Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

“Can you please make public these two articles in the interest of all Barbadians” – Mark Jones

The Barbados Bar Association has been recently getting itself involved in a number of matters that have caused us to question whether it has now become an official arm of the BLP!

It is significant that the past president Wilfred Abrahams whose election to office as a junior lawyer was orchestrated by former BLP Attorney General and Chief Justice David Simmons and and the present president, another junior lawyer Lissel Weekes are colleagues in the same law chambers and the Association under their leadership has shown a recent eagerness to mount challenges to legislation passed in our Parliament. The matter of the registration of non Barbadians by the Electoral Department has come up before the law courts for determination and the matter has ended up before the Court of Appeal where the decision has been reserved; in the language of the law the matter is SUB JUDICE.

But to the amazement of many Abrahams along with his political allies from the Bar convened a press conference at  no less a place than the headquarters of the Association in Perry Gap to discuss the matter contrary to all the conventions of the legal profession. It was significant that in a story appearing in one of the newspapers where he and his colleagues were photographed at their conference he was quick to point out that the event was not political; one wonders if a question leading to that response was posed by the press.

However, it must be a cause for concern that the Bar Association’s facilities could be used by a politician to mount an exercise that is against the very practice which the Bar should be promoting,  refraining from entering into public discussion in matters which are before the law courts. The general membership of the Bar should therefore be calling on its president and executive to give an account of this willful break from a tradition that has been respected by members of the legal profession all these years. In addition the executive must be called upon to respond to the concern of many among the profession, namely that Abrahams with the concurrence of his associate has been dragging the Association into the realm of party politics in this country.

It is also noticeable, that like the BLP, the Bar Association has not lifted its voice in concern of the problems that have been plaguing its members in their day to day experiencing in that work building because of its faulty structure and general lack of facilities that go to make the practice of law comfortable in any court.

The Bar Association has certainly lost is way and its membership should be duly concerned.

################################################

A notable feature of the Supreme Court building fiasco is the conspicuous absence of ANY comment from the opposition BLP or its leader on the matter.

This is significant because the BLP never lets slip an opportunity to expose the alleged ineptitude of the DLP Government in maintaining its buildings and other projects even though they were conceived and built before they took office.

One glaring example is the South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant which had the BLP wallowing in the sewage in order to criticise the Government for its lack of adequate maintenance.

Of course recent disclosures have led to the conclusion that sabotage has been one of the main reasons for the the problems of the   plant after all kinds of foreign objects that cannot be flushed by any known toilet or sink or drain were used to sabotage the system.

The items range from sheets and pillow cases, to beach towels and concrete both in the poured form and concrete the block form.

All of these items are still being being plucked from the system.

Barbadians should therefore be made aware why there has been such a marked silence about the matter at the Supreme Court of Barbados.

The facts are as follows.

It was planned and built under the tenure of Mia Mottley as the Attorney General ( even though she does not own a LEC ) and her cousin David Simmons Attorney General and later Chief Justice of Barbados.

And you would not believe it that the project manager was one Arnold McIntyre the Godfather of David Simmons’ son to whom the whopping salary of Bds $ 40,000.00 per month was paid to manage a project that has all the faults we have been hearing complaints being made about.

If this is not nepotism and downright CORRUPTION at the highest level we don’t know what is.

Simmons has been having a very loud voice in public affairs recently!! maybe he can speak out on the involvement of his cousin Mia Mottley and friend McIntyre in the disaster at White Park Road for which the burdened tax payers now have the responsibility to put right.

Let him speak up on this matter ! let the opposition also speak up.

The public is eagerly awaiting to hear from them.

117 responses to “BAR and BLP Politics”

1. There no impact of third parties whether anecdotal or based on the last CADRES poll. You can have your opinion of course. Mia promised to democratize the election process in the BLP when she was booted out by the so-called gang of five, we wait.

2. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

Slightly off topic but extremely important: Look at what other countries are doing with their “Water Scarce” situation:

https://www.desalination.biz/news/0/Saudi-Arabia-outlines-privatisation-plans-for-water-and-more/9006/?utm_source=weeklynewsletter,%20Desalination%20&%20Water%

3. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Walter Blackman

I note that you put me at the top of the list of BLP yardfowls in your post above.

I think you are wrong, mainly because the nearest I came to being a member of a political party in my youth was a fleeting membership in the long deceased Barrow’s DLP youth arm, the League of Democratic Youth in the very early sixties. I have never been a member of either Party, the BLP or the DLP.

You might argue that not being a member of a party does not correlate with not being a yardfowl for that party and invoke the often accepted premise that a yardfowl is characterized by acceptance of scratch grain from one or other of the two main parties thereby showing an allegiance to that party. I have never received anything from either the BLP or DLP so that yardstick does not hold for me.

I fear you have characterised me as the senior BLP yardfowl on this board primarily because most of my “political” posts on BU have been geared to highlighting the ineptitude and sometimes infelicity of the current leadership of the DLP and the negative contributions most of its members have made to Barbados since 2009 but with an uneering focus on the speeches and actions by the PM that have shown an absolute lack of fitness for the job.

I suspect that if a dispassionate assessment of the degree of yardfowlness of your BU posts is compared with that of my posts, there would be little doubt that you would come out the winner. Check back some of our posts where we disagreed.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

I am trying hard not to direct a few superlatives in your direction because I like the things I read coming from you. You are not known on this blog to delve into reasoning that is asinine and foolish. Yours is a-pellucid thinking that brings a level of research needed to keep this blog in perspective. If you are good, you are good, and you certainly are good at presenting facts. But, this time around, I cannot help notice how you have sunk to the defence of the BLP while spewing a whole load of jobby that is undoubtedly, intended to diffuse any criticisms of the BLP that you are apparently supporting. I get that Artax, no need to hide or make-believe. If you are supporting the BLP come to shite out of pretending and say so. Do not engage in deceitful behaviour similiar to Fruendel Stuart, where he projects this upfront image that he is a Saint but operating like Satan. What is more surprising on your part is that you are now labelling the SSS along the lines of an AC and other persons to whom you ridicule on this blog as representing the interests of a corrupt DLP that lost their way the moment that Freundel the idiot took up the PM position. Artax you might be logical, and you might be able to fool others on here that you are not on any side or interested in any politician. But, by your recent writings alone, you are in the Mia Mottley camp, and I am inclined to believe that a promise or gift binds you now to defend the BLP against your better judgement.

5. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

Are-we-there-yet April 25, 2018 1:57 PM

“Walter Blackman

I note that you put me at the top of the list of BLP yardfowls in your post above.

…….you have characterised me as the senior BLP yardfowl on this board”

Are-we-there-yet,
    I know the minds I am dealing with. That is precisely why I put the names in alphabetical order!

6. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Are-we-there-yet April 25, 2018 1:57 PM

“Walter Blackman

.. a yardfowl is characterized by acceptance of scratch grain from one or other of the two main parties thereby showing an allegiance to that party. I have never received anything from either the BLP or DLP so that yardstick does not hold for me.”

Are-we-there-yet,
    You will note that I made reference to a list of “DLP” yardfowls which has already been compiled. No definition of yardfowl was given by the person who compiled the list, and I did not ask for any. Whatever definition was used, given the names that were listed on the DLP side and for whatever reason, you are a natural, perfect candidate for the “BLP” yardfowls side.

Think about it.
    Someone has compiled a list made up of Hitler, Mussolini, and Emperor Hirohito. Your task is to come up with a list of names for the opposite side. Your list would naturally be made up of Stalin, Churchill, and Roosevelt.

7. SSS

Surely you should have realised by now that I am not prepared to engaged you any further in this “discussion.”

You have already formed your opinion…….so why take this any further?

And don’t I care if you direct a few superlatives in my direction…….it’s par for the course in a forum such as BU…….

…….we agree……disagree……cuss each other…….and move on.

