Four transformational truths are Timing, Innovation, Strategy and CollaborationThe Elements of Transformation Strategy

There is the proven that individuals and businesses who continually adapt to the environment in which they operate will likely succeed. If we try to fit how the local public sector has been managing its business compared to the private sector and the world it gives currency to the use of the word anachronistic. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been a frequent user of the word of late.

Unfortunately as part of government’s objective to modernize processes in the public sector, hundreds of low level, low skilled workers have been retrenched. Understandably concerned Barbadians have inquired why send home workers from the bottom if the exercise is about cutting cost? We have to protect the most vulnerable and we will be holding the government to its word that BERT has an adequate safety net included.

Honest Barbadians will admit  however if the public service is to operate efficiently in the current environment there must be a job redesign. We have listened to successive governments braying about improving business facilitation. It is not the fault of the workers although the blogmaster will suggest this is where trade unions- the workers representative- have failed in the last 25 years to strategically add value to the process of nation building.

It is an indictment on the leadership of Barbados that in 2018 government departments still record transactions in ledgers- documents still require the ‘lick’ of a stamp. The blogmaster supports the requirement to urgently transform from the analogue to the digital. Leveraging technology to efficiently deliver services is a no-brainer.  What is difficult to understand is how come successive Barbados governments have invested billions in education per capita and lag scores of other countries that have expended less!

During a recent press conference Sir Hiliary and Eudine Barriteau of the University of the West Indies (UWI) highlighted that the regional university was ranked 591 out of the 1,258 in the  Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings. Of interest is that both of them touched on the ‘technology and innovation park‘ which is promised to open in Bridgetown in January 2019.

In the link provided we are informed the facility will house classes to support a Bsc. Software Engineering degree programme and also technology start-up bushiness to conduct research and development in conjunction with students at the UWI. She also revealed that talks have started with Gabriel Abed of Bitt Inc about supporting new tech start ups.  Beckles also shared this is being done with the cooperation of Chinese Universities.

In BU’s most recent blog – Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate  Adams asked what kind of Barbados do we need to build now that we have dismantled what was to deliver on the kind of life we want (words to this effect).
Barrow presided over an agrarian economy, Tom Adams shifted to a mix of agrarian and services and Owen Arthur went the whole hog by switching out to a services economy. Given the suspicion how the world views jurisdictions that provide services for international business companies there is clearly an urgent requirement to incorporate new business lines to diversify and hopefully spur economic growth. Feedback so far is that the RERE programme is only a baby step in the right direction, it has to go a lot further.  Making Bridgetown a smart city is a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) manifesto promise. Ronald Jones had responsibility for Human Development and innovation. What was achieved in this regard is not worth mentioning. Pushing more ‘coding‘ in schools is a national imperative.
Although mentioning China is a hot button word for many- a hegemonist is a hegemonist- a look at how it has been integrating technology to create opportunities for its people is instructive.

396 responses to “Time to Build Barbados Silicon Valley”

1. Please tell us how the issue that forced PRT to exit Barbados could destabilize what Peter is doing?

2. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Let me again repeat what Bush Tea said which will inform any Silicon Valley like initiative here in BIM.

First of all Silicon Valley IS NOT ABOUT COMPUTERS OR CODERS alone!!

And therein comes the very first issue.

Secondly as a blogger just posted above (forgive me for not writing your name good sir, but I am trying to hold on to the thoughts and write them quickly, while doing something else) BARBADOS HAS 1100 lawyers and OTHER THAN FRANCIS DEPEIZA & Fionna ?? not one of them is a patent lawyer!!

Francis is the only one registered to practice Patent Law in the United States, in New Your, and his patent is in biochemistry!!!

Does anyone understand what that means? It means that any Silicon Valley WITH ITS DIVERSE ECOSYSTEM will not have the support mechanisms for the IP developed to be safeguarded using local talent!!

Thirdly, Barbados’ courts have steadfastly dishonoured IP protection for over 40 years!!

But i digress let de ole man get back to what Bush Tea has instructed for the sheeple

“…Something like a national council of say eleven such persons, given the authority by law and the constitution to transform the economy over the next three years by executive order, would be needed to execute the kind of change that Barbados would need to have a good chance of survival and success…”

DO YOU COMPREHEND WHAT THAT INSTRUCTION BUSH TEA MEANS?

