A disappointment the blogmaster holds of the incumbent DLP government of ten years is the inability to communicate forthrightly with Barbadians.  Whether at a personal or impersonal level, without clear communication, a wholesome relationship will be elusive. What is the state of the foreign reserves, important to infusing investor confidence? Why has the governmentagain withheld the IMF report from the citizenry?

The following message was posted to the timeline of leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley. It is a message worthy of unpacking for a BU discussion made so in a poorly performing economy. We eagerly await the Quarterly Economic Review of the newly installed Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados.

Zip it Minister Sinckler!

Stop fooling Bajans.

When discussing the state of Barbados’s international reserves earlier this week, Minister Sinckler urged people not to panic. We would concur that panic is seldom a productive reaction. However, the Minister fails to understand that the Government’s practice of infrequent release of information itself breeds distrust and fear. This Government seems surprised that, even at a time of national crisis, the people of Barbados would want even monthly updates.

Minister Sinckler, if there is no need for noted regional economists, such as Ms. Dukharan, to be concerned, then why has the Government refused to release the 2017 Article IV report approved by the Executive Board of the IMF in January? The publication of Article IV reports is widely considered around the world to be sound practice in terms supporting transparency in economic policy-making and strong investor relations. It is only troubled governments, fearful of the political fallout of IMF criticism, that shun publication. While we have been the first to question prescriptions of austerity, we believe that transparency and openness to debate are essential in our democracy (and we note that the IMF Article IV reports from the BLP years are available online for all to scrutinise). What is in the document that Minister Sinckler does not want people to find out as elections loom?

Minister Sinckler, if there is no need for ordinary Barbadians not privy to ‘the facts’ to worry, then why are there rumours circulating that the Central Bank is desperately knocking on doors, pleading with financial institutions to pledge their foreign assets and those of their clients in order to allow the Central Bank to then use these assets to raise emergency external on a secured basis? When the Central Bank reports on the first quarter results later this month, will it confirm these last-ditch schemes, which skirt the Parliamentary approval process, or deny them?

Minister Sinckler, reserves are now at a crisis level of 6 weeks’ worth of imports – half the CBB’s target: if the people are not panic, they will need to have not just the facts, but also the details of how the Government plans to save our dollar. This plan must be a credible one that goes to the heart of our economic malaise, and not one that pathetically relies on uncertain, one-off fire-sales of Barbados’s national assets for a temporary recovery in reserve levels.

The Minister is totally out of his depth. He is swimming in waters too deep. I am Not having a debate with Chris Sinckler on the economy. He is looking for a political landing platform.

The Governor of the Central Bank needs to take notice – he must decide which God is he serving, Barbados or the Minister of Finance. The Governor of the Central Bank is a servant of the people – not a creature of the Minister of Finance.

To tell us that the country is good because the reserves are at $420m – only $10 million more than December 31 – . is to distract when he knows that the trajectory is going downward; when he and everyone else in the financial sector locally knows that the Central Bank has been desperately seeking to get a loan of US$100 million and asking people to bring back home their second tier reserves.

Chris you are swimming in waters too deep for you – you need to stop it and zip it up and stop fooling people.
The Minister needs to speak plainly to the country but, maybe, that is what he is afraid of.

Barbadians need to be told:-

1. How many times you have been written by the same Governor of the Central Bank with respect to the state of affairs. And when? Has he not told you that there is an urgent need to seek foreign financing to support the reserves given the delays in your planned divestments and the high levels of foreign debt financing the country must face.
  2. Why you as Minister of Finance will not release the IMF Article IV Report for last year.
  3. That there were no foreign debt payments in March unlike February; and that when combined with the inflows from CDB/IDB meant that there was no decline in what would otherwise be higher receipts in March. Bajans need to know that there will be more than $330 million in foreign debt payments in the next 12 months – provided that there are no further downgrades – BUT THE official projected foreign exchange inflows are less than $100 million.
  4. That even with that, the increase in March 2018 is less than half of what the incerease was in March 2017.
  5. What will be our fate in June? How much foreign debt must be paid in the month of June? Is it not more than 3 times what we had to pay in foreign debt payments in February. Do we not have to pay $120m in foreign debt payments, immediately after the date by which the election must be held?
  6. Is there a Central Bank projection that places the worst case scenario of our Reserves as low as $100 million in December 2018.

The Governor of the Central Bank must speak plainly to Barbadians and not allow a Minister with an electoral interest to serve to paint a picture with his blue-Coloured lenses.

