I did not dissolve it – deliberately – and of course the experts have been giving expressions to their surprise. ‘This is the first time in Barbados’ history, that a parliament was allowed to stand dissolved by effluxion of time’. That is how history is made. History is not made by things happening the same way all the time. History is made by doing things differentlyPrime Minister Freundel Stuart

The quote is credited to the Prime Minister of Barbados in response to wide public disquiet his decision to encroach on the 90 day period the framers of the Constitution provide to have a general election after the dissolution of parliament. For sure the statement can be generously described as puerile and strips bare the reputation earned by Barbados post Independence as a model Black democratic nation punching above its weight class.

Barbados has been reduced  to the butt of jokes brought to a head by a story in the Russian media space with the title Swapping Erections for Elections: Prostitutes Dip Toes in Caribbean .…. We have the ridiculous state of affairs a former prostitute entering the race and a political party by the name of PPP – you guessed it – indicating an interest in contesting the next general election. Say what you will, one cannot imagine this state of affairs occurring if Errol Barrow, Tom Adams  or Owen Arthur were leading the country. Is it accurate to conclude it has to do with leadership?

Prime Minister Stuart has revealed his value-set to Barbadians on numerous occasion, the best example is when he failed to censure the former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON for withholding payment to a client. Monies based on standard procedure should have been deposited in his Clients Account awaiting final disbursement. Because BU is rated a PG blog the blogmaster will be generous in language to describe CARRINGTON. You will recall the prime minister’s advice was to publicly advise CARRINGTON to get a lawyer.  Given the fact there was no crescendo of noise emanating from civil society led by NGOs, Bar Association and others, it brings into question the extent to which political morality is honoured in Barbados.

Notwithstanding, the blogmaster is unable to fathom what political capital Stuart and team is benefitting from subjecting Bajans to the humiliation currently being being experienced. As if the psyche of the Bajan has not suffered a deep puncture and the swagger transformed to a limp as a result of the protracted economic performance downturn.  Today we heard it all when perennial local political scientist Dr. George Belle described our government as a de facto dictatorship.  From a model Black country punching above its weight class to being described by a local academic as a de facto dictatorship!

It seems like yesterday in 2007 the same political arguments were being had. What has changed? TwiddleD has replaced TwiddleB. How will the cycle be disrupted? Besides Natlee championing the cause of the invisible people, what new political narrative have we been hearing?

197 responses to “Freundel Writes His Name on History’s Page”

1. Great post Observing…
    Can I take you at your word or do I have to fact check you.
    Strange world when you cannot believe what you hear or read.

2. Do you remember the game of chicken, where one party ask the other to perform a task even more daring than what was done previously?

What can the next PM do that would be history making can trump FS refusal to set a a date for the elections?

3. *and can

4. Neither story is false or news to Bajans. They are in fact stale news to Bajans.😂

5. To sum up the events and the discussion:

So far S & P and Moody´s stressed political stability as a valuable asset for Barbados despite all economic decline.

That is history.

There is not a single positive aspect left for any rating agency and any financial institution to justifiy further credit for Barbados.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This is not about our demons, your demons or other demons; this is about the political nonsense done under two parties with the one in waiting about to tell us about their basket of goodies and sour grapes. With the type of awareness going around these days Mottley and the hungry mout money crew got to understand that nothing than open, transparent, and accountable governance will suffice. She can keep the fancy talk. Tell us what will be her plans to bring serious reforms to the shite that is sinking Barbados.

7. @enuff

The issue is the Bajan brand bouncing about in the international media space.

8. @SSS

That said it is political strategy that will play. Why do you expect Mia to repeat Arthur’s privatization mistake last time around?

9. @tron
    Are we politically unstable?

Observing

10. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Observing / Tron

I don’t think that we have not yet reached the status of political instability. Rather we, like many democracies, including the USA, have been dumbed down to a status of inertia that ensures that we could not be bothered to do the necessary to save our democratic status in the face of onslaughts by those who would like to create havoc. Take the USA for example, there can be no doubt that Trump has been systematically bought and then compromised by the Russians to have become a useful idiot for their goal of retrieving and indeed surpassing their former global status. It must be clear to any thinking american, including the Repubs, that Trump is actually a plant placed in the Presidency by Putin to systematically and strategically wreck that country. But yet the Republican leadership, followed by its dumbed down members, are using the seeming opportunity to enact their backward looking policies without realizing that such a thrust will sooner rather than later place the whole country into a morass from which it will be almost impossible to extricate itself.

