BLP TV

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has reported that they will be streaming (BLP) events from their Annual Conference taking place at Queens College this morning from 9.15 AM. They seem to be experiencing difficulties because up to 9.50 AM no stream was available but the BU family can keep trying!
BLP's St Michael South East branch nominated young attorney-at-law Santia Bradshaw as its candidate following the resignation of Member of Parliament Hamilton Lashley, who now sits as an Independent.
St Michael South East branch nominated attorney-at-law Santia Bradshaw as its candidate – triggered by the resignation of Member of Parliament Hamilton Lashley, who now sits as an Independent.

On behalf of the BU household we heartily congratulate the youthful daughter of former DLP-BLP member Delisle Bradshaw. In makes us feel good to see young people entering politics. The world is morphing and we will need our best young people to step forward to work with the experienced hands to move our proud nation forward.

What we find laudable is the fact that she has decided to join a party in opposition, to our way of thinking it says a lot about the character of the young lady. Some may take this observation as challenging Hamilton Lashley’s recent decision but his story is different.

We listened with interest to the explanation by leader of the opposition Mia Mottley  regarding her support for the young Santia as reported in the Nation, she identified Santia “as an example for the new generation of BLP leadership, Mottley said the BLP would showcase “about 14 or 15 new candidates going into the next election”. We look forward to the rebirth of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), those of us who try to be independent recognize the importance of a strong opposition.

What we hope for is that Mia Mottley honour’s her promise to select candidates for the next election which reflect the cross section of Barbados. We continue to be concerned at the high number of lawyers who enter politics in Barbados. While we have nothing against lawyers, we have a problem how that profession has been allowed to terrorize Barbadians. We listened recently to Wilfred Abrahams, the President of the BAR Association who used statistics to favourably explain the four or five lawyers who have been disciplined in recent months out of a pool of six hundred. What he forgot to mention is the daily behaviour  exhibited by lawyers who fustrate Barbadians by processing simple transaction at snail pace for less than acceptable reasons.

The financial and mental impact to ordinary PEOPLE in Barbados has become an everyday talking point. How can we forget that  the Jippy Doyle case which was represented by Sir Richard Cheltenham took seven years, yet the honourable Knight was able to pursue a law suit on behalf of Opposition Leader Mia Mottley in relatively quick time.

We agree with Mia Mottley that the political parties must become reflective of the society which they have sworn to serve. The mistrust and cynicism which currently exist between the PEOPLE and the political parties must be addressed. We believe the cause of some of the cynicism can be attributed to how Barbadians perceive the legal profession.

We must depart from the old ways: Will the traditional composition of the political parties require that lawyers play a lesser role? We wish her party well for the sake of sustaining our stable political climate. What do you think?

119 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Throwing Out The Old”

1. WIV, Mia said that Owen Arthur is in the Maldives is this not true?

http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-11168–26-26–.html

Now the elections where held on October 8th, is Owen Arthur still in the Maldives on October 26th?

2. I was inpressed with her address in layman’s term.

Should be “impressed”.

Anyway Adrian. I am not part of any political choir. I can’t sing, so I will be always out of tune, that’s why I always talk to muh talk. I wonder what pain or Payne that Clydie was in to take a such a picture. The camera man was real sharp.

Now to WIV. You know why people are ignoring your posts, you are always listening to gossip and amplifying the said gossip with a pinch of propaganda. If you ease up on your criticisms and your personal vendetta against Mia et al, and give the present administration worthwhile ideas instead of embarrassing the said party which you keep saying that you love; the country will be better off with that knowledge.

3. Now the elections where held on October 8th, is Owen Arthur still in the Maldives on October 26th?
    …………………………………………………..
    Adrian, probably he might still be in the Maldives due to a run-off.

Gayoom faces run-off in Maldives

Posted: 10/09/2008
    Voting in the Maldives first multi-party presidential election goes to a second round after President Gayoom fails to win outright.

Read full story. Source: BBC News | World | UK Edition
    First Democratic Presidential Election in Maldives Heads to Second Round

Posted: 10/09/2008
    The first ever democratic election in the Indian Ocean archipelago nation, the Maldives, failed to produce a winner when no candidate secured an absolute majority of votes. Incumbent president Maumoon Abdul GAYOOM, who after ruling the country unchallenged for the past 30 years is Asia’s longest-ruling head of state, led the poll with 40 percent of the landmark vote. He will now face a run off with second-place finisher Mohamed NASHEED, who secured 25 percent of the vote in Thursday’s poll. NASHEED is a former journalist and pro-democracy activist whom, as GAYOOM’s most outspoken critic, GAYOOM imprisoned repeatedly for his anti-government political activities. Maldivians flooded the polls in the country’s first multiparty elections and the resulting long lines, combined with other problems in polling centers, forced election officials to leave the polls open for up to 12 hours longer than planned. No date has been announced for the run-off election, but Maldivian law requires the second-round vote to be held within 10 days of the first.

Source: ElectionGuide

4. His parting words to mottley was he will stay in England and make her sweat.
    Owing could and would have returned home had he wanted to but he is intent on bringing her to order and this is the start.

