Mottley has lead responsibility for the CARICOM Single Market and Economy and Reparations – Nation newspaper 05 July 2018

If the blogmaster had to chose a Barbados Man of the Year Ambassador David Comissiong would win in a no contest. His body of work makes him the ideal person to function in the role as Ambassador to Caricom – for sure compared to his predecessors Bobby Morris and Denis Kellman.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley this week at the HoGs in Montega Bay, Jamaica renewed Barbados’ commitment to the regional movement CARICOM. The blogmaster also heard the open challenge given to Prime Minister Mottley by Chairman Andrew Holness, Prime Minister of Jamaica in her role as lead  Prime Minister for CSME matters.

Many in this forum will debate the usefulness of CARICOM. What is clear to the blogmaster is  that to compete in today’s world, a level of cooperation between regions will have to occur. The Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) sub region serves as a measure of success for what the region should aspire. Despite challenges the region (CARICOM) boast of several regional entities and frameworks that continue to serve us well.

The blogmaster is confident that David Comissiong is the ideal man to carry the baton on this league of the regional integration/functional cooperation journey. The blogmaster is equally proud that two citizen advocates who have seen the benefit of using this forum to promote tseir messages- the other Senator Caswell Franklyn- have been called to public service.

Again good luck and God speed!

214 responses to “Congratulations to Ambassador David Comissiong!”

1. While chopsuey Long and hypocrite Commisiong have been assured a hefty paycheck from govt
    The people are on social media complaining about the high taxes assured by the govt and the promise by this govt of lower food prices

#::####a promise is a comfort for a fool

2. David
    Hartley Henry was Principal Political Advisor to David Thompson. That seemed odd to me, as the post appeared to be a party rather than a government position. The same situation here. As you asked, should these posts be paid from the public coffers? We must accept that Prime Minister is a government and not a party post, even though there is obvious co-mingling, so any consultant to the PM ought to be paid by the public. However, this does not justify an unfettered avenue to simply appoint consultants. They should be a limit, whether in terms of the number of consultants allowed and or a budget, and maybe justification of the duties/roles. I noticed that the LOTO has a spiritual advisor. Is he being paid and if so by whom?

3. @enuff

This discussion we are having about the appointment of consultants must be in the context of raising the standard of governance therefore citing precedent or what the LOTO has done is irrelevant. The follow up argument is that the government (BLP) if it wants to sustain its thrust at transparency must be able to offer a compelling explanation why the selection (s) of the consultants/ambassadors.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As usual.

Obfuscate the matter with non issues.

First make an unsubstianted? Claim that it was done before

Then continue by imputing that since David Thompson did it, so can Mia

Then sidestep the queries that ask what de he’ll is his job description

Further add a layer that Mia EVEN IN THE MIDDLE OF AUSTERITY MEASURES AND DEFAULTING ON SOVEREIGN DEBT can pay any advisor she likes

And finally add the non issue that the same LoO that she hired has an advisor so so can Mia

And ef you is not Mia PR officer sent to BU to deflate people’s observations of her duplicity and intent, de ole man will eat me Kangol Hat…

5. Skerritt is right, despite what the Constitution says, there is no need in any country for an Opposition,particularly at taxpayer’s expense, it is a colossal waste of taxpayer’s money..

just as there is no need for the electorate to keep any government beyond 5 years, it is detrimental to the future of the population and the people need to stop the emotional attachments they have to these fraudulent political parties…

The ministers are employees of the people, each government is elected by the people and should never get anymore than 5 year mandates each time, rotate them, never let them settle in for more than 5 years and get comfortable to create corruption and steal from the treasuries with their friends and families…as they have all being doing now for decades in each island, pretending to be saviours of the people and are nothing more than common class thieves, keeping the people uneducated, unaware and in poverty.

6. lol..Enuff should know he is wasting his time, he already got angry with me on here early in the game when they were still giddy with delight that the people massacred the defunct DLP, he was out of sorts because I don’t drink Koolaid, that shit is poisonous and carcinogenic.