In Barbados we have a situation that shows some points of similarity. Freundal has many of the essentially baser qualities of Trump, (excluding his studied, uncomfortable use of big words) including the propensity to consider that he is always right and he has only needed about 8 years to bring Barbados to its knees. Imagine if Trump gets 8 years in the USA presidency what damage he can wreak on his country, the World and Black people in his country.

I think that if Bajans swallow the pablum of equating the BLP with the DLP in relation to potential for mismanagement of the country and allow Freundal to come back to power despite his record of presiding over the precipitous downgrading of every positive aspect of our society and economy, that crapaud will smoke our collective pipe.

11. Stuart not going to Commonwealth Heads of Government meeting. Guy Hewitt running for DLP in St.John. Owen Arthur endorsing Hewitt!

12. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

that should be “I don’t think we have yet……….”

13. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Ping Pong re. your 3:33 pm post

Yuh certain that isn’t fake news?

OSA cannot sink so low.

14. David

Yes, and it is our fascination with Wonderland that has led to the current Bajan narrative “bouncing” around. just look at Sunny Sunshine.

15. Thomas Lynley Avatar

I see the blogmaster changed the outlook of Barbados Underground, but no change in content.

The same shite people putting forward the same shite arguments day after day and attacking each other.

This blog has outlived its useful purpose and is becoming boring. Just look and see that there are no new contributors.

16. SSS has an Election date been announced,why would Ms Mottley expose her plans,based on Mr Arthur 2013 experience to appease you.I do not think so,all will be revealed in good time,so relax,instead ask the lingering party what their plans are.I notice you always with this theifing talk as regards the BLP perpetrated by the lying dead king.but not a fellow locked up in 10 years,so either bring the evidence or STFU.

17. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Enuff et al

The arguments by SSS and others who proclaim that the DLP’s governance over the last 10 years has been super abysmal but that MAM et al are waiting in the wings to make it even moreso if the BLP wins, is wishful thinking and hoping that it will sway others to put the DLP back in power. It is unlikely to allow the DLP to win given the groundswell of the accepted reality of most bajans that it makes no sense to put the DLP back in to make things wusser. But it might allow a fair number of the DLP members to win as third parties might get a significant portion of the votes and allowing some DLP members to squeak through and thereby send the wrong message to the BLP.

The DLP deserves a Grenada result, NOT ONE SEAT FOR THEM. That (or very close to that ) is the only result that will put fear into the winners that they have to do everything in their power to advance the country and help the common folk, not to get similarly washed out in the next elections.

The DLP must not only lose but must lose BIGLY!

18. @AWTY

Really?

Were we not having a similar conversation in 2007?

19. David

But why were we having that conversation? lmao

20. @April 6, 2018 11:33 PM “But I am sure you would recall that around October 2017 the EBC announced that they required an upgrade of their hardware and software system in addition to additional staff. I am sure you would recall again that a supplementary was debated in the House Assembly just prior to the dissolution of Parliament in 2018 , approving funds for the EBC to carry out the necessary upgrades. The requests for additional funds were made in October 2017…not in 2013 !”

I ask again is the EBC incompetent? Why did they wait until October 2017 to ask for funds. Surely they must have known that elections were due in the first half of 2018? So why wait so late? Why could they not have asked for the money in October 2016?, Or October 2015?

And why would it take Parliament 5 months to approve the money. Is Parliament incompetent too?

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We, you write with an admirable clarity and generally I agree with your thrusts but I want to highlight one of your statements and suggest in this case I can’t agree.

You said: “… there can be no doubt that Trump has been systematically bought and then compromised by the Russians to have become a useful idiot … It must be clear to any thinking american, including the Repubs, that Trump is actually a plant placed in the Presidency by Putin to systematically and strategically wreck that country.”

Can’t agree. For your statement to be true that the Republican leadership and your thinking americans accept Trump as the fictional Manchutian candidate in the flesh it would require tham all to accept that they were 1) DUPED, 2) that Putin’s Russian Intel services is absolutely SMARTER and 10 times BETTER than the combined US service and 3) thus that the US is essentially freaking clueless.

That senor is an absolutely hard road to hoe….or should I say to be clear… a hard road to plough! Or seen another way this US situation is a stunning exercise in the complexities of psychology.

Practically, I can accept that evidence suggests that Trump has been systematically bought by Russians but frankly there is no evidence yet that he has been compromised by them…and let’s be serious here….Pictures of him being pleasured in a Russian hotel will NOT compromise this man…short of actionable criminal activity involving these Russian folks and Trump he will retain the presidency.

So I get where u are going but due to the polarizing nature of US politics and Trump’s excellent intensity of hot button issues like immigration, abortion et al which drives the powerful conservative narrative his behaviour will be tolerated…because frankly for you to be right it would mean that Russia initiated war with the US …

…. do you really think the US will just send home some more Russian spies if your perspective is accurate!