It means that in a coutry which is NOT RESPECTFUL OF IP, which perforce MUST DIVERSIFY its economy in meaningful KNowledge Economy sectors, that an initiative must be birthed and managed by a people WHO HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO DO THIS!!

What is worse is that we have a government that is arrogant and is not in the mindspace that is synonymous with the very things that are required for such a KE!!

You feeling me?

So with all the fancy talk by people like PLT who i note, does not like to speak out straight about the rampant incompetence and likes to sidestep issues and “take baby steps”, we are going to end up at a place where all the pretty buildings and the facade of entities is going to be vested in the talk giants one more time and we will descend deeper in the doo doo in 5 years.

I sorry IF I DOES CALL A SPADE A SPADE David (BU) but i can see from the tangent of thought that (a) it is you pun duty and (b) you are really afraid of where our country is and seriously want to create a space where it can get on the right track.

Watch now as the detractors come and say “baaaaaaaa…”

3. Any ah wunna feel dah ?

“An earthquake with a magnitude of 4.2 was recorded south of the island this afternoon but there were no immediate reports of damages or injuries.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/20/4-2-magnitude-earthquake-south-of-barbados/

4. What Peter is doing is commendable. He is doing not talking.

Nothing beats a try but a failure.

5. All of the painpoints you mentioned can be fixed.

6. “Join us or step aside”

This is the attitude that Barbados is promoting and has/is resulting in FAILURE. You have to listen and understand those that have ideas different from yours, Barbados is too quick to disregard ideas that are outside their mindset.

Those with realistic ideas do not want to be associated with either the BLP/DLP as this is a defenite recipe for FAILURE. JOINING the gentleman from IMF located within Central Bank maybe a winner.

7. There are still enough of us who have not been programmed, despite the parents, the prestigious schools and the Church. I think we just give up too fast.

8. Tell me how these “painpoints” can be fixed Honourable Blogmaster?

I genuinely want to know how they can be fixed before the 31st of January?

9. What are the ideas you have offered Wily?

Besides being against the change from analog to digital systems? Which is a cost saving measure at minimum?

10. Is this not what the discussion is about?

11. But I don’t comment on the matters being discussed here because I believe we are missing the point. In order for real change to come the programmed need to be deprogrammed.

12. @Donna

We do not and will never live in a perfect world. We have to make best of it.

13. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

my two cents worth are as follows.

The writing is on the wall. Our current political class cannot get us out of this one. We are basically saying we need to fire/terminate the current set of leaders or want-to-be leadership. But the political class is not known for “suicidal acts”. Power does strange things to the mind of those that have tasted it.

IMO .MAM has so far demonstrated that she is willing to be small minded in shoring up her political flanks by appointing 26 into the cabinet; when every man-jack knows there is no need so such numbers in cabinet. So that tells me she is in combat internally and also fighting for the national recovery we hope. That also says she is distracted and her best work and efforts are not all towards the national solutions needed.

Thus we need a different type of leaders; one not hamstring to a political party and all of it patronage and traditions if u may cal it such. but focused only to seeing Barbados succeed; even if that means internal party convulsions.. History tells us the Churchhill was the leader Britain needed for the wartime. But he was no the leader they needed after the war ended.

We need leaders cut from a new cloth never worn by this political class we had over 50 years of. It is hard to tell a professional politician that you are doing more harm than good; especially if they think that by being repeatedly reelected is proof of their “national responsibility/need”. We will continue to get square pegs in round holes with nuff space around them to eff up things royalty.

Everything has a BBE (Best Before End) date including popular politicians.

But we living in Hope.

14. I’m not talking about perfection, David. I am speaking about the fact that we are not beginning at the beginning of the problem.

15. @Donna

A problem has no beginning but the point you want to make is understood. We have to try. We cannot say it is impossible. We have to die trying. It is what defines the indomitable spirit of a decent human being.

16. Tom Adams shifted to a mix of agrarian and services and Owen Arthur went the whole hog by switching out to a services economy.

Neither Tom nor O$A did anything, they just flowed with the tide!!

