Submitted by DAVID A. COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement

So, the would-be “Emperor” of Barbados has finally deigned to set a date for General Elections after subjecting our country to a seven and a half week demonstration of utter contempt for our system of governance — the system of Parliamentary Democracy.

Barbados — as Mr Freundel Stuart well knows is a Parliamentary Democracy.

The Constitution of Barbados makes it clear that Parliament (comprised of the House of Assembly and the Senate) is the fundamental institution around which the office of Prime Minister and of every other cabinet Minister revolves.

Section 64 of our Constitution makes this clear when it asserts that “the Cabinet shall be …..charged with the general direction and control of the government of Barbados and shall be collectively responsible therefor to Parliament”.

As does Section 65 of the Constitution which establishes that the very existence  of the Prime Minister is based solely on him being the person who — in the judgment of the Governor General — is best able to command the confidence of a majority of the members of the House of Assembly.

So, in light of the foregoing, how was it possible for Mr Stuart, his Cabinet colleagues, or our newly appointed Governor General for that matter, to consider it permissible to rule over Barbados for an extensive seven and a half weeks after the dissolution of Parliament, without setting a date for or decreeing a General Election to establish a new Parliament ?

Who — in the absence of a functioning Parliament — was Mr Stuart and his fellow Democratic Labour Party ministers accountable to over the past seven and a half weeks?

A proper respect and regard for the principles of Parliamentary Democracy would have impelled Mr Stuart, his Cabinet colleagues, and our Governor General to recognize that where a governmental administration has permitted the life of Parliament to run its full course and to be dissolved, that they were under a duty (established by the Constitution and owed to us, the people of Barbados) to IMMEDIATELY set a date and issue writs for a General Election.

In other words, the period of time during which the country was required to operate without a functioning Parliament should be kept to a minimum, and–after the dissolution of Parliament– the Citizens should NOT be kept in a state of prolonged suspense over when new and critical General Elections will be held ! No doubt the Governor General has a discretion in all of this, but her discretion should always be exercised in the best interest of us the Citizens of the country and in keeping with the nation’s fundamental interest not to be deprived of a functioning Parliament for any extensive period of time.

That Messers Stuart and company (and seemingly our Governor General as well) did NOT appreciate this, and instead, subjected our country to seven and a half weeks of unaccountable Cabinet rule was unconscionable!

Mr Stuart, his Cabinet colleagues, and indeed their party — the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) — thoroughly discredited themselves over the past seven and a half weeks in the eyes of all right thinking Citizens who believe in the tenets of Parliamentary Democracy.

Indeed, their contempt for democracy has become so obvious and offensive that perhaps they should now do the decent thing and remove the word “Democratic” from the name of their political party!

ONWARD  TO  GENERAL  ELECTIONS fellow Citizens, and let us ensure we elect thirty Members of Parliament who understand what DEMOCRACY entails and who truly appreciate that we — the people of Barbados — are the real and permanent owners of the country, and that the temporary political administrators that we vote into office are merely there to serve us and must always be accountable to us.

194 responses to “Please Remove the Word "Democratic" from the Name of the DLP!”

1. […] via Please Remove the Word “Democratic” from the Name of the DLP! — Barbados Underground […]

2. This nightmare will soon be over………..praise the Lord.

3. Mottley was having sleepless nights praying for the belll to ring. Now the bell has rung she rans to face book with a mickey mouse response will her foot soldiers ran to BU with their version of the Constitution

4. Hear hear!

5. Mariposa, stop wasting your time. De dog dun dead. It will soon buried.

6. Commissiong have you got no shame trying to tear down a democratically elected govt when you support dictatorships like those in Cuba and Venezuela where elections are state controlled

7. lol..ah heard it will be a landslide defeat for Fruendolittle, the people are fed up and are willing to try anyone, except for SB in it’s present form, to rid the island of the current arrogant lot, that is what I heard, so don’t shoot the messenger.

