The popular local reaction to the impending Integrity in Public Life legislation has been intriguing. Given the populist perception of politicians in general and our seeming inability to rein in the lawless conduct of some notorious sectors of society, cynicism naturally abounds. A fellow columnist and learned friend, in his column last week, categorized it as an attempt to legislate morality; what some lawyers call a brutum fulmen (empty threat). At one level, he is right. Integrity cannot be created by legislative fiat but rather resides in the heart of the individual to be exercised accordingly of his or her own free will. At the same time, however, there is a clamant need for such an injunction, if only to attempt to deter those who might be inclined to act contrarily. Stealing is also immoral, yet none denies the need for condign legislation in this regard.

In last week’s essay, we examined the declaration of financial affairs by specified persons in public life. We also noted the avenue for such an individual to put his or her assets in a blind trust to be administered by an independent trustee. The blind trust is not a device with which most Barbadians will be familiar but it is of critical importance to its validity that the cestui que trust or beneficiary retains absolutely no control over the trust assets during its subsistence. Hence, as I suggested textually last week, there appears to be a drafting error in section 28 (5)(b) that reads as follows in my copy of the Bill-

…income derived from the management of the assets is to be distributed, in accordance with the agreement, to him, his spouse or his children until he ceases to be a specified person in public life…

Arguably, any such distribution and, indeed, any such agreement would be antithetical to the concept of a trust and would amount to the mere transfer of property as a stakeholder. The word “not” should therefore be inserted between “is” and “to” in the first line.

Once the declaration has been duly made to the Commission or the Governor General as the case may be, that entity or its staff will examine it and “make such inquiries as it or he considers necessary in order to verify or determine the accuracy of the financial affairs, as stated in the declarations, of persons who are required to file declarations under this Act”Clause 29 (b).

Where the Commission is satisfied that a declaration has been fully made as defined in Clause 31 (5), it will issue a certificate of compliance. Where it is not satisfied with the information given, however, it may report the matter to the appropriate Service Commission, board or other authority and the Director of Public Prosecutions.

There is a curious (I put it no higher than that) time bar for the commencement of an inquiry by the Commission in Clause 32 (5). According to this –“An inquiry shall not be commenced after 2 years from the date on which the person ceased to be in public life”.

As has already been pointed out elsewhere, this may amount to “a rogue’s charter”, whereby a specified person in public life may arrange for his or her financial affairs to be significantly altered to his or her advantage after retirement when he or she is no longer subject to regulation by the Commission. It might perhaps be more advisable here to have the specified person in public life report his or her financial affairs to the Commission after retirement for a period of five years or other sufficiently lengthy period or until death. Of course, what might give such a provision even more teeth is the enactment of civil forfeiture legislation, but that is purely a matter of legislative policy.

Where, in the opinion of the Governor General, further information is required from a member or staff of the Commission in respect of his or her declaration, the Governor General is mandated “after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, to appoint a fit and proper person as a tribunal to require the declarant to furnish such further information or documents and to conduct any inquiry, where found necessary, to verify the declaration, document or other statement filed with the tribunal”.

As with the inquiry pertaining to the affairs of a specified person in public life, there is also a time bar in respect of such an inquiry; this time five years after the date on which the declarant ceases to be a specified person in public life –Clause 33 (3). The reason for the difference in limitation periods here is not immediately apparent.

The Commission declarant is also differently treated in respect of the results of the inquiry. If the appointed Tribunal finds that the disclosure is full, he or she shall publish a statement to that effect in the Official Gazette and in a daily newspaper with nationwide circulation in Barbados, and reimburse the declarant for all expenses reasonably incurred by him or her in connection with the inquiry.

The Bill employs the concept of naming and shaming for the failure to file a required declaration in Clause 34 and also provides for the sending of a report to that effect to the appropriate Service Commission, board or authority and to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

As is traditional, the contents of the individual declarations are to be treated as confidential and it is an offence punishable on summary conviction to a fine of $ 20 000 or to imprisonment for 3 years to contravene this proscription.

The severity of this penalty contrasts with that in Clause 36 (1)(d) for an offence that seems much more blameworthy. There any person who fails, without reasonable cause, to comply with a direction of the Commission given pursuant to section 28(2) within the time specified by the Commission, or knowingly gives any false or incomplete information in the trust deed filed with the Commission, is guilty of an offence and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of $15 000 or to imprisonment for one year or to both. [Added emphasis]

As one astute commenter on my columns has pointed out, this fine may be even less onerous comparatively than the much ridiculed fine of $2 500 was in 1929 under the Prevention of Corruption Act. It clearly needs to be more dissuasive.

To be continued…

354 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Preventing Corruption 4”

1. Check China’s connection to Maldives!!

2. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-45623126

… good thing we have China advising Dale Marshall on “Rule of Law”!!

3. Looks like Auntie Mia got a photo op!!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/198965/pm-mottley-meets-trump

… and while she is away, the PM is …..

Meet him here!!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/198603/dale-marshall-acting-pm

Barbados gone to the dogs!!

4. So let’s see, Auntie Mia run to New York for a photo op with Trump, the highlight of her career and leff us with Dale “I are a idiot” Marshall as PM.

What will her ambassador to CARICOM think about that?

Will he say something?

5. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ John the Quaker

I want your astute opinion on something.