Here is the tide … it is Canadian $$$$!!

https://www-cbc-ca.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/www.cbc.ca/amp/1.3641278?usqp=mq331AQCCAE%3D&amp_js_v=0.1#referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&amp_tf=From%20%251%24s&ampshare=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cbc.ca%2Fnews%2Fbusiness%2Fcanada-offshore-treaties-barbados-tax-avoidance-1.3641278

Like all tides, this one ebbs and flows.

Our problem is that the money was easy money and as they say, easy come easy go!!

We wrote of the basics that worked for Barbadians for generations as old fashioned and now we pay the price.

All the technology in the world is of no use without the discipline and foresight to apply it … it can be like monkey handling gun.

Getting back to basics is probably the biggest challenge facing Barbados.

17. … and yeah, risk taking is sometimes good and sometimes bad …. CLICO for example was a risk!!

18. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Luke 14:28

“Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. He will first sit down and estimate the cost to see whether he has enough money to finish it, won’t he?

Luke 14:29

Otherwise, if he lays the foundation and is unable to finish the work, everyone who sees it will ridicule him,

This is proof to me that Barbados is not a christian nation. We talk about God and talk and talk and talk etc.

19. Could this be “the Leaders Cut from a New Cloth” that you are talking about Sir Fuzzy?”

I mean William Skinner and one other floated this idea a few weeks back …

But tell de ole man if this is what you are speaking about at 6.46 p.m?

https://i.imgur.com/xyiuiMf.png

20. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with a post for Sir Fuzzy thank you

21. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ pieceuhderockyeahright October 20, 2018 7:19 PM

Maybe; maybe not; she is young and has time to prove such if it is meant to be.

My hope is that we will wake from our slumber and remove the old clothes; get a good long bath to wash off the stains of duopoly.

Thus emerge as new creature ready to face the challenge with out the baggage of the BDLP stench.

22. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

heheheheheheheheheheh.

I going report you to The Internet Police heheheheheheheh

I going report you to Brother Hants heself immediately, heheheheheheheh

Hants you see what the Old David of BU posted at 10.52 A.M this morning??

heheheheheheheheheh

I heah in stitches my man ….the one with Miss Marsha Caddle, one of the 3 beauteous nubian princesses in the House of Assembly heheheheheheheh

(No wonder Senator Caswell always so splendiferously dressed whenever he goes to the Senate. His wife soon going mek he stan home pun a Thursday casing trouble doan set up like rain heheheheheh)

Man you see how that man brain perking ALL THE TIME?

Imagine that though, it is like if he making subliminal suggestions to de ole man nuh!

Whuloss man dat is an invitation in those words from that ammmmmm “Eve” dat looka …..leh de ole man stop salivating heah lest me dribble, from this drivel, roll into the keyboard and electrocute de ole man as me imaginations roam in contemplating a piece of de “action”

Whuloss, i done going soon say de ting dat gine get de ole man ban finally from BU like Baffy get ban from BFP.

Where Baffy though?

whuloss that is a very good one, Honourable Blogmaster, a fantastic catch…i doff de Kangol to you sir…

23. @ The Old David of BU,

You have me laughing because of that coincidental voice excerpt item you posted this morning.

Grateful if you could retrieve it thank you for the smiles

24. Sirfuzzy

Sir, her good looks, money and vocal ability is all she has to offer, but beyond that there isn’t much in the way leadership she can offer the people of Barbados. And the same can be said for John King … minus the good looks and the money…

25. I often wonder how it is that a man with a mere Secondary School Education was able to governed the most powerful nation in human civilization, and at a time when he had to make one of most important decisions in human history? And we have people right here in Barbados with phds, Masters and bachelors degrees, whom are incapable of governing a nation of a mere 166 square miles … with a population close to 300 thousand inhabitants.

26. So one more post and then de ole man gots to go

So back to Bush Tea’s directive.

So you engage 11 of these Innovation Facilitators on a Performance Validation Contract.

Their compensation is related to their deliverables and it is time based.

In layman’s talk each one of these 11 fellows have to deliver particular measurable output or their contracts are terminated and de feller does not get paid!!

So leh we say dat dem hire Peter Lawrence Thompson as one of the 11.

Peter LT is engaged by the Innovation Hub for 6 months and he agrees to a salary of “x” dollars and proposes to generate “x” times 4 in 6 months!!

Let me make this simpler

Peter LT says that he is worth $20K a month which equates to $120K by month 6!