8. Again Commisiong !question. Since the traditional media dare not asked i am asking
    Where do you acquire the finances to pursue lawsuuts against govt projects and policies in barbados law courts.

9. Imagine if you will the CBC TV newscaster Cheyne Jones having to read the headline ELECTION TOO CLOSE TO CALL..I thought it was the elective assembly of the Anglican Church in its bid to elect a candidate for Bishop to which the man was making reference but lo and behold he was expressing the view of the DLP.What arrogance!.After practically destroying a once prosperous country these chopsutters talking like they improved the lives of every Barbadian.

10. Gabriel

He probably had to hold his stomach to read that nonsense…….Moreen Holder probably wrote the headline! LOL!!!

11. Dems now Dems again !

The Barbadian people don’t want the thieves MAM & Payne !

All over the country Barbadians are jumping with glee !

They cannot wait to vote DLP !

When Prodigirl hear this news !!

He is going to place his neck in a noose !!

Bilgy guts Artax !

Gine puke when he hear the DLP FACTS !

12. The supporters of the dlp keeping nuff toilet paper in stock to hand ou to the blp yardfowls after May24th as a gift to them for talking nuff sh.it in the last ten years. Bees be gone .

13. Well. Well .! yeah a landslide of biblical proportions one that find Mia looking fuh she LEC ..billy goat

14. Cant wait to hear PM Stuart catspraddle Mia and Botsy man Peter wickham get caught in i the cross fire. Heard him trash talking His honourable PM Stuart a man whose shoes he is not worthy to walk into. Peter Wickham the loser can’t use his greasy poll to save the blp from another defeat. He has proven to be a slick weasly disgusting worm

15. Whatever became of Carson Cadogan and his political choruses.

16. Donna

Mariposa’s “political slip has a nasty stain and in dire need of a bush bathe (bath).”

“It never ceases to amaze my mind with wonderment how the so called (a)political can be so adamant in their pronouncements quick and ready to holdfast to their political banter and just as quick and ready to be tribal bearers to those they serve…..”

17. Fcuktured BLP

I definitely want to “hear the DLP FACTS!!”

Wunnuh pay $109,609 dat wunnuh owe CBC?

And why wunnuh using the state owned CBC to broadcast DLP propaganda on credit and at the expense of the Barbadian taxpayers?

The DEMS want to win the elections based on gossip……….. and I en care ’bout nuh gossip ’bout Mia Mottley………..sensible Barbadians want wunnuh to defend wunnuh tenure in office over the past 5 years and 2 months……to determine if wunnuh deserve a third term.

Dese are facks!!!!

18. @David Comissiong

The following was received to BU’s mailbox:

The recent involvement of David Comissiong as a social activist must be closely examined for what it is worth. Comissiong has shown great zeal in his self appointed post as public watchdog in relation to the Hyatt project, the sale of the Hilton Hotel and the Cruise Terminal; more recently he has, expectedly so, joined the debate on the Windrush controversy. But noticeably, Comissiong is a lawyer and has been using the court to mount his challenge to matters he considers of national importance. We must therefor ask how come he has remained so silent on the Supreme Court fiasco? Is not the court the very nerve centre of the justice system in the country, and would its closure not lead to a virtual shut down of that system? In musing over his silence one must reflect on the fact that the problem at the court has been linked to a badly conceived structure that turned up problems from the day the soil was broken for its construction in 2006 by Commissiong’s cousin Mia Mottley then Attorney General of Barbados. Is he therefore being influenced by the blood relationship between Mottley and he? After all, he has been accused of playing politics in the Hyatt matter as a means of causing an embarrassment for the government in an attempt to help his cousin satisfy her almost insane quest to become Prime Minister of Barbados; is the building of the Hyatt Hotel on a sight that was some years ago approved for the construction of a similar hotel more fundamental to the social activist Commissiong, the keeper of the people’s conscience, than the threat to the justice system brought about by the closure of the Supreme Court building? And is this not the same building where Comissiong goes to work and which he has to approach in his fight for the cause of justice for all? The silence of Comissiong is too noticeable to go on without comment; it would seem that this silence may be brought about by an unwillingness to place the spotlight on his cousin Mia Mottley’s involvement in the construction of that building. We can only wait to see how long that silence will continue!

