Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

“…the controversy surrounding Mary Magdalene speaks to centuries of the dominant ideology that shapes values around female sexuality and stigmatizes sex workers on a moralistic premise.”Kate Edwards, University of Sheffield in “The Conversation” (2016)

For a people alternatively given to either the hagiolatry or denigration of the politician depending on one’s persuasion or current fancy, the entry into the local political fray for the upcoming general election of Ms Natalie (“Natlee”) Harewood, a self-confessed former prostitute, must present a conundrum to the Barbadian voter.

Should she be excoriated as undeserving, given her former vocation, of a seat in the august Lower Chamber or even of the chance to challenge therefor? Or should she be encouraged in her undertaking to be a voice for those likewise vulnerably situated?

There are, of course, those who perceive her candidacy as an admirable venture in the finest democratic tradition and those who have, at the same time, taken the opportunity to compare her favourably, despite, or perhaps because of, her antecedents, with the current membership of the local political class; while there are others, including at least one section of the media, that have played the card of righteous indignation and wondered “aloud “ if we are now prepared “to throw the baby out with the bathwater” and “to fully fling ourselves precariously into the moral abyss…”

Querying when if ever did prostitution become legal in Barbados, that organ’s leader asks, if it is not, “why does “Natlee” and her financier even have the gumption to vy (sic) for a place in our most honourable House of Assembly?” If not, it declaims further, why is there no warrant issued by the Royal Barbados Police Force for Natlee’s arrest? It gratuitously suggests a possible charge of “offending public morals” based on her previous affirmations that she is “a night jobber with an office located in Bush Hill” and that she performs sex acts for a living”. In the same vein, I have seen a social media post that states she has also confessed to being an agriculturalist, but this newspaper is not the place for any further details in that regard.

The indignation of that journal would be laughable if it were not so serious an issue, but that is not the point of my essay today. Rather, I shall seek to explore the frequently bruited and seemingly vexing question as to whether prostitution is criminal in Barbados.

At an elemental level, if we accept prostitution to be a transaction entailing the sale of sexual favours for a material consideration, then it is clear that technical acts of prostitution occur in every instance of transactional sex, whether the consideration for the favours should be in money or money’s worth and whether that transaction is between strangers or between individuals known to each other. The law cannot effectively regulate such conduct by criminalization -except perhaps other than where the sex act involves male homosexuals- and it does not attempt to.

What it does, however, is to prohibit overt displays of the conduct associated with prostitution and its commercialization. As to the criminalization of public conduct associated with prostitution, section 2 of the local Minor Offences Act 1998 provides at (d) and (e):

Any person who…

(d) in any street, highway or public place accosts a passenger and offers to take him to the house or residence of a prostitute;

(e) loiters in any street or highway and importunes passengers for the purpose of prostitution;…

commits an offence and is liable on conviction before a magistrate to a penalty of $2 500 or to imprisonment for 2 years or to both.

Also relevant in this connection, one supposes, is section 3 (1) (c) to the effect that “any person who … wilfully, openly, lewdly and obscenely exposes his person in any street, public road or highway or in the view thereof or in any place of public resort;… commits an offence and is liable on conviction before a magistrate to a fine of $3 500 or to imprisonment for 2 years or both.

My hesitancy to be dogmatic here is based solely on the notoriety of the limited circumstances in which a female may expose her person as compared to her male counterpart.

However, it is the Sexual Offences Act, Cap 154 of the Laws of Barbados, that criminalizes most of the matters associated with the commercialization of prostitution, including the procuration of an individual for prostitution, becoming an inmate of, or frequenting, a brothel [section 13]; being involved in the management of brothels [section 18]; detaining a person against their will in a brothel [section 15]; living on the earnings of prostitution [section 19];or exercising for the purpose of gain, control, direction or influence over the movements of a prostitute in a way that shows that the person is aiding, abetting or compelling the prostitution [section 20].

In summary then, while the concept of prostitution itself at a definitional level may not be criminalized, the local law prohibits its treatment as an organized business and the overt solicitation for this purpose by anyone.

Nor ought it to be thought that it is possible to regard prostitution as criminal for the prostitute’s being in contravention of section 19 (1). This provides:-

A person who knowingly lives wholly or in part on the earnings of prostitution; or in any place solicits for immoral purposes, is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $5 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years or to both.