The Minister is consumed with telling us that his policies are working. That is his only interest. The Minister is taking figures out of context deliberately. It reminds me of the story once told in Parliament of the man who jumped out the skyscraper from 120th floor and when he passed the 30th floor he said “So far so good”.

This notion that better cannot be done is a nonsense. And too much mock sport is now being made of Bajans and the state of our country.

Our Debt was unsustainable for years now. And we have said it – Clyde, Ryan, Marsha, myself – the former PM, Minister Estwick and independent economists.

There is a way out of this, of our economic malaise.l We have said over and over we will do whatever makes sense to the local, regional and international community and economists. But we need to see the data – unvarnished. We need ALL of the facts – all of the arrears.

If things are getting better why has the PM abruptly ended negotiations with unions.

Why is it that your boast of VAT Returns causes us to ponder? Some people may have had VAT returns paid but at what costs? Some say 20% 30% – I don’t know. What I do know is that Not Everyone is getting their returns.

Look Barbadians need independent data so that they may understand how serious the country is. What are our true vital statistics? The blood pressure improving early in the morning and then dropping dangerously low again by the next day or next week cannot be used as a measurement that the patient is out of the woods and is recovering. The truth is the underlying bleeding will resume with a vengeance in June and December. And we have not prepared for those moments.

The Minister needs to release the 2017 IMF Article IV REPORT TO THE PUBLIC.

Equally the Governor must ensure that he is not put in an awkward or invidious position. The Minister is trying to write the Governor’s Quarterly Report for April for him. He is putting the pressure on the Governor causing people to believe the Nation’s back page story of the IDB Report that places our Central Bank at the bottom of the pack when it comes to independence and transparency of Central Banks – a horrendous 84th place out of 89. Now you know why I have pledged for the last 4 years to deal with the independence of the Bank. The Governor needs to tell the country what he has written under sections 25 and 48 to say.

Whether there can only be recovery of reserves if the sale of assets.

Whether the Bank is warning that there will have to be more printing of money or building up of arrears or both to meet both the domestic deficit and foreign debt payments.

Independent economists, who the minister is intent on attacking, must not take fear. They must continue to speak truth to power about the state of our economy.

This Minister is out of his depth and really needs to zip it. It is no longer cute to be trifling with our economic well being – we cannot be the props to his re-election campaign.

Barbadians need the facts as they get ready to make decisions about their future in the upcoming elections.
We need to get on with our lives and let us all get on with the business of fixing this country.

4th April 2018

114 responses to “Mia Tells Sinckler to ‘Zip it’”

1. Theophilius Gazerts 443 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 443

“the local Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) was administrative in nature, which “means that it does not have the capacity to do investigative work or resolve legal issues”

Translation
    Some people have some cushy jobs, big titles, drawing large salaries, but they are toothless dogs. They cannot do shit

2. Yeah, but Dumbville is acting as though he just found that out and has not known it for 10 long years…and did nothing about it, did nothing to correct it, neither him nor Adriel Nitwit the attorney general who still does nothing but collect a free salary.

ah hope he knows he is fooling no one, at least not me and definitely not the agency that wrote that report and certainly not those who are duty bound to investigate those criminals under international law.

3. “The High Court of Trinidad & Tobago has thrown out the country’s buggery laws, which punished same-sex relations with

up to 25 years in prison. The statute was rarely enforced, but had a chilling effect on the country’s LGBT population.”

Will Barbados be next when the MIA/BLP win the next election.

4. Thirty eight days have gone since Parliament dissolved itself………..one ignorant man said he deliberately allowed it to dissolve it self to make history.

I am of the opinion that the dems have over played their hands and no matter what they are planning, plotting and scheming…….the people are sick and tired of them, they have made up their minds and will deal with them whenever that person decides to call the election or when it calls itself.

Here is what a Barbadian, Colin Daniel posted on his Facebook page:

“I am not in a very tolerant mood this morning and it has to do with politics.

Three times this weeks I have heard people say that it is perfectly legal to use the 90 days after the dissolution of Parliament before an election is called. While may be legally so and I have opinions to the contrary it is horribly and immorally wrong.

We have a PM and his party constantly harping that the Opposition is impatient and wants to gain power to run the country. How is that different from the PM clinging to power in the worse economic climate that this country ever experienced.

This whole exercise demonstrates to my mind when the PM and his followers should be cast aside to the political wilderness for many years to come. They have done everything to destroy the once great party that the DLP was.