But now that reality is setting in and they have realized that it is not so easy to get everyone into bed and get them undressed…it is a conundrum…

…..maybe Enuff and them should not have slept with Vivek and them and destroyed the Supreme Court…..lol

That one is going to haunt them throughout the 5 year term, I look forward to it.

7. @pieceuhderockyeahright

” Kangol Hat ” I have one that I wear to cover my bald head lol

Based on the number of additional ” Minister in the Ministry ” and ambassadors. czars and consultants it suggest that by comparison the DLP was “understaffed “.

8. Enuff…I am going to need a lot of convincing, especially with Comissiong on the loose in the Americas and his octogenarian sidekick of the idiot variety right next to him, I know their foolish mentalities only too well as it relates to the Latinix.

9. Theophilius Gazerts 767 (last member of the Gazerts who can type #768 is on the way) Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 767 (last member of the Gazerts who can type #768 is on the way)

If I was Mia, one of the first thing I would do is silence Enuff.
    His explanations are very weak and usually raise more questions than answers.

10. OSA warned all and sundry about Mia
    Mia unilateral decisions now convinces me OSA was correct bringing three words to mind as stated by OSA
    Entitlement! Despot !Megalomaniac
    He also describe her as the rear end of an animal but i would hold that thought for another time
    What really grips those who opposed to her actions is how she simply takes matters into her own hand and formulates conclusions as if to think the mandate gave her the right to govern by the stroke of a single pen without accountability or transparency
    It seems that Mia respect for parliamentarian rules lies only in her respect to be entitled

11. David
    It can’t be irrelevant if it clearly provides evidence (basis) that the appointment of consultants/advisors by PMs is now the norm. Owen did, as well as Thompson. You can’t robustly assess a situation unless you acknowledge its history and how/why it emerged. My comment recognised that there is a trend (maybe even with the new LOTO) and therefore there needs to be an established framework/process for such appointments. This was the gist of my contribution and what you repeated. Furthermore, if the debate is about the spending of public funds why must the appointment of a spiritual advisor, IF BEING PAID, by the LOTO be absent from the discussion?

12. Mariposa

Well,well,well girl.You say a lot in that last post @ 8:49 a.m. and you’re making a lot of sense too.Interesting indeed.

13. @enuff

We get the trending to support continuation of the practice. The issue is whether it undermines agencies already being funded by taxpayers charged to do same and whether the systemic issue is for the government to fix the dysfunction in the system and not seek to workaround by recruiting consultants. Could it be that these consultants are given contracts as a pay off for support rendered to the political party in the campaign?

14. This is not an imagination it is a reality one which cannot be easily dismissed i am speaking about Mia unilateral decision to default on debt
    One would have thought out of decency and proper protocol within good goverence Mia would have convene a special meeting of urgency with all the parliamentarians to duscuss her plans to default on debt with a transparent discussion founded on the peoples right to know
    Say what any one like or hate of Freundel Stuart he did convene a meeting by way of television for all to see and have input on an issue much smaller when their was disagreement between govt and union
    The fact that Mia can all but shut out the public from serious economic matters and decision making that would eventually impact their livelihoods shows the level of mistrust she has for the people and her lack of respect due to the people when high level challenges tearing away at barbados social and economic enviroment ought to be tabled with in the sight of transparency and accountability

15. Freundel Stuart was rejected by the electorate in unprecedented manner, even his party members have turned on him. The fact you cite anything he has done to support your argument today shows you are firmly lodged to a flawed position, one that will not win you any support by the public.

16. Theophilius Gazerts 767 (last member of the Gazerts who can type #768 is on the way) Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 767 (last member of the Gazerts who can type #768 is on the way)

@piece
    You may made many thought provoking suggestion on this post.

a) First, allow me to applaud you for reminding readers that posting on the INTERNET is more than typing and the hitting “post now”.

Throughout the web, information is being harvested from these many submissions and some information may even lead to piercing the cloak of our anonymity. I who have nothing to hide, religiously clean my system of cookies, regularly delete my browsing history, and check my registry for ‘strange/new” entries. I have also explored the links you mentioned.