It might be presumed that this would clearly cover the prostitute herself. However, as the now retired legal scholar and fellow columnist, Clifford Hall, argues persuasively in a 1998 article in the Caribbean Law Review, there are at least three reasons why this may not be so:

First, he notes, the section is a composite of s. 30(5) and s. 32 of the Sexual Offences Act 1956 in England with slight modification. These provisions in the English Act had re-enacted in almost the same words a provision of the Vagrancy Act 1898 (UK) under which male persons who lived on the earnings of prostitution or who solicited for immoral purposes were deemed rogues and vagabonds within the meaning of the Vagrancy Act 1824…”

Second, section 19 of the Barbados Act is included in the fasciculus (bundle) of sections relating to trading in or exploiting prostitution. The position is the same under ss. 22-26, Sexual Offences Act 1956 in England. Neither Act, according to him, purports to declare illegal heterosexual sexual intercourse or other intimacy for payment between consenting adults, nor proscribes explicitly the activities of female prostitutes themselves….Thus the context of section 19 of the Barbados Act appears to exclude any suggestion that it applies to the prostitute herself. If it did, he posits, the soliciting provision of the Act would be otiose…”

Third, he remarks on the disparity of the penalties between those for s.19, which stipulates a fine of $5000 or imprisonment for five years or both, and those under the Minor Offences Act where the maximum penalty is a $2500 fine or two years imprisonment or both. An even greater disparity in penalties in the English law leads him to conclude that section 19 (1) would thus seem to be directed against those, whether male or female, who exploit prostitutes and not against prostitutes themselves.

He notes, finally, that this interpretation also appears to accord with current police practice; where there has never been a prosecution of a prostitute under section 19.

On this basis, prostitution itself is not criminal in Barbados unless the prostitute publicly displays his or her wares by importuning or soliciting individuals or turns it into an business by establishing and keeping a brothel.

A blessed Easter season to all…

I should wish to dedicate this column to the memory of Sir John Connell, eminent jurist, ardent conservationist, learned friend, brother and avid reader of this weekly essay who was called to higher service last week. I shall regret forever not having the opportunity to spend some time chatting with him as per his invitation last December. May his soul rest eternally in peace.

120 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Nightwalker and the Honourable Member”

1. @simple simon…lol

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

These horrible little men who can’t seem to hide their repulsive sides.

First Ha, Ha who instead of learning to navigate the new site, instead chooses to whine like a little b*tch.

Now this.

3. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Sargeant, The rumor was started of me been Natalie’s campaign manager by Naked Departure. I met Natalie over 2 years ago on a condon run at the Garrison and she had expressed her desire their and then to use her popularly to enter politics. About 3 weeks ago during another condoms distribution of 200 or 2 boxes I met Natalie. However, this time she was asking me to help get a 22 year old who was on her second night off the street. I was shocked for her is a notorious sex worker asking me to save another for as she saying “ this is no life for her or even me.”

As I interrogated the young lady as to why and circumstances that led her this life I was informed two kids were hungry, electricity was disconnected at home, her mum was medically unfit to work and she was just laid off. Telephoned the mother there and then and situation and circumstances were confirmed. That was the last night for Natalie at the Garrison and the 22 year old is getting the help psychologically and financially as well as help with a job.

All thanks to the intervention of Natalie. Does she seem like the same brash attention seeking Natalie? The attention seeking Natalie it would appear has been using her persona to lash out at the inequality and lack of opportunity for the marginalized in our society. The poverty in her constituency is extremely high as well as unemployment. In a discussion with Ms Harewood one would quickly realize she is not a duncy, spineless, brash, heartless, depending and illiterate individual.

If I am guilty of becoming her friend so be it for she is not a leper. Ms Harewood has shared her goals with me and others on why she wants to upset the status quo for she wants jobs, elimination of pit toilets, social programs to reduce poverty, high rise living and more hotels in Bridgetown. Let those who are distracted by her pass do so at their own peril for she is extremely Street smart and going after 3500 votes minimum.

I am Natalie Harewood campaign manager, let her tell you who is paying the alleged psyops time and why the desperation by the monied for change.