What if someone were to take that picture say one of Pornville’s enemies, and were to apply the words “…Barbados’ Prime Minister DEMANDS that US President Trump release Pornville Inniss?…”

And send it to Trump’s Twitter Account…

Do you think Trump would read it?

It does have his picture in it doesn’t it?

What do you thing such would do John?

I just was wondering what you thought of this scenario

I would ask my Brother Myope GP but a question from one myope to another does not carry the same weight as one to a non myope heheheheheh.

Or maybe i should ask RedGuard the psycho-warfare expert what such an item would do?

Now granted that it is alternative facts…and purely a hypothetical as to her actual words but de ole man was only wondering bout dis inconsequential thing.

Would it bring the attention of the world’s most powerful man, after Putin and the President of the PRC to focus on this bajan who is now off scope INSOFAR as national issues are concerned?

Do you think that it might ellicit the attention and then the rage of the POTUS?

Do you think further that GIVEN THE FACT THAT THEY ARE LOCKING UP BLACK AMERICANS for similar crimes THAT IT WOULD CAUSE HIM TO SAY “I Donald Trump pledge to protect these United States from any enemy foreign or domestic…?

What do you think John the Quaker?

That which belongs to a man THAT MAN MUST KEEP, mustn’t one?

heheheheheheh

6. I have never used Twitter, don’t have a Twitter account or whatever, so really couldn’t say!!!

7. A treat for BUs resident pervs and sleazes….lol..

…Lawson, enjoy, call ya buddy lowIQ45..

https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/1045406649362464768

8. And to make things even more fun, Maryland has no statute of limitations on rape, checked it out myself, so rape accusations are evergreen and once credible can be prosecuted, even if ya older than Cosby..lol

9. WARU
    September 28, 2018 4:24 PM

And to make things even more fun, Maryland has no statute of limitations on rape, checked it out myself, so rape accusations are evergreen and once credible can be prosecuted, even if ya older than Cosby..lol

There is really only one problem … actually many you overlook!!

A complaint has to be filed detailing where and when.

Since Ballsey Ford has … under oath … sworn she can’t remember either, no charge can be brought!!!

If she ever remembers it might land her in jail for perjury!!

The Democrats need another one, Ballsey Ford’s bolt has been shot!!

10. Ya talking rubbish John…don’t get ahead of yourself..

First…the FBI has one week to investigate…then based on their findings, we can then speculate..

11. There is no time, there is no date, there is no place and …. there is no rape.

If these basic facts are now supplied by Ballsey Ford it means she perjured herself!!

She can’t get to penetration, rape, without bypassing jail.

However, suppose the FBI shows the two guys who claim to have ASSAULTED her to be the real McCoy and not the actor she is.

Then there is a time, place, date …. and an actual assault charge to be laid.

Your only problem then remains, is assault statute barred … has the time run out?

Maybe that’s why the men came forward because they know of the limitation!!

… and even worser … suppose the FBI shows the interference of the Democratic Party in the concoction of this scheme?!!

12. … a deposition under oath can be a bitch …. and followed by an FBI investigation … pure hell!!

Of course it works both ways!!

The judge could be lying … but he is too convincing.

13. So what is the statue of limitations on sexual assault?

https://resources.lawinfo.com/criminal-defense/criminal-statute-limitations-time-limits.html#maryland

https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/public-safety/amid-the-ford-kavanaugh-exchanges-have-the-local-police-been-asked-to-investigate/2018/09/27/7787d8c0-c297-11e8-a1f0-a4051b6ad114_story.html?utm_term=.ed1f3393571e

“Montgomery County police, too, note that no accuser of Kavanaugh’s has come forward to request a police investigation.
    And even if an accuser went to the local department, the statute of limitations appears to have long since passed for pursuing the allegations described in Thursday’s dramatic Senate Judiciary Committee hearing.

The most serious allegation that authorities could pursue, given the sworn testimony provided by Ford, would be attempted rape. But that was considered a misdemeanor in Maryland in 1982, and that would be the relevant legal standard.

As a misdemeanor, the offense carried a one-year statute of limitations, meaning charges would have had to be filed within a year of an incident, according to John McCarthy, Montgomery County’s longtime chief prosecutor. Lisae C. Jordan, the executive director and counsel for the Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault, and other longtime Maryland lawyers interviewed in recent days concurred.”

The Maryland legislature changed the law in 1996, making attempted rape a felony and removing the statute of limitations, according to McCarthy and Jordan.

“But we’d have to apply the law as it existed at the time of the allegations,” McCarthy said.

Other possible charges, such as second-degree assault, remain misdemeanor offenses in Maryland and subject to a one-year statute of limitations, McCarthy said.

14. So even if the FBI proves conclusively that Kavanaugh did attempt to rape Ballsey Ford, it was a misdemeanor in 1982 and subject to a 1 year statute of limitations ……

…. but of course, then he would have to withdraw or be withdrawn ….

… which surprise, surprise, is the object of the exercise!!

15. I think the Democrats have a lot to lose!!

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

John if you are going to argue this case as defendant and victim and play the part too of judge and jury at least play your roles with gumption 🙃…

“The judge could be lying … but he is too convincing.”….of course the Judge is lying…about other incidental matters in his youthful days and just as surely he displayed superb indignation and anger over the alleged gross assault to his character.

