Read the full document (INDICTMENT)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, August 6, 2018

Former Member of Barbados Parliament and Minister of Industry Indicted for Money Laundering

Donville Inniss Allegedly Laundered Bribes through a Long Island Company

A three-count indictment was unsealed today in federal court in Brooklyn charging Donville Inniss, a former member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados, with conspiracy to launder money and money laundering.ย  The charges stem from Innissโ€™s acceptance of bribes from a Barbadian insurance company in 2015 and 2016 when he was a public official.ย  Inniss was arrested Friday and was arraigned today before United States Magistrate Judge Julie Sneed in the Middle District of Florida at the federal courthouse in Tampa.ย  Inniss was released on a $50,000 bond.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Departmentโ€™s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the indictment.

According to the indictment, between August 2015 and April 2016, Inniss engaged in a scheme to accept approximately $36,000 in bribes from high-level executives of an insurance company headquartered in Barbados (โ€œthe Barbados Companyโ€) and launder that money through the United States.ย  In exchange for the bribes, Inniss leveraged his position as the Minister of Industry to enable the Barbados Company to obtain two government contracts.ย  Inniss concealed the bribes by arranging to receive them through a dental company and a bank located in Elmont, New York.ย  Barbados Company executives transferred the funds to the dental company using an invoice falsely claiming that the payments were for consulting services.ย  During the time of the charged conspiracy, Inniss was a legal permanent resident of the United States residing in Tampa, Florida and Barbados.

โ€œAs charged in the indictment, Inniss abused his position of trust as a government official by taking bribes from a Barbadian company, then laundered the illicit funds through a bank and a dental company located in the Eastern District of New York,โ€ stated United States Attorney Donoghue.ย  โ€œThe Department of Justice will continue to hold accountable corrupt government officials here or abroad who use the U.S. financial system to facilitate their criminal conduct.โ€

โ€œDonville Inniss allegedly used the U.S. financial system to launder bribes he received while serving as a government official in Barbados,โ€ said Assistant Attorney General Benczkowski.ย  โ€œThese charges demonstrate the commitment of the Department and our law enforcement partners to hold accountable anyone who seeks to use our financial system to promote or launder the corrupt proceeds of their crimes.โ€

The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendant is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the Eastern District of New Yorkโ€™s Business and Securities Fraud Section, and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Divisionโ€™s Fraud Section, are in charge of the prosecution.

The Defendant:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (KAM)

776 responses to “Former Minister Donville Inniss Indicted for Money Laundering”

1. We are where we are because past govts had the abilty to hid their mideeds from the public
    Yet we as a public continue to allow govt to barrell down a darkened road
    Present govt ride into office on a platform of Transparency
    However for what ever the worth there is nothing transparent about how govt handled the relocation of Ross
    Everday the news being sent out from Dominica relates a story of back stabbing by this govt which in effect undermines the economic progress of the people of Dominica

2. Artax…do you remember when you used to stalk every blog looking to see which ones I posted on ya made the rounds on the internet, until the day I sent you on 4 wild goose chases in four languages…and ya went…well that is making a total ass of oneself…think for a minute, it will come back to ya..

3. Art..that was one of my better moments, ah did not even feel a twinge of conscience like I usually do..pure joy..lol

4. Well Well

Seems as though you can’t help yourself from reading my contributions.

What you mentioned in your above comment is a LIE and you know it!

But you’re known to resorting to lying in attempting to prove you’re correct about something (i.e. the Rolerick Hinds scenario).

How did you know it was me that was “stalking” you? For you to make such an allegation, you’re suggesting I know:

……. who you are, when you know I don’t…….

…….the names/pseudonyms you use on each website……

……and can interpret the 4 languages you referred to….but didn’t identify.

And you don’t realise how childishly and silly this makes you appear to BUL

What you should do is PRESENT the EVIDENCE to BU to prove it was me.

But…….why would any normal, sane thinking individual CARE about whoever stalks every blog they posted to……

……… ADMIT to WASTING precious time on the internet to send someone they BELIEVE is stalking them on “4 wild goose chases in four languages”……..

…………..and THEN want to CONVINCE us they’re SANE?

Your actions are not only confirmation, but an admission that you’ve made a total jackass of yourself…….

……..and proves my point you’re a lonely, deranged, psychotic, paranoid individual, with TOO MUCH TIME ON YOUR HANDS.

Shiite, even Mariposa asked if you ever find the time to bathe… hahahahahahahaha!!!

5. Let us be serious.

For you to have been succeeded in your quest…..