4. Kammie Holder Avatar

Sorry that should have been ( I AM NOT NATALIE HAREWOOD CAMPAIGN MANAGER) the rumor was started by Naked Departure because I was reposting her post on her activities.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Natlee needs guidance is all.

Barbados needs many more Black owned businesses.

The island needs less hotels, not more and a better quality and class of wealthier guests who know their place is the key.

6. The whole placed is totally f***** up …
    ….and we have people like Kammie ‘bigging up’ a prostitute for national leadership because she was smart enough to trick him into getting some young competition off her turf…

What next?

Ninjaman for Chief Justice?
    ac for Minister of eddykashun?

Steupssss…
    If this is our predisposition…
    Why not let us just re-elect Froon then?
    …neither Natlee nor Ninjaman has overseen anyway as much shiite as has the froon… WTH!!

ANY OTHER intelligent people would now dig into the records to identify and seek out PEOPLE OF PROVEN WORTH AND QUALITY to reverse the litany of shiite that have overwhelmed us…. instead..

We look for experienced shiitehounds to manage the shiite….

Brass bowls extraordinaire….

7. Barbados has entered a dark place, the upside is that unraveling unprecedented events may serve to administer the kick in the ass needed to flip from the rut we appears to be stuck.

8. Mr. Kammie Harewood.

Thank you for your post.

Invariably whenever you enter the fray you are able to complexion the situation with a reality that many here cannot ever appreciate.

Focus on the one thing you said that shows your connection to the real pulse of Barbados “while I was on a condom run…”

How many of the readers here know what it is to go into these communities with the less fortunate and tek people from the criminal elements of the courts or criminal office and the drug houses and give them jobs…?

You think that the John de Baptist holier than thou christian who heah touting the Bible would be caught in Bush Hill pun a night doing what you have done?

I am glad to see that she does have plans because in one of the videos being circulated, when she was asked about those plans, she was unable to respond and her campaign manager was talking for her.

It would be quite pleasing to see her continue to make a contribution to our country wherever that should be as a positive contributor to our society.

The problem that I foresee and that you or others still fail to address is that we are not able “to experiment” with skills building or complex capacity augmentation or pause to test your Hypothesis, POST THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE WORST GOVERNMENT BARBADOS HAS EVER HAD!!!

9. Understatement of the month David.

Can you imagine what would happen now – if (BBE forbid) some major unforeseen event was to disrupt normalcy in Barbados for a period?
    Suppose the power system is seriously disrupted?
    Suppose there is an eruption of one of the neighbourhood volcanoes – either undersea or otherwise…
    Suppose…..

What would we then do about elections?
    Who would be legally responsible for dealing with the crises?

How can Jeff be writing shiite about hoes …when this government is putting the country into perilous, uncharted territory – PURELY on the EVIL whim of bitter loser? …why else is he exposing Barbados like this…? …only evil HATRED can explain this.
    Are Bajans blind?

The constitution CAREFULLY made provisions for contingencies in the event that unforeseen circumstances interfered with election in order to ensure LEADERSHIP CONTINUITY….. and this joker compromises that provision for NO SOUND REASON.

Meanwhile – you, Jeff, the shiitehound CJ, and all the other legal big-ups are sitting idly by, chatting shiite about a night-walker, while the Brass Bowl Titanic crunches through the iceberg infested seas…..

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster, grateful if you could retrieve my post from suspense thank you.

@ Kammie Holder,

Why get behind Natlee? Why not run yourself?

11. @Bush Tea

On the pages of BU on a daily basis the serious topics are being dealt with, even the Natlee issue represents the opportunity to debate tectonic shifting in the moral and value planks that undergird our society.

Like you there is a rising level of frustration with the ‘sane’ among us. Your bible teaches the virtue of patience doesn’t it?

12. The great Winnie Mandela has died. This proud lady, who waited 27 years for her jailed husband and was dropped as soon as he came out, bore the long pain of apartheid. May she rest in peace.

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“ac for Minister of eddykashun?”

ac is doing so poorly these days she cant even keep her sticks and stones moniker or the rubbish she posts online, not since barbadostoday’s website was highkjacked.

She maybe too ashamed to return to BU..so minister of Ed is quite the stretch…lol

14. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Breaking news. Winnie Mandela has, indeed, passed away.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-43621112

15. Bushie

Your misplaced high-mindedness is getting a bit stale.

