Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

Barbados is a small independent island, with a vulnerable open economy, in one of the most hazard prone regions on Earth.ย  We need a benefactor – someone who can support us in challenging times.

We were taught to accept the Queen as our benefactor, but she did not help us when we went through our last financial crisis in 1991.ย  Our politicians appear to have accepted that China is a better fit.ย  We are already indebted to China.ย  Given the reckless way in which our politicians, from both established parties, have borrowed in the past, it is foreseen that our debts to China will soon become unsustainable โ€“ we will not be able to afford to repay them.ย  What then?

Our financial professionals and business persons are recommending that we accept the International Monetary Fund (IMF) as our benefactor.ย  However, The IMF is an option if Barbados has the misfortune of electing the undisciplined politicians of the BLP or DLP.ย  They have both brought us to the brink of economic ruin.ย  However, the IMF will be no benefactor to Barbados.

Guyanaโ€™s IMF experience is instructive.ย  Within one year, of the Guyanese people were surrendered to the IMF by their irresponsible politicians, Guyana had fallen from being one of the richest Caribbean countries to one of the poorest.ย  Guyanaโ€™s politicians oversaw: a 70% devaluation of the dollar, doubling of income tax rates, a lack of supplies and maintenance parts, reduced social services, mass emigration of professionals, and 75% of the population in poverty.

Solutions Barbados has published the only non-austerity plan, that has been verified to reverse all of the previous downgrades and return Barbados to investment grade within one year.ย  Therefore, we have not yet run out of good options.

If Barbadians have the misfortune of selecting the IMF directed extreme austerity promised by others, then they will find that the IMF is not the benefactor they were convinced that they were, but it will be too late for all of us.ย  To whom should our politicians then surrender Barbados after they have wasted our resources?ย  To the Queen, the Chinese, or the IMF?

Perhaps we should remember the words of those who survived with far less resources and more hardship than we ever had.ย  The wisdom of our fore-parents is recorded in our Constitution.

โ€œNow, therefore, the people of Barbados proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon principles that acknowledge the supremacy of God, the dignity of the human person, their unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms, and the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions;ย  affirm their belief that men and institutions remain free only when freedom is founded upon respect for moral and spiritual values and the rule of law;โ€

Perhaps we need to be reminded that our benefactor is God, and He gives wisdom which can be applied to our knowledge in order to provide creative and productive results.ย  However, God has conditions for His help.

โ€œBehold, the Lordโ€™s hand is not shortened, that it cannot save; nor His ear heavy, that it cannot hear. But your iniquities have separated you from your God; and your sins have hidden His face from you, so that He will not hear.โ€ (Isaiah 59:1-2)

It is in all of our best interests if those whom we elect to represent all of us cultivate a relationship with God.ย  Irresponsible living does not facilitate that.ย  This is why morality is crucial to managing public affairs, especially when a nation has run out of all good options.

Solutions Barbados currently has 25 expert candidates with approximately 20 years of management experience.ย  They celebrate our human achievements, participate in the growth of our institutions, and acknowledge the supremacy of God alone.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.ย  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

126 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Why Morality is Important”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Hypocrisy will get you nowhere, it has gotten not one minister รฒr politician anywhere in the last 50 years except for tarnished reputations and useless legacies….even the material possessions they all had to leave when the earth demanded back her pound of flesh.

2. HYPOCRISY at it greatest.
    GP can you in the name of the LORD tell the Barbados electorate about the two time that Barbados dealt with the IMF and emerged way better then your sample case Guyana.
    Bajans will not be fooled by your hypocrisy. There are two many sources of information out there.

3. I don’t know that Grenville is being hypocritical. What i do know is that Solutions Barbados will not form the next Government of Barbados, so just like yours or mine his is just another opinion from an outsider. I M F or not, some serious austerity stares Bajans in their faces, regardless of whom they choose to elect. The way to make it palatable is to force the chosen government to go after this brazen bunch that continues to ignore our needs, and insult our intelligence. With a straight face Stephen Lashley told the people ‘s parliament that anyone with evidence of corruption should produce it…..Lord you gi we faith!