……I must have intimate knowledge of your identity to know the 4 specific languages you referred to……. the ability to interpret them……..

………..and the names or pseudonyms you use for each website or blog.

But what makes this more silly is…. how were you able to positively identify me as the stalker….when you don’t know me either?

Additionally, since you don’t know my identity, how were you able to choose 4 languages and assume I know and can interpret them?

It’s clear that you did not think this untruthful scenario through thoroughly before posting.

6. Surely, Inniss has recorded all customer data of his shady business. No wonder certain officers in the section of Barbadian criminal law enforcement are so quite now.

7. “Additionally, since you donโ€™t know my identity, how were you able to choose 4 languages and assume I know and can interpret them?”

Artax…..ya interpreted them just fine, ya even posted the interpretations to the blog..ask the blog master, but since ya seemed to have forgotten the whole episode although ya ranted for hours…..ya may need to adjust ya medication dosage downward..because it only happened last year, no later than year before and ya can’t remember.

Tron..all we gotta do is hold on a bit and wait..lol

8. “But what makes this more silly isโ€ฆ. how were you able to positively identify me as the stalkerโ€ฆ.when you donโ€™t know me either?”

ya actually admitted it on the blog, I was shocked..

ya just can’t remember.

9. So โ€ฆ. is Harold “Doc” Morley before the courts in the US?

10. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Mark Maloney would not be pleased with this.

Kenya tears down ‘illegal’ upmarket mall

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-45144151

11. Have we exhausted this or has it outlasted our attention span?
    Have we exhausted the ACH story or has it outlasted our attention span?

12. TheOGazerts
    August 11, 2018 8:51 AM

Have we exhausted this or has it outlasted our attention span?
    Have we exhausted the ACH story or has it outlasted our attention span?

Most suddenly realise we got a problem and we got to do something about it.

Some gone back to their ostrich position, others frighten as hell!!

13. Lol….the Herbert drama was a blast but Donville upstaged him, let’s see who will outdo those two next…

yep..the fright is real….lol..ah bet not one of the usual suspects of pretend elitist, classist frauds are so uppity and arrogant anymore, they are shivering in fright waiting for the other shoe to drop.

14. The Ross case was a good day for Barbados. We shall all bow to Goddess Bim and thank her for releasing MAM upon Barbados.

However, Bim needs more action. PM MAM must stop the former DLP ministers and ALL judges and civil servants appointed or promoted between 2008 and 2018 spreading their politicial germs around Barbados. The big question is: Who is really loyal to the common good?

Goddess Bim and the other ancient Gods demand more than one human sacrifice to recover.

15. @Tron August 9, 2018 7:31 PM “…so typical for the DLP-plantocracy. A US-resident. Obviosly, a black country like BB is not good enough anymore for the DLP-establishment.”

I wonder if he would not have been better off going to the beach, spending time with his children, cooking hot dinners for his hard working wife, visiting and chatting with his elderly parents, driving them to the doctor, to church, etc., thanking the good people of St. James South who elected him so many times, and if he chose to retire from active politics, then he could have been spending time introducing the new candidate for St. James South to the people of that constituency, and if he still had extra time on his hands, he could spend some of it doing some volunteer work, helping out the Heart and Stroke Foundation, the Diabetes Association, the Cancer Society, etc. etc. There is so much that well educated, well pensioned, early retirees can do to make their communities better places.

Instead not 3 months after the election he was in Miami.

My question is still

Why?

Why?

Why?

16. It is almost Sunday, so here is a little something for Auntie Mia re her “come to Jesus” comment:

Matthew 19:16-30
    A man came to Jesus and asked, โ€œTeacher, what good thing must I do to have eternal life?โ€ Jesus answered, โ€œWhy do you ask me about what is good? Only God is good. But if you want to have eternal life, obey the lawโ€™s commands.โ€ The man asked, โ€œWhich ones?โ€ Jesus answered, โ€œโ€˜You must not murder anyone, you must not commit adultery, you must not steal, you must not tell lies about others, you must respect your father and mother,โ€™and โ€˜love your neighbor the same as you love yourself.โ€™โ€ The young man said, โ€œI have obeyed all these commands. What else do I need?โ€ Jesus answered, โ€œIf you want to be perfect, then go and sell all that you own. Give the money to the poor, and you will have riches in heaven. Then come and follow me!โ€ But when the young man heard Jesus tell him to give away his money, he was sad. He didnโ€™t want to do this, because he was very rich. So he left.