You call the man convincing but just as he deftly avoided the stark evidence of his little lies so do you try to mamiguy with your all roles acting!

Tell me…how can a lad who admits to drinking, studying and sports playing as HARD as he did honestly come now to make us believe he NEVER drank to the point that he does not remember all the happened! Really….the man was an A type, over achiever… when he drank he did it damn well too 🤣

Particularly when drinking mates are on record as saying how stumbling drunk they got!.

The Dems have NOTHING to lose here…either … Dr Forde will be validated that she was assaulted as a 15 yr old 1) by Kavanaugh or 2) by others and she gravely mistook it to be him (??!); or the basic investigation will turn up absolutely no corroboration and she will be seen as completely deranged with a very fertile imagination

Of course the alternatives for Judge K are just as damning on the downside!….Obviously if he is placed in any place at anytime in anyway with her in 1982 he is DC road kill!

But back to the convincing lying thing…he clearly has misled the committee under oath and boy would it be amazing if he does not get his prize because the FBI investigation shows up one or two of the lil lies (not the big allegation) of 36 year old behaviour as perjury!

… as he suggested, what an absurdity that the high jinks folly of secondary school and uni would derail his career at this stage.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh, btw…Dr Forde was supremely convincing too…something happened to that lady in 1982 surely (or she is scary wicked).

Both of them can’t be 100% accurate certainly but both can be accurate about their stories in PART and thus be both proven as ‘innocent’ of attempting to deliberately mislead.

18. john
    why do you waste your time with this nonsense

think on this

Democrats are now pushing the idea that all accusers, labeled “survivors,” should be believed.

While that may be their credo, in practice they don’t believe all “survivors.”

When the accuser is a well-liked Democrat like Keith Ellison or Bill Clinton it’s a different story.

In the case of Ellison, he is facing credible domestic abuse allegations.

His ex-girlfriend has police reports and medical records to back them.

But Democrats are staying quiet.

Ellison is very valuable to the party.

As Deputy Chair of the DNC, he is a major figure.

And he’s currently running to be Minnesota’s, Attorney General.

His domestic abuse scandal might torpedo those aspirations.

But it will be no thanks to the DNC or the mainstream media.

The media is largely ignoring the claims against Ellison, as is the DNC.

Talking about it is bad for them.

Instead, they’d rather focus on Kavanaugh, who is an ally to President Trump.

Because in the end, their goal is to harm President Trump.

19. People here on BU dont believe in the Scriptures or God, or that he participates/intervenes in the affairs of life…..as is clearly taught throughout the Scriptures.

In the same way that Satan desired to sift Peter like wheat, he has desired and is doing the same to the judge. In the same was that Jesus himself prayed for Peter, no doubt American believers are praying for the judge.

Just as God allowed Job to come through his testings/temptations safely, he will do the same for the judge.

Just as God took Joseph from the prison to the palace, he will elevate the judge, if it His will

Just as God his Jeremiah when His enemies sought his life, He will deliver the Judge from the ravenous claws of the Dumbocrats.

During the next week the Dumbocrats.will bring forth some other spurious charges, and the main stream media will plaster the unfounded allegations over the airwaves as they have done in the last two weeks. It will be just as hilarious, and entertaining- though not for the judge!

20. When Shadrach, Meschach and Abednigo disobeyed Neubuchadnezzar they were condemned to die in the fiery furnace, and it was ordered that the furnace be heated ten times hotter.

The soldiers who put them into the fire, died immediately: maybe all their proteins were denatured so that their bodies could not function.

Then the King saw four persons instead of three in the fire. Most sane scholars in the Scripture call this a Christophany (or preincarnate appearance of Christ). It seems that the Lord Jesus Christ descended to help, just as he did for Hagar on the highway to Egypt, when she departed from cruel treatment by Sarah.

In like manner, if the judge is a good man, the Lord himself will intervene, despite the demonic dumbocrats and their dastadly devices.

Just as good intervened on behalf of Jehosaphat and Hezekiah, and just as God brought Daniel from the lion’s den unharmed, he will deliver the judge from the drolly mouths of the dumbocrat lions.
    SOME BU MORON WILL NOW COME AND STUPIDLY TRY TO REFUTE THE FACTS ABOVE
    THEY WILL SAY I AND OTHERS INTERPRET THE BIBLE DIFFERENTLY TO THE WAY YOU DO..

21. Then the King saw four persons instead of three in the fire.
    ***** King was on good stuff
    Most sane scholars in the Scripture call this a Christophany (or preincarnate appearance of Christ).
    ******Now we call it hallucination

22. Last time I checked Ellison asked for a full investigation of the accusation against him, last time I checked Dr. Ford requested an FBI investigation, last time I checked Kavanaugh pointedly refused to answer the question of whether he wanted an FBI investigation. Last time I checked the “virgin” schoolboy had references to a “devils triangle” on his calendar/diary (yes I had to look it up). Last time I checked a halo didn’t materialize over Kavanaugh’s head but God is going to intervene to save his hide and punish his accuser or the Democrats (or both). last time I checked Kavanaugh was hinting at a vast left- wing conspiracy BTW I thought that was Clinton’s territory (vast right- wing conspiracy) Oh Clinton’s name was mentioned too! Last time I checked one Senator had a hissy fit about the hearing while the other much like his Arizona mentor (see Affordable Care Act or Obamacare) stuck his thumb in Trump’s eye.