You (we) have failed to do anything to stop the morass around us

Now all that you can do is to continue blaming the victims for these social conditions

The simplistic logic of a misplaced morality has no purchase when the greatest crimes have already been committed against this people.

Left to your own devises we would all be reading some irrelevant book in dependence on some imaginary being somewhere in the shy.

Is that not utter madness.

The failure of your BBE, as the fiction it always was, must now be translated into decadence deserved by the masses.

Certainly, this ‘logic’ should have hard limits.

16. Kammie Holder is right to recognize Natalee as a human being deserving of all rights, including the right of association.

One of the problems with Barbados is this artificial class construction, it’s immoral

It starts from which hospital people are born at, goes on to which school people attend and ends with which cemetery one is buried in.

Bushie’s moralistic credo is wrongly based on notions of some pyramid of talents and abilities bestowed from on high, That is a lie.

Natalie may have the abilities to be the best politician this country has known. Not that that would be too difficult.

That god given this, that, has always been a lie and is in and of itself grossly immoral.

Maybe Bushie should deal with this, his own innate immorality, before his presumption that prostitution is some less equal endeavor.

17. @Bushie you are just another partisan keyboard warrior seeking relevance. Get to hell up and make a differrnce in your country for god sake. It’s a verbal jerkoff to beat up on her because of her profanity. Does she have an overseas account? Did she sell 130 acres for 99 years at $99 yearly? Did she sell Blue Horizon below book value? Did she sell Four Season for pittance after a guaranteed loan pay debtors? Did her ex profession pay her finders fees?

Natalie Harewood ex prostitute or not got more Balls and Stomach than many of you Keyboard Warriors. To seek to put her life to public scrutiny to seek to represent her poor people is courageous.

Lawyers, Doctors and Economist with their Phd’s and nuff MBA’s have us in a shitty mess. Can an ex sex worker surrounded by local and international handlers do any worse? Obviously she has started a social revolution that even the sincere academics cannot comprehend. It’s time enough for the grass root persons seek elected office. Those in suits are owned by the oligarchy.

Wunna should ask wunna self why she has gotten the sort of support not seen by even the new parties or any of the other candidates? Think upon that and get pass the academic and moral hypocrisy.

Perhaps many of you will suffer cardiac arrest on election day thanks to the desire of an ex sex worker to do something meaningful with her life. ##NatalieHarrwoodIsNoLeper

18. Prodigal
    Soon will be the selection of candidates and the subsequent election of one of their number to fill the vacant position of Anglican Bishop of Barbados.Last night on CBC TV news the popular Rev John Holder was given some extra coverage and in the congregation was the acting GG and his wife,as was the leader of Solutions Barbados,Grenville the 2nd all smiling and in fellowship with one another.

19. Kammie Holder April 2, 2018 11:06 AM

Well said. The bogus morality of scoundrels. What about the white prostitutes on the West Coast operating out of hotels? Ask the tourists about them.

20. @PeaceUhDeRockYuhRight? I am trying to finish som.e studies that will better equip to serve my country. I admire Ms Harewood and will defend her in my blogging as she has not allowed her circumstances to stop her from going after her dream.

As I said I have had many conversations unlike many and to talk to her to see the Why it would help you to understand her motivation s now and in the pass.

Barbados ignores the ladies who go to the hotels discretely to meet the white men. What about the young school girls who go to LimeGrove to pick up white men? History will record Ms Harewood transition and her behaviour to politician as one of the greatest social experiments.

Persons are reposting a lot of old profanity of her to discredit her. My advice to her as her friend is to remain focus. It’s hole her Canadian handlers will find a manager for her soon.

21. Which Canadian handlers might that be, asking for a friend.

when ya own dog bites ya (those whom ministers given free will to do as they like on the island)….ya well bitten (the same ministers)…lol

22. “Can an ex sex worker surrounded by local and international handlers do any worse?”

I would imagine when the ministers own local dogs (the minorities they allow to do as they like on the island) bites them, they would them bite even harder…lol

23. Uh see men in this glass house pelting bout rocks.

I hope wunna morally upright outstanding Bajans en got nuh skeletons in wunna closet.

In Bajan politics some “sins” don’t count. You all know what they are.