The lesson from this Scripture is that people love money even more than eternal life, so i say to her that the fellas, and gals are unlikely to have a “Jesus” moment.

17. “ya actually admitted it on the blog, I was shocked.”

Jackass

PRESENT the EVIDENCE to Barbados Underground to PROVE your accusations.

David BU

I am REQUESTING that you PLEASE present the evidence to SUBSTANTIATE what that CRAZY woman is accusing me of.

18. @Artax

Sometimes you allow balls to pass outside the offstump. Time is precious, let us make the best use of it.

19. Very true. The US could have a number of sealed indictments waiting for the suspects to visit the US.

20. FRUSTRATED BAJAN Avatar
    FRUSTRATED BAJAN

minister’s of the crown have a lot of control of the statutory boards. With the charges being brought against D. Inniss. Those statutory boards need to be investigated, especially those that have property of the crown that they may sell off as though it is a shopping mall. Top official also need to be investigated. But then again the evidence must have gone through the shredding machine by now.

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Frustrated Bajan

Doan worry your poor head bout this entity BIDC

Dem has been flying high for some time now but MIA and her people ent got no real choices in this matter cause you can “hide and buy land, but you cant hide and wuh um”

Dat is one of Mia’s favourite sayings so let us see how she operationalizes it.

You see here is the thing Frustrated Bajan.

Within her work plan the BIDC features highly as being one of the driving forces that will be in need of expansion and outfitting.

SO WHEN DE IMF GET WIND OF THIS PRACTICE OF CONVERTING THE ASSETS OF THE CROWN FOR PERSONAL GAIN and not a feller ent getting lock up for um well……dat plan going through the edoes!!

Man dis economic crisis has some excellent benefits for we Bajan sheeple…

22. Given all the shenanigans the DLP was up to… What would have been the consequence if Barbados became a Republic under these guys? Papa Doc??

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar
  24. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item that gives a context of the multidimensional nature of the Pornville Issue

It covers corruption, nepotism, lackeyism, Money Laundering and a whole set of tings

Maybe Fumbles will incorporate it in his next public (or is that pubic) speech

Oooooops sorry after Sunday at de DLP, dem speeches dun right ?

A man can hope can he not?

25. So who is going to be indicted next.

Is Donville the only Bajan ALLEGEDLY involved in taking bribes or ALLEGEDLY involved in money laundering ?

Anyone had a COME TO MIA moment yet ?

26. “The Rise and Fall of Paul Manafort: Greed, Deception and Ego”
    https://www.nytimes.com/2018/08/12/us/politics/manafort-trump-trial.html?WT.nav=top-news&action=click&clickSource=story-heading&hp&modref=HPCommentsRefer&module=first-column-region&pgtype=Homepage&region=top-news&target=comments

@”The trial is also a spectacle of small humiliations for Mr. Manafort, 69. His once perfectly coifed dark hair, admired by Mr. Trump, is now gray and shaggy without the benefit of a stylist. His shirts, which he once bought by the half dozen for $1,500 each, are now delivered by his wife to his lawyer in a white plastic bag. Their communication consists of him winking at her or forming a silent kiss as he is led in and out of the courtroom. He has been admonished not to turn around in his courtroom seat to look at her.”

27. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Simple Simon

Do not think that the New York Times has anything on us my dear

Anything that they can do we will try to do better

https://i.imgur.com/AB01lcb.png

28. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Piece,

“A model for good governance” ?

https://www.news24.com/Opinions/Lagos-to-build-a-city-of-brave-new-vision-20150727

29. Piece Uh De Rock yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock yeah Right

@ Talking Loud and Saying Nothing

I like that article, it is full of such inspiration for a person in the castle of my skin

I also noted two paragraphs that chilled my soul since they make me wonder if this state that we find ourselves in, this constant doldrum is a black affliction

They read

“…Bad systems and rules are the reason most African cities do not attract much-needed international investment at appropriate levels. Bad rules have tied down the development of Lagos and 1โ€‰000 other African cities since their independence from colonialism. These include corruption, mismanagement, political interference, unresponsiveness, overbearing religiosity, nepotism, human rights abuses and incompetent presence of the state.

At present, the judiciary, health and administrative systems of most Nigerian cities have severe problems….”

Does that sound familiar to you?

hewers of Wood and Drawers of Water…

30. Has anybody heard from Donville? Is he allowed the company of his wife and children? Has the Barbados Consul General in New York visited him? Are his human rights being respected? Does he have access to an excellent lawyer?

I am asking because he is still after all a human being.

