Submitted by Doc Martin
Congratulations to Ms. Mia Mottley, Prime Minister and to the BLP on their victory in the 2018 elections. As other commentators elsewhere have stated, democracy is alive and well in Barbados.
Well, the operation to remove the Freundel Stuart led DLP government has been successful but the patient has suffered complications and so an amputation was necessary to remove opposition to the flow of blood. At least that is the imagery that came to mind when CBC showed us for a few fleeting seconds, a red Barbados, after it was clear that the BLP has made a clean sweep of the election.
A much subdued Freundel Stuart, in the wee hours of Friday morning, conceded defeat but, as some commentators observed, was not gracious enough to mention the incoming PM by name.
Ms. Mottley is credited with saying that she was going to make history but I doubt even she had more than winning the election and being the first female Prime Minister of Barbados in mind when she said that. She certainly may not have had in mind a clean sweep of all thirty seats, including the St. John constituency, which for the first time in about 60 years, has fallen into BLP hands.
For weeks and months to come, pundits and analysts will ponder the complete “redwash” of the DLP and many hours will be spent analyzing the mistakes made and the lessons to be learned. While the dust is still settling, I wish to offer summary comments on three matters: [1] the defeat of the DEMS, [2] the absence of an opposition and [3] the need for a system of PR (proportional representation) to replace the current system of FPTP (first-past-the-post).
Defeat of the Dems
The defeat of the DEMS can be attributed to several forces, one positive, several negative.
On the one hand, the BLP must be credited for executing a very cleverly integrated marketing campaign that addressed the strategic marketing issues of stakeholder research need analysis, product configuration, positioning, segmentation, promotion and messaging. I have explained how some of these apply to political marketing elsewhere in this blog. As a marketing professional myself, I must also complement the BLP for sheer brilliance in using both traditional and digital media.
The “negative” force is threefold:
-
The failure of the DLP to do as well on marketing as the BLP. Too much of their manifesto, for example, focused on philosophy and the distant past. I have long ago said that Barrow and Tom Adams are no longer relevant to everyday life in Barbados. But the presence of at least two historians in the DLP just will not let the ghost of Barrow rest. Presumably the people of St. John have now exorcised his ghost!
-
Their failure to recognize the hazards of the ‘martyr complex’ which they induced in the electorate on behalf of Ms. Mottely through their communications strategy. Ms. Mottely cemented the martyr complex when she declared, “I have a broad back”. Elsewhere it is known as turning the other cheek, something Mr. Stuart should have done himself. It is a pity that he is not half as good at psychology as he is at history! The DLP started their campaign with the obvious goal of demonizing MAM, presumably in retaliation for her demonizing of the PM. This and their bad timing of the Mottley “tax waiver” bombshell, did not do them much good. When it was dropped, I remarked that the “tax waiver” bombshell was dropped too early. Had the DLP dropped the bombshell say, on the Tuesday before the election, they might have had a more lasting impact on the electorate and pressured the Mottley-BLP campaign. So another of their errors is that they forgot that most Bajans have short memories!
-
Finally, the association of the DLP brand with the spent and vindictive force of Owen Arthur served to cement Ms. Mottely’s victimhood and seal the DLPs fate. So, even though defending their policies was going to be a hard sell, the DLP, in fact, committed political suicide, although they had been holding the noose around their necks long before the election.
Opposition Dead
The second issue that has emerged from this election is the “death” of the parliamentary opposition. This means that the BLP, with an absolute majority can theoretically “do anything it wants”. As if in recognition of this, Ms. Mottley promised, in her acceptance speech early this morning, to consult all stakeholders and even hold referenda on crucial topics.
Notwithstanding her promises, the Barbadian population, in its overreaction to the DLP malfeasances, has unwittingly robbed the parliament of a lawful opposition to prosecute the business of those who did not endorse the BLP and, who are, therefore, in the minority. This means that the third parties which have not won a seat (as well as the population as a whole), must now be the surrogate opposition. So that far from being demolished, these third parties now have a responsibility to be the best extra-parliamentary opposition they can be.
Proportional Representation
In her concession speech, the leader of the UPP has suggested a system of proportional representation (PR), something I have been trumpeting on this blog since the start of this election. As should be now clear, had there been such a system in place, the DLP would have gotten some of the seats and we would have a formal opposition. Without the benefit of the final overall distribution of votes, I cannot say whether any of the third parties might have secured any of the seats because, in most PR systems, there is a minimum threshold of votes a party must obtain to be eligible for seats in parliament.
The first order of business then is for the “extra-parliamentary” opposition and all right-thinking members of society, to call, sooner rather than later, for a referendum (if that is the appropriate mechanism) on a change from the FPTP system to one of proportional representation. Ms. Mottley certainly has the votes to make such a constitutional change and therefore, her handling of such a request would tell us her true intentions for the Barbados which she claims she will be putting first.
In the meantime, all I can say is: “Barbados, looka wuh yuh gone and do!”
Good article over all.
However, if there was indeed “proportional representation” the DLP would still have won no seats, simply because they did not even win a single box!
In fact if a “box to box” analysis is done, it would be seen that generally, the BLP won nearly every box by 2:1; 3:1 and even 5or6:1 margins.
We are never in the business of congratulating political parties or contenders.
For once we do, we may then find something to criticize them for.
That has the propensity to invite certain types of claims.
We prefer to keep our eyes firmly focused on what they do, with distrustfulness.
Even when they do something right.
Why would we be congratulating people who come with questionable proposals
Respect for the will of the people cannot mean acceptance of mass appeal political tricks. As has happened many times before.
This may very well be a large con game bought into by a hapless population.
We opt to suspend judgement until better is more known.
The result is simply the outcome of TEN years of economic slavery, outselling, prostitution towards COW and Baloney, potholes, drug crimes, public executions, 2X downgrades, highest debt in the Caribbean, zero growth and – I guess – 100 new taxes.
There has been no bigger threat in Barbadian history than Chris Sinckler, the uncrowned Kingpin of Black Rock. No plantation owner, no slave master, no Nelson sabotaged the black aspiration of becoming a developed country and the dream of a better future more than him.
Shame on you, Kingpin! I would not wonder if COW and Baloney adopt him as a “white man honoris causa” for obvious reasons.
Mia promised to release the IMF Article IV Report today the DLP held from the public, where is it anyone?
We are also not at all certain that the ‘parliamentary opposition’ is at all dead
Maybe comatose, but not dead.
