Drapes billow out of broken windows at the Mandalay Bay resort and casino Monday, Oct. 2, 2017, on the Las Vegas Strip following a mass shooting at a music festival in Las Vegas. Authorities say Stephen Craig Paddock broke the windows and began firing with a cache of weapons, killing dozens and injuring hundreds. (AP Photo/John Locher)

I will give you my gun when you pry it from my cold dead hands – National Rifle Association [NRA] bumper sticker

Philinte: Do you wish harm to all mankind?

Alceste: Yes, I have conceived a terrible hatred for them –Act I, Sc 1 -“Le Misanthrope” -Moliere [1666]

An apparent misanthrope, of a twisted mind and hell-bent on taking as many people as possible with him as he shuffles off this mortal coil, fortified by a bizarre official interpretation of a Constitutional amendment that ostensibly relates to a collective entitlement but that has been construed as permitting any lunatic with enough wherewithal to arm himself to the teeth with high powered weaponry, sends his girlfriend home to the land of her birth, rents a luxury hotel suite overlooking a concert venue in Las Vegas and proceeds to murder no fewer than 58 innocent souls assembled to enjoy the music, thereby giving the lie to the popular slogan that “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas!”

The media will record that this abyssal conduct on his part was a new record for the most people ever murdered in a mass shooting in the US. The resultant “human cry”, as it is put in the Barbadian mondegreen, sounds like so much crocodile tears in a country that can place men on the Moon but that seemingly has not grasped the notion that permitting a near unlimited civic right to bear arms and thus to use them however might lead inexorably to these sorts of tragedies.

I have explored before in this space my own interpretation of the notorious Second Amendment that is utilized as the vehicle for this dubious and enabling right. According to the text of the provision;

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”

Given that a militia does not comprise one individual solely, and given the primacy accorded that body in the structure of the text, one might very well be tempted to read the amendment as empowering the people to keep and bear arms purely for the purposes of forming the necessary well-regulated militia for protecting the security and freedom of the state. This, however, has not been the construction that has found favour with the Supreme Court charged with the overarching interpretation of the Constitution.

In its 2008 decision in District of Columbia v Heller, the Court, by a five to four majority, iterated that the Amendment protected an individual right to possess a firearm unconnected with service in a militia and to use that arm for traditionally lawful purposes such as self-defence. Further, they held that the prefatory clause in the Amendment that I rely on in my argument to control its spirit does not in fact limit or expand the second part whose text and history connotes an individual right to keep and bear arms.

The justices also made reference to the amendment’s legislative history, noting that it was the product of a response to the fears of the anti-federalists that Federal Government would disarm the militia in favour of a standing army or a select Federal militia. The Second Amendment was thus enacted to deny Congress the power to abridge the “ancient“ right of the people to keep and bear arms so that the ideal of a citizens’ militia would be preserved.

Moreover, although it did not form part of the ratio of the decision, the Court noted that at least three (3) states’ proposals had referred unequivocally to the individual and not merely collective right. The law seems to be settled given that the Supreme Court is at the apex of the system, unless a future Court ids minded to overrule this precedent.

As distasteful as it may be, the media have made much of the record number of those killed, a record that is likely to be inevitably broken so long as the status quo continues. An instructive WhatsApp post in one group last week, explored the illogic behind the individual right to bear arms whereby a youngster, thirteen years of age, is appropriately unable to purchase alcohol, cigarettes or adult magazines, but is nonetheless able to secure the supply from a dealer of a high-powered firearm intended for the sole purpose of ending a life, even if not necessarily that of a human being.

Veteran Congressman Steve Israel, in an op-ed piece in the New York Times last Monday, also addresses the issue of the likelihood of a reprise of the Las Vegas massacres. He puts it bluntly, “ In the wake of one of the deadliest mass shootings in our nation’s history, perhaps the most asked question by Americans is, and “Will anything change?” The simple answer is no. The more vital question is, “Why not?”

Israel recounts his failed attempt as a freshman to introduce legislation to require safety locks on certain guns when he failed to gain the support of a fellow freshman Democrat who begged off on the ground that “In my district we close the schools on the first day of hunting season”.