8. *******engage

9. Artax

Have you returned the money you stole from the sale of Eastry House – under the last BLP administration ?

I remember Clyde Mascoll accusing you of been a thief back then – when Mascoll was cussing about GEMS !

You better return the money 💰 if you haven’t as yet.

10. Fcuktured BLP

I was thinking about returning the money, but after seeing the amount of money your lot has been “earning”…… I decided to keep it.

I would like your contact number. Reliable sources told me that, for a fee of $4,000, I could get you to authorize a PSV permit….or I could lease the permit from you for $800 per week.

However, I have a few questions for you (even though I know you won’t answer them).

Have you returned the two missing Transport Board Hino Road Runner mini-buses? I understand they are now painted yellow & blue and the BM numbers have been replaced with B.

Where or from whom did you source the funds to distribute in St. Michael North West this morning?..…I heard you gave people up to $500.

Where did you deposit the money from the sale of Four Seasons?

Can you give a detailed breakdown of the $1.5M you received for legal services rendered relative to the BWA headquarters?

11. Artax

Your response shows the level of guilt that you are riddled with !!

A bald pooch scamp…….you are. !!!!!

12. At least I have shown some level of guilt, while you choose to remain the shameless individual you are.

BTW, have you and the other “bald pooch scamps” settled the DLP’s debt of $109,609 due to CBC?

I hope all uh wunnuh get lock to RH up.

13. Barbados will be providing logistical support for the second phase of exercise Fused Response, which is being conducted in international waters over the next few days.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/151461/barbados-providing-support-military-exercise

14. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Yardfowl Walter Blackman;

Neither You nor any other politician (D or B) can give me any task!.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, fah trute you can say so sweetly that:”Given the impact of ‘third parties ‘ on the political landscape this matter s a non issue” (BTW, what’s with your quote character set appearing like that??)….

How can Phillips who was touted here as a breath of fresh air be given a wonderful pass for blatant dictatorial BS…how can we legitimize this and his abject unacceptable policies and proposals (fining petty criminals thousands which they cant pay, for example) and yet lambaste the others for their nonsense!!!

Remarkable!

But on the other hand maybe he can legitimately propose as the recent US Solicitor General argued with vigor before the US Supreme Court that “[c]ampaign statements” made by “private citizens” are “irrelevant”!

The lawyer said (with not a smile on his face I certainly expect) that there is this thing called a “fundamental transformation” which the private citizen candidate undergoes when he or she is elected…..THUS it is only the remarks said elected official makes after the victory that must be considered.

Here is an excerpt of arguments made to put things into further perspective:

—<< Justice Anthony Kennedy, often the swing justice on contentious cases, chimed in with another hypothetical. …
    “Suppose you have a local mayor, and as a candidate he makes vituperative, hateful statements,” [then] “He’s elected, and on day two he takes acts that are consistent with those hateful statements. Whatever he said during the campaign is irrelevant?”

Francisco [Solicitor Gen] replied, “I would say yes,” because the government believes that the oath of office “marks a fundamental transformation.”–>>>

In short, politicians can say whatever they want to say in order to succeed…of course, we have heard that all before but here is the govt top lawyer making a strenuous legal argument to codify campaign talk as mere irrelevancy with no basis whatever in factual policy planning. And of course on the other hand the politicians themselves strenuously argue that they will keep their campaign promises.

Grenville has always been a Republican in tone and policy so this amazing BS argumentation fits him and his impractical policies perfectly!

16. This ignorant Solicitor General also said that Islam is a great country

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

Had me a good sleep and rest. Feels good when your mind has nothing to worry about since it is not bounded by any commitment so pressing to keep you awake and worried all night. Now, why would you not engage me any further in this discussion? Did you not accused me of being a disgruntled DLP, a die hard DLP, a hypocrite, a liar, and one who would support a dictatorial party all because you do not like the fact that I state my position regarding the BLP you do not have a problem with? Did you not accuse me of following the agenda set by the DLP to operate like all those persons whom you list as functioning DLP yardfowls? I ask you a few questions you ignore them. You know what I want, but I am having trouble understanding what you hope to achieve. So please tell me, after all the fact-checking, the research and exposing those who are operatives on this blog, what is it all intended to do? Is Barbados your focus or only a party? Engage me, please!