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Simple Simon

As a permanent resident of the USA, is he entitled to consular visits?

32. @Senator

What Donville do you?

33. […] Skinner asked the blogmaster to clarify the following comment posted to Donville Inniss blog on the 2018/08/06 at 8:26 pmย  currently choking local news […]

34. Hello David @ BU, far be it for me to get/come between two pals lol, you and the Senator, still, what kind of silly ass question is that? ”What Donville do you?” Any Barbadian living under the past administration reign of financial “terror” and mismanagement wouldn’t ask such a question of anyone about those DLP scamps who sold us once again many years after emancipation. It was just revealed that Frundel refused to go after the gambling houses for $138 million, can you imagined what could’ve been accomplished with some of that money? Look here, even the road at White Hill, St. Andrew could’ve been rebuilt allowing me to go home again. So Mr. David @ BU, can you say rot in hell all of them!!!

35. @whiteHill

Rolling the wicket for the possibility Donville is acquitted. Some of you seem to have forgotten he is presumed innocent at this stage.

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Let de ole man say this as it relates to Pornville’s possible acquittal
    The only way he will get off is if Mia intercedes for him.

No one else can reach out for him none of his former colleagues can extend themselves for him and any of his cohort who are part of the similar scams ARE SCARED SHITLESS ABOUT GOING TO HIS ASSISTANCE and getting locked up.

And that is what the US is prepared for.

If one of his fellow thieves go to his aid they are going to get locked up too

So it is only proxies that can visit him but ONLY MIA CAN “RELEASE” HIM.

And If it is found out that she interceded THAT IS THE END OF HER CAREER.

She is not even going to answer her whatsapp if it has Donville’s name on it.

In fact she ent answering no 212 codes.

And you see that anklet dat Donville is wearing?

I ent gine say nuffing but she better not …..

Conspiracy Theorist IN DE RUMSHOP DENNNNNNN

37. And you damn well know that if Mia goes to bat for him she’s gonna have to cut deals with the USA. Donville in return should be forced to come to Jesus as well as give up his pension.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I merely asked a question. If he were a visitor to the US, he would be entitled to consular visits. I know that a Barbadian, who acquires US citizenship, would not be entitled to consular services from our representatives out there. I do not know the position with permanent residents thatโ€™s why I asked. I was just seeking information.

39. Noted Senator!

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

So @Pieces you are practically and rationally offering that the PM would so damage her career if it was discovered that she whispered into the ear of the US Ambassador or any other senior contact with whom she has a professional or personal relationship and who may have some modicum of persuasive whisper power themselves anything like: “I hope you can see your way to treat him well, he is a good man”.

In all practical sense I disagree with you.

Of course criminal activity is wrong but the base level case of this money laundering indictment is so far extremely vanilla, the value of bribery incidental and Inniss’ record in the US judicial system allegedly non-existent. None of those are factors to cause great consternation for friends of the accused.

We are suitably gobsmacked by the charge and our interest doubly piqued by the more pervasive corruption which the allegation may expose (and which you are suggesting could burn the PM, I suppose) but until the Inniss indictment is expanded to include such a broader charge this man’s situation is really not that frightful.

It certainly could be a lot worse.

@Simple @August 14, 11:59 PM: you making sport, right. A simple lil case of this type and you asking such …why would the man still be incarcerated ! This is be a case where a bail request would almost be automatic but even beyond that your remarks certainly bulge your tongue out of your cheek …you gotta be mekking real, real sport.

And @Sen Franklyn, so are you suggesting that a Bajan citizen though currently domiciled as a permanent resident in US is NOT entitled to any assistance from the country of his birth if he is under the legal hindrence of the US authorities?

This is a deeper seated issue as you know quite well because the facts as you are well aware facilitate that a Bajan citizen can be legally domiciled in US as a non citizen for many a year and still be dismissed back to his country of birth just so…after a criminal conviction., for example.

All that to say: the consulate is surely required to look after Bajan’s interest always, because basically once a citizen always a citizen and BIM will still have to accept you when others kick you out!

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok Sen Franklyn, I saw your response to the Blogmaster after my post.

I woukd simply add tgat until a permanent resident engages to get her/his citizenship I can’t fathom why they would not be eligible for ‘representation’ from their homeland consular services.

42. Piece yuh way off in your saying that Mia interjection would let Innis go free
    America is not a Banana republic
    When last was America interested in what these small island coconut territories have to say about anything
    Case and point Trump called these small islands nuisance countries and quickly placed them in the garbage dump
    Mia s.hitba country that vam pay its debt who de hell is going to listen to them

43. @ David who wrote ” Rolling the wicket for the possibility Donville is acquitted.”