Last time I checked the “he say she say” strategy of the Republicans blew up in their face, the other Judge (Mark) will be on the hot seat.

23. De ole man is not as wise as you fellers, I does watch people.

And I was watching Flake in the elevator with that blond not his accusers (one who was visible was brunette) but the blonde who eased out of the elevator and then assisted him in closing the door.

Flake was ammmmm breached with his own current honey pot? heheheheheh

Like I say I does watch people really closely.

Here responses if she is his aide were inconsistent with being an aide and he did not indicate to her to do anything WHICH IS INCONSISTENT WITH WHAT NORMALLY OBTAINS.

She was looking outside of the corridor for security to assist, she did not leave the side of her ***** heheheheheh that is an anomally.

Here job demanded her to act and she did not act as per the norm

But then again I am a tinfoil man.

@ John the Quaker

You are correct, the issue here has nothing to do with the attempted rape.

What it has done is that it has tarnished Kavanaugh irreparably and he WHEN THE FBI IS FINISHED WILL BE WITHDRAWN else this would be a travesty of justice to have a man perjure himself but moreso to have a Supreme Justice Perjure himself

One more point to the Democrats here heheheheheh

24. RE Last time I checked a halo didn’t materialize over Kavanaugh’s head but God is going to intervene to save his hide and punish his accuser or the Democrats (or both).

LAST TIME I CHECKED THERE IS NO REFERENCE THAT A HALO MATERIALIZED OVER THE HEADS OF JOB, JOSEPH, JEREMIAH, PETER, DANIEL OR THE THREE HEBREW BOYS EITHER BUT THE SCRIPTURES TEACHES THAT GOD DELIVERED THEM FROM THEIR TROUBLES.

LAST TIME I CHECKED THERE IS NO HALO OVER MY HEAD EITHER, BUT I KNOW THAT GOD HAS OFTEN DELIVERED ME FROM MY TRIALS AND TROUBLES. SUCH THAT I HAVE LEARNED TO TRUST AND THANK HIM. NOW I RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME, AND NOW I ENJOY THE PEACE THAT PASSETH UNDERSTANDING

IF GOD IS FOR YOU IT DOES NOT MATTER WHO IS AGAINST YOU
    IN THE FINAL ANALYSIS, NEITHER THE DEMOCRATS OR BU PUNDITS WILL DETERMINE THE JUDGES FATE…….GOD WILL. HE USUALLY DOES.

THAT IS MY UNDERSTANDING AFTER STUDYING GOD’S WORD

LAST TIME I CHECKED, THE FOLLOWING VERSES FROM ROMANS 8 ARE STILL TRUE AND VERY PERTINENT

28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

29 For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.

30 Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.

31 What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?

32 He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?

33 Who shall lay any thing to the charge of God’s elect? It is God that justifieth.

34 Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us.

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.

37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

ALL THINGS WILL WORK FOR THE JUDGE IF HE TRULY LOVES GOD…………..WHETHER OR NOT HE IS CONFIRMED TO THE SCOTUS

25. YUH NEVER KNOW

DPD WILL COME NOW AND SAY THAT THIS REPORT IS FALSE

THIRD KAVANAUGH ACCUSER SUED FOR SEXUAL HARASSMENT BY FORMER EMPLOYER!
    Daphne Moon DAPHNE MOON 13 HOURS AGO
    The woman who charges she was gang-raped at a party where Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh was present, Julie Swetnick, had a lawsuit filed against her by a former employer that alleged she engaged in “unwelcome, sexually offensive conduct” towards two male co-workers, according to court documents obtained by The Daily Caller News Foundation, according to the Daily Caller.

The web analytics company WebTrends sued Swetnick back in 2000 and also accused her of lying about graduating from John Hopkins University.

The company accused her of “inappropriate conduct” at work. She then made “false and retaliatory allegations” against two male co-workers.

Swetnick’s alleged conduct took place in June 2000, just three weeks after she started working at WebTrends, the complaint shows. WebTrends conducted an investigation that found both male employees gave similar accounts of Swetnick engaging in “unwelcome sexual innuendo and inappropriate conduct” toward them during a business lunch in front of customers, the complaint said.

Swetnick denied the allegations and, WebTrends alleged, “in a transparent effort to divert attention from her own inappropriate behavior … [made] false and retaliatory allegations” of sexual harassment against two other male co-workers.

“Based on its investigations, WebTrends determined that Swetnick had engaged in inappropriate conduct, but that no corroborating evidence existed to support Swetnick’s allegations against her coworkers,” the complaint said.

After a WebTrends human resources director informed Swetnick that the company was unable to corroborate the sexual harassment allegations she had made, she “remarkably” walked back the allegations, according to the complaint.

According to The Washington Examiner, attorney Michael Avenatti would not say if his client Julie Swetnick is accusing Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh of rape, just that she alleges he was present during the alleged incident.

“This is not my declaration. These are statements by my client. These are her statements about what happened,” he said in an interview with CNN.

Swetnick, in a sworn affidavit released Wednesday, alleged that Kavanaugh and his friend Mark Judge drank excessively, fondled and grabbed girls without their consent, and helped ply girls with alcohol so that they could then be gang-raped. She claims she was the victim of such an assault at which Judge and Kavanaugh were present in high school in the early 1980s.