22. There is always the perception that there is corruption. How can we forget 3S, Hardwood, GEMS, Golden Shower etc.

23. @April 6, 2018 11:40 PM “On Friday April 27, 2018 His Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart will be having a birthday 🎉 bash.
    All Barbadians are invited to attend this auspicious all day event at Ilaro Court.”

What time?
    I coming.

Is this a cocktail thing with li’l bits of food on toothpicks, or is it a real-real food kinda thing?

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To clarify, when I say he has been bought by the Russians I refer to the various financial dealings he has done with them suggesting they have some form of vested interest with him…that does NOT mean they have compromised him in terms of having some evidence that woukd force him to do their bidding!

25. Things heating up.The Russians bad talking Barbados, giving the country a bad name saying the country in chaos and the DLP fighting among themselves.
    Donville bad talking his fellow Caricom brethren accusing them of filling up airplane seats going to conferences and won’t meet their agreed financial commitments.
    Bobby Morris issuing veiled threats to Wickham to watch himself.The last time the DLP issue some threats It was to Dean Harold Edmund Crichlow in 1976 and whaplax,they lost the election a few weeks later.Dictatorships like to threaten people but the people usually have the last laugh even if like Mugabe,it took a while.

26. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

The countdown is on 60 days to go or less. Sixty days to a new dawn.

27. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David;

I had’nt discovered BU in 2007. But I can believe that the conversation was similar except that the situation was nowhere as dire as it is now.

28. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dpD;

Let’s agree to disagree about Trump’s status re. the Russia cyber insurgency. I suspect that at least one of Mueller’s reports will be tabled before November this year. If or when it is, we will see who’s right. For now lets just say that most of America seems to be in denial of the extent and longevity of the russian operation in the US. They just cannot admit to themselves that they have been totally outplayed.

Re. writing with clarity. I think I used to do so but these days my memory is so bad that I totally forget what I have just written, far less what I have just read or see, That’s why I write substantially less than I used to do.

29. @ Are-we-there-yet April 7, 2018 3:32 PM

What makes you so sure that we have elections within 60 days?

Everything is possible in Barbados.

30. @awty
    Good to be back and to see you in action

@David re 2007
    That discussion was along the lines of BLP arrogance, perceived corruption (3S, Hardwood, Dodds, the check) and a “dem doing wha dem feel like” which was juxtaposed with the “return” of the Prodigal Son (sorry Prodigal) aka David Thompson to rescue Bim, put Families First and restore the society. The economy was still good. The BLP candidates were basically the same as 2003/1999. The foreign reserves were high BUT they still lost and handily so too.

Fast forward 10 years later to 2018.
    Mia, Dale, George, Kerry, Cynthia, Gline, Sandra, Trevor, Ronald, Joseph and William……looks familiar?????

Anyone who thinks the battle has been won (on either side) and anyone who thinks we are going to get out of the sh#$% we are in by simply changing or keeping parties is similarly fooling themselves. Bigger thinking is required on all fronts…and rears….and middles….:)

Current political state of play as of my last rum and coke.

?LP – 16 sure seats
    ?LP – 9 sure seats
    Toss up – 5 seats

“In politics, nothing happens by accident. If it happens, you can bet it was planned that way”
    Franklin D. Roosevelt

Just observing

31. One thing is certain; whenever elections are held and this despicable scourge of a government is dispatched from the face of the earth, we Barbadian cannot rejoice but must bow our heads in shame for allowing this country to be led (and destroyed) by a batch of ignoramuses. Not a single person raised a finger in protest, including me. I pray that every single one of them lives a cursed life after elections and are scorned wherever they dare venture.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word aka DpD and Are We There Yet

Trump was a Hillary and Bill Clinton plant.

HE WAS NOT A RUSSIAN PLANT and by the time the Clinton clan realized how far their Trojan Horse had advanced they could not do anything to derail it ESPECIALLY CONSIDERING THE VOLATILITY OF THE CANNONBALL

TRUMPS business dealings with Russia were purely fortuitous

And because he was involved with nefarious parties his dealings were covered as best he could.

Though not good enough.

The trail has been uncovered and EVEN THOUGH THE FSB HAS TAKEN OVER HIS “MARKER”, the gig is known.

But here is the issue that many of us onlookers DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE NUANCES OF.

How can the mighty United States of America come out to the world and disclose this travesty of errors?

And more importantly, how can they rectify this Herculean dysfunction?

Trump WILL NOT GO QUIETLY INTO THE NIGHT AND EVEN HE CANNOT PLAY FOOTSIE WITH PUTIN.