He relates too his disappointment after the murder of 26 children and adults at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012 and the image of President Obama with tears running down his cheeks. His thoughts that finally something would be done were dashed when the debate morphed into one over the rights of gun owners rather than the right to life of young schoolchildren. Some congressional colleagues, he writes, confided that any vote for gun safety would lower their NRA scores and increase the probability of their demise in the next election.

The identical scenario was to obtain after the mass shootings in the Orlando, Florida nightclub in June 2016 and the failure of a proposed amendment to prevent people on the terrorist watch list from purchasing firearms, opposed by the Republican chairman of the House Appropriations Committee on the basis that “in America, everyone is innocent until proven guilty.”

This principle is not peculiar to the US, but according to an October 2 article in the online newsmagazine Vox, there are 29.7 homicides by firearm per 1 million in the US people as compared to 1.4 in Australia and 1.6 in New Zealand, two jurisdictions that embrace the identical presumption.

Congressman Israel offers finally three reasons why nothing will change. First, he notes, the gun lobbies are now in a race to the bottom to see who can become more brazen and more extreme since more moderation means less market share. Second, the political right now adheres to the view that anything less than total subservience to the gun lobby is perceived as supporting gun confiscation, anathema to that sector. Third, there is the public inoculation to gun violence –“You’ll read this essay and others like it, and turn the page or click another link”, he writes presciently. You’ll watch or listen to the news and shake your head, then flip to another channel or another app. This horrific event will recede into our collective memory….”

Exactly what the gun lobby is counting on.

431 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Exercising a Fundamental Right”

1. Dribs questions
    So do tell me which of the three equates…are you just producing bovine excrement for blog fun; speaking via both sides of you mouths simultaneously….

… or is your assertion that “far Left of the DEMonic Party is now very aggressive and spoiling for serious Civil strife bordering on war? ” not a clear evocation of civil unrest! Thus you DID say that.

Do deconstruct the MB statements that shows your unequivocal rhetorical BS (or is that lies ??) or rather just stop with the insane right wing diatribes.

**1-Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 12:39 PM #..Who can say for sure that LV was not part 2 of the PLAN, just as PT 1 was killing Scalise and Co? Who can prove that the far Left of the DEMonic Party is not very aggressive and spoiling for serious Civil strife bordering on war? Antifa are planning something major on Nov 4th, they better choose carefully where they cause trouble OR the excrement is going to interset with the oscillating device.”

AND **2- “Money Brain, October 8, 2017 at 2:51 PM #…Dribs wrote,…I do hope and pray that the rhetoric of race war etc offered by you and other like minded souls is all stupid bluster devoid of active purpose….Where did I state that?

The FarLeft of the DEms are gaining control of the party it dies not bode well for civility—just reporting the facts. I asked questions about about LV, Antifa et al, I believe there is much under the surface if you can explain that everything is not untoward please do. Antifa are getting away with violence, it must and will be dealt with, indeed the police/ authorities have been overly lenient so far. Maybe Antifa being mainly White, upper income mainly, are benefiting so far.

What race War? Antifa are vast majority White to my knowledge! All I am saying is that they have been getting away with violent behaviour and are overdue for a touch of discipline.

2. Pach wrote,
    We said that 3% of the people own 50% of the guns.

That report also said that only 23% of Americans own guns.

Therefore you trust CNN–absolutely proven and admitted to be wrong frequently. Those 3% would have to own approx 15 guns each. So no surprise that Paddock had 42 guns then?

3. tHESE ARE A FEW SCRIPTURES THAT HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THE ACTIONS OF THE EVIL MAN LAST SUNDAY……………IT HAD TO DO WITH HIS SINFUL EVIL HEART, NOT HIS COLOUR OR CREED

Matthew 15:18-19
    “But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and those defile the man. “For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, slanders.