4. If SB will contend that ‘undisciplined’ and ‘irresponsible’ politicians have and will again lead the country into a harmful IMF program;

That there is a need for political morality; a need for his highly moral SB;

Then he also has to tell us what new powers will the people have to guarantee an avoidance of past errors, ensure maximum and immediate penalties for broken political promises by his SB.

Of course, we suggest the summary execution of the politician for what this dictator from SB has determined to be political immorality – the guillotine!

If that is not possible we will settle for a ‘Right to Recall’, at little or no notice.

5. As a former rabid supporter of the Democratic Labour Party I have not so fond memories of looking up to Dennis, Michael, another Dennis and Stephen my four favorite politicians. Now in my old age I have found myself fascinated by the thoughts of bondage. Perhaps it ‘s just a hidden fetish but I think that I would find immense pleasure in seeing my four favorite politicians bounded together…..by handcuffs.

6. We have massive lump sum payments due in 2020 and 2022 (I think), that exceed the current foreign reserves, The IMF is the only body willing to lend to us.

I don’t see the IMF as a benefactor. We are out to sea drifting, we are starving, dehydrated and suffering from hypothermia. The IMF can throw us a lifeline and pull us in but they cannot nurse us back to health, all they can do is patch us up.

If we think the patch job is enough and we jump back in, we will not last very long.

UPP and BLP have both admitted we need the lifeline. SB says we don’t need it.

At this point I can only consider UPP or BLP, what I need to know is their respective plans for nursing us back to health.

SB plans are for a country in good health that wants to breakthrough to a new level of performance. We are sick we cannot perform, so SB is a non-starter

@ Mr. Phillips reversal of a downgrade is not up to us put the ratings agencies, to say the downgrades will be reversed in a year is misleading and dishonest. Ratings rarely jump multiple grades and ratings changes only happen a few times a year. We have suffered multiple downgrades, reversal and return to investment grade will take years not months.

7. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Bullshit.

Guyana’s problems had nothing to do with the IMF.

They had everything to do with 200 years of racial hatred, party-line voting, ignorance of the voting masses, politician megalomania, botched socialism and corruption.

Exactly the same problems that we have right now and with exactly the same outcome.

8. Agreed, Frustrated.

The IMF exposed in Guyana the rotten core. Like a piece of wood full of termites.

Barbados is the new Guyana of the early 21st century.

The IMF can facilitate foreign currency to overcome some liquidity problem. What the IMF cannot provide is a motivated and skilled workforce for Barbados, a better work ethic and a political class serving the common good of their country.

Barbadian politicians should be so honest and tell their voters that the total economic and social decline of Barbados is the natural consequence of the fact that from 1966 onwards a political class took over Barbados being unprepared and unwilling to serve the country.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Nextparty 246:

โ€œBehold, the Lordโ€™s hand is not shortened, that it cannot save; nor His ear heavy, that it cannot hear. But your iniquities have separated you from your God; and your sins have hidden His face from you, so that He will not hear.โ€ (Isaiah 59:1-2).โ€

So you have finally pulled from your pack of lies and deliberately-misleading statements solely designed to push your anti-MAM agenda the ace card marked ‘God in Politics’ to peddle your hypocrisy in tandem with Maureen the paid DLP propagandist pimp on the Hill?

Here you are attributing human traits and characteristics to God with a โ€œFaceโ€.

Donโ€™t you know that the same book from which you quote also warns you about the dangers of seeing the same Godโ€™s face?

Arenโ€™t you, the now self-appointed Moses to save Barbados, flying in the face of God with your uppity IMF nonsense?

What do you think the IMF is there for? To join just to show showoff yourself as a fully paid-up member to prove Barbados can punch above its economic weight? Man, itโ€™s a hospital for those economies in need of care and recovery.