18. Many laughable, weak, puerile, sophomoric excuses for “propaganda” (you can’t call them arguments) have been put forward on this blog in support of the “DLP” (sometimes I ask myself if it possible that “BLP” operatives could be at work in some of these offerings) and you have systematically exposed
    Walter

The DEMS “in power” and I believe it is my duty to “systematically expose” the “many laughable, weak, puerile, sophomoric excuses for “propaganda” that “have been put forward on this blog in support of the DLP.”

However, if the BLP were to win the upcoming general elections, you “dun know” there will an obvious reversal of the “roles” performed in this forum…..and there will be a similar spewing of “propaganda that will be put forward on this blog in support of the BLP.”

This is when I will “eventually get around to completing” the exercise, because Enuff, Prodigal, Gabriel and Miller will come under scrutiny as well.

(Because of the amount of licks dat get trau in you…..yuh would notice dat I en include “Are-we–there yet” in the list……..out of fear of the consequences).

19. Walter Blackman Avatar

Artax,
    I am aware that there are some Barbadians who focus their attention primarily on what they believe to be good for the country. This focus creates some permutations and combinations in the area of politics:
    Barbadians who only highlight the negative actions of govt
    Barbadians who only highlight the positive actions of govt
    Barbadians who highlight the negative and positive actions of govt
    I am broad-minded enough to appreciate the different roles. Unfortunately lies, propaganda, hypocrisy, misinformation and deceit have become the weapon of choice for reprobates who would like to fool readers that they are genuinely performing one of those roles.
    In reality, they are simply singing for their supper.

Are-we-there-yet doth protest too much. I certainly have no objections to him/her assuming the self-designated position of senior BLP yardfowl on the board.

I noticed that you removed Are-we-there-yet from the list (out of fear of the powder-puff “corn-curl” punches that he/she throws), and against my recommendations, have now added Miller.

Interesting.

20. Walter

You forgot to add to your list:

Barbadians who PREFER to focus SPECIFICALLY on the “many laughable, weak, puerile, sophomoric excuses for “propaganda” (you can’t call them arguments) have been put forward in support of” ANY political party.

Perhaps you also describe such individuals as “simply singing for their supper,”

21. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman April 26, 2018 12:14 PM

“I am broad-minded enough to appreciate the different roles. Unfortunately lies, propaganda, hypocrisy, misinformation and deceit have become the weapon of choice for reprobates who would like to fool readers that they are genuinely performing one of those roles.
    In reality, they are simply singing for their supper.”

Artax,
    I don’t think I forgot to add anything. All bases covered.

22. Hmmmmm…….Walter…..point taken.

I hope you are broad-minded enough to appreciate it………

………… but I think I’ll have a read of your contributions to this forum, pre and post your decision some time last year to support a particular political party to determine if you fit in any of the categories……..and if you were simply singing for your supper as well.

Hahahahahaha……..

23. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Walter Blackman

You said:
    April 26, 2018 12:14 PM

“I am broad-minded enough to appreciate the different roles. Unfortunately lies, propaganda, hypocrisy, misinformation and deceit have become the weapon of choice for reprobates who would like to fool readers that they are genuinely performing one of those roles.
    In reality, they are simply singing for their supper.”

True!

But you should realise that you are describing your personal attributes in harrowing detail as exemplified by your unsuccessful campaign to redeem yourself with the DLP, consistent with an effort to enhance your chances of getting lucrative contracts from the DLP government in an area where such contracts are relatively few, lucrative and highly competitive.

Many of us on BU, yardfowls or not recognized that you were demonstrably singing for your supper. You didn’t fool all of us.

24. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Artax;

I didn’t see your post above when I wrote mine.
    It was just a case of sensible minds think alike.