The pertinent issue is that we elect people to Parliament to represent us first….not to be members of the executive. The time of Kings and Queens of this country is long pass.

Get out now, if you think you can win call the election and let the people speak. You serve at the pleasure of the people. The people do not serve the PM or his party.

Stop loitering and destroying this country. get out of the way and let someone else chart a new course. PM you and your government have FAILED”.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….

Well said, Mr Colin Daniel.

5. What is the urgency ?

You have suffered for 5 years so how much difference will a month or two make ?

6. His Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart is on good legal grounds when it comes to announcing the General Elections date 2018 .

It’s MAM and her caravan of BLP bandits who are on ILLEGAL grounds !

Imagine since January 1 , 2018 she and her BLP bandits have refused to remove their posters ILLEGALLY mounted on the Barbados Light & Power poles !

Shameful BLPites !!

7. “Will Barbados be next when the MIA/BLP win the next election.”

I believe you should first ask if the Dr. Keith Rowley People’s National Movement administration influenced “the High Court of Trinidad & Tobago’s (decision) to throw out the country’s buggery laws.”

If the answer is “yes,” then perhaps a Mottley led BLP administration may follow the precedent set by Rowley and influence or order the High Court to likewise throw out Barbados’ buggery laws as well.

Fcuktured BLP

“Imagine since January 1 , 2018 she and her BLP bandits have refused to remove their posters ILLEGALLY mounted on the Barbados Light & Power poles!”

If the posters were “ILLEGALLY mounted on the Barbados Light & Power pole,” surely you must agree that the Attorney General has condoned the “illegal activity,” since he has not found it necessary to instruct the Commission of Police to take the relevant action or bring charges against the BLP.

Instead, Adriel Brathwaite left the task for a stupid yard-fowl to feel proud coming to this forum with shiite!!!

8. Artax

You last comments shows that you are having a panic attack !

Your BLP team is crumbling !

The long wait in the field have the BLPites stretched !

Still have a few more weeks of waiting……..let MAM stew in her sweat !!

9. https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ag-state-will-appeal-ruling/article_9f2f03d8-3eb9-11e8-a51a-9ff18c25cafd.html

No doubt MAM & Petra Wickham would have celebrated this T&T Court ruling with ” Gay Abandon ” !

10. The Paradise Papers Link is always interesting to navigate. Of the many companies found in the data dump, one can always bet to find the name Philip Tempro. The blogmaster hastens to add that being listed in the Paradise data dump is no indication of wrong doing.

Here is the link to Barbados registered companies https://offshoreleaks.icij.org/nodes/120013036

Here is the link to PBFG Energy Inc where Tempro appears to be the sole director https://offshoreleaks.icij.org/nodes/100337432

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

Your first link is faulty….all of CAIPO is on there in one form or another. See how many link to Donville (also shown as Donville O), and the address in the Harbour Industrial park….go and find me 8A lol. Who has the most directorships? STC

12. Fractured BLP – who pays you to write your dribbling excreta, you cretinous yardfowl?

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Touchy, touchy..lol

14. Behind Haiti, Barbados is now the worst failed state in the Caribbean.

The local black elite and their white so-called donors from the construction business have failed in every aspect:

They are not able to run a single public building without mold.
    They are not able to manage sewage.
    They are not able to handle crime.
    They are not able to contain corruption.
    They are not able to facilitate private business.
    They are not able to hand over democratic institutions in time.

All they do is begging Arabs and Chinese for money they will never be able to pay back.

Independence has failed. Governance has failed. Society has failed.

Just look at the so-called platinum coast: Villas and hotels for billions, but the local elite is not able to provide a single public road without 10,000 potholes. All nice roads left are within gated communities. I doubt very much that the masses in Barbados have ever seen a road longer than 10 m without a pothole.

15. Here is what Stephen Lashley opines about government not sharing the Article IV IMF Report.

Some persons have raised the issue of the release of the last IMF Barbados Article 4 Consultation Report following concerns raised by Mia Mottley about the non-release of the Report. for your guidance. See below for yourself
    1. The report, like all IMF reports done within countries and on matters specific to that country, is called a staff report
    2. The report is first shared with the Authorities of the country who are permitted to address issues of concern in the report including misinformation or errors
    3. In the case of Barbados, the report has been shared with Barbados and the technical personnel at the Central Bank and the Ministry of Finance are of the view that there are some fundamental parts of the report which need to be reviewed for accuracy and logic so that as a consequence a May/June publication is more realistic. This is all in keeping with standard practice.

