The 33 year old mother of the 11 year old boy who died as a result of an accident at the entrance/exit of Coverley along the Lowland to Airport stretch of the highway last year was charged this week when she appeared in the Oistins courts this week. She was released after honouring the requirements of $7,500.00 bail.
What has caught the interest of BU is not that this woman has had to suffer the death of her son hours after he completed the Common Entrance Exam. The news caused the blogmaster to recall a similar incident when a boy of similar age – 11 years old – was shot by Jonan Bjerkman.
What eventually happened to the Johan Bjerkman case?
Listen to the Barbados Today news clip.
When are they going to charge Mark Maloney for ignoring the Town & Planning request to remove the protrusion and island he built in the middle of the highway that caused the accident.
This is the reason house negros MUST be exposed, for enabling two justice systems that are harsher on their own people.
Let us not forget that the same Bjerkham left the jurisdiction while out on bail for treatment on his hand without prior permission from the court and still hasn’t seen the inside of any prison bars.
Is this a political cover-up of the highest order?
abajanhowe March 16, 2018 at 8:12 AM #
These cases are not the outcomes of ‘political’ corruption, but of failure by the criminal justice system.
What about the officer accused of shooting his neighbour, of the superintendent accused of involvement in illegal guns, of the man remanded for TEN years and then acquitted, who sued for Bds$3m in compensation this this disgraceful government is fighting? Whatever is happening to that case. What about those in gated communities who continue to operate their gangs?
The bottom line is that one person, who holds a hybrid political/state office position (the attorney general) is at the heart of all this.
We must also implicate the opposition political parties for not speaking out; we must also call out the bar association for remaining as dumb as the do do, as silent as a mouse.
The truth, as I have said before, is that there is systemic rot at the very heart of our governance and Bajans must wake up from their state of denial..
Look here, enough is enough, we darn well know that these people whom we have elected to see about our affairs aren’t gonna do shit to address these situations. The truth of the matter is this, it is not enough now to expose house Negroes or uncle toms, this has been done a 1kx already. We need to get off her black asses and take back what is ours. That case of the Bjerkham incident had provided us with a watershed moment, it was a clear indication to all the black bajans of what is going on in a black majority country; what the hell we did with that opportunity? Not one rass hole. Now, you black bajan women sat on your big black asses and did nothing while your sons are locked to fuck up for a tin of corned beef, this is not about those schmucks we elected, but a society who have picked the wrong battle to fight. That is, the black men of Barbados aren’t the enemies of the black women.
What about the new DPP? The first woman to hold that position, I was under the impression the panacea for all the ills of Barbados was a woman’s touch.
whiteHill March 16, 2018 at 8:52 AM #
Giver her time. At present she is concentrating on her personal security – presumably more so than the prime minister, chief justice or governor general.
She has got her priorities right.
I am not trying to whip up any race tension but it seems that there is one law for the white people and a more draconian form for the blacks. Some time ago, a young father lost his baby, who was inadvertently left in a car while he went to work. That father made a mistake that cost the life of his son and as if that were not punishment enough, he was paraded through the courts for years.
Now this lady collided with an illegal structure that jutted out dangerously from Coverley and she tragically lost her son. Rather than penalise the real villains who illegally constructed and who refused to remove the dangerous protrusion, the authorities have instead sought to put that mother through the additional trauma of a trial.
The two people charged in the above scenarios are both black.
On the other hand, we have seen how the authorities dealt with the murder of little Luke Bjerkham. They have accepted that his murder was as a result of an unfortunate accident, without adequately putting the explanation to a test. From my knowledge and training with guns, I can say that the explanation that was accepted could not have occurred unless the father had three hands. It was impossible.
There was another incident where a father took his minor son to Bathsheba during a storm to surf. The little boy died and I have not heard where the authorities charged the parents with negligently or recklessly causing the death of that boy. Those parents had a duty to protect their son and not to put him in harms way.
The parents in the latter two situations happen to be white. They suffered the loss of their children and I sympathise with them. But why must white people be offered condolences by the authorities when they lost their children as a result of their own negligence and black people are prosecuted for their negligence or inadvertence.
THIS NONSENSE HAS TO STOP. Medes and Persians?
@Caswell
Found it, it was hidden among hundreds of spam comments.
As far as the Medes and Pesrsians phenomenon in Barbados as it relates to the dispensation of justice in this case and others, we as Barbadians must also look to ourselves as contributors to our own demise. For I have been in and around this island as an adult for the last ten years and on many occasions my own black brothers and sisters have sent me back home feeling sick to my stomach at the way they interact with me versus those whites out there or even when I ventured out with my white Canadian neighbors. On a few occasions I had my white neighbors front for me at some store because I knew the angry belligerent bajan woman would smile and assist him better. The sad thing about it is that my white neighbor knew what’s going on, his skin color got him privileges. I went on a number of dates with my British girl friend, I’m picking up the tab, I’m no beach bum, well dressed man, guess what? Even when I give a decent tip the blacks always fond over my woman. So, I just say to my woman looka dis rass hole ting fuh muh. She gets a kick out of me talking bajan instead of Yankee, but still, she knows the deal with these black fools. So, all of this to say, most of us, whether we are a part of the powers that be or some schmuck at a duty free shop our demise is existential.
When will Barbadian citizens see a total overhaul of the justice system based on what Sg . Johnson states that it is just a a PERCEPTION. I agree totally with his sentiments since we are seeing different results from different Law Makers. We must understand that we have “Law Makers”, “Law Enforcers”, Law observers” and “Law Breakers”. In the lady case, the cause of death could not be intentional since we know the driver was the mother. We must also take in consideration the area where the accident took place was at the time and still is, jotting out in the road. You cannot have a carriage way that have an obstacle without lights or zebra signage to alert drivers of danger.
However, we have many pending cases where firearms were used and the alleged persons are out on bail, some for over a year. I am hoping the accused use the route to appeal using the various flaws in the justice system.
This is our fault.
Your fault, my fault and all we niggers fault.
We “campaigned” about this here on Barbados Underground for a few short weeks and then we let the real murderer get away
Now the victim, twice made a victim, because she lost her child AND NOW SHE IS BEING TRIED AND IS GIVEN BAIL while we going come here again and talk a whole set of jobby.
Had the RH Rastafarian talk shop community agitated about this killer island and pointed the finger at the real culprit or had the Miniter of Transport who was then John BOYCE done something about the island in the middle of the Effing road we would not be back here doing this same chant
So, let us all now display our righteous indignation for nine more days as we vent on these things…
I betcha if I was a white man whose wife while trying to kill my ask or is that asx kills my child who I hold in front my asx for protection, I bet not one badword would come of that becausing I white…
But wunna go long and light up de BU corridors while pinting wunna finger at the new female DPP
These are the questions that wunna should be posing to Dale Marshall Attorney General in waiting on his Facebook page instead of sucking he schlong figuratively speaking
https://imgur.com/gallery/ZkOR0Lx
HERS WAS AN ACCIDENT, BARECUNT WUN WAS NOT!!! HE F@CK UP LUKE AN MAKE IT LOOK LIKE AN ACCIDENT….WHO FOR AH PROFESSIONAL GUN DEALER, GINE CLEAN AH GUN WITH AMMUNITION IN IT? STUPESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS..WE AS AH PEOPLE MUST STAND UP FOR WHAT IS PRINCIPLE, WHILE SOME GETS PERSECUTED, SOME GETS AH SLAP ON THE WRIST
This mother being charged in this car accident is our fault.
Your fault, my fault and all we niggers who live in Barbados’ fault.
We “campaigned” about this accident and misfortunate death at the illegal island in the middle of the ABC highway here on Barbados Underground for a few short weeks and then we let the real murderer get away
Now the victim, twice made a victim, once because she lost her child AND NOW SHE IS BEING TRIED AND IS GIVEN BAIL while we going come here again and talk a whole set of jobby.
Had the RH Rastafarian talk shop community agitated about this killer island and pointed the finger at the real culprit, or had the Miniter of Transport who was then John BOYCE done something about the island in the middle of the Effing road, or had the Road Association fiasco people spoken up, or we done a more meaningful campaign, we would not be back here doing this same chant
So, let us all now display our righteous indignation for nine more days more as we vent on these things…
I betcha if I was a white man whose wife while trying to kill my ask, or is that asx? kills my child who I hold in front my asx for protection, I bet not one badword would come of that real murder becausing I white and I got more than $7500…
But wunna go long and light up de BU corridors while pinting wunna finger at the new female DPP and every one else but ourselves
These are the questions that wunna should be posing to Dale Marshall Attorney General in waiting on his Facebook page instead of sucking he schlong figuratively speaking…
As Attorney General to be what will you do with this witch hunt that is only designed to foster social dissent and provoke an incident where the DLP can “crack some heads and kill some people…”
https://imgur.com/gallery/ZkOR0Lx
The simple benefit of this charge will be a determination to validate all the BU palaver that the road ‘island’ is a hazard. One assumes that the attorneys for the mother will seek to prove that point if it can mitigate or absolve her of the charges.
An affirmation along those lines would be truly astonishing considering that it would place a burden ultimately on the Govt of Bdos and our MTW.
That holds tremendously more significance to us all than the vagaries of Bjerkham’s non indictment re his son’s death.
How does the island being a hazard collide with driving without due care and attention? This is all hypothetical of course.
@ De Ingrunt Word aka DpD.
you meant to say that it “holds tremendous more significance to me than …” as opposed to us, and certainly you must have mispoken!
Certainly if the Honourable Blogmaster were to do a poll “among US” as to the significance of the Bjerkham non indictment JUXTAPOSED, as WhiteHill set it as a biased judicial system IN WHAT IS A MAJORITY BLACK COUNTRY, de ole man is inclined to believe that the results would only give wings to you statement.
In fact de ole man beleives that the poll would only underscore the sentiment of “Law Breakers” and Persons of Privilege being Above the Law which I thing that Tell Me Why more eloquently argued..
The fact unfortunately is that certain denizens in this country, given their “melanation” CANNOT DO CRIME or if they do commit crimes ARE NOT PROSECUTED FOR IT.
The point that 6 of the 12 posters here have made is that there is a law for the medes and a law for the persians.
However, you do submit a very interesting posit as an potential outcome of the trial when you speak of a hypothetical outcome “AND AFFIRMATION” OF THE HAZARD POSED BY THIS DANGEROUS PROMONITORY.
That might seem to suggest that this case is in fact purely cosmetic and that the charges will be dismissed DIW since
(a).a sane government (which the DLP is not) would not have its Court System be so unwise as to issue anything other than a “death by vehicular misadventure” or something similar
(b).a sane government would also instruct said Judge NOT TO ASCRIBE ANY BLAME TO THE PROMONONITORY since
(i).such would mean a potential lawsuit against MTW and or the Government of Barbados or
(ii).The owner of the promonitory should that owner be the Owner of the Coverley Development
Whu you tink?
I posted a comment earlier today, could you please check to see what happened to it
@Caswell
Do a backspace on the browser, nothing at this end.
If the mother is charged, and convicted, of driving without due care and attention, it means she cannot later sue Maloney and the government for negligence. There is method in their madness.
“If the mother is charged, and convicted, of driving without due care and attention, it means she cannot later sue Maloney and the government for negligence. There is method in their madness..”
Interesting take on the matter.
Artax has really done a good ‘buff’ job on your intellect.
There is one fact missing from the pot of opinion.
The schoolboy died on the spot and a case of motor manslaughter can be brought against someone.
The question is which other ‘third party’ should be held as negligent to this probable case of motor manslaughter.
Should the person(s) who erected the promontory onto the ‘highway’ (so-called island of access and egress to the concrete ovens making up the Coverley ‘civilian encampment’) without the requisite approval of the MTW (and even in blatant defiance of instructions for its removal) be deemed negligent and could be found liable based on the legal element of actus reus (Jeff C’s expert legal knowledge can shed more light in this ‘grey’ area)?
just to show how much disdain and disrespect the minority population has for the same house negros in parliament and police who bend over backwards to protect them, drones are illegal on the island, private citizens are not supposed to be flying drones, the comissioner of police said so himself….but on any given night one can see a drone leaving the Millennium Heights area and flying all around the Warrens area, it is not a police drone….police do not live in these areas or have stations in these areas.
…..if Black men in parliament and in the police force don’t have the balls to lock up minority criminals on the island, but are not too coward to pick fights with women….myself included…so who is to blame, not the weak ass black men who only got stones to fight with women and lock up their own people for very little good reason most times????
Indeed our experts can clarify the rules here.
So Senor Pieces my lay response agrees with your second point that the legal burden would fall to MTW/Govt (and the builders) if a strong legal defense can prove that the “promontory” is illegally or negligenty located.
Thus, Mr Blogmaster the only collison is the one which already occurred. Why is it not possible that the mother is found guilty of driving without due care and attention AND the abuttement also be found to have contributed to her accident?
That would negate Hal’s point as a suit would then still be warranted where the quantity of damages awarded would be reduced based on the culpability of the mother’s actions.
And back to your first point Senor Ole-man. We often wrongly get tied up with white=privilege. I assert its all about Bajan social class more than color….not to be rude or impolitic but if that was let’s say Bree St John’s minor son who had been shot via similar misadventure would we have seen not the same outcome where ‘close order marching’ was the mandate to the rank n file (taking you back to your cadet dazes at school -#3 correct!
So basically as much as I may be vexed and perturbed by the Mead and Persian dual regs, there is not much that I can practically do to overturn that way of life.
For example, have we heard one pang about the investigation of Aurelius Smith’s (Joe Physics) wife? A classless Black boy was involved there too it’s alleged and lots of high class Black men were too, it is clearly known. Seems like a platoon commander boomed out marching orders there also, not so!
This question is for my bajan people. Wunna see how fast a ministerial statement, a official clarification and a reversal come about ,over a misinterpretation when wunna rise up in wunna numbers? Cell phone addiction was able to curb docility.Now let common sense and the yearning for fair play do the same. Flood the phone banks of the radio stations. Humbug the call in programs on a daily basis, and then come out in numbers and show support for the sister whenever she has to go to court. There is strength in numbers….especially at this time…..if not Minister Lashley din calling no radio program less than twenty-four hours after an obvious foul up. The solid waste tax rip off…the fingerprinting shite dum did planning…..you did hear any o dum? Wunna did quiet thats why…SHAMELESSLY THIS ADMINISTRATION IS BENT ON PROVING BARBADIANS FOOLS.
This case is worth watching very closely, government should be sued for that accident….they never do their jobs to protect citizens against the likes of Maloney, his greed, arrogance and illegal activities.
Why has Town & Planning not ripped up that island Maloney illegally built in the middle of the highway and refused to remove, what is wrong with the dysfunctional leadership on the island.
Johan Bjerkham,shot his son,was allowed to get on a plane to get treatment overseas came back and was placed on 240 days community work 2 years probation.
Part of the criticism of the Coverley Housing Project is the unusual covenant which covers the deal. The BU family can decide for themselves.
UNDERSTAND that the MANDATE of law enforcement on this island was DESIGNED to PROTECT THE PLANTOCTACY (white slave masters)… to this day it operates ad infinitum.
THE MANDATE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT MUST BE ADDRESS GOING FORWARD TO ADDRESS LOOPHOLES.
THE ATTORNEY GENERAL Queen’s Counsels, Legal Emissaries and the Bar Association need advocate and address that INSTRUMENT .
Rawle maycock March 16, 2018 at 7:17 PM #
…”Johan Bjerkham, shot his son, was allowed to get on a plane to get treatment overseas came back and was placed on 240 days community work 2 years probation”….
Rawle, you should have also mentioned that the 240 days community work (?) were at no other place than at Port Ferdinand ….. was he escorted by law to the USA?
Water under the bridge.
Dr.Rat was “not allowed”…he was pursued across the water and met his fate.
Water under the bridge.
Not that de ole man can understand these legal documents but is it that the NHC has agreed with a third party to have said third party become sub lessors of the property rentals?
De ole feller ent too bright but if that is the case why is that?
Who then is housing concepts inc?
Can the incoming BLP administration nullify this irregularity?
It’s all part of the diseased black mind, the black population have noticed when they have to engage BLACK lawyers on the island, that the disrespectful, intelligence insulting mistreatment meted out to them by these house negro lawyers is far, far worse than the bow and scrape, asskissing, shit eating slave boy/girl mannerisms these same black lawyers display when having a client from the white or indian minority population.
…they obviously did not do well in math at school, because should the major population decide to stop engage the services of these sellout lawyers, there are not enough minorities on the island to keep them employed and their asses will surely starve, just as they deserve for the direspect to their own people.
The diseased slave mind of the black lawyer is a very ugly one.
If I remember correctly, the lady who lost her son due to Maloney’s arrogance was or is a resident of one of the badly built Coverly ovens…..her lawyer should take a look at that agreement…she has with NHC…
Affixing a POSTAL STAMP/S to any document, renders that Document/s legal….
I see no stamps here, David
Are you wearing your specs?
@ Nine of Nine
That last comment ascribes a more than average legal knowledge to you 9 of 9’s (Your moniker is sort of close to another suspect sorry suspected lawyer 5 x 9)
Notwithstanding, a stamped document might indicate either that (a) the document in question came from (one of ) the parties privy to its submission after execution or (b) the entity (or staf of the entity) to whom the document has been submitted or (c) a third party or staff of a third party entitled to a copy of that document.
Multiple Jpegs of the non-stamped document might suggest that this copy might reasonable have been secured from (a) one of the parties privy to the submission of the document as opposed to being a fully prosecuted document which would have had a stamp
Now you need to understand the “trail” associated with a stamped document and the wisdom in this case of circulating such a document.
Given that the Honourable Blogmaster is an expert in the receipt of these types of documents “that have dropped off of trucks” the ole man, while i ent he private EYE, nor the source of this document, respectfully suggest that this is a calculated submission.
In fact de ole man beleives that the Honourable Blogmaster would have seen some additional documentation that would ensure that the document that is being displayed here has VALIDITY
But de olee man only commenting on a strange document which references a Concepts Something as the proxy landlord of the Government’s Landlord
heheheheheheh
Received July 22 2010
heheheheh
He might be talking bout the post office stamps that are on other types of legal documents
Those documents were posted to this blog in 2010.
https://barbadosunderground.net/2010/08/23/the-unusual-covenant-at-coverley-approved-by-the-national-housing-corporation/
David March 17, 2018 at 12:35 PM #
Are you wearing your specs?
Since when did a “rubber stamp” replaced/substitutes/invalidates a genuine legal POSTAL STAMP…. which all documents traversing the sea of space must be validated by (a) genuine POSTAL STAMP(S) THAT are TO BE DOCKED IN ANY PORT (COURT/authorizing body).
Without such, it is considered babble, is fraudulent AND DECEPTIVE by intent and is a genuine case of MAIL FRAUD. Furthermore, if the contents of the babbling document does not convey in its particulars relative truths, it will be considered misleading and perjury or contempt of court.
And you know that the stamps on a poor quality image presented here are rubber stamped whatever that means?
#steuspe
Well I rest my case.
I certainly did not know of the 2010 blog but havinf seen how you operate was quick to suggest to detractors dem that the documents were valid ones. given said detractor’s snide remark.
You see why de ole man is so simplemended to suggest that any campaign which says
“We will rescind any Ingrunt Law or Tax made by this DLP administration!!” will catch the votes of the 15 seconds Electorate?
undoubtedly, there will be many such laws recinded and undoubtedly there will be alot of DLP appointed Chairmen and committees to be prosecuted for wrong doings under Ministers but just get a handle of the amount of votes that you can pick up!
Sometimes when the grandson sends me a Stoopid Cartoon I ask him a few points about his ideas
He is very quick to tell the old man that DEPENDING ON HOW YOU WRITE, WHAT YOU RIGHT, YOU CAN GET A SAINT TO FOLLOW YOUR INVITATION.
For example he said that running the campaign of “Natalie” would be an easy exercise.
Natalie only has to say something like
“I know that many bajans feel offended by what I do, in that i have sold my body to survive.
“But look, Bajans elect politicians A FEW OF WHOM SELL BOXIE OR THE SAME PO*IE to get where they are.
But here is the difference.
I have sold this publicly THEY DO IT PRIVATELY
And then after they do that they get in Parliament and sell ell the land, and the contracts and sell ALL OUR BOTSIES & PO*IES publicly and We DOES VOTE FOR THEM EVERY 5 YEARS.
The same way wunna does give them a chance to prostitute all of us, and our children UNDER THE GUISE OF HELPING BAJANS why not give me a chance to genuinely try to help our youth who need to see that (a) everyone can change and (b) because I have been there and I have lived it, I GENUINELY WANT TO HELP OUR YOUTH”
And before the holy of the holy bible thumpers jump up and assassinate the ole man I would ask wunna hypocrites to read Luke 7
“And, behold, a woman in the city, which was a sinner, when she knew that Jesus sat at meat in the Pharisee’s house, brought an alabaster box of ointment,
38 And stood at his feet behind him weeping, and began to wash his feet with tears, and did wipe them with the hairs of her head, and kissed his feet, and anointed them with the ointment.
39 Now when the Pharisee which had bidden him saw it, he spake within himself, saying, This man, if he were a prophet, would have known who and what manner of woman this is that toucheth him: for she is a sinner…
It is so sad that after fifty years of the sham we refer to as Independence that system of governanceand justice now entrusted to those who should be protecting the working class continues to be disadvantageous to the working class
Will the removal of Lord Nelson correct the ills which have been perpetrated against the disadvantaged in the society
Of course not but rather than focusing on the real ills of the society they draw attention to themselves by pursuing fake causes rather than fighting injustices in a hypocritical system over which they are an integral part
Well said Charles.
Pingback: Mark Daghorn – Another Case of One Law for the Medes and Another for the Persians? | Barbados Underground
Don’t know where to put this…
Is the sewage crisis over or has it outlasted our attention span?
@ TheGazer
The crisis is over.
Bajans have now acclimatised to our new norm of living with shiite.
This may not be a bad thing….. cause it will only get worse …as we continue doing the same things that got us into our current stink.
The same is true about corruption. Our officials are clean, will never and have never engaged in such behaviour.
What about the officer accused of shooting his neighbour, of the superintendent accused of involvement in illegal guns, of the man remanded for TEN years and then acquitted, who sued for Bds$3m in compensation this this disgraceful government is fighting? Whatever is happening to that case. What about those in gated communities who continue to operate their gangs?
The bottom line is that one person, who holds a hybrid political/state office position (the attorney general) is at the heart of all this
@Hal,
The AG does not have jurisdiction in ordinary criminal matters. That is the province of the DPP.
79A. (1) The Attorney-General may, in the case of any offence
to which this section applies, give general or special directions to the Director of Public Prosecutions as to the exercise of the powers conferred upon the Director of Public Prosecutions by section 79, and the Director of Public Prosecutions shall act in accordance with those directions.
(2) This section applies to –
(a) offences under the laws of Barbados relating to –
(i) piracy,
(ii) trading or otherwise dealing in slaves,
(iii) foreign enlistment,
(iv) publications calculated to interfere with the peaceful relations of Barbados with foreign states,
(v) high treason, treason, misprision of treason or treachery,
(vi) sedition or seditious meetings,
(vii) official secrets,
(viii) mutiny or incitement to mutiny,
(ix) unlawful oaths; and
(b) any offence under an enactment relating to any right or obligation of Barbados under international law.
“(ii) trading or otherwise dealing in slaves,”
would love to see the full definition…presuming there is any.
If I am any judge the Abijah Holder accident, when finally exhausted, shall offer a reference case for tens of decades in Barbados and across the Caribbean for ” so long as a mans colour is no more significance than the colour of his eyes ” it is WAR.
Until there is no longer first class and second class citizens of any nation, until the colour of a mans skin is no more significance than the colour of his eyes. Until basic rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race. Rule of International morality will be an illusion pursued by never attained ……. WAR
Big What war? Bajans idea of war is the use of words.
Put down the dictionary and take up swords
Mia Motley promised Felisia Holder that BLP lawyers will represent her against the charge of vehicular manslaughter. She also read from documents to show that the island located at the entrance/exit of Coverley on the ABC was identified in writing as a violation by Maloney.
Sometimes “the pause that refresheth” is also a pause that enlightens.
Let us look at Double jeopardy
“Double jeopardy is a procedural defence that prevents an accused person from being tried again on the same charges and on the same facts, following a valid acquittal or conviction.”
Now imagine that I KNOW THAT AN INCOMING ADMINISTRATION WILL NOT SUCK MY POOCH and being forearmed in that knowledge what would I do?
Now, having said that bit of enlightened information what the old man would say is that the real strategy in the defense IF THEY ARE SURELY DISPOSED TO REAL JUSTICE would be
(A).Not to have the matter held during the tenure of the DLP and HAVE IT DISMISSED but
(B).to wait for the 80 days to pass AND THEN ENJOIN ALL THE RELEVANT PARTIES TO THIS MATTER
But den again wunna dun know de ole man stupid and can’t see de forest but for the trees…
According to the Sunday Sun, the top two technical officers at the Ministry of Transport have had a problem with the Coverley junction. The Chief Technical Officer as far back as 2012 put in writing his concerns to the Chief Town Planner. Abijah Holder died in an accident in 2015 that may be due to the design deficiencies of the same junction. YET the junction remains unchanged and Abijah’s mother is being charged with a criminal offense.
Is this all a bad dream?
@Ping Pong
You should have added that blaming Maloney is a cop out. We need to ask the TP department why there has been no action taken by that department. Let us toss in the storage facility at the shallow draugh for good measure.
Ping Pong March 25, 2018 at 5:50 PM #
Bad regulation. If it was against planning regulations, then it should have been removed ages ago, whatever the process. But it is easier to blame political interference, corruption or an evil developer.
Professionals of integrity will back their decisions, even if it means having to deliver pizzas for a living. That is what professional integrity means.
By the way, whatever happened to the guy who headed up the BNB and got sacked?
Would it be irrational to assume that the Town and Country Planning Department is a division of Preconco / Rockhard cement?
What is the use of the Chief Technical Officer of the Ministry of Transport if that office cannot oversee the design and building of junctions with the public roads and highways?
It took the DPP’s office 3 years to determine that Abijah Holder’s mother should be charged and don’t be surprised if it takes another 5 years before a determination of the matter.
What next? Private businesses arranging unmetered connections to the water supply?…oh wait a minute…
Reminds me of the story of the Augean stables but without a Hercules in sight.
Mr Austin
who do you blame when one hears about “facilitation fees” and monthly “retainers” being paid to persons in the Town and Country Planning department ? Those who pay or those who receive payment?
The rot in the civil service is so far gone that I do not think a change in administration will make any positive difference.
Ping Pong March 25, 2018 at 6:36 PM #
That is a criminal offence on both sides. Where are the police? Is this a break down in law and order or do we accept such behaviour?
Mr Austin
I don’t know the “we” to whom you are referring. I am powerless. The break down in law and order is because those in authority accept such behaviour. Do we have to wait on the return of Christ to fix a junction with a major highway. A junction whose design has been determined by the very professionals paid to oversee such things, to be deficient and very likely to have caused the death of a child! Which politician is going to stop the Ministry of Transport from making that junction right?!!
Woman dies after Coverley crash
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/141905/woman-dies-coverley-crash
What do Four Seasons, a seat pun the Central Bank and this blog got in common?
An incoming BL government can re-open the Bjerkham case. There is no statute of limitation on murder, manslaughter, accidental or suspicious deaths. Technically the cases can always be re-opened.
Hal
Only the DPP has that power. Government would have to amend the Constitution to achieve what you propose.