24. She donated kites to youngsters in the City this Easter. Natlee doing the dog!

25. yeah Bushman…talk about them white hoes who everyone on the island knows exist,who infest the hotels to sell tail to white tourists and who would be accepted by you and all the other pretend high morals today, should anyone of them decide to exercise their rights as a bajan citizen and seek a seat in that centuries old blighted and cursed parliament which was filled with criminals from the day of it’s fraudulent conception over 300 years ago..

26. I minin’my bizness but whey Natlee getting all dis money from all ‘o sudden.Who payin’ she to run and why dey payin’she to run…just minin’my bizness.

27. @Gabriel

You are suggesting that the DLP and BLP should by the political parties with access to campaign financing from ‘sources’?

28. @ Kammie
    Bushie don’t know what studies you need to complete before offering yourself for national leadership, but whatever they are, try to come to grips with the distinction between ‘morality’ and ‘COMPETENCE’.

The absolute LOWEST form of human COMPETENCE is exemplified by the need to sell one’s physical or moral SELF in order to live…. like our politicians do – both personally and with the National silver…

Leadership requires a level of COMPETENCE that can, not only sustain one’s moral and physical requirements, but that has enough reserves to bring along the weak and vulnerable too….

Bushie said NOTHING about ‘morals’……. except to re-emphasise the term BRASS BOWL to focus on the fact that, from a moral perspective, there is ABSOLUTELY no difference between Natlee, our current politicians… and 99.99% of all brass bowl Bajans….

Pacha is just beating his usual dead horse… But righteousness CANNOT be divorced from true success.
    …and Hal continues to be ‘Hal’…

29. David
    It’s a very interesting scenario and promises to be the result most Bajans would be watching even if in amusement.The City continues to be one of the most depressed areas of Barbados in spite of Dame Billie’s herculean efforts.The experience in Greenfields some years ago tells a story that many seem to like it so.All those depressed areas should be bulldozed and replaced with proper living conditions subsidized initially by the state.Instead we have a set of country managers who believe in the Fatted Calf brand and raid the treasury with inflated invoices and unnecessary new buildings.The devil can quote scripture to suit his purpose and so do the Fatted Calf hangers on.It is ok to give Sandals $500 million in concessions and then tax the average iman in the street to make up for the opportunity cost of doing that nonsense.Party paramountcy ruined Guyana and it is devastating Barbados thanks to the DLP.

30. Actually the GROTTO money would have been better spent to construct low cost housing in Greenfields. It would have satisfied the purpose of the Housing Credit Fund.

31. @ David,

The 42nd Ontario general election is scheduled to be held on June 7, 2018.

What is the June 8th E Day BU ?

32. @Hants

By a rough estimate this is when the 90 day period after the dissolution of parliament will expire to allow Stuart to make the history e yearns.

33. @ David,

I was hoping that it really is June 8th so we would have a female PM the day after the Ontario elections in case our female Premier loses.

Can’t wait to see the news coverage in Canada after MIA wins.

ps. I like this new BU format. The Diaspora corner and the Sports corner were under used so they won’t be missed.

34. Thanks, the new theme is under construction, it takes time to rearrange the furniture. Themes become unresponsive to SEO and therefore have to be changed to benefit from the changing algorithms. Your Diaspora Corner will be back.

35. Bushie

Woe betide!

We did not realize that you preferred ‘righteousness’ before spirituality.

The simple definition of righteousness is, the quality of being morally right or justifiable

But still you say that you were not taking about morality

For it both immoral and unjustifiable to so maintain such contradictions generally as we stated earlier

36. Pacha…
    It is difficult to decipher if you are just being provocative (as is sometimes David (BU)’s wont….) or if you really miss the point being made…
    Morality speaks about conformance to a socially accepted code of behaviour.
    Righteousness is a more absolute word that seeks to tap into the most fundamental of ethical behaviours.

For example,
    It was “morally acceptable” for John’s Quakers to own slaves …and to exploit them much like the animals with which slaves were equated at the time….The even freed them after 300 years or so… hooray…!!
    “Righteousness” ALWAYS dictated that it was wrong to treat others in any way that you would not want to be treated yourself.

The whole point here however – in simple terms – is that it makes NO SENSE looking to someone who has DEMONSTRATED no competence to make a success of their OWN life …to lead a country with shiite flowing freely along its main street; with no money in the bank; with agriculture on the deathbed; with potholes all over the place….