She is a vicious wicked bully (yes Bully) but let me assure you that it has met its match in Owing.

5. fuh a minute dey i thought you did trying to correct my mispelling, and i was going to ask you if you did not see

Kaki = Khaki

Tell me why you is a Bees Bee. You so RED that you think it is abnormal not to be. 🙂 lol!

Uh gone, good night all.

6. Tell me why you is a Bees Bee. You so RED that you think it is abnormal not to be. 🙂 lol!
    ……………………………………………………….
    I’m black, dark and negro all in one. Dig!!!

7. I’m black, dark and negro all in one. Dig!!!

And an ardent bee, unswerving loyal friend of mottley who defends it at all cost even when it is at its worst.

8. WIV. Let Adrian give you a crash program in diplomacy, you need it fast.

9. sHUT -UP I like the PDC
    IL ike santia and i like mascoll and i like owen wunna shut up i like sir leroy shut up i like sinckler

10. WIV may have been partially right all along.

The flying fish and cou cou column had the following to say.

“Audience missing

GUESS you would have heard about the late start of a certain eventlast weekend.

But can you guess the reason for the delay? The lack of an audience.

Apparently, members of the hive were busy either doing their Saturday shopping and chores or they simply overslept.

It was only when a busload turned up at the location that the big-do finally got under way.

The thing is that most of those on the bus were transported from a certain hub not too far away so that when a roll call was made to find out which areas were represented, there was a big hush in corners of the room.

To think that this time last year there was only standing room at the event. No one, it would seem, likes to be on the losing side. ”

all uh could say is WOW!

11. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Anon // November 2, 2008 at 6:04 am

WIV may have been partially right all along.

Further to that when I state that there is so much infighting in that collection of crooks I am not joking.

May I also state that had Owing wanted to support mottley he would have seen to it to be present, he chose otherwise.

Or ask Hammy about the near fist fight in cabinet with he, Wood and Owing and the threat to shoot him because of his views ??

They the blp have only themselves to blame for they have been exposed as a heartless, corrupt party, with cares only for themselves and no one else.

12. BAFBFP
    Peter Boyce you already seen Santia naked. And : in your dreams would Hugh Hefner ever come knocking on her door. She ain’t ugly , She ain’t pretty she is average.
    But maybe they would knock on her cross-dressing companions door Tony Hoyos but for her never has anyone seen him in drag Sweet he looks better than her in a dress.
    I suppose you would like to see Hillary Clinton or Mia naked as well.
    But most of us males will let Hugh select the babes he does.

13. Maybe Peter has seen the very bi Reul, Tony Hoyos and her naked all at the same time and of course the only man there was Santia.
    Ruel, Stole millions from Sagicor. Hoyos from price waterhouse and hardwood housing with “Cinammon 88 being found out one of owings buddies Mike P. all you need to know is the hon David Thompson is protecting us from the people who sold out are great nation to the corruption of Owings party, the BLP 12 years plus of selling overpricing our lands. Gems of Barbados the ABC fiasco.
    and of course the apple don’t fall far from the tree father like son Santia is the man amongst the boys she has that love her for wearing the pants in the group hear Reul shops with Hoyos in Miami

14. Hoyos used to take his former ex beauty queens Fashion model who graced the pages of Vogue ex wife’s clothes she wants back in the divorce settlement!!

15. Barbados needs better Avatar
    Barbados needs better

pele will go after Braddies daughter from the grave, the apple ain’t to far from the tree.
    Braddies first wife testified against him and he lost his only son sins of the father on the child and Santia is his child
    I think it is sickening the lack of morals in the BLP Kerrie Symmonds beats his wife constantly has so many outside women, they covered up until his poor wife finally called the police.This is how the BLP mafia operates
    Owen beats his wife Julie and she leaves him FINALLY.
    So many alledged openly homosexuals in this party not to mention corruption to the core worse than the Zimbabwe fiasco or that of Africas Charles Taylor or GW Bush
    They destroyed Barbados

16. Barbados needs better Avatar
    Barbados needs better

Will Santia ever answer about Ruel Wards criminal acts
    why did he flee Barbados if he is innocent.
    Where is his wife Sharon and him getting the money to live in expensive beach front condos that Ms Ward says they own?

Look finally Roman Polanski fled and has to answer do you think the USA will be easy on him like we are on Ruel Ward.
    Where did hoyos get all that money years ago before he was so tight with the BLP around the late 90’s he didn’t have so much now in recent years he has been accused of hardwood housing scandal, remember she is his companion .
    They care nothing about the poor of this nation or the underdogs

17. Reads like a great book!
    Thanks authors

18. No more commess??? Rumshop talk right here on front street! U folks are funny, laughs for days!!!!

19. Barbados is in a Recession Avatar
    Barbados is in a Recession

Ruel tiefin Boisterous braggart he is paying his dues the new GF of Hoyos’s is only de beard to hide the real relationship I keep seeing Ruel going into Hoyos’s place at all hours of the night. They are cut from the same cloth. Corruption at it’s best/