Patricia Inniss, head of the Waste Unit at the BWA

After listening to the two Barbados Water Authority (BWA) officials (Nicole Austin of the Waste Water Unit and Joy-Ann Haigh Corporate Communication) on the Sunday talk show it prompted the blogmaster to have another listen to an earlier program of the 13 November 2017 with Patricia Inniss the manager of the Waste Water Division. It was evident that the Sunday program was rehearsed and scripted to deliver the message that the South Coast Sewage plant was being misused by consumers.

The following represents the blogmaster notes taken while having another listen to the 13 November 2017 talk show which featured Patricia Inniss the manager of the Waste Water Unit and a former DLP candidate.

Recording #1 (numbers represent the approximate time of the comment on the recording)

3:50ย ย  – Inadequate management and maintenance

4:20ย ย  – proper cleaning required of outfall lines (financial constraints)

4:55ย  – better pipes for effluent required

5:24ย  – screw lift pumps problematic (under repair at the time of the show), trash pumps problematic – these pumps are important toย ย  the process of screening extraneous matter from entering the system

6:25ย  – blockage detected in the sewage line between Graeme Hall Sanctuary and Republic Bank

Recording #2

1:40ย  – Serious concerns expressed by Mr. Harris for years about the state of the sewage plant

2:51ย  – Patricia Inniss authored a report detailing several issues which needed urgent attention by the BWA/government

5:58ย  – sewage plant neglected due to financial constraints

6:17ย  – a robust and sustained PR campaign recommended to educate Barbadians the use of the sewage plant

7:44ย  – retiring employees read knowledge drain/transfer a challenge

9:00ย  – waste water division regarded by the BWA as a ‘step-child’

10:48 – “An old system not maintained”

15:00 – Haigh points to capacity of the plant an issue which conflicts with the position of Andrew Hutchinson an engineer on a subsequent program.

17:00 – flow rates at the sewage plant were not being done before Innis assume the role of manager of the waste water unit

19:00 – a structure is now being implemented at he BWA to effectively deal with the issue

20:30 – no masterplan exist to manage waste water

23:00 – minister Estwick is fully apprised of the situation

35:00 – Ellis observes that the BWA owns a 50 million dollar building yet the sewage plant was starved of financial resources

Recording #3

6:50ย  – Drains in the Massy, Lucky Horse Shoe areas not cleared for years by the Drainage Unit, have become swamps

19:00 – there is a lack of maintenance of the grid chambers in Bridgetown (a potential next problem)

Featured image extracted from mJones blog

132 responses to “RH PR Spiel from BWA Conflicting with the TRUTH about the Sewage Plant”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol….yardfowl is acting as though it’s Mia getting kicked out of parliament, people are trying to prevent the tag team opposition of the government……from entering parliament…..and making sure present ministers, senators etc, never step foot in parliament again, how could yardfowl miss that queue….to leave.

…..and where are the weak third parties……a vacuum has been created and apparently none of them can see it….means they too have no damn vision and are likely to do the same or even worse…because they too are missing their queue to aggressively fill that vacuum.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Whatever become of Old Onions anyway….

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

“because they too are missing their queue to aggressively fill that vacuum.”
    Unfortunately true. The problem? Getting elected costs money, and few of the monied players are behind any of them. Yet, they don’t even seem to be trying. Minimal public presence.(and I didn’t mean presents)

4. Both parties have contributed to the sewage problem

5. If Maria Agard joins the UPP as she is rumored to do then the party will be funded from the government purse since she is a sitting member. May be this was the plan all along.

6. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

…………But the issue seems to be that the DLP cabinet and particularly Sinckler preferred to put money at Sam Lorde’s Castle hotel rather than on the sewage treatment plant and sewer network.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 16, 2018 at 1:27 PM

Why don’t you just go back to your old hobbyhorse about Mia has No LEC to practice law?

This pit toilet business seems to be overwhelming you in more ways than one.