Donโ€™t you think, by your own analysis of the symptoms your country is showing, that it is badly in need of such โ€˜specialistโ€™ attention as a matter of emergency and not the airy-fairy hocus-pocus ramblings of a bush doctor called Solutions Barbados?

Do you think that when you see Godโ€™s face you will be alive to take Bajans from the arms of the IMF pharaoh (in which they have been on two previous occasions and came out in better shape) to the promised land of low taxation and โ€˜perfect moralityโ€™ according to the self-proclaimed laws of Lord Grenville P and where foreign exchange and the bounties from agricultural pursuits will fall like manna from heaven?

Maybe your prescription for Prevention can be taken to the chemist for recovering economies after the IMF surgery and an after-care attention seeker is required.

So here is a quote from the same book of double speak and contradiction:
    Maybe you can find the clue โ€˜burnt on the face of itโ€™ as to how to go about โ€˜looking-upโ€™ to seek the same Godโ€™s face:

โ€œBut He said, โ€œYou cannot see My face, for no man can see Me and live!โ€

Then the LORD said, โ€œBehold, there is a place by Me, and you shall stand there on the rock; and it will come about, while My glory is passing by, that I will put you in the cleft of the rock and cover you with My hand until I have passed by.

Then I will take My hand away and you shall see My back, but My face shall not be seen.โ€

~Exodus 33:20

10. Barbados has never had a benefactor, and does not need one now. We have always lived and still live in a capitalist world, and capitalism does not practice beneficience. What Barbadians need to do is work hard, work well and work smart. And we already how to do those things. In fact we have long been benefactors to many, including the British Royal family, at Molyneux plantation.

Only this time around the money should go to the people who do have always done the hard work,

11. The Miller

Leh we open a church nuh ……………….. as a business

We feel in danger of losing you to the book!

Of course, Bushie must agree to be the principal pastor

12. After being proved to be a liar, yet persists with claiming that the BLP stole ideas from his manifesto, GP sjould not even mention the word morality. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

13. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

work well and work smart

immediately eliminates the need for excessively hard work, the uppity backward politicians never learned in 50 years, you let the taxpayers money and pension work for their benefit….there is always an intelligent way to put money to work for vasts returns..

you dont work hard for your money, as long as you have it you put it to work hard for your benefit, and you certainly dont give it away…only dumbasses who give away what does not belong to them, end up with nothing to show taxpayers for it and then loiter on parliament steps mooching free salaries off the citizens…bunch of useless moochers..

14. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Pachamama at 9:13 AM

Too late Pacha. With Miller as my High Priest and Simple Simon as my Chief Pastor, my church without walls has been formed.

Well writ Miller and Simple Simon.

15. The results of the second general elections are in !

Yet again , like Grenada a few days ago…,.it’s the ruling party ..,,,.back in power !!

http://www.looptt.com/content/big-win-gaston-brownes-party-antigua-and-barbuda-elections

So 2 are in ..,…AGAIN !!

So it’s Dems NOW…….and Dems AGAIN…,..to complete the hat trick of ruling party victories !!!

16. Clearly those who are advocating the IMF, including prominent private sector spokespersons do not understand that the IMF does not give away money no matter how desperate the country’s economic circumstances are.
    We have to find a way to help ourselves out of this economic mess.
    Back in 1999 – 2000 the IMF, World Bank and a number of international financers forgave $billions debt of more than 30 nations.
    Barbados in in no position to borrow more money. We already have problems with debt repayments. If you owe out money which you cannot pay, is it wise to borrow more money? I am just asking. Is that the advice you you give your son or daughter? Your wife or husband? A friend? You cannot pay what you iwe now but go and credit more items. Just asking.
    You might say it is not as simple as that. It is as simple as that.
    What is the answer?
    After you wise ones respond if you do, I will tell you.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP March 22, 2018 at 10:40 AM

If you are so cocksure of a third victory why are you dillydallying and engaging in electoral abuse and sleight of hand?