Porn Star, Stormy Daniels Lawyer , Avvenatti first brought Swetnick to the stage. If that doesn’t ‘set the stage’ on what to expect from this claim, I don’t know what will.

THE JUDGE IS TOAST IT SEEMS! WE GOT HIM BY THE BALLS TILL NEXT WEEK uh lie?

26. Amen Dr. GP, amen to the verses, and forever amen.

It amazes me that, though, in the physical, you (sort of) support that fellow and I, anyone but that fellow, there is one person that we both support WITHOUT EQUIVOCATION

27. pieceuhderockyeahright September 29, 2018 2:22 PM

re Amen Dr. GP, amen to the verses, and forever amen.THOSE VERSES ARE SOME OF THE HARDEST SCRIPTURES TO GRAPLE WITH FOR OBVIOUS REASONS………….BUT EXPERIENCE PROVE THEM TO BE TRUE

RE It amazes me that, though, in the physical, you (sort of) support that fellow and I, anyone but that fellow, there is one person that we both support WITHOUT EQUIVOCATION

INDEED there is one person that we both support WITHOUT EQUIVOCATION. THAT IS THE HEAVENLY FATHER, THE SON AND THE BLESSED HOLY SPIRIT, WHOM WE OFTEN GRIEVE AND QUENCH

AGAIN I SAY…………….ALL THINGS WILL WORK TOGETHER FOR GOOD FOR THE JUDGE IF HE TRULY LOVES GOD……AND IF HE IS CALLED ACCORDING TO HIS PURPOSE ……..WHETHER OR NOT HE IS CONFIRMED TO THE SCOTUS

28. He should have stayed on the circuit court of appeals and kept his head in his bottle instead of minding the WH retard talking about Supreme Court Justice…fool…..the tangerine turd is going to bring all of them down with him..

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/ny-pol-bernie-sanders-kavanaugh-lied-oath-hearing-20180929-story.html#nt=oft-Single%20Chain~Flex%20Feature~center-chain~bernie-211p~~1~yes-art~curated~curatedpage

29. HERE IS A VERY INTERESTING OPINION
    CAN YOU HELP ME UNRAVEL THE QUESTIONS DPD. YOU ARE A BRILLIANT ARGUER

OPINION: CHRISTINE FORD PROVIDED NO EVIDENCE BUT TONS OF CONTRADICTIONS
    Steven Ahle SEPTEMBER 29, 2018

Christine Ford, a liberal activist, provided no evidence to bolster her charges against Supreme Court nominee, Brett Kavanaugh sexually assaulted her in 1982, but according to John Nolte of Breitbart News, she did provide a ton of contradictions. Even many of the Kavanaugh supporters tried to say that Ford’s charges were credible, and indeed they are if you totally ignore her testimony and all of the contradictions.

Not one single item has ever been corroborated. In fact, just the opposite. Even her best friend at the time denied her claims. Ford then threw her friend under the bus, claiming her medical condition prevented her from remembering.

Even what Dr. Ford remembers doesn’t add up.

According to Dr. Ford: She attended a house party miles from her home. She had one beer. There were four or five other people at the party, including her best friend, Leland Ingham Keyser. Brett (Kavanaugh) and Mark (Judge) were already drunk and belligerent. She went upstairs to use the bathroom. Suddenly she was attacked from behind and shoved into a bedroom. Brett and Mark turned the music up so no one would hear her scream as they attempted to rape her. She got away. Locked herself in a bathroom. She waited until it was safe; until she heard Brett and Mark “ping pong” off the walls down the stairs. After it was safe, she ran down the stairs and left the house. She cannot remember who drove her to the party or how she got home.

In a suburban home in Maryland there was no downstairs bathroom?

She didn’t hear two very drunk and belligerent boys try to sneak up on her?

Why was music already on in a room no one was using?

Wouldn’t blasting the music ensure someone came upstairs to see what was going on, especially whoever’s house it was? This is completely counterintuitive to criminal behavior.

After she locked herself in the bathroom, Brett and Mark didn’t try to get at her? Didn’t jiggle the doorknob? Didn’t try to claim they were kidding? All tuned up for a rape, they just gave up and went downstairs like nothing happened?

She left without telling her best friend?

She left without WARNING her friend there were two rapists in the house?

No one asked why she was leaving or found it strange enough to ask her the following day why she just vanished from the party?

She can remember how many beers she had (one) but not whose house she was in, how she got home, the date, the place, how many people were there (sometimes it’s 4, or 5 or 6), or anything solid?

Here are the most damaging contradictions:

From A to Z she has aligned herself with the far-left. Look at the politicians and newspaper (Washington Post) she approached, the highly partisan lawyers she hired, and the talking points she parrots to stall Kavanaugh’s confirmation (afraid to fly, demanding an FBI investigation).

She lied about her fear of flying. There is no question about this. In order to stall the Committee, her attorneys claimed the 1982 event had so damaged Dr. Ford she cannot be in confined spaces, most especially an airplane; so the hearing would have to wait a week. But now we know she flies all the time. Without being sarcastic, you can call her a world traveler. She travels the world for pleasure. Travel is her passion.

There is no clean way to lay out exactly what happened, but there is no doubt Dr. Ford’s activist lawyers received the Committee’s offer to fly out to California to meet with Ford in private, and that Team Ford turned down this offer for mercenary reasons: to slow down the confirmation process (the number one goal of Democrats) and to avoid an in-depth interview of Dr. Ford by a skilled professional.