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Not a single seat for the Dumbass Lying Party. I hope Barbadians do take the money that Stuart, who thinks that he is the smartest man on the planet, plans to share out during the days leading up to casting their X. He knows that he does not stand a chance in hell in winning the election, so what better way to instruct the standby posse that it is time to start sharing out the thousands of dollars in the coming election: IF MONEY IS SHARING OUT, TRY AND GET SOME. Freundel Stuart is a despicable, deceitful, manipulative pretender. Any Barbadian who votes for the DLP should deservedly reap the whirlwind of bad luck and pain for the rest of their lives. The DLP is no good under Stuart and the present lot!!!

20. The blogmaster is looking forward to a thorough ventilation of the issue raised by Comissiong in this submission read the ambiguity in the Constitution which has allowed the prime minster (and the Governor General?) to allow the country to meander without the oversight of parliament.

21. @David
    The blogmaster is looking forward to a thorough ventilation of the issue raised by Comissiong in this submission
    ++++++++++++
    Surprised that you would chime in at this juncture when Jeff made a much more cogent argument about this issue recently. If I didn’t know any better I would say that Commisiong is piggybacking on Jeff’s efforts (except it is more infused with politics) but what do I know?

22. @Sargeant

Nothing mysterious, give the comment context now that the PM has seen it fit to ring the bell, that is all.

23. He now knows that he needs to speak to the little people?

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Mariposa
    Herbert paying DC….by the way…you find a copy of that letter yet?

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Amused that suddenly the GG has a role. I expected a call for a Republic and rewrite of the laws, which is what should happen.

26. Is Hal Gollop repeating in the role of Stuart’s campaign manager? If yes will it impact his role as Chair of the Employment Rights Tribubal?

27. “Commissiong have you got no shame trying to tear down a democratically elected govt when you support dictatorships like those in Cuba and Venezuela where elections are state controlled?”
    “Where do you acquire the finances to pursue lawsuits against govt projects and policies in Barbados law courts.”

Now THOSE are good questions, even if from a demented yardfowl. How does this parasite live?

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They are right, Fruendolittle did abuse his power, the only reason he called the election in May is that with so much going on in UK and everywhere else, he is totally frightened of what might happen next, none of which he has control over, but he abused power, make no mistake about that.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/04/27/belle-accuses-stuart-of-abusing-prime-ministerial-powers/

“Former Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of The West Indies George Belle is accusing Prime Minister Freundel Stuart of abusing his power by delaying the announcement of an election date well past the dissolution of Parliament.

Stuart allowed Parliament to dissolve automatically on March 6 and held on for 51 of the additional 90 days allowed by the Constitution, before announcing through the Barbados Government Information Service today, that the election would be held on May 24, with May 7 as Nomination Day.

However, Belle told Barbados TODAY in a telephone interview after the announcement, the 90-day period was intended for emergencies, and since none existed, Stuart had overstepped his bounds. “

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I knew that Supreme Court mess would devolve into chaos, once again showing everyone across the region just how incompetent all of those who are in charge really are, including the Bar Association and their rmembers.

How hard could it be to source a clean building in one week, not the one next door to the SICK BUILDING, only a jackass would suggest that…and keep cases ongoing and current…in the last 2 weeks they could have done that instead of talking, talking without consistency.

Now people who should got bail will be stuck in prison indefinitely, people whose civil cases should be wrapped up will remain lingering indefinitely, all because they are all incompent and have no organizational skills, that should not be happening.

the useless Bar Association is talking about bringing forward the August recess to May…why. ..there should be no recess period, not if they want continuity…next thing we will hear in 2 or 3 months from now, the building is still being cleaned, the “experts” at UWI still can’t tell what’s wrong with the building, although we were already told it’s mold….and there will still be no supreme court, because that is what you get with incompetents.