We project that issues within the BLP will sooner or later find ways to elevate an official opposition.
Not that political death is unknown or unwelcomed within a duopoly but it’s best to have two die at once.
In duopoly, one party can’t exist without the other.
Maybe, one of the newer parties will step forward with an interesting idea.
And that we still escape the official one party state, we are hardly persuaded that the current status quo will exist for long.
For the office of leader of the opposition is too alluring to remain empty for long.
Such may even relieve unnecessary pressures on MAM to feed all 30 on her side.
@Pacha
Isn’t it the philosophy of some kind that acts as impetus to make the political party relevant and in the process sustain itself in the minds of the citizenry? Even if the BLP creates the inevitable issue arising from a large backbench how does an issue of the BLP’s making address the root of the governance challenge in play?
This a woman who sat idly by and knew 187million was given to her father right under the nose of an opposition and said nothingb
Cant begin to imagine what she would now do with taxpayers monies without an opposition voice to reign her in
#:##another story taken from the trump play book
@ Tron
You said and the ole man quoteth
“…The result is simply the outcome of TEN years of economic slavery, outselling, prostitution towards COW and Baloney, potholes, drug crimes, public executions, 2X downgrades, highest debt in the Caribbean, zero growth and – I guess – 100 new taxes…”
And therein you are 100% correct
All this balarney bout segmenting positioning and marketing ent got anything to do with why de DLP lose
If I can’t buy food fuh my pickney dem…if me church demanding more tithes to support me bredren and sisteren if we chilrun missing days from school cause dem ent got no bus fare or even doah de buses free dere is no buses…effen I got to buy toilet paper for me family in de horspital to wipe dem botsie and if all uh dat is becausing Mr Chris Stinkliar and Darcy Bigheadboy Buyce and Fumbles effing up de cvntry …you feel dat all dat ingrunce bout segmenting matter?
T shirts wid “Mia cares” and some images of “Lashes” in he Mercedes or any of the rest of them fat like pig and whaplax… my 15 second attention span electorate going vote out anyone
Steupseee…people love to strike a feller private parts with a steel brush while telling we “this is our most delicate debriefing machine For your skin problem…”
But de ole man going lef dis alone causing heheheheh I going watch and see…..
@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here
Today you are worthy of a knighthood!
Well observed.
The answer it that it does not. We look at these matters from two levels.
First, at the practical. Secondly, at what we would like to see in the best of worlds.
This is about what maybe possible in the short term to re-establish perceptions of political balance within the system, no more.
@Pacha
Coming from someone who is not an admirer of the monarchy should the above be accepted as a compliment?
To your substantive point, how does the population unpack and implement the aspirational world you have described?
Yes, we have been here before.
When I studied Political Thought 101 and 303 we had come to the conclusion that the purpose of the first past the poll system had a higher probability of electing an effective government than the proportional system. And moreover ,that it lent itself to political stability, an essential ingredient to a fair and just society. No sane person prefers to live in a society where the policies set today can be overturned tomorrow and the GOB cannot put into effect policies on which it was elected.
The current election result provides an opportunity for creativity in ensuring that diverse and contrary views are ventilated and accommodated after a free and fair election. The PM has put on the table some interesting suggestions for accommodating dissenting views.
@Bernard
Please forgive if this is a facile inquiry- how does one conclude that an effective government is determined more with a fist past the poll system versus proportional? Bear in mind the representative does not have to wave predetermined qualifications for the job.
@ Mariposa
You really are a real serious really bad word though!
You saw what you wrote?
Before you hit post comment?
“…This a woman who sat idly by and knew 187million was given to her father right under the nose of an opposition …”
Are you a chvnt?
Is your comment meant to be an aspersions?
You understand that the DLP (the demons who are going to be in the doldrums for 25 years) WAS THE EFFING OPPOSITION YOU INCLUDED IN YOUR ASPERSIONS?
Do you understand who is being simultaneously indicted by your remark?
Then your supremely ingrunt self went on to say some chvnt bout “Cant begin to imagine what she would now do… without an opposition voice …”
You comprehend that even your mention of the absence of a RH opposition IN THE FACE OF A RESOUNDING DEFEAT OF “30 to not one effing seat” do you understand how stupid it looks and how it reflects on the DLP?
I told you a long time ago to keep way from big people conversations because you have embarrassed the DLP
You now are seeking to make it extinct with your idiotic commentary
Stop blogging for at least 2 weeks
Let things subside dufus
#:##
As attorney general Dale Marshall will have to be watched very closely, no letting up on him, no allowing him free rein to continue his house negro practices..
Listen ole man i made my point could not care less how you intrepret my comments.
As the weeks and months go by mamy would begin to see the similarities of yardfowl patriotism towards Mia which are indeed similar to the yardfowl supporters of Trump for them no wrong can be was done.
Trump says he pay no taxes .Mia hids behind the cloak of secrecy and evades the question of whether she had any knoweldge of her father 100million waiver of taxes .
Sound familiar ole man so dont even bother yourself schooling me about ethics or what i said
“The current election result provides an opportunity for creativity in ensuring that diverse and contrary views are ventilated and accommodated after a free and fair election. The PM has put on the table some interesting suggestions for accommodating dissenting views.”——–
@Bernard, in truth there is no need for lots of “creativity”…just a tad. The mechanism are already in place for this democratically elected govt to display what democracy means by ensuring that there are purposeful checks and balances to accord ‘controlling’ voices.
There is no opposition leader in the House to form a PAC committee for example but there is a overflowing back bench. Is it creative to select one of your most ardent naysaying colleagues to form a PAC (style group) with the unequivocal mandate to be the voice of the dissent and hold the feet of the govt to the fire….or is that a crucial step that a wise leader would implement to manage a very too large team!
This is a situation where the intent of the leader and key acolytes will determine the way forward….we can suffer success of a Lee Kuan Yew full control style or move further down the path to despair of a Forbes Burnham control style because in effect Ms Mottley is totally large and in charge as they effectively were.
@Pieces, I can agree that the abysmal tenure of the DLP was the main reason for this thrashing , however as a professional in the field in these your very senior years you cannot dismiss the impact of the awesome impact social media/slick integrated marketing yet played in the comprehensive destruction.
Grenville’s take on the election outcome was a little lengthy, but they got some votes, it will be interesting to know how many votes UPP accumulated, they can become viable opposition parties..