The machinery that is the true government of the United States will not allow this.

AND PUTIN KNOWS THIS.

For whereas he has reached out and made his weak links euphemism for those who know of the innards of “the Marker” and those who exposed those innards, disappear, he cannot do that with the sovereign power of the USA.

And neither can Trump because, unlike Putin who is a very smart man, he is a dufus potus AND THE POWERS BEHIND THE US THRONE CANNOT AFFORD TO, AND WILL NOT BE RULED BY A LOOSE CANON .

33. I don’t know how one person could be as disillusioned as Freundel Stuart (it must be old age) but the history of his stewardship will be in the hands of the publisher – who will so eloquently – state the events leading up to his party’s crushing defeat at the polls.

34. I also feel sorry for this Prime Minister’s outgoing legacy as his tenure at the helm of this administration does not bespoke any note for history’s page to remember him as an outstanding marksman in the development of this country like his counterparts Owen Arthur, or even the late David Thompson, as there is a BIG difference between “I WILL dissolve parliament on March 6th” vs “I will LET parliament dissolve itself on March 6th”. That being said, the clock is ticking and it is time for Barbadians to move the country out of (N)eutral…

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

No one likes the idea that in times of desperation one has to resort to selling the family silver. It is always a bitter pill to swallow because family heirlooms are keepsakes that perpetuate the cycle of continuity for the next generation to have something to hold on to. Arthur might have been wrong, but the sale assisted with some semblance of stabilising a failing economy that suffered several downgrades under his watch. The piece he took is small compared to what transpired under the cunts in the DLP. That said, Mottley would be damned to go down a similiar road without full disclosure to a delusional populace who are seeing both parties as practising deceivers. Is Privatisation bad? No! Is privatisation terrible for Barbados under a BLP and DLP government, which hardly disclose facts or show you how the benefits of such moves support a struggling economy far lest the populace, hell Yes! All you get coming out of these two old camps is nothing but controversy and personal benefits. Mia Mottley has both the good and bad of both worlds. I see nothing in her that tells me she is willing to be a Prime Minister with a difference who will work on behalf of the people and deal with any skulduggery amidst her party. Mottley is rogue, and I would love her to prove me wrong.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lorenzo

Is the PAC report produced by Mia not telling Barbadians that the DLP has engaged in misappropriation practices? Can I say that there is thieving in the DLP camp?

You really need to smell the coffee. Not gonna waste time commenting to you. The BLP are crooks, thieves and an arrogant lot.

Enuff

The DLP does not deserve to ever sit in government chairs ever again. They prove themselves a wicked lot and untrustworthy. The BLP, on the other hand, are just as guilty of wrongdoing during their time at the helm. Two crooked parties, but one a little better than the other. The DLP getting back the government would be disastrous for Barbados. We do not need to eat any more of their nasty pudding.

37. Mottley has no plans there is nothing she can say with clarity that will give the electorate a positive view that she has robust and convincing plans to revive the economy. Her closed mouth attitude does nothing to improve her chances of winning . Mia chances of winning are just as much as they were in the last election even with the help of Wickham rigged poll

38. Theophilius Gazerts 443 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 443

Here’show to write your name on history’s page.
    Delay, delay, delay until they get frustrated and take to the streets
    Now use those special powers and call a curfew
    Then suspend elections till things quiet down
    4-years later…….
    Don’t mind me, I just igrunt

39. Theophilius Gazerts 443 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 443

Talk about between a rock and a hard place
    One corrupt and full of bad ideas
    The other appearing devoid of any ideas
    Another focused on ISO and porn
    What a poor crop to pick from…
    worse, worse, worst.
    Pick de worse of de crop
    You could do worse

40. Theophilus
    For clarity tell us about this “devoid of ideas”.

41. Mariposa

To be fair, your comment re: “Mottley has no plans there is nothing she can say with clarity that will give the electorate a positive view that she has robust and convincing plans to revive the economy,” is equally (and justifiably) applicable to Freundel Stuart, especially if you take into consideration, Barbados’ social and economic situation over the past 10 years and 2 ½ months.

This could be substantiated by Donville Inniss pleading with the electorate NOT to JUDGE the DEMS on PRESENT PERFORMANCE, but based on what Errol Barrow did during the 1950s and 1960s, (probably as it relates to independence, education, NI Scheme and housing).

But, if you look at education, for example, according to historical information, praises could also be given to Grantley Adams for initiating the process of educating those who were considered the “poor working class,” while the “freeness” associated with education was enough to give Barrow more recognition.

However, if you’re honest you’ll admit that so far, the only political parties that have articulated their plans are Solutions Barbados and UPP.