What will she bring to the table?
    …a John?

Do you think that it is a coincidence that the monument is on the Garrison? …or that the Pitchfork is facing DIRECTLY towards Bush Hill?
    …sometimes you disappoint Bushie Pacha….

Are they no COMPETENT leaders available for us to turn to….? …apart from Comissiong and Gabby?
    …or are they all just waiting to beg Bizzy and Baloney for easy wuk?
    Perhaps these two ‘B’s are modern day Quakers yuh…..

37. Did African chattel slavery last for 300 years in Barbados?

38. @Bushie

Would you deny Natlee her opportunity to have her Road to Bush Hill moment like Paul’s Road t Damascus moment? Did the earth dwellers of that time not scoff and mocked Jesus when he presented himself. He that is without sin let him pelt the first rock.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@The Honourable Blogmaster

Given the narrative that you submitted with your article titled “Natlee the Prostitute…(later adjusted to read Natlee the Former Prostitute…” and your 3.31 p.m post above, I am now convinced that there are in fact at least two of you…heheheheh

Either that or you, rather one of you has a “sweet spot” for Natlee heheheheh…

40. @PUDRYR

Dont over analyze, Natlee has been tossed up as a result of a societal flaw. We need to have a 360 conversation to attempt to offer a correction.

41. @ David
    The societal flaw is that we insist on ignoring the root cause of our malaise and grabbing at straws.
    Bushie is just making the point that it makes LITTLE sense to be grabbing at a straw that has a long history of not being able to float…’

What Damascus moment what??!!
    …do you think these ‘moments’ are a dime a dozen?
    Those are ‘adoption’ moments.

It makes FAR more sense to use some COMMON SENSE and to make logical decisions.
    Pacha sounds a lot now like Saul would have sounded ….BEFORE his ‘Damascus moment’..

Would you choose Pacha to be your pastor now..?

42. Bushie

Yours maybe one interpretation

Another maybe that you are not consistent in the truth saying.

43. Natlee is an entertaining distraction .Too bad she is not well educated and articulate like my lesbian Premier of Ontario.

I am allowed to say that because even though I am Bajan born and raised, I am a Canadian citizen.

Instead of talking shiite and doing shiite under the cover of darkness and even in broad daylight when de wife at work why

not emulate Natlee’s recent actions and go and help clean up the areas where poor people live ?

44. Hants April 2, 2018 4:44 PM

Natlee is an entertaining distraction .Too bad she is not well educated and articulate like my lesbian Premier of Ontario.(Quote)

Forget the nonsense about lesbianism, what do you mean by well-educated? Who in our parliament is well-educated? Natalee is just as intelligent as any of the 30 members of the House of Assembly and has every moral right to be a member. The only barrier should be if she could convince the voters in the City.
    I would prefer Natalee any day than some of our brain-dead and dishonest lawyers. She has demonstrated lots of integrity so far.

45. In canada we dont consider it lesbianism if there is at least one guy watching.

46. @whiteHill April 2, 2018 6:50 AM “now I wouldn’t even foop you Simple Simon even if you paid me.”

No danger of that ever happening.

Never paid nor expected/accepted payment.

Now take you full bottle of sleeping pills and call your doctor in the morning.

47. @Hants April 2, 2018 4:44 PM “Natlee is an entertaining distraction .Too bad she is not well educated and articulate like my lesbian Premier of Ontario.”

I am rooting for Kathlynne Wynne–I don’t think that Ontario deserves another Ford, and I expect that wunna too conservative to vote for the NDP.

I am rooting for Natalie. You go girl.

I am rooting for Mia.

And wunna can like it or lump it.

48. I am not sure why these Bajans in Canada are always referring to an effective third world country as the home of progress. Canada punches above its weight because it is a white majority country. Plse remind me of the last Nobel Prize winner from that sorry country?
    Look at Nigeria, or South Africa, or Korea, or even China, the most powerful economy in the world based on purchasing power parity, which is still officially considered a developing nation.
    In any case, I offer myself to Natalee to assist in drafting a social plan for the City, where I spent some of my most exciting days as a kid.
    If she wants, she can email me and I will send a draft which she would be free to tweak as she likes. What ever they throw at her she must press on.