This is one piece of shit you canโ€™t rub in peopleโ€™s faces in your quest to find a scapegoat for your partyโ€™s abject housecleaning duties.

You have not only fouled up the environment but inflicted untold damage to the economy.

8. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar

…….and if Mottley is to be believed (and I have reasons to verify) then the cabinet followed up by also deciding that putting US$175M at GAIA was also more of a priority for the DLP than fixing sewage system of Barbados.

9. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar

Miller

Look Enough Crap (LEC)

10. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar

Look Everywhere Crap (LEC)

11. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar

Long Enough Crap (LEC)

12. Could it be the Cabinet was not adequately briefed?

13. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar

we will need to wait to see whether the cabinet was fully aware of the magnitude of the problems on the south coast and Bridgetown.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 16, 2018 at 3:24 PM

The DLP might see that as a small price to pay in obtaining the services of another party to cuss Mia and improve their own chances of returning to office.

The question is whether she, Dr. M A, is entitled to future funding since she was elected to a Parliament under the BLP banner and whose life automatically ceases on 6th of March or thereabout.

There might be some justification for funding because of precedents if she had crossed the floor and joined the ruling party. But to be an โ€˜eligibleโ€™ member of a brand new unrecognizable party with no electoral history might require those steeped in Constitutional matters to shed some light to this dilemma.
    She is the duly representative for the people of Ch Ch West and was put there under a โ€˜de factoโ€™ BLP electoral umbrella. Let the people decide on her eligibility for taxpayerโ€™s funding of her electoral volte-face behaviour.

15. Politickin' Pearlie Avatar
    Politickin’ Pearlie

Is a good ting Miss Maguffy care summuch bout people health. She pissparading pon de flatform bout de s**te, but yuh cant get she to touch de big stink out wid Fat Chile up by she constitutents.

โ€œThere is a rumour that Ms Mottley is a supporter of the business [run by Cherry]. Is Ms Mottley, as Opposition leader, aware of the issue?โ€ one resident asked.

โ€œFollowing on that point, it is my understanding that the constituency of Hothersal [where the dump is located] and all that area falls under the ambit of Ms Mottley.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/15/come-to-our-rescue-mia/

Lemme hear de BLP yardfowls now, and you too BU David cause you always jucking in you long mout in everything.

16. lol David sometimes we think alike

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Politickin’ Pearlie January 16, 2018 at 4:11 PM

Why don’t you return to your bailiwick of shit, ye ole shit crab turned shitehound? You are now so full of shit and want to defecate on BU pages?

Mia is the Parliamentary representative for the area; not the person directly responsible for environmental and public health matters like the black-mouth lowedown rat or the braying jackass swimming in a cartload of shit.

You mean you are so bloody incompetent you even want Mia to be the ministers of Health and the Environment all in one?

The situation with Cherryโ€™s dump is a health hazard and an environmental eyesore. But the shit flowing on the South Coast is a total disaster created by your own incompetence and an economic hurricane waiting off Barbados to blow away you shitehounds and pit toilet flies away.

Now where is the Cahill nuclear plant as promised?

18. @ DAVID

“The government should reflect the intelligence of the collective”

I would agree with this statement, however this reflects EXTREMELY POORLY on the intelligence level of the Barbadian collective. If in fact the Collective Intelligence level is so LOW, then Barbados future prospective is likely doomed. It takes an above average collective intelligence level to prosper in this competitive commercial economic diversified and social world environment.

Unfortunately Barbados is being led by an overabundance of poorly qualified LEGALS with limited intelligence. All Barbados indicators are pointing to a FAILING country.

19. @Pearlie

Elections in the air once you surface ๐Ÿ˜

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Wily Coyote January 16, 2018 at 5:20 PM
    โ€œUnfortunately Barbados is being led by an overabundance of poorly qualified LEGALS with limited intelligence. All Barbados indicators are pointing to a FAILING country.โ€

That statement of analysis is no better reflected in the current makeup of the local Parliament.