The possibility will become a reality.

Donville is innocent.

44. The only way he will get off is if Mia intercedes for him
    ++++++++++++++++
    Its never too early in the day to have a good laugh, the question is why would Mia intercede for Donville? As long as Donville is in the media/public in a bad light it cements the impression of some of the public that the DLP Govโ€™t was corrupt and at least one of them is getting his just desserts; this is of immense benefit to the BLP. I saw a clip of Mia on stage โ€œwukking upโ€ and if here was a camera to catch her reaction in private at Donvilleโ€™s plight she would be โ€œskinning cuffinsโ€ at the news. BTW did any one in the DLP come to Elliotโ€™s or Miaโ€™s defense when they were accused of pulling strings to save taxes?

The US Justice Dept. doesnโ€™t go to the lengths it did to arrest and charge a former public official of another country only to drop charges when a politician intercedes when the mid- level officials in charge of this case want notches on their belts.

45. Anyone notice that both Donville and his dentist, Harold Doc Morley both used Naked Departure?

46. You were able to verify this how John?

47. @ Dribbler
    A simple lil case of this type and you asking such โ€ฆwhy would the man still be incarcerated !
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You betray your genes in subtle ways.
    Since when is it a ‘simple lil case’ for public servants at the highest level to betray the trust placed in them and accept bribes to sabotage the public interest? In war situations, this is called treason. In our current circumstances, Barbados is (and has been for twenty years now) in the most dangerous ‘war’ of our history….for our very existence.
    Obviously you don’t see too much wrong in committing treason for a few dollars… except for getting caught. A typical albino-centric characteristic.
    No wonder you are so ‘at home’ in Albino Land.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr BushTea, spare me your sanctimony. I am FULLY cognizant of the ‘treason of public trust’ as you call it.

I however REFUSE to hyper ventilate as most have done here because this not new ….this nonsense has been ongoing for years and admin after admin have allowed the treasonous infidels to go unscathed.

Your albino neologism is pure theatre…. who has arrested Mr Inniss if not your albinos , Sir Santimone!

By your own admission (validated by the Blogmaster) you have been a part of the cabal of leadership in this country so YOU too surely had the opportunity to expose a few traitors…and maybe you did in your own way behind the scenes… but on this public stage there is no validity for your screed above.

The treason was facilitated, validated and empowered by Bajans …mostly Black like me and you too (I presume)!

So wheel and come ago!

49. Take it easy Dribbles… Are you living near Herring Bay…?
    Stop posting red ones nuh…. LOL

No one accused you of NOT hyper ventilating because this stuff is ‘not new’…
    You were accused of NOT hyperventilating because it is a ‘simple lil case’.
    It is not…. by your own subsequent admission.

As to the blame being placed squarely on the hoards of basically black bajan brass bowls…. LOL who started that message?

Steupsss
    Just admit that you erred in labelling the matter as ‘a simple lil case’ …and you can put it down to being a victim of the albino-centric genes that have been so widely distributed (mostly vi et armes) , over the past centuries.

Besides…
    You have to admit how much you are at home near Herring Bay….

50. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

” Are you living near Herring Bayโ€ฆ? Stop posting red ones nuhโ€ฆ” Sweet…that one propa..a good LOL indeed.

But we disagree after that. In the scope of most of the palaver presented regarding conviction and sentencing and all that then this is SURELY โ€˜a simple lil caseโ€™. That’s the context of which I spoke and I believe I made that quite clear when I noted that unless the case is expanded to involve a larger network of let’s say, laundry workers or a franchise of several laundromats and owners then this is a lil matter.

Or let me put it another way…it’s likely the real beef of this case will not be the original charge but rather those caught on the sticky trap of possible exposure to perjury, unintended revelations of their own illicit bank accounts and other unsavory affairs….in the minds of the US prosecutors.

For them this original charge gets great publicity and thus notoriety for those US Attorneys/DAs assigned but is not a big fish event….obviously for us it’s beyond massive and very topical.

However, any of those BLP projects mentioned by the blogger Inniss on other thread and any of the ones that I’m sure Enuff would offer as a riposte are more egregious cases of MONEY LAUNDERING than this one…so yes I still see it as a โ€˜simple lil caseโ€™… but because it’s under the jurisdiction of a DA in NY definitely makes it a much more dangerous entanglement for Mr Inniss.

Anyhow, I gone back to the real work of life.