Every single witness — Every. Single. One. — named by Ford refutes her testimony. Every person she named as being at that house party either says they remember no such thing or that it did not happen. One of those witnesses is her lifelong friend, Leland Ingham Keyser, which bring me to something that must be said…

Again, I know I am not supposed to say this, but I thought Dr. Ford’s mask slipped more than a little when, during her Thursday testimony, she dropped her lifelong friend in the grease and did so in front of the whole world. Ford basically called Keyser a liar who was too sickly and ill to bother to tell the truth.

This may be a small thing, but a college professor with a PhD doesn’t know what “exculpatory” means?

Dr. Ford’s polygraph is a joke. She was only asked two very broad questions about a “statement” — Is any part of your statement false? Did you make up any part of your statement? — Because she will not supply video or audio of the polygraph session, how can we know what statement she was asked about? There were no specific questions about the actual event, Kavanaugh, or an attempted sexual assault.
    Polygraphs are sketchy enough, this one is a farce.
    Ford refuses to give the Committee her therapist’s notes, even after she showed them (or part of them) to the Washington Post. When your credibility is on the line, you hold nothing back.

So to all of you out there saying that Ford was credible, are you freaking nuts?

I FIND IT AMAZING THAT IF AN AMERICAN CAN FIGURE OUT THE ABOVE, THAT THE BRILLIANT BU BRIMBLERS WHO BARK AND BRAY IN THE DAILY DRIVEL WILL NOT SEE, AND HAVE NOT SEEN THESE FLAWS

30. “Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley is leading a team of officials from Government, and the Department of Emergency Management through many of the areas affected by flooding during Tropical Storm Kirk.

The tour began at Pondside in the City, followed by the Bayland and is heading to Wotton and it’s expected to end at Ruby, St Phillip with a press conference.”

” Frantic cries for help as scared residents of Wotton, Christ Church, watched rising flood waters encroach their homes. A pregnant woman rescued from her home on the shoulders of a Barbados Defence Force (BDF) soldier.

A young asthmatic whisked from harm’s way. Cars stalled in roads, abandoned in waist-high waters by their drivers.”

31. Home sweet home!

Independent Senator Alphea Margot Wiggins was officially sworn in at the Government House this morning.

Wiggins is one of the seven senators appointed by Governor General Dame Sandra Mason to serve in the Upper House.

Surrounded by her family the former Deputy High Commissioner to London, who returned to Barbados after 12 years abroad, was all smiles during the brief ceremony.

“It is a privilege to be chosen by Her Excellency to serve,” said Wiggins who is expected to focus on business during her tenure.

32. Ballsey Ford comes across to me as a person with emotional issues.

Perhaps they are all the result of an assault when she was young but I doubt it.

I think her “beach friends in Santa Cruz” advised her wrongly!!

It is a long time since I spent any time in Santa Cruz but I am familiar with the scene in years past!!!

I also think that the democrats when they first got the letter through Di Fi, reckoned it was too weak to use.

When it became apparent their major ploys were not working the letter was used as a last resort, screw Balsey Ford’s request for anonymity.

She is just a tool, a means to an end.

The Democrats wanted a big public spectacle which they got.

Ballsey Ford was never told by her lawyers that she could have been interviewed privately.

The Senate Judiciary Committee offered to come to her but she never knew!!

She is just a tool being used by a bunch of sickos who hate Trump and will use any means to get rid of him.

My gut is their scheme will backfire on them big time …. but time will tell!!.

33. WATCH NOW FOR DPD AND THE OTHER TRUMP HATERS TO SAY THIS REPORT IS DEFINITELY NOT TRUE

BOMBSHELL: TWO MEN CLAIM THEY ASSAULTED CHRISTINE FORD, NOT KAVANAUGH

ONLY THEIR SOURCES ARE ACCURATE

THE ONLY SIDE OF THE STORY THAT CAN POSSIBLY BE RIGHT IS THE LEFT WING ANTI-TRUMP SIDE

Steven Ahle SEPTEMBER 28, 2018
    In what could upset the apple cart in Thursday’s hearings with Christine Ford and Brett Kavanaugh, evidence will be produced from two men who believe they are the ones who sexually assaulted Christine Ford and not Brett Kavanaugh. This would be a real game changer since Ford is the only one who has any credibility at all, even though not very much.

Democrats say that Ford came forward, with nothing to gain, but that’s not true. She will be hailed as a hero on the left and will get paid big bucks to go on national television to tell her story. The two men, really have nothing to gain except a reputation as sexual harassers.

Republican members of the committee released a summary timeline of staff activities related to the numerous sexual misconduct allegations against Kavanaugh. The timeline includes several bullet points that indicate two men have said Kavanaugh did not sexually assault Christine Blasey Ford at a 1982 party — because they did it.

Whoa. Senate Judiciary Committee Republicans say they have spoken to two men who think they, not Kavanaugh, had the 1982 encounter that formed the basis for her sexual abuse claim. (These tables are from a timeline the committee majority published 15 minutes ago.)