When a minister of Finance cannot tell the difference between 0.07 and 0.7 or 7% and 70%, then Houston Barbados, you have more than just a โ€˜simpleโ€™ problem.

21. At least some good news, folks: Barbados will be removed from EU “black list”.

However, it is a disgrace that Bim came onto the list at all. That was Streamvilleยดs ministry.

22. Pearlie yuh still living? I thought yuh did dead, heard yuh ketch a lining cold from skinning yuh botsy. Wait bosie yuh come here to stink up BU blog wid dat shite from Ch Ch?

“Why donโ€™t you return to your bailiwick of shit, ye ole shit crab turned shitehound? You are now so full of shit and want to defecate on BU pages?” Miller yuh got muh brekking up she is one ah dem shit crabs from de swamp dat crawl out to spread shit bout she stinking party.

23. @Tron

Read the press release carefully, did not say that BARBADOS WOULD BE REMOVED, only stated if certain conditions are met they maybe removed. Typical Bajans counting their chickens before they hatch. What’s the possibility of this dysfunctional government meeting the CONDITIONS, HUMMMMM.

24. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

lol…Tron….they will be removed only when they make changes to the tax structure and when they stop opening the doors to money launderers convicted criminals..

25. OK, Wily,

Maybe even my faith in gov strategy is too strong ๐Ÿ˜‰

26. Wuhloss, Perlixing Pearlie has come back. But now she/he calling demself ‘politicking pearlie’. We still know um is you. lol. Elections must be round the corner.

Let me tell you something, the sewer on my street is cleaned about every two years. You hear that, every two years. We get a notice in the mailbox telling when it will be done and what to do before and after. They were cleaned last year. We are advised to close the toilet seat and if we want place plastic film over the toilet to prevent sewer fumes backing up into the house as the water in the toilet tank may be sucked out. When they finish you are asked to check the trap in the basement floor and if empty, refill it and flush all toilets. If you have any problems like sewage back ups you call 311 and they are there in minutes.

Leaks never happen as we have continuous maintenance at the treatment plants although after heavy rain water is released into the Ottawa river and some sewage too. But no one eats the fish in that river.

27. Pearlixing Pearlie, are you still sitting at your window looking out? Hope yuh got a new chair.

28. @Bajans
    But no one eats the fish in that river.
    ++++++++
    Now you tell me

29. MAM is such a SHITEHOLE that just like Donald Trump she is going to fix everything thing from DAY 1 in office :

Like UWI free tuition fees !

http://mes.gov.bb/Download.ashx?file=Attachments%2FThe_Economics_of_education.pdf&name=The+Economics+of+Education%3A+Educating+for+the+Future

Pages 26 – 29 of the link above shows how far back MAM was procrastinating about the UWI issue .

Like the NSRL abolition !

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/02/blp-candidate-and-leader-out-of-sync-on-free-tertiary-education/

Like the South Coast Sewage project. !

Sabotage at the BWA lift station

What is MAM going do on DAY 2 …….if elected ???

Just like Donald Trump..,..,A WASTE !!!!!!

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

You appreciate the real MIA is FJS?
    Missing In Action.

31. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Call in the army. We have a government that is unfit to run this country.

“……Deputy Chief Environmental Health Officer, Ronald Chapman, speaking at a workshop today for food business owners and staff on the south coast, said that the increase in the mosquito population was due to the sewage spillage, which impacted an area on the periphery of the Graeme Hall Swamp.

This, he explained, had changed the ecology of a section of the swamp and facilitated the breeding of the culex mosquito, a vector which liked to breed in dirty water.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/120710/vector-control-fights-mosquito-infestation-south-coast

32. It gets more and more รขย€ย˜complicatedรขย€ย™.

33. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/16/the-real-problem-on-the-south-coast/

Please read this, for years I have been told our drinking water is contaminated with nitrates and other toxins yet no one in any of the governments have done anything to address this. Just look at the high rates of cancer at the QEH and everyone is in denial. Those agencies that have been established to protect the environment are toothless and impotent. What a joke the governance of this small island is. Until we the people demand and elect leaders that really care about this country it will continue on the very same track we are presently following.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Boil your water or get sick and die.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 17, 2018 at 9:52 AM
    โ€œBoil your water or get sick and die.โ€

Since the widespread use of suck wells to ‘process’ their domestic liquid waste Bajans have been slowly poisoning themselves over the same period.

How can you expect to shit, piss and dump all manner of dangerous chemicals in the same water system you so vitally rely on your major source of potable water?
    Something has to give some day.
    Just see what is happening to the coral reefs off the West Coast.

Can you feel at ease and hold confidence in the agency responsible for your water management in light of what has been happening with the management of the South Coast sewage system over the last 3 years?

Barbados needs more properly functioning sewerage systems before more hotels.
    You are pulling a cart with the jackass inside.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

According to the company who built the system and what they posted on their website, as a lay person, it does not look to me that the whole island got the adequate amount of connection needed, or the adequate amount of treatment stations…

..that would have been at both government’s request, they got what they paid for cutting corners, add to that the 13 year old lack of maintenance. ….

…..and ya got a crisis with a pending epidemic is looming…they cannot blame the company for that…

..they have been playing roulette with Bajan lives for decades..always boasting about their water quality without doing anything to keep up the standards..

…. who knows how many worms and parasites Kellman swallowed when he made this big able youtube video with himself drinking water straight from the tap……boasting about the island’s water quality….lol

From the sewage builder’s website:

“Sewage System (Barbados)
    2003 | โ‚ฌ41 million
    Main collector with 21km;
    connection to private
    properties of 7km; 4
    treatment stations”

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Who in their right minds with any level of workable commonsense would build hotels ahead of fixing, maintaining or extending an already inadequate overloaded sewage system……..wasting precious money they already dont have…

Only the degreed, commonsense lacking fools in parliament.

Ah want them to blame the company who built the sewage system and get themselves sued, that would be even sweeter than winding up Lawson..lol

38. The truth about that pit toilet would be umasked sooner rather than later and public woukd know how many dead rats in the form of kick backs and greased palms where forumalted in the initial process and planning of the pit toilet by the blp which resulted in the stinking odor

39. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service

did you see dat doctor yesterday tackling the morons in the white house press detail?
    man he got a lot of patience doh
    i would have had a field day destroying those ignorant, arrogant, medical illiterates as I used to do to the legal luminaries at home in the courts in the 80’s and 90’s

i would have asked them for their names and remarked that I did not recall those names associated with any of the texts or journals that I had read or that I had not remember seeing them in any of my oral exams at any of the levels in my medical training

in addition I would have confounded them by reveling in medical jargon and watching their puny brains and minds boggle like the time I first used the word “betzpaenic” on BU and the BU seer suggested that I was making up words until MME helped him out

fools must not be suffered gladly………what sayest thou? mudah

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP……I am not able with yall…I saw it on a variety of blogs and did not comment on it not once.

ah also saw the brand new Ferrari he recently acquired, is driving and cannot afford on his doctor’s . .that too was posted to various blogs, I did not comment either….

They said he was stuttering, I did not watch the clip, did you see that part?…

41. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste
    I not talking about what happened per se or his defence of Trump’s health status.
    I am harping about the fact that I would not let a number of arrogant medical illiterates interrogate me so!
    None of them is Prof Sir Harry, Prof Sir George, Prof Sir Albert, Prof Sir Errol or Sir Harold Ellis, author of two texts we read at UWI in my day!- one in Anatomy and the other in Surgery!

42. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

But GP…the US is not Barbados, no one is dazzled by useless, bullshit titles, ya forgetting where ya are…even you and all those you mentioned would not only be overwhelmed and stuttering, but would run from those sharks…

that is reality in US…they are never impressed

43. Itโ€™s a puzzle, isnโ€™t it, why the US and the UK are shithole countries while millions of people are literally dying and killing each other and subjecting themselves to slavery in an effort to live there. Baffling, Baffy.