Peter will be paid cash $1,000 in month one to permit him to get to and from work and $11,000 will be held in SUSPENSE until he has realized $44,000 in revenues.

AND SHOULD PETER LT NOT REALIZE THAT $44,000 that he claims that he can generate then his compensation for the period WILL BE PROPORTIONATELY REWARDED FOR THE RESULTS

You feeling me?

Now let me do two things more (I am giving you the very same information that i promised not to give you arent I? but I love my country David, and cant watch it die)

It follows that Peter LT’s compensation is based on a deliverable i.e. a project/projects that require $$.

So how can we get to a point where Peter is going to be trusted with the $$ to fund a project of the category that this Innovation Hub must underwrite?

You cap Peter LT’s investment at $25,000 for his first 3 months and during that time Peter must bring at maximum 3 projects and at Minimum 1 which must be brought to gestation in that time.

If at the end of 3 months and he has not delivered he is not fired UNTIL the 6 months expires.

Now here is what de ole man expects to happen.

Dem 11 so called Innovation Experts going either collaborate internally with the others that they see got the skills to deliver the goods OR DEM GOING go dem shit alone, cause it is only the strong ones that will survive

Which brings me to the last part of my Copensation Schedule.

THe Innovation Facilitator has the opportunity to participate in the revenues of his successful projects up to a specific ratio dat de ole man ent going tell wunna YET!!

So it is in the interest of these Innovation Faciliators TO CHOOSE WINNERS

NO $$$ CAN BE APPENDED TO THE Innovation Hub projects from any sources at any time during this proving period.

Any deviation from this rule means immediate firing of the IF.

THe IF tool that will be used to monitor inflows and outflows will be ***.

By month 3 the MVP must be at the satge of being patented or copyrighted and the process at that point will be as follows ***

27. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Two items are in need of your services thank you one is for you and one is to advance the general thrust of this article of yours (which is why it was submitted by the powers that be? heheheheheh)

28. @ David October 20, 2018 6:26 PM

If you don’t think there are any COSTS associated with going DIGITAL your WRONG and this type of attitude is whats sinking the country.

AND WILY HAS A SOLUTION —- DEVALUATION to full FLOAT. As Donna said “programmed need to be deprogrammed”

29. @Wily

There is no cost to running obsolete systems?

30. Kenya has a population of nearly 50 million. Barbados can do better. But we are not Kenya.

We should sensibly compare Barbados with countries with populations of more than 200,00 thousand, but less than 400,000, such as: Belize, Bahamas, Maldives, and Iceland.

We are not Silicon Valley either. The Silicon Valley has a population of 7 million people, and hosts Stanford University, San Jose State University, Silicon Valley, Santa Clara University, De Anza College, Mento College, Foothill College, Mission College, Evergreen Valley College, San Jose City College, Canada College, Notre Dame de Namur University, Northwestern Polytechnic University, Cogswell Polytechnical College, Silicon Valley Career Technical Education, ITU, Sofia University, Pacific Oaks University, Initek College, national Hispanic University, Golden State Baptist College, Art Institute of California, Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts, Institute for Business and Technology, Biohealth College, Carrington College, Henley Putnam University, St. Patrick’s Seminary and University, Herguan University, Pamer College of Chiropractic, Lincoln Law School, California South Bay University, Wyo Tech Freemont, Heald College, CALMAT, University of Phoenix, Institute of Medical Education, Salon Professional Academy, West Med college.

A lot of money is being spent on education in Silicon Valley, some of it tax money, city taxes, state taxes, federal taxes. Some of it the money of the students themselves, some of it the money of parents.

The question is. How much money are we in Barbados willing to spend on education. How much taxes are we willing to pay

Or do we believe that education does not matter. That we can become a mini silicon valley while refusing to educated the younger generation.

Our children, but not only our children.

Other people’s children too.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ok dem bring me back.

I have one stupid question for anyone here on Barbados Underground other than Bush Tea and The Sage

Bush Tea made a comment about getting one of his breadfruit trees when he was speaking about the dire state of the economy and diversification

Could anyone answer and saw what he meant just to show that wunna sheeple understandeth what wunna readeth?

In fact I going do this.

Let me ask Peter Lawrence Thompson to explain with just one example what Bush Tea means with that belly searcher?