Why not grow a pair of balls in two weeks and be a man like both Mitchell and Browne and call elections, albeit belatedly, instead of playing for a โ€˜timelyโ€™ national emergency like the total disappearance of the countryโ€™s 2 weeks of foreign reserves?

18. Miller

You keep wondering about the election date !!

I hope when the results are in..,,,.you would be ” happy ”

Wha after all you asked for the General Elections !!!

19. David

What the truth do you ??

You have a good job !!

20. https://www.washingtonpost.com/amphtml/world/frances-sarkozy-detained-over-allegations-of-bribery-by-libya/2018/03/20/a51dc6f1-7afa-421c-be87-e30801ed9e24_story.html

Well the story above is further proof โ€“ if we needed it โ€“ that there is no statute limitations to allegations of CRIMINAL acts

So here it is in Barbados ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡งโ€ฆโ€ฆ.our dear MAM is about to face the Barbadian electorate with some LARGE dark CLOUDS โ˜ hanging over her head :

โ€ข Alleged voter fraud in 2013 !

โ€ข Alleged instigator of wire tapping in Barbados !

MAM appears to know about such practices in 2006 !

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/02/08/what-bugging/

โ€ข Alleged lack of the requisite qualifications to practice law in Barbados ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง!
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/letters_to_editor/101796/winners-losers

Well itโ€™s now over to you โ€ฆโ€ฆ..MAM !!

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured Idiot….Browne was bound to win, he cleaned up the parliament of corrupt government ministers and proved to the people he did not tief their pension money and tax dollars to give it away to white and other minorities….but also had every penny to pay off the IMF loan…a huge win, win for Browne, that is why he was so confident to call elections nearly 2 years early….

….can Fruendolittle say and show the same.

Speak louder, I can’t hear you……

22. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

John Carter, the only reason that Barbados has not collapsed in the least 10 year of inept DLP governance is because the private sector has gone to extraordinary cost-cutting lengths to keep our doors open, our lights on and our best employees paid.

If the gov’t had done the same 8 years ago, we wouldn’t be where we are today.

One of the many things the private sector has done to maintain the illusion that Barbados is open for business as usual is debt restructuring. That sometimes means borrowing ‘more’ money up to a previously-negotiated limit (money that was previously repaid on a loan that you borrow back again).

This is especially important when some loans are short-term (like from loan-sharks who only lend to the desperate) or ‘ambush financing’ (like debts for goods and services from suppliers which takes cash out of the economy and stifles business).

The IMF has a proven track of debt-restructuring facilitation.

That facilitation also comes with sensible conditions and oversight.

That is why the private sector has been screaming for IMF intervention for 5 years.

Every gov’t election in Bim hinges on the civil servants. That is why their inefficiency and ineptitude is tolerated. That will never sit well with any IMF program.

The time for that has passed.

I have always said, we don’t need less civil servants; we need the ones we have to do their job.

That is a fantasy of mine, it will never happen.

23. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ FB at 11 :27 AM

Quite true. We need the public servants to have the courage to do what they were contracted to do. Whether they realize it or not,they have considerable power. I think they need a course in persuasion also.

24. @ John C

When you owe out money that you cannot pay back – sometimes dept consolidation/restructuring will allow you to pay back the loans.
    It will also leave you with a little spending money in your hands which you can use either to pay off the debt faster or spend on things like road repairs, new sanitation trucks/busses etc.

bin there dun dat.

25. Barbados bin there dun dat 2x wid IMF also

26. @Enuff March 22, 2018 at 9:24 AM #

“After being proved to be a liar, yet persists with claiming that the BLP stole ideas from his manifesto, GP should not even mention the word morality”.
    …………………………………………………

After Sunday night’s meeting at Briar Hall, you and I can now understand Grenville Philip’s animosity towards the BLP and why he attacks the BLP as if it is the government which has been destroying our country since 2008.

Maybe Grenville Philip can deny what Kerry Symmonds said as the reason why he is constantly attacking the BLP instead of this rogue government which continues to cling to power after the mandate given to it by the electorate has expired!

