD, B.A. (Minister of Environment and National Beautification)🐑
9.Hon. Kerrie D. SYMMONDS B.A., LL.B. (Minister of Tourism and International Transport) 🐑 🔪👀👀
10.Lt. Col. the Hon. Jeffrey D. BOSTIC, MVO, B.A. (Hons.) (Minister of Health and Wellness)
11.Hon. Edmund G. HINKSON, LL.B (Hons.), L.E.C., LL.M (Minister of Home Affairs) 👀 (desires to be PM – Donville says so)
12.Hon. Dwight G. SUTHERLAND, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.B.A. (dist.) (Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce)
13.Hon. Miss Santia J. O. BRADSHAW, LL.B. (Hons.), L.E.C. (Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training)
14.Bishop Joseph J. S. ATHERLEY, BA, BSc, PgD. J.P. (Leader of the Opposition) 🐑🐑🔪🔪🔪🦂
15.Dr. the Hon. William F. DUGUID, J.P. B.D.S., F.D.S., F.D.R.C.S, M. Min. (Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance)🐑
16.Hon. Wilfred A. ABRAHAMS, LL.B. (Minister of Energy and Water Resources)
17.Hon. Ms. C. Sandra V. HUSBANDS B.A. (Hons.) M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade) 🔪🔪🔪 👀👀👀 (will teif IMF money if not closely watched)
18.Hon. Indar A. WEIR, M.B.A. (Minister of Agriculture and Food Security)
19.Hon. Adrian R. FORDE, Rph. (Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment) BTW What is a RpH is that like a RH? that you put in a “p” so that you dont curse?
20.Hon. Charles McD. GRIFFITH, B.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development)
21.Hon. Peter R. PHILLIPS (Minister in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance) Needs to be groomed
22.Hon. John A. KING, B.S.S. (Minister of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports) 🤡🤡🤡
23.Hon. Colin E. JORDAN, B.Sc. (Hons.) (Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations)
24.Hon. Kirk D. M. HUMPHREY, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.P.A. (Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy)
25.Hon. Ryan R. STRAUGHN, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Finance)
26.Hon. Miss Marsha K. A. CADDLE, B.A., M.Sc. (Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs)
knives for back stabbers
scorpions well we ent talking bout de Rock in Scorpion King
Money hungry and money grabbers even though they got a 5% increase are depicted by tongue lolling and money bags
eyes are those people who need to be watched because of their ammmmm proclivities
Piece
Then there is:
Jerome Walcott – Minister of Foreign Affairs – in the Senate
Kay Mcconey – Minister of Smart Science – Senate
Rommel Springer – Parliamentary Secretary – Senate
I can’t think of any other ministers or Parliamentary Secretaries
Of course there are the hangers -on and the eat a piece of the fatted calf crowd – who are called consultants,political advisors tsars etc
Billie Miller
Clyde Mascoll
Avinash Persaud
Charles Jong
Jessica Odle
Pat Parris
David Commisung
Analese Babb
TheoGazerts @ 9:24 p.m.
Your point is well made.
It is of course what I and others have been seeking to point out – but there are others whose main role is like that of termites – they come out in the night to …………..
166 square miles – 26 ministers – 30 MPS
Approx.. 280,000 Persons – 26 Ministers – 30 MPS
Economy in a shambles – 26 Ministers – 30 MPS
Thousands of public servants being sent home – 26 Ministers – 30 MPs
Pensioners & Retirees Investment Income slashed – 26 Ministers – 30 MPs
Taxes upon taxes,upon taxes – 26 Ministers – 30 MPs
Tek dat in wunna guts.Yuh cud like um or yuh cud lump um.
Interesting to see and hear that the popular tourist attraction called Rihanna Drive is filthy with late garbage pickup and the road littered with potholes. It says a lot!
you have more pressing issues. There is an attack on hard working people on the island by the bottom feeders it has to be stopped. Islanders must reject these people before it is too late. Bring back the death penalty and use it a message must be sent
Barbados cannot bring back the death penalty. We have signed on to international treaties and conventions to which international aid and other commitments and collaborative activities will depend.
Nafta was a signed agreement, it takes someone to say this isnt working for us and were out, the sky wont fall
It is a little more challenging when you depend on others to survive. We have to fashion a plan to NOT be so dependent on the external players.