I going try to come back here tomorrow early and see if a body can decipher what Bush Tea meant.

And Bush Tea no whispering…

32. First thing in rebuilding a new and better barbados is to get the IMF to hell out of the country
    Barbadians stop beliving and endorsing everything the Western countries do or say
    Build a system of goverance that can utlised amd motive its citizenry to be innovated

33. @ Piece
    Boss, why are you bothering to pick sense from Bushie’s ramblings?
    Can a bushman not practice his parables in peace ..from Piece?

34. @pieceuhderockyeahright October 20, 2018 7:41 PM “Whuloss man… that ammmmmm “Eve” dat looka …leh de ole man stop salivating heah lest me dribble…as me imaginations roam in contemplating a piece of de “action””

If you don’t watch it you going give yourself a heart attack.

35. The future may be more technology in our life but the vehicles that help us to utilize these services be it physical or intangible will need two hands and a mind to ensure that they work.

Barbados needs to identify niche services and act to corner the market in these areas.
    1 – Aviation sector
    The tremendous growth of the private ownership & leasing market in the US aviation industry (netjets.com) creates a need for servicing of the engines on a timely and efficient manner as this is required after a specific number of flying hours.

I would like to suggest that we contact the designers of the major aviation engines like Rolls Royce, Pratt & Whitney and others to investigate the possibility of starting in cooperation with them a Barbados based service center whereby local technicians can be trained and qualified in engine maintenance.

Note that planes make money when in the air not on the ground and therefore this will be a 24 hour operation. Not only will it create jobs but will give a boost to our aviation facilities especially in the private jet market.

2 – Offshore services
    Despite tax treaties many companies are still seeking offshore centers to set up affiliate companies to attract less corporate tax. Those Islands/countries that flourish today have identified niche sectors in Insurance (Bermuda), aviation registration (Isle of Man), health sector (Bermuda), banking (Panama, All Crown colonies, Macau, Philippines) to facilitate this.

Barbados needs to create a team with help from the private sector to identify which is the most lucrative and competitive sector and act immediately to change any laws necessary that may initiate a successful service sector. Changing laws in the US, Canada or Europe will not stop this capital flight. It simply means that we need to constantly monitor these actions and act industriously.

36. This is not a class with you as teacher John and the others the class idiots. We are all here as concerned Barbadians putting in our two cents to hopefully galvanize a new thinking that will inspire at least one person in a leadership position to change the ting.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

But that is where you are wrong and patently so.

In one breath you are quick to point out that we are all in this together and need to make a contribution to the whole.

Then you try this am puerile psychology which shows how many of the so called leaders are indeed “class idiots” and need Teacher John and Bush Tea to lead them out of their idiotic spewings.

If dem is not “class idiots” let them do what is necessary to bring them out this mess Honourable Blogmaster.

How you think dat Teachers John and Bush Tea feel to be coming yeah every day and dropping pearl to the swine sheeple and not even one fellow learning?

You mean that of the finest minds that come here and drop their bovine excrement (akin to mine but I am not a fine mind though) that there is no one else?

Just one fellow David who could “up de volume” and show that spark of ingenuity and creativity?

That is a serious indictment of our country, NOT EVEN ONE!

So teacher John going keep back de answer till, let’s say tomorrow, at 6 am, with the hope that the “class idiots” can take a stab at Teacher Bushie’s comprehension test and at least show that people in the classroom are trying to think.

David, you dun know these so called leaders heath every day perusing Barbados Underground for answers to run the country.

Let’s be brutally honest.

Why have the not reached out to Brother Bush Tea? or to The Sage Anunnaki?

I mean looks how Frustrated Business Man has ascended! Tell de ole man then, since He is no class idiot, why dem still floundering?

And the answer which you are afraid to say is that they want pooch lickers and not people who will tell them that what they are saying or doing is faeces.

Dem coming here to glean answers but the fact is that even if you told them the answer you would have to do it for this breed of “class idiot” heheheheh

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with my reply to your recent post thank you

39. How do you know they have not reached out to them? Do you know what role they are playing in the rebuild effort? We should keep things simple, post you points and allow those who want to pick sense from ‘nonsense’ to do so.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster if they have done so the I shall defer to these two men who are the authors of these creative and ingenious perspectives

They would be much better positioned to comment on the meaning of their comments

Mine would only be a poor verisimilitude ( I borrowed that word from Lexicon)

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You, in a former post here made reference to the uninformed comments of Dr. Kevin Greenidge

He, a man unschooled in these things IT, made the spurious claim about medical transcriptions and coding and things that HD knows nothing about.