27. Fractured. You made references to Grenada and Antigua elections where the Mitchell and Browne return to lead. Both had economic growth over 3% . Unfortunately, with over 20 downgrades and expected growth of less than 1% will be the questionable part if this incumbent administration will be able to follow the winning pattern. Both established parties will see a reduction in ballots due the various third parties. If the last two elections showed the winning constituencies gaining only a 5-10% difference. That percentage difference can create a who win or loss.

28. Barbados is a small independent island, with a vulnerable open economy, in one of the most hazard prone regions on Earth. We need a benefactor โ€“ someone who can support us in challenging times.
    We were taught to accept the Queen as our benefactor, but she did not help us when we went through our last financial crisis in 1991. Our politicians appear to have accepted that China is a better fit.(Quote)

Now that Solutions Barbados has moved away from its version of macro-economics to political theory, or what we like to call political science, the contradictions in their reasoning become even more obvious.
    First, Barbados is a small independent island with a vulnerable open economy….but we need a benefactor. Ignoring for the time being that we do not have an open economy, ad DeLisle Worrell used to claim is Solutions Barbados suggesting that although we are constitutionally independent we still need a benefactor, in other words that we become a vassal state?
    On the other hand, despite calls for Republicanism, is Solutions Barbados suggesting that the Queen should have stepped in in 1991 to save us?
    Now Solutions Barbados has mentioned China as a de facto benefactor without comment. Have they read the speech by the Chinese president at the last Communist Party conference? He made it clear China is not liberal democracy. Would a future Solutions Barbados government be happy with this relationship? What about the pending trade war between China and the US, or more properly the US and the rest of the world? Would a Solutions Barbados government be happy sitting on the fence?
    Again I say, Solutions Barbados must show itself to be more than a one-man band. Grenville must take a step back.
    By the way, Kerrie Symmonds’ speech the other night was vile, obnoxious and common. He ought to be ashamed of himself.

29. “The Lord has been the People’s guide for past 300 years”

We should not be beating about the bush trying to figure out who at benefactor is … it is a given … we all agree!!

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin March 22, 2018 at 1:37 PM

โ€œBy the way, Kerrie Symmondsโ€™ speech the other night was vile, obnoxious and common. He ought to be ashamed of himself.โ€

Ashamed of what? For regurgitating in 100% Bajan style what was written recently in the ‘respectable’ Daily Telegraph by one of your highly esteemed fellow journalists quite familiar with Little England?

Why donโ€™t you take a listen to what your PM had to say about his opponent Noel Muscle Mary Lynch and more bitingly, in perfect character assassination fashion, about Owen Arthur at a political meeting somewhere on Brittonโ€™s Hill in February 2013?

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP March 22, 2018 at 11:04 AM #
    โ€œYou keep wondering about the election date !!
    I hope when the results are in..,,,.you would be โ€ happy โ€
    Wha after all you asked for the General Elections !!!โ€

Well, so why not tell that to the thousands of public sector workers who have just been given a massive slap in their โ€™expectantโ€™ faces just like the hardworking people in the dying sugar industry?

Not one red Bajan non-existent cent in additional pay for the foreseeable future under the deceitful lying party administration.

What are you expecting the public sector workers to negotiate other than pay?
    To prepare themselves like turkeys for Thanksgiving when the IMF come a โ€˜cullingโ€™?

To negotiate for the retention of only known distrustful lying pimps for dlp yard fowls when the shooting season begins later in the year?

Why canโ€™t your PM declare war against the local army of occupation headed by a turncoat DLP general called McDowell and his Moorish militia colonel called Toni?

That would allow you to declare a state of emergency for at least another 12 months taking your beleaguered administration into that dark chasm of devaluation to definitely leave an indelible mark on the blackest page of Bajan history.

32. @millertheanunnaki March 22, 2018 at 10:55 AM #

So you assume that the “grand” and not so secret plan is a follows: Deplete foreign reserves, declare state of emergency and delay elections?