25. Off topic

Cosby found guilty

26. @ Sargeant,

He shudda learn to beg fufh de cat instead of putting de women to sleep.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

In fairness to Mr Blackman he was never non-partisan as he always expressed his admiration and basic affiliation to the DLP.

He simply expressed reasoned and expert grounded positions on technical matters like the NIS and the the economy which had much acceptance because of the gravitas of his professional qualifications and he also didn’t spew the party line ad nauseum. But even back then he was a combative, in your face partisan fighter who used impolitic language to belittle and attack his critics.

Now, from time to time still offers solid technical analysis; displays his DLP admiration more boldly to a larger public audience and still acts the same testy way…

… Like his: “reprobates who would like to fool readers …” Good Lawd, this man is saying that as long as you are a DLP/Blackman critic then you are ‘an unprincipled person/rogue/scoundrel’. WTF!

What a ‘lovely role model’ this mid-aging professional would be on the stump or in Parliament. SMH!

But as the Blogmaster says we do need our intelligent difference makers to step forward…decency or reason not required!

28. Your sarcasm Dee Word will get you just a wee distance.

29. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

Artax April 26, 2018 1:39 PM

“Hmmmmm…….Walter…..point taken.

I hope you are broad-minded enough to appreciate it………

………… but I think I’ll have a read of your contributions to this forum, pre and post your decision some time last year to support a particular political party to determine if you fit in any of the categories……..and if you were simply singing for your supper as well.

Hahahahahaha……..”

Artax,
    As Bajans would say: “Every skin-teet’ ain’t a laugh.

Every single word that I ever wrote on BU, I am accountable and responsible for. No quarter asked. No quarter given.
    You have an analytical mind, you know how to present facts, and you know how to reach conclusions.
    By all means, go ahead and read all of my contributions (pre- and post- any event you choose to identify).

When you are through, please let BU readers know if I fit in any of the categories and if I was simply singing for my supper.

Nice project.

30. “When you are through, please let BU readers know if I fit in any of the categories and if I was simply singing for my supper.”

Walter

It may not be necessary for me to undertake that “project” after all.

The de Pedantic Dribbler’s April 26, 2018 2:36 PM contribution provided enough information for any rational individual to form a conclusion.

His assessment was “fair and balanced” ……….so, sing, Walter, sing….

31. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Are-we-there-yet April 26, 2018 1:59 PM

“Walter Blackman

…..you should realise that you are describing your personal attributes in harrowing detail as exemplified by your unsuccessful campaign to redeem yourself with the DLP, consistent with an effort to enhance your chances of getting lucrative contracts from the DLP government in an area where such contracts are relatively few, lucrative and highly competitive.

Many of us on BU, yardfowls or not recognized that you were demonstrably singing for your supper. You didn’t fool all of us.”

Are-we-there-yet,
    One of the roles I have assumed for myself is to identify some of the negative attitudes that Barbadians possess, have those attitudes vomited up on BU, and put on the front-burner for discussion.

Barbadian taxpayers paid for my education from Primary to post-graduate level. I then invested thousands of hours into professional studies and became qualified in actuarial science, an area where human resources are relatively few.
    As a result of my training and experience in the areas of math, statistics, risk management, economics and finance, I (along with thousands of Barbadians who only had a secondary education) recognized that the economy of Barbados was on a downward trajectory, and in the absence of a serious and dramatic intervention, was destined to crash in the short term.

I had joined the DLP under Errol Barrow’s leadership in 1985, and although I had been away for over 20 years, I sent payments to the DLP to maintain my membership. Eventually, I decided that, rather than sit on my backside in Atlanta when my country was desperately in need of decent people with fresh ideas, I would get up and offer myself as a candidate for public service. That decision called for a lot of sacrifice, especially being away from my family.