Mark 7:20-23
    And He was saying, “That which proceeds out of the man, that is what defiles the man. “For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed the evil thoughts, fornications, thefts, murders, adulteries, deeds of coveting and wickedness, as well as deceit, sensuality, envy, slander, pride and foolishness.
    “All these evil things proceed from within and defile the man.

Proverbs 20:9

Who can say, “I have cleansed my heart, I am pure from my sin”?

Genesis 6:5
    Then the LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great on the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

I jOHN 1: 8 AND 1:10
    8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.

4. Pach wrote,
    White people are intent not on giving up control of the world.

Pach, who has ever intended to give up control of anything???????????

My friend’ sister is 77 having suffered 2 strokes and still does not want to give up control of her home, checkbook —anything!

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*NO FOOL NOTHING HAS CHANGED since the days of the wild Wild West

BUT HAS THINGS CHANGED IN BARBADOS SINCE 2000?*

I am raring to tell you who is the real fool…but I am far too kind to do that!

6. David, which comment is BS and why?

7. @ money without brain 6:08

All

8. RE I am raring to tell you who is the real fool…but I am far too kind to do that!
    ALL YOU CAN DO IS WRITE MORE BULL SHIT WITH BIG WORDS
    GO ON FOOL
    RARE UP FOOL
    MAKE ME LAUGH FOOL

I HAVE SAID AND WRITTEN WHAT I HAVE SAID AND WRITTEN AND WHAT I MEAN

9. @Money brain

This comment:

Gazer,
    It would be obvious to any cretin that you would not want dissenting opinions. Let’s be straightforward, many people dont want to hear anything they disagree with to the point that FREE SPEECH is an outdated concept. Think about it, the bastion of FREE SPEECH was UC Berkeley and now they want to mash the campus up, if any person not of the Far Left wants to speak there! Absolutely incredible! Ultimately it will lead to major social crisis.

10. But David

Money Brain has correctly said what is actually going on on a daily basis in the USA at nearly all of their schools and colleges.

You have to say what people think you should say.
    It happens here too on BU too.

Some folk think that they can make frivolous quips and that they are above reproof.

If people had been allowed to speak freely last year the polls would have clearly shown that Trump was winning the election, and the DEMS might have been able to change course

11. Mandalay Bay CEO in ‘Secret Group’ Sold $14 mil In MGM shares (MGM is owner of Mandalay Bay) in September and has links to DHS. Allegedly also gave money to terrorist groups.

https://youtu.be/Pat_wwgkigQ

The CEO of Mandalay Bay, James Murren, has donated millions to organizations tied to Islamic terrorism, and it has now been revealed that he sold off most of his company shares in the weeks leading up to the Las Vegas shooting.

Wayne Allyn Root at Townhall wrote about Murren over a month ago, exposing his donations to Islamic terrorist groups, in an article that may have proved chillingly prophetic:
    Jim Murren of MGM Resorts International has violated the trust of his MGM Board, shareholders, employees and customers. But not in a small way. In a “Vegas bigger-than-life way.”…

Jim Murren wins the award for “Reckless CEO of the Century.” Murren has just put MGM in bed with an organization with ties to Islamic terrorism…

yournewswire(DOT)com/mandalay-bay-ceo-terror/

12. GP

The point to Money brain is that as robust the opposing views will be on BU he is free to counter.

13. In post war Europe Operation Gladio terrorists staged deadly terror attacks on civilians while working under the protective umbrella of NATO, the CIA and various European intelligent agencies. Gladio particpants were right wing fanatics, included former Nazi and SS men and elements of the criminal underworld, but the attacks they carried out were always blamed on communists and radical leftists by European governments and media.

A word to the wise from convicted Operation Gladio false flag terrorist Vincenzo Vinciguerra:

‘You had to attack civilians, the people, women, children, innocent people, unknown people far removed from any political game. The reason was quite simple: to force … the public to turn to the state to ask for greater security.”

http://aangirfan.blogspot.com/2006/12/bologna-bomb-1980-gladio-terrorism-in.html

14. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

One hundred and sixty three frigging comments! How many black men are losing their lives to fellow black men in Chicago? Whilst hundreds of our brothers and sisters are being killed in The Congo and in Nigeria. The entire Caribbean region is on the verge of social and economic disintegration. Yet, someone feels that it is a good idea to include a contribution focusing on one deranged cracker killing fifty three of his own kith and kin.