If ones looks at the latest police laws and the instalment of a Democratic GG und DPP, this plan could work.

33. @miller

If the morons are so sure of a victory, they have a funny way of showing it.

These idiots have devalued Barbados and do not even seem to care. We were once a proud little nation, a leader in the Caribbean and look where we are today……….with a selfish, arrogant, conceited, revengeful, ignorant man called Freundel Stuart as a leader.

His arrogance and lackadaisical attitude has so demoralised and destroyed the very fabric of our society………just look at our environment………it is like no one seems to care anymore….it is like we are all at a standstill while the world goes by.

I would like to see if any public worker would vote for these dems. The lying PM asked the unions to wait and promised them a response after September to see how the NSRL performed. Why they ever trusted him is a joke as anyone with a brain knew that the moron was never going to do anything as he hates the unions and by extension the people of this country. Fumbles was playing the unions for time.

The MOF bragged in early October that the NSRL hauled in 50 million which only a liar like Stinkliar would believe……..the PM said he had no info on the results of the NSRL, Independence celebrations came and went, Christmas came and just like the magic of Christmas……………there was another so called promise…..public workers to get a long awaited Christmas gift………. nothing happened in January, February went and now today in March, the deceitful PM told the workers not one blind cent.

And they expect people to re-elect them?

34. Prodigal Son March 22, 2018 at 3:57 PM #

These idiots have devalued Barbados and do not even seem to care…..(Quote)

Does this devaluation include the currency? If so, between January of last year and January of this year the Barbados dollar has been devalued by eight per cent.
    Yet, not a Dickie bird by our politicians, central bankers, academics or media. Why?

35. If Fcuktured BLP is using the developments in Grenada and Antigua as a basis to assume the DLP would win the upcoming electionsโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.then I suggest the yard-fowl thread with caution.

The yard-fowl seems to be purposely or conveniently forgetting a significant factor in both elections.

Gaston Brown and, Keith Mitchell represent the โ€œnew guard.โ€ In other words, at the time Thompson was PM in 2008 and Stuart subsequently becoming PM in 2010โ€ฆโ€ฆ.

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ Baldwin Spencer was PM of Antigua from March 24, 2004 โ€“ June 13, 2014โ€ฆโ€ฆ.and Tilman Thomas was PM of Grenada from July 9, 2008 โ€“ February 20, 2013.

Mitchell won the 2013 elections after Grenadians became fed of Tilman Thomasโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

โ€ฆโ€ฆ..allegations of corruption and mismanaging the Antigua economy by the UPP, allowed Browne to easily defeat Spencer in 2014. Antiguans and Grenadians believed both men did an exceptional job that merited them being reelected by an overwhelming majority.

Fruendel Stuart is of the โ€œold guardโ€ and similarly to the Spencer and Thomas administrations, his administration faces allegations of corruption and mismanaging the Barbados economy as well.

Then it would be reasonable to assume the DLP will lose the 2018 elections.

36. It makes no sense telling Illusions Barbados that Guyana,Trinidad and Jamaica are not the same economy as Barbados,therefore the effect of a devaluation on the Barbados economy would likely not be on the table at this time.What is illusory for the people of Barbados at this time is the effect the little C word is having on decisions that have been in abeyance the past 9 years and which has emboldened the PM to tell the unions to take a hike and if wunna strike the troops coming out to pull up the stumps.
    Illusions Barbados.Not one damn seat for allyuh cloud 9 fools.

37. What Bushie What? Avatar
    What Bushie What?

De apostle what Lawd what got ma bawlinnnnno dat ilk

38. WTFr happenin in babadus !

“Thatโ€™s because the Crane Resort still has over 150 of the vendorsโ€™ beach chairs locked away

in a container, while the resort continues to provide chairs for its guests.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/140681/vendors-crane-chairs

39. Our father who art in heaven, who inspired ISO … Amen

40. โ€œGuyanaโ€™s IMF experience is instructive. Within one year, of the Guyanese people were surrendered to the IMF by their irresponsible politicians, Guyana had fallen from being one of the richest Caribbean countries to one of the poorest.โ€

Why is it when people hear about the IMF they automatically come to an uninformed conclusion that IMF = austerity and currency devaluation, while using Guyana and Jamaica as examples.

If one examines the history of the Guyanese economy, the countryโ€™s economic misfortunes cannot be blamed solely on the IMF. Guyana joined the IMF in September 1966 and entered into successful Standby Arrangements with the Fund commencing from February 15, 1967 until around June 18, 1975.

The country also agreed to two different IMF programs supported by Extended Fund Facility (EFF) arrangements in the early 1980s. Guyana did not make full purchases/drawings under those programs because many of the performance criteria were not observed.

On May 15, 1985, the Board declared Guyana ineligible to use IMF general resources due to an increase in overdue obligations to the Fund. However, eligibility was restored when the country settled its overdue obligations to the Fund on June 20, 1990. At that time Guyana entered into a new Standby Agreement in July 13, 1990, followed by a 3 year Enhanced Structural Adjustment Facility (ESAF).

Guyana implemented a fixed exchange rate regime during the period 1970 โ€“ 1980 that was tied to the US$. In 1975, macroeconomic imbalances made it difficult to maintain the fixed exchange rate, resulting in an emergence of forex shortagesโ€ฆthe growing fiscal deficits were increasingly monetized,โ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€œdomestic prices rose faster than those of Guyanaโ€™s trading partners, leading to a rapid erosion of the countryโ€™s competitiveness and a sharp reduction in the production of major export commodities. The negative impact of these policies was exacerbated in the early 1980s by large adverse external shocks, as international interest rates reached record levels and commodity prices collapsed.โ€

The authorities responded by devaluing the GUY$ in 1981 and 1984 and subsequently pegged the $ to a basket of currencies.

Another interesting development in the Guyana economy was a rapidly increasing public sector during the early 1970s as a result of nationalization of the major distribution and production enterprises and which was financed by foreign borrowing. Hence, by 1980, the public sector controlled a majority of the financial system and productive activities (including rice, sugar and bauxite, agriculture, communications, distribution and industrial sectors).

A reduction in the international demand for bauxite and sugar and the overvalued exchanged rate led to a deterioration of public enterprises current balances. Guyana also experienced a reduction of tax revenue due to a decline in domestic activity. The public sector had accumulated significantly high arrears on external debt and interest by 1985.

But by this time, there was not any relationship between Guyana and the IMF.

41. Hants

If those chairs were mine, there is no way that that Doyle could have sent his black jackasses to lock up my chairs………make no mistake black people did that to black people.

This is theft in broad daylight …….plain and simple……..and we know that no black person could have done this to Doyle………I am never stepping foot back in that hotel!

42. John2: We had more options then. Now, we are almost out of options.

Hamilton: The BLP, DLP, and UPP have austerity mitigation plans. Solutions Barbados has the only non-austerity plan. We still have one good option left.

Pach: That is an excellent question. How can we be kept accountable before the expiration of a 5-year term? I will provide you with an answer shortly, because the accountability system must be effective.

Redguard: You have described Barbadosโ€™ condition accurately. However, you have not included that in the boat, there is a fishing line with dried bait, and a desalination plant. But our politicians prefer to go to the IMF or China for ready-made meals than to do the necessary work.

Solutions Barbados is the only political party that plans to use this necessary life-saving equipment. The others want to surrender us to the severe austerity of an IMF program. If we eventually have to go that way, then fine. But why not at least try-out the lifesaving equipment that is already on board the boat?

Frustrated: Guyanaโ€™s problems had to do with the lack of discipline of politicians. If you over-borrow, the paying back will be painful โ€“ it always is. We have also over-borrowed to unsustainable levels.

Tron: Correct.

Miller: I pleaded with the BLP and DLP to consider our non-austerity plan. Since neither would, we started Solutions Barbados. But they still would not entertain our non-austerity (fishing line and desalination plant) ideas. So we got 25 candidates โ€“ and now you want to accuse us of having an anti-MAM agenda. Where is the evidence?

Simple: Agreed.

43. As far as I know, taking property without the owner’s permission is theft.

But in Barbados it appears only black people does tief.

44. Artax has given a brief outline of the problems which led to the demise of the Guyana economy.Illusions Barbados still does not get it.

45. Gabriel I am also very disappointed in Mr Ellis but not surprised by Mr Ellis decision to replace the most popular moderator Mr Wickham with this half baked show the people,s parliament,especially after the Dems snubbed and attack Brasstacks for years.My question to Mr Ellis why remove Mr Wickham when you could easily have replaced Mr Johnson,Mr Layne or Ms Gale,none of whom have the popularity of Mr Wickham and would be no big loss.Mr Wickham attacks the Government and does not seek any balance like Ms caddle used to and we know what happen to her.Mr Ellis had known Dems like ,Ms Holder ,Mr Marshall .,Ms Hinds -Layne.Ms Munroe -KhightAkitolve Corbin and others on that program for years,threrefore I am not surprise.

46. Hants March 23, 2018 at 12:01 AM #

โ€œAs far as I know, taking property without the ownerโ€™s permission is theft.โ€

Hants

And to make matters worseโ€ฆ..the property was taken from the beach, which NCCโ€™s general manager says is owned by the public.

47. Is Ellis deserving of credit by not including Wickham? Is the only criteria is that he is popular? Should he not be seen as a pollster first and there participating in a political talk show should be managed less he is perceived as leading the narrative at a critical time period in the election campaigning cycle?

48. David BU

An excellent observationโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

Wickhamโ€™s comments gives one the perception he is anti Stuart/DLP and this would not give the program much credibility.

Itโ€™s similar to a CBCโ€™s โ€œPeopleโ€™ Parliamentโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆhosted by Maureen Holder.

49. Gabriel

Although he means well, it is clear Grenville Phillips II is a stubborn, โ€œstrong headedโ€ individual.

If Phillips II wants to write on economic policy, IMF, Guyana etc……. I suggest he should do a bit more reading.

As it relates to the IMF……….I suggest reads their October 2012 โ€œWorld Economic Outlook,โ€ in which the IMF’s chief economist Olivier Blanchard explained the Fund no longer encourage countries to implement austerity measures.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ nextparty246 March 22, 2018 at 10:28 PM

“Miller: I pleaded with the BLP and DLP to consider our non-austerity plan. Since neither would, we started Solutions Barbados. But they still would not entertain our non-austerity (fishing line and desalination plant) ideas. So we got 25 candidates โ€“ and now you want to accuse us of having an anti-MAM agenda. Where is the evidence?”

You do have an anti-MAM agenda. Your recent bold-faced outburst of โ€˜alternative factsโ€™ about the BLP โ€˜stealingโ€™ your ideas about healthy eating is sufficient evidence to deem you a stranger to the truth with one agenda on your electoral table.

Not even a retraction in the light of countervailing evidence from the BLPโ€™s 2013 manifesto or an apology for your preemptive folly has emanated from your mouth to date.

The BLP has NOT been, for heavens sake, the ruling administration for the past 10 years. So why focus your attacks and waste your political ammunition on an impotent imaginary enemy called the BLP?

If you want to bring your engineering-based โ€˜Solutionsโ€™ approach to bear on the management of the challenges facing Barbados before it sinks into the IMF sea, then you need to remove the DLP from power and not try to replace the BLP as the next โ€˜leadingโ€™ party in Opposition.

Let the people decide which place in the Opposition queue the BLP will be taking up.

Your first and only objective at this point is to overthrow- by democratic and electoral means- the current administration still overstaying its welcome and loitering in the corridors of power thereby blocking the path to necessary change and making your task of saving the country from the arms of the IMF a pipe dream of immeasurable improbabilities.