16. What has to be admired about Stephen is his ability to lie with an absolutely calm demeanour, and with consistency – somewhat like a radio announcer reading news in a professional, impersonal style.
    Bushie even believed (for a few seconds) that we would have raised that $30M dollars for the new stadium …and that the Empire building would have been refurbished … and that …

17. Even if we accept Lashley’s position on the non release of the report, should the reply have come from the authoritative source read the MoF?

18. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Bush Tea April 13, 2018 6:47 AM

What has to be admired about Stephen is his ability to lie with an absolutely calm demeanour, and with consistency – somewhat like a radio announcer reading news in a professional, impersonal style.
    Bushie even believed (for a few seconds) that we would have raised that $30M dollars for the new stadium …and that the Empire building would have been refurbished … and that …

……………………………………………………………………………………………

“He is a modest man; with much to be modest about.”

19. Let some of us understand what is being stated here. You expect a third political party with a fledgling support to declare that it will slash and burn the public service should it gain the office of government?

Is the blogmaster correct?

A fledgling political party that must rely on popular support to make head way?

20. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

usually the IMF splashes those final reports across media so that the people can read themselves, but knowing this lying deceitful loitering bunch, they would maliciously delay amendment to the report that can be revised in 2 weeks for an extended time period of 3 months or more…to fit their rotten election agendas.

21. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

David April 13, 2018 7:16 AM

Let some of us understand what is being stated here. You expect a third political party with a fledgling support to declare that it will slash and burn the public service should it gain the office of government?

Is the blogmaster correct?

……………………………………………………………………………

No, you are not correct.

Once again, this idea that civil servants must be fired to make the system efficient is flawed.

The civil service must be MANAGED to make the system efficient.

Various flexible management tools and strategies must be brought to bear and that cannot be done without the cooperation of the unions.

Which potential gov’t ministers have engaged the unions in this regard and with what outcome? More backroom deals?

What the business people of this country need to hear from potential gov’ts before we re-engage the economy is how the management of the civil service is going to be improved so that business facilitation is improved.

With Dippa, Tom and Owen it was easy. Once you got air-time with them and they believed in a project, proposal etc. they micro-managed the situation to facilitate.

Fumble’s Fools couldn’t micro-manage making tea, that is why we are in our current position.

22. “You(r) last comments shows that you are having a panic attack!”

Fcuktured BLP

Having a panic attack??!!??……………far from it, yard-fowl.

I went to karaoke at Jack’s Bush Bar in Pile Bay last night. While there I saw Michael Carrington, Donville Inniss, Donville Batson, former Inspector of Police Simmons (of TNT Barbeque Hut fame) and members of Inniss’ “entourage” ………..all DEMS…….. mingling and drinking with their BLP counterparts…….as is the norm every Thursday night at that venue.

Actually, Inniss and the woman you paid to cuss, Mia Mottley, are regular patrons of the Bush Bar…….and they socialize with each other.

While the DEMS socialize with their BLP counterparts, they send jackass yard fowls, such as you, Angela “ac” Cox-Skeete, Carson C. Cadogan, NationBLPnewspaper, Alvin Cummins, Kevin and the other DLP yard-fowls to social media, to do their dirty work………..i.e. cussing the BEES.

And the jackass you are, you feel proud being used.

23. Artax,

It is good to know that the blue and red politicians dine together. So nothing will change after next elections. Barbados will remain the darkest plantation in the Caribbean with zero growth, highest debt burden, most potholes, laziest civil servants, highest prices and no prospect for young people expect the entourage and courtesans of the white and black plantocrats.

No wonder the British, Dutch and French overseas territories are now 30 years ahead in terms of human and economic development.

24. How long will it take to ‘manage’ the systematic problem (different to employee count) to reduce wage bill and increase productivity?

25. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

David April 13, 2018 9:37 AM

How long will it take to ‘manage’ the systematic problem (different to employee count) to reduce wage bill and increase productivity?

………………………………………………………………………..

Civil servants are retiring at the rate of 5% per year.

If no new ones are hired after elections, the ‘count’ will reduce from 30,000 to 23,000 over the next five years by doing absolutely nothing.

If the DLP had not hired lackies but had frozen all hiring in 2008 when the world economy crashed, we would have 18,000 now.

As I said, the problem isn’t civil servant numbers, it is management and yard-fowlism.