I am not a lawyer, but throughout my professional life, I have always sought to create or rely on documentary evidence rather than on hearsay or speculation. It is now documented that the “decision-makers” of the DLP decided that I did not possess the type of attributes needed for their brand of public service, so my candidacy was rejected. You are now using that documentary evidence to describe my efforts, not as an attempt to make a contribution to Barbados, but as an unsuccessful campaign to redeem myself with the DLP. Personally, I don’t see any reason for me to do that, but if that is how you see it, so be it.

Thirty years ago, based on the operational processes and practices I observed first hand, I foresaw the inevitable crash of CLICO. Consequently, I stood up within the company and pleaded for change. For that action alone, I was branded public enemy number 1, and eventually fired. However, I had seen enough, and what I saw dictated that I cancel the policy I had purchased from CLICO. As I cancelled my policy, I felt an everlasting sorrow for all of those policyholders who did not know enough to cancel theirs. If I were an unethical, greedy, money-hound, I would have been smart enough to join the ringleaders. Today, I would have been one of the many artificial CLICO millionaires. I am simply not wired that way, and every dollar I have earned in my life, I have worked hard for.

That old familiar pain I felt as a result of CLICO now returns every time I think of Barbados.

Do you recall that after CLICO fell, the Judicial Manager moved in? Do you recall the PM angrily telling you that the Judicial Managers took “dizzying millions” (that should have gone to the policyholders) from CLICO whilst it was lying on its deathbed? Did that mean anything to you? Do you realize that a lot of these millions of dollars left the country as foreign exchange and therefore ate into our FOREX? Do you realize that the government contracts in my field have been given to Sagicor and Eckler long ago, and both of these are foreign companies?
    Can you point me to any comments you made on BU expressing any anger or outrage about the situation outlined above?

Do you realize that even if my Barbadian company were to get contracts from the government, that would mean that I would be paid in local currency, and I would have to hire workers. Therefore, these contracts would save foreign exchange and create jobs? Do you realize that that is good for Barbados and Barbadians? Who knows, I might end up hiring someone close to you.

If the international markets were structured so that we could export nasty-mindedness, envy, and malice towards each other, Barbados would become a global super power.overnight. Therefore, I am not at all surprised that your mind would naturally, easily, instinctively hit on the idea that my decision to stand for public office was nothing more than “an effort to enhance (my) chances of getting lucrative contracts from the DLP government in an area where such contracts are relatively few, lucrative and highly competitive.”

As fate would have it, I have received not one government contract. In fact, I have not received one single cent from Government. Any supper I sang for would have been made up solely of wind pies.

32. Thirty years ago, based on the operational processes and practices I observed first hand, I foresaw the inevitable crash of CLICO. Consequently, I stood up within the company and pleaded for change. For that action alone, I was branded public enemy number 1, and eventually fired. However, I had seen enough, and what I saw dictated that I cancel the policy I had purchased from CLICO. As I cancelled my policy, I felt an everlasting sorrow for all of those policyholders who did not know enough to cancel theirs. If I were an unethical, greedy, money-hound, I would have been smart enough to join the ringleaders. Today, I would have been one of the many artificial CLICO millionaires. I am simply not wired that way, and every dollar I have earned in my life, I have worked hard for.(Quote)

Regulatory incompetence has been running for a long time. It is a legacy problem. Why was all this background history not all explained in public during the judicial management review?

33. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

de pedantic Dribbler April 26, 2018 2:36 PM

“.. Mr Blackman Now, .. displays his DLP admiration more boldly to a larger public audience and still acts the same testy way.”

de pedantic Dribbler,
    “I have written a lot on BU and I stand by whatever I wrote.

You have brazenly implied that I used to display my DLP admiration boldly before, and now I have moved into a higher gear by displaying it more boldly now.

Don’t you find it strange that you could not cite one or two references to back up what you said? Since you know me so well, you must know that that is a basic requirement you must meet if you want me to take you seriously.

34. @Walter

Why are you engaged in this pedantic exercise? If the blogmaster were to start naming the closet Bees and Dees on BU …

35. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

de pedantic Dribbler April 26, 2018 2:36 PM

“… Like his: “reprobates who would like to fool readers …” Good Lawd, this man is saying that as long as you are a DLP/Blackman critic then you are ‘an unprincipled person/rogue/scoundrel’. WTF!