I don’t give a f*** about America and their deranged president!

15. So why are you reading Sir?

16. The men in white coats are coming for Trump and his BU moronic allies.

Racism is a form of madness. Trump is mad!

17. How many of these 27 psychiatrists ever sat down and laid a hand on him?
    This i the question a psychiatrist once asked me about a patient in the 80’s.

re Racism is a form of madness. THIS BULLSHIT DOES NOT OCCUR IN ANY TEXT LOL LOL
    I wont listen to this buLLshit as I dont waste time with MSNBC,

RE The men in white coats are coming for Trump and his BU moronic allies. LOL LOL
    THIS IS A LOAD OF ELEPHANT SHIT

18. @Talking Loud

Maybe the proliferation of guns on Main Street in the US doesn’t affect you but since we have had a recent spate of gun related crimes in Barbados can you tell me when/if the Bajan Police recover a gun if they attempt to trace the origin of the weapon? Do they know whether it entered the retail market in Texas,Illinois or Georgia? Do they know whether it was sold to private individual? Do they know whether it was reported stolen from a licensed owner? Do they know whether it was used as a murder weapon and then got rid of because it was now a “hot”commodity?

Is it possible that a gun that entered the marketplace in small town USA could end up taking mowing down some individual in Bim?

I don’t have answers to those questions and perhaps the vast majority of bloggers here so that’s why are focusing on a “deranged cracker”.

19. With all due respect Sarge ALL of the questions you have detailed should be the focus of the RBPF. What a “deranged cracker” did has no relevance to us whatsover.

20. @David I posted in Diaspora corner re the apparent resurgence of the Rum molasses cane industry in Barbados and Jamaica.

21. If the previous Black occupant of the white house had been called a moron by his secretary of state there would gave been an unholy conniption.

Had senators of his own party said that “I know for a fact that every single day at the White House, it’s a situation of trying to contain him” or “I know he has hurt, in several instances, he’s hurt us as it relates to negotiations that were underway by tweeting things out” then likely a certain citizen would have been baying for his head.

And surely if a senatorial colleague said of him “I don’t know why the president tweets out things that are not true. You know he does it, everyone knows he does it, but he does,” then there would be a move to find reasons to impeach.

Yet we offer platitudes for the continued outlandish actions from this the most powerful man in the world.

His psychological profile is on display for all to see and examine. Surely multiple experienced psychiatrists can make a rationale and broadly accurate assessment.

This is done regularly by criminal psychology pros in drawing a framework of a suspect based on the evidence of his actions, behaviours and habits with nary a direct examination…. certainly it can be done for this presidential suspect.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

“The FarLeft of the DEms are gaining control of the party it dies not bode well for civility”

MoneyB…..you do realize what a “far left dem” really means in Washington right, it is ya usual lowlife ultra conservative racist, in other words a republican wolf in democratic sheep clothing, nothing more, nothing less…they are all one and the same and infiltrate each other’s parties at will….practicing deceit with every word they utter.

Yall who are listening to any of them will run yaselves into trouble, particularly the halfwit whites on small Islands like BIM who are regurgitatjng everything they say in hopes of practicing that brand of evil on the majority population for their own financial benefits.

The nastiness practiced by the white supremacist, white privilege nutjobs for the last few centuries is coming apart rapidly, a lot of yall indoctrinated by it will get caught in its crosshairs because ya clueless to the shift that has already taken place.

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

These are the white merchants if death and theur lying decitful tongues Obama had to deal with, they have been maliciously and deliberately unleashing death for profit on the US and the world for decades….they control the legislators due to their own greed and support no new laws to stop death and injuries from their guns. ..these are the real threats to the US and the world.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/nra-wayne-lapierre-spreads-blame-las-vegas-shooting-article-1.3549482

“NRA’s Wayne LaPierre spreads blame for Las Vegas shooting
    BY JASON SILVERSTEIN
    NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Updated: Sunday, October 8, 2017, 11:22 PM

NRA CEO Wayne LaPierre. (SAUL LOEB/AFP/GETTY IMAGES)
    NRA leader Wayne LaPierre will target anyone for blame over the Las Vegas massacre — except himself.