I”s there a silver lining for Solutions Barbados? We think that there is. Most Solutions Barbados candidates were publicly revealed less than one year ago, and two of them were revealed to the public on Nomination Day. Yet, we were able to secure approximately 4,000 votes because of our policies. While this is comparatively small, it is significantly higher than just friends and family. To have kept approximately 4,000 leaves on a tree during a Category 5 hurricane is a silver lining.”
Well written Doc.
Just observing
@ David at 3 :27 PM
In the current system if the party’s candidate gets the greater number of votes in a constituency , he is the elected representative. If this pattern is replicated in all 30 constituencies that party gets all 30 seats.
In the proportionate system the seats are allocated according to the fraction of the national votes cast for each party. For example if two political parties received 48% and 52% respectively of national votes cast the total number of seats would be divided accordingly. There will be few measures that will be passed if the political climate is adversarial.
The problem is compounded if the number of political parties are more than two. We then move into coalition governments. History records that this leads to frequent changes in government and consequential economic and social uncertainty. Humans abhor the latter.
“I told you a long time ago to keep way from big people conversations because you have embarrassed the DLP
You now are seeking to make it extinct with your idiotic commentary
Stop blogging for at least 2 weeks
Let things subside dufus”
lol..ac yardfowl now without a yard has not slept yet, am sure neither have the clowns who got kicked to the curb, her brainless masters …
..as long as she don’t sleep, she will haunt the blog and torment herself espousing rubbish, lol, lol
Piece…the yardfowls are now homeless, look out for more of them joining the forum when they start to recover..
Since the D’s will be reflecting, here is another piece of Bajan folk wisdom for them to contemplate:
“Hard Ears Ya Won’t Hear, Own Way Ya Will Feel”
Effective government in the context in which I used it refers to the ability to past measures swiftly and efficiently.
@DPD
Is it creative to select one of your most ardent naysaying colleagues to form a PAC (style group) with the unequivocal mandate to be the voice of the dissent and hold the feet of the govt to the fire….or is that a crucial step that a wise leader would implement to manage a very too large team!
++++++++++++
Don’t hold your breath that has never been the norm in Barbados and it aint going to start now, I can see a Devin Nunes kind of appointee a kind of fox guarding the henhouse. The PAC has never been effective anyway, could you give me one example of it achieving anything.
Its amusing that people would call for proportional representation to a Party that swept the board, usually that call is made by Opposition parties whose votes don’t reflect the seats won. The country has been here before with lopsided wins by both BLP and DLP, the difference is that the DLP has been shut out so there is no one to carry the mantle in the H of A.
Interesting times ahead.
@DocMartin, you have presented several debate worthy points and I’ll take you up on this one : “I have long ago said that Barrow and Tom Adams are no longer relevant to everyday life in Barbados. But the presence of at least two historians in the DLP just will not let the ghost of Barrow rest. Presumably the people of St. John have now exorcised his ghost!”
It’s vital for the DLP and BLP to ensure that the founding fathers or outstanding leaders of their party are forever beacons to the current generation thus I cant perceive why you would want or expect the party machinery to overly minimize the continued relevance of EWB or JMGM, .
It’s is incongruous for the Republican party not to pull on Lincoln’s coattails or Reagan’s yet they are both irrelevant to everyday life in US in the same context you highlight for us.
The simple fact is that the message and political ethos of those figures is often very very relevant to our currency of life and to be strongly reminded of that is to our benefit (and the party)….the problem is that the current leaders often only pay lip service to their names as current pols have long lost their sense of focus and political character.
The Barrow mystique with St John residents is a well worn story. I think it’s fair to say they were so enamoured of the prowess of the man that they were simply awed that this ‘great man’ represented them. They foresaw saw a similiar partnership with Thompson but realistically that mystique was lost after CLICO and surely cast asunder when his wife took over.
Barrow’s ghost should never be exorcised, nor that of Wynter Crawford nor Grantley Adams among others … regardless of party affiliation these are stalwars of our nation and the foundations they laid will always be relevant…
… of that every generation needs to be reminded!
Amazing that the DLP partisans who have never displayed any interest in propotional representation, are now calling for such.
A simple question:
Why?
@PROF LEC
“Good article over all.
However, if there was indeed “proportional representation” the DLP would still have won no seats, simply because they did not even win a single box!
In fact if a “box to box” analysis is done, it would be seen that generally, the BLP won nearly every box by 2:1; 3:1 and even 5or6:1 margins.”
Google proportional representation… You are confused
Congratulations Mia
30-0 gives you an opportunity to put your name solidly in the history books.
Make good use of it and you can become the mother/father of the nation.
Do not be seduce by power.
Put Barbados first and you will do well.
Good luck.
God bless.
As someone not aligned with either of the two parties the answer to why is probably absolute power corrupting absolutely. Celebrations of unchecked power today can easily turn to tears tomorrow. The one saving grace is we live an era of social media.
I see there are others beside me who believe that this 30-0 can go in either direction.
Give her your support and a fair chance.
Let’s pray for the nation.
May the good Lord give Mia a steady hand and the right sense of direction.
@ The Ingrunt Word aka DPD
“… the impact of the awesome impact social media/slick integrated marketing yet played in the comprehensive destruction….”
I am not gainsaying the impact of the tools DIW
What I am saying is this.
A house is on fire and its OCCUPANTS are screaming for help as flames extend from every window and door.
A fire brigade arrives at the scene and incredulously when the insurers come to effect their investigations as to the cause of and damage from the fire, nary an investigator seeks to interview the occupants nor do the even focus on the damage and the contributory factors.
No siree dem starts with an exhaustive description of the shiny fire brigade truck that extinguished the fire.
And thereafter everyone who is in hearing distance of the news start asking questions about the source of the truck and the hue of red in its colour.
Again de ole man repeats that it was the endemic hardships that were the crux of this 30-0 outcome
De ole man would be foremost I would think to be talking bout the Fredrick don’t you think?
Agree with your assessment PUDRYR.
The big difference between Stuart an Mottley is that she is plugged in to the social media world. The same applied to Thompson although he got sidetracked- incompetence and proclativity for graft came into play.
Social media platform is here to stay it must be said, it will evolve with time does everything, the blogmaster remains amused at comments from some senior managers of traditional media and other commentators who continue to resist the revolution. The traditional operating model of media must change to embrace social media or die. Advertisers of today do not see the benefit of expending large dollars on an old fashion media plan to support product offerings. The longer they resist the more the mandate of the fourth estate will be compromised. Given yesterday’s result we need media to be unrelenting and accurate in its delivery of news and information.