44. you are talking shite well well

I AM GLAD THAT The US is not Barbados, AND SAD THAT BARBADOS IS NOT LIKE IT USED TO BE.

Though I live here, I am not impressed by much in the US– THE SO CALLED GREATEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD EVER! In fact I am very disapointed

Forget the “bull shit titles” TALK, AND NOTE that these particular men DESERVE THE HONOURS BESTOWED ON THEM, BECAUSE THEY EARNED THEM!

The men I cite are/were great doctors and would not bow to those morons, OR ANYONE

YOU CALL THE WHITE HOUSE PRESS IDIOTS SHARKS…..I THINK THAT THEY ARE STUPID AND I ENJOY MS SANDERS BEATING THEM TO A PULP ON A DAILY BASIS, WHEN THEY ASK PUERILE PATHETIC QUESTIONS.

SHE GETS QUICKLY IN TO LINE AND DISMISSES THIER LONG HOPS LIKE SOBERS OR FREDERICKS OR KALICHARAN OR LARA USED TO DO

NONE OF THESE JOKERS CAN CROSS EXAMINE LIKE LOUIS TULL OR JOHHNY CHELTENHAM OR LINDEY BOLDEN OR TEDDY WALCOTT….NONE!

45. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

GP…now how could i be talking shite when you agree with me…lol

i never said i was impressed by US, i beat them up at every opportunity and defend them when they deserve defending…

……as a matter of fact very little impresses particulary the hunchback of notre dame, but those sharks are so venomous Huckeby is not likely to last much longer. as press secretary.

and besides, those dudes you named would not have been allowed to touch a US president, let alone give a warmed 9ver diagnosis, not in that era.

46. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

let alone give a warmed over diagnosis, not in that era…you either GP.

47. those dudes you named would not have been allowed to touch a US president, let alone give a warmed 9ver diagnosis, not in that era.let alone give a warmed over diagnosis, not in that eraโ€ฆyou either GP.

WHO CARES? THAT IS NOT THE POINT
    WHY DO YOU HAVE TO ALWAYS BE ADVERSARIAL?

I STARTED BY SAYING
    I am harping about the fact that I would not let a number of arrogant medical illiterates interrogate me so!

IN OTHER WORDS IF I WAS IN THE DRS POSITION I WOULD NOT LET THOSE MORONS ASK ME STUPID QUESTIONS FOR AN HOUR.

THAT STATEMENT IS NOT FOR DEBATE OR REFUTATION

WHEN I SAY THAT “None of them is Prof Sir Harry, Prof Sir George, Prof Sir Albert, Prof Sir Errol or Sir Harold Ellis, author of two texts we read at UWI in my day!- one in Anatomy and the other in Surgery!” I AM SAYING THAT ONLY SUCH MEN ARE/WERE WORTHY OF QUESTIONING ME ABOUT MEDICINE ………NOT RIFF RAFF IN THE PRESS.

SURELY THAT IS SIMPLE TO UNDERSTAND
    WHY CANT YOU ACCEPT THAT?
    WHY MUST EVERY THING ON BU BE DEBATED?
    WHY MUST FOLK ON BU ALWAYS SEEK TO PULL DOWN OTHERS?
    IT IS UNNECESSARY AND IT SUPRESSES DISCOURSE

48. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/120429/matters-maria-packers-residents-fed-leak

one gets exhausted from incompetence, neglect, disdain and downright uncaring attitudes of those who get a taxpayers salary and do not have appreciation…

. every country has issues, but these take it to the most destructive levels regarding water, raw sewage and garbage.

they act like they got somewhere to run to when they maliciously continue to destroy the little island…their island..like they got another country put down somewhere.

at some point even bloggers will get fed up and let them destroy themselves.

49. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

GP…ya dont like it, ya live in US, change it, or talk about it all day, it does not matter to me..

i already had my thrills for the morning, ya cant change that…lol..here debating between a power nap and a beer, see if ya can top that.

ya dont want debate, ya want discourse, ya on ya own,ya should have studied psychology.