Read the full document (INDICTMENT)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, August 6, 2018

Former Member of Barbados Parliament and Minister of Industry Indicted for Money Laundering

Donville Inniss Allegedly Laundered Bribes through a Long Island Company

A three-count indictment was unsealed today in federal court in Brooklyn charging Donville Inniss, a former member of the Parliament of Barbados and the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development of Barbados, with conspiracy to launder money and money laundering.ย  The charges stem from Innissโ€™s acceptance of bribes from a Barbadian insurance company in 2015 and 2016 when he was a public official.ย  Inniss was arrested Friday and was arraigned today before United States Magistrate Judge Julie Sneed in the Middle District of Florida at the federal courthouse in Tampa.ย  Inniss was released on a $50,000 bond.

Richard P. Donoghue, United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Brian A. Benczkowski, Assistant Attorney General of the Justice Departmentโ€™s Criminal Division, and William F. Sweeney, Jr., Assistant Director-in-Charge, Federal Bureau of Investigation, New York Field Office (FBI), announced the indictment.

According to the indictment, between August 2015 and April 2016, Inniss engaged in a scheme to accept approximately $36,000 in bribes from high-level executives of an insurance company headquartered in Barbados (โ€œthe Barbados Companyโ€) and launder that money through the United States.ย  In exchange for the bribes, Inniss leveraged his position as the Minister of Industry to enable the Barbados Company to obtain two government contracts.ย  Inniss concealed the bribes by arranging to receive them through a dental company and a bank located in Elmont, New York.ย  Barbados Company executives transferred the funds to the dental company using an invoice falsely claiming that the payments were for consulting services.ย  During the time of the charged conspiracy, Inniss was a legal permanent resident of the United States residing in Tampa, Florida and Barbados.

โ€œAs charged in the indictment, Inniss abused his position of trust as a government official by taking bribes from a Barbadian company, then laundered the illicit funds through a bank and a dental company located in the Eastern District of New York,โ€ stated United States Attorney Donoghue.ย  โ€œThe Department of Justice will continue to hold accountable corrupt government officials here or abroad who use the U.S. financial system to facilitate their criminal conduct.โ€

โ€œDonville Inniss allegedly used the U.S. financial system to launder bribes he received while serving as a government official in Barbados,โ€ said Assistant Attorney General Benczkowski.ย  โ€œThese charges demonstrate the commitment of the Department and our law enforcement partners to hold accountable anyone who seeks to use our financial system to promote or launder the corrupt proceeds of their crimes.โ€

The charges in the indictment are merely allegations, and the defendant is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty.

Assistant United States Attorney Sylvia Shweder of the Eastern District of New Yorkโ€™s Business and Securities Fraud Section, and Trial Attorney Gerald M. Moody, Jr., of the Criminal Divisionโ€™s Fraud Section, are in charge of the prosecution.

The Defendant:

DONVILLE INNISS
Barbados

E.D.N.Y. Docket No. 18-CR-134 (KAM)

776 responses to “Former Minister Donville Inniss Indicted for Money Laundering”

1. solicitation, facilitation, prostitution.

2. Enuff..you wait for that, you might be wearing the court clothes sooner than you think. ya think I don’t know what happened recently, but I do, just you wait.

3. Well well

I will be in a few weeks actually. hahahaahaa

4. Me too…lol

5. Given that govt never made earlierbmention of the Ross relocation to Barbados the speculation surrounding Ross is real
    Mottley has decided that her decision when made should be accepted
    However relevant questions pertaining to concessions towards Ross would be asked
    Cloverly apts are high priced and knowing how much financial aid was put towards securing the apts as advance payment as a surety should be told
    A govt that ran an election campaign on a promises of transparency has once again resorted to a PR propaganda telling the public what they prefer to spout
    If one read the stories coming out of Dominica and govt involvement in the financial aiding of Ross there is no doubt that Ross would not have left Dominica after 45 years if Barbados govt did not gave much better concessions than Dominica govt
    The question of how much

6. Mariposa,

In Kantian moral philosophy there is a doctrine called the categorical imperative. It is about doing the right thing. Read it to understand why the government’s position on Ross University is questionable.