What a ‘lovely role model’ this mid-aging professional would be on the stump or in Parliament. SMH!

But as the Blogmaster says we do need our intelligent difference makers to step forward…decency or reason not required!”

de pedantic Dribbler,
    Ah ha, you have managed to come up with a reference. Good for you.

So, according to you, just by merely writing the words “reprobates who would like to fool readers”, I was actually “saying that as long as you are a DLP/Blackman critic then you are ‘an unprincipled person/rogue/scoundrel’”? Are you “fuh real”?

Your twisted logic and crooked thinking represented first gear. After swearing, you moved into second gear and focused your venom on me. As the “mid-aging professional”, I then became the target of your ineffective scorn, your wasted sarcasm, and your ultimate bewilderment.
    The late Errol Barrow once said that some Bajans don’t like others because they don’t like themselves.

36. @Walter B
    Sill a fan..
    Don’t get caught up with others

37. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Walter Blackman;

An old neighbour of mind had a saying “…to explain yuhself yuh hav tuh expose yuhself”

I think you have exposed yourself fully to all thinking readers of this blog, and not in the way you intended either. Some of us can match actions with high sounding objectives and read through verbiage.

Uh gone.

But Wuh yuh tink bout de PM’s call? Someone like you might know if he was forced to make the call somewhat prematurely in relation to his actual intentions or predelictions implicit in every earlier call he has made. You might even know if MIA has been handed a bouquet of nettles in the form of unfinished attempts to identify reasonable sources of funding to pay the big June external debt. etc., etc., etc. That line of blogging might be more important to the BU family than self immolation.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Walter, please don’t come to play your games with me. I too stand very solidly behind what I write in BU posts, bro.

I don’t come to bad talk anyone so when I make a reference re a blogger you can be assured it can be validated. Thus when I affirmed that “… [he] displays his DLP admiration more boldly to a larger public audience..” there is no lack of evidence to affirm that “[I] have brazenly implied that [you] used to display [your] DLP admiration boldly before…”

It is from YOUR writings my brother that I know you were a young Dem and president no less of that party grouping….

It is from YOUR posts here that I became aware of your tussles (so to speak) with the party elders at the time…and it is also from YOUR writings that learned of what I term your love-hate relationship with the party.

You propagated all that on BU for all to read…you were a proud member who by YOUR own words maintained your membership because one day you believed you would be elevated or dropped in to a key leadership spot….at least that’s what your posts said to ME.

Now you are back home on a local radio station spreading the gospel according to Walter under the auspices of the DLP….so please explain to me why that should not be considered “… moved into a higher gear by displaying [his DLP admiration] more boldly now”!

I am sure you are more skilled at the game theory as practiced by Risk professionals than I would ever be but here you are expounding the BS game theory and also showing great skill!😁

I will presume you are really making sport @7:03. You did NOT use reprobate and not know its synoynms…Surely, NO.

It’s amazing for you to accuse me of twisted logic and crooked thinking because I SIMPLY used a replacement word for the big word YOU used..

My SYNONYMS highlight exactly how uncouth your statement was !

My brother, look I appreciate that being in the public eye can be painful because everyone nitpicks everything…so you know what try real freaking hard to be decorous or know the dann meaning of words before you toss them around in post.

And don’t be a JA… I am mid age myself and I know you are older than I am so how on earth is it not practical to correctly describe you as a mid-age professional…are you yah real…that was not sarcasm or scorn…it was a freaking FACT.

Incidentally I curse (use freaking) as my little way of emphasis…why do YOU use nasty, uncouth words like ‘reprobate’ to belittle other human beings!

I suspect the flip side to that Barrowism, is that some Bajans like themselves TOO much…get a firm grip Walter…your high horse is wobbly.