Or perhaps you may care to inform this forum about what “robust and convincing plans” the DLP has articulated “to revive the economy,” other than presenting “political distractions” to shift the electorate’s focus from the real issues confronting this island.

42. Didn’t MICHAEL CARRINGTON state on a Brasstacks program a couple weeks ago that they will share their Manifesto when Stuart rings the bell? We need to hold political parties accountable but this is easier said than done. What was instructive on the same program he was unable to articulate what the government has done in ten years to improve the judiciary.

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Theophiilus

I would take my chances with the ISO anytime, then to have two old ass corrupt parties dishing out the same shite every time they are in power. What has Barbados gain under the DLP and BLP prior to Errol Barrow and Grantley Adams inputs? An island described as punching above its weight should have made far more significant strides that even if the recession set us back a bit, we had no right going so far backwards. We are up to our necks in shite literally and figuratively. All that the BLP did that made them better than the DLP is all dung now since both parties are accused of underhand practices and lousy policy and project decisions. We cannot measure any progress under the DLP or BLP when the state of affairs is so sad and especially when both parties are in the habit of practicing governance that undermines.

44. @SSS

Agree with you. Let us take one example, solar power technology. Given where this industry was 20 years ago we should have been able to take it to another level to benefit from competitive advantage.

45. Sir if you too be honest you can also see that the barbados economy was severly devastated due to external mitigating uncontrollable economic circumstances that deprived barbados social and economic enviroment of necessary financial support to its ailing economy e.g the bread and butter of barbados economic wheels the tourism industry
    One cannot just set aside those pluralistic financial resources that are necessary and vital to an economy when assessing performance and just pick out the failures in a singular manner on which to overall judge the economy.
    It takes several factors to make an economy robust and healthy and when one or more of those factors are missing it is more likely than not the economy will struggle
    What i would say that in all fairness to govt the stabilization of the country on which the govt had to embarked in order to keep the country social environment alived has remained focus.
    Yes the reserves have fallen but high expectation can only be met in good economic enviroment .However as the main source of barbados economy which is tourism rebounds one can expect to see a better performance in the upward movement of the reserves.
    Mia Mottley has so far not shown any intestinal fortitude that she has the input to reign in and calm down the electorate confidence on things economic that applies to barbados economy towards an upward progress the same failure which Mia has been constantly criticized PM Stuart
    Mia failure to respond to calls that she needs to provide the electorate what changes she has in mind and her strategy to remain tight lipped is political suicide.She must also remember that her past record in the blp govt has plenty landmines which can be used against her.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Theophilius Gazerts, you have it down packed…

The “staged riots” will occur in the BLP havens and they will be under curfews before the elections.

And on the day of the elections, a few selective gunshots will disrupt things in BLP safe zones sufficiently to require the presence of the police and the military and to require house detention for BLP faithfuls.

Cause even if the frustration of which you speak is not effected by the average Bajan, the drug lord Element and their folk having been released will do their part.

Only GOD can save us now…

47. Mariposa
    What Mia has is the confidence of business people and investors. The DLP under PM Stuart is not trusted, hence there is no confidence in the party or its ministers. You and all the others complaining about a lack of ideas are either disingenuous or clueless about policy. I have seen some good ideas from the BLP and the UPP to be fair. Wonderland mentality again!

48. Theophilius Gazerts 443 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 443

@Enuff
    I am not running to, for or from anyone.
    I think you missed a good time to prove me wrong and give us a hint or just one of your many ideas …
    W8n

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mariposa,

You are the “pluralistic” AC returned again to spout your badword badword

The reason Prime Minister Mottley IS NOT BROADCASTING HER MANIFESTO AT THIS TIME, OR HER IDEAS IS BECAUSE WUNNA GOING TEIF DEM AND WRITE THEM INTO YOUR OWN.

Once the bell rings and all uh wunna put wunna plans out there then the true assessment begins

Remember Janet Jackson’s song “what have you done for me lately?”

If De ole man had time I would instruct de grandson to do a music animation bout wunna legacy structure around that tune

What’s up Bajans?
    The DLP has effed us up again
    Again?
    Mmhmm
    Well what’s up with this party?
    Do wunna really like them that much?
    No sag , I hates dem , dem is de worst government we evah had,
    DEM HAS does a lot of FKUP things TO BAJANS FOR 10 years, always talking bout Errol Barrow
    but what has they done for Bajans lately?)

Read more: Janet Jackson – What Have You Done For Me Lately Lyrics | MetroLyrics

I could compose an entire song and animation using this and send it out pun WhatsApp to every Bajan cellphone number from an untraceable Android emulator

But de ole man …