I was going to reference Cambridge Analytica, when AWTY mentioned it. I was glad to see that he did so, but I want to ask you this “Apart from AWTY, how many Bajans understand the significance of Cambridge Analytica?

And this brings me to my main point
    b) I am not a Luddite. We had a brief exchange on the use of technology in our courts. Your recent posts reinforces my opinion, that in our haste to modernize we must be aware that this is a double edge sword. Greater success may be obtained if we first exert strong controls on the main users of this system.

Your posts highlight what can happen when these technological “weapons” are directed towards the “man on the street”. Aren’t we entering the modern court of public opinion and relying on ‘court officials’ to protect us?

c )I am also seeing a common ploy employed in dictatorial nations. Where some are designated enemies of the Mugabes and then hints about their state of mind are continuously brought into the discussion

Stay strong brother.
    TheoGazerts

17. David
    It could be; but it could also be that this method enhances the fuctioning of government. I have no problem with the appointment of persons on the basis of political support during a campaign, if they are competent and add value to the functioning and performance of government (just imagine if the campaign performance is replicated in government). What if the systemic change could very well stem from the success or failure of this approach? Isn’t the call for contracted Permanent Secretaries being bandied about? What would be useful, would be a comparative analysis of government’s performance with and without consultants. I sense, however, that the “non-national” status of Jong seems the bigger focus in other court-familiar quarters.🤣🤣

18. Sir i am not a member of any party . i simply make observation on fact
    Sometimes out of respect and transparency and accountability it is necessary to give jack his jacket
    The message in my last comment is not about Freundel Stuart but a message pertaining to a lack of respect due to the people coming from this govt on matters of high level importance and economic matters
    Mia need to hire a PR experts tells how much she is prepared to control the volume high or low in dispensation to the masses
    Think on those things

19. Your argument is tired and was rejected in May. Time to reboot.

20. All ah wunna can come for me, I am not bothered 🤣🤣. Cut and paste experts, conspiracy theorists, crazies, strangers to the truth and reality, and 2008-2018 deniers. The persistent belief that I am an insider/PR, when I am far from (ask the Blogmaster) tells me a lot. I do enjoy ripping wunna part though, I must admit. The egofowl is the worst type of fowl.🤣🤣

PUDRYR: I wouldnt like to be that Kangol you gotta nyam.🖐🏾

21. lol..ya making yaself an easy target, emphasis on the easy, stay neutral.

The new government is not as free and clear from analysis as they believe they are, they are very vulnerable because of their ministers, no free pass for them, not for 5 years.

22. So is you repetitive deluision state of mind David
    Trying to move the optics away from Mia is not working.. The peoples eyes are beginning to open there is still a blurriness in their vision
    However all would become clearer in due season
    Have a nice day

23. Theophilius Gazerts 01 - The Patriarch Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 01 – The Patriarch

@Enuff
    Actually, I believe you are not a member of any party
    But you walk like a duck
    You quack like a duck
    You make duck droppings in the lobby
    And you have the heart of a duck
    To misquote “A rose by any other name is still a rose”

24. IS it because you are saying so? You should focus your energy on encouraging the DLP to get its act together. The country and the democracy needs a sensible dissenting voice. Not the partisan BS you spew daily on the blog. Opposing for its sake is not opposition.

25. Well. david If my sole voice was opposing the unilateral decisions made i would agree with your comment
    However i would not be persuaded to be distracted by your ulterior motives to move the ball in the direction of your perference

26. Interesting program on VOB featuring the youth. They have given a thumbs down to how the DLP governed the country and cited lack of communication as a big reason. One of the youth members on the panel welcome the 24/7 streaming of government events to nurture closer collaboration with the people.