26. The word should be systemic. Yes attrition is one approach but it must be balanced with having the requisite skillsets to assure efficiency.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

The IMF issued a press release months ago on Article IV
    https://www.imf.org/en/News/Articles/2018/01/30/pr1833-imf-executive-board-concludes-2017-article-iv-consultation-with-barbados#_ftn1
    Based on this, there were a few “spins” reported in the media
    1. https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/imf-deficit-declining
    2. https://www.caribbeanlifenews.com/stories/2017/12/2017-12-01-ga-barbados-budget-cl.html
    3. http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business-report/the-barbados-economy-is-slowing-down-warns-imf_124078?profile=1056
    4. http://www.caribbean360.com/business/not-enough-imf-says-barbados-government-needs-fix-economic-problems

No government would wish to release this information pre-election. So argue/debate a few moot points, and blame the delay on ‘ongoing discussions’. “De IMF unfairing we”, plays much better than “MoF projections miss again”.

28. Just read that the union wants to close the supreme court building for THREE months. Why not one year? NOBODY will miss the court, given the amount of backlogs and missing files.

Welcome to the postcolonial era! No clean water anymore, millions of potholes across the island, rising crime and the highest debt burden and the lowest growth in the whole Caribbean.

Are there more targets to “achieve” for the so-called elite?

29. @Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.
    April 13, 2018 9:46 AM

You can speed this up, lowering pension age to 55 or 60 for 10 years. Of course, we need to optimize pensions for this case, say 50 % cut. The pensions for the public servants are definitly too high. They do not need a car or a holiday anymore after retirement. Rum, beach, church and singing are good enough.

30. Barbados,a one-eyed town with one TV station owned and controlled by the Government of Barbados and dedicated to give a one-sided view of the state of the economy.The Prime Minister is the equivalent of Vladimir Putin and CBCTV and radio 100.7fm are the equivalent of Pravda.Formerly known as the land of milk and honey,it is now known as the land where sh..t is flowing in the streets and uncollected garbage is rummaged and redistributed by rodents 24/7.Taxes are wasted on paying salaries,fees and pensions of human leeches called the DLP wild boys,none of whom has a clue what is meant by the word confidence.Even academics like don who support these wild boys find amusing reasons to convince themselves that the 90 day grace period is inclusive of the mandate to remain in control of the government.What a bunch of clowns associated with the name of UWI and specifically the scholar Arthur Lewis.What the RH wrong with these people doh!You mean dey en got nuh shame?

31. @ Artax who wrote “While the DEMS socialize with their BLP counterparts,”

That is how it has been over the last 50 years.

32. While their respective idiot yard fowls hate and cuss each other, maybe the idiots deserve it.

33. As usual, Ulric Sealy was good in fake news in his latest DLP propaganda lecture.

He says “common characteristics of a failing state included”

“loss of control of territory”: yes, Black Rock and other places are no-go-areas for the police.

“erosion of legitimate authority to make decisions”: the figures in parliament have no say, but the four “High Whites” aka Baloney, Jerkham and the Williams Bros.

“inability to provide public service”: yes, look at the many potholes and at the health services.

“widespread corruption and criminality, sharp economic decline”: read the Daily Telegraph and Russian news.

“and inability to interact with other states as a full member of the international community”: Barbados is the laughing stock at CARICOM. No one wants a Barbadian judge at the CCJ to mess up things and to create a backlog longer than the distance between earth and moon.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

You know when a mindless, mentally enslaved yardfowl is jumping out to defend the failed government leadership, corruption and collusion between minority business people now being investigated on the international arena and stupid, greedy politicians/ministers, that they all live in this alternate universe where reality does not apply.

That is why I want to see some ministers and thiefing crooked, criminal white, indian and syrian minorities taken off the island in handcuffs and drag the yardfowls off with them too, that should jump start the ones remaining into reality.

35. There’s a flurry of political activities slated for this weekend, especially among the two major parties.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/147816/busy-weekend-ahead

36. @Hant

There was a break for Lent, we are a religious country after all!

37. @Artax April 13, 2018 8:59 AM “I went to karaoke at Jack’s Bush Bar in Pile Bay last night. While there I saw Michael Carrington, Donville Inniss, Donville Batson, former Inspector of Police Simmons (of TNT Barbeque Hut fame) and members of Inniss’ “entourage.”

Whats with Donville and his entourage thingy? He comes to my church from time to time, and always with an “entourage”, a bunch of tough looking guys.