But de ole man knows and knows well about dese tings and more so I shall explain to the “class idiots” (those are the Honourable Blogmaster ‘s words, the part of the BORG on duty this morning)

Everything that Dr Kevin Greenidge has said is patently wrong and this pipe dream that the IMF has been sold is just that…a pipe dream.

De ole man, like I does say regularly, got alot of skills. One of dese skills is actually provisioning said transcription services to third parties when one was younger.

Suffice it to say that, at that time, there was a LESS stringent requirement to effect such services.

But, at today, this service not only relates to having accurate and timely transcription of medical reports, radiology reports, but such is critical and pivotal, in first world societies, where that information is relied on in medical malpractice suits.

When is the last time you donated blood or participated in a DNA programme for a national research project? Have you been exposed to the HIPAA protocol in these programs? Rest assured, I have.

Hants, you should first Google “..privacy regulations, and the security regulations of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)…”

and then google the recent case in which a Pakistani subcontractor to a medical transcription company threatened to release information unless she was paid for her services.

Do you think that people in this industry, or any similar transcription segment WILL, HIRE BARBADOS, a country where its Prime Minister has reneged on paying Bond Holders their due yields, and further, changes the country’s constitution on a whim?

Hants, do you think our “international currency” as it is now broadcast by these acts, inspires any confidence and will attract these confidential medical services for the transcription of information on our shores?

Do you think that, in a country where our leaders are accustomed to reneging on contractual agreements, we going be able to get that sort of buy in?

What you think?

42. David
    October 21, 2018 4:09 AM

This is not a class with you as teacher John and the others the class idiots. We are all here as concerned Barbadians putting in our two cents to hopefully galvanize a new thinking that will inspire at least one person in a leadership position to change the ting.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Trump emerged as the leader of America because that was what was being called for by Americans who were fed up with the new direction in which their country was being taken.

That’s the basis for correcting the situation in Barbados.

People need to grow up and stop being satisfied with being the class idiots.

A leader is just a person who figures out where a set of people is going and goes to the front!!

People need to change their mind set and take responsibility for the mess they have created.

For atleast one person to assume a leadership position there needs to be a movement forward of a whole set of people who have decided to make a change.

43. John
    Yours is the modern approach to ‘leadership’ ….which have given us people like Froon, Mugabe and Trump.

A TRUE leader is that individual who KNOWS the way forward and who has the capabilities (and will) to educate, inspire, assure and to lead the confused masses in THAT correct direction.
    – Joseph of the Bible
    – Churchill
    – Obama after Bush….

The modern variant that you describe are not ‘leaders’ .. but ‘followers from the front’ – who depend on Polls and the collective idiocy of the masses to come up with their useless, destructive policies and directions.

The only good thing is that, them being ‘at the front’ of the mess, they are the first ones to go off the cliff….
    But the masses are not far behind…. especially when different ‘front followers’ take over.
    Ask the DLP has beens how it feel to fall off the cliff….
    Ask Bajans about the value of their new front followers…

You of all people must know the source of true leadership …and of the wisdom to to KNOW the correct direction needed…

44. The difference between Barbados and America (other than the facts that it is much bigger and more developed) is that there was and is a majority of Americans who know how to make a country work.

Some are highly educated, some are not.

There is a sizeable amount of class idiots, many with their heavy university degrees and student loan debt.

The majority, with and without degrees as far as I can see are hard headed, sensible and practical people set on putting their country back on track.

Sometimes the majority is referred to as racists, bigots, white supremacists, but the only reason that they are referred to as such, is because the minority of class idiots don’t like seeing all their efforts to change the direction to the left being vaporized by the majority and they are unable to come up with anything more sensible.

These midterm elections will tell me if this surmise is true or not but certainly the advent of Trump tells me America will make it, Americans got it in control.

The problem with Barbados is that the people who can make things change for the better are in a minority (all different colours).

Left to itself, it looks to me as though the majority (all different colours) will unfortunately destroy the country as we have watched it do now for 2 or 3 generations.