Frankly, I like you because you appear to be a principled man, just as I like Grenville for very much the same reasons but bloody hell when you are crass I will voice a critical opinion. It is surely your right to punch back if you believe that’s justified.

May you have success ahead, senor.

39. I am hearing that the reserves are extremely low!

It is passing strange that the Governor of the Central Bank has withheld the first quarter report.

40. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David April 26, 2018 6:33 PM

“@Walter

Why are you engaged in this pedantic exercise? If the blogmaster were to start naming the closet Bees and Dees on BU …”

As you fully know, I am not interested in any Bees and Dees (open or closeted) exercise. My “list” was mere political bait that caught 3 fishes.

On a more serious note, when it comes to the fate of the Barbadian economy, the die has already been cast. The experience that Barbados will have to go through in the short to medium term will call for new attitudes and approaches if the country is to rebound. The way we view and treat each other will have to change. Remember that the whole world has changed, but we have not.
    Envy, malice, and jealousy are characteristics endemic in the general population. Hypocrisy, lies, and deceit are not too far behind. These traits must manifest themselves, in one way or another, on BU, which is a sample of the general population. And they do.
    I am hoping, that by occasionally acting as a lightning rod, I can bring some of these negative characteristics to the fore. Through education, and emphasizing a need for introspection, I might succeed in changing an attitude or two. It would be a start, regardless of how small.
    We all know that it’s not easy dealing with self-destructive Barbadians.

I chose a time of rising political temperatures and an environment of rabid unbridled partisanship to get an unbiased random sample of these destructive attitudes.
    My short sociological experiment, or as you put it, my pedantic exercise, is now over. I will retire and mull over my observations and findings.

41. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

Artax April 26, 2018 3:40 PM

“The de Pedantic Dribbler’s April 26, 2018 2:36 PM contribution provided enough information for any rational individual to form a conclusion.

His assessment was “fair and balanced” ……….so, sing, Walter, sing…”

Artax,
    I readily admit and concede that we have only forged a cyberspace relationship.
    Yet, the disappointment I feel is real and deep.

Carry on smartly.

42. Walter Blackman Avatar

TheoGazerts April 26, 2018 7:44 PM

“@Walter B
    Sill a fan..
    Don’t get caught up with others”

TheoGazerts,
    Greetings.
    I am not really getting caught up. I have been reading the blogs and thought to myself that things were becoming rather “flat” recently.
    So I figured that I would inject some “effervescence” into the proceedings by dangling a few mechanical worms in the water.
    I can now safely say that the fishes are biting on BU!

Take care of yourself.

43. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

de pedantic Dribbler April 26, 2018 9:05 PM

@Walter, please don’t come to play your games with me.

de pedantic Dribbler,
    Too late.
    I want to thank you for participating.

44. Walter

I was just have a bit of fun……..however, putting the sport aside…..I stand by a comment I previously made in this forum…..that is……

…….. anyone who knows me will confirm that Walter Blackman and Dr. Don Marshall are two individuals I admire and always try to encourage youngsters to emulate.

45. @Walter

What will be interesting in the days and few weeks ahead is how the various political parties craft their messages to the public. Some bitter medicine will have to be imbibed doesn’t matter the party gaining office.

46. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David!

True!!

47. “Some bitter medicine will have to be imbibed doesn’t matter the party gaining office.”

David BU

You have been waving Solution’s Barbados’ banner and Grenville Phillips II has stated on several occasions that his party has the only “non-austerity” policies that would realize economic growth within one year.

Bearing in mind that the words “bitter medicine” used within the context of your contribution translate to “austerity,”………..

……….are you suggesting/admitting that Phillips II is perhaps misleading the public or being a bit too ambitious as it relates to SB’s economic policies?

48. The blogmaster is supportive of ALL dissenting voices which will challenge the duopoly.

49. Hmmmmm……

The blogmaster has conveniently side-stepped the question.

What is the difference between the blogmaster response and Alvin Cummins or Enuff supporting the DLP and BLP respectively…..even in the face of absurdity?

50. You may draw whatever conclusion you want.