7. The story of the Hurricane although real seems to be a cover to hid the hidden truth as to why Ross left
    Dominica for 45 years..A university which would have gone through as many hurricanes over the yeats some compared to last years and Ross remained in Dominica
    The hurricane story is another cover perfectly fitted into the story to hid suspecting involvement of concessions given to Ross by the govt

8. Mariposa,

You are on to something. Don’t let the mob get you down. Skerritt was very keen to hold on to Ross, he would have offered them an arm and a leg; it appears, therefore, that the Barbados authorities must have offered something more attractive. Also question the role of the Chinese man, Mr Jong.

9. Enuff
    @ Anything you say on BU must be discounted and viewed as partisan bluster, only. Nothing but PR. Spin. Propaganda.

You said:
    “I still think Coverley is a shite product, unsuitable for the Barbados housing market and overpriced. ”

But then:
    “However, it is a good product … if it can …save taxpayers money”

Now how can the project save tax payers money, when it’s very existence has cost taxpayers millions in foregone income on account of sweetheart deals like the unbelievably low land prices and other concessions, both known and unknown?

#zerocredibility

10. It’s nothing short of arrogance that Stuart sought to kill two birds with one stone in spending millions of tax payers hard earned money on spanking new ministerial offices at LESC,First his official residence is next door and second it is easier to access coming from his private residence in Marley Vale.No need to fight up with crowds and lots of traffic.But then he didn’t bargain for 30 love.What a fool.9 billion dollars added to the sovereign debt and not one azz to show for it.Worse yet he empower whiteys again instead of blackies like himself.Word to the blackies.Fire the office wuh.Learn to take risks.Become entrepreneurs.Be your own boss.Be nice to people and they will be nice to you but hold on to your dollar and drive a Suzuki or a Ford.Leave out the Mercs and de Beavers.Only children and fools show off their new toys.

11. I can’t believe people who are down on the ground, due to the inaction and in most cases questionable actions of their own former leaders cannot see that this is no time for any coverups to protect bribers, criminals or anyone else who are directly or indirectly responsible for putting them on the ground..

What more must be done to yall to make ya learn…

12. Nothing about Donville Inniss problems perplexed or of worry to me
    As Far as i am concerned he is citizen Donville Inniss who finds himself caught up in legal wheel of America and nothing he does or say can influence policy making any longer in barbados
    He already had his bite at the Apple and history would have the last word towards him
    However my focus would remain looking in the direction of present govt and its smoke and mirror agendas which have placed barbados further down to economic destruction
    In the meanwhile all wait and see the results v

13. @ac

This is an inaccurate comment, what is happening with Donville is affecting the DLP and Bajan bran. If he is found guilty it escalates.

14. the exyardfowl aint got no loyalty at all…ya know there ain’t a politician alive want you as a yardfowl anymore..lol..just like Dumbville you too are now retired.

15. Well Well (or is it Pat)

I do not have to pimp Naked Departure to know you FREQUENT that gossip rag site. You ADMITTED that to this forum……..and you’re KNOWN for “copying and pasting” gossip articles from there to BU……..to impress upon us that you have a “breaking news scoop.”

So…….one does not have to be a FBI special agent to know where you got that shiite gossip from.

BY THE WAY…….. I thought you DON’T read my contributions?

Just goes to show you’re a lonely deranged old hag that does not have anything to do but frequent the social media sites from the early AM to late PM.

16. Mariposa

Could you please let us know if any of the lawyer in the DLP that are qualified to practice law US jurisdictions, have offered legal services to Donville……

……..or are they, similarly to you, concentrating on trying hard to unravel any conspiracies or untoward motives as it relates to Ross’ relocation?

17. Mariposa busy trying to appear all Caricom-minded and few weeks ago she was blasting the current government for allowing our Hatians visa-free travel to Barbados. I am sure she supported the repatriation of Guyanese and the “ever so welcome wait for a call” policy too. Mia and the BLP gine cause her death I tell wunna.

18. ‘Just goes to show youโ€™re a lonely deranged old hag that does not have anything to do but frequent the social media sites from the early AM to late PM.”

lol…..same as you..

Ah told ya that I read your contributions only when am absolutely sure you are going to make a total ass of yourself…I never want to miss such episodes and always willing to help them along if I could.