… and it doesn’t help that the temptation of large sums of money exist as a means to assist in the destruction.

It is a mindset that needs to change, not some genius leader like a Chavez, Maduro or Castro …. or Barrow!!

45. Trump was spat out because of a flawed system with PACs and Super PACs among other anomalies. It does not make him a leader in the same way our system tossed up Stuart and a few others. Leaders are always identified by their fruit anyway.

46. https://youtu.be/JI-HzvXk5bk.

Costa Rica has made impressive strides in its campaign to rely strictly on renewable energy for its electricity. In 2017, it had 300 days in which renewables met its entire demand for electricity.

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

Ignore the jokers. It’s just like we fooling ourselves that our exporting capacity can be improved over night. After fifty two years of giving sophisticated party hacks top postings in so-called overseas consulates and so on; flying ‘bout the place pretending they are big shots; some who did not know how to sell a pack of Shirley biscuits but were expected to sell a country; ignoring genuine help from independent thinking nationals in the diaspora and now we have to deal ,even at the level of BU, with a somewhat irritant for a blogmaster who talking about a Silicon Valley in the country.
    Millions and millions of dollars that should have been spent on the rapidly changing technology, were spent on propping up BLPDLP sychophants. People who were intimately involved in wrecking the country now pretending that everything went wrong in the “lost decade.” A brutal level of intellectual dishonesty now roams the land unfettered by petty party one up man ship and all hell now cut loose on pensioners , school meals workers and those who were deliberately and ruthlessly sold out , we talking more nonsense everyday.
    There is not a single product that we can produce that is not already in all the markets globally. Even now as we bleed from the early bites of the IMF, we choose to pretend that we have a world waiting on us.
    I told James Paul that we were at least forty years behind as far as any real argro exports were concerned and he told me that I was wrong. Now he in the papers talking nonsense.
    For fifty two years the sycophants spent time on the cocktail circuit now they expect to suddenly make billions exporting ;but what and how has not been answered yet.
    Now we hear about creating a Silicon Valley rather than how to find work for those who git pink flips Friday.
    Not a failed state yet but……..

48. BT

Trump exists because of Obama and the destruction the minority leftists wrought on America.

Churchill existed because there were enough people who felt as he did and wanted rearmament as he wanted it.

Events then forced his elevation to PM.

Joseph …. well Joseph was clearly inspired by God.

All he did was interpret the Pharoah’s dream as directed by God.

All of the others whether you like to admit it or not were also sent by God, just that Joseph was an obvious intervention by God … because the Bible says so!!

… but you have to admit, Joseph led the Isrealites into captivity and slavery in the Egypt!!

Moses, also inspired by God, led them out of captivity and slavery.

The Quakers, also inspired by God, ended slavery … so the obvious conclusion is that sometimes leaders are not always individuals, just a mind set.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Rt. Honourable Prime Minister Mottley

This is 120 days into your term of office.

During the Election campaign while you were in the opposition, you sat with those nincompoops who are now ministers and READ GHEM THE RIOT ACT as to what they could say and not say.

De ole man suggests that you bring them in once again and read the act to them BECAUSE THEY ARE OUT THERE DOJNG THEIR OWN THING and making your government look like a despotism regime.

“SHIFT A FELLER” Mia!

Let them understand who is boss but more importantly let them realise that you want your regime to have a caring face AND NOT BE ONE RULED BY IDIOTS.

It is one thing to show a face of competence BUT A FACE OF ARROGANCE SHORED UP BY INCOMPETENCE, is the recipe for disaster.

The Blogmaster is always ready to say that you are a millionaire.

Rihanna Fenty is a millionaire too multiple times more than you? (at least your official declarations hehdheheh)

You are said to be able to speak without a paper, as an actress, so can Rihanna.

You have 26 ministers around you running the finances of this $1.5 billion indebted country OF WHOM 21 ARE IDIOTS.

Rihanna is part of a multibillion empire AND IS SURROUNDED BY OVER 1000 FINSNCIAL EXPERTS who dont tinker with finances THEY GET IT RIGHT EVERY TIME.

You feeling me? I hope you are because if you csnt make those clowns straighten up and encourage the average loyal bajan to feel like if they are a part of the solution, someone else will!!

MARK DE OLE MAN’S WORDS OCTOBER 2018