The lawyers on the island make it a career to delay cases unnecessarily, the Chief Justice should not be allowing any of this to happen and allowing Bar Association to delay the court process indefinitely.

30. Rest assured Fruendel, we plan to vote you all our…. biggest Fish..YOU…how dare you treat us the people of Barbados with so much disdain and scorn. You pompous Ask hold…now it’s our turn and we gone turn back on the screws full force….power back with us after your abusive reign and we got to use it to remove you ALL….rest assured.

31. Up to today the better choice for Bim is the BLP however as Trump is notorious for caveating,that could change .Meanwhile can’t wait for May 24th to come to drive my X in the ballot paper for Mia party and I exhort the 40percenters not to stay home and allow the DLP to regain the government and reduce Bim to a barefoot society again like in the colonial days of the horse and buggy.

32. It has not gone unnoticed that Dame Billie has stepped down from the E&BC and Mia has put forward Leslie Haynes to replace her.I along with other suffering clients take note that Keslie Haynes was a director of Leroy the Leper Clico organization and if Mia is going to go soft on cleaning up that corrupt cabal because of Haynes and what he can persuade her to overlook,she has another think coming.That Clico mess must all come out and Mia better make that clear to all and sundry before May 24 th.Leslie Haynes got to have knowledge of the infeliicites of the management of Clico in Bdos and Tdad and he was part of it.

33. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

Sargeant, so what if David Comissiong gleaned information and insights from Jeff’s article? That is how it is supposed to be ! That is why one writes an article and shares it with the public– to inform and influence others. It is not some sort of competition we are engaged in. I am happy to learn from Jeff, who was actually one of my lecturers at the Law Faculty at Cave Hill. Time for more maturity and seriousness man.

DAVID COMISSIONG

34. Tell Me Barbados…Who Are We Going to Vote for, Solutions or B or D?

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/07/freedomcrier.jpg

From my simple observation, how does the BLP and the DLP differ in their Ideology?
    I am very concerned that unless we practice Free Market Principles with fewer Burden-some Rules, Regulations and Controls, the Reaper lies at the Gate!

Governments make no money they only Spend money, that is why Socialist Governments love Businesses, that way they depend on Entrepreneurs to build businesses and to employ people so that they can TAX them so that they can live HIGH ON THE HOG!
    This Elitist in the world, live off the Sweat of others through Taxation and Manipulation.

In Barbados 2/3 of the money collected by Government is paid towards debt and 1/3 is paid to the Government Bureaucracy. Where do you think the 100% comes from? -It comes from off the backs of those working who are mostly oblivious to the amount extracted from them by the numerous forms of Assessments, Duties, Land Tax, NIS taxes, Vat Tax, Road Tax, Licensees, Income Tax, Dividend Tax, Levy’s, and Excise forms of Taxation!

Promises, Promises, Promises… All Politicians do is promise more entitlements and when buying votes it’s all about Free Stuff. Then you vote them in and you reap the whirlwind, as often times because of careless spending since it’s not their money. 1/3 pays all the Civil Servants and the few amenities that Government provides.

How long do you think that Parasitical Entity can feed off we the people? It depends on the Organism as to how much it feeds. The real aim of Full Blown Socialism is to control every aspect of what others own. It’s aims at Complete Paternalism in Government.
    No individual is to own anything. Everything belongs to the state. All properties, utilities, industries, and persons are to be owned by the entire body politic, represented by the government. A good example is what is happening in Venezuela or Barbados… do you own your house? Even after we are deceased our inheritors continue paying Taxes.

What Ripple effects are we witnessing of such Control? The Elitist fatten themselves while everyone else literally starve. The have sucked so much out of their people in Barbados that the host is dying.

Remember what Margaret Thatcher Said…
    “The Problem with Socialist is that they eventually run out of others peoples money”. Margaret Thatcher.

We cannot trust a System that is feeding off the people. Socialism is simply governmental ownership and management of the essential means for the production and distribution of goods. That is why Government should be limited to what we the people deem absolutely necessary. Government is supposed to represent and protect the people not Leech off them!