All in all, the Commissioner is being taken to task on some blogs because his statement should be addressing what information he can give the public after he had engaged US authorities on Inniss’ case, which he and so far the DPP apparently have not.

..tell me they are not waiting for US authorities to contact them, Dumbville is a US resident, the authorities don’t need to contact Barbados for that case, but authorities in Barbados should, out of empathy for a fellow Bajan, contact the US to get the facts. of the case..if nothing else.

To date..has any authority on the island addressed the public about the Inniss arrest???

Some people are now telling the Commissioner to stop telling the public to give the police information since the police don’t get involved in private matters and neither should the public..lol

19. Well if the DLP wants themselve to be caught up clinging to Donville problems . They will remain stagnant and unable to move forward for a lobg time
    Donville problem is Donville problem.there is nothing the DLP can do to remove the charges levelled against him
    Problems that only Donville can adress
    Going forward the party needs to start or continue rebuilding having an optimistic view of learning from the past
    There is nothing that any party member or supporter can say or do to relive Donville from the long legal arm of America
    The party heeing and hawing about future plans does no good but fuels speculation about the death of the DLP party
    Furthermore delaying the process of rebuilding only hurts the party political future in the long run
    For those who think that i have distance my self as a supporter of Inniss
    If truth be known the Innis of the dlp party had his difference but when settled he remained faithful
    Unfortunately his attachment to the party has bern severed not by way of party members ousting him but through his own fault
    As i said previously i belived he talked too much a significant observation on my part that has come back to bite him in the a.rse

finalwordsonInnis

20. Ah guess everybody done threw Inniss under the bus..

ya always know who ya friends are either when you are sick, broke or locked up.

My instincts are always right, stay away from 2 legged crabs.

21. https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/17/last-chance/

โ€œFor so long as I am Attorney General of this country I intend to strain every sinew of mine to the point of breaking. I intend to engage every agency of the Crown, either in Barbados or outside of Barbados. I intend to do everything that I can to bring the perpetrators of that dishonest activity to heel,โ€ Marshall had said to sustained applause.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your kassistance please with an item for the commissioner of Police.

I posted it early tis morning.

23. ADullard

“Now how can the project save tax payers money, when itโ€™s very existence has cost taxpayers millions in foregone income on account of sweetheart deals like the unbelievably low land prices and other concessions, both known and unknown?”

Firstly,It is a good product for STUDENT ACCOMMODATION, which is different to a home for the purposes of self-occupancy and an investment. Secondly, the land is apparently leased to Maloney at peppercorn rent. The use of the units by Ross University students should not negate the payment of the peppercorn rent to the NHC/MoH. Thirdly, It is alleged that the contract with the developer requires government to compensate the developer for any unsold units (I assume after a stipulated time period); therefore, if true, the units being occupied by the students should remove any obligation on the part of government to buy the units as the developer would still be receiving income from the units even though through rental rather than sale.

Can you recover the foregone income? No! So you can only look to save within the context of the hand you’ve been dealt. Do you see how the taxpayers would save money even though it is an unsuitable project for what it was intended?

24. It’s been reported that the US investigation into Donville was ongoing for 3 years, the Mia government had no hand in this, am sure they are just as shocked as who are saying they are shocked, someone else did it, hopefully more light will be shed later with the Mia press conference.

“Thirdly, It is alleged that the contract with the developer requires government to compensate the developer for any unsold units (I assume after a stipulated time period); ”

The idiots in the last government who did the should all be sharing a prison cell…no bail, no ankle monitor.

25. @ Mariposa

The DLP was eliminated on the 24 May 2018. Go to George St, this Sunday the 12 August, and be a pallbearer.

26. Watchman

What u should worry or concern yourself is that barbados is in the embyronic stages of becoming a totalitarian govt
    That 30-0 victory would serve only a few which would not include you

27. LEST WE FORGET!

“Without calling any officials by name, Prime Minister Mia Mottley today said she was prepared to grant immunity to those who served under the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration and were involved in malfeasance.

But while terming it a โ€œcome to Jesus momentโ€, Mottley said during parliamentary debate on her Governmentโ€™s draft Integrity in Public Life legislation, that those who knew they were guilty of such corrupt behaviour, must be prepared to come forward and confess to their crimes.