Mia is counted on BU Facebook friend’s list, Instagram etc, so too Donville and a few others. Not so Freundel who disregarded the digital channel during his tormented tenure. Many will be surprised to know the CCJ follows BU Twitter feed.
Change or die!
It only hit me today that there will be no Opposition members to chair the Public Accounts Committee.
There will have to be constitutional changes to provide this oversight.
I muted my TV when Freundel was speaking this morning but read his comments in today’s paper when he said that the Opposition has to appoint two persons for the Senate and he wonders how that will happen with no Opposition…………imagine that!
He took his party to the cleaners by his lack of leadership and like he told OSA when he had power that he is a lonely man without freinds……..(didn’t he had a sharp cutting tongue?)……..well look at him early this morning……….practically all alone at George Street, accept for his side kick, Mr LEC…….
The lesson for all who hold power…….be careful how you wield it…..you wont always have it and the very thought jolts you back to reality.
Not a word yet from any of the losing morons……….Leroy McClean defined Freundel Stuart leadership and his weak ministers best today……….cowards wont even face the people who voted for them to say thank you…………ungrateful RH’s!
@Prodigal Girl
A constitutional crisis looms and as important is that contrary to the media hype yesterday it was a low voter turnout. The voter apathy is on the rise. This is where a new dawn is required to energise and infuse the majority population to want to participate in our democracy.
https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10160483326160302&id=687960301&set=a.10150303245195302.558954.687960301&refid=12&tn=EH
@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item
“.well look at him early this morning……….practically all alone at George Street, accept for his side kick, Mr LEC……”
As one of my family members said, most of the exministers were practically broke when Thompson was elected in 2008, they are now most if not all projecting themselves to be millionaires after 10 years of infesting the parliament, after last night’s humiliation at the hands-off the population they humiliated, disrespected and insulted, they can now take comfort in their new found wealth, hug their millions and cry…lol
And there is always their minority masters still slithering around in the society whom the exministers all enriched at taxpayer’s and pensioners expense, if they feel lonely and want company, they could attempt to go to cow, bizzy, maloney, bjerkham, tempro et al for comfort, providing any of the parasitic minorities will take their calls, recognize them or speak to those losers and sell outs for exministers if they see them anywhere or on the streets.
stupid black men with too much pretentious power, will never learn.
Being said this video is of a bajan in Canada after hearing about DLP destruction at the hands of the electorate.
https://www.facebook.com/cherita.odell/videos/10156509624137028/?t=9
The BLP had 10 members in parliament for 5 years till 2013 and 14 members in parliament for the last 5 years.
The BLP is more than capable of dealing with this”constitutional crisis” if they want to.
They have a lot of experienced lawyers to advise them.
Congratulations Mia Amor Mottley,you truly deserve it ,after all the cussing and disrespect show to you by Mr Blackett,,Mr Sinckler ,Dr Estwick,and the PM,and where are they now?The public showed them who has the real power.I wonder where is Fractured J/A,to shame to show his face ,well I hope Ms Mottley finds out who he is and deal with his nasty lying mouth,to suit along with others like SSS and bush Tea,making them pay for their mouth.The biggest task would be dealing with CBC,who were blatantly partisan against the BLP,on TV and on Talk ya Talk with the three Dem moderators,especially Ms Holder who was calling for God for guidance,i hope that is the last to be heard of her at CBC,good riddance.I wonder how the TriniDem feels today that no one took her ranting and raving against Ms Mottley seriously,did not hear the hyprocrite today on Brasstacks ,nor the Returning national,Arthur or Straker,s tenantry too ashamed I guess.Anyway good luck to you Ms Mottley,as what is for you you will eventually get.
@Lorenzo
Let us sheaf the long knives, heed Mia’s advice read no gloating. Time to harness the expertise and will of the citizenry for the nation’s benefit.
It is being said that the voters list is in dire need of cleansing……….the last census was conducted twenty years ago.
So those who actually voted may not be an accurate % of those on the list. A lot dead people and many living overseas are still on the list……….as evidence by a voice not that was circulating yesterday where a man spotted his dad’s name crossed off and when he asked, the clerk said that it is crossed off because he had already voted………..the man told her that he was his son and he has been dead for 14 years and another young lady was on VOB saying that she was not but her uncle who has not lived here for ions was still on the list,
Over 250,000 electors dont seem right in our country.
@Prodigal Son
Agree the list needs work. The enumeration falls under whose preview? That said, successive governments have to take collective responsibility for this important matter which underpins the system of governance. The voters list increased slightly year over year, which still leaves a big question about the low voter turnout not withstanding the bloated list. So many of our institutions and processes are obsolete and irrelevant it seems. There is a lot of work to be done.
@ David,
Is he happy the DLP lost or is he happy the BLP won. Maybe his family are white shadows of the BLP.
The BLP has a clean slate to deal with all the problems left by the DLP.
Celebrate over the weekend and get to work on Tuesday.
They will need Monday to get rid of the hangovers..
Well…now that the electorate got the lust for political blood thanks to DLP, either way, it can and will happen again given the same government practices of disrespect, disenfranchisement and corruption all directed at the majority citizens..
… it has already happened twice in Grenada, no opposition seats for processor governments…a lesson to never take the electorate for granted.
it can happen every 5 years with a pissed off electorate…who has the taste for political blood..
no opposition seats for predecessor governments
Mia did promise reforms at her 2017 party conference.
She has the numbers to do all that is required……….a census in three years time well ahead of the next poll……….the EBC falls under the PM’s portfolio.
Now is the time to change to a Republic……….I am tired of hearing our leaders swearing allegiance to the Queen and her heirs.
In need somebody to clean the water tank in my local residence. However, I regularly use high loads of biocide and lots of chlorine to kill bugs, so it is a bit dangerous … I have also to offer jobs as gardeners and so on for 1 USD per hour. Working time is from Monday to Saturday 6 AM to 6 PM.
Maybe Alvin, Fractured or Carson want a job. Feel free to apply.
@Prodigal Son May 25, 2018 8:28 PM
Me too. No more crooked QC or KC, no more Sirs, badges, British crosses.