In a rare television interview on Sunday, the nation’s top gun lobby activist blamed “elites,” Hollywood, video games, federal law enforcement and former President Barack Obama for mass shootings like the Vegas rampage.

But he said nothing about the National Rifle Association’s role in mowing down new gun laws, and he wouldn’t commit to supporting any legislation after Vegas.”

24. Former CIA covert operations officer Robert David Steele draws on his background in covert operations to examine the Las Vegas shooting:

Robert David Steele rejoins the program to discuss the Las Vegas Massacre and his summary of what he believes really occurred. We also discuss false flags and compare this event to false flags in history (i.e. patsy, multiple shooters, shots from wrong direction, crisis actors, etc…).

https://youtu.be/BdplTd1sNR8

25. http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/bob-corker-says-trump%e2%80%99s-recklessness-threatens-%e2%80%98world-war-iii%e2%80%99/ar-AAt5kF1?ocid=spartandhp

A line has to be drawn between the invasion of Columbus and the Las Vegas shooting

Today being ‘Columbus Day’

Thanks to our master teacher, the Guyanese historian, Yan Carew, the late eminent scholar of our times on these matters.

Until we can properly make this critical connection we may yet see several more emperors like Donald Trump ascend the throne in this modern nadir of the Julio-Claudian-Trumpian Dynastic period.

Man men like Nero (Trump), Caligula (Trump). Man men from the beginning of the end of the Western Roman Empire.

Even a racist idiot like Corker is now complaining about Trump’s recklessness.

26. to bird brain and medical illiterate who thinks that he knows medicine who wrote

His psychological profile is on display for all to see and examine. Surely multiple experienced psychiatrists can make a rationale and broadly accurate assessment.

This is done regularly by criminal psychology pros in drawing a framework of a suspect based on the evidence of his actions, behaviours and habits with nary a direct examination…. certainly it can be done for this presidential suspect.

FIRST HE IS THE PRESIDENT………LIKE IT OR LUMP IT FOOL

SO WHAT? THE LAW AND MEDICAL ETHICS AND PROCEDURES REQUIRES a direct examination…. YA BLASTED FOOL!

NONE OF THESE 27 PSYCHIATRISTS CAN DO HIM ONE SHITE
    I F HE WAS A NIGGER HE WOULD REACT LIKE MUGABE OR AMIN OR THE OTHER NIGGER LEADERS IN AFRICA AND JAIL THE LOT JUST LIKE SHITYBAMA THE KNOWN BULLER AND MURDERER TRIED TO JAIL THE SHERIFF IN ARIZONA FOR DOING HIS JOB

WHAT IS THE PSYCHOLOGICAL PROFILE OF THE MAN WHO JUST KILLED 58 OTHERS
    WHAT IS THE PSYCHOLOGICAL PROFILE OF THE MAN WHO ALMOST SINGLE HANDEDLY DESTROYED AMERICA BY HIS DEVIANT DIABOLICAL BEHAVIOR

WHY DID NT THE PSYCHIATRISTS NOT SEE HIS PROFILE TOO? BECAUSE CRIMINALS OF HIS ILK ARE NOT VERY EASILY DETECTED!/

27. Although it is easy to prove that America is not the Wild West, and that bad doctors and the automobile are far deadlier than the gun, we still have Jeff and the usual suspects — Pacha, Dribbler, WW&C et al. ranting and raving about the evil irrationality of America and its President.

100% BS.

28. Pach,
    So all your comments are invalid according to your reply!

29. David,
    This comment:

Gazer,
    It would be obvious to any cretin that you would not want dissenting opinions. Let’s be straightforward, many people dont want to hear anything they disagree with to the point that FREE SPEECH is an outdated concept. Think about it, the bastion of FREE SPEECH was UC Berkeley and now they want to mash the campus up, if any person not of the Far Left wants to speak there! Absolutely incredible! Ultimately it will lead to major social crisis.