โ€œI say to those today through you Sir, that the Attorney General is available to take and listen to anyone in this country who recognizes that there is a come to Jesus moment that ought to happen for some people in this country and that pending the passage of the legislation that they may want to do a sealed statement and give it to the Attorney General,โ€ she said, while insisting that she was not seeking vengeance or engaging in any witchhunt.

At the same time, she made it clear that her administration was not willing to tolerate corruption and that โ€œimmunity does not extend to todayโ€™s transgression or tomorrowโ€™sโ€.

28. @Mariposa

The Watchman concern WAS about an evil DLP reelected to office, it has ended on 24 May 2018. No need for me to worry, DLP yard-fowls like you have taken all the worries

29. Inniss is so typical for the DLP-plantocracy. A US-resident.

Obviosly, a black country like BB is not good enough anymore for the DLP-establishment.

Sounds like Orwellยดs Animal Farm.

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item that I posted here this morning on the interdiction methodologies of the Government of the UNITED States vis a vis a Barbados/anywhere in the world intervention

31. @ Mariposa

Do you know where Lowe, Brathwaite, and others DLP bandits are hiding

32. All comments were released.

33. Watchman

Do you know how many concessions were granted to Ross University by presebt govt.
    Hope the monies were not in the scope of the trillion dollar tax write offs given to friends and family members by Mia

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ok thanks. I’ll go back and look cause that specific machine is sort of picky with how it response to .JS and XSS

35. I am wondering if as alleged Donville received $36,000 USD or approximately $72,000 BDS did he declare that income to the Barbados Revenue Authority?

And if no what does the Barbados Revenue Authority plan to do?

If what the Americans allege is rue, then 40% of that money belongs to the Barbados Revenue Authority

36. I am still trying toget my head around why Donville would go to the U.S.A.

@hy?

Why?

Why?

37. @Well, Well August 9, 2018 6:12 AM “… has Donville Inniss in hot water…”

Nobody but Donville has Donville in hot water.

38. @Crusoe August 9, 2018 7:27 AM “Can you imagine if Frron had won the election and managed, as his stated intention, to get rid of the CCJ?”

I had already decided NOT to vote for the DLP on May 24, but when Freundel makde that CCJ statement it made me even more determined to go to the polling booth.

39. @Mariposa

Relook your last post if you able,and take a rest from posting .you real confused, try praying for Donville

40. From in or about and between August 2015 and April 2016, the defendant DONVILLE INNISS leveraged his positon as the Minister of Industry and engaged in a scheme to accept approximately $36,000 in bribes from the Barbados Company, in violation of Barbadian law, and to launder that money to and through the United States. Employees of the
    Barbados Company, including Barbados Company Executives I and 2, agreed to pay bribes to INNISS, who, in return, agreed to use his official position as the Minister of Industry to cause the BIDC to renew insurance contracts with the Barbados Company.

11 . In furtherance of the scheme, Barbados Company Executives l, 2 and 3 caused the Barbados Company’s majority shareholder, the Bermuda Company, to make bribe payments to the defendant DONVILLE INNISS through a United States bank account in the name of the New York Dental Company, which had no actual business with the Barbados
    Company. The Barbados Company employees, including Barbados Company Executives 1, 2 and 3, did not disclose to the Bermuda Company that the payments were for the benefit of a Barbadian govemment official and instead falsely claimed that the payments were for “consulting services.”

Doesn’t it sound like Company Executives 1 and 2 went to the authorities (FBI??) and complained?

These do not appear to be indicted.

โ€ฆ nor does Company executive 3 ….

… nor the company.

Doesn’t it look like Donville was on the take and was setup for some reason โ€ฆ. or โ€ฆ that some folks were caught and chose to give evidence?

Perhaps they were made an offer they couldn’t refuse!!

Either way, Donville is toast.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not supporting Donville just remarking on the language of the indictment.

41. Well looka muh crosses !

What does David of BU & Donville Inniss have in common !

โ€ข Both persons Christian names begin with the letter “D”.

โ€ข Both persons in the past 5 years have been strongly ” ACCUSED ” of taking BRIBES !

Oh what a night !

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

De ole man would like to privately share something with you and your Smiley Teets AG Marshall whom you already know to be a dufus.

Your end game for all this public relations posturing with this US arrest of Pornville CANNOT BE THESE TOOTHLESS PUBIC (NOT PUBLIC) REMONSTRATIONS.

