Prime Minister Mia Mottley supported by Attorney General Dale Marshall are scheduled to hold a press conference at 4:30PM today. The event will be streamed on social media.
Here is a recording of the press conference. The PM was a no-show.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley supported by Attorney General Dale Marshall are scheduled to hold a press conference at 4:30PM today. The event will be streamed on social media.
Here is a recording of the press conference. The PM was a no-show.
Well, well, well, Barbados finally has a prime minister who is willing to speak to the citizens of this country and let them know what is going on outside of election time.
@ FearPlay: I suggest you wait until the press conference is finished before making spurious comments.
A press conference is scheduled. The real question is what will be revealed during question time. Hopefully something note and news worthy.
If nothing new is revealed we may wonder what was the purpose of a press conference; Don’t we have BGIS to do the dull non-note & news worthy stuff? But we have to have the press conference first before we can come to such a conclusion. A catch 22?
jmt
Clearly your comment is premature.
Time changed to 4:30PM.
Somebody tell me Eric Holder flew in yesterday so I said who is Eric Holder
They tell me he was the AG of the US under Obama and I said ok, I knew that but who is he now?
They tell me he is the AG of California!!!
Probably just Bajan gossip!!!
wrong …all you have to do is google the name Eric Holder
Pete
August 9, 2018 3:22 PM
wrong …all you have to do is google the name Eric Holder
You mean it isn’t just Bajan gossip?
Now we get the message live stream for 4:30 is cancelled? What is going on?
As we await these revelations from the PM & AG why not speculate on other revelations from the land of Mr Holder, our now favorite ‘son’ of the soil.
First of course is his possible run for the presidency of the US…but that’s really nothing revealing and new is it
And then there is the cross examination of Gates in the Manaforte trial…lawyers there want to depict Gates as totally lacking credibility because he had affairs, played accounting games and took money from his business partner/boss and lied repeatedly. According to the lawyers he should be dismissed and the case for Manaforte decisively won.
What a strange concept!
A certain gentlemen had affairs similarly; also similarly played accounting games and took lots of money from his business partner: and tells so many lies that it’s now almost impolite to call him a liar so repeatedly. That man became the president!
So nothing revealing there either.
Let’s hope our local govt executives actual reveal something 🤣…and not just protect THEIR interests in these swirling investigations.
Off to the presser!
@ David,
what is the link to the PM’s ” live stream “?
There is a stream on Facebook from BLP Page. Do a search for Barbados Labour Party.
One would have thought DLP as a party would have held a press conference to state a position. Then again there is no leadership!
Did AG Dale just criticize the COP?
I kept searching BGIS and couldn’t locate it, if the PM, Atty General or any Minister is holding a Press Conference why do I have to go to a party website to see/hear it?
Perhaps PUDRYR is correct
l’etat c’est moi
@ Sargeant,
I agree.
BGIS cancelled the livestream due to ‘circumstances beyond our contract’.
Are we in for a Truth and Reconciliation program Barbados style?
Forgive me mother for I have sinned in thought, word and deed. Now let me tell you about the deeds……
What is the objective of the press conference?
David of BU give the damn Democratic Labour Party a break. We have accepted our defeat.We are putting strategy in place and re branding our party to be a force again.
Concentrate on the foolish move to default on our external loans and the blasted repercussions from that stupid decision.
Also concentrate on this inept government lack of ability to get economy moving again.
This foolish government headed by a foolish PM with a foolish cabinet will only exist for one term.
David of BU get the hell of the DLP affairs. We do not need your input.
Thanks David. I am here listening to Dale Marshall. on the BLP Facebook page.
I hope it is also carried on other news media in Barbados especially CBC and BGIS
@Negroman
Au contraire, the DLP will need all the heal it can get and must be receptive to feedback.
Hoping to get an explanation why the press conference as original advertised was dumbed doto AG only.
I think the seriousness of the situation only just hit them.
He was right to throw some shade at the Commissioner who should have written down his speech and read it a few times to himself first instead of giving the media what sounded like a good idea in his head.
David of Bu that is true but we do not need the unfair criticism being espoused by you on this blog. Some of your criticism is justified,but a vast majority of it is uncalled vilification of the party. We messed up big time paid the price. I have seen little in the condemnation of the party that I could consider to be reasonable and fair coming from you.
@Negroman
If you agree the party messed up big time then hold your lashes like a man.
Marshall addressed the two women who have been using Facebook to accuse Payne and himself about land fraud.
Negro man ignore David and his silly comments
He seems to forget that the blp was in the wilderness for a span of ten years
Started to tune in listen for about five minutes and in the five minutes i gathered this to be another PR propganda machine with Jong finger prints written all over it with a campagain strategy to bury the DLP
Hearing AG talk about the international business investor and there concern about barbados image was another floating cloud put in the way to lessen failure of the govt inability to create growth for barbados
This govt keeping their ducks in order is going to be the ultimate test for them to continue to create an atmosphere wherby to have continued public confidence
Since i only listen to one or two statements both in reference to Innis problem
I wonder if AG went as far as to speak to the drug haul which involves Charles Herbert a once Head of the private sector a sector who would have commercial ties to the international business Sector
Mr Blogmaster, an AMAZING CONCEPT…the party official agrees they ‘messed up big time’ but yet says boldly “I have seen little in the condemnation of the party that I could consider to be reasonable and fair coming from you”.
Maybe I should coin that oft used line in ‘House of Mr Biswas’: Amazing scences were witnessed here today…and add…when the DLP clearly indicated they lack the candour and honesty to rebuild with integrity and true commitment to strong values.