Have U been following the direction of Unis with their heavily left views? I laugh at parents in the US who are paying for or encouraging their kids to learn to hate the USA! Empires almost always collapse from within. This is not to say that I dont see the warts on the US that require solutions in HC, ED, Race relations etc.

Please explain which words are wrong.

30. Chad99999 October 9, 2017 at 11:02 AM

eVEN THOUGH I HAVE NOT PERSONALLY EXAMINED TRUMP…….I THINK HE IS MAD FUH TRUTE BECAUSE

1- COMEY IS NOT IN JAIL GETTING BULLED
    2 HILARY IS NOT IN JAIL……SHE IS A KNOWN WICKER ANYWAY
    3 MUELLER MCCAIN & MCCONELL HAS NOT BEEN EXECUTED IN A ” BOTHCHED MUGGING”
    4 JEFF SESSIONS HAS NOT BEEN FIRED FOR NOT PROSECUTING ALL THESE JOKERS
    5 BULLERBAMA IS NOT IN JAIL GETTING BULLED IN PRISON GARB
    6 SUSAN RICE IS NOT IN JAIL GETTING WICKED

AND WE CAN GO ON

HE MAD RIGHT? BUT HE IS NOTHING LIKE HIS PREDECESSORS……DUBIOUS, DEVIANT, DEVISIVE, DIABOLICAL, DESTRUCTIVE

31. GP @ 6.31pm.
    Exactly correct, the DEMs were shocked because of stupidity and arrogance. Trump used detailed segmentation on Facebook, Google with thousands of very focused ads where minor details were changed based on positive clicks eg which colour appeals to which segment, couple word or background picture changes ie HRC or the Am flag? Trump’s people actually had advisors from FB in their office at Campaign HQ! Screened first to ensure they were Repub leaning.

Many have argued that Trump won based on Racist tactics exclusively which is not true. Where did that “research” come from some Lefty group in a Uni.

32. WW,
    I comprehend the “shift” only too well, your problem is that by pulling down the US at a time that unity and solutions are required urgently leads to collapse from which all will suffer. I have stated to build the Wall around Washington DC, precisely because I dont trust any of them to act in good faith to focus on unity, solutions etc.

The Chinese, Indians, Iranians et al are very pleased by the stupidity. Kiss the high standard of living good bye! The slide started years back.

33. Now this is madness! OR IS IT GPI or early Als
    THE PRESIDENT HAS GOT THE FAKE NEWS MEDIA AND THE OPPOSITION LEADERS GOING MAD AS HE PLAYS THEM LIKE A FIDDLE IN THE “WILD WILD WEST”
    https://www.conservativeinstitute.org/term-limits/nancy-pelosi/pelosi-is-acting-weirdly.htm?utm_campaign=dynamic_campaign&utm_medium=automated&bt_alias=eyJ1c2VySWQiOiAiMDUyZWZjY2ItNzc4ZS00Y2I3LTljMzMtZDQyNTZhZGJkZDhmIn0%3D&utm_source=Boomtrain

34. Money Brain, October 9, 2017 at 11:22 AM #
    What the twits on BU do not know Trump has a network that sends out emails at least weekly but sometimes daily to gauge the opinion of his base and to capture feedback. This wa happening coming up to elections and it continues up until now.
    He is fairly well organized for a madman.

Cassius clay was a braggart and exhibited similar behaviour to Trump, but he was a hero to them because he was BLACK. IF TRUMP WAS A NIGGER ALL WOULD BE WELL.

I WILL NEVER FORGET THE LOOK ON THE FACES OF THE MEDIA JERKS AND THEIR COMMENTS AS HE SCORED MORE THAN THE REQUIRED ELECTORAL VOTES.

IT WAS LIKE OUR OWN CARLOS IN THE T 20 WORLD CUP BANG BANG BANG BANG

35. @GP

If Trump upsets Corker and others on the Republican side how will he force his policies throug: the legislature?

36. https://i.guim.co.uk/img/media/1e92aaf93b481e283963848d4309584b35d7b815/287_256_4718_2831/master/4718.jpg?w=620&q=55&auto=format&usm=12&fit=max&s=2c48dcc4175c969d6173ab2e8993ec80

Ta-Nehisi Coates: the laureate of black lives

Coates’s eloquent polemics on the black experience in America brought him fame and the admiration of Barack Obama. Here he talks about the rise of white supremacy – and why Trump was a logical conclusion

Ta-Nehisi Coates on why we should have seen Trump coming

37. Trump acts “like he’s doing ‘The Apprentice’ or something,” he said.
    A top Senate Republican just issued a warning: Trump could put US ‘on the path to World War III’
    Senator Bob Corker charged on Sunday that President Trump could set the country “on the path to World War III,” the NYT reported.
    cnbc.com
    https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fcnb.cx%2F2kyozrp&h=ATNVcRJpX4WsHquw6Q_f_9aVn70V1gCgKKNOqwkCE2_0OUPQGY4jgo8Qk-yxM1YsUKJhw39lRAJrk68n-zxBtRcmGEMcc1Tk37a-ORgVTxhXFAn1povGTkNsg79pCHoLKcbNzEnQha9BAZXsstlFgkYDz8NH82BvzNmiCFlU_5E22rG06s-5V-H9z6bOHtqdd5cG4WaWY8D_KwOUYs32v6WLIaVN0lDr1RiodBXkzbbk-76qnrhQTikFwsodRLOK5QEaUoKWp_pHygewY3OVZGfWqJQ7rQg

38. RE David October 9, 2017 at 12:05 PM #

If Trump upsets Corker and others on the Republican side how will he force his policies throug: the legislature?

TO BE TRUTHFUL…. I REALLY DONT CARE
    IM NOT A TRUMPTARD

I WOULD IF HE MADE ME AN OFFHORE MEDICAL SCHOOL CONTROLLER LOL

I OBJECT TO THE UNFAIR UNBALANCED CRITICISM OF THE MAN IN THE LAME STREAM PRESS

I OBJECT TO THE RESISTANCE FROM THE DAY AFTER HE WON THE ELECTION

CORKER HATES TRUMP FOR SOME REASON SO TRUMP DOES NOT HAVE TO UPSET HIM FOR HIM TO VOTE LIKE THE RINO THAT HE IS

YOU HAVE A SET OF FOLK IN THE REPUBLICAN PARTY THAT IS NOT INTERESTED IN TRUMP’S AGENDA BECAUSE THEY WANT TO CONTINUE TO BE THE ELITE AND SWAMP CREATURES

ALL THE DEMS VOTED FOR THE UN-AFFORDABLE CARE ACT…….ALL OF DEM

THE RINOS WERE VOTING AGAINST IT EN MASSE FOR 7 YEARS

THEY CAMPAIGNED TO REPEAL AND REPLACE BECAUSE THEY DID NOT THINK THE PEOPLE WOULD VOTE IN TRUMP

NOW THAT THEY ARE IN CONTROL WHY DONT THEY TRY TO DO WHAT THE PEOPLE VOTED THEM IN FOR? JUST BECAUSE OF HATRED FOR THE MAN? WHAT ABOUT THE PEOPLE?

MY WIFE IS IN INSURANCE………WE HAVE VERY GOOD INSURANCE THANK GOD. SO I REALLY DONT CARE

39. We hold no brief for Trump but he does seem to be pissing of the world.

Lol

40. YA see David, Ezekiel mentions Russia and Turkey and Iran as players in the end time scenarios. NOTICE THAT THEY HAVE ALREADY COME TO THE FORE SIMULTANEOUSLY AS PREDICTED

Just as Egypt, Babylon, Assyria, Greece,Rome passed off the scene. Just as the sun no longer shines on the British Empire so too will “the greatest country IN THE WORLD EVER!” do the same.

That will be glory for me…….one way or other, I wont be here for the aftermath.

YA see David, I know that Trump will/can not make America great again.

America is imploding –the RINOS, the DEMS and ALL THE RESISTANCE WILL ENSURE THIS HAPPENS…………..WHETHER THEY REALIZE IT OR NOT!

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“WW,
    I comprehend the “shift” only too well, your problem is that by pulling down the US at a time that unity and solutions are required urgently leads to collapse from which all will suffer.”

MoneyB…that’s your brainwash telling you that, the people have survived on the earth centuries before US and UK started their thieving, murder, enslaving, fraud spree and will survive for thousands and maybe millions of years when neither or no longer a memory…as so many civilizations before them came and left…..

……I don’t where you see that clown spreading unity…I warned you about those racist websites, they have turned Chadster into a blubbering idiot.

“has a network that sends out emails at least weekly but sometimes daily to gauge the opinion of his base and to capture feedback…”

I get dotard’s ridiculous emails and nonsense from his supporter’s idiot websites and dump them in the trash where they belong, as sensible people do.

All of it is irrelevant. ..within the next 12 months trump will more than likely be gone, Mueller is doing his job.

42. Vincent Haynes October 9, 2017 at 12:53 PM #
    Chuckle……

Like father, like daughter?
    Ivanka Trump ‘could be US President within 15 years’

GOD FORBID

43. RE I get dotard’s ridiculous emails and nonsense from his supporter’s idiot websites and dump them in the trash where they belong, as sensible people do. All of it is irrelevant.

WE ARE CLEARLY NOT READING THE SAME EMAILS
    I DUMP MINE TOO

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The problem MoneyB….yall been reliant on the white supremacy, white entitlement facade for too many centuries…now yall gotta face real, real, reality….cause everything thing is coming full circle…no more fantasies and bullshitting the world to retain control.

45. Breaking News: The EPA chief plans to repeal President Barack Obama’s signature climate policy, setting up a fight over U.S. efforts to tackle global warming.
    E.P.A. Announces Repeal of Major Obama-Era Carbon Emissions Rule
    The rollback of the Clean Power Plan, which limits greenhouse gas emissions from power plants, sets up a bitter fight over United States climate policy.
    nytimes.com
    https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nytimes.com%2F2017%2F10%2F09%2Fclimate%2Fclean-power-plan.html%3Fsmid%3Dfb-nytimes%26smtyp%3Dcur&h=ATNR1vRFjEtSu7MkHzzGMda7cba9uxGFCiyNvbOUAxCrR_KohmGUWxCgSldxiXWAgL9uD7B2EkAa1m935LjKwq3EBj8xd48yQJsZ8nQtWXzgu6_MFqex02l1NQ3rcy7R-wwSyuqACS9Ri6OZIHxJafORPYUa7f8Jb22t1DlNRWqJ4mIcQAx4ptW34B5eP_yqyWgMLZc_RTEwFTSrMXBWbefN2SILujbZWSPXbUj2GLUAcKHrAPKI6jrUkSjSzvUwv-s_9R3XBVynuZ6HoTHaC-M7CiQ79Q

46. The usual “solution” to gun violence proposed by useful idiots of the Left is to ban guns.

Yet, as the NATIONAL REVIEW points out in a current article, American cities like Washington DC and Chicago that enacted legislation to ban guns experienced steep increases in gun-related crime. The same thing happened after gun control legislation in Jamaica and the UK.

One possible explanation: Gun bans disarm law-abiding gun owners, making it easier for criminals with guns to pursue their nefarious activities.

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

See what I said …blubbering idiot.

The ban should be on gun manufacturerers and NRA…even with gun bans for citizens, both evil, greedy entities will still export their illegal guns into inner cities and vulnerable countries, that is how they get wealthy, selling death, bribing congressmen…they are white merchants of death.

48. Playing golf with an individual could tell you a great deal about him;Corker was Trump’s frequent golfing buddy and friend.

When he calls the WH an adult daycare centre yuh better beiieve him