As stated previously, “Full Blown Socialism aims at complete Paternalism in Government. No individual is to own anything. Everything belongs to the state. All properties, utilities, industries, and persons are to be owned by the entire body politic, represented by the government, and this is the result….

We only have to look South to the Socialism Hell Hole of Venezuela and North to the Cuban Communist Cesspit that Commie Song Sings whole-heatedly about as beacons on a Hill! Oh by the way he was praising the Cubans for fighting in Africa while Omitting that the Ploy was to Establish Communism there backed by Russia…

So Tell me are All these Parties Socialist? Remember that Socialism is Communism with Patience!!

35. Any intelligent Bajan would ask any DLP prospective candidate …what has your party done in the last 10 years to increase the GDP of Bdos.What economic export driven good or service you have diligently worked on that would increase marginally the future earning capacity of the country.The answer is blowing in the wind.The BWA office building ,the SSA office building,the walkover bridge at the Pine and the stupid structure at the Garrison is the extent of this DLP’s contribution to Bim.Was manufacturing increased?Was the IBC portfolio expanded?Was agriculture other than wild tamarind increased?Was there any benefit other than a few low level jobs provided for the exchange of 40 years of free taxation given to the abrasive ill mannered man from Jamaica?Did appointing Jerkpork to the Central Bank help Barbados or did it help jerkpork and friends.Are our NIS funds in better shape for the millions drawn down in favour of shoring up the govt current account!Is any economic activity increased by Worrell allowing the banking sector to escape scot free from paying for funds deposited in their institutions?If the DLP can truthfully answer these few questions convincingly and truthfully,I should pose some other questions for clarification.

36. Thanks Hants, we are operating on the same page.

37. Highlights from the 2013 Manifesto????

Perhaps their 2018 manifesto may have information relative to their performance and successes during the past 5 years.

Similar was done by Keith Mitchell and the NNP …….Gaston Browne and the ABLP, for the recent elections in Grenada and Antigua respectively.

38. Fruendel & the other foes of the people should never be reelected or even get one seat to see the inside of parliament again, how could he select an election date that attempts to stop young people, many of them first time voters, from voting because of exams and time constraints

these young people need to make an extra effort to VOTE OUT Fruendel and all his idiots…so no one ever sees them again.

help the electorate send a one time, lifetime message to uppity, arrogant politicians this election..

39. Gabriel..it’s for that same reason no one trusts Mia, Haynes is one of the lowest forms of life on the island…is joined at the hip with other low life forms…. and should have no hand in anything that can negatively impact the citizens.

40. This man Freundal Stuart is something else…………..

The man did not even notify the Electoral and Boundaries Commision that he had announced the date for the elections. A member of staff heard the newsflash……….promptly called in and asked a fellow staff member why she did not call him to say that the date was announced……..the person said we have not been told……..the person went to the number two person to ask if he was notified of the election…….he did not know.

Can you imagine that Fumble did not even tell the EBC before he announced the date? Up to late last night the EBC had not received the writs as yet!

Barbados, let us rid this country of this menace called Freundel Stuart and the DLP forever.

41. Ellis just made a reasonable comment, the nature of discussing politics in Barbados is about personalities. Following the conversation on the blog for example supports the view. Here we have a cogent argument on the table as to whether our governance framework needs to be fixed but instead we have these repeated arguments which history has shown does not add enough value to forcing change.

42. DAVID COMISSIONG WROTE TRUTHFULLY Time for more maturity and seriousness man.

THIS IS MOST UNLIKELY ON BU.

AGAIN DAVID BU WRITES TRUTHFULLY instead we have these repeated arguments which history has shown does add enough value.