27. Refreshing to listen to Simon, dubbed the 31st DLP candidate.

28. David anything which praises this govt you embrace
    David yuh yard fowl feathers are fkying all over de place
    Dont know why u so interested in the life or death of the dlp when the blp is the new manager of the country affairs

29. It is stated in the blog DLP MIA.

#ja

30. And. Yuh know what. david you are going to have five years of worrying about the dlp
    Between worrying about Mia dictatorship and the dlp interest yuh gonna have nuff belly hurt

Wish yuh a peace of mind. Not going to be easy doah

31. The worry of the BU household is to have the strength to continue to be a watchdog of our fragile democracy and governance framework. This requires a strong opposition. Unfortunately we do not have a strong parliamentary opposition at this time .

32. I am so impressed that the dlp has been giving a rest stop from politics so much impressed that it gives sufficient time to watch this dictatorship blossom and become full bloom
    DlP keep doing what you doing with mouth closed that is a democratic right
    In the meanwhile David you can stare in the clouds and keep drinking your koolaid and by the time you awake out of your drunken stupid you might have the good dam commonsense to ask how did we get here

##:::####one flew over the cuckoo nest

33. @ David,

Maybe Charles Jong can Direct some Communication to the updating of Government websites.

http://ta.gov.bb/cms/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=65&Itemid=74

34. Would love to see his job description Hants.

35. Hopefully someone will convince these Government departments of the need to maintain their websites with correct up to date information.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Mia unilateral decision to default on debt”
    This is a horse you need to dismount.
    When a doctor tells you somebody has stage 4 cancer, and their life expectancy is 4 weeks, do you expect them to live for a year? Or you display anger towards the doctor, because you felt he didn’t consult with others? You haven’t heard it from 5 doctors, and they told you some weeks before the ‘patient was doing better’. So wha happen?

The continued decline in the Barbadian Sovereign Credit rating, told all of us in the financial world that a death was imminent. Junk status, is a polite term for saying, default is not official but imminent. The lower the junk rating, the more imminent the default. If you hold debt instruments, do not expect a full and timely settlement.
    While I am all for transparency, I am unsure what you wanted the GoB to ‘discuss with the people’? Skinning local bond holders (which may still happen), does not solve the Fx problem of repaying monies in Fx, when your Fx reserves are perilously low. Rather than an official default you can try negotiating with each party, it takes time and can create animosity (and legal recourse) if one debtor feels treatment has been unequal. Default places all of them into the same basket. And buys time, and lowers expectations.
    Default is a result of 13 consecutive years of accumulating Debt, and when the servicing costs exceed your ability to meet them.
    So what would you like the GoB to discuss? That they will sell the Hilton and BNTCL for rock bottom prices and use the funds to pay down foreign loans. That the GoB will actively seek buyers for the BWA and any other asset of value, which can be used to bolster the Fx account. For what? Foreign lenders are not lending us money, whether we meet current loan terms or not. Foreign lenders have no collateral claims.
    Defaulting was not a choice. The only choice was whether it happened now or at a later date. This way we get to keep (at least for now) the few meaningful public assets we have left. I can never ‘support a default’, but for the people of Barbados this was the “best” decision.

The challenge is, you choose not to accept, the Barbados public financial condition was as bad as it is, because you felt all the less-than-positive comments were coming from people you labelled as ‘the enemy’. They were B supporters. Many were, not B as in BLP, but B as in Barbados. They saw the bandages, they heard the prescriptions, and each time the bandage got changed, the wound was worse than before.

37. Refreshing to listen to Simon, dubbed the 31st DLP candidate

Why would Peter and Paul and Mary want to listen to anything from anybody DLP anybody ?

JUST ASKING

38. Mariposa is spouting what comes out of the rear end of Bull

39. He unabashedly admitted the DLP messed up and the party has to rebuild. Yet a few partisans on BU continue to be glued to the old narrative that was and continues to be rejected by Barbadisns.