From Sept. 24:
    Committee staff have first interview with a man who believes he, not Judge Kavanaugh, had the encounter with Dr. Ford in 1982 that is the basis of his complaint. He submitted a written statement earlier in the day.
    From Sept. 25:

Committee staff has a second interview with a man who believes he, not Judge Kavanaugh, had the encounter with Dr. Ford in the summer of 1982 that is the basis of her allegation. He described his recollection of their interaction in some detail.

And from Sept. 26:

Committee staff receives a more in-depth written statement from the man interviewed twice previously who believes he, not Judge Kavanaugh, had the encounter in question with Dr. Ford.
    Committee investigative staff spoke via phone with another man who believes he, not Judge Kavanaugh, had the encounter with Dr. Ford in 1982 that is the basis of her allegation. He explained his recollection of the details of the encounter.
    This is a real game changer. These men have nothing to gain and everything to lose. But they can help clear the name of an honored man that should become the next Justice on the highest court in the land.

https://steadfastandloyal.com/politics/bombshell-two-men-claim-they-christine-ford-not-kavanaugh/?utm_source=TPC-%20newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=subscriber_id:2382530&utm_campaign=Guess%20Who%20Christine%20Ford%20Says%20Was%20Her%20Only%20Mutual%20Friend%20With%20Kavanaugh%E2%80%A6

34. Why has most nominees end up problematic and associated?
    Is this a strategy for a predertermined agenda?
    All the spokes have not been fully tuned.

35. BECAUSE THEY ARE ENLIGHTENED BY A SOURCE OF LIGHT FROM THE ETHER AND THE STARS AND THE MOON HAVE REFLECTED THEIR LIGHT OFF THE WATERS OF THE SEAS AND LAKES AND RIVERS
    ALSO THE LIGHTS IN THE BARS AND THE NEON LIGHTS IN CITIES IN THE EAST

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

Those two men should never have done that admission

Let me explain.

Up until close of business on Friday this as a clear case of he said she said with perjury on the one side of the judge and incredible amnesia on the other side of the victim.

Now while I lean towards the woman’s testimony and you learn towards the judge? Up comes this incredulous admission

Dr. GP!

You and I is menses!

There are things that we have done around the damsels before we were saved that we really don’t want to speak about.

But imagine this.

Not only is one man coming out and admitting to this crime after all these years BUT TWO MEN!

Dr. GP please.

You realise what they have done?

In this single action they have confirmed the attempted rape AND BECAUSE OF THIS SYNCHRONOUS ADMISSION BY TWO MEN, they confirm that the judge is guilty.

We is men GP and we do not admit to deserve sorts of things for nobody.

That story sounds like if Trump thought up this puerile idea

Pure idiocy!!!

37. PIECE
    THIS TIME YOUR LOGIC IS FLAWED –VERY FLAWED

RE perjury on the one side of the judge HOW SO SIR?

RE Not only is one man coming out and admitting to this crime after all these years BUT TWO MEN!

THE WOMAN SAID THAT TWO MEN WERE INVOLVED! REMEMBER?

RE You realise what they have done? PLEASE TELL ME SIR

In this single action they have confirmed the attempted rape AND BECAUSE OF THIS SYNCHRONOUS ADMISSION BY TWO MEN, they confirm that the judge is guilty.

THIS IS A NON SEQUITUR PIECE. they have confirmed the attempted rape BY THEMSELVES NOT THAT THE JUDGE DID IT OR THAT HE WAS ONE OF THE TWO

RE That story sounds like if Trump thought up this puerile idea THIS IS ANOTHER NON SEQUITUR PIECE. COME ON YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS

THIS IS HILARIOUS

I DONT GIVE 2 HOOTS WHAT HAPPEN. ONCE I GET MY RIDE TO CHAPEL IN THE MORNING AND GET TO EXERCISE MY VOCALS SINGING MY TENOR WHILE SITTING IN THE BACK SEAT

I DONE HAD MY BOWL OF FISH CAKES THIS MORNING

I ENJOY THE US DESTROYING ITSELF WID ALL DE HATE AND ANARCHY AND THE FIGHT AGAINST GLOBALIZATION

THE RAPTURE IS ON THE HORIZON
    ISRAEL WILL SOON BE OFFERING RED HEIFERS IN THE NEW TEMPLE TO BE CONSTRUCTED IN THE FIRST PART OF THE TRIBULATION PERIOD

38. The two guys came forward before Ballsey Ford was interviewed as far as I remember.

They are outside of the statute of limitations for attempted rape and have nothing to fear from the law!!!

All they stand to lose are their reputations.

Their gain is confession of a wrong doing and clearing of their consciences.

For some, that is extremely desirable.

39. Up until close of business on Friday this as a clear case of he said she said with perjury on the one side of the judge and incredible amnesia on the other side of the victim.
    Now while I lean towards the woman’s testimony and you learn towards the judge? Up comes this incredulous admission

The appearance of the two men occurred before Friday.

https://nypost.com/2018/09/27/two-men-tell-senate-that-they-not-kavanaugh-assaulted-ford/

https://twitchy.com/samj-3930/2018/09/27/game-over-senate-judiciary-talks-with-not-1-but-two-men-who-believe-they-had-encounter-with-ford-not-kavanaugh/

40. The two guys better be from the same locale and not say Alaska!!

If they are their stories immediately become believable.

McConnel announced he has 51 senate votes so whenever the vote is taken, barring unforeseen events, Kavanaugh will be confirmed!!