This entire political process is a mindless game….this writer clearly exemplifies that as does your reported remarks from the AG.
I had intended to tune into the presser on BGIS but ABSOLUTELY refuse to go to a party website to listen to a stream of a Bajan Govt press event…maybe I missed it on VOB or CBC when I tuned to their sites so I’ll reserve comment on why BGIS did not carry the stream.
Did you all hear that they are talking about truth and reconciliation ?
Forgive and forget the wrong doings of the past ?
Interesting.
Can a “white” collar crime unit investigate a “black” man without being labeled racist?
Truth and reconciliation….that could involve at least 8 commission members plus nuff assistants. They would be required to travel to many places to hear the “input” of the diaspora, and then need a year after the last consultation to prepare a report, which could be presented at some elaborate ceremony. Different day, same shiite.
Just watching AG Dale Marshall.
His press conference makes sense, refutes many comments on BU saying that nothing can be done against corruption and backs my position that the police must investigate without any individual “complaint”.
he meant nothing WILL be done
the “political class” will not turn on themselves
Oh well, another one bites the dust.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/184426/herbert-steps-goddard-chairman
i listened to Marshall and he contorted himself to try to say that the CoP can investigate this sort of crime without a complainant. he then said that the term complainant carries a certain connotation in law and whilst there may be no complainant in this matter they are victims. he smiled cheekily and said the commissioner can deem him the complainant. that is for unnuh silly public. he knows however crude the CoP put it the CoP is right.
this incident happened sine 2015-2016. BFM the majority shareholder fired the persons involved, why did they not then make a complaint to the police and provide them with all the documents in their possession?
what hogwash. the cop almost daily states that they acted on “an anonymous tip”. you would think the front page of the newspaper would qualify. the cop wasn’t stating why he hadn’t acted to date he was saying that he had no intention of acting in the future. need to be a complainant my ass. shoot someone dead and see if he complains to the police for you.
Let us wait and see if the Babbster-DPP files in a complaint now after the press conference. Surely, the NY AG has copied something to BB.
Babbster, it is now your choice: Loyalty to your party or not farting onto the seat of your big Mercedes anymore.
Marshall also contorted himself to tell a twisted untruth about the international business sector concerns about barbados image
I take AG statement to be an insult to the people of barbados
Here it was obvious AG trying to get a head start using Inniss problem as an excuse for the blp lack of growth for the economy in the future
Good try AG but not buying it
When one take a look at our neighbours whose econmies have gone through dammning illegalites.
It seems as if those illegalites where not much of a concern to the international business sector
Jamaica is a good example
BA,
What is Crimestoppers if not whistleblowers????
But why in this information age ya still getting the word CAN’T coming from the mouths of taxpayer paid authorities when. it comes to investigating and arresting one of their own….but they can chase down every weed and seed and torment the poor…
Some people are so desparate now to find a reason why there shall not be any investigation in Barbados against the former DLP-ministers.
That is no witch-hunt. It is simply a police operation against a criminal syndicate.
Every high-profile member of the DLP is a potential suspect for bribery and money laundering now. We all know that there are many Barbadian accounts in Florida, NYC, London, Geneva and Zurich.
The lack of protection for whistle blowers the message sent by the AG also served a purpose to cover this present govt a ss
Not to be fooled there are lots of skeletons in the blp closest that needs to be unearthed
Now with the AG telling barbadians “sorry”but no protection
Who in their right mind would dare risk their life to tell the truth and having no protection.
All in all another Prooaganda smoke and mirror stunt
Today the genie that most belived was out of the bottle was put back in it’s place with greater reinforcement
Barbados last hope would be Innis only if he spilled the beans
White collar crime is generally under reported, entities prefer to protect the reputation of the company by keeping the dirty linen away from the public eye including the police.
@Dee Word
Luckily the party does not have to rely on ac or Negroman, it will be hard enough for them to rebuild.
@ the Honourable Blogmaster who said and I quote
“…There is a stream on Facebook from BLP Page. Do a search for Barbados Labour Party…”
Since none of the DLP frauds and supporters here on BU are prepared to do an article on Charles Jong de ole mn will ask the grandson to compose a lil ting on this pernicious Big Brother is watching You Bajans phenomenon
I have no brief for the DLP.
Indeed I don’t want to see one of these lot in the House of Assembly in the next 15 years but it is time for good men to rise and be counted
But the Jong initiative and the spying and placement of code on people’s hard drives while thus streaming is being done from the BLP website has to be stopped.
But not a feller ent saying anything about this.
If Caswell Franklyn and Jeff Cumberbatch were to form a party AT TODAY and commensurately begin a website to guage their reception, de ole man would bet that they would see many supporters coming to that site.
De ole man pretends to be a HUMINT specialist. Heheheheh. Euphemism dat I does watch CSI and Spooks and den pretend to be Mannix and Magnum PI
I does feel empowered to comment on intelligence gathering methodology.
SO I will tell wunna someting like dis Caswell/Cumberbatch proposal but when a feller tries to prove me wrong, I does say test it!
And then they see de ole man right and whu i say works then people like my friend Mariposa say dat de ole man mussee dealing wid elemental and tings. Heheheheheh
Barbados is ripe for a Third Party Movement whose core and peripheral human resources are men and women of integrity, possess reasoning skills and are highly competent to run this country.
Mia and her lot must be kept honest.
All this talk is orchestrated for the benefit of the IMF
And until she licks up a few actors and teives NOT A PENNY GOING COME FROM THE IMF.
Watch muh Now
@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for you