40. Spouting what comes out of rear ends is nothing new to Mariposa . The Sewage situation saw DEM spouting the Brown stuff all over the place. Past masters in spouting what comes out of rear ends
    DEMS THEN ; DEMS NEVER EVER AGAIN

41. The DLP is a blighted Party . Dem blight Barbados from 1971- 76 period when they went against the Church and God’s Servants. An exorcism of the DLP from the political landscape is the only atonement and every time foolish people vote for Dem the result is the same. The party is cursed and if you vote for Dem , you will be punished everytime. If Simon is too Blind to see that, it is a waste of time engaging him.. People in Barbados must wake up and get conscious. Look at the pattern from 1971 -2018 and see that the DLP is a blighted cursed party . whether you believe it ot not. The DLP is better left on the Dump Heap. St. John people have come of age ; all Barbados do likewise –and they did –30 LOVE

DEMS THEN; DEMS NEVER EVER AGAIN

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You made two comments that have stunned me

The first one was “…Could it be that these consultants are given contracts as a pay off for support rendered to the political party in the campaign?..”

And the second one was

“…Would love to see his job description Hants…”

Both comments are quite controversial and lead fe ole man to believe that there are at least 3 people in the BORG.

You, the real David, who comes to BU sometimes.

And the other two who are much younger than you but who have more time to spend on the blog.

As per both of these questions Enuff of Lorenzo will not respond to either.

And then you speak about no opposition and I start to speculate about BU and the fact the you sometimes can throw some serious punches EVEN at Mia

43. Piece

Agree with you @ 3:53 p.m.

There is one of the personality of David/BU that I find quite reasonable, likeable and more sound in SOME of their positions.

Then there are some other posts which are just as gobble-gook as some of Mariposa’s posts.So often time its the BU pot calling the Mariposa’s kettle black.

The pettiness and the insults and the constant defence of Mia no matter what – I have begun to attribute to the other incarnations of David/BU.

Nuff to give yuh whiplash – with the different directions they come from ha ha.

44. Piece I had decided not to respond any further to you but since you keep raising my name with Enuff who have firmly put you in your place as suffering from egofowlism,i will finally say to you.Keep putting up straw men with suppose this and that all will be knocked down with facts,therefore you will oppose for the sake of opposing for five years and 90 days,or more.Finally you need to put down the crack pipe,or what ever it is you smoking before you lose your senses all together in my opinion.I done with you,capice.

45. What you lot in Bellville need to agree on is what cause the shellacking at the polls on 24 May 2018. Dont worry your bald head what the blogmaster is up to.

46. Oh ok,thats the other one speaking.

47. Try all you want to trivialize what the blogmaster does, you lot need to get your disorganize act together.

48. The DLP should spend the next 2 years preparing a new slate of candidates.

None of those who lost in the last election should face the electorate again.

The organizational structure of the party can be used as a foundation.

I am a legacy DLP supporter as I have stated a few times on this blog.

49. JUST ASKING Predicted right here on BU that the DLP would lose 30- 0
    JUST ASKING advised that St. John could be taken when others poo paa the assertion
    JUST ASKING is saying that the DLP is a blight and should be exorcised from the political landscape of Barbados. Ignore JUST ASKING and you go Feel it.
    JUST ASKING noted the Strong winds that were blowing JUST before the Election and saw that as a sign
    When JUST ASKING saw the man fall of the Truck………and
    When JUST ASKING heard that eventual nasty meeting and heard and saw where the platform was set up. JUST ASKING saw them things as signs of the times
    If Donville had stopped Stuart , Stuart would not be able to stop he from lunchtime lecture or nothing so. Donville wanted to be leader of the Opposition and thought that he would have won his seat even if the Dems lost but if the Eager 11 had gone through with the plan , there was more of a chance that the Dems would have saved a seat . Donville know that the Dems were losing but he thought that the Opposition Leader salary was coming to him but if he had gone to the GG before the election and decalre that he had the majority support in the House he would have stand a better chance. Its Over ! Scatter the ashes of the Fatted Calf -It Done ! There comes a time

Listen to JUST ASKING ; Listen and heed.
    DEMS THEN ; DEMS NEVER EVER AGAIN

50. What was interesting about the discussion on radio this morning was the observation the BLP planned for the May election years in advance. The rubbing shoulders campaign, the communication strategy on social media, the configuration of the ministries etc. It has not happen by accident.

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply