The Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley at a press conference this week asked Minister Chris Sinckler to answer eight questions. The questions are pertinent sane observers will agree given the perilous state of the economy based on reports delivered last week by Governor Cleviston Haynes and this week from the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB). Again pertinent because the draft Estimates 2018-2019 will be debated in Parliament next week.

There is the saying how can 20 million Frenchmen be wrong?

Clearly the protracted poor state of the economy remains a priority concern because of the many issues that will catalyze as a result. We have already started to witness a different kind of crime in Barbados, a type of crime Bajans use to say -dah cant happen hey!

Next week will Bajans have the opportunity to listen or watch serious debating of the issues affecting Barbados or will it be the same vacuous mouthings from our elected. There is a general election to be won afterall!

73 responses to “Will Chris Sinckler Answer Questions Posed by Mia Mottley?”

1. What is owed in delinquent land taxes, vacant vs improved?
    What is owed in delinquent VAT?
    What amount was collected in road tax, and an accounting of where it was spent?
    What amount is delinquent due the water authority?

2. There’s more chance of him running down Broad Street naked

3. whereas these are pertinent questions asked by MIA, will she tell us how she will counteract some of these obvious maladies?

4. Today is the 28th anniversary of the release of Nelson Mandela from prison is South Africa 🇿🇦

Mia Mottley today is days away from being carted off to prison .

I am not sure if she will spend as much time as Nelson Mandela !!!

Artax & Lorenzo knows how to find out that part !!

They were former jail inmates. . ! !!

5. Don’t you think it is useful if one of you poor excuses for DLP surrogates attempt to answer the questions posed for citizens? Don’t you think citizens should be regarded with respect? Finally, is Michael Carrington in prison?

#JA

6. I had plan to post this as a response to Theophillus on another blog, but I’ll slide it in here.
    The DLP is being savaged on every social media platform. That’s a fact: BU, nationnews online, barbadostoday online, fb, facebook live, IG, youtube..everywhere. Added to that Brasstacks, the rum shops, social gatherings and in homes. Bajans are not buying into the DLP propaganda and they have realised that the Dems cannot defend their stewardship and have to rely on attacking Mia Mottley. So far the morality platform has flopped, the LEC platform has flopped and the regurgitated wiretapping has fallen flat. Issues such as the state of the economy, low forex, downgrades, cost of living, garbage collection, UWI fees, NSRL, Carrington Gate, water outages and the south coast mess are simply too much to defend. The latter five aren’t esoteric arguments like the first three; they resonate with many people at a personal level. Then factor in the corruption. The Dems dropped from 20 to 16 seats in 2013 with none of these issues to address, and a poll less than a year ago had Stuart’s approval rating at 11%. Is Barbados or Stuart’s approval better now?

7. @enuff

How many seats?

Go for it!

8. @Enuff

In the words of that famous philosopher “Yogi Berra” it is déjà vu all over again.

The DLP in 2017-2018 is in the same position as the BLP in 2007-2008 you can take that to Littlewoods, Ladbrokes etc.

9. Sargeant

I didn’t want to say it, but it feels that way and the BLP was nowhere as bad as this current lot. David BLP 16, any other number could play thereafter.

10. Wanted to include this snippet in the blog then decided to treat with it in the comments so as to not detract from the thrust of the blog.

This below snippet is attributed to the credential laden Senator Darcy Boyce. The question asked of him is to explain how private sector is able to maintain an A rating in a market where the rating is junk.

#askingforafriend

What are the alternatives to the NIS investing in Government paper? Do we have bonds issued by major private sector companies that may be rated grade A? No. Do we have some projects and proposals from private sector persons for investment . . . that have been proven, for example, land developments schemes? We have a few of those but there are only a few and they are at the early stage of speculation where the risk is highest,” Boyce told the Senate.

11. Theophilius Gazerts 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 256

@Enuff

Let’s hope it is majority and not a vocal minority that we are seeing.

Also don’t forget a next animal on the Bajan landscape that is as common as the yardfowl and even more vocal ……. the rubber teet dog

12. Theophilius Gazerts 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 256

Let me add …
    I do not support the DLP.
    Their actions do not inspire confidence
    Looking for more than the lesser of two evils

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

The question is….since when did bond (or credit) rating matter? The debate in which these comments came, was about the GoB paying off monies owed to the NIS using CCC rated Bonds.
    The PM told us back in March 2017 that credit ratings only mattered IF you were borrowing. All of a sudden Sen Boyce is rubbishing that, saying credit ratings matter to Investors. One of the two is lying?

14. No lie, only political speak. It is about delivering politically correct arguments in the silly season.

15. Did not the ignorant Stuart say that he didn’t care what rating agencies said Barbados is not junk,indeed Barbadians themselves are not junk and for him, Sinckler the MoF was EMINENT.You want a bigger JA?Staurt is so out of touch with reality,’it is a shame’ to use a bajanism.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Mia M may as well keep quiet. She must know, that with so many of the SOE’s several years delinquent in producing financial reports, that while one employee in each may know something close to what is accurate, across the entire lot, nobody has an accurate clue as to the overall state. Pick a number given publicly and add 15%.

The BU choir keep going on about elected representatives. However, the gun should be pointed at the senior civil servants, and Board Chairs at the failure, almost across the entire spectrum of SOE’s to report. Squeeze them tight, and see if anybody squeals. Maybe the incoming can use the new Police powers to detain a whole bunch of them. And squeeze.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie February 10, 2018 at 1:47 PM #
    “…whereas these are pertinent questions asked by MIA, will she tell us how she will counteract some of these obvious maladies?

Those self-same “obvious maladies” can be easily counteracted the same way the deceitful lying pimp Dr. David T used the manna from heaven promises to counteract OSA’s call for the need of a steady well-proven hand at the wheel of economic governance to steer Barbados away from the rocks of the 2007/2008 impact of the international recession which is still raging like a wild fire of ‘a unique scapegoat’ in 2018 Barbados.

Magician MAM will fulfil everything that was promised in 2008 and subsequently in 2013 including the promulgation and implementation of the rubber-teeth Integrity Act of electoral deceit, the commitment to keep tertiary education “universally free”, all public sector workers in jobs, NO privatization of the family crown jewels to any partisan approved pre-selected bidder and most of all the ‘goal’ of charging Greenvers Parris under the Anti-money Laundering Act and his ill-gotten proceeds recovered to settle his many debts to the BRA to help mitigate the cost to taxpayers’ incurred by the proposed CLICO salvage job.

Then again the Deceitful lying Party can always counteract by saying that all of current problems (including the shit floating uncontrollably on the South Coast and the too many downgrades to junk) is the fault of the BLP from 1994 to 2013 and from 2014 right up to today, bar none. They the BLP should have borrowed more money when things were good and money flowing like the South coast shit to shore up the foreign reserves to prevent the pending tsunami of devaluation and layoffs.

18. What are the alternatives to the NIS investing in Government paper? Do we have bonds issued by major private sector companies that may be rated grade A? No. Do we have some projects and proposals from private sector persons for investment . . . that have been proven, for example, land developments schemes? We have a few of those but there are only a few and they are at the early stage of speculation where the risk is highest,” Boyce told the Senate.(Quote)

Is this the level of understanding about finance we have in the Senate? The Senate is meant to b the senior debating chamber, with more experienced and knowledgeable people giving considered opinions on the issues of the day.

19. Here is another nugget coming from a Senator. Why the hell must we the gullible citizen take the word of a politician. What we want is for them to make the audited NIS financial statements available.

MINISTER: STOP PEDDLING FEAR ABOUT THE NIS
    Thu, 02/08/2018 – 12:00am Barbados1
    Stop the fear mongering!

This is the call from Minister of Labour, Senator Dr. Esther Byer Suckoo, to those whom she says keep peddling fear in the public that their pensions under the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) are not safe.

Her comments came yesterday in the Upper Chamber as she wrapped up the debate on the National Insurance and Social Security (Amendment) 2018, where she directed her comments to the contribution made by Senator Wilfred Abrahams.

“We cannot afford to be doing this as responsible people,” she said, stressing that there is no evidence to substantiate the claim that the NIS investments have been irresponsible.

“This approach of driving fear for whatever the topic is, it has to stop! Because at the end of the day, it does not do our society any good and there are people out there who take what we say verbatim and they actually believe every word that is said in here and not able to realise or discern sometimes, fact from fiction.”

“The NIS of Barbados is sound. It is one of the soundest in the region. It continues to perform well. When we had the period of high unemployment and we saw that fund dip and the investments dip they’ve been able to turn that around that we have good investment returns even in that weaker fund, the Unemployment Fund. All the funds of the National Insurance are doing well. Your money is safe at the NIS and will continue to be so,” she said.

She said that employers, if falling behind on their payments, should come to the NIS to enter a programme in order to get their affairs in order. She said the NIS, like banks are willing to work out arrangements, but persons “just have to make that first move”.

The Labour Minister congratulated the Investment Committee of the NIS, saying that this group of professionals ensures that NIS continues to get good returns on its investment, which includes investments in government. “NIS goes after government in the same way as any other employer. The National Insurance has been sitting down with government to talk about how to clear off these arrears. And have created a plan,” he stated.

“The NIS has served us for 50 years and it is well poised to serve us for another 50 years. Even with the money that we have their now and the money that is invested now. In the worst case scenario … we still have enough money in there now that the National Insurance can serve us for many years to come,” she assured. (JH)

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP February 10, 2018 at 1:56 PM #
    “Today is the 28th anniversary of the release of Nelson Mandela from prison is South Africa
    Mia Mottley today is days away from being carted off to prison .”

For what this time? For biting a pussy(cat)? Or for practising Law without an LEC?

In prison she would make ideal company for Greenverbs the pallid looking pirate from Parris.

Two of a kind in the same pod of criminal activity.

One for illegally practising law while biting a cat.

The other for bull(y)ing his way to the top of the crooked pyramid while siphoning off millions of policyholders’ savings and investment into a laundry machine operated by a deceitful lying pansy man of a lawyering crook.

21. This is the call from Minister of Labour, Senator Dr. Esther Byer Suckoo, to those whom she says keep peddling fear in the public that their pensions under the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) are not safe.(Quote)

Suckoo is a medical doctor and is not expected to be as sophisticated about state pensions and investments as the people round her. Kellman, who professes to be an accountant, has very little understanding of the state pension scheme, judging from his demonstration in London a few months ago. And Boyce has shown he is equally at sea.
    What Dr Suckoo has to explain, is not only the failure to publish audited accounts, that is just maladministration, but why she tolerates a chairman of the scheme and other senior civil servants who clearly cannot come to terms with its management. (the triennial report is already two months late).
    Tell us about the scheme’s investment policies: its asset allocation; who have its investment mandates and if they are actively or passively managed; how are the fund managers recruited and remunerated.
    Explain why the global stock markets are experiencing bullish conditions, especially the S&P 500 and the Dow, and the NIS still is missing that open goal; tell us why there is no reform of an outdated scheme, even if the rest of the world has moved on; most of all, tell us why the chairman, an econometrist and management theorist, remains in position even though he has shown he is not fit for the position?
    The only fear working people are peddling is that when they reach retirement there will be no money in the coffers to see them through old age.
    If she thinks all this is wrong, let us have a public debate on the issues: in Barbados or London. I will even pay my own fare to visit Barbados to take part in any such discussion (and she can bring along Justin Robinson, Stuart, Sinckler and Kellman for comfort).

22. I want the BLP to tell me what they are going to do differently. I want specifics, will they be privitising, will they be cutting the workforce of the civil service, will they reduce taxes and by how much etc etc. I want something to vote for, not just against. Indar Weir aint all that appealing to me. I hope they give me something during the election campaign season.

23. @Kevin

You are aware political parties are setup to win general elections? Why would the BLP repeat Arthur’s privatization mistake if they can model the DLP behaviour and reverse election promises when/if elected?

24. Well that will mean both of them are the same. And it seems you agree with that strategy.

25. Where was it written by BU we agree with the strategy? The response was to rubbish your comment.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Tell us about the scheme’s investment policies: its asset allocation; who have its investment mandates and if they are actively or passively managed; how are the fund managers recruited and remunerated.”

The MoF decides how much Government paper the NIS should purchase. And when the GoB will pay employee NIS premiums, and how (cash or debt instruments). Whatever remains (+/- 25%) is then invested. We know from the most recent Actuarial Review the investment portfolio mix does NOT follow targets set by the Board. Specifically, it is over weighted in GoB debt. And the MoF has confirmed the NIS will ‘roll over’ said debt instruments when they come due.

As to recruitment and compensation, who knows, there has notbeen an annual report in eons, though the Chair has assured us, it is a top priority and being ‘worked on’.

27. Since when asking for something to vote for rubbish? Since when asking for specifics is rubbish. Your red colours are showing thats all. Ryan Straughn gave us a taste of what is to come, and the hive descended on him to keep his mouth shut. I will pick sense from that.

28. This DLP administration has been borrowing from the NIS fund to balance its current account.For sure Byer-Suckoo was rejected at the polls and despite the fact that the Senate cannot originate Financial legislation this unelected Senator is responsible for one of the largest pools of finance deposited in Republic Bank.Think of it.Republic Bank has access to billions of dollars to on lend and the Minister with responsibility for those billions is an unelected representative without authority to speak and give effect to matters of Finance. Jepter ‘unbiblical cord’ Ince of physical deficit notoreity and Darcy ‘Quisling’Boyce of sitting in on cabinet decisions and then running off to share with Duppy ‘I will not lie,cheat or steal’ Thomson infamy,these two guys in the senate represent all the talent avaialable to JA Stuart and double JA Sinckler.How the hell can investor have confidence in these razzolds.Local comedians would tell you straight up,these fellas en cum frum nuh way,they lack parental guidance when it mattered.

29. You may have the last word with your yardfowl nonsense.

30. Kevin you think Ms Mottley is going to give you Dems anything for you to run another old lady ad on?When the Elections are called you will get that.You are a Dem so whatsomething to vote on you want.Tell us what the current Government plans to do going forward or as Mr Wickham said tell us the record of Mr Stuart as PM instead of focusing on Ms Mottley.like the third parties aredoing instead of zeroing on the Government and their lack of performance.Maybe you all need to bring back the DLP propaganda program Talk Ya Talk to do your PR for you.

31. @Kevin “I want the BLP to tell me what they are going to do differently. I want specifics, will they be privitising, will they be cutting the workforce of the civil service, will they reduce taxes and by how much etc etc. I want something to vote for, not just against”.

You should be asking that from your own party. It’s evident you D’s don’t practice what you preach. Look at your manifesto’s from the last two elections and tell us what has been accomplished from them.

You basically answered your own question without realizing it! All the B’s have to do, is what the D’s didn’t………..!

32. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@David February 10, 2018 at 2:30 PM enuff How many seats?”

David ya din ax me, but i’ll hazard a guess.

Two.

Dennis Kellman in St. Lucy

Mara Thompson in St. John.

Is there any money in this? Shall I send you my personal details, banking information etc. for when I win the bet?

33. @ Kevin

You will be very disappointed, neither of these two parties has any real economic program or policies. Notice how Arthur is being discredited by those who called him a genius a few years ago. Their election campaign, will be nothing more than trading insults with each other: “rat botsie ” “tortured soul” etc. They are both bankrupt and have become nothing more than pathetic national and regional embarrassments.

34. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

Cynical.

35. Kevin
    They only need to WORK.

Skinner
    Where have you seen BLP supporters discrediting Arthur’s economic prescriptions? You really make me laugh…lmao. #aloes

36. Lorenzo & racehrse, I am not a DEM, my first vote was for Anthony Wood, then I went with change like most Bajans in 2008 and in 2013 I decide to give them a 2nd chance (as most Bajans) plus I had some David Thompson sentiment that swayed me. I will not vote for one particular party all like most of you on here.

@Skinner, yes I did notice how Arthur (the man who could do no wrong) is being demonised and discredited, and in addition let me add Lynette Eastmond and the SB guy Phillips. These 3 were praised and held in high esteem B4 they decided they wanted nothing to do with the main political parties. People especially Wickham are discrediting these fringe parties however whilst not gaining any seats, these fringe parties can cause some harm and peel away the votes of candidates who won marginally in 2013.

37. Kevin
    Stop misleading the blog.

38. Misleading about what?

39. @ Kevin

” People especially Wickham are discrediting these fringe parties however whilst not gaining any seats, these fringe parties can cause some harm and peel away the votes of candidates who won marginally in 2013.”

You are absolutely correct ! The NDP only won one seat as a party. However, Albert Branford (Nation) explained the impact the NDP had on the results in the two elections , in which it participated.

40. Kevin

Hal and Winston are the peeps on this blog that criticise Owen Arthur’s economic stewardship, I don’t see anyone on this blog that appears pro-BLP critical of Arthur in that way. Secondly, you admitted voting for the DLP in 2008 and 2013. The 2008 DLP manifesto (i.e what they were going to do differently) was launched on January 5 2008 and the election was on January 15th; and in 2013 their manifesto was released 15 February for the 21 February election. Why should the BLP put out a manifesto and the election date has not even been announced? In the meantime, if you listen/watch the BLP events you would hear a number of plans.

41. @ Enuff: You asked me: Where have you seen BLP supporters discrediting Arthur’s economic prescriptions?

I wrote :

“Notice how Arthur is being discredited by those who called him a genius a few years ago.”

No where did I write :I have seen Arthur’s economic prescriptions being discredited by BLP

supporters.

42. @William

How is ‘pealing’ votes from the two parties benefiting the electoral system in a first pass the post setup?

43. Fair enough William, but on what basis was he deemed a genius and on what basis is he now being discredited? On the impact of the NDP, a quick look at the numbers show that the party had little influence on the outcomes.

44. @ Enuff, Why are you leaving my vote for the BLP in 2003? Anyways,

I have heard the re-instatement of tax-payer funded tuition fees, removing the NSRL and reduction of VAT, privitising of the TB (which was then walked back). I have listened to some the BLP events online and I went to the meeting which was held in Worthing. BUT for the most part I will stick to what I’m saying in that I mostly hearing vote Dem out because of this and that (which is ok for some people); not vote us in because we will…. As you said the election campaign hasnt truly begun, so hopefully more details would come.

45. @Kevin

You say your neither D or B, but this is not rocket science! Has the country gotten better since ‘2008, and don’t give me any rubbish about the shape of the country prior, because that was 10 years ago. So you want to castigate a party that has not been in office for 10 years. If you were truly thinking, a vote for the B can’t be any more harm than there is already.

46. But I cant make up my mind so early. I have to make an educated decision, even if its for a 3rd party.

47. @ enuff

You wrote: “Fair enough William,……………………..

That’s enough for me.

Thanks.

48. MAM, aided by David (BU), is merely engaging in public masturbation

We could say that David is providing the vaseline for her phallus.

These ‘questions’ lack any meaning at all

Any meaningful responses, as demanded, would be devoid of the potential to impregnate the minds of Bajans with incites relevant to the problems of the last 30 years, as they are projected to get even more intractable into the future.

Mottley’s questions are properly located within a history class. They would find no place in the thinking of a decent political party and leader seeking to carry anybody anywhere. And Bajans are generally lap dogs for political diatribes.

The same 11-Plus mentality. Trying to win useless arguments. Only to gain political power and then continue to practice the same kinds of maladministration as the idiots in ‘power’ currently.

We suspend judgement as to which is worse. Public masturbation or the actual foopping of Bajans with a limber Dick.

49. The DLP has no record to defend hence they have to resort to personal attacks.

Every darn thing in Barbados has fallen apart under Freundel Stuart’s watch:

……….Transport Board

……….health services………their pet project the St John Polyclinic has been closed due to sewage problems……..where is Mara.? No wonder she has dem over the barrel not knowing if she is running or not.

………..garbage collection

………..education including the UWI

………..water distribution

………..sewage flowing on the streets on the south coast

……….the country’s economy is on skid row….21 downgrades while Freundel slept

…………….and this is only a tiny part of the rot that this Freundel Stuart administration has inflicted on this once proud nation. There is not one sector that is working well not even the Polyclinic.

We have people wanting the BLP to show what they are planning to do……..the time is not ripe yet. The dems have no answers to the problems they have created. The BLp has been meeting for months and have formulated plans to raise Barbados from the ashes the DLP has put it into.

50. Now the bankers association have joined the go to the IMF chorus to drawdown to defend the peg..

donna-wellington-121717

Bankers: Act now to save our dollar

Take decisive action now to preserve the BDS$2 to US$1 exchange rate and increase the foreign exchange Read More