What’s that all about? In church even?

38. @ Simple Simon
    The wicked flee when no man pursueth: but the righteous are bold as a lion. …
    So the choice is to flee … or to hide behind an ‘entourage thingy’…

39. What’s with Donville and his entourage thingy? He comes to my church from time to time, and always with an “entourage”, a bunch of tough looking guys.(Quote)

Gangster?

40. @ Simple Simon who wrote ” a bunch of tough looking guys”.

What do “tough looking guys” look like ?

41. Dumbville is a legend in his own mind, he probably thinks his past will catch up with him, but all that entourage talk, if it really happens, watch how quickly the entourage will run and leave him, he knows bajan men are born cowards already, all that is for show to fool yardfowls.

42. I suppose the condemned turkey wings investigation by dumbville and paul, consigned to Baboolal the claut seller,has died a natural death.

43. Simple Simon

I saw Donville and several people dressed in yellow “T shirts,” bearing his name and with a slogan that made reference to his representation as being “tried, tested and proven.”

My use of “entourage” was not meant to be taken SERIOUSLY……..I used the word to “jokingly” describe the people accompanying Donville.

44. @Hants April 14, 2018 12:37 PM. “What do “tough looking guys” look like ?”

Large, muscular, unsmiling. The sort of guys little old ladies would not want to meet while walking home from church late at night on a lonely country road. Especially when the old lady is only armed with her pocket book.

45. The churches is Barbados are still filled with ladies (mostly middle aged or older) and with little girls in shoes and socks and ribbons, or sandals and cotton dresses, and little boys in dress pants and their good short sleeved shirts, and a few old devoted (mostly elderly) husbands.

Not scary places at all.

No need for the entourage thingy.

46. FirstCaribbean International Bank Limited (FCIB) has got cold feet.

The Barbadian-based bank announced late yesterday that in light of “market conditions at this juncture” it was withdrawing “the [United States] registered public offering and listing of its shares” on the New York Stock Exchange

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/149677/bank-backs-us-share-offer

47. Thanks Hants!

@Sargeant, Artax, Northern Observer

Why would First Caribbean put themselves in a position to withdraw given that the market conditions have not changed significantly.

48. @David
    Why would First Caribbean put themselves in a position to withdraw given that the market conditions have not changed significantly
    ++++++++++++
    That question is above my paygrade but I’ll speculate. The HO in Toronto calls the shots and when an IPO is launched the stock is first offered to the “Institutional Investors” at a price somewhat south of what the public I.e. people like yours truly can purchase same.

The “Institutional investors” have deep pockets and will purchase millions of these stocks which they can then unload to some favourite clients. My guess is that CIBC found that the market from those “Institutional investors” was luke -warm or down right cold and rather than have egg on their faces from an undersubscribed offering they pulled the offer.

Folks like NO who is more tuned into the market may have a different perspective

49. That is a good stab at it Sargeant!

50. Many of the articles I read on this issue did not specify what were the “market conditions at this juncture.”

However, according FCIB, CIBC owns approximately 92% of FirstCaribbean (FC), “which has about US$12.4-billion in assets and earns most of its revenue in Barbados, the Bahamas and the Cayman Islands.”

Although noting there have been some improvements in FC’s financial performance during the past few years, CIBC expressed some concerns about the protracted weak economic conditions in many Caribbean islands, as well as money laundering risks and the recent active hurricanes that caused catastrophic damage in some islands.

CIBC wanted to diversify from its domestic market because of decreasing home prices in Vancouver and Toronto. The Bank also examined the idea of expanding in North America and give customers access to banking services in the US. Last year, in June 2017, the bank acquired the Chicago-based PrivateBancorp Inc. for US$5B (paying US$2.4B in cash and the remainder in approximately US$32.3M CIBC shares) and subsequently rebranded it to CIBC.

Perhaps CIBC believed expansion in the US was a priority at this time…..hence the decision to file a prospectus with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and offer 9.6 million of FCIB’s shares at US$22 to US$25 on the NYSE in an attempt to raise US$240M…….which would have probably been used to facilitate this expansion.

Unfortunately, “the initial public offering (IPO) in the U.S. failed to garner enough support,” and FC decided to withdraw the offering “in view of market conditions at this juncture.”

But it is interesting to note that, also according to FCIB filings, “had the IPO been successful, CIBC intended “to divest itself of its controlling interest in us over time.”