41. john

by then the dems will bring some more women out of the wood work

they will say the judge stole panties of the line– they used to call it a panty raid on Seacole Hall at Mona

one large woman will say dat he put her large panties on the flag pole——-as was also done at Seacole Hall at Mona

and that he made parachutes for his lab rats from stolen bras

it will be HILLARIOUS! WUH YUH WANT TO BET?

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, you state that Judge K has perused himself…how so exactly are you asserting same…. there are several lil lies beyond Dr Forde’s allegation but where is YOUR perjury claim located?

Dr Right wing who poke and prod with your sarcastic praise to what avail exactly? I certainly believe I argue with you supremely well 🤣, but I know well you think my reasoning is moronic and more so why bait with your lil hooks nah!

And do tell me when in heaven’s name did the Lord offer his blessing based on partisan faith! How does Judge K righteousness outweigh that of Dr Forde’s faith and righteouness…YOU operate that way not the Lord of Christian faith.

Away with your onesided parsing of the Word to support your opinion…steeupse….

I do not denigrate right wing news…when it is accurate. The thesis offered above re Dr Forde is absolutely fair reasoning and this is exactly what the FBI investigation will determine: was there a party or gathering in 1982 attended by these individuals and if not is Dr Forde lying or badly mistaken with another gathering like these two guys.

The other allegations against Kavanaugh are basically BS juveline stuff…by themselves they can’t deny him a SCOTUS seat but if they have ANY validity then they go to the core of his CHARACTER because it means he lied under oath when asked if his drinking to excess caused him to black out or forget things he may have done while inebriated….now THAT fudging of the facts can get his name withdrawn !

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Correction…..Perused should be PERJURED

44. @DPD
    The thesis offered above re Dr Forde is absolutely fair reasoning and this is exactly what the FBI investigation will determine
    ++++++++++++
    What thesis is this? The one that states a woman is now seeking to parlay her appearance at the hearing into television gold? Or is it the one that questions whether a home has a downstairs bathroom or not?

BTW aren’t “lil lies” (in your words) perjury? How big does a lie have to be to constitute perjury?

45. RE And do tell me when in heaven’s name did the Lord offer his blessing based on partisan faith! How does Judge K righteousness outweigh that of Dr Forde’s faith and righteouness…YOU operate that way not the Lord of Christian faith.

Away with your onesided parsing of the Word to support your opinion…steeupse….

WHO SAID THAT THE LORD OFFERED BLESSINGS ON PARTISAN FAITH?
    WHO SAID ANYTHING ABOUT EITHER THE FAITH OR RIGHTEOUSNESS OF DR FORDE OR ANYONE?
    I DONT CARE ABOUT DR FORDE’S FAITH OR HER RIGHTEOUSNESS

AND WHERE HAVE I PARSED THE WORD TO SUPPORT ANY OPINION?

AGAIN I SAY……READ IT WELL ……….ALL THINGS WILL WORK TOGETHER FOR GOOD FOR THE JUDGE IF HE TRULY LOVES GOD……AND IF HE IS CALLED ACCORDING TO HIS PURPOSE ……..WHETHER OR NOT HE IS CONFIRMED TO THE SCOTUS

THIS IS A RIGHT DIVIDING OF THE WORD…NOT PARTISAN PARSING AND SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED BECAUSE THIS IS SOMETHING THAT ALL TRUE BELIEVERS HAVE EXPERIENCED IN THEIR LIVES AT SOME TIME

1- IF THE JUDGE TRULY LOVES GOD…AND
    2- IF HE IS CALLED ACCORDING TO HIS PURPOSE
    WHETHER OR NOT HE IS CONFIRMED TO THE SCOTUS, ALL THINGS WILL WORK TOGETHER FOR GOOD FOR HIM

THIS IS A RIGHT DIVIDING OF ROMANS 8:28. AND SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

HOW DO I KNOW THIS
    BECAUSE I DIDNT GET MANY THINGS I WANTED………BUT IN THE END I REALIZED THAT WHAT I GOT WAS THE BEST FOR ME

IT WILL BE THE SAME FOR THE JUDGE WHETHER OR NOT HE IS CONFIRMED TO THE SCOTUS OR NOT

BECAUSE 1- IF THE JUDGE TRULY LOVES GOD…AND
    2- IF HE IS CALLED ACCORDING TO HIS PURPOSE

GOD MAY HAVE MORE FOR HIM THAN BEING CONFIRMED TO THE SCOTUS

YOU NEED TO STOP THINKING LIKE A MAN LIVING UNDER THE SUN………AND THINK LIKE A MAN LIVING UNDER THE SON!

46. I am trying to think back to when I was a teenager and the parties I attended up to when I was 17.

They were always at someone’s house so there were always adults present …. somewhere!!

If she was 15 and at a Catholic Girl’s School her parents was probably extremely careful of parties she attended and with whom she associated.

How come there were no adults at this house and only five teens, one of them only 15?

Wouldn’t “upstairs” be where the adults were located?

The house probably belonged to the family of one of those present yet she doesn’t know where it was.

I am about 10 years older so maybe in my day, parents were more particular about their children but for me, the idea of teens having the run of a whole house to themselves seems unreal.

I often watch clips where body language is studied for various people, from Trump back down …. Hilary included.

I am sure different experts will interpret actions differently but check this one out.