THEN WE WONDER WHY THERE IS SHIT ALL OVER BARBADOS…A PLACE WHERE WE HAVE HAD FREE EDUCATION SINCE 1961

43. Heard the foolish pussy Glynn Murray proving to be a surrogate of Ellis on Brasstacks disagreeing with every point Wickham is making and which any intelligent bystander should support. Glynn Murray another loser supporting a retired politician,an incompetent who cannot differentiate the country from the individual.The calling of the election in May will lead to disruption for students, parents and teachers/ lecturers.Only an ass like Murray can’t see that and it’s only because he sings in OSA choir conducted remotely by Hallam and other turn coat Bees who cannot deal with the reality of a strongass BLP team with formidable fire power.Its a competition for the hand to mouth gimme gimme crowd against the discerning intelligent watchman of the 2 terms results.

44. Get a petition started this week so by the time a new government is elected, there is a petition of thousands of signatures ready to advocate for positive changes/amendments to that existing archaic and getting more useless by the day, misused and abused Constitution …you do have constitutional lawyers on the island and action, not more debates, are required to make changes.

45. Tell Me Barbados…Who Are We Going to Vote for, Solutions or B or D?

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/07/freedomcrier.jpg

From my simple observation, how does the BLP and the DLP differ in their Ideology?
    I am very concerned that unless we practice Free Market Principles with fewer Burden-some Rules, Regulations and Controls, the Reaper lies at the Gate!

Governments make no money they only Spend money, that is why Socialist Governments love Businesses, that way they depend on Entrepreneurs to build businesses and to employ people so that they can TAX them so that they can live HIGH ON THE HOG!
    This Elitist in the world, live off the Sweat of others through Taxation and Manipulation.

In Barbados 2/3 of the money collected by Government is paid towards debt and 1/3 is paid to the Government Bureaucracy. Where do you think the 100% comes from? -It comes from off the backs of those working who are mostly oblivious to the amount extracted from them by the numerous forms of Assessments, Duties, Land Tax, NIS taxes, Vat Tax, Road Tax, Licensees, Income Tax, Dividend Tax, Levy’s, and Excise forms of Taxation!

Promises, Promises, Promises… All Politicians do is promise more entitlements and when buying votes it’s all about Free Stuff. Then you vote them in and you reap the whirlwind, as often times because of careless spending since it’s not their money. 1/3 pays all the Civil Servants and the few amenities that Government provides.

How long do you think that Parasitical Entity can feed off we the people? It depends on the Organism as to how much it feeds. The real aim of Full Blown Socialism is to control every aspect of what others own. It’s aims at Complete Paternalism in Government.
    No individual is to own anything. Everything belongs to the state. All properties, utilities, industries, and persons are to be owned by the entire body politic, represented by the government. A good example is what is happening in Venezuela or Barbados… do you own your house? Even after we are deceased our inheritors continue paying Taxes.

What Ripple effects are we witnessing of such Control? The Elitist fatten themselves while everyone else literally starve. The have sucked so much out of their people in Barbados that the host is dying.

Remember what Margaret Thatcher Said…
    “The Problem with Socialist is that they eventually run out of others peoples money”. Margaret Thatcher.

We cannot trust a System that is feeding off the people. Socialism is simply governmental ownership and management of the essential means for the production and distribution of goods. That is why Government should be limited to what we the people deem absolutely necessary. Government is supposed to represent and protect the people not Leech off them!

As stated previously, “Full Blown Socialism aims at complete Paternalism in Government. No individual is to own anything. Everything belongs to the state. All properties, utilities, industries, and persons are to be owned by the entire body politic, represented by the government, and this is the result….

We only have to look South to the Socialism Hell Hole of Venezuela and North to the Cuban Communist Cesspit that Commie Song Sings whole-heatedly about as beacons on a Hill! Oh by the way he was praising the Cubans for fighting in Africa while Omitting that the Ploy was to Establish Communism there backed by Russia…

So Tell me are All these Parties Socialist? Remember that Socialism is Communism with Patience!!

46. VIDEO: HOW TO HANDLE SOCIALIST…
    HEAR FROM AN EXPERT!

https://www.facebook.com/markeece.young/videos/1233112686703340/

47. Where is Mia hiding . All her minions are out in force taking licks for her and she yas suddenly disappeared from the spotlight.