Given the Windrush scandal and the disgraceful british acts against Caribbean born people who were known for centuries as british property, then british subjects, they and their ancestors both, it would take a special species of unconscious and mentally enslaved leaders not to recognize that all the fraudulent allegiance to those who hate you must be severed permanently…to continue the clear self abuse would continue to show up our own lack of self worth, lack of self confidence, lack of self respect and lack of independent thought…once again embarrassing the islands’ populations..and keeping them and future generations of Caribbean people mentally dumbed down as was intended.
Even the British are tired of the centuries old fraudulent monarchy, it has become a major embarrassment to humanity and human rights.
Read this:
https://www.economist.com/the-americas/2018/05/24/barbadoss-mucky-election
Serious indictment on the former Fruendel government in that link …Tron
Mia is left to clean up that really bad image of the island on the world stage…and that includes the sewage mess left by Fruendel…
That should be the only focus of the new government, along with creating a thriving economy, progress, productivity and enrichment of the majority population..
@David May 25, 2018 3:27 PM
++@Bernard
Please forgive if this is a facile inquiry- how does one conclude that an effective government is determined more with a fist (sic) past the poll system versus proportional? Bear in mind the representative does not have to wave predetermined qualifications for the job.++
Good question David; a veritable academic can of worms! For starters, one has to ask: what exactly is the dependent variable, in this case “effective government”? How does one measure that?
Academics can “prove” almost anything, especially in the social sciences. All you have to do is justify your hypothesis (assumption), for example, using Ranks method of persuasion or obtain some supporting case studies or produce statistics. After a point, “academic enquiry” in the social sciences becomes more about form (=methodology) than substance (=fact).
So, would Bernard care to provide some supporting references?
@de pedantic Dribbler: May 25, 2018 4:37 PM
+++@Pieces, I can agree that the abysmal tenure of the DLP was the main reason for this thrashing , however as a professional in the field in these your very senior years you cannot dismiss the impact of the awesome impact social media/slick integrated marketing yet played in the comprehensive destruction.+++
Agreed! The absence of an effective campaign might have given rise to more abstentions from the poll; more voter apathy. The BLP’s campaign motivated people, especially the youth, to vote (=the purchase decision in marketing). This is the ultimate purpose of good marketing; to get the sale!
@David May 25, 2018 2:29 PM
++Mia promised to release the IMF Article IV Report today the DLP held from the public, where is it anyone?++
I quoted from the Article IV reports in my article entitled: The Barbados Economy and Voter Choice. https://barbadosunderground.net/?s=Barbados+Economy+and+Voter+Choice
IMF Article IV Reports for any country are always available online. The latest one for Barbados is 2017 (I assume this is the one to which she is referring) and is available at the link below. This appears to be a preliminary report so the Government may have the final one.
https://www.imf.org/en/News/Articles/2018/01/30/pr1833-imf-executive-board-concludes-2017-article-iv-consultation-with-barbados
The interested reader should compare those of 2015 and 2016 from the same source.
@Doc Martin
Thanks, the links you provided are to IMF Executive reports. It is the detailed staff report the outgoing government refused to release. It gives more detail. Check latest blog.
@ Well, Well May 25, 2018 9:23 PM
Let us pump all the sewage to:
Kennington, George Street, Belleville,St. Michael, Barbados
It is time to stop this strange Barrow-cult. Let us erase his face from the bank notes and let us delete him from the list of national heroes.
How can a man be a national hero who founded the DLP? Just asking a question.
@ Tron
You asked and I quote
“…How can a man be a national hero who founded the DLP?”
In all fairness to founders or inventors you question is like asking how can one ascribe any honour to the tireless campaigners for freedom or the discoverers of some medical or scientific solution cause a fellow subsequently abuses that item
This is why bajans say “…such and such a person must be turning over in their grave…”
Whu dat would mean that a feller who invents a knife to cut meat must be condemned to death cause one uh dem ingrunt volatile murderers we got in Barbados used dat meat knife and stab up he girlfriend or wife in a moment of passion
Tron…really wish they would stop copying the hero worshipping of long deceased politicians, from other countries, showing respect to their contributions in whatever form is one thing, but the destructive hero worship used as a tool to trap the minds of a vulnerable population into still voting for decades ago deceased prime ministers and politicians gotta go, it is counterproductive to progress and future movements, a stagnating force.
Even better, redirect the sewage flow to the homes of all the exministers who are now private citizens, see how they like that.
As I rose this morning de ole man gave thanks to the Almighty God for my sentience.
The shell is challenged BUT my mind and spirit are still embued with His Hope.
So I wondered what other thing I might do to honour Him in the time which remains
“…For e-participation to blossom, governments should do more to promote citizens’ demand for e-government, bridge the digital divide, and promote more open and transparent government…” sourced from the internet from a Participatory Democracy initiative
As I continue to be seized with the errant hope that BAJANS must improve our circumstances I wondered how best we, a subsection of the Fourth Estate, can ramp up the impact of our collective contributions
Dr GP from time to time admonishes us for congregating uselessly? In this cyber RumShop but a serious examination of our actions here puts what he says on the pedestal it deserves
Let me explain
The Honourable Blogmaster and family maintain this blog AND HAVE done so for years
What if he passes tomorrow? Or what if AG Dale Marshall renews attempts to close down BU, what then?
What happens to the many worthwhile ideas? In fact what happens with the e-participatory democracy thrust that we are barely scraping?
So what if, instead of ambitiously pursuing a Transparency International designation BU, or some derivative thereof, sought to champion Barbados first e-participatory democracy gateway?
A place where citizens can come to submit and debate national topics
The thing is that whereas 18 years ago when said topic might have been first floated, that might have been an innovation but at today, there is nothing new about the idea and many functioning robust and tested models are available for replication
“E-services are a tangible output of e-government, which help to effectively manage the interaction between the state and its citizens. E-Governance Academy helps governments develop state e-services built on experience gained in Estonia and abroad…”
We need to bump up the volume of the RumShop else we lose our relevance, like the Democratic Labour Party, against whom some of us have campaigned so successfully and who have been shelved for 25 years
@PUDRYR
Tell us more, the blogmaster is prepared to work with all and sundry to updting within the constraints we have to operate. MAM has seen the error of her ways regarding social media, she is no fool. Agree you however that we need to grow our position to more effectively increase advocacy..
555…and then some..lol
@ Piece & David
So what if, instead of ambitiously pursuing a Transparency International designation BU, or some derivative thereof, sought to champion Barbados first e-participatory democracy gateway?
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Typical Bajans we are….
Don’t you see that BU already does that? You mind GP?
BU has been a MOUNTAIN of strength to the concept of education and democracy in Barbados over the past decade.
David has been an innovator of ‘Bill Gates proportions’… and has done it with a degree of CLASS and professionalism that rivals Obama’s two terms in office.
What we need to do is;
– RECOGNISE the value of what we have
– Take steps to ensure its continuity
– and continue to pioneer NEW avenues of public education and democracy.
Bushie some time ago proposed that David launch a “Public Review and ratings” section on BU – where the public can rate the quality of all kinds of Public Services.
This is now common on eBay, Amazon and all serious eSales platforms…. including our own tourism plant.
Anyone who understands the POWER OF INFLUENCE that such ratings DO HAVE on the operations of these entities will immediately see the potential IMPACT on public service standards…. (just access service in one of our top hotels to experience the impact…)
This approach is WAY PAST the now dated ISO9001 concept….
….and the software technology is easily available.
Bushie recommends David /BU as the first national Hero under a Republic.
Come on David – Find a way to access public funding nuh….
🙂
Mr Blogmaster, one person put it this way:”…what constitutes “high turnout” depends very much on which country you’re looking at and which measuring stick you use.”
Bdos voter turnout based on the ECBs data does put us in the lower half when compared to folks in Antigua 90%, Belize 72%, Jamaica 48% (arbitrary recent elections chosen) etc.
However, our 63 percentile involvement still allowed Bajans to make a very expressive political statement in 1999 (2 DLP seats only). Accordingly, in 1986 when only 3 BLP politicians where elected the ECB detailed that there was a 77% turnout.
Contrasted to 1971 when supposedly 82% of registered voters came out to vote we really have not done badly in having our voice heard!
Why have we fallen by almost 10 points from an average of around 76% turnout between elections from ’71 to ’86 is a question the social scientists can define. However, its clear that a sizable majority of Bajans are engaged enough in the political process to shout loudly when needed: We dun wid you!
Incidentally the voter list had an amazing increase between Barrow’s win in ’71 and his defeat in ’76 when it jumped 17% points. But amazing is based only on a comparison to the following periods where the growth in the registered voter numbers was around a 7% change cycle over cycle except for one period when it saw a decline.
So to say it another way : the impact of a high or low voter turnout to major election change is always the focus of the voters and not on arbitrary % ratios!
@Dee Word
We have a couple issues to consider. There is the need for the bloated voters list to be culled. More important, there is a more pressing need to have leaders emerge with a captivating and compelling message that will energize the population. A successful country will be achieved if the majority of people are in a ‘good’ place between the ears. The apathy is thick!
I shall try my best since i have a little knowledge of using the little that one has to attempt to do the seeming impossible.
Recently I made a commendation of what you do here at BU and a feller accused me of badword licking.
Few here realize what you contend with on a minute by minute basis and fewer understand that this challenge that you face is not only specific to you but is a global phenomena.
An internet excerpt follows “…Government-sanctioned attacks against activists, journalists, and opposition politicians who expose corruption and abuse in repressive regimes are on the rise, according to a new report on internet freedom released Tuesday by an American pro-democracy group…Freedom House [which] detected cyberattacks against regime critics in 34 of the 65 countries studied in its 2017 Freedom on the Net report, marking a nearly 40 percent increase from 2016…’
Barbados Underground IS NOT NAKED DEPARTURE, your content is not (for the most part) salacious (looka de ole man doah dat ole hypocrite who has championed many a vaginoscopy discourse).
BU is about enabling positive e-enabled public/civic engagement for the benefit of our country.
The task of spawning that chasm between frank public commentary about governance issues and creating an environment where the public feels safe to comment IS A TASK OF HERCULEAN PROPORTIONS.
Few know and fewer care about how you customarily HAVE TO DENY THE REQUESTS OF ENTHUSIASTIC LAWYERS and Attorneys General who seek to prosecute bloggers here on BU.
I try as often as possible to remind others of the keyboard warriors here of what your responsibility has been, IS AND WIL CONTINUE TO BE as long as you remain with us.
But in the same breath, much like de ole man is chanting LEGACY for the incoming leader I TOO RECOGNIZE that a similar, even more important process MUST TAKE PLACE here else BU and the precepts it represents WILL DIE.
All that gibber aside let me attempt to ADUMBRATE (I teif dat word from Pachamama) the idea while not being prolix (I teif that one from The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch)
!. The use (as opposed to the development) of a tailored “Open Source Platform” (euphemism for free) to expand BU’s multi-tiered role to promote online, country building debate, education, facilitation and (measurable) participation in our country
Main objectives – Access to Information under a reformed Freedom of Information environment, 100% Transparency and (legally enforced) Accountability as defined under a legal established Integrity Legislation regime
Which one? I dont know yet but there are thousands of tools that can be used and adapted for the purpose e.g. https://www.cyberciti.biz/open-source/awesome-opensource-collaborativesoftware-groupware-software-suite/. The thing is not so much the tool as much as it will be its functionality, robustness AND EASE OF USE FOR OLE MENSES LIKE ME
Who will Fund it? Places like the European Union and IDB and DFIID and other development agencies might be disposed to underwriting an e-governance tool of this type and have such an effort become part of their “LEGACY” for meaningful Citizen Participatory Government
Who will run it? There should be a process that will facilitate its external administration NOTE CAREFULLY THAT THE OLE MAN DID NOT SAY internal administration which must be a viciously safeguarded as that of BU so you dun know who would be best suited to replicate that part, however, it would be a process that would be defined as part of the Scope of Reference document with the underwriters as well as the citizens who take interest.
Creating a Pilot.
This is a new thing for Barbados oh Honourable Blogmaster. E-Participation.
De ole man suggests that for any agency would be better appreciative of said concept there is a pilot which would be launched here first and for which there would be simultaneous outreach letters to identified stakeholders OF WHOM THE PRIME MINISTER Mia Amor Mottley would be the first.
Indeed, de ole man believed that whoever the Opposition Party is going to be, it might be of some administrative use TO THE INCOMING GOVERNMENT to have said party “linked” to the tool if not only to show that it wishes to promote a new construct in Barbados.
These are my preliminary thoughts
All For One One For All
We’re going to mash down Principalities and Wickedness
We all have an eye so we all can see
We all a mouth so we all can speak
We all have an ear so shout it out
for we’ve suffering great tribulations
You Know I bought into this article almost completely until… Well better sooner than later as the Writing was on the wall which Doc Martins further Articles so Cleverly Reiterates …
Excerpts and Comments on …The Barbados Economy and Voter Choice
Posted on May 15, 2018 Submitted by Doc Martin
Freedom Crier May 16, 2018 3:10 PM
“@ Doc Martin…What you said in your Article and your response that a Coalition is the best thing we can do to curb the power of either the DLP or BLP is all well and good. But you cannot Suck and Whistle @ the same time by Proposing the UNIMAGINABLE to be PARTNERING with those that caused the problem in the first place…that is a Recipe for Devastation and Destruction…”
Excerpts and Comments from…Sale of the Barbados Hilton and the Parallel Universe Phenomenon
Posted on May 20, 2018 Submitted by Doc Martin
Doc Martin
May 21, 2018 12:17 PM
@ David re. Doc Martin May 21, 2018 11:39 AM
“The line” A political philosophy of socialism” should read: “A political philosophy of DEMOCRATIC socialism” Can you make the change?
Many thanks to the comments made by Freedom Crier May 21, 2018 11:49 AM re Venezuela because we have to recognize the not-so-subtle difference(s) between “democratic socialism” (the espoused philosophy of both BLP and DLP), and “pure socialism” / communism which is the philosophy driving Venezuela at this time.”
Freedom Crier May 21, 2018 5:47 PM
“Doc Martin you asked What is the Solution?
Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leads to Prosperity and Freedom while Socialism leads to Poverty and Bondage! Capitalism doesn’t come with a warranty or “money back” guarantee. Yet, it encourages individuality, creativity, opportunity, risk taking, ambition, pride, dignity, and a sense of accomplishment, promotion, and provision. As much as Socialist professes their disdain for capitalism, they’ve yet to offer a better system. The reason is simple; it doesn’t exist.”
Elections Results 2018: Democracy Alive, Opposition Dead!
Posted on May 25, 2018 Submitted by Doc Martin
Doc Martin says, “AS A MARKETING PROFESSIONAL MYSELF”…
I Know exactly what your Skills and Marketing Strategies are here and have Observed that depending on how the Wind Changes (Government) you bend accordingly because there are no real Difference between one and the other of the Governing Parties…
Doc Martin further Stated “I have long ago said that Barrow and Tom Adams are no longer relevant to everyday life in Barbados. But the presence of at least two historians in the DLP just will not let the ghost of Barrow rest. Presumably the people of St. John have now exorcised his ghost!”
What Ghost is Doc Martin inferring to as he stated quite Blatantly, “I submit, has been the outworking of our own home grown version of democratic socialism in Barbados and the understanding of both major political parties… It is the reason why we often complain (accurately so) that we can see no (philosophical) difference between the major political parties!”
Please allow me to refresh the Memories of those on BU who may be Willing Supporting your cleverly Professional Marketed Ideas or Beguilingly so…
Doc Martin May 23, 2018 1:42 AM
@Tee White May 22, 2018 10:02 AM
“++ Marxist Model++
You do your readers a disservice by not telling the less erudite of them that you are using a Marxist model to interpret Caribbean history and society. As you know (I hope), this model interprets society as being in a conflict that will only to be resolved when the proletariat (“the masses”) overcome the bourgeoisie (“wealth owning capitalist class”)…more or less! Those who have had to read Sociology and Politics for any of their Social Science degrees know that there are other approaches to the interpretation of the society e.g. consensus theory as postulated by Emile Durkheim et.al.
Freedom Crier… Have we been Experiencing this Lately?
https://gosouth.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Lenin-quotes.jpg
That should be a Dog Whistle to recognise where his deep rooted ideology is based and what he supports in spite of his Craftiness to make none the better wise…
Doc Martin Continues… May 23,
Into this political milieu entered the Barrows, Manleys and Burnhams. How were they going to transform their newly independent countries? Those who have done some West Indian history know that Jamaica and Guyana gravitated towards a socialist/communist model while countries like Barbados and Trinidad gravitated towards a democratic socialism model.
There is ample evidence of the ideological battle fought by Barrow. For example, this from his first budget speech:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
To avoid confusing the issues we need to make a distinction between pure socialism/communism and democratic socialism. It is not true that they are exactly the same! …. So, in a Real World HOW ONE ATTEMPTS TO TRANSFER THE WEALTH FROM THE HAVES TO THE ‘HAVE-NOTS’ CAN BE DONE IN DIFFERENT WAYS….
This, I submit, has been the outworking of our own home grown version of democratic socialism in Barbados and the understanding of both major political parties, as well as third parties that have come and gone over the years. It is the reason why we often complain (accurately so) that we can see no (philosophical) difference between the major political parties
So this imminent May 24 election is not going to be fought on ideological grounds, NEVER MIND THAT THE DLP MAY WANT THE SOLE OWNERSHIP OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST that has been fashioned over the years. Rather it will be fought on the practical grounds of what combination of people and policies can best continue to implement and manage our version of democratic socialism WITHOUT making us poorer (by reversing the economic gains made over the years) while at the same time, stamping out corruption and waste as well as refraining from embarrassing us!”
Freedom Crier
May 23, 2018 9:14 AM
@ Mr. Doc Martin I am acquainted which that which is written. ‘The Straight and Narrow’. You have attempted to paint a picture of walking a very fine line between all the different Variance of Socialism. You are like a young tree in the wind and saying this level of bending in the wind is perfect and we shouldn’t bend any more or we shouldn’t bend any less.
May I remind you that your Masterful Master (Barrow) who found the perfect Solution that is Democratic Socialism of bending in the wind just so much and no more is Dead. And the Current Crop of Benders in the wind have not found that supposed sweet spot if it ever existed.
If there is a Conclusion to be made from this Discussion it has been made quite Clear who the the Communist/Socialist Democratic or otherwise that Stand Revealed in the Noon Day Sun…Names only Change to Suit the Times…
https://slberg.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/531790_198861386893259_157506157695449_317211_1354716989_n.jpg
It seems that election was real and not fake news as it is posted on BBC
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-44254140
Is the 1st lady PM a BU blogger she looks familiar
@ The Honourable Blogmaster
You remarked earlier “…We have a couple issues to consider. There is the need for the bloated voters list to be culled….”
A document dated 1998 (that fell off a truck) submitted to the said EBC is purported to read, in part…
“…Household Electorate Data – the names, the current addresses, NRN, etc of all citizens and eligible residents.
*** will facilitate online queries and permit real-time receipt of “validation information” for voter IDs
Such validation would include, but not be limited to, electronic images of birth certificates and other “lateral” secure Registry/repository documents, updates on death certificates, overlays for Immigration entry and departure data etc.
*** also reconciles continuous domicile issues and would provide independent “trails” for 3rd party Election Reviews.
That was 20 years ago oh Honourable Blogmaster.
So you see why
(i) people not knowing where to vote on election day in 2018 underscores our Banana Republic status?
(ii) so you see why “dead people being allowed to vote” confirms that Barbados IS A BANANA REPUBLIC?
(iii) so you understand why de ole man permanently stuck in derogatory mode of calling we niggers “hewers of wood and drawers of water” when, in 2018, there could be accusations of “false ID produced and provided by Miami Vice Johnson, being approved by polling station clerks?”
@David May 25, 2018 8:46 PM “Let us sheaf the long knives.”
What knives David?
On Wednesday night some of us slept in bed with our sweet “D”
Went out and voted “B”
And on Thursday night went to sleep again with our sweet “D”
What knives, what?
@TheoGazerts May 25, 2018 6:32 PM “…you can become the mother/father of the nation.”
Please note that a lot of us are not into this mother of the nation, father of the nation thingy.
When politicians start plying that game the inclination is that the electorate, all hard backed MEN and WOMEN start behaving like hard ears little children.
I have been plenty mothered already.
I have been plenty fathered already.
I DO NOT want a mother.
I DO NOT want a father.
I want Ms. Mottley to do the WORK that she has been elected to do, and that we are PAYING her well to do.
Those are my expectations.
@Lorenzo May 25, 2018 8:01 PM “Ms Holder who was calling for God for guidance”
So how do we know that God did not answer Ms. Holder’s prayers?
Maybe he did.
Lolll!!!
@Prodigal Son May 25, 2018 8:08 PM “@David. “Ithe last census was conducted twenty years ago.”
Not true.
The last census was conducted during May of 2010. That is exactly EIGHT years ago.
Here it is for your edification:
http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf
@Tron May 25, 2018 8:32 PM “In need somebody to clean the water tank in my local residence. However, I regularly use high loads of biocide and lots of chlorine to kill bugs, so it is a bit dangerous … I have also to offer jobs as gardeners and so on for 1 USD per hour. Working time is from Monday to Saturday 6 AM to 6 PM.”
i see now why you want to see 15,000 unemployed civil servants…so that you can find somebody to exploit.
Because otherwise why are you offering garden work in the 30 degree heat and 100% humidity at $2 BDS per hour. And how do you expect to get and keep any workers, when I a pensioner pays $25 per hour?
Looka, go and do your own dangerous, hot sweaty work yourself.
@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 26, 2018 5:30 AM “…the hero worshipping of long deceased politicians.”
I call it “duppy politics”
Instead of finding out what are the expectations of those people born after June 1,1987 the day Barrow died; and none of whom “know” Barrow, and some of whom voted for the THIRD time yesterday, the DLP unfortunately spent wayyyyyyyyyyyy too much time worshipping the long, long dead Barrow.
The man is dead. Let him stay dead.
Moving forward…
@ Simple Simon
I see that you are getting forgetful like de ole man in your old age
The “sheath the Long Knives” reference is with regard to the content of Lorenzo’s threat and a previous blog containing “the Night of the Long Knives” that this ole man remembers well making.
He hints at the pending retribution that the incoming Attorney General may have shared that he proposed to undertake against the anonymous BU bloggers.
With regard to Tron, you have missed the joke that Tron passed at the intended targets of his jibe regarding a pittance wage for these people who have raped the economy for so long….
What is the matter with you though?
Normally, even though you might have come in late from a shift you ALWAYS USED TO BE ABLE TO PICK UP THIS nuances and innuendos.
I hope that the “Sheaf” of the “D” that you mentioned sleeping next to before the GE has not so “discombulated” your reasoning to result in this “missing of the ball” literally speaking SS
Far be it from the ole man to be hinting at anything other than what you have written!! heheheheh
“I want Ms. Mottley to do the WORK that she has been elected to do, and that we are PAYING her well to do.
Those are my expectations.”
That is all the electorate ever wants, anywhere.
They need to stop invoking the dead and let them rest, they have no clue what spirits can be manifesting when they disturb those who are long gone and the only thing they do it for is political gain.
..it is the living need them to do what the are being paid to do by the people , work in the best interest of the entire population.
@Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right May 26, 2018 12:54 PM “the pending retribution that the incoming Attorney General may have shared that he proposed to undertake against the anonymous BU bloggers.”
Me getting old and foolish in truth.
If our Honourable Attorney General has our best interest at heart, and just yesterday he swore to just that. He would spend the next five years going after murderers, rapists, and thieves of all kinds.
More than enough of that going on to keep him real, real busy.
lol…remember what happened to the iast lot who went after bloggers, instead of doing the taxpayer’s work, they spent all their time on the blogs to see who was talking about them and trying to figure out their retribution…that did not end well..
…so the new AG will be better off…fixing the Supreme Court, getting rid of the backlogs, reining in and punishing dishonest lawyers who are destroying the integrity of the Supreme Court, the ones who are destroying the lives of and abusing the elderly, destroying the lives of the injured, stealing from their clients, giving the island a bad reputation and which will bring those rotten practices to the attention of human rights organizations…eventually
That is what Marshall should now start to do…his job.
The bloggers will always have something to attract their attention, if he is doing his job, they will appreciate it and forget about him.
Based on Irene Sandiford’s move of criticizing MAM’s large Cabinet, can we consider that she is challenging for the leadership of the DLP?
https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/26/outspoken-dlp-candidate-reacts-to-mottleys-cabinet-announcement/
Well a surprise to some, but by Monday I knew it was going to be a clean sweep! Poor old George Pilgrim will get back re naming two opposition Senators…don’t hold your breath it may take him until year end, says he was in meetings all day and did not hear the announcement! He cannot make a decision to save his life so his response is also not a surprise! The people spoke and wrote their X’s and PM. The Hon. Mia will show everyone that once again the Phoenix will rise from the ashes.