This is seen by the US Authorities AND THE IMF as blowing air up their poochrd

And all that empty talk by Teets bout he “sinews” ISN’T WORTH A PANG REALLY and sounds more like he has a constipation problem and is straining on the toilet bowl.

Let de ole man help you on how to do dis ting.

I see it last night pun Judd for the Defense and you know how I does get after i watch these ole time pictures.

Bring charges against 5 of the local facilitators of teifing dat you got evidence for over the next week or so.

Now you dun know that you got dem by the short and curlies already.

Now here is the ripple effect of this action.

1.it going men Teets Marshall look like he got sense.

2.it going force de DLP Commissioner to do someting other than talk out he mouf

3.it going put pressure pun de DLP Director of Public prosecutions

4.it going men nuff more bajans shite dem pants and mek nuff of dem start the process of disclosing dem bosses.

But dat is not YOUR END GAME

HERE IS YOUR PRIZE MIA

“…These charges demonstrate the commitment of the Department and our law enforcement partners to hold accountable anyone who seeks to use our financial system to promote or launder the corrupt proceeds of their crimes…”

5.You are using this to pretend to show the US Authorities that you are leading a lical charge to clean up the local corruption shores. This action will reverberate locally regionally and internationally when you do it.

6.BUT YOUR TRUE AUDIENCE IS MADAME LAGARDE OF THE IMF & THE OTHER INTERNATIONAL FUNDING INSTITUTIONS THAT YOU ARE COURTING FOR $$$.

De ole man know dat it going seem like if I running tings from heah in me virtual domain of 30-0 but hold you horses a second.

You remember the saying “the enemy of my enemy IS MY FRIEND?”

Examine why de ole man tell you closely and you gine see dat in one single action WHU I TELLING YOU IS WINNERS!!!

AND I ENT GETTING TWO SALARIES LIKE JONG NEIDER!!!

Do why de ole man tell you and see effing I is right AGAIN.

Ammmm you only got 5 months left to deliver something meaningful to the IMF and ting.

And right now your “thought leaders ” are floundering Mia.

DEM has been blowing cold air in certain unspeakable places & you are slowly realizing that de ole man been telling you the truth

Use this Pornville moment wisely and it will give you the currency that you need BUT IF YOU EF IT UP I am afraid that with all the BLP run streamings that Jong doing to set up citizens’ hard drives Barbados is going be toast.

Watch muh now.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Nobody but Donville has Donville in hot water.”

He has had a whole week and a ride through the federal system, memorable process am told.. to realize that he worked really hard to reach there himself…he certainly needed no prompting.

44. you know that somebody in Govt especially to do with the contracts Donville is supposed to have given to ICBL in exchange for the alleged bribe could file a complaint.

but continue talking stupidness

45. Government may be afraid to allow investigations of the Great White Sharks and Orcas of the Barbados Business community even though they are all innocent until proven guilty.

Charge and lock up corrupt politicians but charge and lock up anyone who PAID BRIBES TO POLITICIANS.

46. https://www.dominicavibes.dm/readers-248914/

This backlash from this story would continue while BU attempt to cover up is most revealing

47. So Donville wearing an ankle bracelet.It must be very uncomfortable for him because those ankle bracelets have grade A technological attributes.Everything he say or do being ‘written down’.

48. Cant imagine back stabbing my friends
    Who needs friends like those

49. “Ah told ya that I read your contributions only when am absolutely sure you are going to make a total ass of yourselfโ€ฆI never want to miss such episodes and always willing to help them along if I could.”

Same to you my friend……..and since you don’t know in which contribution you’ll be absolutely sure, according to you….. I’ll make a total ass of myself…….. you’ll have to “make a total ass of yourself” reading “EVERY SINGLE ONE” to find out.

And coming to this forum to fervently argue that Rolerick Hinds was the duly elected representative for the constituency of St. Thomas…..based on a billboard that was erected near his constituency office…….as your proof……

………but rather than concede when your ignorance was highlighted……..you went on to stupidity argue that people living in the constituency told you so…..

………is more than ENOUGH EVIDENCE to substantiate the known fact that you’re QUEEN of “MAKING a TOTAL ASS OF YOURSELF.”

HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA